Adrian Loveridge - Hotelier
Adrian Loveridge – Hotelier

If you have not done so I implore you to read – especially if you are involved in tourism or financing – what in my humble opinion is an excellent article entitled The La Source Saga. The author S. Brian Samuel spent 20 years with the World Bank, primarily working on the Caribbean Project Development Facility with the specific task of raising finance for regional businesses.

Brian honestly admits that La Source was one of his favourite projects and in fact on retirement, he took up the post of Executive Director when it re-opened in February 2008, after the ravages of Hurricane Ivan. Within three years of its original opening, La Source financially broke-even and achieved a year round occupancy of between 72 and 78 per cent, prior to Ivan striking the island. Even with just 100 rooms, which then represented only 8 per cent of Grenada’s total room stock, it was providing a staggering 20 per cent of the entire hotel guests to the destination.

The article goes on to graphically detail the challenges that followed, leading up to a second closure, or as the writer describes it, ‘Death and Rebirth’. Faced with mounting unemployment, declining revenue and a real risk of losing further airlift, the Government of Grenada, had to do something and I understand that Sandals had already expressed an interest. To seal the deal, the then Minister of Finance, Nazim Burke, gave them ‘something special’ and concessions granted included:

29-year waiver of corporate taxes; 25-year waiver of property taxes; 25-year waiver of customs duties on capital goods; 25-year waiver of customs duty on consumables and a 15-year waiver of VAT (Value Added Tax).

For any type of business these inducements must be considered extraordinary. Only time will tell after an estimated US$100 million has been spent enhancing and adding rooms, whether it all will be worth it, when the scheduled re-launch takes place as planned on 12th December 2013. Faced with an even greater crisis scenario locally, including 37 closed hotels, plummeting arrival numbers and the loss of something approaching 60,000 airline seats alone within the last year, it was never going to be easy for our Government to find a perfect solution for Almond Beach Village. Sadly despite the promise of greater transparency and accountability in the 2008 DLP Manifesto, I doubt if the taxpayers of Barbados will ever learn the full extent of the incentives given to entice Sandals and Beaches to our shores.

But there are other very serious implications that must be taken into account with potentially detrimental consequences. If substantial tax breaks are given will this now disadvantage our existing accommodation providers? After all, they will have to compete with the two new brands and can that still happen on a second uneven playing field?

Will competitive advantages gained by the concessions, enable Sandals and Beaches to undercut existing tour operator rates and switch sell customers from other hotels?

For sure the CEO’s of established hotels and potential investors are already asking these and other pertinent questions. Years later many of our smaller hotels are still recovering from the decade or more of systematic predatory pricing practised by GEMS (Hotels and Resorts Ltd). ‘We’ have to be very careful not to create this situation once again that may force other properties out of business.

169 responses to “Managing the Transition in Our Tourist Industry”

1. Ignoring for the time bing that taxpayers are being askwed to subsidise Sandals’ La Sourve projeect, once again insurance companies are behaving like bandits (although insurance company No 1 in this case no doubt behaved properly).
    There is a need, following the disaster of Clico, for a Caricom-wide review of insurance companies and their often refusal to meet their obligations.
    They get away with it because the politicians and civil servants are inept, and do not understand what insurance companies do.

2. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

You have to hand it to ADRIAN, he has the uncanny ability to never see the bright side of anything.

An eternal pessimist!

3. Man ! oh Man do i love this article ..Want to know why .i”ll tell u cause the govt got it right concessions and all Maybe! just “maybe” the arrival of sandals”might” just bring out the best in the lazy ass ones in the hotel industry who sits on their fat arsses and wait for govt hands out with the gimme gimme mentality . Boy ! oh ! boy great article looks like there maybe light at the end of tunnel. Nuttin better than a dose of good old fashion competion to get these loafers moving. hurra!

4. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Letter: Barbadians are saints compared to SVG

Published on October 28, 2013

Dear Sir:

One of the worst airports for rudeness and sheer stupid ignorance is St Vincent’s E.T. Joshua airport.

A few weeks ago an English family arrived at the airport. Retired father and mother, with their 28-year-old daughter. The family was well dressed and well presented obviously a very nice class of persons.

