The ‘Rubbing Shoulders’ initiative of the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) has been attracting attention and criticism from the government of Barbados. Minister Ronald Jones has gone so far as to suggest that insurrection may result which may lead to the cracking of heads etc.

What is there to fear from the BLP talking directly to the people? Isn’t the opposition political party charged with ‘raising’ issues?

124 responses to “Barbados Labour Party Rubbing Shoulders”

1. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

the opposition party in Barbados has nothing better to offer other than to oppose everything under the sun. They are devoid of usable ideas. So they stick to what they are good at, OPPOSING FOR OPPOSING SAKE!!!!!!!

2. I saw some pictures that were taken at the renaming of the Head Office of the CIBC First Caribbean in Warrens in yesterday’s Barbados Today. The pictures showed the senior members of the administration, along with Sir Hilary (who could not make time for the launch of the Reparations Task Force) rubbing shoulders with the big monied interests in Barbados. The photographer(s) did them a serious disservice as all of these big-goed men were made to look humbled and ridiculously insignificant.

BLP-DLP, oh what does it matter … It will always be about “Moral Suasion”, as each is clear as to the masters that they really serve. The Central Bank Governor said in front of an audience of fifty last week that “you cannot teach a businessman or bank morals”. Excuse me, but maybe there is someone out there that could adequately define the word “moral”, particularly as it refers to the legally exploitative activity that is popularly referred to as “business”.

3. Carson………..i believe that taxpayers in Barbados pays the opposition a monthly salary to oppose any inefficiencies that the sitting government dispays, just like they pay the sitting government a monthly salary to govern successfully, competently, efficiently and for the benefit of the people living on the island, the taxpayers, correct me if i am wrong. I am waiting for that no confidence motion.

4. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Therefore the opposition party is simply spinning top in mud and they will remain on the opposition benches forever. If you have nothing worthwhile to offer other than to oppose every blinking thing why should the voting public vote you into office. In order to be taken seriously than the opposition if it is worth its salt has to put on the table creditable alternatives something this rag tag Barbados Labour Party opposition seem incapable of doing.

5. Carson…………..it is government’s job to put workable alternatives on the table, i will be the first to light into Mia if she does not bring that no confidence vote, as much as i don’t like being fair to politicians even you have to admit that the government is being paid to lead and are right now doing a really shitty job, show me where they have done anything in the last 6 months to bring the island out of junk bond status and i will have to agree, show me Carson.

6. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Well Well

I will take you seriously when you vote in a General Elections here in Barbados.

7. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

well Well

“i will be the first to light into Mia if she does not bring that no confidence vote”

Is this the panacea for all of your internal problems in the Barbados Labour Party?

8. My Name Is Not Sylvan Avatar
    My Name Is Not Sylvan

Carson,

Wouldn’t he government’s life be SO much easier if you didn’t have this pesky opposition pointing out what a poor job they were doing?

After all, it would be much more convenient not to have someone highlighting that the rates given by the Minister of Finance are different to those given by the head of inland revenue and also to point out that Civil Servants can’t create law or levy taxes

Pointing out that there is no legal basis for the Land Tax department to levy a tax other than land tax? …well that was just the Opposition opposing for opposition’s sake.

Pointing out the long list of things that have been introduced in various budgets but never introduced? …well that was just the Opposition opposing for opposition’s sake.

Pointing out that the DLP government has been spending more that it has been earning since it took office and that the piper would have to be paid eventually? …well that was just the Opposition opposing for opposition’s sake.

Saying CLICO was a mess when your lot was saying it was no big deal? …well that was just the Opposition opposing for opposition’s sake.

Pointing out that this DLP Government is government by foul up, bleep and blunder? …well that’s just the Opposition opposing for opposition’s sake.

I could go on, and on, and on but I think you get the idea.

9. The reason why we posted this this blog is because a couple weeks ago we heard the Chairman of the Constituency Councils begging the respective councils to do what they are set up to do. This plea speaks to a number of issues. BU’s position is that CCCs have been set up for the DLP to support its base. The councils are being operated out of political expediency. It explains Thompson giving his right hand and anointed Sinckler the job to establish and manage. This was not always BU’s position.

