Acting Commissioner of Police Tyrone Griffith suggests there is a cultural factor behind recent domestic mu
Acting Commissioner of Police Tyrone Griffith suggests there is a cultural factor behind recent domestic murders.

The revelation by the Acting Commissioner of Police Tyrone Griffith that there appears to be a โ€œcultural factorโ€ which threads recent domestic abuse cases is interesting if not surprising. We have to give credit to the police force that they have a sound basis for reaching the conclusion that the cause behind some recent domestic disputes is linked to non nationals. Of course many Bajans will be compelled to intervene in the interest of demonstrating โ€˜balanceโ€™ by suggesting the obvious,ย  that is, Bajans are equally committing crime and therefore why blame non nationals. Of course non nationals cannot be blamed for all the crime BUT it does not mean we should play ostrich if there is a trend which has emerged which will add to our crime woes and wider societal challenges. Comprehension is a wonderful thing.

A few years ago when BU led the national discussion about possible sociological repercussions as a consequence of the unbridled immigration policy practiced by the former BLP government under the guise of freedom of movement, we were ridiculed by many. Why is it the ideologues like Peter Wickham, Rickey Sigh, BLP opportunists and others have refused to this day to appreciate that our fragile economies which are mainly service based, owning limited resources to protect borders, an possessing undermanned police forces means that any system which allows the unskilled and ignorant to move about freely across the Caribbean must be carefully โ€˜managedโ€™? Instead they label such concerns by shouting xenophobia. Have we become do intellectually impotent not to understand that issues will emerge from having unchallenged freedom of movement?

BU will not rehash old arguments except to say, for every thoughtless action there will be an exponential reaction. Despite the landmark Shanique Myrie decision by the CCJ, BU has taken note of how other Caricom countries continue to retain the right of entry to their shores. It is a right which any sovereign should NOT relinquish. Recent developments have exposed the ideals of the Revised Treaty of Chaguaramas.

176 responses to “Emerging Crime Trend: Freedom of Movement Under the Revised Treaty of Chaguaramas Needs to be Revised”

1. http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2013/12/03/tweak-it/

“And about two weeks ago Haitian Rachel Lalanne, who was forced to overnight at the Grantley Adams International Airport, alleged that her rights as a CARICOM national were violated when she had to pay US$100 for a Barbados visa when she missed her connecting flight to St Vincent and the Grenadines. Lalanne said she too was ill-treated.”
    ————————————————

I still call it the Devised Treaty of Chaguaramas,but this is just getting ridiculous.

2. Seriously no-one when they were patting themselves on the back thought this free movement could be a problem???? LOL

3. Maybe, just maybe, word has been spread that you can come to Barbados and kill your woman and get away with it because she “provoked” you.

4. It used to be said the best place to get rid of your wife was a boat cruise. Now if you are prone to sea sickness you have other options.

5. […] Emerging Crime Trend: Freedom of Movement Under the Revised Treaty of Chaguaramas Needs to be Revise… […]

6. jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    jeff Cumberbatch

Is this assertion serious? Because there have been a number of murders allegedly by non-nationals who have not been tried, we are entitled to assume that most non-nationals are domestic abusers/ murderers, and if we were to prevent them from coming into Barbados, there would be fewer such instances?

What, then, about forbidding the entry of those from the lands of the Yorkshire Ripper and the Boston Strangler as well? Then we should have no murders or very few, since Bajans, it appears, do not kill each other. This is an amalgam of jingoism and xenophobia in its saddest hour!

Incidentally, was it not also our sovereign right to agree to the free movement of CARICOM nationals?

7. Unfortunately, you Bajans were prepared to fall for the rubbish being sold to you by your politicians back in 2005 and signed that foolish revised treaty. We in the Bahamas refused and have never had cause to regret it. CSME makes absolutely no economic sense and will only bring you more problems.

8. are-we-there-yet? Avatar
    are-we-there-yet?

David; Where is the link to the “revelation”by the Commissioner?

9. CSME make no economic, legal, cultural or OTHER sense.
    It is the single most idiot thing that has been imposed on Barbados since co-education.
    With NO useful benefits and numerous shortcomings…

Note that those who promote it are largely parasites who make their living via nebulous means normally associated with the now corrupted education system….

10. “Unfortunately, you Bajans were prepared to fall for the rubbish being sold to you by your politicians back in 2005 and signed that foolish revised treaty. We in the Bahamas refused and have never had cause to regret it. CSME makes absolutely no economic sense and will only bring you more problems”

NO WONDER YOU ALL ARE SO BACKWARD PROFESSING MORE THAN YOU POSSESS AND LIVING IN A WORLD OF MAKE BELIEVE.

