Adrian Loveridge - Owner of Peach & Quiet Hotel
Adrian Loveridge – Owner of Peach & Quiet Hotel

There is sometimes so much misinformation disseminated in the media about tourism, it becomes even more important that the facts prevail. Itโ€™s official. Our neighbour, St. Lucia, overtook us for the first four months of this year, in terms of United States long stay visitor arrivals. Despite having a much smaller room stock, St. Lucia welcomed 43,335 American visitors between January and the end of April, an increase of 6.6 per cent, when compared with the same period in 2012. Barbados recorded 42,516 for the identical four months, a decline of 11.9 per cent.

The trend continues with the addition of a new weekly flight nonstop United Airlines service from Newark, adding another 3,000 plus seats during the second half of 2013. So there is little doubt that St. Lucia will still be ahead in this market, by year end. Newark Liberty Airport, offers for many, a more convenient access than JFK or La Guardia in the TriState area, one of the most populous urban agglomerations in the world. It is also Unitedโ€™s third largest hub after Houston and Chicago with the St. Lucia flight connecting with 22 US cities plus a number in Canada, increasing travel options and reducing overall journey times.

Americans have generally less paid holidays than Europeans, so it becomes even more critical to be able to reach the ultimate destination in the shortest time, if โ€˜weโ€™ are serious about competing in this market. And this perhaps, partially explains why we have seen such a dramatic fall in US arrivals, having lost direct flights from Philadelphia, San Juan, Dallas/Fort Worth and Atlanta. If the journey takes too long, involves an overnight stay in one or both directions or has a protracted connection time in Miami or New York, savvy travellers switch to a more accessible vacation choice.

Another way that St. Lucia can substantially benefit is by tapping into the 52 million members of the second largest airline loyalty programme in the world, United MileagePlus. Every day United redeems 17,000 reward trips. For many years, I have been trying to persuade the policymakers to include a box on a revised landing card, to indicate if our guests used miles to reach us. To the best of my knowledge, no researched data is available to accurately gauge what percentage of our overall arrivals redeem their loyalty points on vacation travel. But from our own empirical evidence, we calculate it could be as high as 10 to 15 per cent.

The compelling reason for using miles, is that they break down the geographical cost differential, because the same number of miles are required, irrespective of the originating gateway within the Continental United States and Canada.

As a simple example. The lowest cost return flights from Chicago to St. Lucia booked online in August is US$886. MileagePlus members would apply 35,000 miles with US$85.40 payable in additional taxes.

From my own personal experience, I use miles to travel at least twice a year using points earned through my credit card with American AAdvantage. This, despite not having purchased a full price ticket with the airline for many years. By selectively using this method of bill settlement, this month I will have amassed one million miles since signing up for the loyalty programme.

317 responses to “St. Lucia Surges Past Barbados in the US Market”

1. Somebody needs to resign ad it is looking like Richard Sealy.

2. The best way to sell a country is by treating the visitors you have well. Quite recently I was on a flight and was speaking to a very frustrated tourist who was leaving Barbados after a shortened holiday because of the awful treatment. She was even abused by a vendor in St. Lawrence Gap and she was so afraid, she was forced to take a taxi back to her Hotel. We can’t
    afford to mistreat people and expect them to speak well about our country.
    afford.The best promotion is ALWAYS by word of mouth

3. @june boy

I think that what you described is a significant problem with our tourism product. We tell the tourists we ain’t like Jamaica; we don’t need all inclusive resorts where you are isolated from the local community in order to keep you safe. Come to Barbados and you can leave your hotel or resort and stroll the streets chatting with and having friendly encounters with the locals. Then when the tourists do that, especially in the St. Lawrence Gap area, they find out that contrary to the impressions left by the tourist brochures, not all the locals are really that friendly after all.

In addition to the locals who exhibit outright hostility as the female on your flight described. There’s another type of hostility tourists encounter in the Gap. That hostility is expressed by some of the locals hanging out in the area in the form of loud comments of a sexual nature about any attractive females that pass by within ear shot whether or not she is accompanied by a male companion. (Basing this on the report of a female relative who stayed in the Gap on holiday 2 years ago.).

4. @Adrian

“That hostility is expressed by SOME OF THE LOCALS hanging out in the area in the form of loud comments of a sexual nature about any attractive females that pass by within ear shot whether or not she is accompanied by a male companion.”