The rubbing shoulders again is the BLP leveraging a political opportunity given the prevailing economic conditions to remain releant. It must be said that the idea of Kerri Symmonds being one step away is of great concern. We have dropped a far way.

10. George C. Brathwaite Avatar
    George C. Brathwaite

Below are the words of someone called Prime Minister David Thompson in August 2008.
    “As a party, we canvassed the views of thousands of Barbadians. We walked the streets. We attended the community meetings. We pulled them aside after church. We had meetings and mass canvasses. We had focus groups and we knocked on thousands of doors. We chatted on the bus, in the market, at the workplace and over the Internet. We were missionaries for the cause and, on January 15th, 2008, we brought the bacon home!”

Do pray tell me, if what Mia and the BLP is doing happens to be similar, and above board, why is the DLP Cabinet Ministers more preoccupied with what the BLP does; shouldn’t the DEMS be concerned with effectively governing Barbados and getting prosperity to return as opposed to waiting to crack some heads and shoot at people?

11. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

My Name Is Not Sylvan

All the Barbados Labour Party has done for the five and a half years, has been to OPPOSE, OPPOSE, OPPOSE.

It has landed them back on the opposition benches for another five year term. However they have started out again with OPPOSE, OPPOSE, OPPOSE.

The Barbados Labour Party somehow does not see that they have turned off the people in the country. Before the members of the of the Barbados Labour Party open their mouths the people of Barbados know what they are going to say. The people of Barbados are very turned off by the BLP. They have tuned out from them. They have nothing worthwhile to offer. They have not demonstrated it. The Barbados Labour Party members and supporters are still in election mode. In these critical times here in Barbados all the Barbados Labour Party is offering is nothing but negativity.

So no wonder that they have to launch version two of their failed “rubbing shoulders” program. It is not getting any traction. The people of Barbados are no longer taking them seriously. That seems to be a shock to Kerry. This Barbados Labour Party is out of touch.

Simple as that.

12. Carson, it is a pity that you are so blinded by rabid political partisan views – if it wasn’t so sad it would be funny

13. @ David
    So if you had no clue of an actual path to saving the economy; and if you had a closet full of skeletons – like wire tapping, Edutech, internal political strife, poor personal morals, questionable political family history…
    …what would you do….?
    Bushie would go an rub some shoulders too…..
    Wuh yuh got to do some shiite!

What eludes the bushman is how a small collection of brass bowls who find themselves trapped on a little flat rock – in a fight for their lives against the rest of the world …..can think of not one shiite better to do than go for each other’s throats….

…any other kind of bowl would put their heads together, collaborate on a common plan of action, then put their SHOULDERS together to make that plan work…. BUT NOT BRASS BOWLS!!!

It seems that our plan is to avoid being murdered by external competition by killing ourselves first….
    Oh Shiite man!! …and to think that “education” was free….

What Pieceuhderock said again?
    … canon to the right of us .
    ..canon to the left of us?
    ….Freundy dithering in front of us
    and Mia pissing around behind us….
    ….as we drift rudderless towards the unknown…

Perhaps BAFBFP has the answer. let us hold about 6 big fetes, beat some bumpers, twerk some meat, drink some lickers and then we can all line up and beg the IMF for mercy….
    that way, we can ALL rub shoulders…in the begging line.

14. Carson……………you still have not answered my question………..when Mia brings that no confidence motion, i will tell you when i voted in Barbados and for whom, that should make your day.

15. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Carson C. Cadogan | September 10, 2013 at 7:47 AM |

Who knows better about ‘Opposing, Opposing, Opposing’ than you and that band of damned lying pirates who have sullied the good legacy of EWB?
    You had 14 years to practice you art to a “T”.

But I agree with you that the BLP is wasting its time. No one is listening; not even you!
    Why carry on the charade when the current leaders of DLP (that once hallowed political institution) have brought disgrace to the memory of EWB are threatening to crack heads and shoot their own black people but still having the unmitigated gall of blatant hypocrisy to pretend to be expressing interest in reparations from the British government.
    After your party has busted their heads and put them in holes in the ground who would benefit from the reparations? The Whites and Indians?

