Ronald Jones, Minister of Education

“There are persons who have no respect for democracy, they have a right to talk, but when they believe that right spreads to the creation of a groundswell to breed insurrection Mr. Speaker you will be calling on the military forces of Barbados, the Royal Barbados Police Force to bring back law and order,” he said.

“Who will be the Complaints Authority then? There will be thousands of complaints because by necessity in order to restore order you have to crack some heads, you have to shoot some people, let’s understand this reality. Nineteen thirty seven in this country many persons died, some that we can’t account for even now, so let them speak – .” (more of Ronald Jones’ statement which has sparked debate in the country)

Several interpretations can be placed on the VIDEO. The fact that BU received it from a White person only serves to add another dimension to the interpretation. BU’s simplistic view is if you place ‘power’ in the hands of someone who is operating way below a level of competence then that person will ‘ape’ what they have observed from others.

BU understands what Jones tried to communicate, although some believe it was a poor attempt at exploiting a Machiavellian principle.  BU believes it was simply an ignorant statement by a minister of the crown who is responsible for Education, Science, Technology and Innovation who became afflicted with a heavy bout of verbal diarrhoea.

Jones’ statement must be taken in the context of a post colonial Barbados where there is no precedent to support any proposition that Barbadians will rise up  akin to the Arab Spring.  Successive governments have vested billions to educate our people who see recourse in a modern Barbados is to engage in dialogue versus violence.

The statement to crack some heads and shoot some people must be also be interpreted in a prevailing climate which has become increasingly polarized along political lines. It is a country where the central stakeholders have shown great reluctance to come together to pool ideas and resources to confront the global enemy in the interest of Barbadians. Minister Jones is minister of education and by his mouthings has demonstrated that he is uneducated.

For those who do not agree Jones did any thing wrong BU believes there are several other grounds to dottin him.  In 2010 Minister Jones banned   the use of cellphones by students at all schools. A casual observation any day of the school week of the streets or school complexes across Barbados, Jones’ directive continues to be ignored. The Prime Minister publicly rebuked Jones for not making the Alexandra King Report available to Cabinet in a timely manner which led to the heavily publicised and bruising Waterman Commission.   And it is not coincidental that Jones was demoted from acting as Deputy Prime Minister soon after the Prime Minister intervened in the AX matter. Lastly, and there are other performance issues, Jones was fingered as a lead member of the E11.

What is evident is that Prime Minister Stuart has little wriggle room to discipline his charges given the narrow mandate coming out of February’s general election. At a time when we should be building a culture of meritocracy to confront global challenges we are left with the same old same old – cronyism, nepotism and decisions driven out of political expediency.  With the Opposition Barbados Labour Party engaged in yet another internal conflict  now is the time for Stuart to make some calculated decisions to signal a new way of doing business. A good place to begin is to dottin Jones!

70 responses to “Ronald Jones Should Be Dottined”

1. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Wonderful attempt to take some pressure off the Barbados Labour Party and its minions, in its time of need.!!!!!!

There will be no side tracking though.

2. BU gives credit to BU family member Colonel Buggy for introducing the term ‘to be dottined’.

3. Actually David, Dottin should have been jonesed…..cause Jones should have gone long ago and had the honour of Colonel Buggy coining the word appropriately.

4. @ CCC
    Sir, there has to be a point in the existing of Barbados, as a country, when citizens are to forget petty party loyalties. Surely, it can never be that in the worst of circumstances, and as citizens, we can’t find the civility to rise beyond tribal loyalties. When Lionel Craig made his Douglas Leopold Philips remark was such an occasion when he should have been rejected. The remarks by Ronald Jones represents another instance. You may seek conform in the notion that you are helping your party and Jones in the short term but in the longer term actions like yours forever poison the political culture and make it impossible be drive transformation. A absence of space for transformation makes real development impossible. This failure opens up us all to unknown and deleterious future circumstances and invites perdition. So in short you are doing the reverse of what you think you are doing.

We disagree with you about ‘Dottin”. As students of the laws of war we see Jones’ remarks as worthy of the ultimate punishment.

5. David

This piece is a bit of overanalysing: it could be summed up quite simply, Jones is a fool, and out of the mouths of fools come foolishness.

