Adrian Loveridge - Owner of Peach & Quiet Hotel
Adrian Loveridge – Owner of Peach & Quiet Hotel

Once leaving August behind, we enter what is traditionally the most challenging period in tourism terms. Historically, the month that experiences the least number of arrivals of the year is September. September 2012 recorded just 27,230 long stay visitor arrivals, the lowest number in any month for the past ten years. A decline of 6.6 per cent over the same period in 2011. Given our already dramatically reduced airlift, with an average of just 907 passengers per day, it will result in flying hundreds of empty airline seats daily, or in fact thousands, by month end. Once the plane has taken off, clearly these seats cannot be sold twice the next day.

From an accommodation perspective, even if all these 27,230 persons stayed in a licensed hotel and the average stay was 7 nights with two per room, that still only fills less than 2,000 rooms against a total that is often quoted of between 5,000 and 6,000. This of course, does not take into account all the apartments, villas. condominiums and any unregistered accommodation providers. It also helps explain why several hotels and restaurants decide to close during September for annual holidays, refurbishment or simply to curtail operational costs. September, perhaps would have been the most logical month to roll-out the proposed APD Voucher but this could have only possibly influenced one main market, the United Kingdom.

As I have to submit this column a few days before publication perhaps details of the voucher conditions will be announced in the interim. So should the industry simply lay down and accept the current trend of falling visitor numbers? Under the current fiscal challenges we cannot afford to, it becomes an imperative to look for other creative ways to achieve a positive difference.

From 7September until 14November, American Airlines through their loyalty programme, AAdvantage has reduced the mileage requirement to 25,000 miles from any point they currently serve in the Continental United States and Canada to/from Barbados. With over 66 million members, it’s a huge untapped market for us. When American merges with US Airways ten of millions more people will have the means to reach us, from many more connecting cities.

Now look at it from a potential visitors perspective. If I wanted to fly from Los Angeles to Barbados, the lowest bookable return fare online is US$1017 for travel in September. Using miles, it’s only US$59.70. This breaks down the huge geographical airfare cost differential and opens up what are considered far-flung price deterrent source markets. How do we reach this massive group of travel ready people? The simple answer is to smart partner with the airline and use their existing channels of communicating with frequent flyer customers, electronically. The destination could also purchase additional miles to further lower the travel threshold and make it almost irresistible.

Already some private sector partners are offering triple miles over this period to maximise opportunities for every part of the sector. Timing is critical, and in this industry there is no longer the luxury for procrastination in decision making. Not that there ever was but we seem to have grown accustomed to apathy and a lack of lucidity. Let us collectively make it the best performing September in eleven years, rather than set yet another record of failure.

195 responses to “Boosting September Tourist Arrivals”

1. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

Of course it isn’t just St. Lucia stealing our thunder. WE miss so many opportunities. Take today as an example – WestJet have a ONE DAY SALE –
    Toronto/Barbados/Toronto from CAD$362.51 including al taxes – Travel dates 4th September – 26th October 2013 (some blackout dates apply).

September 2012 and October 2012 recorded the lowest long stay visitor arrivals in TEN years.

2. @ Sargeant

“………….Loveridge, if one takes a look at his articles they are consistently the same somebody somewhere is doing things better than Barbados………..”

Generally speaking, that’s true and that’s what businesses and industries do. Look to see what others are doing and if they are doing things better than you are, analyse it and try to learn from or improve on it.

“………… he reported that the tourism product in a sister island is better than it is in Barbados…………..”
    I challenge you to quote from Adrian’s article and show where he said that. It is in fact about tourist arrivals Barbados vs St. Lucia.

3. Ac couldn,t care less about what is happening in ST.LUCIA all ac is interested is the cozy relationship thats has now become part of the issue between The PM of st.lucia and a citizen of barbados as much that the relationship have a possibilty of servicing relevant information from one island to another having to deal with internal matters related to barbados tourism. and govt. there is a level RED of suspicion sirrounding this issue which gives cause for concern.

4. @ GP
    THERE IS NOTHING WRONG WITH COMPARISON TO ST LUCIA
    You mean that it is ok for CCC to compare crime statistics and police tactics?
    …or only for Adrian to compare arrivals?

If you introduce a particular tactic you cannot be upset if your opponent returns the favor.
    Perhaps if our police were to dispose of some of the pests we have in Barbados our arrivals may improve too….but at what price?
    These simplistic comparisons are not helpful….
    It is like saying that Sargeant’s salary is higher that Bushie’s….so Bushie must be doing something wrong….

