George C. Brathwaite, founder and interim president of BAJE

There can be much to be derived out of the sober utterances that are spilled by a man not seemingly daunted by drowsiness or other lethargic effects of prolonged sleep. This article takes as its starting point the simplicity of the game – snakes and ladders – an Indian inspired, all-time favourite of many pre-adolescent children. The minimalism of snakes and ladders stems from its lack of any meaningful skill component in the execution of the game or in the attainment of the victor’s crown.

Notwithstanding, snakes and ladders was conceptualised with a deeper, moral, and sensitising agenda. Inherently, the choices of good and bad are included to signify the dialectical transformations emerging out of the contexts of values versus vices. There is the dynamism that links with performances to produce upward mobility in contrast to downward or backward falling. The aggregate difficulties (i.e. snakes) to be encountered are significantly more than the available opportunities (i.e. ladders) for climbing. It is by a mixture of self-determination and fortune in relation to similar circumstances facing at least one other participant/competitor that the outcome is manifested but never assured.

Read full article

164 responses to “Snakes and Ladders in Public Administration: Putting Barbados in a State of Economic Viability”

1. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Hants | June 30, 2013 at 8:11 PM |

Savings in local accounts (Bajan dollars) don’t mean a hill of beans or value billions of old Zimbabwean or Guyanese dollars if Barbados does not have sufficient foreign money mainly US $ to defend or back our Grantleys or Barrows.
    In the absence of “reasonably sufficient” forex earnings savings or assets denominated in Barbadian dollars has diddly-squat value.

Forex is the life blood of this country’s economy with tourism and international business being the vital organs like the heart and the lungs.
    Given that King Sugar, once the liver of the economy, is now in terminal cirrhosis from rum dependency only remittances from you in the Diaspora can offer a life line.

The miller has made a proposal (heard repeated by Lalu Vashwani) to float a bond to be subscribed in foreign currency among the Bajan Diaspora and friends of Bim backed by the lands under the control of the Crown.

Are you interested Hants? Would the Sergeant and Alvin Cummins put their foreign money where their mouths are to save the country and by extension the DLP from the clutches of the dreaded IMF leading to an almost certain devaluation?

BTW, what has become of the usually boisterous and DLP attack dog Alvin Cummins?

2. @BAFBAP
    So what will the Central Bank Governor do if the rich people start buying gold bars?

Talk to those who are in wealth management. I wont say what i do for a living…

I predict a run on the certain financial institutions. The perfect storm is brewing and Leguard (who Worrell cuss) is waiting to have the last laugh. The first sign will be the new credit rating Moody and Standard and Poors give us. Ask anyone in the financial sector or at Ernst Young

3. I have spoken to Wealth Managers and Asset Managers about purchasing of gold, and this was well over five years ago when the Australians started printed gold certificates that were suppose to represent gold equivalents, and they turned out to be a useless bunch of blind mice with nothing tangeable to offer to top returns of 4% max. They had no dealings with gold and it was Moneybrain I believe who advised about ways to invest w/o having to deal with these Jackasses with big certifications … Dah is when there was something to invest … Not namore …stupse

4. “BTW, what has become of the usually boisterous and DLP attack dog Alvin Cummins?”

Miller he and Arson have had an attack of Montezuma’s revenge and at present they are stuck in their latrines without a roll.

5. Piece of the rock; amongst other things, you said;
    “i ask you to remember, “I so rich, not even GOD can brek me, Craig and Grantley “may i fo*p your daughter for a farthing” Mottley. ”

If you meant that Lambie Craig and Grantley Adams were the persons who separately made the above remark, yuh rong. Dat was Joy Edwards. I heard him say it at a meeting. He actually said; ” I so rich, ONLY GOD can brek me”. And it looks as if HE did.

Craig never had such resources. He was really a small fry in the sea of vast resources. I don’t know about Grantley since I have never heard of him saying such and It does not appear that his resources were that significant.

But hasn’t it been claimed that the late King David left an estate of over 30 million. I don’t think that even Joy Edwards had that much even in current dollars.

Your semi-correct quotation is however very important for these times and should be forwarded to the current rumoured high fliers. The COWs, the Bjorn’s, the Parris’, the Mara’s, the Donvilles, the Lashleys’, the Sparman’s, and those of like ilk as Boots Cummins would say. Something brek-up Joy Edwards. He did not die as a wealthy man. Where are his vast estates now. Perhaps DEEDS could tell us.

Pride often goes before a fall.

I did not hear the Brasstacks programme today but the reports here on BU of comments made by some of the high up participants strengthens my impression that we are indeed right at the beginning of the hard times. Good luck to all of us.