The fact is that we have lost the courtesy, manners and civility that once characterized the Bajan experience and which St Lucia still has.

I wonder how many of you have been to STL. Certainly not the Minister of Tourism and his band of Merry Men. They cannot understand the attraction of the island and its people to the US Tourist. STL is what Barbados was in the 70’s to 80’s, pristine, warm and friendly.

The people are not travelling there for the beaches, they are travelling to encounter the people

NISE and Percy the Pig are a collosal waste of time, manners have gone through the window and the Reign of the Pig, like an eternal Year in the Chinese Calendar is with us forever and a day.

It is not just St Lawrence gap, nor some of the locals, nor is it directed to visitors alone, nor is it just sexual comments, it is a pervasive behaviour that has been allowed to creep into our society across all its sectors.

Because it suits a few of us, the comments that Bruggadown Johnson have been set in some type of Bajan White talking to indolent black workers but the fact is our people, are a nation of sluggards who wuk up pun a night and are still in the cavorting mode when they come in our respective offices pun a day.

And while we can say it is a generation that is lost, it is creeping inexorably to another generation, the children at our primary schools, as is evidenced by a 6 year old wukking up on a full woman and being goaded on by “adults”, a video which was publicized on the facebook thingy.

Which brings me back to the point i made in that blog “By Protecting the Vulnerable Have We Dumb Down the Human Species in the Process?” Neutering some of the species has its place particularly when their offspring are enemies of the state.

When some of you get older and are unable to physically contend with these sales persons, bank tellers and government workers as they threaten you while you are asking for service, then it will hit home to you that you have sown the wind and must perforce reap the whirlwind.

What i have written is lost on the peurile understanding of that idiot and seer of spirits, a la obeah woman, Richard Sealy.

Inasmuch as Barney Lynch was an arrogant ass at least he understood marketing, but one cannot forget his comments about Obadele, his behaviour on national radio and of course the DT is in hell affirmation.

ON either side of this divide we are picking jackasses and then stand in absolute amazement while they fxck up the economy.

All is vanity and vexation of the spirit ……

5. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS

St. Lucia Surges Pass Barbados in the US Market@

GREAT, this need to happen for the BLP/DLP to wake up. Until the money that feed fraud stops, they will never to look to think to do work , All they do is look for the next fraud deal.
    crime is up , fraud is up in Barbados,
    DPP and Police need to charge the crooks

6. gimme some of dat, ….., it seems like there are two Barbados the educated polite welcoming people concerned for the survival of the island, and the numbskulls. Here are a few tips
    !) not every white women has sex with an unemployed beach bum on their bucket list
    2) garbage containers are meant to be used if you miss the first time try again
    3) walls aren’t urinals and yes urine does smell
    4) yah saw me tell the other five guys as I walk down the street ..no I don’t need a taxi…clue in
    5) tourist is not another word for sucker…

7. And the Opposition has been very quiet of late. Are they waiting for Budget Day as well to let lose?

8. Last night this writer has cause to rarely be in agreement with CCC. He had cited an article about the pervasive levels of poverty in the USA and the evisceration of the middle class.

Now if we agreed with CCC last night we cannot agree with you today for that would be, like Sinckler yesterday, pretending that a world of a bygone era still exists in economy.

We appreciate all the difficulties the various forces face but this dead horse tourism is unlikely to win many more races.

9. @Lawson & PUDRYR. EXACTLY. It is the basics that Bajans have lost. St Lucians I have encountered not only welcome tourists they engage them in a positive manner. The mock arrogance that has come to characterize Bajans both “educated” and those who use Lawson’s 1 through 5 list as a training manual has left a negative impact on visitors. A negative impact that is posted online DAILY! Add in the the always convenient racial blame game for all of Barbados’ current ills, the corrupt legal system neglecting to prosecute stabbers, robbers, rapers, and murderers, and literally some of the highest prices of any world destination and it is a recipe for failure. It is no coincidence that Barbados is being bypassed by the world’s airlines in favour of destinations less than 100 miles from Barbados. These clueless stewards of the public purse who insist on throwing good money after bad toward 4 Seasons/Almond are missing the easy cure for what ails the country. Barbados is on life support.

10. Not so fast Adrian Loveridge you fake hotelier who cant run a fifteen room mom pop B&B but in Bruggadung fashion quick to lie on and disrespect Barbados and its workers.