The daughter is training to be a doctor at a British university, she came to SVG for six weeks to get some experience at the Milton Cato Hospital; she had a hospital invitation letter and evidence of staying in a known beachside apartment.

The family was travelling as a group; the parents had decided to come with the daughter to make a holiday of it for themselves. Mum and dad had a return ticket; the daughter had a whole bunch of money, several credit cards and a British passport. The daughter had air tickets reading London, Barbados, SVG, Grenada, London. The immigration said she had to have a ticket that showed her departing SVG, her tickets showed her leaving Grenada. The explanation was that she was taking a trip through the Grenadines by ferry services [which is not pre-bookable] then on to Grenada from the end destination of Carriacou. The immigration would not accept that explanation, no ifs, no buts, no ticket departing SVG, then entry could not be allowed into SVG and she and the family would have to leave. The alternative was for the girl to buy a ticket. So in the end, after three hours and threatening the parents with the police, the girl brought a ticket that said SVG-Grenada.

Now what this meant was that this very charming young adult daughter, cancelled her once in a lifetime trip through the islands, a great disappointment, loss of revenue for the ferries and loss of revenue for the hotels had she stopped at various islands on her way to Grenada.

The damage done to SVG is unending; she has said that when she gets back to her university, she will notify the students union that SVG immigration is unfriendly and not a place they should visit.

Whilst she was in SVG she was pestered by men making crude and sexually rude comments to her as she walked through Kingstown. Do Vincentian men think such disgusting behaviour would impress any woman, never mind a visitor?

The parents went and stayed in Bequia and they were robbed in the middle of the night whilst in bed by a burglar. The police then to add insult to injury made them pay for a written report. The robber was caught later the same night, but not all those items stolen were returned. It cost these people a day of their holiday to come to the mainland to get a police report, and the police report cost as much as the missing items.

Can you imagine how much future tourist revenue has been lost by ignorant immigration officers? How many times can we multiply this by, how often does this happen?

The family ate in restaurants whilst they were in SVG; that’s where I met them and got the information from. Hundreds of people during their stay heard the story, people off boats, tourists, business travellers, local business men, and at least one ULP MP.

One act of stupidity can undo Vincentian advertising fees of $250,000 or more in a moment. Multiply that by hundreds of incidents and we are wasting our annual advertising budget. We may as well just give up, stop building the airport and all continue as we have always been, because we are just not ready yet as a tourist destination.

Some people think Barbados is bad; it’s nowhere near as bad as SVG, land of king ‘Wun-Phatt-Pratt.

Ignorance is contagious; it spreads from the top and eventually reaches the bottom.

Peter Binose
    Self appointed keeper of the whistle

5. And adrien another thing i like about your article is your boldness in trying to suggest that any concessions barbados might have given would be of a similar vein to grenada BOY! oh BOY ! HURRA! another one of those poisionus speculation. this sandals agreement has really thrown u a bucket s..h..t something that u seem to delight yourself in wading through man they got to be plenty surprises in there waithing fuh u . Man ac can,t wait to hear the rest Sandals Story al carte adrien style.

6. CCC

What a ringing endorsement

“Some people think Barbados is bad; it’s nowhere near as bad as SVG”

7. 2adrian.
    Having given the concessions given, what is the approximate total cost? If you can could you give us an idea of a cost-benefit analysis of this case?

8. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Due Diligence | October 28, 2013 at 10:21 AM

According to you lot here on Barbados Underground, Barbados is the WORST place on Earth.

I am really shock to find out that, in the words of a person from another country, there is a place that is much worse.

How can that be?

Can you enlighten my darkness?

9. CCC..I think I would have a better chance enlightening your blackness than your darkness. I am curious why all these perks to come here are given to sandals, why not to the melia group ( 300 hotels) and others that are huge chains and can promote Barbados all over the world. Now AC unt are you saying no concessions were given, and if there is any speculation that is the govts fault for not telling everyone exactly what they have done

10. U dumb jack lawson where did ac say that no concessions were given…….FOOl……….however whatever concessions were given when compared to the amount of cuzillion given over the years to this one sector who now waste no time bellyaching and asking fuh more while haven,t been appreciated of govts efforts in holding their hands. Whatc ever sandals got is well worth the price. Sandals has shown over and over that they can deliver Unlike what we have here as hoteliers

11. @ac

Again you show that you are clueless about how business is done in the sector in Barbados. Barbados is an uncompetitive climate because of huge salary and wages cost. Also the cost to borrow means ROI is not attractive. Compared to other islands Barbados will struggle to keep up. If there is no sector except tourism to pay the bills then government has no choice but to subsidize and facilitate.

