Submitted by Napolean Bonaparte
Dr. Esther Byer-Suckoo, Minister of Labour and Social Security blames a computer glitch for the chaos surrounding payroll of temporary workers.

What the Houdini, did I hear correct? Now they are blaming the removal of peoples’ names on binary malfunctions ****0101001011 glitch***? The computer does not ask anybody questions anymore nowadays. Was the reason given for why the 1,000 or so temporary workers were this week taken off the payroll list? So wait, just so Apple wid a bite decided to axe them off and for no apparent reason. Goat rolls I say, but sounds oh too familiar.  Recall the CLICO Deloitte report? Just so again, documents and all friendly copies (I still got mine) vanished into thin air with no logical explanation whatsoever.

Shifting mirror states we encouraging when we choose to play with peoples’ livelihood’s by offering scapegoat-isms and computer hoodlum- hoods. Why was it not Sir Roy who said he supported the call for austerity measures but asked for transparency? So what is so big about owning up to the truth anyway? Could it be to do with a now tired electioneered sound byte that continues to be repeated by some who would rather remain as ambiguous?

Barbadians are not all that stupid my friend. They all know layoffs are eminent. Calling people “street characters” and computers “out of wack ” with minds of their own, will not cut it forever Dr. Oz.  Remember this, at sometime the Jews will have to return to Jerusalem no matter how long they hide their face.

79 responses to “Computer Glitched Layoffs?”

1. @Piece

BU understands from our usually reliable sources that the two key people responsible for the Census project will be going on vacation and study leave shortly. It is obviously not a priority of government.

2. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS

Computer Glitched Layoffs? How come the glitched did not get the Ministers? in put , out put

3. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Posh

Now you are getting it: most of the problems in Barbados stem from political corruption. However, the current lot have added incompetence to the mix.

4. Look wunnah stop talking shite. The qeh is owed thousands of dollars by patients who refuse to pay. If they collect , refuse to give treatment or collect before treatment they will make millions. Lots of these persons are from other Caribbean countries and continue this shite to-now. Look in the dialysis unit and see some examples. we scrambling and non nationals living free. can u imagine owing hundreds of thousands and still getting more care without paying your bills. well, well !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! This gine on for years and now the place brek down and it still gine long. 35 mil cut in budget is nuf. we got to mek sure that who is to pay shell out some dollars. A bajan could not do dat in a next Caribbean country. Them wudda skin out he eva since. Things tite in the dialysis unit and outsiders living free at the expense of bajan patients who now get less care. I got my people in there and any time they bring shite to them thunder will roll. Bajans must be first!

5. Riots in de land!!! Avatar
    Riots in de land!!!

Bajans need to stop being victims of their political class. It was their job to protect every citizen not just the rich. The citizens put them there to be fight for us when we are weak, to speak for us when we have no voice, to be stewards not lords. To lead not rule. The poor and illiterate are who mostly put their hopes in them only to be fooled again. Shameful!!

Stop being victims Bajans alike, do something, anything, just don’t sit and take this foolishness anymore!! They laugh at us, they mock us, they hold us to low levels, both parties, a duet of lying prostitutes. Money that’s who they serve. We must start a new house, the old one is a den of thieves, prostitutes and village idiots.

Don’t let Barbados end up like Jamaica, where there is much venom amungst the citizens (black on black crime) from the frustration of life, but dare them touch a politician. It baffles the mind, where is their maroon heritage, all of them weren’t shipped off to Canada, Sierra Leon and Liberia. Politicians continue to wreck that country, Jamaica has one of the worlds highest immigration rates, It’s a nice place but living there is another thing. Yet politicians and public servants sleep well, while grossly mismanaging that country.

What would Trinidad be like if it had no oil I wonder? What will it be when it’s oil runs out?! How much damage can a man like Jack do? What I’m trying to say is we should count our blessings and never curse ourselves with bad politicians who dream of governance.

6. I guess we only have to look abroad for examples of where our corruption will lead us. Trinidad, Jamaica, Guyana. I know there are good people in those countries, fighting the good fight every day, to remain honest and upright and who cry fowl at corrupt practices, so I am not saying their entire populations are bad.

But what I will say is that the issues they faced/face such as we face now has landslided at least quarter of their population if not half, to live in squalor, to be uneducated, anti-social, anti-authority and basically continue this cycle from generation to generation from here on.

I’ve always said to others that Trinidad’s problem is not one of crime, crime is a symptom of a more sinister sickness, and TT problem is a social one. Drugs and drug trafficking plays a part, but at least if an educated person with good ethics and morals as a result of proper socialization, makes the choice to become involved in deviant behaviour, it was not because he/she had no other choice.