@ Islandgal
    …and a good morning to YOU too sweetheart….

5. bushie

ccc is not using tactics this ignorant irritant illiterate is just talking ssssssssss…………………….e! he has ABSOLUTELY NOTHING TO OFFER IN THE DEBATE

6. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | August 23, 2013 at 11:50 AM |
    “Ac couldn,t care less about what is happening in ST.LUCIA all ac is interested is the cozy relationship thats has now become part of the issue between The PM of st.lucia and a citizen of barbados as much that the relationship have a possibilty of servicing relevant information from one island to another having to deal with internal matters related to barbados tourism. and govt. there is a level RED of suspicion sirrounding this issue which gives cause for concern.”

But please, ac, pray tell us how can Adrian be of any value, information wise, to any tourism official in St. Lucia?
    According to you lot (ac, CCC and the other character assassinators) Adrian can’t even manage a little rundown inn that relies heavily on handouts from government.
    Now how can such a person be of any value to St. Lucia.
    A matter of fact you all should be holding the reverse position of encouraging Adrian to proffer ‘sound consultancy advice’ since you guys already know that anything coming from Adrian can only result in abject failure.

But we are glad that you recognize Adrian as a “Citizen of Barbados” so should leave the man alone and stop suggesting he should be deported.
    Maybe if the St.Lucian officials were relying on Ralph Taylor or even Carson C. Cadogan you would have had serious cause for concern but not where the fifth columnist (your description of the man) is involved.

What is this sensitive information Adrian has about Barbados’s tourism that the CTO (and by extension the St. Lucian tourism officials) is not aware of other than the obvious observation that the government’s policy of throwing further scarce money at tourism without doing the necessary housecleaning tasks is just like throwing it in Maxwell pond?

Tourism Industry Rule No.1: Do not invite visitors to your house without cleaning it before the guests arrive. Pay special attention to your bathrooms and kitchen.
    Barbados is in need of a major overhaul and housecleaning.

7. @ ac .. for the record the PM of St Lucia also called me on the same matter. He also said that he was unsure when it would appropriate to call our PM as it may disturb his usually long daytime nap.

8. adruian not dumb. his mission is to disrupt the flow of trAffic and create chaos couldn,t give too hoots about variables in statitics. Adrian is so intent and caught up in this Pillaging of Barbados that he has the auducity to interject the PM of ST.Lucia into his game plan which has now become a raging inferno. man has no scruples about anything.He couldn,t careless if barbados comes falling to the ground. What does he have to lose.

9. I can’t for the life of me figure out what type of state secrets Barbados could possibly have, what is even more puzzling is why Adrian would have access to such state secrets presuming any such state secrets existed………..me thinks some are taking the patriotic crap a bit too far, probably needs stronger meds.

10. Madd dog for the record he called me too.and said he doesn,t know what all the fuss is/about. Now there you have it right from another source…

11. I hope both PM ,s of both islands are monitoring the debate. especially the PM of ST.lucia whose name has been dragged into an issue and as aresult serious damage can be done to his reputation.by some of the information given here on BU by Adrian.which he claims is truthfulness which no person in their right mind would divulge but would see it as confidential.

12. Seems that the Government is funnying up
    Somebody pooped
    and somebody else swallowed
    Hear the news
    5000 public workers not paid
    by Barbados Government
    Taken off the pay sheet
    wham Bam/just like that

wow !
    Caswell Franklyn was so right

13. YAGGA ROWE
    YOU CANT POST THINGS LIKE DAT!
    IT BOTHERS BLIND DLP SUPPORTERS WHO ARE NOT INTERESTED IN FACTS OR TRUTH

14. GP…………..when you see this thing hits them, the yardfowls will be the one quaking.

15. The old Bajans had a saying, “it is better to be born lucky than to be born rich”.

When I saw this statement,”The harassment of Adrian stops tonight” I knew that ADRIAN fell into that class of people.

Just imagine that ADRIAN harasses the BLACK government of this country day in and day out. Yet BLACK supporters OF THE GOVERNMENT are not supposed to point out the folly of ADRIAN LOVERIDGE ways. Is it because he is WHITE, DAVID?

ADRIAN appealed to DAVID for help from people who are constantly pointing out how stupid he is and that was granted. Over the years I have seen BLACK PEOPLE vilified here on this blog and they never got any help from DAVID.