6. David (not BU) Avatar
    David (not BU)

One would think the focus should be on moving the country forward but maybe that is another “Wonderful attempt to take some pressure off the Barbados Labour Party and its minions, in its time of need.!!!!!!”

but alsa, “There will be no side tracking though.”

God help us ALL…

7. @Pacha

There is no merit in trying to kill a fly with a hammer.

8. @ David
    A bigger problem is that they are ALL gadflies

9. SMH, ya’ll really think that Ronald Jones losing sleep over this non-issue?

10. Jones, Estwick and a few other DLP MPs indicated they had turned to their lawyers after the E11 saga unravelled. What is the status of this matter?

11. not interested ………………………………………………………………………………..

12. George C. Brathwaite Avatar
    George C. Brathwaite

This submission is generally fair, to the point, and has confirmed a view held by many that Ronald Jones should have resigned by now and therefore he has to be the first casualty of PM Stuart’s 2013 Cabinet. Anything less will speak more of Stuart than of Jones.

13. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS

What an ass and lets not get in to the hole.

14. why wunna dont move to Russia nuh?
    ww.youtube.com/watch?v=3LqEFkadXjQ

15. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Point # 1.

Under no circumstances will the DLP go through a repeat of the 1991 no confidence motion!!!! And that is not because of loyalty to party or any such BS, it is based on self preservation, safeguarding one’s pension and egotism. Look how wunna does genuflect when de minister come in de room, dey heah to stay.

Point # 2

If the premise of the first point is grounded in some fact then, unless a few of them are more idiotic than we know them to be, each of them going tow the line and while Fumble can see the glaring incompetence of the epitome of “we jonesing” in RJ, his hands are tied (thank you red plastic bag)

Point #3

So Fumble cannot move the bungling ignoramus what are his options? Leaving him alone, though politically safe for his administration is not in the interest of the country and our education matrix. What would be the use of your pension when We Jonesing so f up the system and you have an onslaught of unemployed and unemployable young criminals loose to rob your scunt when you are a retired pensioner. Since you can’t move the clown I suggest that you utilize what many dictators have done before you and employ a tier of watchdogs, your hand picked team of experts to assist RJ and others of the SCUNTS in your party to address their intellectual shortcomings. Errol Barrow did it successfully and so can you.

If you don’t do something real quick Fumble all uh we gine be catspraddle bout hey.

Point # 4

Fumble, as hard as it it, try not to give Jones too much information about the Sidney Burnett Alleyne like situation that you are grappling with, he is no Richlieu and does not know how to keep secrets

16. old onion bags Avatar

How is this as a more apt title…..” Deciduous Dotard Donald want Dottined for Fascist Farinaceous-ness”………to this day still no apology, most unfortunate indeed.

17. old onion bags Avatar

Donald Duck indeed…..

18. Doctor Cassandra Avatar
    Doctor Cassandra

Ignoble Ignoramus want the Fumble’s boot all the way up to the first intestine…OUCH.Then more shoite would flow down, thereby avoiding the cranium.

19. Is it not mind boggling how we give politicians on all sides a pass because of political lackeyism? Sad really.

20. old onion bags Avatar

mrcorrecto | June 22, 2013 at 11:53 PM |

why wunna dont move to Russia nuh?

……..why bother? cant you see Ronald has a vision of moving Stalingrad here

21. old onion bags Avatar

Come to think of it, I need to amend my 6.39 am suggested title…try this on

” Deciduous Dotard Donald wanted Dottin, for Fascist Farinaceous-ness”…

but he said NOoooooooooooooooo not me! LOL

22. Say it isn't so Avatar
    Say it isn’t so

She he to play in the party…Scrunter…

23. David I have long stopped caring about the thoughts of some so-called white people in Barbados; proof of their actions abounds.

What is wrong with Jones stating the obvious to his hypothetical? If there is an insurrection, /uprising, would not the authorities be expected to restore order, by whatever means?
    Chupse!

Why is Mia objecting to Guyson Mayers current position on the PSC but would have said nothing about Dottin’s elevation over Hinds and others? chuspe!

Uh lot uh wunnuh on hey aint fooling nuhbody wid wunnuh so called non-partisan position. Chuspe!

What is of interest to me is how does the BLP intend to string together a coherent message of unity –necessary in our current culture and system of politics- to assuage the concerns of Barbadians that they are “ready” to be the next government of Barbados. The BLP cannot still be thinking that registered voter citizens in buhbados takes them seriously. Chupse!

