George C. Brathwaite, founder and interim president of BAJE

There can be much to be derived out of the sober utterances that are spilled by a man not seemingly daunted by drowsiness or other lethargic effects of prolonged sleep. This article takes as its starting point the simplicity of the game – snakes and ladders – an Indian inspired, all-time favourite of many pre-adolescent children. The minimalism of snakes and ladders stems from its lack of any meaningful skill component in the execution of the game or in the attainment of the victor’s crown.

Notwithstanding, snakes and ladders was conceptualised with a deeper, moral, and sensitising agenda. Inherently, the choices of good and bad are included to signify the dialectical transformations emerging out of the contexts of values versus vices. There is the dynamism that links with performances to produce upward mobility in contrast to downward or backward falling. The aggregate difficulties (i.e. snakes) to be encountered are significantly more than the available opportunities (i.e. ladders) for climbing. It is by a mixture of self-determination and fortune in relation to similar circumstances facing at least one other participant/competitor that the outcome is manifested but never assured.

Read full article

164 responses to “Snakes and Ladders in Public Administration: Putting Barbados in a State of Economic Viability”

1. Instead of hiring young doctors at the hospital DEMs hiring spin doctors

2. The Dummy @ Dumo Avatar
    The Dummy @ Dumo

Roverp
    The QEH is to hire each and every doctor produced in Barbados notwithstanding the actual requirements of the hospital?

3. The Dummy @ Dumo Avatar
    The Dummy @ Dumo

Roverp
    Have you enquirer into the agenda of the pow wow meeting in St.Lucia this past weekend and whether Mottley’s stewardship of the BLP was a topic for discussion?

4. Pedro Shepherd, I am not impress with you statement on the VOB 4:30pm news. You, Pedro, Ronald Jones, Karen Best and Harry Husbands done got wunnu plans not to renew contract of temporary teachers. I would not be surprised if between now and when Barbados crash, you are appointed a principal. But then again, who am I to speak. Teachers are a foolish set of people. The firemen, police prison warders who are un-faired, head to the law courts to seek justice. Teachers sit down and mumble and grumble when their rights are trampled on. Cannot wait for cunt Jones to roll out his Education Strategic Plan. Interesting summer ahead.

Jones and company should be paying attention to what Ryan Straughn was saying today on brasstacks. International creditors are not willing to extend credit the island anymore. It is payment up front.

5. NationBLPnewspaper Avatar
    NationBLPnewspaper

JULY 1 – Mia Mottley story in the Nation with photos and she is not saying anything new.

JULY 2 – Mia Mottley in the Nation newspaper on Page 6 .

You see the trend, every day the Nation BLP Propaganda newspaper sees itself as a vehicle to promote Mottley. Even when she is not saying anything newsworthy, she must be put in the newspaper- that is the word from the connection in Fontabelle.

Check for yourself and you will see anytime Mottley sneezes, the Nation BLP newspaper is there with a camera to say what a good sneeze it was.
    A shameless biased newspaper ,if you doubt me ,check who is employed to write for it.

6. The Dummy @ Dumo Avatar
    The Dummy @ Dumo

NationBLPnewaper
    Them also pumping up Inniss for the money he paying them.

The Nation didn’t send a reporter to St.Lucia to cover the pow wow meeting down there with Arthur and Co?

7. Why do the DLP people concern themselves of Arthur’s every move? Boy OSA is feared by you all although you have won.

Must be something he has got that you aint got

8. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Bag Juice | July 2, 2013 at 4:59 PM |
    “Jones and company should be paying attention to what Ryan Straughn was saying today on brasstacks. International creditors are not willing to extend credit the island anymore. It is payment up front.”

That disclosure is based on the truth and not something to dismiss as the ranting of a malcontent as they would wish to do in the case of the miller who expressed this very fear weeks ago after the poor performance of the winter tourist season.
    Remember the Cinderella losing her slipper analogy?

While this government waits like a deer transfixed by the bright light for the country to be hit by the oncoming train this country is fast running out of forex and will not see the end of the 3rd quarter without requiring a standby arrangement.

Let them continue to ascribe blame to the BLP, the international recession and their new found whipping boy the recalcitrant unpatriotic selfish anti- black anti-DLP private sector.
    Blame, blame, blame everybody except themselves and their foolish destructive policies!