The imminent corrections will affect everyone, and there is no certainty that the members of the current Government who are apparently personally storing up for the rainy days that are starting, will escape scot free. History suggests that what is done in the darkness will be eventually revealed and retribution is likely to come from the least expected direction.

6. WAIT, THE LIKE STARS HAVE COME BACK …. CARL MOORE WHERE YOU AT …? HUH ?

7. newblood | June 30, 2013 at 5:21 PM |
    @ Just

one man and have made a quantm leap into yor dedctive argrument. How silly.
    YOU ARE A BIG STINK MOUT ASSHOLE .. GO AND WASH YOUR MOUT –FREE IT OF BACTERIA–and leave alone–Bad breath !

8. This government is so wise that at the beginning of Crop Over (a key foreign exchange earner) they have decided to drive fear in the hearts of citizens. Whether un-informed or not some people are thinking the dollar will be devalued. What shall the small man do if he hears the dollar will be devalued? Mr Taxi man, Ms Maid and Mr Bell Boy shall hoard all US money passing through their hands. The government will only get forex from plastic at a time when we need every crumb form plastic and paper.

9. David; Yours was a most important question, i.e. how many Bajans here are debt free or close to being debt free? I don’t have the figures but I suspect that there are relatively few such souls and that the situation has been escalating in the wrong direction for most of us over the past 3 or 4 years.

Practically all wage earners and pensioners that I speak to have been seriously negatively impacted and, where possible, have had to utilize savings to make ends meet. I too would like to see the figures on savings in Barbados on a quarterly basis, perhaps as a percentage of the GDP. I suspect they will have risen and are now going down. But the economists on the blog should tell us. I am not one.

Your questions are most important ones for gauging how Bajans will fare in the coming economic meltdown.

10. I predict this will be the worst crop over season within the last five years. Although foreday is up, Kadooment will be down, party monarch will be down, finals will be down, cohobblopot will be down.

The tropical wave is building and it is coming over warm seas!!!!!!

11. It is now illegal to cut civil servants salaries, Trottie made sure of that so an easy fix is no longer available. Look, the Supreme Court of Barbados found in favour of Barak and he ain’ get a cent yet … conclusion, the Government of Barbados, if it chooses to be,, is above the law.

Cut the f#ckin’ salaries do, and let the next administration face the wind … Stupse. That way nobody gets sent home …

To Bush Tea, Coal Pot, Miller, Hants and others (including Just and Deeds) that have offered up suggestions, points noted

12. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ islandgal246 | June 30, 2013 at 8:56 PM |
    “Miller he and Arson have had an attack of Montezuma’s revenge and at present they are stuck in their latrines without a roll.”

Sweeeeettttt! Just so sweet like the mangoes in your environmentally friendly garden.

The fear is, though, their continuous flow of silent crap might spread like a new strain of DLP induced cholera and infect the likes like ac, Fractured, or even the Bushman who is an outdoor specialist in ‘shitology’.

One wonders if the misogynistic Bushie would object to a woman nursing him through this painful period of sweet revenge and take him out of his ignorance into the light of gender equality and indeed of the “sexes”?

Do you have your hypodermic needle ready and full of psycho control medicine to sedate the raging bull of a Bushman? LOL!!!

13. hotel bookings are also down

14. when the dollar is devalued, Bajans will understand what the poor Guyanese people who runaway and come to Barbados to seek a little job are feeling.This DLP government has been very unkind to CARICOM nationals. They are just waiting to see the demise of Bim to have a good laugh. Be careful what you do to others, it will come back to haunt you.

15. Miller asks, “Are you interested Hants?”

No. I am not one of the rich Bajans in the diaspora.

16. @Checkit-Out

Here is a table of total deposits by specified groups for 2012:

http://bajan.files.wordpress.com/2013/06/totaldeposits2012.pdf

17. old onion bags Avatar

Now is there ANYBODY out there willing now to call Onions out on this one?……..”AN ELECTIONS TO LOSE…” just remember that….a 20 % VAT…..IMF on call……that is just the tip of the iceberg as the Titanic makes her desperate all engines stop, rubber astern attempt to correct for a 5 year lullaby …..SOS article like you need to resurface…..ALL hand to the deck…blunders blunders compass points to wreck…..think that was it

18. David;

Thanks. When I get time I will also look at the GCB’s reports. That might also help.

19. old onion bags Avatar

BTW…anybody can tell me what IS THIS GREEN BEAM….up in the sky every night ova my house like a LASER from a martian spaceship…Onions done load up the shotguins since Monday and the sigs cleans and mags to the click …so when all ya ready COME…. it gine hamburger hill II..

20. @old onion bags,

There is no point gloating on the apparent demise of the Barbados economy.

