Hal Austin
Hal Austin

Introduction:
Globally, a greater proportion of privately educated pupils go on to higher education than those educated in the public education system. Not only does this simple empirical reality does not take a lot of analysis and can be explained in a way many of us will understand, its simplicity also hides a lot of generational advantages; for example, it is common knowledge that children from black and Hispanic backgrounds underperform when compared with their white counterparts. (For a greater and more technical argument, see: Joseph Stiglitz: “The demand for education in public and private school system”, Journal of Public Economics (1974); G. Brunello and L. Rocco: “Educational Standards in Privatew and Public Schools”, Economic Journal (2008).

One of the advantages of a private education is that pupils are often privately trained, in addition to their normal classroom experience, to take the key public exams, be they the 11plus, CXCs or final degrees, success in which brings enormous prestige. Such a privatised, exam-focused system does not necessarily produce young men and women with the skills and ability to think critically, indulge in team-working, or carry out complex research, all part of modern higher education and the best working environments. Increasingly, most post-graduate study is now inter-disciplinary and the knowledge-based workplace is an environment of collaborating with colleagues and ideas sharing.

Related Link: Notes From a Native Son: The Role of Education Policy in Development Part One

Development:
Given these recent global developments, the challenge for any national government, battling to divide up fiscal resources, is how best to spend the little available revenue. An efficient and cost-conscious government must be creative in the distribution of funds and sensitive to the challenges posed by similar economies and demands made on the national purse strings by equally important departments. One innovation that is worth serious consideration by a hard-pressed government when selecting young people to go on in state-sponsored education is the way examinees are marked. Should pupils be given an examination, or assessed, or be asked to produce modules, or a combination of the three, when determining who should be given the few opportunities? What is the most advantageous way of extracting maximum intellectual value from our pre and post-graduates students? These are not theoretical questions since they go right to the heart of who should be sponsored by taxpayers.

Finance:
The moral challenge for a small nation, which has the importance of education at its very heart, is how to share the education budget, how to divide up the cake in so many micro slices that each worthy cause is satisfied. What is certain is that the present way of spending the education budget is not the most efficient. Government has a legal obligation to educate pupils from the age of five to 16 (although this should be increased to 18), but beyond that funding is a discretionary policy decision. As things stand, the biggest part of post-18 educational spend is on university students, although this is not necessarily the most prudent way. For all the reasons we have heard and discussed, the cost of funding UWI students is far beyond what is ethically or economically fair. The universal tuition payment is a regressive tax, a subsidy, from the ordinary working people to the children of the middle class professionals and the aspiring working class offspring. The assumptions beyond such a policy are flawed as they assume an equality of opportunity, an underlying principle of social justice, is the driver of the policy. It is not. One better way of funding post-18 education, and in particular higher education, and make it relevant to national development, is for the educational ministry to create a rolling five year educational plan, including the skills and professional needs of the nation, up to 2030 and beyond.

A higher educational and skills training finance pot will then be created from which a sum will be allocated for funding undergraduate studies and skills training, including the subjects and skills, and the number of people who would benefit from bursaries, scholarships, exhibition awards and bursaries. Such a reform will include putting the university on five years’ warning that of the due date it must set up al alternative self-funding structure, with full support from government, part of which would be an allocation of a budget for scholarships and hardship awards. As things stand at present, the Yale Endowment is the best self-funding model, managed by professional fund managers, which in the five preceding years the government would do its best to help establish. Part of this restructuring will include re-modelling the university business model in on a core/satellite basis, removing all the non-core (ie teaching and researching responsibilities) and outsourcing or selling off the non-core business. Accommodation, silver-service restaurant, book shop, etc, will all be sold or leased to commercial or social enterprise organisations. Then there is the question of extra-curricula activities. Is it important that a state-funded university in a small, indebted economy should have a cricket playing field arguably the best in the country? Should students be concentrating on playing competitive sports or studying? Of course, a university having a campus gym is essential, as a healthy body produces a healthy mind. However, those men and women who want to compete national should be encouraged to do so, but  through existing organisations. In any case, to compete an international cricketer does not necessitate a university education, and if people simply want to keep themselves engaged then they are free to join independent and friendly clubs.