Colour really does matter bout hey!!!!!!

16. So we are going to kill the messenger just because we can not face the TRUTH!!!! It is time we look a ourselves instead of ADRIAN. We got real issues when we cannot face the truth. We need to take the BEAM out our eyes before we attempt to take the speak out of ADRIAN’s eyes. We have been doing tourism wrong for a while and it has nothing to do with ST. LUCIA or any other destination. We need to exam our tourism to see if my statement that we have been doing it wrong for sometime is true and if so how can we fix it. If we are doing it wrong and it is a habit and killing the messenger would not change that bad habit.

17. Interesting to hear the PM chiding banks for not lending to the tourism sector which he advised is the productive sector Barbados will need to rel on for the foreseeable future.

18. So who appointed ADRIAN , “a messenger”?

19. now that BU has survived another day of misleading and unfounded information by those like adrian who claims to be in theknow . it is really amusing how david bu can run to the frontline of battle to stand guard for adrian who has now played the role of victim. never mind the barbs and threats and taunts he has thrown at the barbados govt, even to the point of humiliating govt for not receiving his Vat refund, This is the guy that David choose to protect while he reloads his gun aims and fire targeting a country point blank who is an economic fight for it life,

20. Useful information for ADRIAN from FACEBOOK:

Where ignorance is bliss, ’tis folly to be wise. Can you imagine week after week a person taking a part of a statistic and using it as a benchmark for success? His latest posting

“Jan-Jun 2013 US long stay visitor arrivals:

Barbados – 63,2501 – DOWN 10.8 per cent
    St. Lucia – 67,352 – UP 9.8 per cent”

Let us examine the statistic in its entirety . Go to http://www.onecaribbean.org/wp-content/uploads/AUG12Lattab2013.pdf

At that site you would see that St. Lucia overall long stay arrivals Jan-Jun show a 4.8 % increase. It has done better than the Bahamas -8.6, Jamaica -1.2, Puerto Rico 4.0, St. Maarten 1.4 and Barbados 6.7. The countries which have done better than St. Lucia are Aruba 5.4, Belize 8.9,
    Cayman 6.2, Curacao 6.6, Montserrat 22.5 and Suriname. How on earth can a blogmaster agree with this man’s crap week after week is beyond my comprehension

21. Interesting to hear the PM chiding banks for not lending to the tourism sector which he advised is the productive sector Barbados will need to rel on for the foreseeable future.

it would have been even more interesting if a similar topicpf interest would have been of focus here on BU instead of the usual constipated overbearing articles written under the banner of Tourism Matters here on BU. No Ac can’t write nothing about Tourism only sit and grazed as the parade marches by.

22. @ac

BU has dropped you several notches given your recent puerile campaign. BU will even forgive you for being a liar by stating you visited St. Lucia recently. Now try to redeem yourself.

For your information you are free to compose/submit a blog, if you can. Also note that a copy of the PM’s press conference given after his tour today has been posted on another blog but of course you have your head fixated right here so it is impossible for you to escape from your silly little political game you are playing. Rest assured it will not be successful.

On 23 August 2013 22:11, Barbados Underground

23. For your information you are free to compose/submit a blog, if you can. Also note that a copy of the PM’s press conference given after his tour today has been posted on another blog but of course you have your head fixated right here so it is impossible for you to escape from your silly little political game you are playing. Rest assured it will not be successful.

what political game ? What Blog. No i can”t. But why the Rage,, ,what did ac say that was wrong expect to use a microscopic lenses and gazed real deep into the heart of a tourism matter..

24. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

I think we have to go back to the original topic and again ask the question why is OUR tourism industry performing so badly. 16 consecutive months of long stay visitor decline, which must be record across the Caribbean in recent times. Even with airfares of CAD$362.50 (WestJet) and CAD$420.51 (Air Canada) including all taxes Toronto/Barbados/Toronto potential travellers are still largely opting for our neighbours.
    Perhaps, rather than attacking the messenger, some of the more verbal posters can answer this question.

25. It is performing badly because we have a Minister of Tourism whose only claim to fame is that he likes getting around the world playing Cassanova

The fact is that while Barney also played the field he at least had an understanding of how to market a product and unlike the inept Sealy whom Prime Minister Fumble understandably CANNOT FIRE, does not have a clue on how to jump start the lifeblood of our economy as it is currently constituted

Bring on your hounds for the old man, AC and Cocky Locky.

