If you have not done so I implore you to read – especially if you are involved in tourism or financing – what in my humble opinion is an excellent article entitled The La Source Saga. The author S. Brian Samuel spent 20 years with the World Bank, primarily working on the Caribbean Project Development Facility with the specific task of raising finance for regional businesses.
Brian honestly admits that La Source was one of his favourite projects and in fact on retirement, he took up the post of Executive Director when it re-opened in February 2008, after the ravages of Hurricane Ivan. Within three years of its original opening, La Source financially broke-even and achieved a year round occupancy of between 72 and 78 per cent, prior to Ivan striking the island. Even with just 100 rooms, which then represented only 8 per cent of Grenada’s total room stock, it was providing a staggering 20 per cent of the entire hotel guests to the destination.
The article goes on to graphically detail the challenges that followed, leading up to a second closure, or as the writer describes it, ‘Death and Rebirth’. Faced with mounting unemployment, declining revenue and a real risk of losing further airlift, the Government of Grenada, had to do something and I understand that Sandals had already expressed an interest. To seal the deal, the then Minister of Finance, Nazim Burke, gave them ‘something special’ and concessions granted included:
29-year waiver of corporate taxes; 25-year waiver of property taxes; 25-year waiver of customs duties on capital goods; 25-year waiver of customs duty on consumables and a 15-year waiver of VAT (Value Added Tax).
For any type of business these inducements must be considered extraordinary. Only time will tell after an estimated US$100 million has been spent enhancing and adding rooms, whether it all will be worth it, when the scheduled re-launch takes place as planned on 12th December 2013. Faced with an even greater crisis scenario locally, including 37 closed hotels, plummeting arrival numbers and the loss of something approaching 60,000 airline seats alone within the last year, it was never going to be easy for our Government to find a perfect solution for Almond Beach Village. Sadly despite the promise of greater transparency and accountability in the 2008 DLP Manifesto, I doubt if the taxpayers of Barbados will ever learn the full extent of the incentives given to entice Sandals and Beaches to our shores.
But there are other very serious implications that must be taken into account with potentially detrimental consequences. If substantial tax breaks are given will this now disadvantage our existing accommodation providers? After all, they will have to compete with the two new brands and can that still happen on a second uneven playing field?
Will competitive advantages gained by the concessions, enable Sandals and Beaches to undercut existing tour operator rates and switch sell customers from other hotels?
For sure the CEO’s of established hotels and potential investors are already asking these and other pertinent questions. Years later many of our smaller hotels are still recovering from the decade or more of systematic predatory pricing practised by GEMS (Hotels and Resorts Ltd). ‘We’ have to be very careful not to create this situation once again that may force other properties out of business.
@ ac | October 30, 2013 at 5:52 PM |
Not out of respect for me or anyone else but firstly out of respect for yourself. Do you really read what you write? Next time make sure you have a roll of toilet tissue in your hands while you take your spectacles off.
Your DLP administration ship is about to sink. Just make sure you have your lifejacket on.
Six more months to do the dirty job off laying off the thousands of public sector workers and privatize (or outsource) you know what and then the country would rid itself of you lot of incompetent bastards, thanks to Mr. blackmouth lowe or the dopey speaker.
Whilst that interview was in process it occurred to me that the in house spin doctor is using his position to brush up and clean up Sinckler’s public persona after the battering he continues to receive for 1)his mishandling and destroying of the economy and 2)the damage he has done to the party by repeatedly insulting our womenfolk.
The man is not suave enough to respond to off the cuff questions without resorting to bluster and bluff and I am of the opinion that Ellis and Wickham decided to meet with Sinckler in private,suggest to him questions they think he should respond to,how he should respond(cool,calm,articulate and speak with a sincere tone of voice as though he knows what he is about)and they would arrange for Stetson Babb to put the questions on a one to one interview.
Sinckler would have time to research/get advice/write his responses and it would be broadcast live,and repeated in the news majors plus the big interview.Let’s face it.Sinckler can only think dirt and rot when unprepared on his feet.He is no Clyde Mascoll or the well informed economists in our midst.Even Frank when interviewed spoke in his usual shouting,dismissive style,a style well known to UWI alumni.It looks like Ellis is selling services in the background.MAM and company should take note and avail themselves of this service too.
The alarm bells are certainly ringing for this political economy and service sector industries of Barbados.