On the other hand, what is someone who has no will power, no proper sense of morality, an improper socialization by parents themselves who were improperly socialized, what choice are they left with when they are desperate?

It is this cycle and pit of fire that we are being dropped into that will destroy this country from the inside out.

Some examples I can think of is how long Jamaica waited, they waited until they had an incident where an armed militia actually fought tooth and nail against the military and police of their nation to realize they had to act drastically. I am not certain but although things are not perfect in Jamaica, as a wound so large as the one they had cannot heal so fast, they are making more progress towards law and order from what I have been saying. This took passing of extreme laws and the dismantling of central gangs or severe disruption.

Mexico waited for years to start their ‘war’ on drugs, and look at the effects. Too many people depend on the business for their livelihood and are not going to give it up so easily. Research the amount of people killed since Calderon came to office in Mexico in 2006, when he declared war on the cartels.

I won’t debate the issue of the war on drugs, we all know where that goes, but the point is, that long after their infestation had taken route was when they decided to try to treat it. You can’t for something sinister to fester for long periods of time and then try to treat it.

Getting local now we have the issue with the Police and the vendors. I personally do not believe that operation recapture Bridgetown is aimed towards the vendors. The vendors might be a casualty, but I more believe it is aimed at the lawless behavior which takes place every Friday evening, Saturdays and other days during the week in any street in town with a Bar.

Then there is the sess pool that is Nursery Drive. The secondary terminal into and out of our CAPITAL in our country for thousands of people each day, is a shit hole and breeding ground for street crime.

I really don’t see why the Government cannot issue the vendors with the necessary permits, I hear this complaint each time, they won’t issue permits, I’d like to hear a statement from Government on the issue.

Maybe we can take comfort in the fact, that one day, when things are bad enough, there will have to be some action (hopefully).

With all the social media present now, isn’t it easier to organize mass protests? Easier than 1994?

7. In a Democracy the people have the right to change a Government but it must be with good reason. Since it affects people’s lives and livelihood. The problem with Bajans is that they are too blasted gullible. Anybody with half a brain should have known that this would be the outcome for Barbados. From the time the dead and now dethroned king came to the fore in the early 90s time and time again, he proved himself to be a diabolical liar. He brought a level of vicious, nasty politics based on character assassination. A level of politics never before seen in this country. To this day I cannot believe that Bajans allowed a friggin’ freak of nature. A megalomaniac. Parading as this paragon of virtue but in reality afflicted with every compulsive deviant behaviour known to man, and his band of mercenaries to wreak havoc on the economy, plundering as they went and holding an entire nation hostage all in the name of CHANGE.

Mind you all the while claiming a man known to be of questionable character, one who makes Bernie Madoff look like a boy in the yard, to be a friend. Yes, so full of guile was he that he even conned the clergy and a certain group of influential people down by a riverside to aid and abet his dirty schemes and they pulled it off twice. So here we are once a small but proud nation – the envy of the region, reduced to being the laughing stock and grovelling at the doors of the IMF cap in hand.

Well done folks.

Dear God have mercy, we beg you.

S.O.S

8. So there was computer glitches at the post offices too? Just asking

9. LIARRRRRRRRRRRRRRS!!!!!

10. I have thought long and hard on these murderous cuts. I have come to the conclusion that the long hand of the IMF and the IADB are the ones behind what this clueless MOF has inflicted on the people of Barbados.

But the people were warned and they believe the lies the DLP told them. I see one of them who helped tell the lies is now paying for his lies! Time longer than twine.

11. I see one of them who helped tell the lies is now paying for his lies! Time longer than twine.
    ——————–
    who dat ???
    dont hide
    dont shield
    reveal
    who is he/she
    where to be found
    how to find
    throw he/she to wolves
    vampires /werewolves
    stomping and preying
    issues of swallowing/pride

12. Computer glitch at Customs too? Wuhlosssssssssss
    Wunna liarrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrsssss!!!!

13. High productivity will take a back seat now for persons who have not been paid properly this month. Less incentive to do so when the politicians, families, friends and associates are still enjoying all the perks.

By the way, has any heard anything about the progress of Sinkliar on his overseas mission to borrow $500 million United States dollar to sure up the foreign reserves? Over to you Miller…….. and Caswell.

14. Ah wonduh what next!!!!!!

15. LOL @ bullets!!!! | August 27, 2013 at 12:56 AM |
    LIARRRRRRRRRRRRRRS!!!!!

still laffing
    LOL !