Have you or Mr. Jones ever heard about the International Court of Justice should he or his band of potential mass murderers ever give the orders to commit such acts of genocide?

But neither you nor the BLP need not worry about ‘putting creditable alternatives on the table’. There is some thing on the horizon that could upset not only the applecart and turn over the table but bring about a situation of political even-stevens. Then you would know if the BLP is wasting time ‘rubbing shoulders’ with the great unwashed whose heads you plan to crack and bellies riddled with bullets.
    You should pray for your black-mouth friend in his hour of need.

Yes, CCC, the miller is at it again, making predictions. But isn’t what politics is all about? You do it everyday hoping that there would be a turnaround in the economy to save its moribund ass from the clutches of the IMF.

Yes, CCC, the miller is at it again, making predictions. But isn’t what politics is all about? You do it everyday hoping that there would be a turnaround in the economy to save its very ass from the clutches of the IMF. Trying to borrow US$500 million plus another $100 million with junk bond status as your only bargaining chip is like the BLP winning the next elections; right CCC? (If you can appreciate the sarcasm)
    Skippa that kind of money could only come your way if there is massive root and branch restructuring of the public sector, including the removal of the Governor of the CB.
    Is this administration up to the task or can your black boys only pull it off under the direct supervision of the (white) IMF?

16. BLP -rubbing shoulders
    DLP rubbing shit in people’s mout
    and calling it butter

———————————-
    Yaaaaaaaaaaaagga- scores again !

17. Both these politically intellectually disgusting despicable decrepit factions must be – as soon as possible – sent packing by the broad masses and middle classes of people of this country – and with the great assistance of some kind of vanguard leadership of the most ideologically and politically conscious, committed and disciplined of the said broad masses and middle classes of people of this country.

As it stands now, these corrupt foolish factions have only fragile backward leaderships and core support bases of fewer than ten thousand people and can therefore be voted out by a greater agitated, a greater awakened, and increasingly restless majority of people of this country, resolved to the ushering in of great and substantial changes – political and otherwise – for the brighter and better of this country.

Remove the Damned DLP and the Blasted BLP.

18. “Therefore the opposition party is simply spinning top in mud and they will remain on the opposition benches forever.”

Carson- that is not necessarily true because corruption by the BLP, (hardwood housing among other allegations) was the mantra upon which the DLP fought and successfully fought the 2008 elections and they still managed to scrape another term albeit they have not brought any BLP politician to justice after five years at the helm.

19. Mia mottley pulling a DT “card” not an original thought have emitted from the mouths of any of the BlP rep. and yardfowls . Childish games and name calling the order of buisness in parliament. political grandstanding. However the populace still asking “how wunna gonna help we”

20. “In order to be taken seriously than the opposition if it is worth its salt has to put on the table creditable alternatives something this rag tag Barbados Labour Party opposition seem incapable of doing.”

Carson- have any of the creditable alternatives offered to the public by the DLP opposition to the electorate in 2008 ever been realised or sustained.

21. The BLP must not only rub shoulders: it must get in the House and meaningfully debate matters that come before them. It appears to me that they are either incompetent or merely going through the motions.

22. Remove the Damned DLP and the Blasted BLP.

————————
    Seems you have a point there PDC
    Keep hammering
    Something’s gotta give

23. “However the populace still asking “how wunna gonna help we”
    I do not know where you are living Ac but the populace here in Barbados is saying that the government in know wha they doing. As a member of the populace , I hold the government accountable for the management of the affairs of the country not the opposition because anyone familiar with our system of government knows that it is the duty of the opposition on behalf of those who voted for them to point out the deficiencies and inefficiencies of the governing party( if you and Carson call it opposing for opposing sake so be it); but in our system of governance the role of the opposition is ceremonial and adversarial. An art perfected by the DLP which they find difficult to she even in governance.

24. There is a DLP restroom employee whose job it is to pull toilet cistern chains.Intelligent folk do not allow such an employee who can be found in public convenience facilities,into their home to pull cistern chains.Such a person is to be completely ignored ‘as if they have never been’.

