George C. Brathwaite, founder and interim president of BAJE

There can be much to be derived out of the sober utterances that are spilled by a man not seemingly daunted by drowsiness or other lethargic effects of prolonged sleep. This article takes as its starting point the simplicity of the game โ€“ snakes and ladders โ€“ an Indian inspired, all-time favourite of many pre-adolescent children. The minimalism of snakes and ladders stems from its lack of any meaningful skill component in the execution of the game or in the attainment of the victorโ€™s crown.

Notwithstanding, snakes and ladders was conceptualised with a deeper, moral, and sensitising agenda. Inherently, the choices of good and bad are included to signify the dialectical transformations emerging out of the contexts of values versus vices. There is the dynamism that links with performances to produce upward mobility in contrast to downward or backward falling. The aggregate difficulties (i.e. snakes) to be encountered are significantly more than the available opportunities (i.e. ladders) for climbing. It is by a mixture of self-determination and fortune in relation to similar circumstances facing at least one other participant/competitor that the outcome is manifested but never assured.

Read full article

164 responses to “Snakes and Ladders in Public Administration: Putting Barbados in a State of Economic Viability”

1. At the risk of being critical of government ( hell we are being critical) why did the government not circulate the strategy document ahead of the consultation?

2. Why did Ryan Straughn have to correct Minister Inniss about the issue which is NOT declining government revenues?

3. To build consensus government has to step back, admit it sacrificed truth to win an election and then move forward. This will never happen of course.

And what about the BLP? What van we say about the government in waiting?

NOTHING!

4. David, David, David! Can’t be as easy as that. Richie Haynes talked about a social contract. Should any government make such an admission then there is only one other thing to do – call an election. The major reason why a government can rule is because they have the people’s consent. It is general understood that that consent could be withdrawn especially in circumstances where untruths were the reason for election. Surely, that can’t be predicated on grossly misleading statements, can it? If what you are saying were true and Obama likes to talk about looking forward. OK, when a man kills somebody he could also tell the Judge that he wants to look forward, not backward. It that were we are as a society? LOL

5. millertheanunnaki Avatar

So Minister Inniss has just landed fortunately on the head of the longest snake on the board by climbing down from the DLP administration ivory tower position on free university education.

He has made it clear that free tertiary has now become untenably unsustainable financially.
    Wow, what an eye opening piece of new information!

You mean he is not even the de jure MoF yet or even rolling out his ambitious goal to topple Fumble and he is totally contradicting and undermining his boss’s publicly stated policy and position that under a DLP administration education at the UWI will always ad infinitum be free at point of delivery.

Is Donville a traitor and back stabber or a โ€˜born-againโ€™ realist the very antithesis to the Bushman posing as some enlightened guru on all matters educational?

Donville, have you received prior clearance and the PMโ€™s permission to override the policy position regarding tertiary education at the university level?
    If you havenโ€™t, do you know that such public dismissal of the PMโ€™s stance represents gross insubordination on your part or are you so cocksure that the boss man has rubber teeth and has lost his political opposable thumbs where disciplining you is concerned?
    Are you the real power behind the scenes and the PM just a figure head and specially handled mouthpiece?

If you new 90 degree turn of a volt-face position to free university education is indeed the new policy of this DLP administration when was it agreed and when will it be implemented. Should we wait on the budget to hear more?

6. “peopleโ€™s consent” … What the f#ck is that Pacha ..? 60% of the eligible voters in Barbados voted against the Democratic Labour Party … 60% of the eligible also voted agains the Barbados Labour Party … That suggests to me, and I am very often wrong, that an overwhelming proportion of the Barbadian public rejected BOTH groups emphatically.

7. @ BAF
    Mine was a matter of law and practice. Of course you are right. We have made this better argument before. In fact, we have previously called for the ‘unvoted’ to form the government. But you know well nobody is going to take that sublime argument seriously. In those circumstances, we are settling for the next best thing.