In today’s Midweek Nation Newspaper Professor Michael Howard is reported therein as saying that the government of Barbados should think about going to the IMF sooner rather than later, to avoid widespread suffering (owing to the baleful effects of many Government/IMF conditionalities)
He was reported in the same newspaper as stating that with “the depressed state of the economy and the recent rapid decline in the country’s international reserves” these should be signals to policy makers they may soon have to seek IMF accommodation as a cheaper source of funding and as Balance of Payments support.
The fact of the matter is that they are two variables which are pointing to the government of Barbados going to the IMF in less than 11/2 – 2 years for a government of Barbados/IMF structural adjustment stabilization program.
These variables are the REAL ACTUAL COST OF USE OF (LOCAL) MONEY, and the REAL ACTUAL COST OF USE OF (FOREIGN) MONEY – both of which are skyrocketing higher and higher for this country.
Furthermore, it is all the local and foreign activities and how they are trending – which is downwards – that come under those variables, that are in fact driving Barbados into the hands of the IMF.
What is also important for many people in Barbados to understand and accept is that because government and the relevant others cannot control foreign exchange usage beyond Barbados they will continue – until they end up going to the IMF – to use very backward inept fiscal, financial and monetary policies to further slow the use by the relevant people of local money in the business arenas – and this is where they will attempt to directly and indirectly control the use by the relevant people of foreign exchange.
But the horse has so long, long ago bolted, that such greater austerity measures will have very adverse implications for the short to long term stability viability of the political economy and services industry sectors of Barbados, and especially those that are foreign exchange collecting, and the household and individual sectors of the country as well.
What will also be seen as the government of Barbados goes further and further into the clutches of the IMF is that there will have been the very crude and gross overstating of the foreign reserves position of Barbados, as that there will be projected by the Central Bank of Barbados these inexplicable and massive slides in the foreign reserves holdings of the government but which were never there in the first place.
Inadvertence
In paragraph four, line , it should have been written as “there are two variables…….”.
cock and balls is actually a Vietnamese dish.
should try it! funking chinks,look
years now-http://youtu.be/acLW1vFO-2Q
http://youtu.be/acLW1vFO-2Q
@ iabingy | October 30, 2013 at 9:02 PM |
We are most shocked you are a “fan” of George Carlin (may he rest in peace).
You are a ‘smart’ guy so we will ask you what you think of George’s skit about “Religion and God”?
It would help you to understand why blacks are so foolishly gullible and naively susceptible to the god forged in the white man’s image. The very people who are closest to the One on High are so blindly lost and in need of salvation.
Akhenaten
Caribbean 2013 Tourist Arrivals by Country of Origin
By Ainhoa Goyeneche – Oct 30, 2013 5:10 PM GMT-0400
Following is a summary table of Caribbean tourist arrivals from the Caribbean Tourism Organization:
http://www.bloomberg.com/news/2013-10-30/caribbean-2013-tourist-arrivals-by-country-of-origin-table-.html
Reblogged this on CARIBBEAN VIBE – Whats News.
Pingback: Managing the Transition in Our Tourist Industry
enuff | October 30, 2013 at 8:07 AM
When you are speaking about me the least that you can do is to speak the truth.
But then again you BLP people are very allergic to the truth.
gkgDominican Republic court ruling prompts call for boycott
Published on October 29, 2013
By Caribbean News Now contributor
SANTO DOMINGO, Dominican Republic — Following a recent ruling by the Supreme Court of the Dominican Republic stripping many Dominican-born residents of their citizenship, Caribbean News Now reader Pierre F. Lherisson has called for a boycott of Dominican Republic products.
As explained by Caribbean News Now columnist Jean H Charles, on September 23, 2013, the Supreme Court of the Dominican Republic handed down the decision TC0168/13 in the matter of Juliana Deguis Pierre, 28, a Dominican citizen with four children born in the Dominican Republic, ruling against her and all persons similarly situated.
The ruling stated that those persons born after 1929 in the Dominican Republic of parents that did not have proper documents while entering and continuing to live in the Dominican Republic without legalization are henceforth stripped of their Dominican citizenship. The ruling will be enforced by all the branches of the Dominican government.
