WATER BLAST: A demonstrator shelters as Turkish riot police fire a water cannon at protesters occupying a park in central Istanbul, injuring scores - http://www.stuff.co.nz/world
WATER BLAST: A demonstrator shelters as Turkish riot police fire a water cannon at protesters occupying a park in central Istanbul, injuring scores – http://www.stuff.co.nz/world

As we write masses of people are demonstrating in the streets of Istanbul and many other Turkish cities calling Erdogan and Gul dictators, fascists, American puppets and Zionist traitors. They are chanting “we want the regime to fall’’, not the government – the regime, the regime! This call is not unlike what we have been hearing, for more than two years, in Bahrain, Saudi Arabia, Jordan, Egypt, Tunisian, Libya and nearly all the European countries. It represents the latest flashpoint in the seismic changes the peoples of the world are demanding. Demands that world powers would prefer to misdirect into a full-blown world war to serve their corporate masters. The criminals Gul and Erdogan have their Gestapo in the streets cracking skulls, using tear gas that can kill and employing the most powerful water hoses against the people. Even in the United Stated the Obama administration used these extraordinary measures to quell the ‘Occupy Movement’’. These included infiltration by the intelligence agencies, the brute force of storm troopers, a propaganda corporate controlled media and up to that time an apathetic populace that had not felt the full force of a brutish grab for resources that has now left 150 million Americans at or below the poverty line. This is the central issue! The peoples of the world are engaging corporate interests in a popular war for resources everywhere. For them this will be a hot summer (fall) of rage. The lackeys in the Caribbean, through all of this, have no answers for their peoples. They responses are generally within the range of ‘this is a global problem and we are helpless to avoid it’’ and reverting to all the failed recipes of western financial capitalism, a dying political-economy model.

In Barbados, the regime deliberately misinterpreted the electoral expressions of the people for a government of national unity. Such a brazen and dictatorial power grab, under the rubric of an outdated Westminster system, merely serves the ruling clique, ignores the talents of nearly 50% percent of elected representatives, makes it more unlikely that the country will be able to exit the vortex of depression economics in the medium term, strengthens the idea of ‘the maximum leader’ and unduly sustains a false tension within the political system. When Caribbean people get hungry enough they will be in the street, not merely calling for the government to go, they will too be calling for the regime to fall. This will mean the government in the wider sense – BLP, DLP. The call must of necessity extend to the ruling elites as well – the education elites, the economic elites, the professional types, the elites in the clergy. They will be calling for a revolution! Barrow’s hideous Public Order Act will have no effect on ‘them’. The militarized police force will not be as persuasive to orders as the people will be to the hunger pangs they feels or the sight of hunger in their children’s eyes. The American trained special branch of the defense force, on call 24/7, may martyr some people in the streets but calls for the fall of the regime will continue, without ceasing. This call will be properly informed by a history of a lack of proper leadership, multiply betrayals of the people, an absence of land reform, political treachery by all parties and a growing mal-distribution of wealth.

In Trinidad, the calls for the fall of the regime will occur within a generally similar environment but in a context of sharper racial, classist, economic, political, social circumstances. These may make the revolution in Barbados a walk in the park by comparison. Successive governments of the Republic are all notorious for the mismanagement of the society, engagement in levels of corruptions that are difficult to equal, deepening the economic divisions between the predominate Indian and African populations, promotion of a culture of criminality that leaves the country insecure in many areas, allowed an ‘illegal’ drug industry to deepen, wasted the country’s resources in a profligate manner, tolerates leaders within the security forces that are know criminals, maintained a political culture for its own sake, developed economic  expansionist tendencies to other smaller territories while subordinating the national interests to those of others. The Republic of T&T, the country that has given us a pantheon of the greatest Caribbean leaders, bar none, and after nearly 60 years of ‘independence’ there is still an absence  of a deep sense of ‘real’  commitment to the nation. The call for the fall of this regime must come from the masses of the people in their hundreds of thousands. The people should not relent until their just demands are met. Such a call must attempt to be peaceful, if that is possible. Should the anti-revolution forces determine that a peaceful revolution is impossible; the revolution will still come – by any and all means necessary. There is no stopping us now!