Hopefully you rich enough to run to Australia or even Canada. Talk to Duguid.lol

21. “The fear is, though, their continuous flow of silent crap might spread like a new strain of DLP induced cholera and infect the likes like ac, Fractured, or even the Bushman who is an outdoor specialist in ‘shitology’.”

Oh Gawd Miller yuh throwing nuff bouncers LOLL ‘Shitology’ love dat one bout Bushie specialty! RFLMAO

“Do you have your hypodermic needle ready and full of psycho control medicine to sedate the raging bull of a Bushman? ”

I got one better….. a 6×6 will finish the job pon he! LOLL

22. @Onions

We all know that you are aware the green laser beam is an experiment being carried out by the Caribbean Meteorological Institute in Husbands. Don’t be an alarmist!

23. David; Is BajnFlick a BU project? I like it. Can one post images with captions without further comments?

24. @checkit-out

It is a suggestion made by pieceahderock to encourage all of us with smartphones to capture images, videos which we believe are in the public interest. The post will be pic/vid only but will allow comments. It is a work in progress therefore the soft launch to the BU family to get feedback.

25. David/PODR; Nice!
    I think it would be better if there were no comments or perhaps comments and counter-comments only. Normal text might dilute the message. Just my two cents worth. Others my prefer words.

26. @checkit-out

There is the option we can invoke to close comments which is unlike BU where we leave the comments option open except in special cases.

27. David; I made an error above. I meant to say captions and counter-captions, not comments and counter comments.

For example; I thought of taking a picture of Leroy Parris and the new QC taking their regular early weekend matutinal exercise on the boardwalk with a caption of “close friends walking de board every saturday?” A counter caption could be “Big money on de boardwalk”. another one could be “Watch out de boardwalk name gine soon change”. another one could be “Run don’t walk, de policyholders coming” , etc. etc.

There would be no further need for comments. Any number of captions could be allowed. Each picture would have a caption.

Comments might spoil such a photo blog.

28. Thanks checkit-out, your feedback is appreciated.

29. The video wid de girls wukkin’ up don’ wuk …

30. Another caption could be “Last week they were holding hands ..”

31. George C. Brathwaite Avatar
    George C. Brathwaite

@ Check-it-out

Brilliant. Pictures please, some would not believe unless there are images. We weave a nasty web but it is ordinary Bajans being caught at the expense of the rule-breaking political spiders. They are everywhere!

32. The 3 Ss in ASSES stand for
    Stuart , Sealy and StinkLiar

33. Since austerity is the new buzz word (applied in a somewhat different format in Bim), have any of the economic wonks on this blog ever heard of the little known student (Thomas Herndon) who published a paper which cast doubt (some may say disproved) the austerity theories by Reinhart & Rogoff? Their paper “Growth in a Time of Debt” has been used as a justification for many of the austerity measures which encourage the slashing of Gov’t debt in countries with struggling economies.

Perhaps the argument for countries with advanced economies is invalid for countries with undeveloped economies

As I am not an Economist those with arguments to make can read the paper here:
    http://www.peri.umass.edu/236/hash/31e2ff374b6377b2ddec04deaa6388b1/publication/566/

34. @David

I went to sleep and i wake up and whaplaxx you done mek de changes dem.

Good ting i doan sleep fuh long boasie uh de nex ting you know evey ting dun change and one de young uns got de picture wid de minister car up in de Pine.

Well done!! I can see that you is not a Bajan politician, you does do tings rapidly en doan talk much bout um neider

Well done

35. old onion bags Avatar

@ Hants
    There is no point gloating on the apparent demise of the Barbados economy.
    Doan talk ba-bups son….I not stupid..beside who is the coward now sojourning and fly fishing in the Maple when ee should be hooking jacks and ALL that come wid DEM?…..ask again who got balls.

Why thanks, fa real din know what that GREEN BEAM was about….For a moment I thought it was A BEAN STALK and a certain Sleeping Giant was about to descend on we earthlings cracking eads and shooting Jxr Ray guns…LOL

From here on doa…..I tried a getting accused of being an alarmist…I plan to be a spectator frm ere on in…. a sleeping peasant, besides evating gine soon fall where they may and I ent want to hear dat is I do dat..yawwwnnnn !

36. old onion bags Avatar

@ Hants

……Ya is a real Attack Dog nowadays……LOL….ruff ruff

37. The Dummy @ Dumo Avatar
    The Dummy @ Dumo

Can anyone get a copy of the paper prepared by Dr David Estwick in 2009 (the then Minister of Economic Affairs) advising the Thompson administration of the need to refinance the national debt immediately while the Sovereign Credit Rating of Barbados was good?

38. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David:

Do you access to a copy the document that was circulated during last Thursday’s “consultation” with the private sector?

Minister Inniss said his administration’s position on the ways (growth and development strategies) forward is clearly set out in that document even with timelines attached.
    It would be interesting to see these proposed strategies to see if they synchronize with those set out in this DLP administration’s manifesto and throne speech.

We would be looking to see if the following are specifically addressed:
    Restart of the Four Seasons with or without NIS involvement.
    Almond Beach Resort revitalization.
    Work on the New Cruise Line Terminal to begin this year.
    Construction of the long-in-the-works Pier head marina to start
    WTE plant for the country along with the associated solar energy project.

39. BAFBFP; The “wuk-up-gal” pics should only work if the subject is a politician or a well known privateer (imoho).

David; Congrats on the new blog. Good work as usual.

40. old onion bags Avatar

You see what I tell you all……MAM back up and yankin DEMs Chain… like a true attack dog den… Headlines>.WHY IS THE CLICO REPORT NOT IN THE HANDS OF THE PUBLIC YET.?…Oh boy FIREWORKS!….maybe it get lost AGAIN….

Boi….I see the EMPIRE crumbling….Custer’s Last Stand @ Lil Big Horn….soon cum

41. The Dummy @ Dumo Avatar
    The Dummy @ Dumo

Onions
    The Last Stand might be the trap being set for Mottley by her enemies within. Pay attention to what meetings are happening in St.Lucia.

42. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ The Dummy @ Dumo | July 1, 2013 at 8:20 AM |

Forget about Mottley who is just the messenger and let us deal with the CLICO forensic report.
    Let us assume that Marshall or Symmonds is leading the Opposition, what then?
    What is so damaging to the DLP that attempts are being made to stymie information and subvert the course of justice?

Are you afraid that the forensic report would reveal that much of the policyholders’ money was used to fund the DLP (and BLP) campaigns especially that of 2008 for the DLP and which contributed greatly to the serious cash flow problems of CLICO Barbados?
    Are you afraid to read it has been confirmed that many payments including the $75,000 to “Seethru” were made to politicians either to help them fund their individual vote buying enterprises or ended up in their personal bank accounts for their private enrichment?

Or is this another strategy to protect a pal from the arms of the law now that an eager beaver has been ‘dottined’ and replaced by a toothless tiger of a wind up doll?

We all know that Leroy Greenverbs is indeed a leper untouchably protected and immune from the laws of Barbados as long as he has friends at the very top. Leroy might be from St. John but he is certainly no fool as Just Asking likes to think.
    ‘Le roi’ the King briber and now blackmailer is on the way to meet his judge sooner rather than later in the ultimate Court of Justice.

“You can out-distance that which is running after you, but not what is running inside you”.

43. old onion bags Avatar

Dummy
    You see that green light that on eva night that got DEM dogs bout hay BARKIN…..signs are wonders boi..signs are wonders….Like you too aint had no gran-mudda?..Wait where Carson nowadays….D Const. Council recpt telling how he musse beam up for JrxRay and rubba baton training….D martians must be having real trouble fitting a helmet on that attack dog head—– Size XXXXXL…whaloss !…..and wait whey Bushie…? like ee gone too?

44. Dr. Michael Howard says in the press today “I told you so”.

45. Caution Speaker Avatar
    Caution Speaker

Miller & Onions
    Any attempt the force the issues and topple the Stuart administration will not made by the BLP unless and until it is known to whom the prize will fall to. Mia is not going to seek OSA assistance and OSA is not going to unify the opposition until he knows the top prize is his.
    Despite views to the contrary at 16 – 14 government in Barbados is stronger and more focused.

46. old onion bags Avatar

Mr.Speaka
    If you were up and around in the days of Rambo Blackman and who did the Wordworth Ivy fella..ah Don Blackman….it speaks for itself Mr.Speaka….dem doing a rather fine job Topplin and rollin and Dottin for any interference don’t you think?….I cud now see a rejected fella back then….comin down the steps of parliament….hold back internal tears…you cud remember?…..no interference whatsoever!

47. Caution Speaker Avatar
    Caution Speaker

Old Onions
    You was are the pow wow meeting in St. Lucia this weekend then?

48. Caution Speaker Avatar
    Caution Speaker

Men (and a lady or two) digging up buried swords and sharpening them hear? The sound is faint but there, listen carefully Onions and you will hear metal sharpening metal.

49. old onion bags Avatar

Mr. Speaka
    Man you like you wants to B more comedian than onions…..time to deal wid reality in BIM dont ye think?….St. Lucia dun carry away enuff ah we tourists already….