While the decision is global, it is of particular concern to some 210,000 Haitian-Dominicans who were born in the Dominican Republic, have received their birth certificates, have been to school in the Dominican Republic, have lived a normal life in the Dominican Republic and have little or no attachment to Haiti.
http://www.caribbeannewsnow.com/headline-Dominican-Republic-court-ruling-prompts-call-for-boycott-18341.html
The MoF advised in his interview with VOB’s Stetson Ba BlackBerry that an announcement will be made soon about (Four Seasons) and a significant initiative in the energy sector.
We wait.
Yeap ! DEM WILL be rolling DEM out and there are even more goodies to come….. Where is ONIONS…man you not doing a good job keeping yuh EARS on the ground….. Want to borrow my hearin aid…………………………………..GOOD MAWNING chris Sinckler………….
@ ac | October 31, 2013 at 7:44 AM
The MoF has proven himself to be a blatant liar. How many times before has he promised a resolution to the Four Seasons (FS)? The proof of the FS pudding is in the restart of the project not any promise of sale of rusting steel to some dodgy “investor” looking to launder money.
The mysterious Massive investment in the RE sector is another red herring to lead idiots like you away from the real issue of going to the IMF for balance of payment support.
What is this massive investment that must remain so secretive? Maybe he was looking into the mirror pondering if he should strip naked and stroll down Broad Street in order to get people to listen to him and decided to go on VOB the same station he lambasted recently for being anti-DLP and anti-Sinckler . Why didn’t he take his lies to the other DLP propaganda organs?
Has he taken into consideration Emera’s demand for a 20 year guarantee to build a new generating plant? What would Emera do now with such an announcement from the MoF? Allow the existing BL&P plant to run down?
Has the buffoon taken a look at the recent ruling from the FTC to consider if it supports any massive investment in the RE sector?
The provisions of the proposed amended Electricity Act do not facilitate any “Massive” investment neither does SOL’s recent investments in the traditional petroleum sector allow any new player to get involved in alternative fuels production for vehicles.
What has become of the massive proposals announced in last year’s budget regarding the Offshore Drilling for hydrocarbons with investors queuing up to buy drilling blocks with the initial signing of $10 million bonuses? What about the natural gas pipeline from T&T to provide all of Barbados’s gas needs for electricity generation , commercial usage like hotels and restaurants and use as fuels for vehicles, i.e. Transport Board buses and other ML&MP vehicles? Is this what the lying MoF is referring to?
The MoF’s bullshit has no bounds. What else would he promise idiots like you? Prospecting for oil in St. George or gold in the Greenland dump?
Let the fool sort out the resuscitation of the sugar cane industry (and the related CLICO fiasco) and the many RE projects promised by both Minister Estwick and Lowe.
Maybe if he can get the same Minister Lowe to clean and spruce up the South Coast in time for the upcoming winter season we would start to take the fool seriously before he totally destroys the economy of your once lovely island.
Millertheannunaki;
Thanks! You have put the recent comments about the RE sector into stark and frightening perspective. Your analysis seems to suggest that it is highly unlikely that a massive injection of loan funds and restructuring of the Energy Sector away from its traditional trajectory will happen in the short term.
The implicit suggestion from your analysis is also that there is no sensible alternative option for the financing of the day to day operations of the Country available for the Government to pursue outside of a short, early IMF programme. Have I interpreted your comments correctly?
If so, what would you say if the Government follows its usual MO of leaving important matters to fester until no decision is necessary or relevant?
For my one-one, I think that Sinckler is trying his best but that his colleagues, led by the PM, are stifling progress in the rational direction.
@third foot MIller….imagine having three feet. well that,s a matter For debate………..moving right along as the Four sesaons project gets closer to be restarted one can expect more bellyaching coming from the BLP lead by MIA and her most hon Lieutenant “third foot MILLER . miller i hope u like crow cause they will be plenty to be served up .HUM! come to think of it maybe CHRIS can rent THE PEACH and Quiet where all servings would be rolled out buffet style….i know yuh Miller like to eat nuff
I tell allyuh that I smell a rat wid dis Sinckler rave on VOB.It pun de news all de time up to 7.30 dis morning!I smell a rat.This is bare boo boo PR passing itself as news.Somebody getting something for this image remake…
I eagerly await the rolling out of the Four Season’s solution within the next week. Chris Sinckler was noticeably upbeat in announcing it and I hope it will not be another Sandals venture when it does come.
Two of the frontrunners for Four Seasons . One loves casinos and the other with 2 Barbadian billionaires connections. More to come.
