Adrian Loveridge - Owner of Peach & Quiet Hotel
Adrian Loveridge – Owner of Peach & Quiet Hotel

There is sometimes so much misinformation disseminated in the media about tourism, it becomes even more important that the facts prevail. Itโ€™s official. Our neighbour, St. Lucia, overtook us for the first four months of this year, in terms of United States long stay visitor arrivals. Despite having a much smaller room stock, St. Lucia welcomed 43,335 American visitors between January and the end of April, an increase of 6.6 per cent, when compared with the same period in 2012. Barbados recorded 42,516 for the identical four months, a decline of 11.9 per cent.

The trend continues with the addition of a new weekly flight nonstop United Airlines service from Newark, adding another 3,000 plus seats during the second half of 2013. So there is little doubt that St. Lucia will still be ahead in this market, by year end. Newark Liberty Airport, offers for many, a more convenient access than JFK or La Guardia in the TriState area, one of the most populous urban agglomerations in the world. It is also Unitedโ€™s third largest hub after Houston and Chicago with the St. Lucia flight connecting with 22 US cities plus a number in Canada, increasing travel options and reducing overall journey times.

Americans have generally less paid holidays than Europeans, so it becomes even more critical to be able to reach the ultimate destination in the shortest time, if โ€˜weโ€™ are serious about competing in this market. And this perhaps, partially explains why we have seen such a dramatic fall in US arrivals, having lost direct flights from Philadelphia, San Juan, Dallas/Fort Worth and Atlanta. If the journey takes too long, involves an overnight stay in one or both directions or has a protracted connection time in Miami or New York, savvy travellers switch to a more accessible vacation choice.

Another way that St. Lucia can substantially benefit is by tapping into the 52 million members of the second largest airline loyalty programme in the world, United MileagePlus. Every day United redeems 17,000 reward trips. For many years, I have been trying to persuade the policymakers to include a box on a revised landing card, to indicate if our guests used miles to reach us. To the best of my knowledge, no researched data is available to accurately gauge what percentage of our overall arrivals redeem their loyalty points on vacation travel. But from our own empirical evidence, we calculate it could be as high as 10 to 15 per cent.

The compelling reason for using miles, is that they break down the geographical cost differential, because the same number of miles are required, irrespective of the originating gateway within the Continental United States and Canada.

As a simple example. The lowest cost return flights from Chicago to St. Lucia booked online in August is US$886. MileagePlus members would apply 35,000 miles with US$85.40 payable in additional taxes.

From my own personal experience, I use miles to travel at least twice a year using points earned through my credit card with American AAdvantage. This, despite not having purchased a full price ticket with the airline for many years. By selectively using this method of bill settlement, this month I will have amassed one million miles since signing up for the loyalty programme.

317 responses to “St. Lucia Surges Past Barbados in the US Market”

1. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David | July 29, 2013 at 6:22 PM |

Certainly Not!
    If you see the criticism implied in the use of the words โ€œsell and borrow like a paroโ€ then you would appreciate that this strategy of earning foreign reserves is a surefire recipe for economic serfdom and a definitely possible route to make a currency like the Barbados dollar worthless.

Pity that the current administration, so justifiably critical in the past of this strategy of national financial management, is falling into the same trap. Sale of the BL&P and the liquidation of BNB shares to earn forex are two cases in point.

2. http://www.onecaribbean.org/wp-content/uploads/May24Lattab13.pdf

wait on the above website I can’t find any statics for April for St. Lucia 2013..anyhow these are current numbers everybody can judged for themselves. Unless the guru of the hotel industry can point THE BU family to another website I would continue to say that Adrien is a troublemaker and we blacks hate when whites take us for fools,
    anyhow my preliminary analysis shows across the board total tourist overall arrivals for Barbados jan-apr were 202,696
    compared to st lucia jan-mar 87,378across the board
    now in fairness to ST. lucia April is missing however to catch up with Barbados they would need 115,318 tourist overall which would have to include april. however unavailable is st. lucia April figures.

3. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

“The main opposition United Workers Party (UWP) has a new political leader.

Former tourism minister Allen Chastanet defeated former prime minister Stephenson King to take home the partyโ€™s leadership position at the UWPโ€™s Convention on Sunday at Marigot School.