11. ” We have to give credit to the police force that they have a sound basis for reaching the conclusion that the cause behind some recent domestic disputes is linked to non nationals.:”

How many non nationals to national are abusers? In the last spate of domestic murders how many were non nationals? In the past year how many were non nationals? In the last ten years how many were non nationals? It is so easy to look elsewhere than to look into the mirror.

12. Things are ever so simple, we have a โ€œdomesticโ€, the accused was born in another country we dismiss it as due to โ€œculturalโ€ factors as if the police blotter is not filled with Bajans who are domestic abusers

There seems to be a propensity for the Govโ€™t of the day to appoint COPs whose modus operandi is to โ€œopen mouth insert footโ€ when they are faced with situations involving serious crime, the last one said in essence that to white people all black people look alike and now this.

It is to weep.

13. Pompasettin Pearlie Avatar
    Pompasettin Pearlie

Yes dear heart islandgal you would know nuff bout looking into de mirror cause effin I remember right you is de one dat come pon hay bragging bout how you wash ya own fadda or somebody so in licks nuff ta kill e. Das how wunna so does do um down in de islands.

Look, effin you got so much Bajans to fornas bout hay, but every 5 minutes um is fornas name getting call with domestic abuse and killing das someting we gine ha to watch. And Bajan men would have to be wufless and indifferent to sit down and leh forna men coming bout hay beating up and killing dem sisters and nieces and ting. Mad or wa?

14. Pompasettin Pearlie Avatar
    Pompasettin Pearlie

And before wunna bong on pon me wid wunna hot and sweaty self, I en saying dat Bajan men dont abuse women too. Yes it does and happen and it en right. But we cant leh people come bout here wid this ting now bout beating a women to kill she and dat kinda ting. Domestic violence wrong full stop.

15. The link to what Commissioner stated is the lead story of today’s Nation newspaper.

16. Simple math
    Country of laws + higher standard of Living + treaty of free travel divided by race = higher crime

17. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Pompasettin Pearlie | December 4, 2013 at 9:52 AM |

If you, a pompous jackass, believe the rise in serious crime and the causes of the country’s economic distress and social decay are directly attributable to Barbadosโ€™s membership in the CSME and the consequential “intrusion’ of those nasty evil “fornas” from the other โ€˜inferiorโ€ countries, especially Guyana & Jamaica, why not send out a call direct to the PM and his Cabinet to leave the whole one-sided arrangement?

If it is your intention to blame the BLP for taking Barbados down the road of ruin by advancing the CSME you need to take into consideration that the current PM is a strong advocate of the same regional integration movement.

So you and Bushie are just spitting up in the air with the obvious consequences.

We are willing to bet that neither you nor the other clown would be prepared to directly call of the current administration to leave Caricom or at least have the Treaty of Chaguaramas amended to stop those ignorant, dirty criminally-minded โ€œfornasโ€ from coming to sweet paradise to bring their filth and wickedness and kill your vestal womenfolk.

18. Pompy….doah talk do. It is people like yuh does tek de licks from yuh menz an keep quiet an pretend dat wunna so in love. YUH OLE TWO FACE HYPOCRITE! Wunna so does see wunna father beating de daylight outta yuh mudda and doan do nutting bout it. Well I had to do someting and it saved my mudda’s life. You is one UGLY OLE DAWG

19. Yet another JACKASS BRASS BOWL for a COP! Doesn’t that say something about us as a country?

20. @ Islandgal
    …you always ready for a fight nuh?!? ๐Ÿ™‚
    Weh um is you come from again…?
    You know that it is quite possible to disagree without becoming violent – don’t you….?

Before you abuse the COP, you should know that if there are 250000 locals and even 25000 foreigners then anything more than 1 in 10 crimes committed by foreigners will be disproportionate.
    ANY intelligent COP would then want to follow up on such a finding with a view to understanding the basic problem.

If you want to do something why not call on your cousins to cool their heels…..

@ balance
    Sometime you seem so….. OFF balance….
    Are you aware of the BIG CULTURAL differences between some of these islands when it comes to attitudes to crimes?
    Do you think that Jamaican police operate like ours? Do you think that there is a REASON for the difference?
    Are you aware of accepted cultural norms among groups in some of these islands that are completely different to ours when it comes to relationships?

When criminals and even normal folks raised in one environment move to a different jurisdiction is it not OBVIOUS that – until we learn to adapt to that new culture, we will be overwhelmed by the cultural shock…?

