Acting Commissioner of Police Tyrone Griffith suggests there is a cultural factor behind recent domestic mu
Acting Commissioner of Police Tyrone Griffith suggests there is a cultural factor behind recent domestic murders.

The revelation by the Acting Commissioner of Police Tyrone Griffith that there appears to be a “cultural factor” which threads recent domestic abuse cases is interesting if not surprising. We have to give credit to the police force that they have a sound basis for reaching the conclusion that the cause behind some recent domestic disputes is linked to non nationals. Of course many Bajans will be compelled to intervene in the interest of demonstrating ‘balance’ by suggesting the obvious,  that is, Bajans are equally committing crime and therefore why blame non nationals. Of course non nationals cannot be blamed for all the crime BUT it does not mean we should play ostrich if there is a trend which has emerged which will add to our crime woes and wider societal challenges. Comprehension is a wonderful thing.

A few years ago when BU led the national discussion about possible sociological repercussions as a consequence of the unbridled immigration policy practiced by the former BLP government under the guise of freedom of movement, we were ridiculed by many. Why is it the ideologues like Peter Wickham, Rickey Sigh, BLP opportunists and others have refused to this day to appreciate that our fragile economies which are mainly service based, owning limited resources to protect borders, an possessing undermanned police forces means that any system which allows the unskilled and ignorant to move about freely across the Caribbean must be carefully ‘managed’? Instead they label such concerns by shouting xenophobia. Have we become do intellectually impotent not to understand that issues will emerge from having unchallenged freedom of movement?

BU will not rehash old arguments except to say, for every thoughtless action there will be an exponential reaction. Despite the landmark Shanique Myrie decision by the CCJ, BU has taken note of how other Caricom countries continue to retain the right of entry to their shores. It is a right which any sovereign should NOT relinquish. Recent developments have exposed the ideals of the Revised Treaty of Chaguaramas.

176 responses to “Emerging Crime Trend: Freedom of Movement Under the Revised Treaty of Chaguaramas Needs to be Revised”

1. @Hants

It is not being carried on local TV and frankly you nearly gave a heartattack, congrats!

On 6 December 2013 05:18, Barbados Underground

2. I watched the match online.

West Indies have batted with determination in the second innings.

3. Barbados is the country in the Caribbean that other Caribbean Countries love to beat up on. We are the whipping boys of the Caribbean.
    For this year so far, Trinidad & Tobago have sent back over a thousand Jamaican back to Jamaica. Not one of those Jamaicans and neither the Jamaican government have indicated their intentions of challenging those deportations in the court of law. Additionally, Antigua has denied entry to Jamaicans, Guyanese and other nationals from other Caribbean countries but no action has been taken against Antigua. However, when Barbados seek to protect itself from the undesirables and nuisances from some of these said countries it is a different matter. We are put in court and invariably end up on the losing side – Shanique Myrie case.
    I can recalled from reading Caribbean history that Jamaica & Guyana when they were two of the strongest economies in the Caribbean bitterly opposed nationals from Barbados & the other so-called small islands in the Eastern Caribbean entering their countries in large masses. Jamaica likened the small islands of the Eastern Caribbean as piglets sucking on the nipples of the mother pig (Jamaica). A friend of mine who is much older than I recalled the picture of a mother pig (Jamaica) with the piglets ( the islands of the Eastern Caribbean including Barbados) sucking on the nipples of the mother pig. Jamaica at that time had no regard for the other Caribbean countries. Jamaica was big and strong at that time.
    Likewise, Guyana under Cheddi Jagan had great problems accepting nationals from other Caribbean countries whose populations were primarily Black. I read that Cheddi Jagan made the point that he did not want BLACK Sugar foot workers from Barbados engulfing his country. Cheddi Jagan subsequently had measures in place to prevent any high influx of BLACK Barbadians and others from the so-called small Eastern Caribbean countries entering Guyana.
    I do not see why should Barbados should be made to pay the price for the bad, corrupt ,inept, wicked and stupid governments that Jamaica & Guyana were blessed with. Why must Barbados pay for the good governance we had from both the Democratic Labour Party and the Barbados Labour Party except when Owen Arthur was unfortunately Prime Minister of Barbados.
    CSME and the Revised Treaty of Chagauramas are not in the best interest of Barbados. I support the foresight of The Bahamas by not signing on to the damn foolishness. I believe Barbados should do like wise and pull out of CSME & CARICOM. We should not allow our sovereignty to be ceded by our signatory to those worthless treaties

4. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Negroman | December 6, 2013 at 2:22 PM |
    “CSME and the Revised Treaty of Chagauramas are not in the best interest of Barbados. I support the foresight of The Bahamas by not signing on to the damn foolishness. I believe Barbados should do like wise and pull out of CSME & CARICOM. We should not allow our sovereignty to be ceded by our signatory to those worthless treaties..”