Economic Costs:
The cost of poor secondary and higher education, expressed in terms of underachievements when compared with similar countries, can be measured in terms of hundreds of millions of dollars of unrealised economic gains. Take, for example, the pinnacle of secondary education, the Barbados Scholarship, first created in the 1920s for the one or two bright students who were too poor to access a university education. To this day, no public audits of the scheme have ever been published by the government; no inventive PhD students have done their theses on the scheme; no education minister has ever thought it relevant to order a study of its post-war (or post independence) performance; and, unforgivably, no media body has every thought it an important information service to offer its readers, listeners or viewers. We do not know what is the total cost, or even its annual cost, who are the main beneficiaries? Were they educated in the ordinary public schools or privately? What is their social backgrounds? Nothing. What is more, we do not know how many have gone on to post-graduate studies and where? What subjects they have studied? Have they formed part of the brain drain? What have been their professional success stories? One thing we do know is that employers, public and private, will prefer to hire applicants with high-quality skills and qualifications and at higher salaries. Improving organisational capabilities can also add productivity value to any institutions, by improving skills, the nature of collaboration, the sharing of ideas and organisational competences.

Post-18 Training:
The funding of post-18 technical and craft training is a subject of special concern. As things stand, if a young man or woman wants to undertake skills training at the Samuel Jackman Prescod Polytechnic s/he has to pay, largely unsubsidised. This is morally wrong. In fairness, all those registering for SJPP should have a full rebate on successful completion of the course. The only people who should face having to pay should be those who failed to complete the course, and this should only be on a case by case basis.

Overseas Expansion:
Unless UWI expands overseas, in other words goes global, it will find that other institutions of higher education will plant their tanks on UWI’s lawns. We already have the offshore medical schools, and an explosion of onshore universities in the US, Canada and Europe, that specifically target Caribbean students and have made specialism of subjects that should rightly be dominated by UWI. To give but a few examples, the University of Florida and Florida International University, McGill in Canada, any number of New York universities, London Metropolitan and Warwick in the UK – all offer more challenging studies of Caribbean-focused courses than UWI. Sometime ago the top brass at the UWI were giving serious consideration to opening a campus in London. It was, and is, a brilliant idea. I was asked if I had any opinions and suggested to the person who approached me that UWI should go ahead and open, but rather than try to compete with the global super-universities, most of which have campuses in London, should cut out a niche area and make a soft launch: Full, part-time and weekend certificates, diplomas and degrees in Caribbean studies, Caribbean history; a variety of law courses, including the bar exams; etc. None of these course would be construed as challenging to the other universities, will be very attractive to people of Caribbean descent and especially to black lawyers who cannot afford the time or expense of going to St Augustine or Mona to take bar exams, but will like the option of being able to practice in the Caribbean. If they want to offer medical training, then recruit in Britain/US/Canada and train in the Caribbean. We know already the islands are popular because the offshore medical have told us so. However, word came back that the senior managers were thinking of opening a medical school. Can you believe that the British medical authorities would sit by and allow these intruders to open a medical school in London without a fight? They may not fault it on academic grounds, but they will, in time, find some ‘legitimate’ way to bar the UWI medical school from operating. Just look at how they treat our banks. The irony of this is that with an invasion of offshore medical schools, the challenge when it comes to medical training is at home, not immediately overseas.

Collaboration:
Senior managers at Cave Hill are understood to be pressuring the government for funding to build a hotel on the ground that it is about to become a centre for Yale University students looking to spend a year based in Barbados. It is a silly idea and one that should be dismissed out of hand. What can a university, not even in the top one-hundred universities in the region have to benefit from having a joint enterprise with one of the top ten global universities? Of course, I see what benefits Yale can extract from such an arrangement, but that is another story. What UWI should be discussing with Yale, however, is its dynamic endowment fund, which has been copied by almost every private US university, but never bettered. Government should put UWI on a five-year notice of its intention to re-structure its funding.

First, from a targeted year, students should be compelled to pay their own tuition fees; this can be done upfront by those whose families are in a position to meet their own liabilities, or alternative sources could be the banks, insurance companies or the government, as lender of last resort. Those obtaining public funding must have a secured guarantor and must arrange to repay the government or an agreed period of time. In the meantime, if they want to leave the jurisdiction of the Barbados courts, they would only be allowed to do so with the agreement of their guarantors, who would be told of the full consequences of defection.