Some of wunna are real brass bowls in truth….in the sense that wunna know not that wunna know not….

21. Pompasettin Pearlie Avatar
    Pompasettin Pearlie

See wa I mean. See how she does get on. Wild wild wild.

Dear heart um might be de norm wa part um is you come from, ta get on pissy all de time, but you in Bim now honey. Everyting doan be a cause fa fighting and gettin on uncouth. I sure enuff Sin Lucy people didn’t teach you ta get on so cause de people down day does be peaceable and polite. Cuddear, have some broughtupcty and learn to respeck yuhself as a big expernce “lady”!

22. Bushie because you does get away with beating Mrs Bushie that doesn’t mean that you are not an abuser. You bout hey pretending to be MR INTELLIGENT and MR KNOW IT ALL and blaming women for all the problems we have in this country tells me that you are a woman abuser. A BRASS BOWL one too!

Many of the men in this country view women as property and that seems to have been ingrained in them from the time when they were the white man’s property. Now as free men they have taken women as their property.

Many men have left women to feed clothe and provide shelter for their offspring, some never looking back to see if their child sick or hungry. But if that woman decide to done with them they threaten to beat and kill her and many have carried it out too.

This Nation was built on the backs of women. Who tended the young canes and looked after the children? Who cooked and washed and still worked in the fields for their children? Who made sure their children got an education? And we are still doing it to this day and being condemned for it.

23. Pompasettin Pearlie Avatar
    Pompasettin Pearlie

Bushie dear heart, ya hit de nail pon de head

“Before you abuse the COP, you should know that if there are 250000 locals and even 25000 foreigners then anything more than 1 in 10 crimes committed by foreigners will be disproportionate.
    ANY intelligent COP would then want to follow up on such a finding with a view to understanding the basic problem.”
    Das de point I was trying to mek, don’t mind I aint went university like you so I couldn’t explain it good so. De point is it look a sorta way dat fornas name getting call in in dis ting all de time so de police gotta look and say but wait wa gine on hay at all.

24. Respeck? Pompy yuh talking bout Respeck? Wasn’t it YOU the same one who wanted to skin yuh botsy at me? YOU OLE HYPOCRITE! Respeck my ass!

25. Pompasettin Pearlie Avatar
    Pompasettin Pearlie

Oh Lord she start up again. First she say my husband does beat me – and he six foot down in de churchyard over 15 years now, so he must be a special kinda duppy! And now Bushie is woman beater. Just so. Lord, she mad tablets gotta be run out. Steupse.

26. YUH forget the last part Pearlie de skinning botsy part yuh like yuh suffering from Alzheimer!

27. Pompasettin Pearlie Avatar
    Pompasettin Pearlie

“When I was a child, I spake as a child, I understood as a child, I thought as a child: but when I became a woman, I put away childish things.” Cuddaer, God bless ya ya hear.

28. Yuh was a chile when yuh say yuh want to skin yuh botsy at muh? Yuh did tell Bonny Peppa dat yuh nearly skin yuh botsy at muh! What chile what? Yuh is a grown hard back ole hack dat wanted to skin yuh wrinkly poxy botsy at me! YUH HYPOCRITE!

29. Pompasettin Pearlie Avatar
    Pompasettin Pearlie

Poor you. You really want noticing neh? Keep carrying on so and see if I pay ya any mine. Poor you. Bushie, ya see how she does get on, na couth at all. Murda!

30. There are things you would love to hear
    ..the sound of a whippoorwill
    ..a baby laughing
    AC and Islandgirls husbands saying …girls were going on a cruise

31. @ balance

If you really are dumb enough to believe the statement you made, you should ask yourself why it is that the most integrated parts of the region are indeed the most backward and badly run. How has any kind of regional integration helped anyone??

@ bushie

You are totally right. Coeducation also makes no sense. You guys should ditch that, too. These are all different countries with different needs and different national priorities. All CSME would do is hold back we the most advanced countries while not benefitting the more backward members.

32. @ Lawson
    …more likely… the husbands would say “girl – I am going to Arizona..”

@ Pearlie
    …chile…. Cockroach ain’t got no rights at fowl cock party…. leff Bushie outta wunna bassa bassa bozie…
    …the bushman still got he chops longing out for that Sunday lunch that Islandgal promised….talk Wuh yuh like, dem island gals does cook up a proper meal….
    BTW…
    ..how comes Islandgal got a problem with you skinning your boxie at she – when Bushie knows for a fact that she is a 6:30 specialist….? ๐Ÿ™‚

33. “If you really are dumb enough to believe the statement you made, you should ask yourself why it is that the most integrated parts of the region are indeed the most backward and badly run. How has any kind of regional integration helped anyone?”

no wonder- if countries like yours operate as if there is neither fish nor fowl

34. “no wonder- if countries like yours operate as if there is neither fish nor fowl”

Actually, all my country wants to do is be left alone and develop at its own pace. That it would never do if it is overrun with migrants and job seekers from the region. But don’t worry, you will soon see what I mean as Bim begins to asborb the kinds of numbers of Jamaicans and others that have long been flocking here.

