Submitted by Ready done

We believe in Aquaponics, it is an idea that solves so many problems we are currently facing towards becoming a circular economy. Kristen Adams of Adams Aqualife recently won the Bank On Me competition, highlighting the massive available liquidity in the fish farming market. No doubt interest in fish farming is on the increase.

Operating an Aquaponics system on any given day is a veritable mix mash of plant husbandry, organic chemistry, water flow dynamics, soil science, then there is the fish to take care of. It seems daunting on paper at first with all the science but navigating the learning curve of Aquaponics is a journey made simple with hands-on experience – as the saying goes ” you ent a fish farmer till you kill a million fish” prepares you for the unavoidable mistakes and mass fish kills. The frequency of this unfavourable experience can be greatly reduced with good system design. It is our intension to save millions of fish and to kick start an Aquaponics industry in Barbados. We have been trying from 2005 because we intend to fill the information void on the subject.

Depending on what type of system you want you can spend as little as a high-end smart phone on a hobby system, as much as an equivalent sized poultry operation or mega like Kristen.  Aquaponics is viewed as the most advance tool in the small business farmers toolkit. It has the advantage of a steady supply of produce at competitive prices, and one up on poultry in terms of lower labour requirement and no smelly manure to dispose of thus offering a more attractive business model. And it is a timely lifeline to the small farmer who is losing the fight to subsidise industrial type farming and cheap imports. The high level of science applied appeals to persons who have never been in traditional farming because the documented practices are easy to follow and implement.

In our time spent at Agrofest in a home provide by the ministries of fisheries and on farm meetings we determined the target customer to be a male aged 40ish who can earn $700.00 a week from home. The first step to enabling the customer to achieve the target is to pick up the AP hobby and learn the trade with hands on experience. We began in 2010 with the help of the United Nations Small Development Program. We designed a backyard system for Barbados that is cost effective and at a size practical enough for target consumer to learn the concept of Aquaponics. The result: a savings of $15 a week in food. Yet it is fully contained, children-safe and can go without attention for up to three months at a time. This is a key attribute because the learning process is long term and available time spent depends on current priorities, experience in system design etc.

Our current project is to build a system that can generate $500-$800 in profit a week. We estimate they are 6,889 interested persons in Aquaponics in Barbados, if you are one of them or know someone who might be, like our Facebook Page. Send us a comment let us know what your thinking.

15 responses to “Adams Aqualife Wins Bank On Me”

1. St George's Dragon Avatar

This is an advertisement. Can I post one for my business as well?

2. now that would be all well and good but most of the world has already tried this fish farming , all found that after a while decease and new virus were caused and passed on to wild fish stocks by these farms.in canada it has not worked .the feed that these fish are fed are not natural and most of your Caribbean fish contain high levels of mercury and other toxins NOW.!!!!!!!!!
    have you been living under a rock?
    by the way all fish shipped from china have high levels of toxins that are way above human consumption standards.
    all like now in your mackerel if from china all fish are bad.
    you must have something the whole world has does not know about.!!!!!!!
    please share with the rest of the world.
    please the world is listening.!!!!!
    http://youtu.be/qQXP6TDtW0w

3. Back in Time Jack Avatar

Kristina knows full well that unless she can find a much cheaper source of electricity then she and her business have no possibility of meeting the objective, which is to make a profit.

Stupse even so called smart people does act stupid.

4. Lets deal with the concerns highlighted.. we at Baird’s village get ask all the time why we do what we do, we are the first adoptors of Aquaponics in Barbados, we can see the real and serious need for Aquaponics in our culture. Modern Aquaponics is about 30yrs old and now catching on world wide with Australia in the lead and America a distant second. The only real large scale sucesfull AP story is the university of virgin islands, and is the standerd in witch all other systems are mesured. What are we selling? The hope that barbados can feed itself if need be. Some day we hope to be making a living from AP but for now we are not for personal profit but profit of country first.

The limiting factor in these types of operations is labour cost I am sure she takes care of them her self as stated before the operating cost of a Aquaponics system is compareable to a poutry farm of the same size. The feed conversion ratio for talipia at it highest is around 1.2to1 this means that for every 1.2 kg of feed you buy you sell 1 kg of fish. Because fish don’t have legs and don’t have to spend energy to support their weight they convert feed better than land animal FCR of chicken is 1.4, beef 1.8.

On the world seen we eat more farmed fish than wild caught from 2010 I think(got to verifi) the point is we have to farm every thing we want to eat, the hunter gather life still is over either you like it or not.

5. @Ready done

Keep on with your message, BU wlil support you.

6. @ St George’s Dragon what am I selling?

@ iabingy it seams like you know a little about fish farming in general or done some reading, where you are confused is in the type of fish farming, no problem I will do my best to get the right information out there. The type of farm you are discribeing is called Flow through systems, these are open to nature, most of the time the fish are keeped in cages or man made ponds with natural water flowing through. The pond at Codrigton collage is a flow through system. Because these are open to nature the fish waste/manure escapes and distroys wild life. Please note Aquaponics is a closed system meaning we uses the same water over and over, all fish waste is treated and reused as a fiterliser source for vegetables. No water escapes our systems and growing them locally we would know what feed is being used and can make sure our fish are as clean as possable.

7. Great Idea Readydone!—-Every venture is fraught with ‘teething pains’, and anyone who does not realize that, has not really ventured from his/her ‘comfort zone’!!–Thus the reason why such a large percentage of ‘small business’ start ups, may not be successful, but this should not dictate one’s choice in a venture, after ‘diligent’ evaluation and research!!—The difference between ‘success’ and ‘failure’, quite often, may be measured by the ‘wants’ and ‘expectations’ of the entrepreneur and the effort expended, along with good positive ‘karma’!!—-Keep up your committed effort, and your project should be ‘tremendously’ successful, to your specifications!!

8. JOLLY GOOD SHOW READY DONE
    GREAT TO KNOW THAT NOT EVERYONE IN BIM IS FUMBLING

9. Aquaponics was always a doable … The fact that these good people had to be made a side show of, so that CBC staff and a whole lot of other people involved with the back end of the entertainment business could have another excuse to draw another salary pack is inexcusable.

Bank on Me is shameless exploitation of the non-academic productive citizens of Barbados who are traditionally refused the unbridled access to the tax payers coffers that their academic cousins enjoy, in order to show relevance

10. @Baffy

Why would you knock An opportunity for entrepreneurs to understand what is required to compete?

11. Ha ha .. David I still tryin’ to unravel you’ sentence .. ah h.. Dhat one is a twista …

Come on man, look who were judging them … Were any of the judges employed ever involved with the process of lobbying for the acceptance of a local product in an overseas market..? Who were these people to be giving anyone advice? If they are as good as they have been projecting, then they should all immediately find places at the Min of For Affairs, and the BIDC because this is where that kind of know how would be best deployed … But you know wha’ David … I believe that you may not want to acknowledge that the primary focus of the show was on its entertainment value, not its educational and other minor spin offs (that were delivered by unqualified ppl) … I

Shameless …!

12. @Baffy

Agree that there was the entertainment consideration, where we disagree is that there is still value in it as presented.