8. Pacha

Let me modify my previous comment so as to indicate that there is really no next best thing

The numbers in fact are that SEVENTY percent (and not sixty) showed absolutely no liking for either the DLP or the BLP, that is close to three quarters of the population, and this is serious. Law and practice be damned …!

9. @ BAFBFP

What 60% voted against what political parties what?!?
    ..you mean 60% abdicated their civic duty to IMPACT the outcome.
    …if they did not damn well like the options why did they not offer an alternative and give it that 60% support?

Did Bushie not call for such a movement BEFORE elections?
    Did You, Caswell and David (BU) not diss the bushman…?
    ….traitors! ๐Ÿ™‚

10. Bush Tea

You speak with forked tongue … The medication ain’ wukkin’

11. @ BAF
    Why are you so animated against your colleagues today?

12. Baffy you mean dat Bushie is a true snake??? LOLL Yuh know what dem say bout a snake in de grass is worth? Um is worth two of Bushie…LOLLL

13. Where the hell is this strategy document which was distributed at the Consultation? Why would it not be posted on a government website? If it is BU apologize.

14. @ BAF
    We love your argument and that is my preferred argument too. But the election was held, no body called on the unvoted to for a government. Next best then would have been a coalition government.

15. But getting back to the point we have to read what this man George Brathwaite is saying. There is a man with the real fork tongue. He seems to want to have us engaged in an anti-DLP argument to serve his narrow interest. We will not be useful idiots in service of no BLP. We are interested in Barbados, no party!

16. You Islandgal…!!
    …you calling Bushie a half a snake…? LOL signs of a woman scorned… ๐Ÿ™‚

17. If we want to discuss innovation look at this, our own steelpan from the Caribbean.

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?v=126966780844036

18. millertheanunnaki Avatar

Here we go again! Up and down the merry go round of the DLP board game of slippery snakes and broken ladders!

Minister Inniss has made it unequivocally clear once again that there will be NO laying-off of public sector workers under this current DLP administration. Neither will the Ministers willingly give up their perks or accept a cut in pay as a show of commitment and sacrifice now demanded of the people.
    What is he planning to do? Ignore the instructions from the IMF.

Well Minister Inniss you have already climbed down from a similar position taken in regard to the free university education.
    What we will be calling for- when it has to be told to the nation that some public sector workers will be laid off- is you immediate resignation not only from the Cabinet but also as a sitting member of Parliament for your dishonesty and morally reprehensible behaviour of lies and deceitfulness.

What will be your excuse then when your administration is forced to layoff people from the public sector workforce because there is simply no money to pay them and all borrowing sources dried up?
    That the IMF made us do it or the BLP told us to do it?

Why have you made such a bold assertion given what your boss said only on Thursday and that $400 million must be cut from the governmentโ€™s money tree?

Donโ€™t you think that if there was any discretionary expenditure areas or fat in non-personnel costs that such a reduction in expenditure exercise would have been incorporated in the recent Estimates to reduce the deficit on the current account instead of what was reported to make your administration look like a pack of political monkeys handling financial guns and making it easier for the credit rating agencies to sound the trumpet on the viability of the Barbados economy and the stability of its currency?

Or did you make such a politically foolish announcement given the position you took prior to the recent general elections and that you personally have been accused of saying the BLP had plans to layoff 10,000 public sector workers?

You could hide and buy land, Donville, but you canโ€™t hide and work it (not even in the night where there are stalkers and peeping toms abound).