In Jamaica, we have a repeat of years of misguidance as seen elsewhere In the Caribbean. Like most of the other Caribbean countries it continues to maintain a small elite of Chinese, Lebanese, Syrian, Whites but mainly Blacks in a society where guns are aplenty, where private para-military security forces guard wealthy citizens while the poor die by gun violence in ghettos daily, a country that seems not to have had any long term benefits from the production of arguably the greatest Caribbean personality (Michael Manley) of all times, a country that has failed to translate its abundant natural resources in ways that benefit the ‘under classes’. Jamaica, a country that for all intents and purposes, has been at war with itself for decades, needs peaceful revolution more than most if it to avoid the proverbial blood bath. But revolution must come! For it is only through revolution that most of the people of Jamaica could have a chance at justice. Yes we say justice, not peace! Justice – social and economic justice! All Caribbean people will soon reach the point where they realize that the fanciful talk about transformation through (mis) education alone is not enough. There must be some other non-capitalist force at work. That force must be a mass movement of the Jamaican people in search for justice, as is happening elsewhere.

And what of Guyana, again like most other Caribbean countries it has had hot flashes of violence in recent times – some not so recent. Guyana has been burdened by experimentation with foreign political philosophies that never really found wide acceptance, the corruption of the electoral process, super power rivalry, an historical Indo-Guyanese/Afro-Guyanese schism, political assassination, economic control by minority ‘grouplets’ and an American sponsored sanctions regime that crippled the country for decades. Such a country with a relative small population and a corresponding large landmass was once the most prosperous in the Caribbean. The most progressive initiative that comes out of Guyana these days is the surrendering of its lands to global corporate interests, like Kiffin Simpson and others, ostensibly to grow food because Simpson, unlike most in the Caribbean, has recognized that the global financial system is seeking to control food resources to prop up their dying system – similarly to how oil and the petrol dollar economy was constructed, as a benchmark. So expect Guyana to be producing GMO foods using corrupt industrial agricultural practices. Expect people to die of hunger as the corporatists gain strategic control of our food systems – in Guyana, a land that should have been the bread basket of the region.

The events in Turkey portend the television of a revolution coming home to the Caribbean soon. We should not seek to avoid these circumstances. Most Caribbean people know that it is a truism that our political classes are useless. Most Caribbean people know that the economic elites never took ownership of the problem the society faces, as should happen in a real capitalist system. Most Caribbean people know that generation after generation of leaders have promised much but delivered little. Most Caribbean people know that there is no internal dialectic that can produce answers for us, the justice seekers. Most Caribbean people can feel in their very bones that the system does not work for us, has never worked for us and that radical transformation is in the air everywhere. Let the trade winds of transformation blown away the old order. Let those winds blown out the backward regimes in all Caribbean countries. Let those winds travel from Bahrain to Bridgetown. From Turkey to T&T. From Greece to Georgetown. From Tunisia to Trench Town.

1. Strong words but the Caribbean people don’t have the same temperament as the Arabs. Just don’t see a national revolt happening here.

2. Is this Pachmama with his Mediterranean/Middle East obsession again. We are Caribbean people, mainly out of Africa, we have our own problems.
    We are not going to let medieval religious obsessions and inter-ethnic rivalry with people who have no respect for black people to take over our agenda.
    Those people from far away who come to live our our countries MUST obey our laws and social rules or simply leave.
    Britain and France, but the whole of Europe have been caught out by their own liberalism.
    Little island states do not have this luxury.

3. But Hal we are practicing multiculturalism in Barbados. It is just a matter of time.

4. @ Baf or Well Well

Deal with this man Austin for us, please (smile)

5. @ David

That is the problem.

6. @ Onlooker

Thanks for your insightful comment. However, sometime between 1991 to 1993 Bajans were able to peacefully remove a government by civil disobedience. Why is it not possible for this same effort be applied to the system as a whole?

7. @Pacha

Was it?

Wasn’t it more a private sector who had become disengaged and the political puppets did the rest?

8. @ David

Yes, that is largely true but they (the private sector) were able to align themselves with the workers unions etc to achieve their ends. Without mass participation, the Sandiford regime could not have been removed, legally.

9. Hal…………..let not your heart be troubled, as a bajan you know we have our own way of doing things. Bajans will not copy an overly aggressive, fanatical stance to get rid of you, you know that, the small minority of muslims on the island knows that. They have the ability to get rid of any annoyance or threat to their credit union money, without firing one single bullet or raising their voices…………….you know that.

