Uploaded to YouTube on Aug 18, 2010: Lately, legendary calypsonian The Mighty Sparrow has been opening concerts with this song. Why? Because there was yet another rumour of his untimely passing -http://guardian.co.tt/news/general/20…
Mighty Sparrow – Sparrow Dead
49 responses to “Mighty Sparrow – Sparrow Dead”
-
Here is a playlist of some of the Maestro’s best.
-
There goes a good man………blessed is a man you can make others happy.
-
Who killed de Sparrow, nobody know, Sparrow dead!!!!!
-
Smart Bajan
-
Sparrow Dead!
-
Now he and his old friend Kitch can serenade the angels for the rest of all time. Truly a genius in his time. May he RIP, and to his Bajan and Trini family, keep true …
-
the only real calypsonian to grace this earth
-
@ balance | September 10, 2013 at 8:49 PM |
So true, indeed! An icon is leaving us.
The Mighty Sparrow was/is to calypso what Sir Garfield Sobers was/is to cricket. A pure genius in an art form that helps to define the people of the English-speaking Caribbean as international cultural players as in the game of cricket.We must not forget Slinger Francisco has his roots firmly in little Grenada; a true Caribbean artist. Kitch, Arrow and now Sparrow is about to join the others in that great hall of Calypso fame.
God speed. May Light Perpetual Shine on Him! -
May he rest in peace. He was truly one of the top two all time exponents of Calypso. The other one being Kitch.
Memories! I wonder how many people know that Mike Sealy, our top guitarist, toured with Sparrow for a while. I seem to remember also that Lowdown has often told the story of how, when he was a student and was playing Tenor Sax in a Calypso show at St Augustine, Trinidad, that He (Lowdown) and the Guitarist in the band were playing so sweetly that Sparrow (who was a judge for the student calypso competition) came on stage and sang one of his popular calypsos and brought the house down.
Sparrow was a genius. Calypso has now lost its leading exponent. Hope the art form doesn’t follow Sparrow to the grave and that its progeny (Soca, the Jump and Wave genre, etc). will find their way back to some of the important aspects of their roots.
-
My condolences to the calypso family especially trinidad not forgeting grenada the carribbean has lost another great son my condolences to his family and friends
-
I share all the sentiments above. My two favourites songs were Capitalism gone mad and Education. Two cleverly composed songs. May he rest in peace and light perpetual shine upon him.
-
BU hopes commenters have read carefully the words posted under the ideo.
-
I myself fell for two reports from very good sources that he had indeed gone…you would not believe how good those sources were…but now I am told “not true”. Yes…he is very ill…yes he is in a coma up to nine hours ago…but the family has said they will announce immediately if he indeed passes. I am a die-hard fan (no pun intended) so have been listening to all his music and memories of him on stage, my father playing his music when I was a child, all his lyrics so perfect…bless his heart and whilst I wish him well…this is what I would want, and I am sure the millions of others who love Sparrow would want too, to have him back just so…well!!!
-
David;
Methinks you need to apologize for obfuscation to the BU family. -
How so checkit-it?
Everybody read the title but never bothers to read the verbiage under the video. It is quite clear.
-
@ check-it-out
David posted under first you tube
Lately, legendary calypsonian The Mighty Sparrow has been opening concerts with this song. Why? Because there was yet another rumour of his untimely passing -http://guardian.co.tt/news/general/20…”Actually you ought to apologize to David forthwith.
Blessings.
-
David said it is just another rumour. Noted.
-
David and Brief;
I’d heard earlier that Sparrow was in a coma. Then I saw this thread and the comments that suggested he had indeed died. I assumed that the (sic) verbiage (what a word!!!) was related to the old YouTube posting, not to the current situation. A number of regular posters seem to have interpreted it in the same way as I did.I made a mistake but David and you also made one that misled a number of posters. The verbiage only needed to include one more sentence to the effect that – “Sparrow is now in a coma and the BU family is reminded of some of his hits in the BU compilations below”. That would have adequately explained the current situation.
-
@checkit
Do not agree, if you read Miller’s comment the post was interpreted correctly. It is a matter of exercising some basic comprehension.