TMW;
I thought the only probable Barbadian Billionaire was Sir Kyffin Simpson. Is there another one?
FOUR seasons another soon to be restarted project that has rolled right by Adrien head leavin him cluess and the BLP yardfowls in fits and turns………..KEEP THEM COMING SINCKLER……….LUV IT
Four Seasons, a soon to be restarted project.
How often have we heard that one?
Sound like u jealous ……Diligence……..with a moniker like that u should be more alert……..keep uh ears to the ground yuh hear .. KEEP THEM GUESSING SINCKLER……..
ac. You tekking this crisis and mekkin pure mock sport. Being partisan and down right foolish will get Barbados no where. Tell us if casino gambling will be part of the equation whoever get the nod.
Keepum guess AC……..hope you don’t cry..
http://www.nationnews.com/articles/view/region-on-the-brink/
and…..what is this about the constituency councils (taxpayer funded) being used as private harem, is one of the harem dwellers about to spill the beans..
I would much prefer hear about the economy, however, i wish Sinckler luck..
@WELL
THE CONSTITUENCY COUNCIL EACH GET AN ANNUAL BUDGET OF 100 OOO. hOW MUCH CAN BE MISAPPROPRIATED. I THINK THE CONCEP IS GOOD. DONT YOU.
IT IS CLEAR THAT THE MILLER HAD BENEFITTED FROM THE LAST BLP ADMINISTRATION AND HE REGRETTED THAT HIS PARTY DID NOT WIN SO TH
AT HE COULD HAVE CONTINUED BENEFTTING , BUT HE HAS BEEN DISAPP
OINTED. EVEN THOUGH THAT I HAVE BECOME TIRED OF THE MOH, I HOPE
THAT ON THIS OCCASION THAT FOUR SEASONS START SOON AND KILLE OFF THE MILLER AND ONIONS,AND ISLAND AMONG OTHERS.
@ Newblood
And how much is paid to councillors? Are you benefiting from the DLP being in power? Why would the start of FS kill off anyone? Stuuupse.
And the partisan sniping continues.
@enuff
to make you feel important, no I don’t benefit, but councilors are paid $120 a month. is that amount too little. How much Personal Assistants get for doing nothing nearly $6000 a month. Hahaha
partisanship is a fact of life. Don’t u think so. We all can be partisan at times and be objective when we ready. That’s what make the discussions interesting at times. Little spice is necessary, not bore don will creep in.
@ are-we-there-yet? | October 31, 2013 at 9:16 AM |
You are indeed reading the board correct. The government is just engaging in a lot or propaganda. Everything is in the pipeline and ready to start but the problem is ‘where is the money’.
The government is financially emasculated and the foreign reserves under tremendous pressures. The projects that are being paraded as economic lifesavers are not immediate forex generators but users. Any significant forex returns would be some time in the future; not over the next 2-3 years which are crucial to the country’s international reserves if it is to protect the currency’s parity. Why do you think the MoF wanted to float that $500 million bond?
It is strongly recommended Bajans take the advice from Prof. Howard very seriously. He does not have a political axe to grind or people to protect unlike Sir Frank Alleyne.
Ask yourself which investor would take up millions to invest in RE where there is not a guaranteed market to ensure a decent ROI in a reasonable time period?
Would this Massive RE investment be financed with hard currency from overseas or local investors depending on the locally held dwindling forex.
There can be no large scale investment in the RE sector in Bim when the government is at the same time encouraging and incentivizing small scale producers as outlined in the MoF’s 2011, 2012 and 2013 budgetary proposals. The market is just not big enough to accommodate large scale producers and ‘cottage industry sized’ players while ensuring the viability of the BL&P operations.
Unless the government is prepared to dump the natural gas pipeline from T&T and tell Emera to fly a Reddy Kilowatt kite with its proposed new generating plant and also prepared to close down the BNOC exploration and drilling programme you should take anything coming from administration about Massive RE projects with a good dose of salts, Epsom and otherwise.
Everytime the govt talk about rolling out projects or closing deals wunna BLP turkey yardfowls get up in here squaking and flapping wunna wings talking B/S.nuh wunnda the govt keep everyting hush from wunna cause wid wunna craziness wunna just about sabotage the whole economy. Anyhow thank god fuh BU where nonsense becomes the norm and ac gets to tell it like it is… Sinckler got wuunna by the Balls…and wunna poochies exposed wunna ears to the ground and the DEMS ears above ground..see the differnce
This is from: http://www.oxfordeconomics.com/tourism
“Tourism Economics is an Oxford Economics (Oxford University) subsidiary, focused exclusively on the travel and tourism sector. It designs market strategy models, policy recommendations, travel forecasting models, and tourism economic impact studies.
