Adrian Loveridge - Owner of Peach & Quiet Hotel
Adrian Loveridge – Owner of Peach & Quiet Hotel

There is sometimes so much misinformation disseminated in the media about tourism, it becomes even more important that the facts prevail. Itโ€™s official. Our neighbour, St. Lucia, overtook us for the first four months of this year, in terms of United States long stay visitor arrivals. Despite having a much smaller room stock, St. Lucia welcomed 43,335 American visitors between January and the end of April, an increase of 6.6 per cent, when compared with the same period in 2012. Barbados recorded 42,516 for the identical four months, a decline of 11.9 per cent.

The trend continues with the addition of a new weekly flight nonstop United Airlines service from Newark, adding another 3,000 plus seats during the second half of 2013. So there is little doubt that St. Lucia will still be ahead in this market, by year end. Newark Liberty Airport, offers for many, a more convenient access than JFK or La Guardia in the TriState area, one of the most populous urban agglomerations in the world. It is also Unitedโ€™s third largest hub after Houston and Chicago with the St. Lucia flight connecting with 22 US cities plus a number in Canada, increasing travel options and reducing overall journey times.

Americans have generally less paid holidays than Europeans, so it becomes even more critical to be able to reach the ultimate destination in the shortest time, if โ€˜weโ€™ are serious about competing in this market. And this perhaps, partially explains why we have seen such a dramatic fall in US arrivals, having lost direct flights from Philadelphia, San Juan, Dallas/Fort Worth and Atlanta. If the journey takes too long, involves an overnight stay in one or both directions or has a protracted connection time in Miami or New York, savvy travellers switch to a more accessible vacation choice.

Another way that St. Lucia can substantially benefit is by tapping into the 52 million members of the second largest airline loyalty programme in the world, United MileagePlus. Every day United redeems 17,000 reward trips. For many years, I have been trying to persuade the policymakers to include a box on a revised landing card, to indicate if our guests used miles to reach us. To the best of my knowledge, no researched data is available to accurately gauge what percentage of our overall arrivals redeem their loyalty points on vacation travel. But from our own empirical evidence, we calculate it could be as high as 10 to 15 per cent.

The compelling reason for using miles, is that they break down the geographical cost differential, because the same number of miles are required, irrespective of the originating gateway within the Continental United States and Canada.

As a simple example. The lowest cost return flights from Chicago to St. Lucia booked online in August is US$886. MileagePlus members would apply 35,000 miles with US$85.40 payable in additional taxes.

From my own personal experience, I use miles to travel at least twice a year using points earned through my credit card with American AAdvantage. This, despite not having purchased a full price ticket with the airline for many years. By selectively using this method of bill settlement, this month I will have amassed one million miles since signing up for the loyalty programme.

317 responses to “St. Lucia Surges Past Barbados in the US Market”

1. @ ac and Karma
    “……what David cannot or does not seem to realize that Adrien couldnโ€™t give too hoots about Barbados economic woes at this present stage ….”

“One understands Adrian Loveridge is desperate and determined to damage Barbados at all costs ….”

Guess Adrian does not give “too” hoots about the fact that he has a hotel investment and the value of that investment is reduced every time Barbados economic woes get worse. Adrian just loves to shoot himself in the foot.

ac and Karma, maybe you can give us some comment on Davidโ€™s post about Barbados Sea Island Cotton- Kyto Biopharma Inc.
    http://bajan.wordpress.com/2013/07/26/barbados-sea-island-cotton-kyto-biopharma-inc/comment-page-1/#comment-945043

I thought you DLP supporters would have been trumpeting this great agricultural investment and singing itโ€™ praises. Isn’t this a positive story for the DLP that David has highlighted?

What happened? Cat got your tongues? Or is that all you are good for is ad hominem attacks?

2. David if St. Lucia is 30 years behind Barbados then I consider them very lucky. That video has confirmed where my next tropical jaunt will be. SMH Lawd Bim got a lot of catching up to do, a lot of house cleaning to do and a lot of greening to do. Lawd dat food mekking me hungry.