16. Bush Tea | August 25, 2013 at 2:19 PM |
    But Caswell, how is it that your clients (government workers) can be aware of these defaulters AND OF THOSE WHO ARE PROTECTING THEM (or at least of those seniors who are preventing them from doing their jobs) and do NOTHING about it…..?”

i think u are a really stupid person since anyone knows that if the clients were not in a position of authority then they can do nothing…it happens every single day in the Barbados government

17. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Bag Juice | August 28, 2013 at 9:50 AM |

We know your Bag is full of not only juice but brimming with understanding of how things go when it comes to borrowing money (selling bonds and future generations to serfdom) on the international money markets. The same MoF tried selling the same junk on the UK money market in April but failed. Do you really think he would succeed this time in offloading U$500 million in investors’ junk yard?
    Do you think, in this age of free and fast information flow, investors would not be savvy to a conman who feels bullshit is marketable among investors accustomed to his brand of lies and incompetence?
    Peddlers of junk bonds might succeed where the countries involved are endowed with real tradable natural resources like gold, diamonds, oil, rare minerals and fertile land.
    Can we say Bim falls in that category? Barbados only resource is its people and when the country presents Stinkliar as representative of its political skills set responsible for the fiscal management then things are really brown, brown, brown.

An idiot of a man who puts the blame for the disappearance of $300 million (one-fifth) of his country’s foreign reserves in less than 3 months on a silly powerless Opposition party. It’s like Robert Mugabe blaming Morgan Tsvangirai for white businesses leaving Zimbabwe.

Can you see international money people dealing on the periphery in junk-graded investment paper having confidence in this joker with nothing to back him up other than his bullshit which he cannot drop in such overwhelmingly sophisticated circles?

Just look at the interest rate and commissions being demanded by the underwriting managers and you would see that Bim is up a creek without paddle. Only a ‘whole’ fire-sale of the country’s patrimony turning it into a “Paro” state would come out of the MoF’s attempt to sell the Country’s Cornwell. You guys would now see what “Paro” Economics is all about.

18. @Miller…….. I know we up shite street from the time this DLP government regain the reins of power. Some persons in the private sector has no confidence in them, and hence, took out their money to safer places, hence the bleeding of the forex.

19. BU family

Another massive mixup by the Min. of Finance. This time its with the new consolidation tax. Read the writeup in Barbados Today.

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2013/08/27/govt-introduces-plan-to-raise-42-1-million-in-a-wide-tax-net/

Looks like a tax that is primarily intended for Public Servants and related workers and pensioners as the tax will be so difficult to collect (unless people volunteer to pay) that many private sector workers are likely to find a way to avoid paying the full taxes.

20. Just a couple of private sector scenarios re. the new consolidation tax.

I’m a pensioner. My roof develops some serious leaks in this rainy season in September. I employ a single small contractor with fancy equipment and a big ride to fix the roof. He charges me $2000 which I pay him in full in September 2013. He has a number of other jobs in September for which he might earn a gross $10,000 or so. During several other months of the year he might make just $1000 or so gross while in some he might make significantly more.

Who pays the consolidation tax? me or the contractor?
    How does the IRD determine what his band should be in September at the institution of the tax? Historical income tax returns?
    Which band does he put himself in if he has to pay it?
    How do I determine the correct band for the deduction if I have to deduct the tax and pay it to the IRD. Mightn’t it be reasonable for me to conclude that his band does not have to pay the consolidation tax when he might actually be earning well over the 50K band over a full year from other jobs.
    Shouldn’t the tax be assessed at the end of a full year.

Let’s say I visit my medical GP. He charges me $100 for the visit. He used to have lots of patients but over the past several months they have been getting progressively smaller in number to the extent that I now do not have to wait in his waiting room to see him.

Who pays the consolidation tax?
    If it is me. how do I determine which band the doctor should be in?
    If it is the doctor, since it is a gross tax, should he forward lets say 3$ from every 100 dollars to the IRD. Note that the letter does not say anything about expenses.

Another tax that is very confusing and improperly worked out and inadequately explained.

For public servants and pensioners there is no such concern. The employer can easily determine the bands and make the requisite deductions. ergo. Its this group they’re after again. All else is fluff.

21. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ checkit-out | August 29, 2013 at 12:07 AM |
    “For public servants and pensioners there is no such concern. The employer can easily determine the bands and make the requisite deductions. ergo. Its this group they’re after again. All else is fluff. ”

Bang On!
    Here this administration goes again attacking easy and vulnerable targets in the society to pay dearly for the government’s fiscal incompetence. We suppose it is far easier and politically convenient to cut in half the reverse tax credit for the poor working stiff than to go after the large Wealth Earners whom Sir Frank Alleyne confirms exist and are the real tax evaders and cheats.

Up to now Leroy Greenverbs has not been assessed for the tax due on the gratuity received by way of the Thompson money laundering machine.

22. BU proposes to government that the transfer to the Constituency Councils and the training and traveling overseas budget be cut in the amount of 42 million and do away with this tax on personal incomes.

