Submitted by Ras Jahaziel
The interest of wealthy foreigners in buying properties in Barbados  is on the rise, reportedly as a result of Government’s new residency rules that give high net-worth individuals the opportunity to go and come as they please – read report

AS ANTOINETTE PILGRIM tried to salvage some of the pieces of her home at Eversley Road, Brittons Hill, St Michael, she vowed never to vote for her parliamentary representative Freundel Stuart ever again. – read report

17 responses to “Our Readers Should Compare These Two Stories”

1. We have allowed wealth to re-introduce a form of apartheid in Barbados which constitutional independence should have eliminated.
    Now we have former caravan site owners, ex-footballers, kitchen and bathroom owners, dodgy Irishmen, dubious Irish Canadians, and even criminal Eastern Europeans coming to Barbados to own land.
    We have dishonest hedge fund managers, sleazy show biz type, upmarket prostitutes all descending on our beaches.
    Barbados has, or has planning applications for twelve golf courses – this in an island just over 100000 acres.
    Golf courses take up invaluable land, they are water guzzlers, provide few jobs, and very little taxes.
    There is nothing morally wrong with homeless people squatting on these golf courses and making life uncomfortable for these interlopers.
    To be a citizen or even resident of Barbados should take more than just money.

2. Riots in de land!!! Avatar
    Riots in de land!!!

This is the so called “society” they are building. These two political parties of Barbados are a disgrace to Barbados and black people. Run the damn country into de ground, destroy the economy, suicides on the rise, mental disease on the rise.

In order to cheat themselves up some high net worth residents who they can whore off of. Bajans ayn got nuh money tuh gih them, VAT mek sure uh dah. They allow this go and come as you please, selling off precious land that will never be owned by a black person again.

That woman and she children, I will pray for them and if I could I would put her up but alas my house already too full, yuh see in these hard times family got tuh help each other, take from that what you will. She should never forget and she make sure, with mothers’ milk her children never forget. Wutless, useless, disgrace of Black politicians. Doan wanna hear bout “Peekaboo Freundel”, de man worse than owen.

This is what politicians draw 10 thousand a month salaries to present to us the people they work for with. In a normal world such results would result in them being terminated. Instead they go on destroying de country. Owen went down that path he was told it aint sustainable, by these same jokes, now them come and doing the same parroe economics as owen. Mek it even worse that they got to eat the sh!t they refused.

Man Barbados need a viable third party bad, bad. A third party that will amend certain salaries in public service to be based on performance. Also, allow ministers and parliamentarians to be more easily recalled or impeached. Five years of dis foolishness an I ayn gine recognise buhbaydus, might think I in Jamaica or some country in Africa!!

3. Riots in de land!!! Avatar
    Riots in de land!!!

This failure by politicians, they come, draw dem monthly salary and fog up evuh ting. Fog up the economy, cuz dem doan know how. Destroy de middle class and impoverish de poor heavy taxation and fees, cuz dem politicians and dem buddy dem got to full dem guts, got to get de big ride and big house. De woman dem gotta be runnin dem down when dem smell dah money.

Is only right, dem work hard to get there, me and you just lazy and dunce.
    Right?

4. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS

We know all of this is true and we are here to help. When we get the books right, then Barbados will see that Barbados is for Bajans .
    Vote better get better , 3rd party all the ways , Nothing stays hidden for ever.This is a WAR ,, to get out the Truth.

5. I have been advocating the need of a vibrant patriotic third party to rescue
    Barbados, it has now become imperative that this happens sooner rather than later.

6. Man Barbados need a viable third party bad, bad

we do not need a third party or a fourth or fifth party to further entrench the same ‘here we go again around the mulberry bush musical chairs ‘ political thuggery we have to endure by the system of governance we accept as a fait accompli. what we need is a change in the way we do things so as that parliament can once more function as an arm of governance for the people and not in the interests of the political parties and their sycophants

7. BU has been asking from inception, what kind of Barbados do we want to build out for the next 30 years. It seems we are happy to go with the flow. Do we want the Peter Wickham model or Bush tea?

8. The difference between land in Barbados and syphilis is you can get rid of syphilis. The days of middle income people wanting property on the island is over. Only the rich can afford the extravagance., and if there are problems they just move on and let it sit. Where do you think all those derelict buildings come from. Just to clarify ” Barbados is for Bajans ” what color are you talking about.