3. DAVID
    It has been that as a market they have grown their numbers at a rate faster than Barbados (in the same hard market)

i frequented St Lucia in the 70’s while was a student at cave Hill. Even then they were developing at a rapid pace. When I would go every three months or so at the end of term, it was clear that some improvements were being done to the infrastructure. Compton and the UWP had a dream, just as our leaders had a dream when they opened up the country with the ABC highway.

On my first visit it took half a day to drive to Vieux Fort from Castries in some old trucks that were much like our old wooden buses. The bus/truck went into every village and people would put thier produce on top the truck.

The highway from Castries to Gros Islet, was non existent. Generally the road between these points were winding and long, much like our old highway 2 A from Warrens to Mile and a quarter.

Within a year the highways to Vieux Fort and Gros Islet,

i did not visit St Lucia between 1979 and 2011, when I arrived to teach med school there. I was shocked and amazed at the improvement in housing stock, and buisness, and the orderliness in the mini van buisness too!

Morons can curse me for reporting here what I saw. I am not promoting St Lucia, necessarily, but I am merely reporting my experiences there in 2011 and 2012.

I will say again also that I am not, nor have never been a member or supporter or yard fowl for any political party in Barbados.

It is sad to see EWB’S dream re education so degraded, when one reads the garbage, illogic and inability to reason by some of the political pimps and morons who post on BU daily.

4. RE islandgal246 | August 1, 2013 at 10:48 AM |
    David if St. Lucia is 30 years behind Barbados then I consider them very lucky. That video has confirmed where my next tropical jaunt will be. SMH Lawd Bim got a lot of catching up to do, a lot of house cleaning to do and a lot of greening to do. Lawd dat food mekking me hungry.

Yes islandgal246. The food at Almond Morgan Beach at the Palms restaurant was great!

I found the produce market in Castries to be very clean, with no harassment from the vendors

St Lucia has caught up in many ways
    Can you imagine that the proposals I put here on BU about polyclinics have been implemented? I was able to get X rays done in no time.
    I WAS IMPRESSED

5. @GP

You are correct and it only serves to inspire some of us to expose the ignorance. People can only give opinions based on their experience and education. Then there are those who stay true to an agenda. One has to be able to filter the nuggets of info from the silt…lol.

6. The statement by the MoT of Barbados is an ignorant one to make because all the islands have a character and mystique of its own. Hands up who anyone who has visited the Grenadines or Dominica.

7. Steupssss

This needs a parable.

Once there were two sisters in a family call the Caribbean clan. One sister was blessed with a flat limestone body, while the other was different… more mountainous and natural.

Sister number one was a hit from her teenage days….attracting the attentions of the rich and famous who courted her (and of course who exercised other options as was their wont)
    …talk bout sweet life….
    What work what?!
    What productivity what?
    …nuff bling, music, wuk up and EASY LOANS….

By the time sister number 1 reached her 40th birthday, all the world’s rich and famous already had their way with her… ‘Knew’ her inside out…
    Very few remained loyal ….perhaps those who had a special investment in her peach and quiet …ah mean “peace and quiet…” And a few die hards …

meanwhile, sister number 2 largely retained her virginity and natural assets…. She kept well, ..clean environment, unspoiled people, retained her mystique……

At age 40, …now that sister number 2 has come of age , who the hell would we expect to be “growing faster” (I.e. attracting more rich and wealthy to …errrrrr…court her?

Wuh um is only obvious…..nobody runs after an old ho when there are new options available…

The whole tourism thing is an exercise in selling one’s body to the highest bidder.
    TRUE TOURISM would never require the kind of bribes and incentives that we are forced to offer as incentives for our clients.

TRUE TOURISM would involve us having such a clean, well organized, innovative and well managed homeland FOR OURSELVES, that others would flock here to be awed by our creativity, hard work and creative ventures….but THAT would take true PRIDE….

…but then again..one would need to be wise to spot the difference…..