10. @Pacha

Come on, you know that when the confidence in a government is shattered because of capital flight masterminded by the deep pockets then it is like taking candy from a baby, the masses will line up.

11. Pacha…………if you are bajan, you should know bajans know how to close ranks, for survival.

12. @ David
    The question is, when there is the same type of attitude by an incoming government, should we be back to square one? In any event there is something deeper happening in the world. We maintain that we are at a juncture where we have never been before.

13. @ Well Well

We’re not so sure anymore. Our own reading is that the Bajans are operating just like the vultures in the USA and elsewhere.

14. Pacha……………..remember, the government in Bim is not dealing with left wingers and right wingers, conservatives and liberals, and 40 different ethnicities, they are dealing with a couple minority bajan whites, couple muslims, a springle of chinese and a majority black population who they don’t want to face when they are angry, hungry and pissed off.

15. don’t blame the children

16. Alvin Cummins Avatar

@Pacha
    I assume you are a young person, from your seeming enchantment with the turbulence in the sorld. You want action, but from your blog the type of action you seem to be panting for is very dangerous. Beware and wary of what you wish for. You may sow the wind but reap the e whirlwind.lwind. I am a senior citizen now, but I remember as a very young child the fear in the hearts of my mother and the people we were living at then the word RIOT was shouted out, the slamming of the windows shut, and peeping out of the flaps of the d

17. Alvin………….i think you predicted this……….

18. Alvin Cummins Avatar

@Pacha
    To continue. I lived through the second world war. I experienced terror during the Civil Rights years when I was in the U.S. Do NOT Wish for that type of activity you will regret it for the balance of your life. I was in Jamaica when the students shut down the University and experienced the brutality of the Police when they stopped the students’ march into Kingston, and then the isolation when the isolated the campus; students could not get out and no one was let in; you couldn’t even get food. I was in Canada when Pierre invoked the War Measures Act, the picture was not a nice one. We in the Caribbean have lived at peace with our system, we have changed governments and systems without violenct; the type of violence you seem to be advocating. Mr. Sandiford’s Government was not overthrown. The no confidence motion was one of NO CONFIDENCE IN THE PRIME MINISTER. Mr Sandiford had two alternatives when the no confidence motion was carried. He could have resigned and passed the baton to someone else in the party, or he could have asked the governor to prerogue parliament and call a new election. He chose the latter. He lost the election and the BLP took over. But it was a peaceful transition. You seem to be advocating violent overfthrow not only of the governmental system but everything else that has sustained us for over three hundred years. Even the Americans learned from us because their articles of independence were fashioned after our Charter of Oistins. When I was a young man we had a phrase that I will repeat to you;”cool yuh passion.” Take time and learn Learn being the operative word. You have a lot of time. And what you are saying is not strictly true “The people of the Caribbean are NOT calling for a change in the regimes. A few people oike you are, but that is not the consensus.

19. Pacha……………Without giving too many details, i can safely say that bajans do know how to handle their business and any threat to their current existence, it is already difficult to survive, they know that the onus is on the present leaders to protect them and they will hold them accountable, the present leaders know bajans only too well, trust me on that one.

20. Alvin Cummins Avatar

@Pacha,
    One thing more. The forces arrayed agaianst you are so much greater than you that you can NEVER win. What you are advocating and “hoping” for will never be allowed to occur by the same forces. You and all your followers will be dead and buried and it will still not occur, excet that the suffering among the same people you are supposedly purporting to help, will be greater and more long lasting. Think!!Think!! Don’t let your emotions get the better of your common sense.

21. But why does Pacha want to bring such uncivilised violence to Barbados, or make it part of our public agenda.
    During the general election campaign some New Barbadians asked about the Palestinian question. Instead of telling them to go back to where they came from, the prime minister and his team set ab out answering those silly and inappropriate questions.
    If you live in Barbados you accept our value; if you do not, then leave.

22. Pachamama,

In your 3:51 pm, June 1, 2013, blog, you wrote: “However, sometime between 1991 to 1993, Bajans were able to peacefully remove a government by civil disobedience.”

This is historically inaccurate and misleading.

While it is true that during the said 1991 to 1993 period there was substantial popular political ferment and turmoil generated in Barbados, primarily as a result of the draconian measures associated with the structural and stabilization programs of DLP Government/IMF/World Bank, the general election of September 1994, ensured that there was a change of government from one joke ossie moore party to another one.

