Urgent notice do read and repost:

future_centre_trustDid you or any one you know attend the Roebuck Secondary also known as Louis Lynch Secondary? Do you know of anyone who died from cancer,suffering an endocrine disease or any mysterious illness who went to the aforementioned school? Please call the Future Centre Trust at 6252020 and leave your details.

121 responses to “Appeal to Roebuck Secondary School formerly Louis Lynch Former Students”

1. David
    I lost with this one…..wait the school musse had asbestos roof or something?

2. This is going on 7 years that the school has been closed. I was informed that the watchman employed there , has taken up duty from the day it was closed, practically making him the person who has been consistently exposed the longest to any perceived danger in the environment surrounding that school. As a far as can be seen he is still fit and healthy. Food for thought.

3. @ Old Onion Bags
    Your kinda comment really kills the collegiate spirit that is conducive to a comprehensive enlightenment.

4. Colonel Buggy, your argument isn’t fair and well founded because its fails to account for an exception to the general rule. Thousands of Vietnam Vets were exposed to Agent Orange in Vietnam, but not everyone caught cancer from their exposture. So, because the watchman haven’t taken sick as of yet, doesn’t change the equation in any meaningful way. My friend, your argument obviously falls flat on it face, because it haven’t the necessary legs to support its weight.

5. Colonel Buggy, have you given any thought to the fact that those persons who were thought to have been sick, could have been immune compromised? -Of course not! But, I would hazard a guess that there were no such studies done; to determined the etology of the pathological phenomenon which had been according at the school, during the time.

6. when the smog come the guard going to leave, he could afford to, as school children we couldent leave just so. we used to inhale nuff of that smoke.

7. “This is going on 7 years that the school has been closed”
    For those of us who care to bury our heads in the sand, intensive trade union hysteria fuelled by political association and motivation forced the closure of this school for which some has been eventually with positions in high places of education.

8. “Did you or any one you know attend the Roebuck Secondary also known as Louis Lynch Secondary? Do you know of anyone who died from cancer,suffering an endocrine disease or any mysterious illness who went to the aforementioned school? Please call the Future Centre Trust at 6252020 and leave your details.”

It will be interesting to find out how many persons working in the Treasury Building have died from cancer related diseases within the same time span as the closure of the Louis Lynch secondary school.

9. Report/studies were compiled not so?

10. @ Mark Fenty
    Since when you been voted to Master Whip rund here bredds?….you is just a johnny come lately ..comprende?…..Man ya rude…stupessssss !!!

11. Before annuda pseudonym’s outlandish interruption…..I hear that the whole of the now Whitepark area was once a swamp or bogg…..could it be that marsh gas…CO (carbon monoxide) be the source of this phenomenon? Why this is not the only school that has been closed from that area…..workers at the adjoining laundry have also been complaining of illness.

12. We live in an age of technology where environmental studies can be commissioned at the drop of hat. Would this not make sense to allay fears and concerns?

13. @ Old Onion Bags
    Well, I beg your pardon Sir, because I never knew that I needed your permission to express my opinion on a public thread? And as I have already stated above: it isn’t in keeping with collegiate spirit, for one to resort to vitriclics and irrationality because his position has been challenged. But, that’s besides the point anyway , because we ought not engage each other in a phallus measuring contest, because it only exposes the level of our immaturity in fundamental ways. And for your information: I have been on this blog for several years now, but that in itself doesn’t account for anything!

14. David….who is this Mark Fenty person dat lookin to pick a fight wid Onions dis pre-independence morning.?? I dun know he is a regular (dis time a wuuman too)…one she been coming in hay a long time now…..phallus nuh…tekk care..tekk care!

15. Always in denial…..can’t wait for the denials when those cancer injections they are trying to force down the throats of 11 year old girls starts backfiring…

16. Old Onion Bag, here is another case in point: for many years the veterans of the Gulf War had made reiterated endeavors to convince the American government, that their had gotten sick from sources related to the Gulf War.

But, no one did listened nor inclined their ears to hear the cries of these poor veterans. Until those in Washington decided that their had to do something about it, because their jobs were on the line regarding this issue. You know the story fellow!

17. Why this is not the only school that has been closed from that areaโ€ฆ..workers at the adjoining laundry have also been complaining of illness.

Never heard there was a problem with workers from the surrounding areas. Which ones? and there are several businesses in the surrounding areas.