Online Education:
Finally, there should be a system of life-long education, preferably offered online and to which every Barbadian citizen would be given free access. Courses offered should range from basic reading and arithmetic, to crafts, hobbies, languages, in fact any activity that would take mature and retired people to their graves – and at minimum cost.

Analysis and Conclusion:
In 1983, in a remarkable exercise of self-examination, the United States government published a document, A Nation at Risk, looking at the state of its education policies. Whatever the politics, it was a small document of monumental proportions, since it was forcing the most powerful and academically most advanced nation in the world (based on Nobel Prizes and authorships) to take a deep, long look at the quality of its public education. The report was welcomed by most responsible Americans, with the exceptions of most teachers and teaching unions. What was particularly significant about the study was the statement that: “If an unfriendly foreign power had attempted to impose on America the mediocre educational performance that exists today, we might well have viewed it as an act of war. As it stands, we have allowed this to happen to ourselves.” Remove the reference to America and replace it with Barbados to get an idea of the dimension of educational decline in Barbados – it is a national strategic scandal.

The myth of a graduate in each home cannot be used as a cover for the complexities and uncertainties of social, economic and educational achievements of domestic cultures nor, indeed, as a substitute for a proper analysis of national development needs. Barbados is badly in need of an educational New Deal, a root and branch reform of a system that has served us well over the last century. But, with historic global changes that are in danger of smothering small nation-states, what is needed is a system that will equip young Barbadian men and women to compete with their peers from all over the world on a level playing field. The promise of post-independence education in small developing nations, is as the main vehicle for social change, equality of opportunity and social justice.

One thing we must as a society get rid of is the idea that higher education is free, that no one pays for it and that the lucky recipient has no further obligations to society once s/he walks away in a graduating gown, mortar board and diploma in hand. That is a myth that first saw the light of day as political propaganda, and has been so successful, that generations later people in Barbados still swear that higher education is free. It is in fact paid for by taxpayers of the current generation or, if allowed to build up as part of the mountain of public sector debt, by future generations. There is a huge economic cost to extending educational opportunities to every home in the nation; but that is the purpose of the social compact between citizens and the state. However, this does not mean that the state should default when it comes to extracting maximum value from its spending. Further, a university education is the biggest driver of career success, a passport to the brain drain (of which the Caribbean is a major loser).

Finally, we need an annual measure of the achievements of our pupils when compared internationally with Singapore, Finland, South Korea, or with St Lucia, Jamaica, or Panama, just to name a few, at ages 5-7, 10-12 and 15-18. Then, and only then, will we know if we are sinking or swimming.

Further Reading:

• Who Chooses Which Private Education? Theory and International Evidence (Guiseppe Bertola and Daniela Checchi)
  • The Bell Curve: Intelligence and Class Structure in American Life (Richard J. Herrnstrein and Charles Murray)

62 responses to “Notes From a Native Son: The Role of Education Policy in Development Part Two”

1. It may seem trivial but even the children attending private schools do better in sports activities. The challenge for the country is that private students invariable will focus on the academics. This must impact the quality of the national sports program.

2. Alvin Cummins Avatar

Where is your evidence? give me facts and statistics notsuppositions. Where is your Data/ I will comment on Hal’s article in depth because I cannot believe what I am reading. Hal is proposing a situation that will take us back to that obtained pre 1966. When I went to secondary school. All students paayed.
    d
    Lodge and Harrison College were no different except that all the white people tried to send their children to Lodge, but there performances were no better than those who went to Harrison College. Hal’s comments will be dissected line by line and commented on.

3. Alvin Cummins Avatar

Where are the private schools in Barbados where the students do better than those at public schools? Are you talking about those at pre-secondary level?

4. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Alvin Cummins | June 21, 2013 at 8:32 AM

We wait with bated breath for your critique on Hal’s proposal regarding the future funding of education and training at both the Secondary and Tertiary levels.

Let us warn you though, Alvin, if you think that you are going to make an impression by simply refuting and dismissing as nonsense what Hal has put on the table without coming up with reasonably thought-out alternatives you have another thing coming.

Just a few suggestions to create the framework within which you might present your counter argument if you are to make any meaningful impact on the BU audience:

‘Barbados has a serious fiscal problem that must be tackled urgently if the entire public financing system is not to come to a grinding halt.