8. It seems like the thread has deteorated where venom and name calling is the menu ofthe day……THANKS ADRIAN……….

9. Bushie sweetheart… I am a sister no 2 too you must speaking about me LOL.

Seriously your post remind me of that song ..I’ve been to paradise [youtube http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SZgIk2b68gQ?feature=player_detailpage&w=640&h=360%5D

10. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Carson C. Cadogan | August 1, 2013 at 8:17 AM |
    โ€œMiller: Happy emancipation day! Although I know that will upset you.โ€

Thanks black Bro! This Uncle Tom is still upset to see many of the brothers (you especially) and sisters are still in mental slavery.
    So when are you going to be bold enough and demand from the โ€œAdrian Loveridgesโ€ of this world your great grand-mothers and fathersโ€™ back-pay?
    You think you could muster enough courage or have enough guts to look the white British in the face and demand your pound of black flesh, blood, sweat and tears aka โ€œReparationsโ€?

But before you answer that one like the other 64 million dollar question do your country a favour and instead of denigrating St. Lucia and attacking BU bloggers do a manageable housekeeping task and ask the Authorities (since you are an inside man) to clean the streets of the muck and waste gathered in the gutters and piled on the pavements that the Kadooment bands will be parading through come Monday.

Come on, Black man Carson the truly emancipated golliwog, instead of you calling me Uncle Tommy the Oreo show your true yellow pride and disappearing industry and present a good clean image of the country to the visitors you seem to find disgusting and who should really return from whence the came especially the white ones including the Oreos and Coconuts.

Of course, given your standards of cleanliness, you would find nothing dirty about the place once called sweet Barbados the garden of godโ€™s green and pleasant land in the tropics. Yes, CCC say that Barbados is a million times greener and cleaner than dirty disorderly congested and noisy St. Lucia, yes indeed!

11. @ Islandgal
    Bushie sweetheartโ€ฆ I am a sister no 2 too you must speaking about me LOL.
    It said sis 2 remained pure until coming of age at forty (40)….
    ….not Fourteen (14)

LOL Ha Ha HAR HAR ๐Ÿ™‚

12. Bushie yuh ole dawg LOLL

13. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Miller

You get your SUPPER from ADRIAN as yet?

14. @Carson C. Cadogan

since ac and Karma seemed to be frighten for this maybe you will be the only one with some balls and can give us some comment on Davidโ€™s post about Barbados Sea Island Cotton- Kyto Biopharma Inc.
    http://bajan.wordpress.com/2013/07/26/barbados-sea-island-cotton-kyto-biopharma-inc/comment-page-1/#comment-945043

I thought you would have been trumpeting this great agricultural investment and singing itโ€™ praises. Isnโ€™t this a positive story for the DLP that David has highlighted?

15. ac, carson, and bad karma…………..the three of you are intent on portraying to the world that the brains bajans were gifted with, half those brain cells are dead……….the island has problems and need cleaning up so as to move forward, the three of you are hellbent on keeping all the lies, corruption, greed etc, etc, a secret until the end of your miserable yardfowl lives, that is not helping the island that is aiding and abetting the deterioration and degradation of Barbados for the world to see, your intellect obviously will never rise beyond the level of yardfowlism, you are not part of the solution, you however continue to be part of the problem. Most of us can see past your idiocy and will aid in the cleansing that is needed, you three need to cleanse yourselves from all that bad karma you continue to project just so you can continue to sit at the DLP table, you are certainly an embarrassment. If St. Lucia can continue to pull off their forward surge, it also bodes well for Barbados, but i don’t expect you three dumb asses to understand that concept, it’s way above your pay grade level as feed pecking yardfowls.

16. By the way………………..i am not here to keep yall nasty secrets ya hear, that is yall yardfowl’s jobs, covering up crimes against the taxpayers is a crime in and of itself and yall have to live with that………..i have already made peace with myself and the powers that control this universe, i will not keep secrets for politicians nor political parties, only the very scum of the earth engage in that type of practice until the politicians have no more use for your yardfowl abilities.