So, there was nothing between December, 1993, and September, 1994, that preempted that type of political electoral result.

Anyhow, as for your lead commentary, another good one.

23. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

PACHAMAMA

Don’t fear we have a well trained and equip Police Force and Defence Force. Plus there is the regional security apparatus.

Do you remember they were deployed at Glendairy Prison during the riot not too long ago. The regional security forces were brought in by your BLP. The precedent was set by them.

Be care what you wish for, you might get it!!!!!

24. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

It is indeed unfortunate that you are encouraged by this blog to call for chaos, confusion and blood shed in Barbados just because your Barbados Labour Party was once again rejected by the wise electorate of Barbados>

This country will never be allowed to degenerate into mindless violence no matter how you or the blog owner may require it.

I think you ought to travel down another safer road.

25. Carson…………….i don’t even believe Pacha is a local brand, he may have been raised in Bim, but clearly does not understand the dynamics.

26. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

I think his thinking is very dangerous.

This is the level that BARBADOS UNDERGROUND has now reached.

27. Carson…………if not for BU you would not know people thought like that, would you prefer to wake up one morning and see the effects of their thoughts turned into action?………….the hardest thing is to know, and as it is i believe the biggest threat that is on the island right now is in the form of the greedy minorities who live there.

28. After the last BUY ELECTIONS

This DLP CRAP Government will be toppled one way or the other
    This administration is following the same path as the Sandy led administration
    They said that there is too much feting and sought to destroy crop over. They destroyed St Lawrence Gap, send back home Guyanese and dampen economic activity—DLP is bad for Barbados –and to top it off Reggie cussed the private Sector recently on Brass Tacks , demonstrating that DLP will wage war against anybody. Now StinkLiar attacking Caswell Franklyn who is a truthsayer after calling June a ball pooched cat

BUY ELECTION FRAUDSTERS !!!

29. Just asking…………..i keep hearing that term in describing people, but exactly what is a bald pooched cat?

30. @Well Well

Please don’t speak for us. We are well aware of the ‘cultural’ dynamics in Barbados, more so than most. We have studied them for years. Because we have reserved responding to others, at this time, should be no indication of a lack of awareness. It is indeed your judgement that is flawed. Yes there maybe a case were some may posit that the situation in Barbados cannot sustain the changes suggested by this writer. And that is a reasonable position. But the history of Barbados is replete with instances of mass movement. For example 1816, 1930’s, 1960 and the 1970. Professional historians have long given the lie to a false historiography of Barbados. A historiography that suggests Barbados as a docile place. In fact, no social movement anywhere in the world has ever succeeded without the sacrifices of the peoples. None. In this Barbados and the Caribbean are no different. If you want to sit with hands folded and hope, that is a matter for you. We prefer preemptive mass action to determine our own destiny.

Our overriding argument is that there are fundamental changes taking place in the world and sooner or later they SHALL reach the Caribbean. Almost every country in Europe is in turmoil, South & Central America have had social revolutions over the last decade, the so-called Middle East is in transformation. You think that because some believe that God is a Bajan these circumstances will escape us forever. Those of limited intellect who can’t see that there is nothing of important in the Caribbean that will not be pale in comparison if for instance Al-Nusra strapped a chemical weapon on to a rocket and launch it into Tel Aviv killing 10,000 Israelis. If something like this happened it will be the biggest problem the Caribbean has. Oil will go to 600 to 700 dollars a barrel overnight. This is another reason why we need radical transformation. We are and have been too vulnerable. The centre in Barbados cannot hold, it will not hold, for long.

31. Pacha…………are you advocating violence as a change? hope not, cause if you are look at the effects of the middle east, since i was a child i have been hearing about these conflicts, now at this age i am hoping someone would just nuke them all and rid us of the never ending strife, so in saying that, what would you hope to achieve by a violent overthrow?

32. St George's Dragon Avatar

And after the revolution – what?
    Lots of excitement about the people throwing out the politicians and the failure of capitalism but what would you replace it all with?

33. If some of you were following my discourse with the one i was calling MoneyBrainless you would see the core of the problem in Barbados, yes we can blame the government for the lack of respect shown to the majority of Bajans by the minority few who were allowed to live comfortably at the expense of the majority, i fully blame the leaders for this stark and unequal distribution of wealth and disregard for the security and well being of their own people, a lot of politicians sold their souls to the minority at the expense of their own people, now it is time to pay the piper.