Education consumes the largest slice of the dwindling fiscal pie.

The government is being forced daily to make difficult expenditure choices between paying salaries, pensions and meeting massively growing debt servicing obligations.

Some public provided goods and services must be cut back or citizens asked to take on a greater share of the financial obligation to meet the provision of these social goods.’

Now your turn Alvin!

PS: the BU family is quite familiar with the miller’s position regarding the funding of education especially at the tertiary level.

5. Alvin…………do are really good analysis about public vs private education not only in Bim but any country in the world, I am a little more than qualified to understand your analysis including personal experience.

6. Georgie Porgie Avatar

When I was 20, I got a vacation job in the Public Health Lab.
    As part of the analysis, the Microbiology technologists would take stool samples, put a bit in a tube with two long sticks and saline and stir vigorously. Then they would examine parts of the suspension for ova cysts and parasites.

The same process can be used for asston’s posts.

7. @Alvin

Remember this, BU does not post deliberate untruths. National Sports Council coach OckKy Donovan made the statement on national radio this week that the private school teams have been performing better in primary school competitions and are always better prepared.

Do you think he should know Alvin?

8. Much ado about nothing. Private schools know that their survival lies in part on winning hearts and minds to the value of their product. This is no different than any person or institution focusing on something to make better or to maintain. In contrast what is occuring in public schools is part of the human condition to allow complacency to overcome what was once a good thing.

9. Georgie Porgie Avatar

We seem to forget that in the 60’s that there were several private secondary schools. There have always been private primary schools.

But there are some of us who dont like elite schools, even though they aspire to elitism in their personal lives.

10. There are maybe two or three private high schools that can seriously compete with the Older Grammar Schools. Most of the private high schools in Barbados could not have competed academically with the older grammar schools. That is why there was no chance of these high schools getting near an island scholarship or even exhibition. They did not even have six forms. Also, many blacks did not start attending the real sophisticated private high schools until after the mid-seventies, as the upper black middle class became bigger. In terms of pure academic achievement the older public grammar schools have out-performed the private secondary schools and continue to do so.
    In recent times the newer comprehensive public schools have been on par or doing better than the private secondary schools, excluding the two or three mentioned earlier. Most black owned private high schools are now on the verge of extinction since the reason for their existence is fading quickly; they no longer attract large rolls and it is economically impossible to keep them going.We can safely suggest that public education in Barbados, all things considered, has been far superior to private education but the changing socio-economic demographics may now be responsible for some shift. It is possible that the well to do blacks, who can now afford what were once essentially white private schools. and other economically strong ethic groups have given the expensive private high schools the necessary numbers and money to improve their product.
    We must also remember that these same high end private schools always had nursery and primary school plants. Again in terms of pure academic achievement they did as well the government primary schools with the Common Entrance. It must also be stated that there were some black -owned private primary schools that did equally as well. When we look at the distribution of island scholarships , exhibitions and so on. We can conclude that children who went from the then white primary schools , in terms of the population performed as well as those who went from the public and essentially black primary schools . This can also be argued for children who attended the excellent black private primary schools.
    Any serious discussion of education in Barbados must take into consideration race and the distribution of wealth and how it has affected the dispensation of “free” education in Barbados.
    To put it mildly ,whites sent there children to private primary schools and then they went of to superb public academic instruction at the older grammar schools. Blacks sent their children to private black primary schools and they also went on to a superb academic instruction at the public older grammar schools.
    Fortunately for the poor mostly black masses an excellent primary school system and a the older grammar schools were made accessible for their children. Those who now promote that free education should be abandoned, should pay close attention as to who can REALLY afford free education in Barbados. To abandon free education will be to destroy the very poor black people who don’t have the financial resources to pay. .

11. The emergence of private schools in Barbados is located at the primary level – Wills, Providence, Condrington,etc. Is the rise because of a dissatisfaction with the public school system or is it being feed by an elitist desire.

12. @ georgie porghie

I do not know who georgie porgie is, nor do I care to know, but in the forum he is sometimes described as a medical doctor, a Barbados Scholar and, more often than not, an idiot.
    My impression is that he is a sick, semi-literate, demented buffoon who is badly in need of mental health.
    If he really is a doctor he should be stopped from practising.