Would not surprise if you receive payola from saint Lucia or as rumour has it like rum bibber Bruggadung ready to move there so you don’t have to worry about Sir Roy and strong workers unions. Not to mention freedom to pay workers starvation wages.

Exposing Adrian Loveridge LIES!

CTO stats 2013
    Arrivals
    Jan to June (Barbados) 265,000
    Jan to May (St. L) 142,000

From USA
    Jan to Jun ( Bdos) 64,000
    Jan to May(St.L) 54,000 ( Jazz festival in May)

From Europe/UK
    Jan to Jun (Bdos) 110,000
    Jan to May( St.L) 41,000

More to come to expose Loveridge the fraud.

11. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

ADRIAN LOVERIDGE

Explain to us how St. Lucia is “doing so well” yet its economy is in the doldrums and getting worse by the month.

Are All of these tourists are visiting St. Lucia, according to you, but paying for their stays outside of St. Lucia with little or no funds actually reaching St. Lucia?

You are confusing thinking people!

“Commentary: Saint Luciaโ€™s pitfall to stagflation”

By Melanius Alphonse

With the ever increasing deficit, money supply squeeze and runaway inflation, the Saint Lucian economy continues to recoil at a very rapid rate.

Despite such, the Kenny Anthony administration continue to advance partisan base policies that are designed to benefit party supporters, while inflating the national debt.

To many, what is currently taking place, is a stark reminder of what happens in a โ€œwinner takes it all systemโ€, where the government of the day becomes preoccupied in creating jobs for its inner circle, while putting on the pretence of working in the interest of the nation.

In fact, no matter how cleverly the Kenny Anthony administration pretends to work in the best interest of the country, and the viewpoint that it is โ€œunpatrioticโ€ to be critical of his administration โ€œeffortsโ€ to create welfare jobs, there is a line of truth that no one can ever debunk.

No government of Saint Lucia has ever awarded a job to anyone if it wasnโ€™t first measured in political dimensions. In order words, your experience or ability to perform on behalf of the nation isnโ€™t worth much, unless it is tested in terms of partisan loyalty. Meanwhile the economy is in freefall, the government canโ€™t pay its bills and crime is on the rise.

It is this sort of mindless governance that turns a blind eye to quality and substance, and embraces instead an outdated system that makes partisan loyalty a prerequisite to contribute to risky economic policies that kills businesses, jobs, and investments.

The alarming number of families that are having difficulties in meeting the cost of basic necessities is just the tip of the iceberg, not even having to factor the cost of paying WASCO and Lucelec utility bills. But this administration does not seem to understand the effects that partisan base policies are having on economy performance.

This approach has already contributed to a higher unemployment index that is compounding the inflationary rate of 4.2%, while the economy continues to contract at 0.8%. The irony in all of this seems to be no serious attempt at correcting the situation.

The over-reliance on the tourism industry is at dangerous levels. In fact, not only has the Kenny Anthony administration misled the nation with the notion that his current policies are intended to advance eco-tourism, sports, medical and the creative industries, rather it is indeed a very shallow approach, which will not yield much for the nation in the absence of a national eco-system plan, supported by meaningful legislation, with the ability to withstand the competition from similar markets.

Meanwhile, development issues, the promotion of industry and product development are short-changed due to policy uncertainty and the authoritiesโ€™ inability to increase revenue without hurting the poor. This proficiency is not only lacking, but is also compounded by the size, and cost of a welfare administration that continue to increase the national debt.

Perhaps the time has come for an in-depth plan to outsource non-core government services, and to seriously consider the intercession for P3โ€™s (public private partnership) with global partners, and the proper divestment of non performing state assets to raise capital.

The key to successfully launching such is institutional strengthening; packaging and promoting the ease of doing business in a low tax and business friendly environment, with a high efficiency rate in achieving production targets and timely project completion.

Having said that, although there are moderate levels of investments and projects that have been completed on-time, economic output is not flowing at a significant level to inspire economic strengthening. As a result, this continuous slowdown is impacting Saint Luciaโ€™s development adversely.

As usual, the Kenny Anthony administration does not know in which direction to go and has to embrace PetroCaribe and the Bolivarian Alliance of the Americas (ALBA) in search of the Hallelujah moment.

Of course this will turn out to be another misguided decision.

PetroCaribe and ALBA are political organizations with agendas designed to redirect resources for political gains. These agreements do not advance mutual economic development. At best, the program will defer Saint Luciaโ€™s indebtedness and subsequently compound adversely its credit ratings, and accessibility to global capital.