12. David i am no against helping the sector, but too many of them have collected lots of taxpayers money(subsidies) and have not shown anything of value that is beneficial to the industry , So when Adrien gets up in here talking about how much Sandals (remind you) a proven entity gets in subsidies one must question his hypocrisy, Cause on the one hand adrien has praised the good job of Butch Stewart in other islands and those govts wisdom in having butch front and centre in generating tourism business , Now when it comes to Barbados he sings another tune, I for one belive that again Adrien is mad as hell cause this one flew right over his head blowi ng him completly out the water, Now in true Adrein style he must kick ! frown and agitate , But i still like his article! gave me food for thought:!

13. millertheanunnaki Avatar

ac | October 28, 2013 at 8:04 PM |

So when are you going to get this $500 million of Chinese money which is just sitting in the bank to be collected by your MoF to build the Sandals hotel? Sounds like another Four Seasons scam to us!
    Which comes first? The WTE long in the tooth project? The sugar cane industry resuscitation project? The West Coast Sewage project? The Pierhead marina?

Keep fooling your silly self ac. Your administration is on self destruct because of lies.

14. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2013 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2013 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad

15. wait miller which comes first i think they are to be rolled on in alphabetical order , lol…..

16. @David

are we to continue giving subsidies to existing hotels which would have benefitted from concessions? Should other businesses receive continuous concessions or should new entities be given concessions and if they failed to deliver, such concessions should be netted off against the business assets as a preferred debt, similar to debentures?

I have no objections to offering concessions, but not for the hotel owners to amass wealth and bank their profit overseas and continue to claim that the sector is not profitable. If govt continue to grant these hotels continued concessions, what will happen to the revenue side of govt. look the hotels have to look at the way they do business, cut out these tour operators which are ripping them off. get together and form their own tour operating company and agree with the BTA the hotel owners will fund the staff to operate the company, and govt provide the accommodation for them in their various offices overseas.

17. @ New Blood

The simple answer is no. It is bad policy-making. Government just imposes tougher taxes on ordinary taxpayer while the corporates negotiate a virtual tax-free existence.
    Just have a look at the Tourism Development Act to see what those opening new hotels get as incentives and fiscal privileges. New hoteliers can import almost everything they want to use; what this says about Barbados is left to the imagination.
    Make them pay taxes, if they cannot then they will take their business elsewhere. But then again this is part of the economic mantra of foreign reserves, a kind of policy mysticism.

18. @Newblood & Hal

Government gives concession to all kinds of business every day. The matter of concerns must be taken in context.

The tourism industry is all we got at the moment, it pays the bills, the benefit of this sector to our economy is estimated to be 60% when direct and indirect inputs are considered. What we have to do is is a better job of managing the leakage.

19. @David

let us discuss, how are we going to manage the fx leakage? You have not responded to the suggestion the hotel owners forming their own company. R u sure that the hotel sub-sector contribute 60% and where can I find that recorded? How much the International business sector contribute. Can we continue to massively subsidise the hotel subsector as it is currently constituted. Have a cost benefit analysis has been done against the concessions granted in comparison to the contribution being made by these fx owned hotels, among other things.

20. @ David

Tourism has been a major contributor to the Barbados economy since its invention in the early 1960s; but an overemphasis in fiscal policy on tourism makes us prisoners of policy.
    The moral danger is that if a sector or business becomes too big to fail, then it is a danger to the real economy.
    We must diversify: a policy that darts from Four Season(failed) to Almond Resorts (Failed), to But Stewart and Sandals (pending), to Beaches(pending) can hardly be called diversification.
    At the same time the economy has had three consecutive quarters of negative growth. This is what is called in economics a recession.
    Yet, bizarrely, not a single paper, not a single news programme, not a single politician has mentioned the word within days of the publication of the central bank figures.
    Mia Mottley and her team did not even mention the word at their Queen’s Park meeting, not even Clyde Mascoll, the economic spokesman. This is denial bordering on insanity.
    All people were prepared to talk about was the economic nonsense of foreign reserves; then when the governor of the central bank said the fall in foreign reserves was not really damaging there was total silence.
    To cap it all, Frank Alleyne, widely referred to as an economics professor, said the economy was being well managed, or words to that effect, in a speech which demonstrated more his support for the incompetent and intellectually thuggish Chris Sinckler than it did about his understanding of economic policy.
    It is this collective ignorance by our leading public intellectuals and policymakers that makes me sad for my country.