According to preliminary reports, Chastanet received 264 votes, while King got 99.

Below are the official results of UWPโ€™s Convention:

Party Leader โ€“ Allen Chastanet

Deputy Leaders โ€“ Gale Rigobert and Leonard โ€œSpiderโ€ Montoute

Party Chairman โ€“ Ezekiel Joseph

1st Deputy Chairman โ€“ Mary Polius

2nd Deputy Chairman โ€“ Andy Daniel

Party Treasurer โ€“ Leslie Phulgence

Elections Officer โ€“ Leonie John

Trustees โ€“ Gertrude George, Nicholas John, Moses Vaval

Welfare Officer โ€“ Elista St. Marthe”

4. and I would bet that these employees cant be happy campers given the dismal tourism numbers .What is there to to smile about . Would YOU. . Mouths still to be fed .. bills still to be paid none of which goes away . and no subsidies from the govt to help these struggling employees . I will bet that some of these employers still driving there Mercedes benz . and travelling to fancy destinations. Yes the employee does have a reason to sulk. especially when they see the high lifestyle in spite of the downward trend..some of the employers are enjoying,

5. @ac

You are clueless about what is happening in Barbados.

6. Somebody needs to challenge Fakespeare for the leadership of the party and of the country.Donville Inniss where are you ?

7. Yuh see dat man.
    Smart bo smart..
    So I did figure ,dat what good fuh de goose , good fuh de gander.
    I jus heah peaceful and rested,quiet like..
    Nuffin change,Nuffin new. Not a body see nah diffrence
    Ride on FUMBLE.

8. ac something is rotten in Denmark with Adrian pushing the saint lucia angle. As Caribbean neighbors we ought to cooperate he tries to stoke rivalries and enmity. No one wants to see tourist industries in saint Vincent, antigua, St lucia st.kitts etc. go belly up. Barbados is a mature destination suffering from lack of freshness in a depressed global market that is on the look out for newness at cheapest. That’s where DR and Cuba kill every English speaking Caribbean destination. Barbados is in a fight for its tourism life if the different interest groups pull together Barbados wins. We have to be on guard for the Loveridge’;s of this world he rejects any initiative by gob or anyone else without giving it a chance. He then drags up saint lucia,nowhere else mind you, and distorts their situation to make Bdos look bad. As you’ve found out he pulls his figures either out a hat or his behind. He’s definitely not using the Caribbean Tourism Organization official figures.

9. David it does not take a rocket scientist whether they are living on Mars or on the planet Earth to figure out that low wages,are a contributing factor to employee performance on the job… many of the comments here have pointed out the negative attitude of bajans,, however missing are the contributing factors to those negativities, I am not condoning such behavior .however one must also look at the causes which could be many and I would state that low wages and high employers demand for productivity under such a circumstance would be a crucial factor in bad attitude ,Employees not alone to blame……

10. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | July 29, 2013 at 7:25 PM |
    “.. I would continue to say that Adrien is a troublemaker and we blacks hate when whites take us for fools,”

Well if you, ac, are the benchmark to go by then they are not very far from being right on the mark, are they?

Who gives you the right to speak on behalf of “blacks”?
    Speak for yourself! What are you hating? Yourself?
    Do those blacks on whose behalf you arrogantly appoint yourself to be their chief spokesperson include BLP blacks or are they just the stupid bunch that love and adore white people like Uncle Tommy and his friendly cousin Prodigal

11. CCC I used to have a lot of respect for Adreien . but as he started to post more and more of these negative articles I got the feeling this guy is on a mission. then a couple times I read more and more of the same articles in various newpapers across the carribbean.. as if he was on some kind of covert mission to sabotage Barbados tourism industryor pressure the barbados govt to handing over the pot to the BHTA I really do not see the point or the reason for the articles , >Now he have singlehandedly put a wedge between Barbados and ST,lucia cause some of the comments ongoing are not being too nice to ST, Lucia, All over the carribbean tourism numbers are down. Yes or numbers would reflect higher percentages since the higher the total the higher the percentage would reflect ,however for adrien to be presenting a picture of ST, lucia as way ahead of Barbados is falsehood.. right now this is july going into august and ST, Lucia has not presented their numbers for April could it be that they themselves are playing the numbers game, hence the delay,

12. @milerrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr

STEUPSE………………………………………………………………………………………………

13. Hollywood glamour comes to CPL
    Hollywood mega star and west coast billionaire resident give Barbados thumbs up.
    Loveridge and miller not going to like this one. They’ve chosen Barbados over the rest.