18. The laundry did a costly environmental impact study. check with Jeffrey hoyte.

19. @ Girl Friend Mork

……..and the point isssssssssssssss ?

20. Listen! I’ve never thought of myself as one who attacks people but their arguments, I suppose. And I did not attacked Old Onion in anyway shape or form! I just founded his comment not fair and well founded because it had failed to take into consideration all of the facts and factors regarding the entire issue.

21. ……………..and your point still issssssssssssss…? Man you ent gotta explain nuttin ta nobody……tink dis is high school or wat…

22. Old Onion Bag, there you go again imposing your private convictions on the rest of us. Now, you need not concern yourself with what I ought or ought not do. And I do not mean to be disrespectful in anyway, but I just feel that I am at liberty to make my own decision.

23. As someone who went to the said school and dealt with what I dealt with and can categorically say to one and all go and f**k yourselves, ya’all on the outside looking in and don’t know one shit, maybe it might not be directly related but I have witnessed too many friends and colleagues pass away that went to the school, I aint no doctor, scientist or nothing but to get on a thread and downpay what has happened is down right disgusting….I’m sure if you were some how affected or a family member, you would be looking for answers…….so as I said earlier wunna know wuh to do….oh and wunna could jump on me like de other gentleman that had a different opinion than yours cause I aint know nun ah wunna and I doesn’t give a shit….carry on nicely wunna bunch ah cyber bullies that does sit behing wunna computers and attack ppl for having an OPINION

24. Why thank you LL
    Owrite den……..Mark Fenty, there you go….stop the cyber bulling please….everyone cannot think alike….now will you go away? Give D damm people they privacy you louse

25. bajan new yorker Avatar

THE NEW YORK TIMES

Scientists Find New Dangers in Tiny but Pervasive Particles in Air Pollution

Byย FELICITYย BARRINGER

February 18, 2012

Fine atmospheric particles โ€” smaller than one-thirtieth of the diameter of a human hair โ€” were identified more than 20 years ago as the most lethal of the widely dispersed air pollutants in the United States. Linked to both heart and lung disease, theyย killย an estimated 50,000 Americans each year. But more recently, scientists have been puzzled to learn that a subset of these particles, called secondary organic aerosols, has a greater total mass, and is thus more dangerous, than previously understood.

A batch of new scientific findings is helping sort out the discrepancy, including, most recently, a study led by scientists at theย University of California, Irvine, and theย Pacific Northwest National Laboratoryย in Richland, Wash., that is scheduled to be released on Tuesday. It indicates that the compoundsโ€™ persistence in the atmosphere was under-represented in older scientific models.

โ€œIf the authorsโ€™ analysis is correct, the public is now facing a false sense of security in knowing whether the air they breathe is indeed safe,โ€ said Bill Becker, of theย National Association of Clean Air Agencies.

Taken together, the findings of the new study and of a handful of others published in the past two years could mean that two decadesโ€™ worth of pollution-control strategies โ€” focused on keeping tiny particles from escaping into the atmosphere โ€” have addressed only part of the problem.

Scientists and regulators say that new models, strategies and technologies would be needed to address the secondary organic aerosol particles, which are formed not during combustion but later, in the wake of interactions between pollutants and natural chemical compounds.

Paul Shepson, a professor of analytical and atmospheric chemistry at Purdue University and one of the reviewers of the Irvine paper, called it โ€œhighly significant in scientific terms,โ€ adding that current models of fine particulates โ€œgrossly underpredictโ€ their density, โ€œsometimes by as much as a factor of 10.โ€

A former regulator agreed. โ€œThereโ€™s no doubt this is important stuff,โ€ saidย Jeffrey R. Holmstead, who ran the Environmental Protection Agencyโ€™s air and radiation program during the administration of President George W. Bush. โ€œIt may be harder than we thoughtโ€ to clean the fine particles out of the air and protect public health, he said, โ€œbut if we really know whatโ€™s causing it, we can focus our efforts more.โ€

Mr. Holmstead added that the findings could significantly affect the future design and implementation of air-pollution control strategies and that regulators would have to rethink the models that inform air quality rules.

This new information has scientists questioning whether climate change modeling should be adjusted as well.

The E.P.A. has announced that it isreassessingย the national ambient air quality standards for fine particulates, which were last set in 2006 at levels higher than the agencyโ€™s staff and scientific advisers had recommended. The agencyโ€™s most recent data show that airborne particles decreasedย 27 percentย from 2000 to 2010.