Now tell us, dear Negroman, to whom are you directing this piece of outlandish advice? We wonder what the Dipper would think about your recommendation. After all your former Parliamentary Representative and Father of Independence was the biggest “regionalist” of them all.

However, we must agree with you that home drums should beat first and one must look after one’s own household before trying to help others.
    It is for that very reason you, Negroman, should be concerned about the St. John Polyclinic and Social Complex aka the David Thompson Mausoleum.
    Aren’t you a bit bothered by the excessively long time (over 20 years) this mothballed white elephant has been promised to the people of St. John?
    Minister Inniss promised a December 2012 opening which was subsequently rescheduled during the elections to March 2013.
    Now you can’t blame the BLP and the CSME idiot OSA for this one now, can you?

5. How do we manage our borders and take other relevant decisions to ensure all the riff and raff are not able to enter our little service based island with threat or hinder. It is such a simple objective for any sovereign to have.

This statement exemplifies my earlier comment about not understanding what integration, especially the form being pursued by the Caribbean, means or entails. How on God’s earth you could be moving towards a single economy and talking about protecting our BORDERS against Caricom citizens? What borders? Visitors and workers are two different kettle of fish, don’t get tie up!!

6. @Enuff

Where is it written, anywhere, that there is a defined path which has to be followed? Because the academics say so is so?

7. @ David
    You have to understand that Enuff is one of those people who leaves all the doors to his home open 24/7. His neighbors are free to walk in and out as they wish…he is not concerned about any risks to his family….
    …so what borders…?

8. No David!
    Because it the evidence says it makes sense. Your goods, services and money are free to TRAVEL but not people? Isn’t that the height of idiocy? Seems to work very well elsewhere in the world.

Yet another senior public servant talking foolishness. After that debacle of the UN Report on gender some years ago, one would think the lady would learn. Clearly she hasn’t.

9. @enuff

Who is suggesting that people shouldn’t travel?

10. To assist in protecting our borders from potential undesirables immigration departments around the region, should stipulate that all potential visitors procure police clearance certificates with a validity of six months in their countries before traveling. There should also be a visitor database linking all CSME countries to local law enforcement. Will domestic abuse be classed as a criminal act?

11. LOL@Enuff
    Man Cuhdear…
    No one is saying that ALL your neighbors are not free to visit your house. ….ONLY that you HAVE a door, and that YOU hold the key….

If you want to let in the village bad boy, the village ram,and the village idiot….then it is YOUR decision….but they are NOT free to come and go at their whim and fancy…BECAUSE YOU HAVE THE INTEREST AND SAFETY AND SECURITY OF YOUR FAMILY TO CONSIDER…..one would think.
    Shiite man….they can send money or goods any damn time…. Lol

12. @ Islandgal
    Wuh now you even going BEYOND what Bushie is calling for…. 95% of potential visitors are free and welcomed anytime. If you ask everyone to get current character certificates then you are almost putting a visa system in place…..too much hassle…

ALL Bushie wants is the RIGHT to stand at Bushie’s gate, look a fellow in the face, ask him a few questions and IF necessary reserve the RIGHT to say “Ever so welcome….wait for Bushie’s call….”

It that happens less than 5% of the time AND FOR KNOWN REASONS… Then what is the problem?

….no one with catchable infections
    …No one known to be a drug dealer
    …no one intending to associate with local riff raff
    …no prostitutes (unless yuh got a work permit)
    …no one whose IQ does not surpass ac’s
    …etc

13. @Bush Tea
    Not neighbors but house members, therefore they have keys to the house even if not the bedroom.

Free movement/travel what’s the difference?

14. @islandgal
    And what about Bulgarians and those that are criminals but have never been caught and have a clean PCC?