Remember, it is common knowledge that a change of government in Venezuela would end the PetroCaribe programme in its current framework, thus leaving Saint Lucia with a huge bill to settle in short order.

Therefore, what will a future of increasing debt, low industry output; rising inflation and weak credit ratings lead to? How will voter pandering, shallow decision making and policy uncertainty play out in a comatose economy?

Well hereโ€™s the verdict!

The continuous level of high inflation should be a cause of serious concern to all. If the production of goods and services continues below the demand output, or they are too expensive to produce or deliver, then the economy is not growing in any way. Moreover, when prices are pushed up by greater demand, this is characterized in economic terms as โ€œdemand pullโ€ inflation. If prices rise because costs go up, thatโ€™s called โ€œcost pushโ€ inflation. Regrettably, Saint Lucia is in on the perimeter of both if there is no change of course.

This is very risky business, the result of which is โ€œstagflationโ€ โ€” the combination of economic stagnation and wild inflation. Further, if interest rates rise and economic validity falls; business sales and services will drop. This means much higher prices, which will lead to higher interest rates and โ€œdepressflationโ€ โ€” the worst economic conditions combined with high inflation.

Indeed, every effort should be made through collaboration, the sharing of concepts, principles, and a set of actions to turn around this possibility. But, the unsavory blend of decision making seems to be a dress rehearsal for the Kenny Anthony administration for a greater politicization of the economy.

Sadly, while their politically based economic strategy does benefit a number of persons within their inner circle, the same canโ€™t be said for the vast number of Saint Lucians (20% and rising) that are unemployed.

Currently, things are not looking good. People are falling behind, not only socially but economically. What once seemed like a promising future following independence on February 22, 1979, has now turned into a catastrophic situation where Saint Lucians are unable to support a quality standard of living.”

ADRIAN I want your take on this part especially:-

The OVER-RELIANCE ON THE TOURISM INDUSTRY IS AT DANGEROUS LEVELS. In fact, not only has the Kenny Anthony administration misled the nation with the notion that his current policies are intended to advance eco-tourism, sports, medical and the creative industries, rather it is indeed a very shallow approach,…………..

You can email Melanius Alphonius :malphonse@rogers.com
    if you think that he is telling lies.

Melanius Alphonse is a management and development consultant. He is an advocate for community development, social justice, economic freedom and equality; the Lucian Peopleโ€™s Movement (LPM) critic on youth initiative, infrastructure, economic and business development. He can be reached at malphonse@rogers.com

12. @CCC
    “To many, what is currently taking place, is a stark reminder of what happens in a โ€œwinner takes it all systemโ€, where the government of the day becomes preoccupied in creating jobs for its inner circle, while putting on the pretence of working in the interest of the nation.

In fact, no matter how cleverly the Kenny Anthony administration pretends to work in the best interest of the country, and the viewpoint that it is โ€œunpatrioticโ€ to be critical of his administration โ€œeffortsโ€ to create welfare jobs, there is a line of truth that no one can ever debunk.

No government of Saint Lucia has ever awarded a job to anyone if it wasnโ€™t first measured in political dimensions. In order words, your experience or ability to perform on behalf of the nation isnโ€™t worth much, unless it is tested in terms of partisan loyalty. Meanwhile the economy is in freefall, the government canโ€™t pay its bills and crime is on the rise.

It is this sort of mindless governance that turns a blind eye to quality and substance, and embraces instead an outdated system that makes partisan loyalty a prerequisite to contribute to risky economic policies that kills businesses, jobs, and investments.”

And you don’t see any parallels here CCC?

13. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ CCC Cousin | July 29, 2013 at 8:09 AM |

And what is the point you are trying to โ€˜ramโ€™ down our throats? That Barbados is doing very fine in its tourism industry and St. Lucia is a joke to Bim?

It would do you a world of commonsensical good if you were to take on board some of the very constructive criticism offered by the likes of june boy, Green Monkey, lawson and the others above who have been harping on about those fundamentals which you arrogantly overlook to the further detriment of the country’s image as a preferred destination.

Attacking Adrian or even the miller will not save your sorry asses from collapse if you continue in this jingoistic stupid way.

14. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Actually, nearly ever evening here in FL, i see ads on tv put out by Sandals for their properties in Antigua, St Lucia and Jamaica. I also see ads for Antigua on the cricket channel on Direct tv. I dont see any ads for Barbados.