24. @Adrian What precedent is there for Jones to make such a statement? It was an ignorant statement. This is not Guyana or even Jamaica. Why if anybody is critical of the action of a politician it means one is B or D? We need to get away from this mindset and challenge the issues. The education department which Jones has presided for going on 6 years is in shambles with senior teachers accepting early retirement. Even before this statement Jones should have been fired over the AX affair.

You ask about unity? How does Jones statement add value to the political climate which is presently charged? The private sector is exactly where we were in 1991 and come next economic review the crap will hit the fan.

25. @Adrian What precedent is there for Jones to make such a statement? It was an ignorant statement. This is not Guyana or even Jamaica. Why if anybody is critical of the action of a politician it means one is B or D? We need to get away from this mindset and challenge the issues.

– so they must now be a precedent to make ignorant statements in our parliament?

Wunnuh calling for Jones to resign? or for the PM to fire him? really when has such ever occurred? chuspe!

Yes I asked about unity BUT IN THE CONTEXT OF A POLITICAL PARTY GOING INTO AN ELECTION IN OUR SYSTEM OF GOVERNMENT.

The issue is singular and has always been. Our system of government is what it is and no matter how You and others continue in to be a gleeful audience to this pantomime, it will remain the contrivance that it is, and no amount of rhetoric about what “ought to be” isn’t going to change it. chuspe!

But tell muh what harm has been done by Jones words? 🙂

26. @Adrian

Thanks for you clarification on the unity thing. What Jones words have done is to continue to expose we have ignorant MPs in parliament and leadership while lacks resolve where decisions are being made based on political expediency and not in the national interest. We can’t have blood so we will continue to embarrass the hell out of them until something gives. In this vein we are keeping tabs on the Hinkson Payne nonsense.

27. Wait David you still blaming Jones fuh de fallout of AX? Isn’t the matter now resolved? What results were you looking for? Can you list the steps that should have been taken to achieved that results?

what exactly is the reason for senior teachers taking early leave? and how does this reason fall squarely in the lap of the Jones either as the cause or for failure to rectify?

28. Bushie, yuh see um aint only Miller that suffers delusions of effectiveness about our system of government? David how can you have effective Leadership when the Leader is a creature of a system that says he nothing more than “first amongst his equals?” chupse!

29. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

This submission is bare foolishness. The person who submitted it really have too much time on his hands.

The Right Hon. Ronald Jones was perfectly correct in what he said. Time to move on Ladies.

30. @Adrian

Wait David you still blaming Jones fuh de fallout of AX? Isn’t the matter now resolved? What results were you looking for? Can you list the steps that should have been taken to achieved that results?

The King Report by the PM’s own admission languished on his desk for months. Even if the report was questioned by all sides there was enough to indicate that AX was a volcano waiting to erupt. He appointed Keith Simmons and the MOE had an education officer who sat on the governing body at AX. This means Jones was fully apprised of the nonsense occurring at AX. Failing the official stream of info he sat in a rumshop with Broomes most weekends and most of them are fraternity brothers. IF he still did not get it he and the lot operated in Wendy Griffith’s (former education chief) social circle most times. It is a den of incestuous relationships.

what exactly is the reason for senior teachers taking early leave? and how does this reason fall squarely in the lap of the Jones either as the cause or for failure to rectify?

Teachers are taking early retirement because the behaviour of children in the system has deteriorated in recent years and teachers can’t be bothered. In fact many are retiring and continuing to teach from home (after school lessons). This is happening under his watch. The cellphone ban is a classic example how Jones directive has been ignored by principals. There is the bad decision making around NAPSAC and BSSAC this year. The list is long.

31. Carson………speaking about ladies, you never gave me your opinion on Mara, Maxine and the other ladies who now make up part of DLP and all the other females who are now also suck on the purse of the taxpayers, i would still like to know how you feel about them seeing that you present yourself as sexist.

32. “Bushie, yuh see um aint only Miller that suffers delusions of effectiveness about our system of government? David how can you have effective Leadership when the Leader is a creature of a system that says he nothing more than “first amongst his equals?” chupse!”

Let us begin with the premise that no system is perfect. For change to come a leader in its true definition will have to lead it.