15. @enuff

You get FREE movement when we have ONE economy, ONE currency i.e. ONE government.

16. buhie btoo early to get on your dictatorial sop box. the CCJ clearly gave way to three governing laws which gave caricom nationals free travel and right of entry through out the region,and all of the above which you noted are within the rights of govt for denial of any persons entry, except you showed up ur foolishness by including peoples !Q. Leave it to u Barbados would be an isolated country like Cuba having no one to trade or buy what little products that are manufactured, man u are a throw back from the days of segregation. the only difference is that this is black against black, you little tin horn dictator,

17. @David
    The EU have different governments and the UK still uses the pound. Isn’t this attitude part of why the single economy remains a dream?

18. Impediments to Free movement of artisans, domestic workers highlighted
    Published on Saturday, 07 December 2013 14:57

Written by Andre Huie
    Hits: 351

Steven MacAndrew during his presentation at Friday’s workshop at Sugar Bay Club. (Photo: A. Huie)
    St. Kitts and Nevis (WINN): The Caribbean Policy Development Centre (CPDC) is currently in St. Kitts and Nevis to sensitize the media, officials from the Ministry of International Trade and artisans and stakeholders on free movement of artisans and domestic workers under the CARICOM Single Market and Economy. Free movement of artisans has been in place since 2007 and 2009 for household and domestic workers. The ongoing PR campaign is dubbed “Making CSME Work for Artisans and Domestics” project. Both artisans and household and domestic workers need to obtain a Caribbean Vocational Qualification (CVQ) certificate issued by an accrediting body in each country. On Friday December 6th, a workshop was held at the Sugar Bay Club in Frigate Bay with media and ministry officials where communications specialist Julius Gittens and technical coordinator for the Making CSME Work for Artisans and Domestics project Steven MacAndrew conducted the sessions. Mr. MacAndrew says most member states cannot issue CVQs, St. Kitts and Nevis included. “That basically means that artisans and household domestics have a barrier to the movement, because if CVQ is necessary to move in the region but you cannot obtain it then it basically means that you have been granted a right which is in fact meaningless because you cannot access it,” MacAndrew said.   The CPDC has been to several countries in the region so far with the project and according to Mr. MacAndrew, the response has been good. “Many household domestics and artisans are in fact not aware that they have been granted the right to free movement so in many member states they are entering those countries under the work permit regime in order to work better,” MacAndrew said. “There is need for countries to put in place the arrangement as soon as possible in order to finally facilitate the movement of artisans and household domestics in the CARICOM single market.”  – See more at: http://www.winnfm.com/news/local/6516-free-movement-of-artisans-domestic-workers-highlighted#sthash.zrmCHeT4.dpuf

19. @enuff

And the UK is now calling for a amendment to the law to affect Rumanians and Bulgarians. Nothing is a panacea under the sun enuff, we in the Caribbean have to make it work for us based on our unique landscape.

20. Bushie ..then we really cannot protect our borders if it is left up to Brass bowls to ask questions. How can anyone decipher who is legit from who isn’t? People lie all the time like our MOF and Our PM and have convinced many with their lies.

21. @islandgal

During CWC a system was implemented where passenger manifests were shared and vetted with clear rules to determine access. This system is only doable when mandated from the outside?

22. @David
    The Tory government is trying to appease supporters as reducing net migration from 100 thousands to ten thousands was a big election promise. Additionally, UKIP eurosceptic message was eating into their support. The hypocrisy of it is that the Brits are living all over Europe, especially Spain and Portugal, owning property and businesses. All fluff! But what are the facts about migration?
    http://www.huffingtonpost.co.uk/2013/09/09/eu-immigration-uk_n_3893889.html

23. @enuff

You have not addressed why the Brits have fingered the Romanians and Bulgarians?

24. @David
    Social benefits–child ‘money’ and social housing!! Do we have such a system in Bdos? No. The issue of crime is a scapegoat.

25. @enuff

Not sure, we need to hear more from the COP or more informed others.

26. Imagine other westindians on A bajan website fighting with bajans about Barbados. I’m Bahamian and in full support of bajans against jamaicans , and Guyanese. Even Trinidad! What A bunch of lowlifes shamucks they are. The three largest English speaking states in caricom with everything,are all considered failed states. Yo! come off the bajans website you parasites.