I taught in St Lucia for a year 2011-2012 and it was very evident that there were many tourists around. Some friends stood at the Almond Resort there, and it was evident that there was a daily efflux of tourists there {as at the other resorts there} for weekly vacation stays.

15. The same ole sh.. talk what is the pirpose.almost lik beating a dead horse into the ground for the sake of inviting controversy and attacks. sofar tbhese artickles have done absolutely nothing positively for the tourism industry outside where it almost cause both countries minister to get into a war of words….as if we do not have enough division among ourselves. judging by the comments so far it is obvious we do.however it seems that Adrien intent is to provoke and irritate

16. millertheanunnaki | July 29, 2013 at 8:30 AM |
    @ CCC Cousin | July 29, 2013 at 8:09 AM |

And what is the point you are trying to โ€˜ramโ€™ down our throats? That Barbados is doing very fine in its tourism industry and St. Lucia is a joke to Bim?

Unbunch your panties yardfowl miller all that was done is expose Loveridge as a LIAR. Where does it say Barbados is doing fine? You are Loveridge soul mate wishing and hoping for Barbados to fail. Its not going to happen under the DLP so crawl back in your blp cave with knife wielder symmonds, George Hinckson Payne et al.

17. What is evident is that St. Lucia with less room stock than Barbados is outpacing Barbados in the US market. We should ask why and learn from the answers. What we should not do is to suggest Barbados is 25 years ahead of St. Lucia. Unfortunately we seem unable to separate the real issues from the partisan political nonsense.

18. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

David, That is EXACTLY what I am trying to establish and as you say, what can WE learn from it. I very much doubt that a single one of the party hacks attacking the messenger rather than evaluating the message, has put their entire life savings into a BARBADIAN tourism enterprise. So what possible motive could I have to wish that St. Lucia is consistently doing better than Barbados?

19. Man, approaching a visitor with out a pin on your shirt that proves you are qualified to do so (having been trained in basic peoples skill and courteousness) should be punishable with serious jail time …Sorry! Pissing a tourist off is a CRIME against the state …!

20. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ CCC Cousin | July 29, 2013 at 9:15 AM |

We are not at all surprised by your tirade. That is par for the course where you and your Cousin CCC are concerned. It means nothing to the miller since, unlike you and your moronic cousin, he does not depend on political sycophancy and ties to any party to live financially.

If Adrian is a fraud you better look right in your own backyard and see a really genuine buffoon pretending to be a financial โ€˜gorillaphantโ€™ and backed by Leroy Parris the “LP” in D(LP).
    It’s just a matter of months before you guys are totally removed from the political landscape of this country slowly being destroyed by the current terrorists in the โ€˜Damnedโ€™ Lying Party

Now deal with the issues raised by june boy, green monkey and lawson which are rather serious and contribute in no small measure to the current state of the industry.
    Or are you one of those nasty litter bugs who like to harass the visitors while pissing against the wall and see it as being โ€œCoolโ€ Bajan style?

21. So what is the issue miller. after all adrein has already let it known that bajans do not contribute nothinng to the economy on the same level as his cohorts so then with this kind of attitude what is he asking for…….maybe adrien can get a team of competents among your group to show the way forward…without taxpayers support.

22. BAFBFP Your right about basic courtesy which is lacking , but I don’t think it is acceptable when a fed up tourist tells whoever just happens to be the next one to ask him the same thing for the umpteenth time to f off either. People respond kind with kind, if someone is nice to them they reciprocate, likewise if someone is rude. But you hit the nail on the head…..approach the tourist….don’t…. we see you….. if tourists want something they will ask for it Doggy ..pot…bangles …beach chairs …taxis directions etc. just like kids at school… nobody has to be told where the cafeteria is….. they will find it…

23. Wow,
    I have been reading this blog for about a year now. I have been amused,infuriated, dumbfounded but rarely as concerned about the level of vitriol as I am today. It’s understandable why people are so touchy, the very life blood of the nation seems to be threatened. Unfortunately, it also appears that analysis paralysis, hand wringing and finger pointing has now become the new normal and has replaced deductive reasoning, problem resolution and plan execution.