21. @Newblood

We have to make choices and one of those choices is whether we allow the sector to collapse in a recession. Do all the dismantling and transformation you want to the sector but how can you stop doing what you are doing without undertaking the very studies you are calling for.

Here is a report prepared by Governor Worrell on the sector.

22. Got news for you Hal, Mia, Owen and the Governor of the Central Bank are on record stating tourism is what will have to pull us out of the economic mess we find ourselves.

23. @ David

I rest my case. Three blind people.

24. @David

I am normally in some instances supportive o you logic, but regretfully you seem to not up to it on this topic. I am quite aware of what the governor has said, but are your thoughts of diversifying our economy. you said that we are a high priced nation, can we thus continue with our tourism product in its present form, or should we be moving towards transforming of our agricultural sector.

Again, what r ur thoughts on Barbados or the region forming a global tour operating company to look after its/their interest. what about the govt pushing community tourism and would it give those householders concessions, among other things.

25. @Newblood

Feel free t ideas as always.

26. @ David
    Based even on the best conceptualization of your logic, surely you can see that there is no hope in our methodologies.
    Government has become an exercise in wishful thinking.
    Borrow $500m here…
    Invest $200m there….
    Give $100m in concessions there…
    Form regional body to do this…
    Privatize this body….
    Take over this failed concern….
    Build this… Rhianna this….Tourism that…
    …and can’t even run an hourly bus service in a little flat 10 X 20 country….or even conceptualize a decent plan to do so…

Bunch of bowls…full of a lotta shiite…

What we need is to identify/import a few “CAN-DO” people to do some of the basic things that need to be done ’bout here first,…instead of the lotta wishful thinking and shiite talk.

27. Bush Tea

Do not understand your submission and neither does Barney Lynch who recommended the government borrow 1 billion to on lend to tourism players at low rates.

28. @Bush

I would not have u disrespecting david like that yah hear me. be more polite please, Leave AC alone before amused start on u again.

29. If u listen to bush TEA and his pessimistic rantings “all hope is gone ” just pull the plug and let the patient die. What bush TEA fails to realise that man is not “perfect” trial and error would occur. they will be good govts and bad govts. IF history is any judge we can look bad at the many immoral and illegals acts that have been doneby govts but man has always strive to rise above such levels slavery !holacaust,. wars! we are young and still learning .getting it right is the hard part.Giving up NO

30. @ newblood
    Bushie and David tight….no disrespect intended (and none taken if Bushie knows David), but shiite man…. Ya mean it is not OBVIOUS!?! Something is FUNDAMENTALLY WRONG WITH OUR THINKING.
    …and It don’t take no brain surgery skills to see what is wrong….

This money-driven approach to solving everything is myopic….and it CLEARLY is not working.
    It is no secret that Bushie has been calling for a radical and fundamental REVOLUTION that leads us to a new meritocracy focused approach which is based on justice, fairness, rightness, and selflessness.

“Barney Lynch who recommended the government borrow 1 billion to on lend to tourism players ….”
    LOL HA HA OH S#*#%+€£¥%#… Muh belly!
    Touché David….
    Bushie knows when you are telling him to F – off 🙂
    Barney Lynche’s advice is just about there with ac’s…. Ask Oba..

@ ac
    HUSH do!

Look David, you playing you don’t understand Bush talk nowadays…. …but the problems that we face CANNOT be solved by the same warped approach (greed) that created them.
    Barbados possesses MANY TIMES more resources than are needed for ALL of us to live full, happy, contented and successful lives. These schemes to try to attract more forex (90% of which will end up in the hands of 1% of us in any case) DOES NOT ADDRESS THE REAL ISSUES THAT WE FACE.