A spokeswoman for the E.P.A. said the agency usually declined to comment on individual studies, preferring to incorporate them into its larger analyses during the rulemaking process.

The Irvine study of the formation of secondary compounds in the atmosphere, which will be published in theย Proceedings of the National Academy of Science, upends previous assumptions about the fate of the byproducts of the pollution from internal-combustion engines. These gaseous byproducts were thought to incorporate themselves into tiny airborne drops of liquid that would then dissipate quickly as the drops evaporated.

The new study finds instead that they attach themselves more tightly to airborne organic particles, creating tiny tar balls that evaporate more slowly and persist longer than anyone had thought. E.P.A. models built on these assumptions now appear to understate the total amount of fine particles, according toย Barbara J. Finlayson-Pitts, a professor at Irvine and one of the studyโ€™s authors.

โ€œIf youโ€™re going to use models in a predictive sense, you need to make sure they are getting the right answer for the right reasons,โ€ she said. โ€œRight now most models are not getting the right answer.โ€

Allen Robinson, a professor of engineering and public policy at Carnegie Mellon University, focuses his work on fine particulates and their regulation. โ€œWe havenโ€™t been trying to control a lot of the organics,โ€ he said of the subset of particles that is the subject of the new findings.

Emissions of coal-fired power plants do not play a role in the formation of these organic particles, several scientists said, but they do come into play in the formation .

26. Proud RSS/LLSS Scholar Avatar
    Proud RSS/LLSS Scholar

Clearly this is not the forum for this. We (past students) started to compile a list ago and have been forced to revisit and discussed it just based on what has transpired in the last 5 months alone. However, as stated this is not the forum for this. I would hope that persons making comments would be considerate enough to understand the sensitivity of this matter. Families are grieving.

27. Japan withdraws support of controversial HPV vaccine over safety concerns
    by Thaddeus Baklinski

TOKYO, October 16, 2013 (LifeSiteNews.com) โ€“ While jurisdictions throughout the Western world continue to promote the HPV vaccine, the Japanese government has pulled its support of the controversial drug and sent formal notifications to local health officials saying that it should not be administered until safety concerns are investigated.
    The vaccines in question, Gardasil and Cervarix, are meant to combat Human Papilloma Virus (HPV), thought to be the most common sexually transmitted infection in the world. HPV is known to cause multiple types of cancers, including cervical, anal, penile, and throat cancer.
    The vaccines do not prevent cancer cells from forming in the body but purport to prevent the four most common strains of HPV, out of an estimated 150 strains.
    http://www.lifesitenews.com/news/japan-withdraws-support-of-controversial-hpv-vaccine-over-safety-concerns

28. Point is the school get shut down for a reason.

29. I went to this school I do suffer for this issue. A lot of old scholars have had or have cancer many have died. We use to joke that there was something in the air when we were at school. I don’t even know how I feel about this story. Is this post of real David?

30. @spiceisle55x

Call the number.

31. @Mark Fenty.
    I said ‘food for thought”. I did not ask you to eat it.

32. It will be interesting to find out how many persons working in the Treasury Building have died from cancer related diseases within the same time span as the closure of the Louis Lynch secondary school.
    ………………………………………. @balance . Don’t hold your breath waiting on any enquiry .Remember Tansitor Factory in Newton Industrial Estate, where several young women, who at some time worked at that establishment, and later died, reportedly of cancer?
    The first factory building was abandoned,and they occupied two other buildings in the same estate,probably leaving them sick as well. Have we had an enquiry ?
    (That first abandoned sick building is the same one a workers union was going to purchase / beg for and turn it into a members market)

33. @ Mark Fenty
    Why not just use your initials. They would describe you more aptly.

34. I will on Monday

35. I can’t believe grown people are on this forum acting so immaturely when this is such a sensitive subject. If you attended this school and you have not yet been diagnosed with any illness, you should be counting your blessings. I came on here to be informed because I too was exposed. I don’t think because I have not been diagnosed with any illness that it has passed me. I know of too many close friends and former class mates who have died from or still battling some mysterious illness. Please lets not get side tracked, let’s stop the foolishness and get informed. My grandmother always said if you don’t have anything nice to say don’t say nothing at all. God Bless and lets continue to go from Strength to Strength.