25. Rubbing shoulders my arsss. come up with proposals. show the popoulace what the BLP have in hand . Wishy washy politics peppered with poliical foul smelling sh..t enuff to mek dogstomach sick with an acidic attempt to rile up the public

26. ” It appears to me that they are either incompetent or merely going through the motions”

The BLP is proving to be an incompetent opposition who have been unable to seize the moment. Cannot even put meaningful pressure on a lacklustre administration whose majority in parliament is razor thin.

27. An art perfected by the DLP which- they find difficult to she- even in governance.

FIND DIFFICULT TO SHED

28. Carson, this is for you.
    You are saying the rubbing shoulders wrong and the BLP opposing for opposing sake. I agree, because every opposing behaviour do have some truth in it. It is like buying a lotto ticket hoping that one of these days you will hit the jackpot. How about you defending for defending sake. You surely ain’t have no shame after defending the Constituency Council as “ARTHUR” on Friday’s Brass Tack. Blind loyalty is a destructive vice.

29. “Rubbing shoulders my arsss. come up with proposals. show the popoulace what the BLP have in hand . Wishy washy politics peppered with poliical foul smelling sh..t enuff to mek dogstomach sick with an acidic attempt to rile up the public”

Behave yourself Ac we are all entitled to our opinions. your comments can be ascribed to the DLP while in opposition as well.

30. The messengers are begging for help. CCC and Ac are hoping that posters present ideas that can be implemented. Chris stated that the last administration had 14 years and “it is now this administration time and we don’t need any help from them”

31. With DLP yardfowls howling for the opposition BLP to come up with alternative, workable solutions to govern the country clearly means the ruling DLP don’t know what they are doing and should bow out if they are so clueless, you get paid to make things work not ask the opposition BLP to do it for you.

32. Ha! ha! the incompetence shined through when an election as easy as this one was lost by them in an economically hard enviroment. it only proves one thing that they proposals were sufficiently unconvincing what even the populace became politically fatigue with their quick fix proposals of privatisations. the same ones they still refuse to abandon as mia takes another stab at taking her madness to the street. OSA cannot be impressed.

33. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | September 10, 2013 at 9:43 AM |

It is said that Liars end up becoming mad. You seem well on the road.

According to you, CCC and his ilk that post here on BU the electorate soundly rejected the policies and proposals of the BLP. So what proposals are you expecting the BLP to proffer other that wind pies? Remember the proposal of a stimulus and the rollback of VAT? What has changed?

The BLP are doing just what you guys are alleged to have done prior to 2008. They are just copying you guys MO. But the 5 &10% contract kickback lowedown fella is the joker in the pack.
    Dr. David failed to live up to his side of the bargain but lowedown fella has been identified as the man holding the hand. Watch him ride!

34. It is clear that both political parties are mired in approaches which have outlived relevance. Very clear except to the party fowls.

35. Have to agree with PW in his disagreement with David Ellis. The Prime Minister talking and saying nothing which addresses the problem in the minds of people affected makes his attempt to improve his communication style a nullify.

Tell us about the minister who is in hospital.

36. Caswell Franklyn | September 10, 2013 at 9:27 AM |
    The BLP must not only rub shoulders: it must get in the House and meaningfully debate matters that come before them. It appears to me that they are either incompetent or merely going through the motions.

Your best post Cassie! Seeing Mia crunch a jet ski with her lets say very not inconsequential weight and mass to say the least does not inspire the rubbing shoulders movement. CCC is bang on target when he posits there is little if any traction for the BLP’s rabble rousing.
    The mood out there is things are tough across the world. Barbados has little wriggle room but people see the Dems despite the unavoidable cutbacks and hiccups have placed the country, the poor and the vulnerable first. The safety net remains intact.

When Mia settles the shocking differences in her own house she may gain some credibility. She is sitting on a BLP time bomb with wild boys Hinckson and Payne pelting big rocks at each other. Will they upgrade their weapons later on.? That’s an interesting question.

The shiftiness of Kerri Simmons must be closely watched by Mia. We have not even got around to the OSA factor he warn Mia not to bring carpetbaggers or political opportunists into St. Peter.

If Mia can extricate herself from the mass confusion that is the BLP unscathed she is a boss. We who follow politics know she is in deep trouble with the long knives of the many factions in her party waiting to stab.