19. George C. Brathwaite Avatar
    George C. Brathwaite

@ Pachamama

I agree with the main thrust of your sentiment that you “will not be useful idiots in service of no BLP [and DLP]. We are interested in Barbados.” I think that is the focal point of the debate/discussion.
    It is my knowledge and common sense that even independents have agendas that are not necessarily in tune with the collective but are individualistic. Be careful how you throw stones.
    As I always say, a political party is made up of several different and often competing interests but are upheld by a shared philosophy. I have no apology about being a member of the BLP or for that matter, anyone being a member of a political party.
    I can assure you, that I have always called a spade a spade; and I have been upfront and forthright even within the party politics of Barbados (since I do get along reasonable well with members of both sides — and yes, there are members of the DLP that attempt to entice me on that side).
    Let us focus on Barbados. We are in a danger zone and we need to emerge from that economic dilemma as quickly as possible otherwise it is possible that we may not even have this medium to discuss issues, and alternatives.
    I have my ideas but I shall respect yours. If you seriously believe that I can only think on a singular path and with a one track mind, so be it. At the end of the day, remember it is BARBADOS.
    Which ever party you support, it ought to be your independent choice. If you are independent of all of them please remember that it is precisely why people come together because they usually get lots more done!

20. David
    Maybe a Bajan should rush down there and patent the design … HA HA HA. It really is an upside down steel pan, but the circles are wonderfully created. Playing with sticks of course gives the musician a hell of a lot more speed from a percussion perspective, and doing so with this convex design is not that practical now is it. So first place remains with the concave steel pan where the option to use hands as opposed to sticks is still available …

21. But Baffy it is about sound and fashioning and instrument which fits hand and glove with ones culture.

22. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ George C. Brathwaite | June 30, 2013 at 2:12 PM |
    โ€œLet us focus on Barbados. We are in a danger zone and we need to emerge from that economic dilemma as quickly as possible otherwise it is possible that we may not even have this medium to discuss issues, and alternatives.โ€

How can the tragic behaviour towards the private sector by Minster Inniss be explained in such a context of coming together for Barbados? It was Minister Sinckler, then Reggie Hunte and now this pretender for the job of MoF.

We are assuming, of course, you were tuned in to VOB’s Brasstacks programme today.

23. Bush Tea

Miller is a man that would take any reference to a snake that emanated from a woman as a clear invitation.

Pacha

I have a sentimental attachment to a place as a result of being born here, but for me, as it should be for every one else, except those who profess to be public officials and who are paid to act in the interest of all, it is family first… and foremost !

24. Yes, but your family cannot exist in a vacuum. More generally, everybody in Barbados is related to everybody else.

25. A proper consultation would have generated 2 or 3 real commitments to the national plan by all the stakeholders. For example, a 3-5% cut in wages across the board. Cut electricity to all residential homes between the hours of 10PM and 1PM. Sell government vehicles and encourage the use of scouters for the couriers. Privatize the SSA by regions North, South and Central and add a nominal cost to the electric bill for those using above average kilowatts.

26. Minister Inniss saw no shock and awe coming out of Thursday’s consultation.

Bernie Weatherhead called in and spoke about the assurances of the MOF to the Chamber last month and the vast difference in what came out of the meeting Thursday.

Boy, the DLP are masters at propaganda. All Inniss was doing today is blaming the BLP and the private sector. The DLP had the answers to everything that ailed Barbados during the OSA years, they knew what was wrong and how to fix the “problems”. Why the hell they did not do so? I maintain that Barbados suffered when there was no one in charge of this country, DT was ill, the present PM was supposed to be in charge and he said he was only keeping house and did nothing. Even when DT was on his feet, they adopted a wait and see approach as the way to run this country.

I met a man from St John, a hard core Dem who has now changed calling this government the most inept he has ever seen in Barbados. I have hope if Dems from St John are now awake!

27. “you could like it or lump it, none uh you ent losing me no nghtsrest”

The words of Erskine Lloyd Sandiford resonate in the head of his simultude Fumble Stuart.

While not being afraid to “pull a Sandiford and go to the polls”, Stuart does not want to tarnish his reputation further, nor that of the dithering DLP party, as being the second incompetent PMto bring the DLP to further disrepute and shame as being a party of party poopers.