We provide a powerful resource to help leaders understand the challenges , opportunities and risks that loom ahead. We specialize in providing a broad range of consulting and services for the tourism sector, including ………..”
BU readers are encouraged to visit the site.
DD acknowledges he is no expert on travel and tourism matters; and recent results (18 months decline of visitor arrivals) suggest that neither are Ministry of Tourism and BTA authorities
An example of the work done by Tourism Economics for the European Travel Commission is at:
http://www.oxfordeconomics.com/Media/Default/Industry%20verticals/Tourism/ETC-%20Feb%202013%20Trends%20and%20Outlook.pdf
The Barbados leaders clearly need help to design a market strategy model, policy recommendations, travel forecasting model, and tourism economic impact studies, to understand the challenges , opportunities and risks that loom ahead.
DD recognizes that government is cash stapped and engaging a a major consultancy such as Tourism Economics will be a very expensive undertaking. If government needs to borrow $5 million, or whatever, for consultancy services, it will be the best $5 million they ever borrowed.
The Minister of Tourism can no longer wait and ”try and see what silver lining we can find behind the grey cloud”
Barbados leaders cannot wait any longer.
IN OUR CURRENT GOVERNOR Nothing Succeeds Like Failure
ASK AC AND CCC
AH LIE?
AH GONE
Govt sought bids bids for FS.The two on the table are from two private equity firms that invest mainly in distressed assets. What will be they bid for Four Seasons? If FS is valued US$80M, the bids will approx. US $30-40$M.
@Mller
Did you hear in the news today that St Vincent has partnered with EMERA and a couple other companies to develop it’s geothermal energy program with hope to sell to the other islands via undersea lines?
Due Diligence
we have enough literature on the sociology of tourism to understand why people leave their home country to visit another county; some of the reasons posited are the need to experience a new culture and that means, mixing with the native population and enjoying every aspect of the way they do things, including the food they eat, the way they speak, dance etc. Remember that there is also tourism prostitution that is not officially mention. In the Dominican Republc and Brasil, renting of natives; both male and female is a big thing and that is what drive a lot of tourists to their shores, among other things.
You and I know, that the govt subsidise some airlines to travel to Barbados. We in the region need a Regional airline, but then again, will that happen, look how LIAT is funded, a few stupid regional government, yet it flies to those countries that do not fund it. I have said, no funding from you, no flying to you.
It is extremely expensive to travel to Barbados regionally and extra regionally. Last month I wanted to travel to Jamaica from Barbados and it was costing US748 for a week. I simply refused. Regional Governments are the biggest contributors to the cost of travel. All those impositions are contributing to the high airfare. Some of those countries that are attracting load of tourists are those which have casino gambling, formal and informal prostitution on a large scale and those that pay starvation wages.
I must admit apart from the high cost of travelling and dining in Barbados, there is a need to refresh our tourism plant. Do we benefit from the five star hotels, apart from the little taxes, I don’t think so, as hotels such as those will hardly feed their guests with mount gay of the local stuff and hence the need to import for taste buds of those guests and consequently fx leakages.
We have been hearing about community tourism, sports tourism, health tourism. Do we need consultant to tell us how to develop a strategy? I don’t think so. This govt need to shake up those persons in the overseas missions. Let them get up off their batsides and start working of bring them to hell home. It is time for action. we don’t need people with false mannesrism in our missions overseas. Let them produce.
@ ac | October 31, 2013 at 2:34 PM |
“Everytime the govt talk about rolling out projects or closing deals”
It is miraculously rare for rational thinking people to agree with you but the miller has succumbed and owned up to this immaculate conception of agreement from a fleeting case of intellectual intercourse between the miller’s foot and ac’s big mouth.
You have put it in a nutshell, or should we say a neat intellectual uterine sac.
That is exactly the point intelligent bloggers have been making for some time.
All this government has been doing is talking about rolling out projects. Except for the DT football tournament and the Constituency councils little piggies this DLP administration has promised much but delivered very little in terms of projects of its own conception and creation. It began with the Four Seasons September 2009 restart and the project roll out list will end with the same FS. Just look at the budgetary proposals announced since 2011.