I am a Bajan who has lived in Canada for the past 39 years. I travel extensively and whenever anyone asks where I am from I proudly say Barbados. I say that proudly, even though I have encountered boorish rude people in the service industries and civil service in Barbados in my last 3 trips and as recently as 2011. I did not want to believe this level of service is the norm. I wondered, sometimes out loud, if the person was just having a bad day. I guess I need to pull my head out of the proverbial sand and acknowledge that there may be many structural and institutional issues that affect the average person/worker that require serious attention.

St. Lucia is a cruise ship destination and I have had the pleasure of visiting their lovely country on several cruises. The service I received as a tourist is almost intuitive, they seem to want the enjoyment of your stay as much as you do. The little things that make a vacation spot special and exceptional will keep people coming back for more. Smarten up guys… we know this stuff… we are Bajans.

Above all don’t import partisan bickering into everything. There is a time and a place. A house divided … and all that…

24. @Golden Apples

Some will never learn. Thanks for sharing.

25. Georgie Porgie Avatar

@ GOLDEN APPLE
    RE St. Lucia is a cruise ship destination and I have had the pleasure of visiting their lovely country on several cruises. The service I received as a tourist is almost intuitive, they seem to want the enjoyment of your stay as much as you do. The little things that make a vacation spot special and exceptional will keep people coming back for more.

I AGREE WITH YOUR PERCEPTION OF THE ST LUCIANS
    I EXPERIENCED THE SAME LAST YEAR

26. Golden Apple !!!!
    Gem /Gone
    Barbados full /ignorance /strange logic/selfishness
    Nuff ignorant people
    doing nuff ignorance
    Too many women in positions of authority
    fogging/up/ the place

This one goin an fog up de place
    fog up de place
    Machel Montano

Yaaaaaaaaaaaggga !

27. alvin cummins Avatar

@Adrian
    Ain’t statistics wonderful. imagine, a decline in total numbers of 815 (43335-425160TRANSLATES INTO AN 11.9% DECLINE. interesting.

28. alvin cummins Avatar

@dEEDS
    you SHOULD BE THE LAST PERSON TO TALK ABOUT FRAUD. wHERE ARE YOU PRESENTLY LIVING? iS IT YOUR PLACE? do YOU PAY RENT OR HAVE YOU JUST “TAKEN IT OVER”? iN OTHER WORDS ARE YOU SQUATTING? Have you encouraged others to take up residence in dwellings to which they have no right? As I mentioned before, “Those who seek equity must have clean hands”

29. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

Alvin

not quite as you portray it.
    American long stay visitors to Barbados
    Jan-Apr 2013 – DOWN ( a total of) 5,703 or average per month of 11.9 per cent.

2012 – DOWN 11,652 or 8.2 per cent

30. alvin cummins Avatar

@Adrian,What are you trying to say? You gave totals (Not my totals, yours) and they differ by only 815. You also said that the Barbados tourism declined by 11.9 %. I am trying to reconcile those figures. Are you speaking specifically of Jan-April 2013 where the decline, according to you was 11.9% on a total of 5703 persons or an avaerage per month of 11.9%Is the total for 2012 down by 11,652 or a total reduction for the year of 8.2%. What are you trying to say? Your figures are confusing. You are trying to say that long stay visitor numbers in Barbados are down significantly. How long does a person have to stay to be considered a long stay visitor? How do the short stay visitor numbers compare? The statement “St Lucia surges past Barbados does not compute.

31. alvin cummins Avatar

@Adrian
    You seem to be only concerned with US long-stay visitors? How do visitors from other places compare? South America for instance.

32. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Miller

According to ADRIAN LOVERIDGE, not saying that I believe him, St. Lucia is doing better than Barbados Tourist wise.

It would appear to all with even a small amount of common sense that something is very wrong.

In ADRIAN’S view Tourism is Lord and Savior of us all St. Lucia included. Yet in spite of “St. Lucia doing better” than Barbados, the St. Lucian economy is in a free fall. Crime is at an all time high. Unemployment is extremely high.

“With the ever increasing deficit, money supply squeeze and runaway inflation, the Saint Lucian economy continues to recoil at a very rapid rate.”

These are the words of an influential St. Lucian who lives in St. Lucia. This is not an individual living in Barbados and trying to pull down the Barbados Government or trying to become “Minister of Tourism” without joining a political party and facing the electorate.

I have worked for years in St. Lucia in the Hospitality industry and I have plenty friends there and they tell me things are dread in St. Lucia.