….but you done know that D!
    You need to ignore idiots like Lynch and to ban ac from BU like how she banned from BTAL 🙂

31. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Hal Austin | October 29, 2013 at 4:52 AM |
    “To cap it all, Frank Alleyne, widely referred to as an economics professor, said the economy was being well managed, or words to that effect, in a speech which demonstrated more his support for the incompetent and intellectually thuggish Chris Sinckler than it did about his understanding of economic policy.
    It is this collective ignorance by our leading public intellectuals and policymakers that makes me sad for my country.”

You have summed it all up rather neatly. That is the major problem facing this country: a bunch of academic ‘know-it-alls’ with no intellectual depth to them and devoid of achieving anything in a practical problem-solving manner running things in Bim. The Guv of the Central Bank has shown himself to be a clear and present danger to the country’s economy. His lies passing off as spin know no bounds. Cheap talk and mediocrity wrapped in a sackcloth of implementation deficit disorder are the characteristics of the ruling administration.

All indicators suggest this DLP administration would be putting the country under IMF control as it becomes bankrupt in a few months. What an achievement this would be breaking the myth of the erstwhile ‘best managed black country’ is now becoming an economic pariah and reinforcing the image of the black managed countries being the white man’s (and inexorably the ‘yellow’ man) burden.

32. Adrian

Suggest this article should be titled MISMANAGING the Transition of Our Tourism Industry; or better still Sandalizing the Transition of Our Tourism Industry.

Hal

“I rest my case. Three blind people”

Add these three – Stuart, Sinkler and Sealy

Bush Tea

“What we need is to identify/import a few “CAN-DO” people to do some of the basic things that need to be done ’bout here first,…instead of the lotta wishful thinking and shiite talk”

Right on

33. Who remembers the B list American, speaking at a conference at the Hilton Hotel, calling on the government to listen to business people.
    It was such crap. Governments should listen to the people, their citizens, and the people in Barbados are having a hard time.
    Just read the papers or walk through Bridgetown and see the number of low-cost loans being offered by the stores; clearly they are not doing business. This is an act of desperation.
    But it is piling up debt on households. It is more pain down the line.

34. DD is no lefty; but the article in the Business Authority, ON THE LEFT: Economic confidence at a low point by Ryan Straughn, is food for thought – and he did not mention the taxpayers’ half million gift to Butch.