Neither of you is The Harbinger and since I do not fear Him and wonder only what sentience will encounter, you two children cannot rustle me

26. At what point does PM Stuart hold member of his Cabinet accountable? Or does he. Surely it has reached a point where Sealy should br given a rest and let another try their hand.

27. Well since Adrian asked about getting back to the REAL issue of why our tourism is performing badly….
    The problem is more fundamental than a poor tourism Minister…. …even more that poor management altogether.

Bushie will even go beyond the issue of Tourism being a simplistic philosophy of selling your personal asse(t)s which is identical to prostitution at the individual level….

THE FUNDAMENTAL PROBLEM with Barbados Tourism is that we have a “business” that is owned and controlled by people like Adrian, who reap all the sweets and who parade around in their luxury homes, cars and boats while demanding “productivity, pride and industry” from hordes of workers who are paid pittance and who are expected to wow the clients with love and affection.

Adrian may want to note the OWNERSHIP STRUCTURE in those jurisdictions that he likes to reference.

If Bushie was working in the hotel industry….and anyone thinks that the bushman would readily and instinctively be motivated to see the success of tourism – which benefits only the foreign and select local owners, while barely putting bread on Bushie’s table, ….that person has to be retarded.

Does anyone see the resemblance to the pimp driving the Lincoln Continental, …wearing the overdone clothes …..while harassing his girls on the street to smile and be nice to the johns…?

Quite simply…..
    YOU CAN’T PLANT OKRAS AND EXPECT TO REAP SWEET POTATOES.

If tourism is the NATIONAL business then the OWNERSHIP and BENEFITS of success should be shared NATIONALLY.
    This should be either through state ownership along with professional, transparent management….or through COOPERATIVE. Ownership.

The damn plantation days are DONE….why the hell wunna think that the fellows used to burn the canes….?
    Anyone who expects to replace sugar plantations with hotel plantations and get different results deserve to end up broke….

28. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

David, I am doubtful that the PM really knows what is going on in tourism. This was perhaps highlighted by his comments stating how successful Crop Over 2013 was, when in fact the July 2013 long stay arrivals were the lowest recorded in the past eleven years. He rightly states that the hotel sector must invest more in upgrading their plant, but if they cannot see an ultimate return on that investment, would they not be stupid to take that risk?
    Plus if Government is being forced to borrow (FOREIGN) money at up to 8.375 per cent interest, which of our banks are going to lend the hoteliers monies at a lesser rate of interest? Try and service that level of interest at an occupancy level of 50 per cent if you are lucky.

29. @Bushie

Have you listened to the PM’s press conference which was posted to the Hal Austin blog?

30. In all the analysis and the blame, blame game rhetoric being trotted out on these pages there hasn’t been any deep insight into the kind of tourist we hope to attract. All I read is the numbers keep falling and the Gov’t/Tourism Authorities isn’t doing anything about the situation. For years Barbados was proud to market itself as an “upmarket” destination, politicians were proud to acknowledge that Barbados was one of the few countries with regular service by the Concorde and we welcomed the deep pocket tourists to our shores.

The environment has changed and the Concorde is in mothballs and the Western world has experienced the worst economic upheaval since the 1930’s.However people are still travelling albeit in fewer numbers but one of the key elements in any vacation planning is “how much will this cost?” as most people are wary consumers who expect value for their buck and the sun and sea are the same whether you are in the Dominican Republic, Cuba , Jamaica or Barbados. Barbados has been slow to adopt one of the strategic components (all inclusive) that influence travel to the other destinations mentioned above as the politicians have been loathe to provide permission for the “all inclusive” type of accommodations that are now all the rage in the broader Caribbean because they fear the political and social backlash “the beach belong to me” that this will generate.. Last year my neighbours with two teenage daughters and a young adult son were hoping to go to Bim for their holiday and I introduced them to my Travel Agent who is very knowledgeable of the Island but they opted to go to Jamaica “all inclusive” as they said Barbados was too expensive. I know other people who opted to go to DR and Mexico, this is not to advise that Bim should cheapen its product but if we want to attract Tourists we have to cater to all types.

There may be other influences driving the decline of tourist numbers in recent years and I’ll leave that to the experts to provide their POV, but the Island can’t afford to rest on its laurels.

31. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

I am really trying not to forget David’s advice to avoid responding to personal attacks and comments, but I will try and dispel some of the myths people seem to think about owning/operating hotel, especially a small one.