It would be the second time that the Party, whenever things are not going their way, “pull de proverbial stumps” and leave the pitch.

If Fumble were to do that, it would fu** up the DLP party for our lifetimes, which in my case is not as long as yours (if we hold to the 3 score years and 10 thingy) in focus Oh Anunnaki,.after all, I am on borrowed time.

In listening to Donville talk, without license nor constraint, you have hit the nail on the head,

Donville knows that Fumble cannot, nor will not punish him for his mouth, and, unlike the others who have some modicum of respect for their leader, Pornville, particularly with his eyes on the prize of PM, will not be brdled.

Donville is doing what moths dont ever do successfully, fly towards the light which ofttimes is the open flame of a candle and not an incandsent light.

Fumble’s hands are tied.

The DLP is/are desperately seeking to deliver something for the general public. by hook or crook, and these past the post politrickans, having barely been elected the current administration, bereft as 90% of them are of any resident intellect, invariably are doing so by crookery,

Since they have never mastered the art of stealing and empowering the people at the same time, a feat which is falsely attributed to Seethru Arfa and his troupe of Merry Men, Women and “H”s, they do the next best thing which is to steal an empower themselves.

I know that people are going to throw stones and Michael lashles and Pornville and say that them poor boys is now millionaires but, for those of us who have been on the block much longer, i ask you to remember, “I so rich, not even GOD can brek me, Craig and Grantley “may i fo*p your daughter for a farthing” Mottley.

You cannot get blood from a stone and, since none of these politicians understands the periodic table sufficiently to effect “turning water to wine” they must revert to tiefing for “it is in their nature”.

Do not fool yourselves, they (both DLP and BLP) do read these blog spaces and while they all wish to carry those of us whose names they know to court for defamation, they pause because such McCarthyism would hurt them more than aid.

We are free for yet a while, until Dictator *** comes.to the throne, then we will be silenced forever.

28. I am so glad i made the decision years ago to never tie myself to any one country, the earth is a big place with many countries, this is beyond disgraceful………….glad to see lionel craig looking like the slug that he always was………

The beauty about the self-serving politicians in Bim, they are just the average black man, dependent on another race to make decisions on their futures and those of their children, simply because they are unable to think beyond being self-serving. HAH!!

29. Wunna ent hear Jonesy warning dem teacher dem better clean up dem act or else! He was very silent when dem teachers and Broomes did fighting. Who is he trying to fool??? Who is he trying to impress??? NOT ME BABY!

30. David

The operative word is “proper”. These consultations have always been about pissing, furtherest and hardest. For me they have always been about the eats … Fantastic occasions, believe me.

31. Bushie “a woman scorned”??? Bushie if only you knew……how a free bird like me cruising. LOLL

32. Jesus Cristo…Well Well said….”I am so glad i made the decision years ago to never tie myself to any one country, the earth is a big place with many countries”
    Where you living now ??? Pon de moon?? I can agree wid yuh dat Lionel Craig looks like a slug those were the very words I have used to describe him. Slimy slug!

33. Island this might come as a shock to you, but Jonsey … and Freundal … and Sinkler are ALL very popular people hear. If you criticize these men you are in fact finding fault with an awful lot of other Bajans as well …

34. I am so glad i made the decision years ago to never tie myself to any one country, the earth is a big place with many countries,

35. It’s simple, nothing hard to process.

36. Gabriel Tackle Avatar
    Gabriel Tackle

I think Barbados owes a debt of gratitude to that young econmist Ryan Straughan for consistently and persistently telling the Dems that they have to send home public sector workers.He told Donville the time is long gone.You have no room to manouevre.If you don’t do it the IMF will force such measures on you that devaluation will become an option.Seeing that the Dems have, in the case of UWI,sent two Ministers to prepare the wicket to shoot down the stellar achievement of Free Tertiary Education for a start,Bajans should prepare to march to say to this fumbling lot of political misfits that there are areas where the axe will be more affective such as all the freeness in bus fares,constituency councils,camps,too many ministries(recall a ministry was created for Kelly because ‘he served the party well’)too many statutory corporations,too many consultants,too many hangers on all trying to get a piece of the fatted calf.In short there is too much wastage in this government and it must come to an end.The PM says its the Governor of the Central Bank
    who says bajans must do without.Not the PM not Sinckler,its that bogeyman Worrell.Not we but he who say it.We are not economists,we are spenders.