35. BEWARE OF MEN BEARING GIFTS

Chinese Colony
    One of the most significant traits of the Chinese is their colonial nature. The Chinese colony has the potential to significantly impact the society within a country in the name of investment. Although they seem to be patient, Chinese work strategically and, they can be very effective. One basic fact about the Chinese culturally is that they don’t require many material things to survive, they operate with the basic need of shelter, food, and a welcoming environment. Because Chinese operate in colonies, they work together to acquire these three very important resources. In other words, they rely on each other to survive and build wealth for their cause.
    Every individual Chinese also has one of three jobs. There are those that reproduce in the motherland to the point that they are one of the largest populations in the world, those that work, and those who manage and rule. In other words, they operate similar to ants. Those that reproduce give birth and tend to the young while inculcating the social and political values and instilling the need for “guanxi” among themselves regardless of where they go. The workers do the building, and the managers provide the resources and policy under which they operate. We must never lose sight of the fact that China is a communist nation with its own set of ambitions and guiding principles. The political moves and changes in China signal new phases in their ambitions and each new administration has a mandate to complete another phase of the ambitious plan. Chinese are strategic and very purposeful and will not yield to failure.
    Eventually, the Chinese colony will reproduce to the point it is very large relative to the society that it targets. They will continue to reproduce themselves and will then move to other areas and create their other colonies as they grow their plan and achieve their ambitions. It is this reproduction that we are experiencing in Jamaica and indeed the wider Caribbean and countries like Canada, Africa and some Golf nations. The coy strategy is to keep reproducing themselves until they are completely in control.
    The “old time” Chinese that came in the early days are now seeing the acceleration of a well crafted plan as the “new generation” of leaders are far more aggressive and impatient of the progress and need to fulfill the ambitions of the “mother land” with a little more urgency.
    The Swarming Phase
    The younger generation of Chinese are now becoming more aware (although selectively and controlled) of the possibility of travel and they are learning the weaknesses of the Western World and their need for “investment”. As they mature they are educated and subtly taught “negotiating skills” and then unleashed as” swarmers”. By their own assessment and policy there will be over 100 million Chinese travelers eligible and permitted to leave that country by the year 2015 which was revised from the 2020 original timeline. Will they all be leaving as tourists or will they be sent out as adventurers or investors to fulfill the desires of the master plan?.
    The new “swarmers” are far more educated, determined and feisty than their predecessors. They absolutely will not accept no for an answer and are prepared to use all means to achieve their ends. They are on a mission and will not be deterred. They are selective and strategic in the industries they target and will always seek to control any affiliated business that can impact their primary target. They are shrewd unscrupulous negotiators with absolutely no loyalty outside of their colony. They rely on the experiences of those before them in a particular marketplace and they keep being circulated as they learn more and become more conversant with the western language and culture. They are predatory to westerners and befriend them conveniently when they deem it necessary to extract information or gain assistance in achieving a mandate. Places like Jamaica are seen by those arriving here as paradise on earth and those that have been graced with the privilege of coming will do everything and obey every order to be allowed to enjoy the tranquility and excellent weather conditions to which they have been exposed.
    Chinese by their socialization are very intelligent people. Nevertheless, an unmanaged Chinese colony within our country can lead to the destruction of our society as we have come to know it .Unless the Chinese colony is understood, their influx controlled and their integration managed.
    By Understanding the structure of a Chinese mindset, we can better appreciate that there can be negative implications associated with the gift of a “Trojan horse”. All well thinking Jamaicans are grateful for the overtures of these lavish gifts being presented, but are we selling our souls for them? We need to become very aware of the inner workings and motives for the “charity” Yes, we are on the “bone of our asses” economically but must we also be “Naive”.
    Are we about to witness a modern day “Chistopher Colombus” who discovered a people that was?
    We seem to be heading for an accelerated transition Change from the Tiano/Spanish/English to Chinese
    Some things always seem to haunt me as I ponder and look at the posture of the Chinese in our society.
    They don’t integrate in our communities except to sell us something “over the counter “….They spend time among themselves and make token gestures when it is convenient and expedient to fulfill their needs.
    Have you ever wondered why Chinese restaurants are always supported by locals yet we never see the Chinese patronizing our local restaurants. Is something wrong with our food?
    Chinese profits circulate among Chinese while they suck from the society around and amass for their expansion and return their profits to their “ motherland”
    Is the mission to conquer and transform the world to one rule under one Government?.
    The celebrated deal with the Chinese is to give their highway (Built on our land) to Jamaica after extracting their profit in fifty(50) Years time .…….At the infiltration rate economically, and with personnel is there a remote possibility that by the year 2063 Jamaicans will be predominantly Chinese…So the Chinese will be handing over the highway to themselves?.
    Our present protectors are quite contented to watch us grovel at the feet of the Chinese as we eat the crumbs from their table. The ships and ‘planes will continue to bring them to our shores in massive numbers for “disproportionate” work while our brothers and sisters continue to beg for a little work. The grandiose announcement of multiple jobs will continue along the trend of all the other projects where the workers are predominantly Chinese and where Jamaicans get a “token something to do” as they are paid menially and depressed wages from the crumbs. This is seen as “quite fair” as the token employment satisfy the naive governors and guardians of our constitutional and moral rights.
    They have been given 1200 acres to build a formal China Town which will form the nucleus of their city and the base from which to rule.
    Where are the voices of the conscious ones…The unions, Jamaicans for Justice, PSOJ, MSME, NEW NATION COALITION,MEDIA,NDM, Min.Of Labour, The Church and all other Civic associations.
    I don’t expect to hear from PNP or JLP leadership because their narrow short term political ambitions are being satisfied whiles our legacy is put on the line.
    I wish to make it abundantly clear in all that have been said that I have much respect and regard for the Chinese and understand that they have a Mission to accomplish, however, it is not what is being done, it is all about the naivety of the management and facilitation of how things are being done to the detriment of the Jamaican People. The process can be much better managed and negotiated but we must first stop interpreting the content of the book by merely looking at the cover.
    My sincere hope is that the Chinese will be kept out of the local tourism industry except as coordinators to send even 1% of the 100million to Jamaica as genuine tourists to visit and spend some time and money with us in our communities and attractions and not as visitors to their 1200 acre community as “all inclusive guests”.
    PLEASE FORGIVE MY CYNICISM
    Respectfully

36. Hal Austin;
    Source of the article above. Please?

37. @ Check-it out

The author asked not to reveal his name, although I am advocate of transparency. But it is reliable, trust me.