23. Actually; with my tongue firmly in cheek, the tax should be renamed “the Goodwill Tax” where private sector individuals will be asked to use their goodwill to determine the true and fair bands within which they will contribute and then remit the requisite amount to the IRD on a monthly basis.

As it is, can one see the confusion there will be in the IRD department from next month? How do they realistically expect to collect from the private sector under the current reported guidelines from government?

For this tax to work, albiet somewhat unfairly so, the Government will have to clearly state that it is based on last year’s income tax and will be calculated and collected on that basis for all income earners, salaried as well as self employed. Persons who have loss jobs, suffered a provable diminution in income, etc. etc. can protest in writing but will have the tax applied nevertheless and will pay the appropriate penalties from September. Refunds will be made at the end of the financial year for the consolidation tax.

Suitably experienced and qualified temporary workers, etc. who were laid off because of the smart stream glitches will be employed to assist in the collection of the many disparate streams of tax that will come from the implementation of the tax.

The tax and the communication from the Dir. Inland Revenue is a perfect storm of ineptness. However I know that the Director is far from inept so that communication had to have been forced from above. Where does the new Head of the Civil Service stand in all this?

24. @ Miller , did you hear the VOB 5:30 pm news just now? 40 postal workers will go home as of tomorrow August 30 2013. Police departments will be underfunded by at least $30,000 ,Wuh……..loss. What has the politicians given up? Well they voted for them.

25. Workers at the Post Office laid off
    Policeman salaries to be cut
    What/the shit
    hit the fan
    Stuart and his band
    Robbing/hoods -reverse
    GOVT in trouble
    Crack some heads/ now we know why
    intentions /clear
    Bdos under attack
    DLP malfunctions

Oh Gosh

——————————–
    Yaaaaaaaaaaagga –again

26. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Bag Juice | August 29, 2013 at 5:45 PM |

This just the tip of the iceberg.
    It is agreed with the lending agencies and the IMF that the public sector would shed 5,000 workers as a first wave but to be done over a 2-3 year period as contracts expire and not renewed. The temporary/casual workers are the first to get the axe.
    The statutory corporations would soon seen a massive trimming in numbers especially those that are not “known and clearly identifiable” DLP supporters.

But don’t expect any trimming in numbers at the political executive level as symbolic gesture of “We too feel your pain”.
    Bajans have the government they deserve!

27. @Miller, that old lady that was the star in the DLP advert. during the election, I wonder if any of her relatives will get the axe during the spate of layoffs and cut backs. What is the latest with Stinkliar and his bonds? (LOL) These are signs of Jamaica and Guyana all over it. This is serious going down.

28. Bag Juice;

Yes. This is a serious going down.

But we are worse off now than Guyana and Jamaica were when they were initially down and out . The performance of our Government so far does not engender the slightest confidence in any but their yardfowls that they will do the very best possible to bring Barbados out of this morass that they have ensured is now at a stage that no one, opposition or otherwise, can correct in short order. imho only the IMF can save us now and the tea leaves suggest that their typical policies are already being implemented, albiet very amateurly, by this Government.

Our best bet now is a coalition of the best people in the Government and a cleansing of the top Public servants who have been involved in providing advisory services to this Government, unless they can show that their advice has been ignored by this Government.

The PM should go after reassigning the current MoF and saying his final mea culpas.
    The Governor of the Central Bank should go unless he can provide credible evidence that his advice was not followed by the MoF.

There should be a total shakeup of Ministerial Portfolios in a new coalition Government. A new Government of National Consensus should be formed out of the best of the Government and the Opposition. Ministerial positions (which should be drastically reduced in number) should include:- Donville Inniss (despite his many faults he is firm, sensible and action oriented). Mia Mottley; Owen Arthur as Minister of Finance (If anyone can make a difference, he can); Estwick as Minister of Energy and Natural Resources (including Agriculture); Toppin as Minister of Tourism and Commerce; A prime Minister would be chosen from the MP’s but it should be ensured that Neither Freundel Stuart nor Chris Sinckler should get that post.

A pipe dream you say? I’ve never smoked and I know such a dream is unlikely to come to fruition but I think a coalition Government is necessary for Barbados at this time. Maybe in 2018 we might get back to a tried and true Government structure when hopefully some new people (like Corey Layne) have shown their worth and some of the old hands have retired and the economy is starting to bounce back slowly.

One never knows. But perhaps some very unlikely circumstances might lead to such a coalition sooner than we think. Perhaps the reality of hitting rock bottom in the next few months may spur some such drastic changes. On our present trajectory with this present Government and its numerous missteps there is little doubt that the worse is yet to come and soon.