13. Georgie Porgie Avatar

lol lol lol
    temper temper lol

asstin YOU DO NOT HAVE TO PLAY AT EVERY BALL! LOL

FORTUNATELY THE PEOPLE WHO REALLY MATTER DOES NOT SHARE YOUR FECULENT VIEW. LOL LOL

14. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Here is a man with porcine look who finds it necessary on a weekly basis to post a load of rubbish on BU, which few read talking about buffoons! lol

Here is a man trying to be relevant on BU by posting a load of rubbish on BU, which few read trying to be a psychologist /psychiatrist.

Here is a man with porcine look who pretends to know everything about everything.

DELUSIONS OF GRANDEUR

15. @ Georgie Porgie

It is not temper, but sadness and pity at the state you are in. It is evidence, if we needed it, that we should abandon the Barbados Scholarship, carefully supervise our doctors, and with one or two, teach them basic English grammar.
    This is how you are repaying taxpayers for the huge sums spent in educating you.

16. Georgie Porgie Avatar

I AM WATCHING CRICKET ON TV AND HAVING FUN MOCKING YOU, YOU POMPOUS PORCINE

WHEN I NEED ENGLISH GRAMMAR I AM GOOD AT IT

BUT WHO NEEDS IT ON BU? LOL EVER READ ANYTHING BY AC LOL ROTFLMAO

I PAID BACK THE TAX PAYERS BY WORKING WITH SEVERAL DEPARTMENTS IN MY TIME.(AND I WAS NOT BONDED) LOL

WEEP NOT FOR ME SIR BUT FOR YOUR MIRROR, AND YOUR WIFE WHO MUST VIEW YOUR PORCINE FACE DAILY. LOL

WHILE TEACHING IN ST LUCIA LAST YEAR I SAW IMPLEMENTED IN THE POLYCLINICS ALL OF THE IDEAS I PROPOSED ON BU IN 2008. LOL

17. ha ha ha clearly Al Austin isn’t acquainted with the many many comments GP has made in this forum. My opinion of Al’s articles are that they are long, well written and hardly ever addresses specific local issues in a substantive way. 🙂

18. Georgie Porgie Avatar

AH
    The man is a theorist. He needs to come down to where the rubber meets the road. Lengthy articles and talk about policy does by itself achieve little change. There are too many factors involved.

I was once invited to become a MOH and declined when one of the SMOH’S told me that decisions were made in the MOH according to who made the most noise- i.e the Minister. I thought that my time between 4 and 8 pm. would be better spent at home in my garden

19. @GP & Adrian

There is a place for the theorist and bloggers who bring a training which is focused on policy building. Bear in mind we have our politicos and technocrats who follow BU. It is how we share our learning and ideas which may lead to productive outcomes.

20. Georgie Porgie Avatar

It is written BE WISE AS A SERPENT!
    With all the Public Health theory and knowledge of policy one had/has, it was/is almost impossible to get productive incomes when dealing with morons and mendicants in the MOH.

21. Mobility is the very essence of life; action speaks louder than words etc. Theory like dreams need transformation into practical reality. I will welcome more emphasis on best practices in “getting things done.” Everybody thinking, and talking; so many theories abound, yet little is being done.

22. Point taken Adrian but any robust tactical plan ie. action as you describe it, must flow from an overarching policy to ensure goals are efficiently met.

23. Georgie Porgie Avatar

no DAVID
    WHAT IS NEEDED IS THE WILL TO ACT………………..or as was the case in 1985 THE NEED TO ACT! THE BLP WERE IN POWER ALMOST TWO TERMS AND HAD DONE NOTHING IN THIS AREA.

There was no robust tactical plan, just a basic teaching to a desperate politician, who set the wheels in motion.

24. Georgie Porgie Avatar

THE BLP WERE IN POWER ALMOST TWO TERMS AND HAD DONE NOTHING ABOUT THE NATIONAL HEALTH SERVICE THEY HAD PROMISED.

25. @GP

There has to be a will to act yes bit there must be a relevant policy and action plan. You have already commented that St.Lucia showed the will to act AND implement a relevant policy/plan has outlined by you. Even if there is the will to act in Barbados there is consensus that our education system need massive overhaul.