‘To whom much is given much is expected’ and this DLP administration has let down the country badly.
The time is fast approaching when the bullshit will hit the spin fan and all of these phantom projects from Pickerings to Merricks to Pierhead marina would have a final fall like Humpty Dumpty and not even Pornville Inniss would be able to put the whole charade back together again.
ASK THE MILLER WHAT THE BLP HAS PROPOSED AND BY THE WAY EVERY ONE HAS SEEN MIA’S CHARADE, SHE HAS NO CREDITABILITY. DONVILLE INNISS IS DOING AN EXCELLENT JOB. DONT YOU THINK SO TOO.
@ Due Diligence | October 31, 2013 at 2:39 PM |
“If government needs to borrow $5 million, or whatever, for consultancy services, it will be the best $5 million they ever borrowed”
Are you implying here, DD, that the recently produced White Paper on Tourism by Dr. Hall & Co was a massive waste of money and time?
This Tourism Paper was laid by the MoT and debated in the HoA only last year. What action has been taken so far?
stupse miller fuh you and the turkeys in the BLP nutting will ever be good enough or Right enough so far the only proposals the Blp has rolled out for the economy is PRIVATIZATION and right now the last hope and resort u guys are clinging to is that the IMF comes and saved BARBADOS. those are the only TWO most outstanding proposalsTHE BLP and leader MIA has so far offered with NAKED BOLDNESS to rescue the country.
@ newblood | October 31, 2013 at 4:09 PM |
Idiot, why haven’t you yet come to the stark realization the BLP is not the ruling administration but you are?
It’s almost six years and it’s time you come around to accepting your responsibility to govern the country properly. You guys lied for it, now handle it for at least the next 6-9 months. Meanwhile you will continue to stew while the heat is turned up under your no ‘lay offs, no privatization’ asses. Hurry up and get on with the inevitable massive retrenchment and outsourcing as recommended by the IDB and IMF.
The miller takes no pleasure in observing you guys cry for help. But you were warned many times over!
Thanks for confirming what I thought– out of a $100,000 a whopping $20,000 is paid on stipends.
newblood
You are correct about the need to shake up the persons in the overseas offices; but does BTA have enough money to put them on a plane to send them the hell home.
I hope you are not advocating prostitution tourism – if someone is looking for that, let them go to Dom Rep and Brazil. Or for that matter casino gambling.
“We have been hearing about community tourism, sports tourism, health tourism.” What does that mean – nothing but government spin.
And don’t forget medical tourism; remember this
“World-class hospital to open in Barbados to serve global medical tourism market
BRIDGETOWN, Barbados, July 6, 2011 /PRNewswire/ – Invest Barbados today announced that a new world-class hospital will be built on the site of the former St. Joseph Hospital as part of a long-term development program that will also bring several specialty treatment centres, biotechnology research companies and patient accommodation facilities to the country over the next five years.
“This exciting initiative brings a national asset back into productive use in a way that will generate foreign exchange, international investment and tax revenue, as well as employment and skills training and technology transfer,” said Wayne Kirton, the CEO of Invest Barbados.
The project is being undertaken by American World Clinics (“AWC”), a corporation that supports, arguably, the most respected healthcare brand in the world–board-certified American physicians–by providing them with a favorable practice environment in which to provide the highest standard of medical care to an international clientele.”
More government spin – Big talk – no action
“Do we need consultant to tell us how to develop a strategy? I don’t think so” Yes indeed – the results of the last 18 months are proof of that.
Neither you nor I; and, as the record proves, no one in Barbados MOT or BTA, has the answers to the crisis to which Barbados Tourism has sunk.
It may be a case of “cann’t see the forest for the trees” situation. After you’ve spent years researching a single topic you get to a point where you can’t see the forest for the trees.
Barbados needs some new blood from beyond its shores.
Maybe Tourism Economics; or one of many other consultancies qualified to help Barbados’ leaders understand the challenges, opportunities and risks that presently exist and loom ahead.
I like the sound of that. http://aseanenergy.org/index.php/about/apaec
Miller
“The time is fast approaching when the bullshit will hit the spin fan and all of these phantom projects from Pickerings to Merricks to Pierhead marina would have a final fall like Humpty Dumpty and not even Pornville Inniss would be able to put the whole charade back together again.”