17. but seriously though how can any one in their right mind accuse ac of say ing anything negatively about Barbados anywhere on this blog .far from it I have portrayed my beloved 166sq,miles in a positive light, fighting tooth and nail with hammer in hand to knock down the onslaught of negativity after the launching of adrians article unleashed the most asinine halftruths and misinformation about tourist arrivals in Barbados, never once unlike so many of all that have commented did ac say anything that would cause shame or disrupt the financial stability of this island,,, most of you in your hurry to protect and defend this damming poison pen article authored and submitted her on BU and other Carribbean websites by Adrian have aided the enemy from with in.Some maybe intentional others out of pure ignorance,,,,,

18. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Nostradamus

“Isnโ€™t this a positive story for the DLP that David has highlighted?”

If DAVID highlighted anything positive about the Democratic Labour Party, it would have to be a mistake on his part. A slip of the pen!

Nothing to see here people, move along.

19. Georgie Georgie

I got the answer for you .. I had to come here to give you this answer. HA HA

I do NOT know what it is that controls INSTINCTIVE behavior, what it is that tells a baby to cry as it first encounters a gaseous atmosphere, or to attach to a nipple, or to make the effort to learn how to walk after seven months, or to learn a language after two years, or to be attracted to the assets of the opposite sex after eleven years, but whatever it is it has to be that which also determines whether a Human Being is comfortable with a Homosexual lifestyle.

Do genes influence behavior, instinctive responses, maybe so but something else does as well.and that something else is what should be explored.

HA … Tek dah

20. @Baffy

It took you some time to come up with this response. You had to discuss with an ANALyst. Sorry, couldn’t resist.

21. Georgie Porgie Avatar

BAFFY
    DAVID LEFT YOU HALF WAY DOWN THE WICKET WID THAT BALL

22. If people could stop living for politics, politicians and political parties for just 1 week, they would see life with high definition clarity and gain a much better perspective.

23. No NO … Not true …! I just slow that is all … SLOW. Epiphanies are not a common occurrence in these parts of the woods … But wah you say …? HA

24. You see how slow I is … ANALyst … HA HA HA!

25. St;lucia
    Tourism officials have been reporting the industryโ€™s ups and downs. Visitor expenditure is up by two percent, and stay over arrivals have also increased. But at a news conference this morning, the Saint Lucia Tourist Board reported a decline in cruise arrivals. :

26. to all BLP yardfowls and cheerleaders of Adrian.. I am in no way opposed to any article critical of Barbados or this govt. However there is a responsibility that goes along with the author when he or she sits down to give information on issues and the way these articles would impact the financial stability of a country. Adrians article has lack such responsibility in his haste more to be critical than in his haste to present an article which when read by others outside those who are living in barbados or who might have an interest of investing in Barbados would most likely sway them in another direction. Hence what Adrian might have set out to do in his presentation giving his rebuttal might have done critical and undue harm to the hotel industry. First Responsibility must be the order of the Day when serious issues are put on the table especially those that should provide the underlying fundamentals and provide assests for our country foreign reserves.

27. AC you still on this bandwagon? Is this a confession then? Why don’t you write article and post it ? What shoite are you talking this early morn?

28. jest axing AC

29. ac………..go read this mornings nation online, i posted an article on it on BU, then go read barbadostoday.bb and see where all the problems lay that will cause the hurricane force winds to take down Barbados’ tourism, on this one it really is not Adrian cause you know i go after him hammer and tongs when i see him leaning too much to the left. You really need some peace of mind.

30. @ Carson C. Cadogan | August 1, 2013 at 5:55 PM |
    โ€œNothing to see here people, move along.โ€

Itโ€™s not that there is nothing to see here: http://bajan.wordpress.com/2013/07/26/barbados-sea-island-cotton-kyto-biopharma-inc/comment-page-1/#comment-945043

Itโ€™s just that you and people of your ilk donโ€™t want us to look!