Caribbean Premier League Media Release.

Bridgetown, Barbados – Limacol Caribbean Premier League cricket officials have announced that American actor Mark Wahlberg has taken an equity interest in the Barbados Tridents team.

โ€œIโ€™m excited to be a part of the Limacol Caribbean Premier League because I know cricket is huge in the Caribbean and a rich part of the regionโ€™s heritage,โ€ said Wahlberg.

โ€œSports and entertainment are a powerful combination, and the LCPL will appeal to a huge audience worldwide. Thanks to my dear friend Ajmal Khan who introduced me to Barbados and the LCPL, I am a huge cricket fan now.โ€

Wahlberg said he was also attracted to the youth development aspect of the LCPL which benefits the entire community as young men are encouraged to pursue their passions, stay focused and plan for their futures.

Ajmal Khan, Chairman of Verus International and Founder of the LCPL voiced his agreement.

โ€œHaving Mark involved with the Limacol CPL is quite a coup for us. He brings a global celebrity appeal, which adds to the party atmosphere, and anticipation that is already building in these final days before the tournament begins. Having him as an ambassador of the greatest party in sport will indeed draw the attention of current and new cricket fans across the world, and we look forward to embracing a whole new generation of cricket fans in the U.S. thanks to Mark.โ€

โ€œWe are thrilled that Mark has taken an equity interest in one of the Limacol CPL teams,โ€ said Limacol CPL Chief Executive Officer Damien Oโ€™Donohoe. โ€œHe is keen to promote the tournament in any way possible, and his fame and influence will definitely raise the profile of the tournament, and bring awareness of the game to an audience that traditionally has no connection with cricket. Weโ€™re excited to see the many ways in which this partnership will benefit both Mark and the LCPL.โ€

Wahlbergโ€™s newest movie, 2 Guns, where he stars alongside Denzel Washington, comes out on 2 August. He is also known for his starring roles in films such as Boogie Nights, Planet of the Apes, The Departed, The Fighter and Ted, and has been the executive producer of several successful TV series including Entourage and Boardwalk Empire.

The inaugural Limacol Caribbean Premier League starts on 30 July in Barbados and concludes on 24 August in Trinidad

14. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | July 29, 2013 at 8:27 PM |

One more example of proving your theory of “we blacks hate when whites take us for fools”!

15. look man I can access many cable network channels only a week ago I saw Barbados featured on a network showcasing the island from east to west north to south . small end shopping and high end shopping places to go and places of interest, from bizzy Williams to the local rumshops with dominoe players were featured , everything that you could think of was shown. I have seen a lot of these shows I don’t now where adrien gets his info from however I guess those people are as anti Barbados as he is , this time I really agree with Carson if things so bleak here he can jolly well return to good ole England, Barbados survived before him and sure will survive after him all he is causing is hatemongering and division among the two islands with his poison pen. Not to mention his recent diatribe about the civil service..

16. Alvin Cummins Avatar

@David,
    I aread this blog every day since last year when I began contributing to it. I am an elder Bajan,oud of our country, what is has achieved to get where it is, proud of its people and where they have come in the world and confident in its future. However every day I read contributions from people who are so filled with self loathing, self pity, low self esteem, and who are downright traiterous. Every american despite what his country does, speaks highly of it; whether he is a hypocrite or not. For all of them “my country tis of thee, Sweet land of liberty…etc. All I hear from so many like Piece , miller, Amused, Bushie, etc are contributions that constantly put down our country, our government and out people. Based on their contributions neither our people, our government, our politicians, our people, or the country itself have ANY redeeming features. As far as they are conderned the prognosis is in and the country has less than six months to live. I won’t tell you like the americans; if ou don’t like it go somewhere else, what I will ask you is to try to avoid denigrating MY home, MY country, My people, and by extension if you are Bajans, yourselves.

17. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Devin | July 29, 2013 at 8:34 PM |
    โ€œLoveridge and miller not going to like this oneโ€.

Why shouldn’t Uncle Tommy Miller and white man Adrian the English redneck (according to CCC and ac) not like Mark Wahlberg and his money?
    Isn’t he also a white man and foreigner who bought up all of the West Coast much to the chagrin of DLP blacks who complain bitterly of selling out Barbados to rich foreigners?

Isn’t this FDI much needed more ever than before? Sometimes you local blacks pretend to detest foreigners but still want their foreign money to import SUV’s from Japan, flat screen TV’s from China and processed food from America.
    What a self-delusional important lot of a uniquely complex xenophobic Bajan brand of schizophrenia!

18. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Alvin

This is the DOOM and GLOOM blog.

19. In the article reproduced and sourced above, titled (Commentary: Saint Lucia’s pitfall to Stagflation by Melanius Alphonse), it is clear why Barbados and many other countries of this world are mired in the recesses of deep dedevelopment and decline, and at this stage are facing inevitable severe collapse and ruin in many aspects of their societies, polities, and their production and distribution systems, when their so-called intelligentsias core combinations etc continue to practice many untoward and absolutely false ideologies, philosophies and psychologies contained in and transported in this very wicked discipline and practice called economics.

In support of this argument we take from the reproduced article above the following quote and we quote and unquote:’ the continuous level of high inflation should be a cause of serious concern to all. If the production of goods and services continues below the demand output or they are too expensive to produce or deliver, then the economy is not growing in any way. More over when prices are pushed up by greater demand this is characterized in economic terms as ‘ demand pull’ inflation. If prices rise because costs go up that is called ‘cost push’ inflation’.

Now, if the author of that article had taken the time out over the years to critically analyse atomize and search for the evidence of some of the concepts used by him in the article he would have seen how tragically flawed, imprecise and unscientific they are in their given usages, meanings and contexts.

For instance, he would have seen that there are no such things as objectively positivistically existing anywhere as prices, inflation, demand pull inflation, cost push inflation, stagflation or even deflation, demand and supply and their relatives, the theory of value and such other relevant concepts and theories. And he would have seen that they have no basis in praxis either!!

So, Melanius Alphonse, and virtually all so-called economists, and almost all those persons who indulge in these very untenable and untruthful concepts and who are votaries/practitioners across the world of this most backward sinister inverted political ideology, philosophy and psychology of economics, are perpetuating it – wittingly or unwittingly – as primarily a means towards the ever constant gross oligarchic political exploitation, political economic dispossession and social marginalization of the broad masses and middle classes within and without the respective countries.

20. Alvin Cummins Avatar

By the way, what does a civil suit against Bob Verdun have to do with what he said about tourism, that contradicts what Adrian says. The question is, was what he said factual and pertinent. The reason the “dirt” was dug up was to try to raise questions about his credibility because he was judged to have “slandered” a fellow canadian.That has nothing to do with his lecture two fridays ago.It shows the level certain organizations will go to try to discredit anything that is said positive about the present government. As I said, there are a lot of people filled with self loathing who are really candidates for psychological examination and counselling.

21. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Alvin Cummins | July 29, 2013 at 8:52 PM |

The miller wasn’t around but from reports I heard it was even worse pre-January 2008.

But for people like you if the tight shoe was on the โ€œBโ€ foot instead of it being on the “D “foot every thing critical of the government would be acceptable to you.

You Alvin, (like your fellow BLP hate mongers CCC and ac) blame everything wrong under the sun in Barbados today on the previous BLP administration. You might even stretch it so far and blame OSA and the BLP for death of your royal palms.

When you and the DLP learn to understand that with authority comes responsibility and stop blaming everybody else for this countryโ€™s problems then we armchair critics might just be prepared to give you the respect you have earned.

Now piss off and stop threatening our freedom to speak as we would wish.

22. @Alvin

Have you listened to the President of the CDB and what he had to say about Barbados’s economy last time he spoke?