-
Coma, dead … I hate the whole mess. Would he ever return to his former brilliance ..? It is all very sad, and yes I did not think to read the introduction given the nature of the topic. Nice one David .. fu*king insensitive … Head of the class
-
LOL @ BAFBFT
-
BAFBFP;
You’ve said it all in your unique way. Top of the class to you instead.David;
Miller closed with “God speed. May Light Perpetual Shine on Him!”. Does light perpetual shine on someone in a coma who might have a chance of coming back? To someone of my poor comprehension skills it sounds as if he’s referring to someone who is not just the subject of a rumour but someone who has died.But you are consigning Cuthbert of England, BAFBFP, Andrew King and Prodigal Son to join me in the bin of poor comprehension when your insensitive post and the manner in which it was presented is equally culpable for the mixup.
What poor comprehension what?
-
Recebtly David posted an article in which it was stated that +bama called putin a “jackass” and the pseudoi inelligentes on BU fell into the trap. Perceptions can be dangerousand it is always advisable to check before putting your mouth in gear.if anything good came out of this is that the comments were in good tase and heartfelt. and it also give us a look back of an era in which music was not offensive or obscence to sell. good job MightY ONE .dead or alive yourlight would continue to Shine
-
This post by BU is a little insensitive since it is spreading (or implying) wrong info (he hasn’t pass on at this time) and out of all his songs this particular one had to be posted when he is ill. BU, you got to be a little careful about what you post.
-
Are you guys aware there is a name of a song as this blog is titled?
The Mighty Sparrow is n the news and we posted a video which has been around a while now which addresses the very situation which is at play now. For god sakes use COMMONSENSE.
-
He is resting until the Good Lord calls time. A legend…
-
You can say what you want, we know you are ne of BU’s biggest detractors for obvious reasons. We will do what we do. If you are not happy with what we do read the damn Nation newspaper.
-
David boy, this is where we see our free education was wasted on many.
-
Actually BU finds is amazing at how this video is being interpretated. The man wrote a calypso with the title as expressed, BU attached a note from 2010 which addresses the issue of the perennial rumors about his death. BU used the video to make a point and people assume whatever. You can never win with some of you. Admit you did not give careful thought to the post and move on.
-
David where did ac attacked the article and how did make such a gigantic leap in attacking ac. however i did take those to task for not checking a story and its relevancy before responding. Good grief. .
-
Anyhow since u felt so” gong Ho” on kicking ac in the ars… ac will return the favour by saying the caption was insensitive and misleading sending schock waves across the carribbean and ending on face book. what diispleasure the family might have felt. u must admit when u are wrong as u are always quick to point out to others. Now there you have it from a selfappointed yardfowl and opinionated ac.
-
…so are you beginning to get a better grasp of Bushie’s brass bowl theory…?
…never mind ac, she represents an extreme case …more like a brass topsy.. LOL Ha Ha…. -
@ checkit-out | September 11, 2013 at 11:00 AM |
I too misinterpreted the real intent of the thread and was under the impression, given Sparrow’s serious illness and being in a coma at his age he was on his way to higher duty.
However, the last comment of:-“Because there was yet another rumour of his untimely passing) left me a bit befuddled. Hence my reservations by couching my language in open–ended tense past, present and future. Light Perpetual shines daily from above whether we were, are or will be. As a man entrusted with the lamp of wisdom looking into the sanctum of esoteric knowledge of the cycle called life you can appreciate that Light will shine always from the Alpha to the Omega.
David is, technically speaking, not to be blamed for advancing the rumour. His technical obligation is to bring to our attention the rumours surrounding Sparrow’s passing.
However it was Cuthbert of England’s contribution with: “There goes a good man………blessed is a man you can make others happy” that threw the spanners in the rumour mill.
Now here is a man who has always claimed to be the sharpest tool in the BU household shed. A man who makes it his business to keep everyone else in check when it comes to the “truth’ and righteousness. We have been let down terribly by this man; a man we rely on for honesty, integrity and sound judgment. We are disappointed in Cuthbert and Carson for leading us down this path of genuine but slightly untimely or premature commiserations with the family and friends of one of the major gods of calypso.However, we have to face reality and look forward to the inevitable. Both Nelson Mandela and Slinger Francisco are black fallen angels whose ‘temporary’ presence among ordinary mankind made us feel importantly special. Let us wish them ‘temporary’ farewell or bon voyage and for the sake of future generations wish them swift return in whatever form of positive energy.