I am asking you ac, and Karma once again if Jonathan Bryant is all set up in his accommodation on the 650 acre plantation? Did he get the May 2013 funding? Is he ready to start planting in August? http://investorshub.advfn.com/boards/read_msg.aspx?message_id=87416589
    Did he pack his sunblock because he looks a bit light skinned to me in the images on the web?

http://www.google.com/search?q=jonathan+e+bryant+images&tbm=isch&tbo=u&source=univ&sa=X&ei=hq_7Ua_bGoGC9gTg04CwCQ&ved=0CCkQsAQ&biw=1366&bih=620#tbm=isch&sa=1&q=jonathan+bryant+images+nation+news+barbados&oq=jonathan+bryant+images+nation+news+barbados&gs_l=img.3…20465.20592.4.21957.2.2.0.0.0.0.496.834.3-1j1.2.0….0…1c.1.23.img..2.0.0.LLs3vv9bvz0&bav=on.2,or.r_qf.&bvm=bv.50165853,d.eWU&fp=262017bd4ade0739&biw=1366&bih=620&facrc=_&imgdii=_&imgrc=0l0IyA6rXWCIXM%3A%3BjCsaX72LhMeuOM%3Bhttp%253A%252F%252Fwww.nationnews.com%252Fimages%252Fcached%252Finc%252Fuploads%252Farticles%252FSherlock_26-450×350.jpg%3Bhttp%253A%252F%252Fwww.nationnews.com%252Farticles%252Fview%252Fbfa-salutes-pro-shottas%252F%3B450%3B350

31. Link to images above didn’t work so let’s try this.
    http://images.google.com/search?site=&tbm=isch&source=hp&biw=1366&bih=620&q=joinathan+bryant+barbados&oq=joinathan+bryant+barbados&gs_l=img.3…2856.9627.0.10021.25.11.0.14.0.0.213.1533.4j5j2.11.0….0…1ac.1.23.img..19.6.743.4o2qhhu0iNU

32. @ Bush Tea,

I like that parable.

@ All

On the anatomy of inept politicians.

I give you Commander in Chief, Richard Sealy

Here is a quote from Uncle Richard Lookup

‘โ€œIF WE GET IT RIGHT (my capitalization not his) and WE ARE ABLE (my caps) to develop a true aviation industry in Barbados with a private aircraft registry, with a training school, with airlines based here flying into the US, with cargo being transhipped, passengers being hubbed through here, we COULD SEE (my caps) aviation earning serious foreign exchange for Barbados; not just supporting the other foreign exchange earning sectors, like the tourism sector and international transport,โ€ he stated. (EJ)

I ask you to focus on the speech this Clown always employs as he stares into the nether realms of spirituality, while leading many of our physical tourism marketing initiatives and you get an idea of who we are trusting our mainstay tourism to?

A man who constantly speaks in the Future Subjunctive mixed, with fanciful, incredible hyperbole is not a man to entrust one of the main economic mainstays of our economic well being to.

This clown was making this statement in support of the $900M cabinet is to approve for a LONG TERM plan for the expansion of our National airport.

Imagine this qualifier “if we get it right….”

He can’t even get the short term marketing plan right and is now looking at a 15 year plan.

$600M in a port facility that will be completed when? $900M in an airport that will be completed when?

Never in the history of the world has it happened that a government is replete with men of blinkered vision who have, en masse, reverted to 40 year old development plans, resuscitated them and patterned them in new robes, and, in our time of greatest need, presented these plans as the way forward for our economy.

And the dumb sheep like Cocky Locky Cadogan and AC/DC chant in eternal chorus for these men of vision.

33. @ PUDRYR
    Thanks – about the parable. Don’t mention it to GP though…, he and Bushie have a longstanding “issue” about parables ๐Ÿ™‚

…and while you are at it PUDRYR, see if you can explain to David(BU) that OUR GOOSE IS COOKED.
    He also have difficulties with Bushie’s parables and after five years of trying, the bushman has FAILED to show him that our asses are indeed in the grass …..just awaiting a good mowing.

Your brilliant linguistics and immaculate semantics (of the same order of Miller’s – except that you talk sense ๐Ÿ™‚ ) are probably what is needed to get David to understand our clear plight.
    Once we come to that understanding, PERHAPS we will be able to move BU into the CRITICAL phase of preparing Bajans for the coming storm…..or in our case, the mowing…

34. @ PUDRYR
    They may lack vision in Tourism but you must have seen that they are making up for it with cotton. According to the press release from the “investors”, since May 2013, funds have been or were being raised, a 650 acre plantation is being prepared this month (August) for planting and an Englishman has or will be taking up residence at said plantation. Incidentally the release says the 650 acre lease will be at a peppercorn rate!