35. Bush Tea ie my second post

36. @ bahamared
    Right!
    Most thinking persons have now come to realize that CSME and co-Education have become the two main nails in our coffin.
    There are still some dense holdouts who fail to realize that what these have in common is their disposition to bring us to the LOWEST COMMON DENOMINATOR.

Of course the UNEDUCATED old generations KNEW this…..They knew that when you mixed good apples with bad apples there was only ONE possible outcome….BAD!
    But our HIGHLY educated and well lettered graduates somehow want to convince us that when we mix them, the bad apples will improve…..and the good will benefit…. LOL Ha Ha
    So….
    Put the bright students with the weak and disruptive…
    Put the sexy teen girls with the sex crazed boys…
    Put the racially cohesive islanders with the divisive rebels…
    Put the economically well off with the deprived..
    Put the Muslims with the Islamist and the Christians …
    …THAT should help us to achieve pease, prosperity and stability…
    …brass bowl idiots!

37. Bush Tea….prior to “independence”,Bajans travelled,settled,worked and bred all over the Caribbean…..more than likely the the progeny coming home…..a saying about sins unto the 7th generation springs to mind….

38. Cyprian La Touchรฉ Avatar
    Cyprian La Touchรฉ

@everybody
    The manner of some of these conversations really disturb me at times.
    To start, a lot of people seem to gleefully be jumping on this bandwagon statement made by the acting commissioner. Now I am a very strong believer and proponent of using statistics to analyse and resolve problems but they have to be PRESENTED properly and the rebalance of their connection to the issue at hand must be rationalized and EXPLAINED.

The questions posed above by islandgal above are very relevant. What EXACTLY are we talking about? What does it MEAN at the end of the day? Is the statement really ” insightful” or useful or more red herring and excuse than anything else.

WHERE ARE THE NUMBERS? WHAT ARE THE NUMBERS? WHAT ARE THE RELATIONSHIPS?

Of ALL domestic violence cases reported this year what percentage (ultimately) involve non-nationals as perpetrator or victim? How many were extremely serious assaults that just didn’t graduate to the status of murder?

Even more importantly what has been the police response to the various situations? In other words, how much of all calls come from the same ongoing situations etc.?
    What exactly is a non-national in the first place? Are we talking about persons LEGALY residing and “working” in Barbados and or persons who have Ben here since ages three or four and thus for all intensive purposes culturally considered Bajan?
    Or did all these people just get off the banana boat yesterday?

Of course I would expect a lot of violence to be reported in particular “imported” groups of workers because they will fall neatly into the said demographic for most “crime”. Young, single, male, money in their pocket on a Friday night and blind drunk and pissed poor by Sunday night.

Is this “new situation” really such an import as quietly suggested by the words of the acting commissioner, or more damningly a characteristic of our so “unique and wonderful” culture?
    The challenge of immigration and the CSME I’ll deal with that a later.

Cyprian

39. The comments are filledv with emotion with BUSH TEA being the CLOWN PRINCE OF THE DAY. next blame it on thev rain……………

40. your taking all the fun out of this, if you make too much sense. These people are going nowhere they will do jobs that bajans look down their noses at. Work harder too. This is just a volley by the police to say we are watching, were doing our jobs

41. the case of that Jamaican lady of the night being awarded money against your country should have convinced yinna Bajans to drop this CSME and CCJ like a hot potato. We would deport on sight any judge from that court even seen on holiday here.

42. Relationship are not based on treaties or agreements by govt.what does having nationals enter a country to do with domestic abuse. People make bad choices and unfortunately the results can be devastating. However we are a country of Laws and laws are put in place in the event such unseen circumstances does occur dealing in a swift and fair way to administer justice

43. “Do you think that Jamaican police operate like ours? Do you think that there is a REASON for the difference?”

Tell me the difference. Wasn’t our Commissioner of Police sent packing albeit temporarily because of allegations of wire tapping and wasn’t our present Commissioner allegedly involved in a car racket for which he was placed on suspension. Are the members of our constabulary “Angels” and the Jamaican constabulary “Devils”. I gave a Guyanese night worker a lft one night and she pleaded with me not put her off in front of the club because the waiting there gun want fronts and money too. Tell me the difference. All of us have fallen short .