37. @ George C Brathwaite
    The political parties in Barbados, at this time, are more problematic for the country than anything else. They are both anti-developmental now although they might have made some contribution in the distant past. It is the deeper political culture that they have institutionalize that is the real problem. We tend to think it will be nearly impossible to rid Barbados of this political culture which is nearly useless. BAF has argues previously that these parties should be made illegitimate and we agree whole-heartedly agree with him, as a first option. In the absence of this we have to go to other options. These parties are self interested that they will never be a chance for a coalition government. What backwardness. You being a member of one of the other can only help in consolidating the wicked system. The people of Barbados have to rise up against and overthrow this political duopoly for it is incapable of self transformation..

38. I met a man from St John, a hard core Dem who has now changed calling this government the most inept he has ever seen in Barbados. I have hope if Dems from St John are now awake!
    ————->>>>>>>>>

On this blog, I have told the BLP to concentrateon STJOHN. If they can get those people to turn , they will get Barbados to turn. BLP must work on St. John because it is clear that those people bave been bewitched by the DLP

39. @ Just

one man and have made a quantm leap into yor dedctive argrument. How silly.

40. Is it true there is a plan afoot to increase VAT to 20%? or is it just a rumour? along with the non-renewal of contracts of all casual workers?

41. I am seeing a run on this country’s financial institutions such as the credit union. The rich people in Barbados are now withdrawing their money and investing in gold. Middle class and poor people aint to be the only ones to bare this sufferation. We gotta do something!!!!!!!!!!

42. lol101

Now where is this gold that the rich people can find to invest in …? Do you really think that the Gov of the Central Bank is going to sit back and watch all of this local money being converted to gold that has to be purchased with real money?

43. @islandgirl246. I heard the jackass and the cunt Jones on an extract on VOB 7:30 am news yesterday saturday talking that children did poorly in maths and english. in the common entrance exam. I would like the minister to know that the majority of the teachers in the primary and newer secondary schools are all members of the Barbados Union of Teachers (BUT) the Union he once head with idiot Pedro Shepherd at the head now. Waiting patiently to see what his next move will be.

44. The rich people had started putting their monies in safer place from as far back as three years ago. This is called capital flight. We are in a for a rocking time starting tomorrow monday. VAT will go to 20%. Contracts for temporary workers will not be renewed as was stated by Caswell. He warned the population but was called a street character by Stinkliar and company.

45. All should note that Minister Inniss confirmed what some of us on BU have been suggesting in the last 2-3 weeks, the international reserve is under threat.

46. The yardfowl brigade should understand (if it is at all possible) that if Barbados CANNOT defend its currency then it has to go to the IMF.

47. David I have been hoping that the world economy would have a peak but it has been almost flat since 2008.

There is a long tough road ahead for Barbados. I am against laying off workers because they keep the domestic economy rolling.
    People who are laid off will have to cut back on spending as their savings are used to pay bills.

Barbados needs an action plan that starts with producing the food you eat.

48. If the currency is devalued the Bajans in the Diaspora (USA and Canada) may be more inclined to invest but I really hope that the Government will work with the Private Sector and try to “save” the country from the IMF.

49. @Hants

If the BU family has been singing this tune for the last 5 years you would think officialdom would be ahead of the lowly BU family. Here is a question: How many Bajans are debt free or close to it?

50. David asks “How many Bajans are debt free or close to it?”

More importantly how much money is in Savings accounts?