It would be almost impossible to acquire land and build a hotel for less that BDS$250,000 a room today. So a 20 room 2/3 star property would cost at least BDS$5 million. If you had to borrow the money to buy that property at 8.375 per cent interest, that’s BDS$418,740 in interest alone each year. If you could achieve the average for hotels on Barbados of around 50 per cent occupancy annually, that an interest (alone) cost of BDS$114.72 (US$57) per occupied room night. This is before any operational costs, staff, maintenance, insurance, marketing etc., expense. For us, operational costs are roughly 50 per cent of gross revenue, but buildings, especially by the sea, constantly need attention. Then there are the unbudgeted costs, 50 increase in land taxes, 60 per cent increase in water, 72 per cent energy and while the VAT drops to 7.5 per cent from 1st October, it will take months, if not years to absorb the 16.6 per cent previous increase.

Now, if land and property prices are consistently rising, you can maybe see a return on your investment over the long term. That has not happened of course over at least the last five years and reflect the real stupidity of hiking land taxes during that period.

Then compound the situation by a cash starved national marketing agency
    unable to promote the island properly and you start to get a real feel of the current situation.
    It’s alright to say the hoteliers should do more and they are right, but you cannot change a business model overnight. Higher costs, lower rates and occupancy has created a working capital starved industry and this is going to take some time to change.

It is clear that the current administration does not have expertise or is willing to acquire it, to revive our tourism industry. How much longer, we as a country can go on rewarding people for failure is a mute point.
    Personally, I think we have already gone past that point.

32. @Bushie
    The damn plantation days are DONE….why the hell wunna think that the fellows used to burn the canes….?
    And you call yourself a man of the people heh heh heh….. that analogy is flawed, it is obvious that you didn’t know any cane cutters. They didn’t burn the canes because they wanted to destroy the Plantation it was simply economics, they received more money according to the tonnage and it was the same whether the canes were burnt or not. If canes were burnt they could cut more canes.

As a young lad I used to listen in on some cane cutters and they would discuss the next field they were going to cut, sure enough later I would hear the sounds of canes “popping”

33. @ Adrian
    “….It’s alright to say the hoteliers should do more and they are right, but you cannot change a business model overnight.”
    If we are unable to adjust our business model in response to market taste (overnight if necessary) then we will just go out of business….

Your constant refrain that ” the current administration does not have expertise or is willing to acquire it, to revive our tourism industry” is NOT helpful…. Those days are GONE….
    The REAL question is WHAT IS WRONG WITH THE BUSINESS MODEL AND WHAT CHANGES ARE NEEDED?

…as Bushie says, the fundamental problem is tied to national motivation and involvement – which is impacted by our current ownership models, and by perceptions about the disproportionality of benefits.

34. Bush Tea said:

“If we are unable to adjust our business model in response to market taste (overnight if necessary) then we will just go out of business….”

It’s kinda late in the game to be blaming the present, past or future governments for what has or will transpire going forward. If the hotel players cannot see a way forward, find another revenue stream and leave the taxpayers out of it, the taxpayers will find a way to survive, necessity is the mother of invention and will always be the mother of invention.

Diversifying is not just a word, it’s also an action, no use trying to continue using people for their labor just for self-enrichment, that period is over, move on, find another way to survive, everyone has now come to the realization worldwide that they have to tackle that beast called survival and without using others to realize their own personal goals, time to use the gift of brains.

35. five new comments, providing engaging thought and counters, diatribes absent, respectful of opinions, offering possible solutions.

This is what we need.

“Barbados is too expensive”

Loveridge ‘ comment gives an insight in the real cost of owning and running a hotel successfully and maybe, the merchants who sell their products 10 to 15 times as high as a visitor can get it elsewhere, can probably provide a similar picture of the “cost of doing business” that causes them to utilize such heinous prices

Why is it that the same merchants can set up shop in adjoining T&T and sell cement, milk, PineHill dairy juices cheaper on shop shelves in NY but charge such iniquitous prices locally?

Can someone tell this illiterate ole man, if a government acknowledges that manufacturers/service providers/hoteliers claim that it is all the taxes that they levy that makes Bajan produce “so expensive” why, for a limited time only, government could not decrease these taxes, on these inputs, having agreed on the prices that the merchants can levy and monitor that program by a price control regime to keep de merchants and hoteliers honest

what are the basic inputs which are currently so heavily taxed that make tourists cry out Barbados is so expensive?