37. Waiting. Caswell did say the Opposition should get in the House and meaningfully debate matters that come before them. How can that be done when the house always on vacation. Waiting you said “the Dems despite the unavoidable cutbacks and hiccups have placed the country, the poor and the vulnerable first”. I agree with your assertion since it is the poor and marginal that getting the kick in duh backside with all these taxes and removing poor children from University education since it is going to be impossible to find $5,000.00 plus per year, plus expensive books, plus lunch, Again I say, lets focus on the problems Barbadians have to encounter and stop the damn yardfowlism. We are looking into the other countries’ plates too much.

38. CCC I realise that you ‘fraid to response when I bring facts.

39. New BLP MP went up to a vendor and asked ‘how are you dealing with this economy that is killing you’? and dee vendor, being a DLP supporter, lit into ms.new MP’s a$$ and mek she real shame. LOL LOL>

40. Good question miller “what proposals.” been asking the BLP that question for the last five years still can.t get answer. Enough to make even ac mad. the Privatisation well has all but dried up. now the BLP has decided to ride the next four years on the backs of a “poor agenda” .Boy wunna really got a way of making ole like new. but come to think of it OSA very silent or maybe embarass.

41. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Tell me why

I have out my microscope looking for your “facts” but I am unable to find them.

42. Is this the same microscope you are looking for your party facts or is it fixed on “LIES ONLY”. Lol

43. IGNORANCE
    abounds in Barbados

44. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

The BLP is being misled I am not sure who is doing the misleading but it is clear as daylight that they are being led down the wrong path.

In turn they are encouraging and nurturing despair in a corner of the Bajan public. Their constant OPPOSE, OPPOSE, OPPOSE message will not get through to the Bajan public simply because the Bajan public is a well educated and informed public which is aware of the situation in the World and when they checked the last time Barbados was still a part of the World. So how can we escape the turmoil, they are asking. The Bajan public recognize that even though things are a little difficult the Government is still keeping the ship of state afloat. In spite of all the odds.

The Barbados Labour Party has belatedly recognise that in spite of their best efforts the people are not taking them on. This has led to pandemonium in the ranks of the Barbados Labour Party. Hence version two of “rubbing shoulders” has been launched by, of all people, Kerry a former DLP Stalwart.

More trouble for MIA!!!!

45. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

BTW

Why these BLP people like so much “rubbing”?

46. when is the BLP going to stop campaiging. sumbody need to tell MIA the election ova. time to stop beating that drum. People sick and tired of the same ole ole. i wunda what OSA thinking. Dam just like scrapping the bottom of the barrel .

47. In the 1973/74 Errol Barrow attacked the Church in Barbados singling out the top brass of the Anglican Church in Bishop Drexel Gomez and Philip Saunders of the Methodist Church for special abuse.The church prayed for Barbados and in 1976 on the appointed First Sunday in the month the Dean Harold Edmund Crichlow thundered forth from the pulpit of his Cathedral Church of St Michael
    that Barrow was ‘Mene,mene,tekel upharsin’and Barrow went through the eddoes on the appointed and prophesied day upon the first Thursday in the month of September and then Canon Hatch put down a prayer in the Senate and was promptly relieved of his priestly duties in that august chamber by none other than the Big Dipper.
    I remind of all this as I saw on the DLP TV last night another of the Anointed ones the Roman Catholic Bishop of Bridgetown,put some warm licks in the Cabinet and the Judiciary of Barbados and had Marston and Ellyut squirmin’ in their seats,sweating like a pot cover.My advice to Stuart is not to attack the Catholic Church because you think you had Fr Paul and Your Signor Harcourt Blackett long stopping for the DLP all the time but Bishop Jason show all ‘o wunnuh that Jesus in charge here and watch it because the last man politician that attack the church get burn up and pelt in the sea.A word to the wise

48. LOL @ Gabriel ….too sweet!
    So you clearly ain’t the ANGEL Gabriel….. 🙂
    …more like Lucifer yuh….!!

49. The country needs some one to grab it by the neck. We are waiting.

50. Carson C. Cadogan | September 10, 2013 at 2:03 PM |
    BTW

Why these BLP people like so much “rubbing”?
    —————————-
    good one Carson ! LOL