Have you listened to the most recent economic review by the Governor of the Central Bank?

Finally have you listened to the Minister of Finance recently on the state of the Barbados economy and the economic medicine he will have to administer come a couple weeks from now? Did you listen to the interview yesterday when he told a civil servant not to expect wage increases in the near future?

Now are these people working for BU?

23. http://www.onecaribbean.org/wp-content/uploads/May24Lattab13.pdf

wait on the above website I canโ€™t find any statics for April for St. Lucia 2013..anyhow these are current numbers everybody can judged for themselves. Unless the guru of the hotel industry can point THE BU family to another website I would continue to say that Adrien is a troublemaker and we blacks hate when whites take us for fools,
    anyhow my preliminary analysis shows across the board total tourist overall arrivals for Barbados jan-apr were 202,696
    compared to st lucia jan-mar 87,378across the board
    now in fairness to ST. lucia April is missing however to catch up with Barbados they would need 115,318 tourist overall which would have to include april. however unavailable is st. lucia April figures.

24. I bet adrien is somewhere drinking some expensive French wine all the whilst laughing at how he got blacks fighting among themselves, dat a boy adrien. a sucker is born everyday,,,,,,,,GOOD JOB.

25. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

AC

Most of those on this blog think that ADRIAN writes a lot of foolishness.
    that includes Miller, Prodigal Son, DAVID.

But here is why they encourage him, “the enemy of my enemy is my friend”.

ADRIAN even though he supports the Barbados Labour Party was publicly humiliated by them or should I say a very senior BLP Parliamentarian at the time by the name of George Payne in front of many Tourism officials both local and international. As a result he lashed out at them, that was not so long ago.

So all of those who think that he criticized the Barbados Labour Party and is now criticizing the Democratic Labour Party are very wrong. ADRIAN’s criticism of the BLP was a result of hurt feelings. Nothing more.

This blog is bitterly anti DLP. Things were made worse for them when none of their predictions, whether it was made by DAVID, MILLER, PRODIGAL SON, JUST ASKING, CASWELL FRANKLYN etc., came true with regards to the DLP being WHITEwashed at the last election polls.

The result, as the old Bajans would say, ” if Sam Cooch and the Duppy” has anything nasty to say about the DLP they will be given pride of place here on this blog.

This is their way of soothing their bruised egos. You know misery loves company!

26. @ac

You have asked Adrian some questions therefore let him answer. Also you can show some respect by spelling the man’s name correctly.

Here is that link you couldn’t find which shows April’s numbers.

http://204.188.173.139:9090/stats/images/publications/Year-to-date_Stay_Over_Arrivals_April_2013.pdf

27. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Carson C. Cadogan | July 29, 2013 at 8:59 PM |

“Alvin This is the DOOM and GLOOM blog.”

So why the hell are you both contributing to it?
    Sounds just like the BLPNationNewspaper and his continuing battle with the Nation newspaper.
    Piece of advice to both of you. Like it or lump it! Sounds familiar!
    Now get to โ€œFโ€ off BU if you find it not to your liking. Vote with your cyberspace feet and don’t log on to BU. Bet you can’t, you hooked suckers!

28. Alvin Cummins Avatar

Yes/Yes. and YES!!!.I have no problem with people criticizing and it makes no difference to me whether it is B or D. However a careful analysis of the content of the blogs, shows that there is no logic in many instances for the stance those who denigrate the COUNTRY, and the PEOPLE. Everything has to be taken in Context and when things; words, circumstances, actions, are taken out of context; when issues are deliberately twisted and “the truth is not in it” then that is being dishonest. I find this a lot in BU andti government stance. Yes Miller with governance comes responsibilityWhat’s wrong with telling “sa” civil servant not to expect a raise in salary. Everybody knows that things are tight. did you expect him to announce a wage hike?You people are just impossible, and expect the impossible, and when you are told the truth you are highly sceptical.

29. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Wahloss!

“you can show some respect by spelling the manโ€™s name correctly”

Over the years I have seen so many names spell wrong on this blog, and I never yet saw the blog owner ask anyone to spell the person’s name correctly.

Who the dog like he lick and who he hate he bite, as the old Bajans would say!