I have been asking CCC, ac, Karma etc repeatedly to get us an update but so far not a squeak out of them.

35. ac exhausted herself with negative energy and is probably fast asleep, when Carson sets something evil in motion to distract the bloggers and it does not work out he makes himself scarce, all you have to do is look behind any DLP politician and you will see Carson firmly attached until the next time he believes within himself that lies will distract and deter. Bad karma is weak against good karma, it fizzles out, exhausts itself and dies, just like negative energy.

36. Georgie Porgie Avatar

37. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Bush Tea | August 2, 2013 at 1:47 PM |
    “Your brilliant linguistics and immaculate semantics (of the same order of Millerโ€™s โ€“ except that you talk sense are probably what is needed to get David to understand our clear plight.”

Come on Bushie, you just can’t be so hard a marker just because a student disagrees with his teacher on certain important matters and expresses opposing philosophical views.
    You should ‘give jack his jacket’ (sometimes). Not even your nemesis OSA would be so harsh in marking a political script from a dissenter in his Cabinet.

The miller would settle for “Except PODRYR talks ‘MORE’ Sense”, emphasis on โ€˜Moreโ€™.

BTW, Bushie you really can’t fault PODRY(R) assessment of Richard โ€˜the raving lunatic’ Sealy. He should have been a bit more comprehensive and include the building of a new hospital to cost an additional $900 million to boot.
    Bushie are you sure this man Sealy is not genetically related? And we donโ€™t mean to the miller. LOL!!

38. Wait the BLP yardfowls still hear I heard Adrian had book a one way flight out of Barbados fuh wunna , first class accomadations included . in ST lucia Gee whiz all this euphoria and no takers , you got to be kidding to past up such a good deal. even GP post a Video so wunna could see how well wunna would be treated , what taking wunna so long to depart, after the past couple days yuh would think that the arrivals to ST lucia out of Barbados would be non stop,

39. GP why yuh had to post that video? Yuh mekking me want to throw everything up in the air and GO.

40. Bushie yuh coming wid me? Bring AC along but duct tape she mout!

41. ac……….i believe everyone is going to stay close to Bim, the IMF is still there doing their research, then they will let the taxpayers know what to expect, they are actually doing the DLPs job for them, if not for the IMF the taxpayers would know nothing.

42. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Friends I have no qualms about telling folk hither, thither and yon about our contiguous……….and contagious islands. especially St Lucia

43. GP…………the video is fantastic, brought back many pleasant memories of St. Lucia, another lovely Caribbean island to enjoy.

44. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Georgie Porgie | August 2, 2013 at 7:09 PM |

Be careful with your postings. If you continue in this mode you will certainly incur the wrath of Carson Cadogan and be called “Uncle Tommy Porgie” the Oreo for a Coconut.

We need to swallow our darn โ€˜we better than themโ€™ arrogant pride and move in the direction of eco-tourism making better use (conservation wise) of our most valuable natural resource the beaches and sea.

45. well I guess by the response the yardfowls only going by way of video, as for GP he not going to leave the cozy comfort of fla. I don’t think rhe social security in Fla would add up to getting nothing from STlucia. all wunna just a bunch of hypocrites. ANY takers I didn’t think So, LOL!

46. Miller…………don’t know if you have ever ventured into St. Lucia but it’s absolutely beautiful and quite the experience.

Carson might not want to attack anyone for a few days, the credit agencies and IMF posted information to the press, he might not want to answer any questions, his political masters probably told him to lay low, it takes time to invent new lies.

47. Well Well. | August 2, 2013 at 7:25 PM |
    , it takes time to invent new lies.
    //////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////
    spoken like a true professional……

48. AC I can see that you don’t travel to the other islands AT ALL. What a pity! It will do you some good like widening your horizon, seeing how others do things and give you ideas to come back home and replicate.

49. ac…………………i sympathize with you these days, i am a regular softy, take that advice given to you and take a trip down the islands, it will do you a world of good, charge the batteries, total rejuvenation. Before you go, check out the first 2 threads on BU.