26. @ David
    “…. but any robust tactical plan ie. action as you describe it, must flow from an overarching policy to ensure goals are efficiently met.”
    Man David enough of the diplomatic juice do!
    Adrian is right. Most Bajans are just a bunch of wanabe academics whose mission in life is to fuzz their way along on the skirt tails of the few and dwindling producers in the damn place.

This fancy academic formatting with “introductions”, “research questions”, “main hypotheses” and fancy conclusions is just a lot of bull. …anyone with 18 months to spare can go through that process at Cave Hill at the taxpayers’ expense …..it means squat.

….One or two such eccentrics are OK, but hell man… We just plain have TOO MANY damn jokers like that….
    ….and if yuh get Bushie vex names would get call too…

Those fellows who are brave enough to use their names and their (porcine?) photos should start DOING something for a change instead of the lotta fancy talk…..
    Bushie agrees with GP.

On another note
    It is interesting how these so called academics respond to criticism. It is often NOT becoming…. GP was just being his wicked self to test the core of the writer….shiite man, Bushie INVENTED that technique. 🙂

Everyone is rational and intellectual when we agree with them and give them praise, you only see the TRUE character when you insult them or call them a fool…..

GP always had the potential to become a great bushman….he just went to the wrong school….. LOL Ha Ha

27. @Bush Tea

Let us agree to disagree. One must separate managing a complex system to that of a bushman’s hut.

28. Alvin Cummins Avatar

@Georgie Porgie, You were not too observant when you were in the Microbiology Dept. You would, or should, have observed that in addition to th

29. u nincoompoop the world couldn’t careless about ac grammar, look at the Chinese they speak little of the Queen’s English fluently but have become the financial power house of the world having morons like u and all the correct English and grammatically speaking countries bowing down to them in awe .Ac wuhloss don’t worry I Chinese and I bet I make more money than you GP,

30. Alvin Cummins Avatar

Sorry about that. the blog was interrupted by a computer glitch. As I was saying: the examination of stool for ova and cysts would have involved more than that. Ether would have been put in the tube and it would have been shaken to remove the detrius, while the ova and cysts remained. Formalin would have been added and the whole thing shaken again to preserve the parasites etc. and for more intense examination staining would have been used to ideentify the nuclei and nucleoli in any amoeba cysts. don’t give the impression that proper procedures were not followed. I know the staff there and know they are quite gooc and competent.

31. Alvin Cummins Avatar

@ Well Well. Will don.

32. Alvin Cummins Avatar

@Well Well. Will do.

33. Georgie Porgie Avatar

ALVIN

I NOTED ALL THAT YOU HAVE POINTED OUT MY FRIEND
    I GAVE ENOUGH INFO NECESSARY TO TEST ASSTIN’S DRIVEL

AC
    I BET YOU MAKE MORE MONEY THAN ME
    I WAS JUST POINTING OUT TO ASSTIN THAT ALL THE GRAMMAR AND SPELLIN AINT NO BIG THING ON BU

34. Yes! GP you are so right the world is technologically savvy giving us a faster and simpler way of comunication nobody is no longer bowed down in the mundane but is satisfied with speed and simplicity.

35. ROTFL @ David
    Let us agree to disagree. One must separate managing a complex system to that of a bushman’s hut.
    You may be quite shocked at the scale, scope and complexity of a Bushman’s hut…. 🙂

36. @Have long suspected BT…lol.

37. the gist of the article is that in order for Barbados to achieve and compete on a higher educational standard globally . the time has come for most or all to pull the weight financially in greasing the education system…that might be true in some respect . however the down side would be that those at the lower economic pole would be the ones most affected an left begin meaning that in overall the ends might not justify the means as one would wish as in so doing we would have cut out a path for more poverty while accelerating a welfare generation for years to come which too cost money.

38. For example BT et al, can Barbados continue to fund education in its existing form?

Is the education system producing the kind of graduate who is equipped to be productive in the current system or even lead change of said system?

These are policy positions which government needs to formulate to drive the learning necessary to produce ‘productive’ citizens. Once these policies are agreed then it is about execution.

39. no! our current system is stuck in a time warped still holding on fast and furious to the area of professionalism. what we need to see just like in any investment a return of profitability on our funding which can only happen if we upgrade our system to interact with a global environment at every level.