30. Alvin Cummins Avatar

@Miller
    The type of language you use is expected. I told you that people like you need psychological help, for that is the type of petulence of a spoiled child, and much of what you write is dhild like and childish. And if you are going to quote, put it in the proper context. The expression “like it or lump it” was spoken to Henry Forde by the then Prime Minister in response to an epithet from the said Henry forde. go back to Hansard.

31. @Alvin

You are correct, BU is not your Men’s Fellowship Journal…lol. It is why it is called BARBADOS UNDERGROUND. We flog the issued hidden in the underbelly of the society. It really doesn’t matter the party on Bay Street, as Minister Jones told the House a few months ago, we don’t care, we will criticize them all.

32. Alvin Cummins Avatar

@Miller I’m soarry you are stuck with me. I will be here to counter any posting that is not truthful, every attempt to make my country appear less than what it is, and our people less than what they are. We have a good country here; one that is admired and loved (you may not belitve it, because you are not capable of affection) by many people worldwide. I will not be leaving because I don’t scare.

33. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Alvin Cummins | July 29, 2013 at 9:48 PM |
    It might be childish or even childlike depending on your interpretation (and you have the guts to quibble over โ€œPASSโ€ and โ€œPASTโ€). But unlike you I speak the truth and can separate very often fact from fiction and bullshit.

First you Alvin, the most ignorant bullshitter here of late. When you can pursue a dead-end argument with such stubbornly acerbic know-it-all venom to prove David (BU) wrong about Trinidad must accept payment for their exports especially oil to Barbados in Barbadian dollars only goes to show what a blasted fool you are. Even in the face of facts and international trading realities you still believe you are right. Now who is the jackass here behaving like a petulant child of limited intellect?

Second here you are on this blog you claim to despise so much trying to justify the bullshit the lying MoF was spitting and spinning on VOB.
    During that interview the same liar confirmed that SMI Solutions (which he recommends in the leaked Cabinet paper be dropped from the Pierhead Marina Project) will be the one responsible for the financing arrangement of the Cruise Line Terminal off Trevorโ€™s Way.
    Based on the recommendations of the Cabinet paper can we assume that both projects are in financial jeopardy as far as using SMI solutions as the โ€œinterlocutorโ€ is concerned?

34. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

AC

Someone sent DAVID that link:

http://204.188.173.139:9090/stats/images/publications/Year-to-date_Stay_Over_Arrivals_April_2013.pdf

That is the Central Statistics Office of St. Lucia. But these jokers are cheery picking. If you go on that site you would clearly see that the St. Lucian economy is not doing well at all.

I ask MILLER to ask ADRIAN if so many tourists are going to St. Lucia how is it that the economy is in such poor shape and what is that saying about the effect of increased arrivals to the ST. Lucian economy?

More tourists, but the economy is getting worse not better!!

Neither MILLER nor ADRIAN has replied.

35. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Alvin Cummins | July 29, 2013 at 9:57 PM |

Unlike you Alvin, I do not have any jingoistic attachment to things and places. Only love for individual people and other animals I care for. I stand by principles and seek always to tell the Truth even if it hurts people like you, Alvin.
    Why should I sycophantically support or blindly back a political administration that is riddled with liars and people of deceit and hypocrisy all mired in incompetence?

My country is the world, and my religion is to do good. ~Thomas Paine

36. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

….and if ADRIAN thinks that St. Lucia is doing so well, just wait until Venezuela calls in all the debt owed to it under Petro Caribe which St. Lucia has not repaid as yet.

It will be “cat piss and pepper”.

37. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Carson C. Cadogan | July 29, 2013 at 10:16 PM |

Unlike you, Carson, we believe in a principle called โ€œfirst come, first to be servedโ€; aka decency and fairness.
    Until you address the query raised by Observing(โ€ฆ) on the $66.4 million payroll cut your will just have to wait in the queue.