So if in ADRIAN’S words St. Lucia is so good tourists numbers wise where is the revenue from Tourism going? It is certainly not even trickling down to the man in the street! The economy is not benefitting from it in any meaningful way, if this so then ADRIAN will have to tell us who are the real beneficiaries of the St. Lucian Tourism dollars?

Miller I address this at you because I know that you are ADRIAN’S mouthpiece!!

33. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

There are also a lot of idiots of this blog who cant see past skin colour. Miller, Prodigal Son etc.

Because I don’t accept ADRIAN’S poppycock just like them, Then something must be wrong with me. I must be RACIST!!!!

Ok, since that is the case, how many of you listen to BOB VERDON speaking on matters tourism at the DLP’s Lunch time lecture? He was saying the complete opposite to what ADRIAN LOVERIDGE is saying.

The thing is, BOB is WHITE just like ADRIAN, does that make him a RACIST too?

34. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

When you all answer that question then I have another question for you.

I am waiting!

35. Carson !
    Have a nice day !

36. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Is bob verdun a hotelier?
    Doesnt he have lots of legal troubles in Canada?
    What the hell does he know about anything?
    Last I hear he was preaching at a gospel Hall in St George on how to preach the word.
    Seems like he is a whealer and dealer from Canada who is trying to get in control of something down here.

If I am to believe bob verdun, why cant I believe Adrian Loveridge too

37. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

You are now doing what ADRIAN is claiming, which is not true, is being done to him.

You are attacking BOB VERDON instead of what he is saying.

38. Yall can’t have it both ways ya hear………..worldwide economies are bad, real bad, Canada, one of the most stable economies is starting to reel. Tourists will start to dwindle going forward and the few who can afford to take a vacation and maybe spend, by the time the money reaches the treasury, if it gets that far, the deficit would have also grown by one and a half, that is what is happening worldwide and cannot be avoided, the bandaid of printing money, is just that.

An area i know in Canada that is well known for it’s staycations, although the tourists are there this summer, it’s just for a few days, by the time they leave, the money is also gone, reviewing numbers don’t mean a thing in the scheme of things nor in the current environment, even the supermarkets and malls are reducing staff to one and two days a week of work and rotating them. Some forecasters are predicting another nasty slide in worldwide economies and dipping currencies, so even if you have high numbers of tourists you have a higher deficit that is giving everyone hell to reduce, the same blue print can be applied to Barbados and all the other Caribbean islands, it has managed to spiral out of control and man being weak as usual is unable to contain it, trying for damage control and left with only damage.

39. old onion bags Avatar

…….whaloss now…Georgie dem importing swindlers now?….Well I hearing it all….Carson man go check the man credentials quix !

40. @ Golden Apple

I will quote you “whenever anyone asks where I am from I proudly say Barbados. I say that proudly, even though I have encountered boorish rude people in the service industries and civil service in Barbados”

At the end of the day, even if you put Issey Miyake on a pig dress it in a Calvin Klein or Versace outfit and teach it to do the lambada, it is still a pig.

We Bajans masquerade arrogance in the guise of “proud” while calling other CARICOM denizens “low-islanders”

We are the pigs of the Caribbean and until we eat some humble pie, or fire the sows (wherever they are) and get rid of the Wannabe Frank Trotman Union Leader Leroy Trotman who still thinks that he is living in Frank Walcott days, we going have indolent swine and the tail of the dog wagging its head.

The only two places where the tail direct/rules things is in spermatozoa and in a bed.

Never have i found a people who are so igrunt, en masse, pretending to lord it over other people, in such a bombastic way. It has now become a national characteristic, like how the RBPF used to be called big, black and ingrunt, now, to be Bajan, means belligerent, black and ingrunt.

Somewhere along the pathway, post independence, during our nation growing years we got impregnated by the indolent, the slothful and slow of mind.

Now you must understand the psychology of this phenomena.

A idiot has an uncanny sense of self preservation. So when you put an idiot to run things, (as we do every 5 years during general elections), it is obvious that these idiots WILL NOT HIRE OR APPOINT ANYONE who has more sense than they. That would lead to their ultimate destruction.

Dem got some big name for it, i think it called the Peter principle.

In this country, where the process of distilling water removes impurities, our idjits are practicing an inverted distillation that would seeek to promote the best and have been pursuing and producing the national equivalent of superwater.

High concentrations of female rabbits and their males counterparts “bunts’ the abbreviation of Bajan Male rabbits.