40. can Barbados continue to fund education in its existing form?
    Of course not David. That is patently obvious from a practical point of view (we can’t afford to)…but also true from a logical point of view.

This business of the state spending hundreds of millions of dollars to produce a bunch of clerks with masters and MBA degrees is pointless….unless you are a beneficiary of the half billion dollar per year of largesse that it represents.

Education is NOT AN END IN ITSELF. It is a MEANS towards an end. At the level on which bloggers are interested, the whole point of education is to prepare a people to be able to operate at their highest possible level of potential. The state’s major focus is in the best possible development of its people too, but not only at the individual level, but also at the collective national level. This means having an education system that is DESIGNED to produce citizens with the skills required to develop the society.
    After 60 years of extremely high expenses, we have to depend on outsiders to own and manage our utilities, banks, hospital, hotels, sugar factories…..even the damn newspapers.

Obviously EWB was under the mistaken impression that by ‘educating’ a people they would be expected to have the COMMON SENSE to see the bigger picture….. But he did not really understand the nature of brass bowls.

We should now do EXACTLY what Lee did in Singapore back when we opted to focus on education….. We should drop education as a state priority and focus instead on MERITOCRACY ….with education only as a facilitating support.
    HOW?
    Cut the annual education budget by 80% to a MAXIMUM of $100M per year.
    Spend the difference ($400m) on productivity bonus pay directly for RESULTS achieved in critical strategic areas.
    Let people PAY for their education – but then pay them HANDSOMELY for using it to be productive in strategic national areas.

Simple.

Of course at the (higher) bushman level, education is a much higher science. It is about understanding the purpose of this life experience and the long term factors of success therein.
    It is about learning and maturing individually and collectively during the educational experience to develop the best character that one can achieve….in anticipation of putting it all to the designed use at the appointed time….

41. Observing(ever so quietly) Avatar
    Observing(ever so quietly)

@Bushie
    ya batting like Sobers on this thread. excellent points!

These are policy positions which government needs to formulate to drive the learning necessary to produce ‘productive’ citizens. Once these policies are agreed then it is about execution.

1. Our current crop of leaders have a huge problem with conceptualizing far less properly initializing policy. Not enough persons have the “big picture – bird’s eye view mind.”

2. who cares about a productive citizen when you can spend 12 years creating a mindless slave?

3. Execution in Barbados is a bad word. We take 5 years to draft policy, 3 years to put systems for it in place and 2 years to roll it out. By the time we’ve started we are 10 years behind the problem and millions (of dollars, man hours and resources) poorer.

Just Observing (and now returning to my bat cave)

42. however I maintain that the alternative of not govt funding would be a social disaster especially among the poor and costing govt millions of dollars in the long term due in part leading to an over whelming downward spiral in social ills , a rapid increase in illiteracy leading to a rapid growth in poverty instantly compounding and aggravating the crime rate, the risk is extremely high and doesn’t worth it,,

43. millertheanunnaki Avatar

ac | June 21, 2013 at 9:44 PM |

So what do we do, nothing? Do you really think the money that Government spends on education grows on trees or is printed by Thomas de la Rue like photocopying the annual Estimates booklets (which by the way need to be presented in e-format since the members and top bureaucrats have all been given free laptops)?

The money that is spent of education comes from the private sector both businesses and individual taxpayers.

Unless education and its supporting funding arrangements are reformed urgently to reduce wastage, to produce more productive citizens and to support a thriving economy based on meritocratic values (to use the bushman term) instead of the two party-operated system of largesse and ‘yardfowlism’ what you fear most would be upon us like a real nightmare quicker that you would ever imagine or dream of.

We either adapt to the current funding challenges by coming up with imaginative alternatives to survive in this brave new world of the information age or allow fiscal inertia and decay to set in and leave us in a state of educational torpidity that only a person from the Victorian age might be able to recognize and revive.

Let us start by rewarding those in the system based on results achieved towards national development goals; as Bushie intimated.
    Let us also get rid of all paper-based teaching and learning methods and associated systems of measurement, assessment, evaluation and reporting.

44. Alvin Cummins Avatar

@Georgie Porgie.
    Sorry, I judged you too harshly. I missed the subtlety in your blog directed at Hal.I agree with you .

45. Alvin Cummins Avatar

I took it literally as a criticism of the technologists and the methodology.