I ent no cuntputer man but is it possible to put a software ting in place which monitors inputs/cost prices and sees if this public/private sector collaboration gine mek cuming to we cuntry less expensive?

I ent de brightest body pun dis blog, in fact I real ingrunt but I wonder if careful structure of a package of incentives cud result in it mekking more sense fuh a tourist tuh spend dem money and forex heah in BIM dan to buy an all inclusive and all de money lef outside Barbados

Jus asking the experts here and I beg forgiveness from the economists for this ole man monkey economics but I remember King James at Martindales Road becoming rather wealthy using volumes and throughput as opposed to getting rich quick.

36. The problem that we have lay in this philosophy of “getting rich”. There are more than adequate resources for all of us (and more) to thrive…but when everyone, and every identifiable group, is consumed with accumulating as much “things” as they possible can, WAY BEYOND any reasonable needs…. Then we must have stress on the system.

IT IS THE SYSTEM that we have planted that determines the kind of FRUIT that we will reap.

When the new plantation owners make their admittedly huge investments and expect their reasonable returns, what the hell do they think that the poor workers who are investing their WHOLE LIVES into these businesses will feel (and behave)… when it becomes clear how little they are valued….?

WHO EXACTLY determined that a $5 million dollar investment in a hotel is valued at more than a lifetime commitment as a maid in that same hotel? ….or as the Chef? Or a barman? ……it is our outdated SYSTEM.

Why is an investor (who is really “investing” money borrowed from some bank that largely belongs to the collective workers anyway…) more influential than the employees in the overall scheme of things?

The Cooperative model EASILY addresses these systemic weaknesses…while adding transparency, involvement, openness and opportunity…

As Pacha has been preaching, the era of the CAPITAL driven economies are done….a new model is needed ….

37. Bushie wrote “The problem that we have lay in this philosophy of “getting rich”. There are more than adequate resources for all of us (and more) to thrive…but when everyone, and every identifiable group, is consumed with accumulating as much “things” as they possible can, WAY BEYOND any reasonable needs…. Then we must have stress on the system.

IT IS THE SYSTEM that we have planted that determines the kind of FRUIT that we will reap.”

Well said Bushie.

We have been conditioned to acquire BIG. Big house,Big Car,Big bank accounts.
    Bajans were not taught to share but to try to become rich.

Now the country is in financial trouble and almost every Bajan will feel it.

Wunna betta do like Owen Arthur and work a kitchen garden. Wunna can say wunna doing it because fresh fruit and vegetables are better for your health.

38. We have now entered the era of consciousness…

39. WE OFFER LOANS @2% INTEREST RATE FOR BUSINESS AND PRIVATE
    PURPOSES.APPLY NOW WITH:
    EMAIL US VIA; jamewalter55@hotmail.com
    Name:
    Amount needed:
    Duration:
    Purpose:
    Mobile number

40. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ jame walter | September 25, 2013 at 7:53 AM |

How come you are not requesting banking details? Or would such “important” information be asked for after initial contact?
    Listen up you Nigerian scammer, Bajans may be known to be gullible fools especially when it comes to the god business but all are not female rabbits or to use Rihanna coinage “cu**ts”.
    Your moniker and e-mail address make you look like a real pious fraud. Now be gone, (aka piss off) Nigerian fraud. Some of us know your kind very well.

41. This is a spammer Miller, ignore.

42. DD sees the same ad that has been running for some time in the Advocate for the Rihanna Concert on 11/01/2013.

That suggests to me that her overseas fans are not scooping up the tickets and flocking to the island to attend the concert.

And why would they, when there are at least six dates in southern USA venues in November.

It is a nice gesture by Rihanna’s managers to agree to stage a show for her home town fans; but if the concert is going to be a sell-out, it will have to be up to the ordinary Bajan consumer to scrape together the money for the concert tickets, the hairdo, the nails, the new dress and shoes etc. to attend the ultimate fete.

Those are the same people having trouble scraping together the money to pay for 20% of the cost to attend UWI, to pay the rent, and to put food on the table.

DD wonders how much BTA chipped in to have the tour stop off in Barbados, and to promote it overseas. And what ROI those taxpayer dollars will generate

43. DD,

when was the last time you saw the BTA publish the ROI on any of their activities? I asked at least four times ( Board Meeting minutes) about the ROI on the Best of Barbados promotion when I briefly sat on the board. Never got an answer.

44. For latest information you have to go to see world-wide-web and on internet I found this web site as a finest site for hottest updates.

Leave a Reply to acCancel reply