44. “Actually, all my country wants to do is be left alone and develop at its own pace. That it would never do if it is overrun with migrants and job seekers from the region”
    You need to get some migrants with far looking ideas to help you fast track your development for compared to my observations three years ago and as recent as April this year ,you do not seem to be doing a good job on your own. Just a lot of fluff , you all are.

45. Man Balance got me unbalanced? Man I am trying to follow yuh thread but I am so unbalanced from reading it that I got to go tek a rum to put me back pon the straight. I tink yuh missing someting in what yuh trying to say. Yuh want tah explain?

46. Market Vendor’s sound byte for a RED CROSS contributions ad on VOB ..goes like this..” Bajans really got BIG HEARTS doah”……How true. Barbados has had an open door policy to many and all from the Caribbean for a long time to sojourn, work and sometimes send for their families. As long as you were not looking for trouble like St. Lucian Buelan James a.k.a Dr. Rat or Mark Young .a.k.a. The Professor, there was no problem hanging around in the gracious land of cou cou n flying fish.. Myrie too,( whose purpose of visit here was somewhat questionable) would also have passed thru the immigration net with a breeze if not for her pickup hick-cup. For long time now dancers of the find, were welcomed to ply their wares and head back home pockets gingling wid Bajan largess.

But for how much longer can we sustain this open door policy, when housing space, job opportunities and social amenities are under pressure for Bajans,, far less extending to our neighbors? Surely now our leaders must take this into consideration if not for us, but our children and our children’s children. This CSME free travel could work, if like everybodyโ€™s automatic choice of stay was NOT 166 sq. miles small ham-bone shaped Rock

47. Cyprian La Touchรฉ Avatar
    Cyprian La Touchรฉ

@everybody
    Let me start by saying that I am NOT interested in hearing what Jamaica or Trinidad or any other country does. I am ONLY concerned with what WE say and do and ultimately take this our beloved country. My integrity is not measured in the actions of others but in the values I put on myself.

I read the Myrey report. I thought it was EXTREMELY well thought out, insightful (and damning) , thoroughly consistent and concise but above all appropriately and unexpectedly RESTRAINED in its assertions, conclusions and recommendations.
    From the very beginning clearly establishing what this court was capable to pass judgment on and what fell outside its purview despite the obvious desire of certain parties for it to issue redress upon validation.

We entered and signed a treaty. We did NOT follow the bounding agreements of that treaty and we were penalized for it. Even worse, at EVERY step along the process we displayed a staggering level of unprofessionalism, incompetence, poor judgement and atrociously substandard arguments. From the actions at the airport to the “statement of investigation by the minister to the representations in court.
    We lost. Get over it.
    But.

I continue to argue that in NO way does this judgement stop immigration or other authorized officials from doing their job. The question is ; WHAT is their job? WHO can do what, where and when and above all WHY?
    And at the end of the day can you SHOW ME and JUSTIFY EVERYTHING.

It’s a little thing called professionalism. This “nebulous” cloud place where something may or may not happen and nothing is true unless you actually see it (and sometimes not even then) is no where for us to operate.

What we need to really ask is why this cloud seems not to move and be so intractable. This tug of war between the police and immigration and customs. The convenient surveillance “gaps”. The very rules themselves about cavity search etc. what the hell is going on here? These are the things we need concern ourselves with.
    Do we belong in this particular thing called CSME in its current incantation?
    That’s another question entirely.
    Cyprian

48. “You need to get some migrants with far looking ideas to help you fast track your development for compared to my observations three years ago and as recent as April this year ,you do not seem to be doing a good job on your own. Just a lot of fluff , you all are.”

What planet are you living on? Or is it jealousy I smell?

How much more development do you want? We had over a billion dollars in FDI for every year over the last three years, just built a $400 airport (that is BAHAMIAN dollars), have generally first world infrastructure and an economy that is even growing amid a worldwide recession and is set to explode with the opening of Baha Mar (the single largest resort project in the western hemisphere ) next year. If that sounds like ‘fluff’ to you, then you need to dust out the old cranial cavity.

49. I gave a Guyanese night worker a lift one night and she pleaded with me not put her off in front of the club because the officer waiting there gun want fronts and money too. Tell me the difference between how our police in Barbados operate as opposed to those in Jamaica. we do seem to have a warped sense of judgment at times. All of us have fallen short .

50. @balance

That is $400 MILLION dollar airport, of course