36. GLEN
    CAN YOU TELL US SOME OF THE SYMPTOMS EXPERIENCED BY YOUR COLLEAGUES

37. Old Onion Bag, did you hit your head anytime Sir? I have to ask this question in order to ascertain the nature of your thought process, because I cannot remember at anytime, cyber bullying anyone and certainly not you buddy. Perhaps, it is an exercise of your imagination that is at fault here Onion?

In any event, all I am simply trying to convey to you is this Onion: it was common knowledge for those of us who went to or attended school close to Roebuck Secondary back in my day to have heard of such claims of illness made by the students of Roebuck Secondary School.

Now, I had attended Roebuck Boys Primary at the time and it didn’t escaped my noticed to have been a witnessed to those unguarded stories of students who had gotten ill at the school in those days. And it has little to do with thinking alike and more to do with ascertaining the facts as it relates to these claims.

38. @ Mark F

Why don’t you listen to the people and give it a rest…….man what is so difficult to understand ? What is your problemmmmm?…. Retract your article do and move on..

39. Onion, all I am simply doing is reacting to what you had written earlier, but I guess you’re the type of individual who likes to have the last word. Nonetheless, this is the final thing I am going to say to you Onion: ” If the only tool you have is a hammer, you tend to see every problem as a nail.” Abraham Maslow

40. Boy Blue, leave me alone and go back to bed, because it seems as though you have forgotten to take your early morning dose of antipsychotic medication. And it seems as though we gine have tuh pay for it in serious way . (lol) Wuh wrong wid ya though boy ? Jenskins aint got nuh more spar beds ya hear boy.

41. I went to school there and a number of my former classmates have died as well and we aren’t in our 30’s as yet. My asthma had gotten worse while going to school because of the smoke. so everyone has a different opinion. how you take it is your business. all i know is that it sucks nowing some of the people you shared so much with is gone.

42. I know of a death from colon cancer and a case of breast cancer in the same area – neighbors – which may or may not be significant.

43. Kytyky, two of my childhood friends attended Roebuck Secondary back in the day and I am quite concern about their health as I speak. Because the both of them are still in their middle – forties and reseach has shown that a great many women throughout the world are diagnosed with breast – cancer in this age group.

And the fact that the both of them are females only adds to the complexity of those cancers the are conducive to the female gender -one would think. Not that male cancers and other conditions that afflicts the male gender isn’t of great importance, because it is.

As a males in society today, we can’t help but to think about prostate – cancer and the conditions such as those at Reobuck Secondary, obviously increases potential for those persons who had been exposed.

44. A heart gutting story about this matter appears in today’s press:

http://www.nationnews.com/articles/view/alive-with-an-issue/

45. Does any one know why my old school get shut down?

46. DOES HE HAVE MESOTHELIOMA?

47. By all reports a study was done but like most reports it is still to be made public. BU of course is not referring to any report done by Hoyte at the laundry.

On 2 December 2013 20:08, Barbados Underground

48. I was a member of Louis Lynch. I started in 1998, form 1s4 and i remember clearly in having to study the plant root system. We had to pull plants and report on their roots. That day a group of us went around by the library.. the side closest to the laundry and when we pulled the plants the dirt came up white and we all began to itch all over.
    We went back to our class and we said what had happened and i don’t think anyone really believed us until i touched another girl ( who wasn’t in our group ) began to itch on contact.
    We were then sent to the office. The principal was absent that day so the deputy principal ( now deceased ) in charge made us sit under the thee on the benches until it was time to go home.
    She did not allow us to call our parents to get us or anything of the sort. And we weren’t allowed to speak to anyone else that day.
    Since then i have spoken about it but I don’t think it was ever really taken seriously.
    Unfortunately I was one of those students who used to be sick all the time especially when the laundry smoked us out. I always had to use an inhaler almost every day. I was always getting headaches and my heart started to give me problems when I started 4th form.
    I always believed that it was the school that made me ill. It has taken a while but over the years my health became better.
    I don’t know if this story helps or not, but I have said my piece and I really hope it helps in some way.

49. Colonel Buggy |,Don’t allow Mark Fenty to get off with his line of reasoning,,,you are Totally correct thus far. Too mant of us are looking for an Aladans cave…

50. It is really upsetting to read this and see how callous minded some people are about the plight of others.
    I went to that lovely institution called Roebuck Secondary, and I too have lost friends from cancer, and i have friends who are suffering with or are in remission at this point.i am in my late 30s and i do have endocrine issues that are causing problems and now i have to be running test to see what is going on. It is a scary situation to be in but i am trusting the Lord above to help me in this situation….