38. Hal Austin; Thanks. Its not that important. Its just that he/she appears to have very similar views to mine re. the seeming Chinese invasion and its possible consequences. In our case in Barbados, it would seem that the Government has little choice but to ignore the clear appearance of a Chinese Trojan Horse in their thrashing around for any project that might stick and bring in some necessary FX. But, even if so, the negotiators need to ensure that our patrimony isn’t totally signed away on the altar of expedience.

39. What solutions do you suggest ?

to counter the Chinese

ARTICLE is Crap
    Psychiatric Evaluation
    is now ordered
    Yah hear me !
    Daffodils and pretty pills
    rooms splashed paint spills
    straight jacketed
    medication injected
    weed smokers dejected
    commonsense rejected
    ————————–
    Yaaaaaaaaaagga -commented

40. @Hal

the Chinese are using the same strategy of the Europeans . they ensure that their culture is not polluted, like how we blacks readily accept all into our culture teaching them how to psycho-analyse us. with this information they modify their strategy to dominate.

41. @ Newblood and Checkit-out

The Chinese are not the only Trojan Horses, but they are the most dangerous. Give them 25 years. The incompetents we have as politicians will sell their parents.
    Others also have devious perceptions of us, including some of our Caricom neighbours.
    W£e must defend the integrity of our nation, even if the politicians do not.

42. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

The Chinese are here to help us. Pure and simple. You people always see a monster behind every tree.

Why don’t you tell us about England Hal, about all the iconic brands the Chinese are buying up all over England? Including the London Taxi factory. The British PM just announced that the Chinese will be involved with the nuclear industry in England, are the Chinese out to colonize the English as well?

You people are so small minded that it is frightening. No wonder that you cant exist outside of Tiny Barbados.

43. @ Carson
    I always thought you were a Little Englander. England does not even make the chips its people eat – they are made by Greek Cypriots.
    If this is what you want for Barbados, speaking Mandarin and eating God knows what.

44. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

I have never seen a place such as Barbados Underground. Where disgruntled members and supporters of the Barbados Labour Party come to wallow in self pity, gloom and doom and despair. And the thing is they LOVE IT.

But it may not be bad news for everyone here as someone wrote on this blog that the Blog owner is making pissing money off this blog.

45. @Carson

I do see much ad on this blog, so where he making the money from.

46. Well to be honest Carson don.t speak chinese so right out the bat the comunication gonna be a problem and truthfuully i (clear my throat) don,t trust them..

47. Interesting to read the Nation back page today. Can anybody guess why?

48. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Hal

“If this is what you want for Barbados, speaking Mandarin and eating God knows what.”

Why do you all always see the seedy side? It is said that 90% of what we worry about don’t ever come to pass. I personally think that worrying about foolishness is a waste of good intellect.

Right now I have some Chinese friends here in Barbados and far from trying to colonize Barbados they are trying very hard to be Bajans!!

49. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

One of my Chinese friends is a master Chef. Excellent at Chinese cuisine. But when he wants to eat, guess what? Rice and stew, Macaroni pie and chicken, pudding and souse. You cant eat more conkies than him.

What sort of pleasure does it give you people to demonise everything?

I am really wondering if this the reason why small Island people are never put in charge or given the opportunity to lead World class organizations. Is it because of their small mindedness?

Jesus, live a liitle!!!!!!!

50. This might send shivers down his spine but I agree with CCC .Like Darwinism adapt or die. having the Chinese around isn’t a bad thing, you know if they have broken into your house because your home work is done your computer is upgraded and they usually get caught because 2 hours later they are still trying to back out of the laneway. Like blacks from Africa ,Chinese are mixture of many different ethnic groups, with diverse language, food, clothes etc expand your horizons. Remember you need them more than they need you.