33. David
    We are not going to get anyway in Barbados until the masses of people go to the streets and demand a different system of government where the people hold day to day power. This is the only way we can effect genuine change. Jones has made a clear declaration of war on the people and we should now declare war on him and the whole system. This man has not been censured and nothing will happen to him except the masses rise up!

34. A) Blacks commit 8 times more assaults than Whites. B) Blacks commit 9 times more rapes than Whites. C) Blacks commit 14 times more murders than Whites. D) Blacks commit 19 times more armed robberies. E) Black neighborhoods are 35 times more violent than White neighborhoods. F) There were 629,000 interracial attacks committed in 1985 (the last year the FBI “chose” to report this information). Some nine out of every ten were committed by Blacks against Whites. G. Black males (6% of the population) make up 46% of the nation’s prison population.

35. Seeing that prison is big business in the metropolis’, it is in the best interest of those states to keep the prisons populated, incorrecto, they really need to keep you in Bim and if you are not now there, send you back and when everything finally goes south, don’t let you leave.

36. Say it isn't so Avatar
    Say it isn’t so

@ Adrian
    Back home in your motherland, houses bear on the top of their roofs an instrument for showing the direction of wind gust called a wind vane. This allow inhabitant to know before hand the outcome of whippin up the furnace…… Also sometimes within their gardens is a gnome effigy of a blacken faced welcoming jockey boy wearing a red cap and white trousers for the loquacious at tea n trumpets….less we forget the Englishman and his customs

37. DLP (formerly CBC) TV Avatar
    DLP (formerly CBC) TV

COULD CARSON C CADOGAN DEPUTY CHAIRMAN OF THE (UNBIASED) ST. MICHAEL CENTRAL CONSTITUENCY COUNCIL GO AND PAY THE OLD LADY LIGHT BILL THAT WANNA PROMISE SHE YOU WOULD PAY?? I mean good GOD, wanna stoop to a new low of lying to people when wanna buying votes!!!! I mean if wanna already use up all the $100,000.00 allocated to the council to vote buying, just type a nicely formatted letter with a bold letterhead, detailing such to the old lady!!!!. If you ain’t know how to type the letter use the EAGER ELEVEN letter as a guide!!!Cheez on man, what happened to the promise of trust and transparency the DLP promise to people. Carson don’t spend all your time tied up to this blog,!!!! Jonesy already got people of low moral fiber in to defend him!!!

38. @Pachamama
    It is not something I would love to see but I think de dog dead and only an uprising can possibly bring the authorities in this country to a ‘christian’ understanding. I remember when you would hear it regularly that the youth are in crisis and to blame for much of the decay in society but time has shown that de young people were being used as scapegoats.

This culture we got whereby once you got de right name, belong to de right family or belong to de right association (whether lodge, church or otherwise), you can do as you like, has destroyed this country.