9. It seems we are happy to go with the flow. Do we want the Peter Wickham model or Bush tea?

what models have they proposed?

10. Funny how things come in cycles, Do you of you guys remember the discussions about ‘too many golf courses’ and ‘foreigners buying up Barbados’ under the BLP? Was critised by the then DLP, especially the foreign ownership of land. Now they are doing the same. But too be fair, no ordinary Bajan can afford the properties the foreigners are interested in.

11. I have walked around the area of sandy lane golf course every trip I make to Barbados,kind of an exercise program. Only once have I seen anybody playing, a couple of americans on the old course. Golf courses rarely make money the houses built beside them are the cash cow, But in these economic times it defies logic that there will people to buy them. Maybe since the govt is willing to prop up all the failed businesses builders are willing to roll the dice with tax-payers money

12. Riots in de land!!! Avatar
    Riots in de land!!!

We need bold men and women. Some grassroots businessmen and past leaders in healthcare, education, sports, culture and law to form a team and form an effective third, fourth or fifth party (IT’S OUR DEMOCRATIC RIGHT). These two parties have failed miserably and are too corrupt to be effective.

Parties like PEP and PDC may only succeed in winning a seat here or there but they won’t take the house unless they have at least 25 to 30 candidates. We have a first past the post election system, whereas what PEP and PDC will do better in is a proportional representation system. New parties must have serious candidates, who people can recognise as competent so they can trust that if voted for they should be able to deliver. They should be studying and preparing all like now how Barbados’ particular system of government is run, to avoid a long honeymoon period trying to learn these after getting office.

The sword of Damocles must be returned to it’s place after we the citizens got too complacent and watched as our politicians and senior public servants removed it so they could do as they please. Buying votes in front of the prime minister and all. Spying on us and all.

13. TRUTH HAS TO BE TOLD

The leaders a people get are usually a reflection of
    THE CONSCIOUSNESS OR UNCONSCIOUSNESS
    of that people.

Keep dumbing down the people with
    PLANTATION CULTURE
    and you will get a bunch of plantation Negroes
    led by a bunch of COLLAR AND TIE Negroes.

so what has been needed for a very long time is
    A REVOLUTION IN CONSCIOUSNESS.

14. @Hal Austin “, upmarket prostitutes”

There is no such thing as an upmarket prostitute.

A whore is a whore, is a whore.

15. balance | July 13, 2012 at 5:45 AM |

I support you 110% and i have already posited on this forum that political parties have outlived their usefulness and to regain trust in our system of governance,the perception of accountibility, and transparency must be improved. To do this we have to take back Parliament from the politicians by having officials elected to parliament from the bowels of the constituencies to look after the interest of the constituents and not the party. Parliamentarians can be assigned certain responsibilties as members of various oversight commiitees or ministries selected from among the members of parliament. These oversight bodies suitably staffed by persons of varying disciplines would decide policy and forward to the technocrats in the relevant administrative departments for execution. In this way, it is hoped that the chances of parliamentarians getting involved in corruption would be limited if not fully eliminated and the characters of parliamentarians would not be open to abuse based on rumor and speculation.. The various independent public service selection bodies would be restored to select persons for employment and to head the various government agencies.Appointments to such critical and important posts like the Chief Justice will be free of bias and gossip.There will be no need for a primus interpares. The role of meeting dignataries and shaking hands can be assigned to the speaker of the parliament or rotated on an annual basis among the parliamentarians. In this system, the role of the governor general and term limits for parliamentarians would eventually come under scrutiny.
    YOU SEEM TO LOATHE TO MENTION THAT BALANCE HAS PROFERD A MODEL AS WELL

16. Smooth Chocolate Avatar

those of u who can leave Barbados and live somewhere where u have better opportunities, please go. if ministers can call people and literally curse them for speaking out about those ads to bring in foreign nationals for jobs such as Live In Maids, then this is no longer the Barbados we should be honouring; if white drug lords could bring their money here and buy up land only to build houses to eventually rob the bajan, then leave; if bajans had taken the time to investigate the crap that the DLP spoke just before elections, then we would not be in this position. Sadly, the ones who are feeling lost and deceived are the naive ones who voted them into power.

17. Smooth Chocolate | September 1, 2013 at 7:09 PM |

EXCELLENT COMMENTARY SMOOTH CHOCOLATE