Do not forget the phantom project at Foul Bay – PURE Beach or PURE Scam. The only shovel in the ground there, is the shovel that the AG used at the groundbreaking in 2011.
@Due diligence
would you think that I would advocate prostitution tourism. certainly not. I disagree with you that we have to bring in consultants to tell us how to reshape our tourism product.
I have noticed that you have not dealt with the cost factor that is pushing us out reach.
Barbados have well qualified sociologist, tourism planners and economist to chart a new push for the diversification of our tourism product. Consultants come in and tell us what we know already.
I have no cause to look at the mature tourism markets to see how they have feared during the last five years. Can you provide me with information on some of those mature markets.
Have you asked any questions as to why the St. Joseph project hasn’t got off the ground as yet? Every thing you read in the paper you must take with a pinch of salt. Have the organization got the financial backing for the project, among other things.?
newblood
From Nation/Sunday Sun
BY MARIA BRADSHAW | SUN, SEPTEMBER 22, 2013 – 12:11 AM
Barbados has lost its top spot with the American World Clinics (AWC).
Four years after AWC approached Government about opening a medical tourism hospital here, its directors are now looking at alternative start-up locations because of the time it has taken to get the US$200 million project off the ground.
AWC president Robert Priddy told the SUNDAY SUN that because of the lengthy delay Barbados might no longer be the location for the flagship mega facility.
“We are in the process of evaluating opportunities including The Bahamas, the Canary Islands, Costa Rica, Dominican Republic, Turks and Caicos, Tobago and Nicaragua,” he said.
@DD
there more in the mortar than in the pestle? I have seen that article. Do some digging please.
when I saw that article I asked some questions?
newblood
And what were the answers to your questions?
And DD who going pay these mcgauffe top dog not so cheap consultants to teach barbados and barbadians about economic tourism….wunna talk alot of B/s e about govt ought to do this and do that everything cost money and them overseas consultants not going work fuh free .right now we have to make do until do come alone. wunna cheap ass bastards don,t even like paying vat fartherless a consultant whos paycheck is larger than the FX reserves.DD save that kind of advice fuh mottley she needs it .
With an attitude like yours, Barbados will be be getting advice from another overseas consultant – called IMF.
@DD
let me tell u something, all the overseas consultants that I come in contact with put what they glean from locals in a report and are paid handsomely. In the 1990’s the imf wanted to impose their medicine on us and u remember sandiford resisted their medicine. We are a resilient people. You wont get your wish.
newblood
Have a good night
Newblood…..partisan yardfowlism is too convoluted for me, i can never understand the concept, what you said sounds like stealing taxpayers money to keep yardfowls happy, ignorant and voting consistently for the DLP.
During the 19th and 20th centuries millions of Chinese emigrated because of the dire situation at home, due to the destruction of their culture and society by foreign imperialism and latterly communism. They went to British and other colonies to mine gold, farm, set up laundries and restaurants. In the 1800s the Australians forcibly repatriated many because of the drain on finances as they sent money back to China and fears of a racial take-over. However, these emigrants settled and integrated, apart from in parts of South East Asia where there is still an issue about Chinese versus native inhabitants, eg Malaysia. These were people who left home individually, to find a better life.
The present situation is very different, however. This time is it a fiscal issue for the Chinese government. It is not about individuals setting off to start a new life. It’s about fiscal domination of areas in economic free-fall where the Chinese cash can establish dominance. A carefully thought-out plan is taking a multi-pronged approach; buy land in Africa to farm or mine, entice governments from the lowest to the highest to borrow money for projects, be it banking or a new sports stadium or airport. Yes, individual Chinese are still leaving their homeland because they are fed up with the regime but Chinese government projects do not have emigration on their agenda apart from sending workers out and bringing them straight home again as a compulsory part of the loan deal, thereby saving on local labour costs and bringing in yet more foreign exchange. This does not help anybody apart from China at the end of the day. When will governments get this? Yet will those workers we see in the back of trucks rebel when they get home?
I feel sorry for anybody Chinese who has rejected China and has chosen to settle down in another country. They are becoming more and more hated which is not fair to them. Meanwhile it looks as if China has bitten off more than it can chew, we await. Will it implode???
However it is worth contemplating that though Africa as a whole is furious at what the West did to it, they have not got the wherewithal or organisational skills to retaliate, just whine about “reparations”. China has the wherewithal and has no qualms about screwing their erstwhile tormentors! They are getting reparations big time. Many a Mandarin must be smoothing his whiskers in quiet satisfaction right now.