When will there arise a breed of men and women who will assume the reins and properly manage the various sectors of our ailing country?

41. Janette Clarke Avatar
    Janette Clarke

We used to be a gentle intelligent people. Visitors loved our ability to communicate, entertain, barter etc. with a quiet dignity that showed our self pride. Sadly, I have found that beautiful spirit to be missing now. Find a way to train our youth and reverse the current attitudes. Reclaim our values- Education, pride and industry.

42. Pieceoftherockyeah……………I am falling fuh yuh sweetie pie. Your words of wisdom will fall off dem PIGS’ backs like water off a duck. I totally agree with you my sweet piece of this rock. Smooch smooch.

43. @ Janette Clarke
    You must be kidding. We need to look to a very different kind of future not re-living a nostalgic past.

44. Let us hope the Rihanna concert gives the tourism numbers a needed boost. Hopefully the BTA should not have to discount seats in this period in a condition where demand should be greater than supply.

45. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Carson C. Cadogan | July 29, 2013 at 4:31 PM |

Hallelujah, Carson the pious parson, is no longer a racist (but still remains the top escapologist). You must thank your all-forgiving god for that. There is still hope for Bim!

But Carson I the miller will only be the mouthpiece of Adrian if you also allow me to be the mouthpiece of Observing(…).
    So when you find the balance of the $66.4 million to be shaved from the Central Government’s payroll then the queries about St. Lucia’s economic troubles will be answered. You have identified $2 million by getting rid of the lazy irrelevant BLP Opposition; now find the rest.

BTW, the more you compare Bim with St. Lucia and the other countries doing worse than Barbados the more you make your man Seethru look real good as a great manager of the economy.
    Can you imagine what Barbadosโ€™ foreign reserves would look like if the same OSA did not sell and borrow like a paro to store up for these more than rainy days?
    Even the chief liar of a bullshitter Sinckler is so concerned about the flood of Noahโ€™s prediction that he is just chomping at the bit to go into the international market to float junk paper like shit on the sea to attract loan sharks.

46. @Miller

In your last comment isnโ€™t a bit of a non sequitur? Wasnโ€™t Arthurโ€™s borrowing tightly correlated to rising debt during his stewardship?

47. maybe that spirit is missing because the old Barbados was replaced by a bunch of self servimg foreign employers who expect 100% from the employee but only pays pittance in return. if the employee feels wanted he or she would be satisfied to give equal amount in return, but what we have here in Barbados is a bunch of greedy employers who had it not for Unions wouldn’t give a rats ass about employees, One can not expect much when giving little it works both ways,.

48. Due Diligence Avatar

BOB VERDON speaking on matters tourism at the DLPโ€™s Lunch time lecture?

On May 20, 2011 a jury in the Ontario Superior Court of Justice found that Verdun had defamed Astley on eight separate occasions, and that the defamation was done with malice. The jury awarded damages against Verdun in the amount of $650,000, and the trial judge ordered a very broad permanent injunction against Verdun from publishing anything about Astley. Verdun’s counterclaim against Astley were earlier dismissed by the court, and his appeals regarding his counterclaim were dismissed at both the Court of Appeal for Ontario and the Supreme Court of Canada

From http://business.financialpost.com/2013/06/05/corporate-governance-activist-in-contempt-of-court/

“Justice Robert Goldstein of the Ontario Superior Court has found Robert Verdun, a corporate governance activist, in contempt of a permanent injunction prohibiting him from publishing statements or comments about Robert Astley, a prominent businessman.

As reported in Advocate Daily, the injunction was issued in 2011 after a jury awarded $650,000 in damages to Astley after finding that Verdun had maliciously defamed him. On the contempt hearing, Verdun admitted that he had communicated with Kitchener Centre MP Stephen Woodworth about Astley and that the communication was in violation of the injunction. He sought to have his conduct excused as an โ€œact of conscienceโ€ but Goldstein found that his behaviour was โ€œmisguided, self-serving and offensive.โ€

Sentencing in the case has been adjourned so Verdun can retain counsel. Brian Radnoff of Lerners LLP represented Astley”

Sounds like just the kind guy who should be speaking on matters tourism at the DLPโ€™s Lunch time lecture

49. @ac

You may or may not be aware that most workers in the hospitality sector earn they pay based on service (tips). If they give good service they are rewarded. Why would they messed it up for themselves?

50. For a while i have been hearing all types of complaints about this Bob Verdun.