39. FIRING LINE: The silence is silly

By Shantal Munro-Knight | Sun, June 23, 2013 – 12:00 AM
    I am not sure who is advising the current administration or perhaps who are the listened-to people who have the ear of those in leadership but if I knew who they were, I would tell them that they are not worthy to advise my nine-year-old. I would not hire them for anything, not even to read me instructions from a recipe book.
    I find the ongoing approach to public engagement by this Government silly, offensive, and it smacks of a lack of understanding of the Barbadian public. It is untenable!
    You have a senior Government minister who makes the most unfortunate remarks possible and even amid calls from all quarters of this society for an apology, there is nothing but silence. An apology is the minimum for an offence. All the majority of the calls were asking is that the minister say sorry (in any other international jurisdiction he would have been made to resign forthwith). Saying sorry is what we do when we misstep and mash someone’s toe. Not even that the public of Barbados was deemed worthy of receiving.   I do believe that upon some reflection, the minister in question would have regretted what was said and particularly how it was conveyed. I believe that from what we know of the minister from previous public utterances, he is passionate and does have a penchant for controversial remarks, but I have never found him to be a necessarily unreasonable character. What or who would stop such a minister from coming back to the public shame-faced and suitably chastised by his party leader to say sorry?
    The other key dynamic that convinces me the advisors need firing is that the Barbadian public is a politician’s dream public. We are one of the most forgiving anywhere. We have short memories and someone will always stop and say “cuddear, give him a chance”. I believe that the expectation is that with silence the issue will blow over. However, it compounds the feeling that this Government is treating us dismissively and with a level of disdain that is becoming entrenched.
    This is all the more disturbing when we add the recent forced retirement of Commissioner of Police Darwin Dottin by the Police Services Commission (PSC), reportedly in the “public interest”. Come on now! This was not the head of the rum shop society or some little known public agency. This is the top of your police force who is let go under contentious circumstances and again we are treated to silence. No one is saying to comment on the legality of the action, but you cannot have the kind of public wrangling and court battles befalling the police force at this time and someone not at the very least tell the public that Government is on top of the situation. There is a process to apprise the public with necessary information. Again, a minimum response! For me, there is the feeling that even the very minimum of accountability is not being practised.
    I would not even bother to comment on the fact that the public should be told why the commissioner was retired. If we cannot get the minimum, I do not see how we will reach this stage of open accountability.
    This present situation took me back to the sacking of key persons under the previous Owen Arthur administration. The public was treated in much the same way.
    The lack of public accountability in the affairs of Government is becoming endemic. Our present political system offers little for us to press for redress. Essentially, we once again have to “like it or lump it”. Time is longer than twine, so we will wait.
    I do also want to make an overarching comment about the issues plaguing the police force at this time. The force is one of the arms of justice in this country. There is an explicit trust that the public has to put in the hands of the Royal Barbados Police Force. We have to trust that they will act professionally, within the law and treat all fairly in the execution of their duties.
    If we expect those attributes from the police force in their dealings with us, but there is a perception that fairness and justice as it relates to promotions and other such things are not carried out according to those same values, then we have a disconnect. The character of the organization is reflected not only in what it does publicly but how it treats its own on the inside.
    I would suggest that perhaps now is a good time for someone (free advice for the advisors) to signal a process which would lead to the complete overhaul of institutional processes of the police force in order to imbue greater transparency and openness in how it does its business. Greater accountability will not threaten its operations; it will ensure confidence and goodwill.
    • Shantal Munro-Knight is a development specialist and executive coordinator at the Caribbean Policy Development Centre.

40. old onion bags Avatar

Yeah CARSON

The woman says she keeping the PO full this time up til 11 o clock for ya…..she don’t like promise breakers….. You n Blacks better keep a big piece-a plastic ready, for when you go up DEM steps wid an apology chumps…..LOL

41. Sorry to inject this link into such a serious debate……….but this will impact heavily once again on the issues now affecting the island, it’s just for information not to distract or invite comment…….

http://cdn.mediatakeout.com/63536/mto-exclusive-rihanna-announces-that-she-s-not-black-she-considers-herself-biracial.html

42. @ David
    Man leave Bushie out of you and Adrian’s bassa bassa…

As far as Bushie is concerned, Caswell gave the best explanation of Jones’ comments….
    …what else do you expect from a man operating ten levels above his degree of competence…?

At least more Bajans are coming to see what Bushie has been saying since BU started
    ….our ass is as good as grass….

Answer this….
    Fire Jones and put who…?

43. @Bushie

Ralph Jemmot

44. @ correcto @10.27
    Thanks.
    Those stats are likely correct.

Paints the difference between men and boys…. Probably the impact of melanin…. Also accounts for a significant amount of female tourist apparently…
    Can you imagine how this world would be if in addition, blacks were as deceitful, greedy and scheming?
    Be thankful for small mercies 🙂

45. @David
    I think Bushie did want a selection from de present crop of MPs. Who would you move from de senate so Ralph Jemmot can get mek Minister of Edu?

46. The majority of Barbadians,those with high and those with low melanin content have ancestors whose melanin content was different to the present day ones and if so inclined could term themselves biracial.

47. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Oilman | June 23, 2013 at 11:16 AM

Let me help you with that one, Oilman!
    What about Reggie Hunte or even the quisling Darcy Boyce?
    Isn’t Darcy Boyce amore of a redundant clone of Jepter Ince who at least had the intestinal fortitude to face the electorate?

48. @Oilman

Patrick Todd.

49. @ David and Miller
    For political reasons you may wanna keep Todd in de senate to give him more visibility in de public eye. He still young and most likely will contest de city seat again. I would get rid of Reggie Hunte if anything.