46. Let.s build an educational system directed and diverse to building an economy and and not one of elitism that ony only serves a privileged few. World class economies have mastered the art of productivity by relying on skilled workers to be the building blocks of their economy such people in this country go unnoticed not because of money but by a mindset set of ideaological thinkers who beieve that skilled workers are of a lowerclass and has nothing to offer to a society.

47. Alvin Cummins Avatar

@David.
    I have finished reading Hal’s article and perused it thoroughly. It requires a lot of comments because some of his postulations are confusing. His comparison with Yale university, in the area of endowments, shows a propensity to putUWI and its graduates, with a few (relativly)of post university achievements of its graduates, on a level with an institution with hundred’s of ; sorry thousands of graduates who have moved into the top echelons of business in the United States. Can’t be done. As promised I will complete my analysis and submit them to the blog. However before that I will make my position clear. 1 Barbados is unique. 2. I wll never agree to the abandonment of the concept of public funding of education from nursery school to university, and even beyone. I read the Stiglitz postulations as recommendedn by Hal. I think his thinking (Hal’s) is too confused by his juxtaposition of public funded education as is done in Barbados aand what obtains in places like the U.S. He talks about uality of oportunity, but it is precisely because of what we have in Barbados that we have an advantage. In Barbados there is equality of opportunity for everyone throughout the ducation system( some people may not use it but it is there. In places like the U.S. it does not exit exist. That is why in the U.S. private schools will seem to do better. In Barbados it is the equality of opportunity that gives the advantage to the public schools.

48. @ ac
    Bushie understands what you are saying.
    Suffice it to say that you can assist in this debate by kindly going to another thread…. 🙂
    There is not one shiite wrong with elitism. In fact it is THE whole objective of education…for each citizen to be ELITE in whatever area they choose to operate.
    WE NEED a few academics like Hal and Terrence to challenge our paradigms on a regular basis. The problem is that WE HAVE TO DAMN MANY OF THE BUGGERS.
    Everybody is a big up analysis – even retarded ac

FIRST STEP.

PRIVATIZE EDUCATION.
    Appoint a Board of Directors for each school and offer ownership to Bajans through the purchase of shares in each school. Government retains 40% ownership.
    For example QC could issue 100,000 shares @ $100 each. Old scholars alone would probably take up those shares…

The shareholders then elect their boards which would be FULLY responsible for the management of the school.

Release all but about 6 of the staff of the Ministry of education. The jobs of these six would be to PUBLISH all results and statistics of each school on a monthly basis.

Result…
    -Large scale ownership classes created in Barbados.
    -Citizens now REALLY interested in the performance of their schools
    -Relieves the brass bowls in government (especially the MOE) form trying to find things to do on a daily basis

…stand by for step 2

49. millertheanunnaki Avatar

Alvin Cummins | June 22, 2013 at 9:01 AM
    “I wll never agree to the abandonment of the concept of public funding of education from nursery school to university, and even beyone.”

There you go again Alvin, we warned you not to do that!
    Just opposing for opposing sake without offering alternative proposals or solutions.
    The current funding arrangements for education are totally fiscally unsustainable.
    How are you going to continue to fund education, especially at the university level, in its present state and the country’s fiscal difficulties?

What are you going to do to fill the present educational funding sinkhole?
    Make tradeoffs between paying pensions, funding health or closing down all social care facilities like the geriatric homes and euthanize the people starting with your age group?
    What about telling the bond holders and creditors to piss off when they demand their money back with interest?

Maybe if David BU should ask you some pertinent questions regarding the continuing funding of education as it presently stands you might respond meaningfully.

50. Alvin………I can agree with you that there are simply no parallels between UWI and ivy league universities like yale, stanford, harvard, columbia simply because the process of being admitted into any ivy league type university in the US does not exist in Bim, only people a la bush style could circumvent that system through power and money, everyone else accepted has to be completely exceptional academically. In saying that, the problem in Bim really and truly is the continuous taxpayer funding of education and being able intellectually to create the avenues that could generate those funds going forward for another 50 years, that is what should be on the minds of the present administration and the wannabes waiting in the wings. You will need to speak to your DLP compadres and reiterate to them what their priorities should be. As someone personally involved in private schooling, that has many variables.