Bajans hold onto to your underpants, its going to be rather shitty rough ride in the coming weeks.
    But don’t listen, as usual, to the miller the prophet of doom and gloom. Not even Ryan Cassabianca, the boy on the burning deck.

You will soon see which IMF god you are serving. 1991/92 déjà vu all anew! But this time thrice as rough and harsh!
    Those who fail to heed the little voice of wisdom always have to pay dearly the piper that calls the final tune.

9. @milertheanunnaki. The DLP government is certainly not following what is happening in Jamaica as it relates to a standby arrangement with the IMF. It took that country nearly 2 years to conclude an agreement because the government was resisting certain demands by the Fund. For example, wage freeze, abolition of waivers, tax reform, cutting the size of the public service, pension reform etc. The government was smart enough not to lay off workers, but they had to take money from the National Housing Trust to give budgetary support to the agreement. We here in Barbados would not be so fortunate because, the National Insurance has been raided over the last 6 years that there is nothing left to give any kind of cushion. While all of that is happening, the cost of living is escalating, the currency is sliding. All of this is affecting the mental health of individuals due to stress. Is this what we want to happen in Barbados? I would think not.

10. onions,

Talking about China where the pipsqueak minister is off to, why is it that this government has so much contempt for Barbadians? They brought home Sir Sandi since April and not a word from this inept government. We all would sympathise with Sir Sandi since he is no longer able to serve but if the man was brought back home for health reasons, could God, tell the people something, nuh?

I mean, this government does not feel it is accountable to no one? My take on this is that baring in mind the economic situation, we had no right opening that embassy at such time. Sir Sandi was not able to do his job and should not have taken the position in the first place.

Why is it that Dems dont stick to dealing with things within their pay grade. Andre Worrell made an ass of himself trying to defend the DLP today against a learnt man like Ryan Straughn. Even when Mr Straughn tried to explain to him the facts, he still spouting out the DLP talking points. I laughed when Mr Straughn told him this is not about politics right now, the time for politics has gone!

11. DR. THE HONOURABLE Avatar
    DR. THE HONOURABLE

This government is dangerous—dange dange dange -dangerous !

12. Gabriel Tackle Avatar
    Gabriel Tackle

The audacity of it all!Reggie Hunte and Andre Worrell trying to take on the no nonsense trained economist Ryan Straughan?Hunte is nobody to send to engage the public on a radio talk show.The man is at CXC grade F level,what is known in bajan politics as a rabble rouser,a canvasser for a politician.In addition to Ryan Straughan, Michael Howard and Clyde Mascoll all trained economists,they should hearken the words of Edward Al-Hussainy an assistant VP of Moody’s.He is quoted in the press as saying”Barbados is running low on planned reserves”Need I say more?

13. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Gabriel Tackle | July 2, 2013 at 7:03 PM |
    “In addition to Ryan Straughan, Michael Howard and Clyde Mascoll all trained economists,they should hearken the words of Edward Al-Hussainy an assistant VP of Moody’s.He is quoted in the press as saying”Barbados is running low on planned reserves”Need I say more?”

Don’t be surprised if the usual half-yearly report from the Governor of the Central Bank normally due in the second or third week of July is conveniently postponed for ‘unexpected reasons due to unforeseen circumstances’ with the true state of the foreign reserves not to see the light of day just like the in depth second CLICO forensic audit.

The upcoming long Crop-over weekend might just be a good “day” to bury bad news!

14. DLP (formerly CBC) TV Avatar
    DLP (formerly CBC) TV

Wow , A DLP supporter( Andre Worrell) sounding incompetent in the face of reason and fact? That is so original, so unexpected!! I mean there must be some OTHER reason why the economy is collapsing. The DEMS have a whole wealth of economic EXPERTISE it shocking. Lets see a man who doesn’t know the difference between a fiscal and Physical (????) deficit, a MOF, who publicly admits he is learning on the job, devises a economic MTFS perhaps in invisible ink, that says a $90m stimulus is bad but a $600m one is good, a PM that sounds like he read the dictionary back to front but clearly skipped the definition of economy. I mean this is the SAME PARTY that wants to mock Owen, a PM and MOF for near 14 yrs, calling him an economic guru in jest, now got the economy on its KNEES after only 5 yrs!!!! Really NOW, this DLP gov’t is the live version of the tv series YES, MINISTER.