-
Are we trying to see who is (a) more educated or (b) who went to school longest with this discussion on who interpreted what? If all this stupid back and forth were prayers being sent out for the Mighty Sparrow, that would be awesome.
Damn waste of free education.
-
@ Nire | September 11, 2013 at 3:36 PM |
Prayers for what and to whom?
What is wrong with meeting one’s inevitability at the appointed time?
Did prayers bring back a much younger and seriously unimportant man than Slinger called David Thompson?
The Mighty Sparrow has left an incomparable legacy; just like many before him, for example, Michael J. Why would we wish to see Sparrow remain on this temporal terrestrial plane just to feed your ghoulish desire for the macabre and the pain?Maybe if you had paid for your education you would be so well read as to rise above your simplistic understanding of LIFE. The Mighty Sparrow will always be in our hearts through his indelible mark he has left on history pages yet to be written.
Please take a helicopter view of the man’s life and not demand of your god to change his plans. -
@bushie
And should i remind u that your two balls are hidden somewhere in that topsy among the sh..t.. -
Seriously, give it a break. The man is dear to all of us and knowing his condition a posting like yours was bound to evoke irrational quick to the trigger responses. Common sense should be left to the insensitives among us. David you really have done yourself an injustice this time. Be my guest, make it a habit …! -
@Baffy
Ok, will try not to provoke irrational responses with future postings.
-
David do you still own BU ? If so please continue to do as you please and we bloggers will determine whether to praise or cuss yuh.
Thanks for inspiring me to pick up one my acoustic axes and playing Sparrow tunes.
On the weekend I will kick it up a notch on the fender.Sparrow is the best calypsonian I have ever seen perform live.
He engages the audience better than most performers of any genre. -
Agree that Sparrow is the best. Many can recall asking Sparrow to sing Ovaltine believe it was at the Globe. It was an Ad for crissakes!
-
Hants;
You play Guitar or Bass? Did you play in a band in Bim? If so I might have met you in an earlier reincarnation. -
RIP Prince Jazzbo (Ujama Records)
-
I must admit that i too thought that the calypso melodian had passed as we all will, barring Cocky Locky and his word of power over death and the grave.
Only when i say “read the ideo” that it caused me to review it more closely.
There is something to be said about you David [BU]
We who come here, while we might not always agree with you respect your commitment to reporting and subsequently commenting on a multitude of submissions.
“Execute Prime Minister” and “Execute, Prime Minister”
Benny Hill the British comedian used to do a comedy skit of a chinese reporter working at the BBC.
The man had difficulty with commas and as you can clearly see the presence or absence of that small thing makes such a big difference.
For some of the readers, the nuance is not lost and becomes a masterful play on the sentence construct, for others like Cocky Locky, if the bumblekins could pick up the nuance, it would have brought them and the cyberpolice to your door.
Fortunately common sense is not so common with Cocky out there waiting like a Carrion Bird in a tree and we already know where AC is in that department LOL.
Note is made that in David | September 11, 2013 at 5:12 PM | you were man enough to acknowledge the general perspective.
You know, if only the clowns that lead us, on both sides of the abyss of political thought, BLP & DLP, could possess that ability to realise that we are but human and to acknowledge our mistakes and start anew, to correct them.
“Dere he go again, pun dat Fumble de Bumble ingrunt political speech again….
-
why this morbid fascination over whether the greatest calypsonian on earth or mars is dead or not; for it is inevitable that we all will -not must- will die some sooner than some but die nevertheless. from the time we are born like prisoners on death row we are on a death sentence.
-
Many can recall asking Sparrow to sing Ovaltine believe it was at the Globe. It was an Ad for crissakes!
from what my grandmother who attended the show told me the audience almost pelted sparrow for singing the ovaltine ad. he was not asked. you know how arrogant popular entertainers could be at times. but that does not negate the fact that sparrow would go down in history a the greatest exponent of the art form with kitch a distant second in my view.
-
Balance; I attended the show. My admittedly waning recollection suggests that Sparrow was asked by people in the Pit to sing it. But I might be wrong. I often am.
By the way, was your comprehension also lacking earlier on this matter?
-
@pieceuhderock
Thanks for the reminder that to err is human 🙂
-
Well, you only get a sense of what the thread is all about after reading the posts. The problem is the title of the thread which mislead people at first