38. my advice to adrien is to stop presenting a false picture and playing the numbers game in an effort to force the govt to do over and above what is capable of doing in the hotel industry in these hard economic times .it is a dangerous game he is playing by pitting two countries against each other, in these hard economic times all should be pulling together instead of tearing apart., I advise my BLP cohorts to desist from making any more comment wherby preventing adrien from doing further damage not only to the country but to the innocence of a sister country ST lucia that barbados have had good relationship with for many years, Buyer beware! there is a mission behind this madness…

39. btw for those I looked at the link and still overall arrival numbers across the board pales in significant to Barbados, imagine ferry numbers . next horse and buggy numbers,, some things are very well left alone, makes me wonder if these USA were tourist ferry riding and accounted for as USA, tourist counted twice,, liars can figure and figures can lie in which case some of which can be attached.

40. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | July 29, 2013 at 11:06 PM |

There you go doing the every same thing you ranted about in your previous post. You too are trying to create divisions and a โ€˜we better than themโ€™ atmosphere.

If you want to blame somebody for the perceived current bad relations between Barbados and St. Lucia you need look not to Adrian but to your own MoT who initiated this denigrating campaign of comparison by claiming St. Lucia is still 25 or 30 years behind Barbados.

41. ac
    imagine ferry numbers . next horse and buggy numbers,

ac Don’t make me spill my milo, a ferry from where to where. Adrian not only wicked and spiteful he provide comic relief too. Based on this rubbish Barbados can claim increase arrivals by counting the Vincentian and Jamaican drug runners the Coast guard and the RBPF nab daily. Be Christ the peach and quiet innkeeper funnier than the Clithero Kid. Arrivals by ferry and horse buggy I deading with the laugh. Lord come fuh you world.

42. and YES miller Adrien ought to hanging his head in shame trying to divide the two sister islands, nowhere in the caribbean have I ever see such a utter disregard by any tourism writer ignoring the concern and the damage they might inflict on countries through their writings yes I have read criticism but not at such a level that is mind boggling where a writer s set out intentionally to provoke war of words between two neighbouring island constantly highlighting failures and success without given truthful and realistic facts,, I am indeed flabbergasted and dumbfounded and it goes back to the mean spiritedness of a person. how can any one in their right mind believe that these articles would do more good than harm especially when using a sister country as bait,,addressing an issue is one thing,, but dragging a sister country and using it as a ploy to win a battle is unconscionable only drive by shooters use such tactics, .

43. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

David, One of the real challenges in responding to the political party hacks is that they keep changing the criteria. For instance ac is comparing CTO data Jan-Mar 2013 posted 24 May with my figures. I have not included American long stay visitors to St. Lucia by ferry, but even if I had that would make a difference of just 24 persons (Jan-Apr 2013).
    Clearly, many are taking bits and partial data to make my figures (CTO) look less than factual. If St. Lucia shortly posts that they had more than 8.487 American long stay visitors in June, then by the end of that month, they would STILL be ahead of Barbados.

44. @Adrian

What is the room stock of St. Lucia compared to Barbados?

45. Adrien what the hell is wrong with You can’t you see that these articles have gone beyond doing any justice to either one of the countries ,, What are you thinking, I say again that this is not impartial writing from a professional but a person with a vendetta that has allowed his personal differences to impact and cloud his judgement , the worst part of all is that you have cause divisions between two countries people .I looked at the ST . LUCIA website and it is hard to remained focus on the many data they have complied to get a true analysis of their overall numbers.
    and yes again you chery pick USA but in the overall tourist arrivals international Barbados totaled 192,296 to ST.Lucia 115,160.
    Adrein if you want to maintain any level of decency and integrity you should do the right thing and present articles that are fair and balance and not a one sided view one that sparks controversial debates casting halftruths and speculation inviting an unsuspecting audience fighting among themselves and division among other carribean island nations,
    the world is all already struggling with division does not need another lighted match to further ignite no matter how dimly

46. @Adrian

Final warning to you. State your positions as is your right under freedom of expression supported by BU. Post clarfication statements of a general nature and avoid exchanges with obvious political hacks. You will not win any argument with a hack.

47. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

David, noted. Its just so difficult when you KNOW people are putting deliberately misleading information up there.
    I have asked both the St. Lucia Tourist Board and Hotel Association for an accurate (up-to-date) hotel room stock count. I will respond as soon as they do.

48. What did the late Errol Barrow mean when he referred to the civil service as an army of occupation?