Here is a note sent to BU by Due Diligence:
Toronto Star and Globe & Mail are the most widely read newspapers in Canada, with readers/subscribers from coast to coast.
Both have Travel sections in their Saturday editions, Star about 18 pages, and Globe about 12 pages.
Each has a smaller midweek travel sections, and carry travel/tourism ads other days.
Here in Canada, mature and older consumers (who tend to be the more affluent people who would be the type of persons in the Barbados tourist target market) looking for a destination for their annual fun in the sun still look to newspaper advertising to make their buying decision; as opposed to the younger less affluent demographics who will shop for their vacations on the web. If newspaper advertising were not an effective marketing medium, advertisers would not be paying in the neighborhood of of CAD$10,000.00 for a full page ad.
Here are the articles and ads carried in the Star and Globe for Caribbean tourist destinations for the past week. Cruises, North American, European and Asian destinations are excluded from the list.
Saturday October 26, 2013.
Toronto Star Travel Section
Front page article “In search of sun, sea and sand” features Jamaica, St. Lucia , Mexico and US Virgin Islands , along with Southern California, Florida and New Zealand.
Page 2 – 1/2 page ad Sandals La Source in Grenada
Page 3 – 1/2 page Air Canada Vacations ad features 4 Mexico properties
Page 4 – 3/4 page Transat Holidays ad features 10 properties in Mexico Cuba and Dom Rep
Page 6 – 1/2 page Sola Sun/ Trip Central ad for 9 cuba properties
Page 10&11 – two page Signature Vacation/Selloff Vacations centre spread ad features 24 properties in Bahamas, Cuba, Mexico, Dom Rep, Jamaica, Costa Rica and Curacao properties
Page 12 – 1/2 page Selloff Vacations ad features 11 properties in Dom Rep, Panama, Honduras, Mexico, and Cuba.
Page 15 – 1/3 page Aruba/Air Canada Vacations ad
Back page (18) – full page Jamaica/Sunquest Vacations ad features 4 Jamaica properties
Globe and Mail Travel Section
Page 2 – 1/6 page Air Canada banner ad features i property in Dom Rep and 1 property in Jamaica
Page 3 – 1/6 page Maritime Travel ad for 3 properties – Dom Rep, Cuba and Mexico
Page 5 – full page Beaches ad for Ocho Rios Resort & Golf Club
Page 10 – full page ad for Rendezvous – The Boutique Hotel for couples in St. Lucia
Back page (12) – Westjet Vacations ad feature a page wide banner for Sandals Resorts in the Caribbean. Also includes three boxes 3 1/2 X 3 inches for Aruba, Barbados and Turks and Caicos, with no properties named
Tuesday October 29, 2013
Globe and Mail
Back page of first section – full page joint St. Lucia Tourism/Westjet Vacations ad for 12 St. Lucia properties, including 3 Sandals properties
Wednesday October 30, 2013
Toronto Star
Back page of Business section – 1/2 page joint St. Lucia Tourism/Westjet Vacations ad for 12 St. Lucia properties, including 3 Sandals properties (Different graphic of tourists enjoying the pitons)
Thursday October 31, 2013
Toronto Star Travel section
Page 5 – full page Sandals Grande Antigua ad
Back page (6) – full page Jaunt.ca ad, includes 1/3 page promo for 1 Mexico property.
So in one week, there is one small box with Barbados name (but no properties)
I do not know if this pattern is the same in the US and UK; but expect if this is the level of of promotion in the third largest source market, I conclude it is the same in the first and second source markets.
I know that Barbados has historically relied heavily on a high rate of repeat visitors and many properties will keep contact with them by web marketing; but some of those who were guests in previous years are now dead, are no longer financially able to and/or seek sun and fun at other destinations. The previous guests have to be replaced just to maintain visitor arrivals.
The almost total absence of advertising will ensure the visitor arrivals will continue to plummet.
This is really sad and depressing to see what is happening to such a beautiful island/nation which was formerly a favoured destination.
I really do hope that the MoT, MoF, and all of Government, BTA, BHTA, the hoteliers, and all the other players wake up and seek to help of external like Oxford Tourism consultants.
Unfortunately, they are behaving like an addict who needs help; but clings to his old habits.
@ Victor
Well thought out.