34. @ Well Well

Think you should avoid the trap of assigning inhumanity to certain people. The English and the French fought for so long we now know it as a hundred year war. Your vision of the world blames the victims of colonialism, slavery and neo-colonialism for current problems. After the fall of the Roman Empire, Europe when through the dark ages, this period was the darkest in human history. European tribes were always at war. Nobody in the Middle East never used nuclear weapons that killed over 200K plus people. American and Canadians committed genocide and we could go on and on. Why is there violence exempt but all others considered as depraved. We though that we were talking about the violence of the establishment against those of us seeking radical transformation. We have always advocated the most powerful weapon of all, civil disobedience.

35. Pacha……………i honestly don’t believe you have the experience to fully understand what you would be getting yourself involved with, there are always consequences attached to actions, most people don’t analyze or envision the consequences before taking action and are never prepared for the fallout…………….i believe pressure is the best weapon to use on the current leaders, keep them thinking and on their toes, watch their every move and see who is taking more bribes to keep their people in poverty while enriching the small group on the island, that would probably be your best bet…………but of course i cannot tell you what to do, i can only make suggestions.

36. @Well Well

How would you propose to ‘nuke’ a population to solve a problem?

37. I think some have misunderstood the main essence of Pachamama’s submission. Even though it may appear that Pacha is calling for violent uprising, I think the main essence of Pacha’s submission is that based on historical analysis and the current wave of protests throughout the world, the Caribbean is not immune from such happenings.

Some are always quick to shoot the messenger while ignoring the message, because that message is not the one they wish to hear!

38. Pacha…………..how many people can you afford to feed right now? how many people’s children can you feed right now? how many people’s bills can you pay right now? those are the immediate problems people are facing right now…………..what you are proposing will create other problems, how do you propose to handle the other problems when they develop if you cannot help people with their current immediate problems?

39. David……………..i don’t know your age, but i have reached the age where you get fed up of hearing of the same fighting going on for over 60 years without any end in sight, that is why i am asking Pacha if he is prepared to start something that he may never be able to end.

40. @Well Well
    I think you missing de point and now going all over de place about who can feed who etc. Read the submission again and then try to understand the main essence of the message.

41. Pacha………..may i remind you that if you are living in the Caribbean you are living in relative peace, if you live in the States your head has to be constantly swiveling for the next nutcase, serial killer, bomber etc, etc, if you live in Canada, you are in a peaceful environment, if you live in Europe, your peace and safety is not guaranteed. Why would you want the Caribbean to become unstable?

42. @Well Well

Here is the comment about nuking which betrays a callousness you should clarify. It does not matter how hard or complex the problem you cannot surrender to a solution where innocent people have to pay because of the action of others.

Submitted on 2013/06/01 at 8:02 PM

Pacha…………are you advocating violence as a change? hope not, cause if you are look at the effects of the middle east, since i was a child i have been hearing about these conflicts, now at this age i am hoping someone would just nuke them all and rid us of the never ending strife, so in saying that, what would you hope to achieve by a violent overthrow?

43. @David
    And de irony is that this same Well Well condemning Pacha, claiming he calling for violence. lol. .

44. Pacha, David, Oilman………….neither of you can tell me if Pacha and his crowd or whomever started their civil disobedience, when and how it will end and what will be the consequences or the fallout…………

45. Oilman………..are you telling me that even in a civil disobedience people do not have to eat, pay their bills, feed their children or send them to school, life still has to go on, what i want to know is, during your civil disobedience how are you going to help people do all of the above?

46. I have been saying for weeks that well well talks out both sides of she mouth. only this time she got caught……a real as,, licker too……

47. As i know it………..civil disobedience is a disruption of life that can be put down………..you all are not telling me what you will do about the consequences………….and i am listening.

48. acSLEAZE…………..you don’t even know what’s going on, so just read and see where the conversation leads, you will learn something…………

49. watch how well well try to wiggle she way out of condemning pachama when she indeed stated that she couldn’t wait to see the jews annihilated I wonder what she calls that ,,,maybe silent protest…. now got the nerve to stand on a platform calling for peaceful protest I guess it depends on which ox is being gourd

50. I don’t need to learn nothing from a two faced hypocrite….. not a truthful opinion of your own…. quick to backtrack and fall in line depending which way the conversation going……..as..licker…