WATER BLAST: A demonstrator shelters as Turkish riot police fire a water cannon at protesters occupying a park in central Istanbul, injuring scores - http://www.stuff.co.nz/world
WATER BLAST: A demonstrator shelters as Turkish riot police fire a water cannon at protesters occupying a park in central Istanbul, injuring scores – http://www.stuff.co.nz/world

As we write masses of people are demonstrating in the streets of Istanbul and many other Turkish cities calling Erdogan and Gul dictators, fascists, American puppets and Zionist traitors. They are chanting “we want the regime to fall’’, not the government – the regime, the regime! This call is not unlike what we have been hearing, for more than two years, in Bahrain, Saudi Arabia, Jordan, Egypt, Tunisian, Libya and nearly all the European countries. It represents the latest flashpoint in the seismic changes the peoples of the world are demanding. Demands that world powers would prefer to misdirect into a full-blown world war to serve their corporate masters. The criminals Gul and Erdogan have their Gestapo in the streets cracking skulls, using tear gas that can kill and employing the most powerful water hoses against the people. Even in the United Stated the Obama administration used these extraordinary measures to quell the ‘Occupy Movement’’. These included infiltration by the intelligence agencies, the brute force of storm troopers, a propaganda corporate controlled media and up to that time an apathetic populace that had not felt the full force of a brutish grab for resources that has now left 150 million Americans at or below the poverty line. This is the central issue! The peoples of the world are engaging corporate interests in a popular war for resources everywhere. For them this will be a hot summer (fall) of rage. The lackeys in the Caribbean, through all of this, have no answers for their peoples. They responses are generally within the range of ‘this is a global problem and we are helpless to avoid it’’ and reverting to all the failed recipes of western financial capitalism, a dying political-economy model.

In Barbados, the regime deliberately misinterpreted the electoral expressions of the people for a government of national unity. Such a brazen and dictatorial power grab, under the rubric of an outdated Westminster system, merely serves the ruling clique, ignores the talents of nearly 50% percent of elected representatives, makes it more unlikely that the country will be able to exit the vortex of depression economics in the medium term, strengthens the idea of ‘the maximum leader’ and unduly sustains a false tension within the political system. When Caribbean people get hungry enough they will be in the street, not merely calling for the government to go, they will too be calling for the regime to fall. This will mean the government in the wider sense – BLP, DLP. The call must of necessity extend to the ruling elites as well – the education elites, the economic elites, the professional types, the elites in the clergy. They will be calling for a revolution! Barrow’s hideous Public Order Act will have no effect on ‘them’. The militarized police force will not be as persuasive to orders as the people will be to the hunger pangs they feels or the sight of hunger in their children’s eyes. The American trained special branch of the defense force, on call 24/7, may martyr some people in the streets but calls for the fall of the regime will continue, without ceasing. This call will be properly informed by a history of a lack of proper leadership, multiply betrayals of the people, an absence of land reform, political treachery by all parties and a growing mal-distribution of wealth.

In Trinidad, the calls for the fall of the regime will occur within a generally similar environment but in a context of sharper racial, classist, economic, political, social circumstances. These may make the revolution in Barbados a walk in the park by comparison. Successive governments of the Republic are all notorious for the mismanagement of the society, engagement in levels of corruptions that are difficult to equal, deepening the economic divisions between the predominate Indian and African populations, promotion of a culture of criminality that leaves the country insecure in many areas, allowed an ‘illegal’ drug industry to deepen, wasted the country’s resources in a profligate manner, tolerates leaders within the security forces that are know criminals, maintained a political culture for its own sake, developed economic  expansionist tendencies to other smaller territories while subordinating the national interests to those of others. The Republic of T&T, the country that has given us a pantheon of the greatest Caribbean leaders, bar none, and after nearly 60 years of ‘independence’ there is still an absence  of a deep sense of ‘real’  commitment to the nation. The call for the fall of this regime must come from the masses of the people in their hundreds of thousands. The people should not relent until their just demands are met. Such a call must attempt to be peaceful, if that is possible. Should the anti-revolution forces determine that a peaceful revolution is impossible; the revolution will still come – by any and all means necessary. There is no stopping us now!

In Jamaica, we have a repeat of years of misguidance as seen elsewhere In the Caribbean. Like most of the other Caribbean countries it continues to maintain a small elite of Chinese, Lebanese, Syrian, Whites but mainly Blacks in a society where guns are aplenty, where private para-military security forces guard wealthy citizens while the poor die by gun violence in ghettos daily, a country that seems not to have had any long term benefits from the production of arguably the greatest Caribbean personality (Michael Manley) of all times, a country that has failed to translate its abundant natural resources in ways that benefit the ‘under classes’. Jamaica, a country that for all intents and purposes, has been at war with itself for decades, needs peaceful revolution more than most if it to avoid the proverbial blood bath. But revolution must come! For it is only through revolution that most of the people of Jamaica could have a chance at justice. Yes we say justice, not peace! Justice – social and economic justice! All Caribbean people will soon reach the point where they realize that the fanciful talk about transformation through (mis) education alone is not enough. There must be some other non-capitalist force at work. That force must be a mass movement of the Jamaican people in search for justice, as is happening elsewhere.

And what of Guyana, again like most other Caribbean countries it has had hot flashes of violence in recent times – some not so recent. Guyana has been burdened by experimentation with foreign political philosophies that never really found wide acceptance, the corruption of the electoral process, super power rivalry, an historical Indo-Guyanese/Afro-Guyanese schism, political assassination, economic control by minority ‘grouplets’ and an American sponsored sanctions regime that crippled the country for decades. Such a country with a relative small population and a corresponding large landmass was once the most prosperous in the Caribbean. The most progressive initiative that comes out of Guyana these days is the surrendering of its lands to global corporate interests, like Kiffin Simpson and others, ostensibly to grow food because Simpson, unlike most in the Caribbean, has recognized that the global financial system is seeking to control food resources to prop up their dying system – similarly to how oil and the petrol dollar economy was constructed, as a benchmark. So expect Guyana to be producing GMO foods using corrupt industrial agricultural practices. Expect people to die of hunger as the corporatists gain strategic control of our food systems – in Guyana, a land that should have been the bread basket of the region.

The events in Turkey portend the television of a revolution coming home to the Caribbean soon. We should not seek to avoid these circumstances. Most Caribbean people know that it is a truism that our political classes are useless. Most Caribbean people know that the economic elites never took ownership of the problem the society faces, as should happen in a real capitalist system. Most Caribbean people know that generation after generation of leaders have promised much but delivered little. Most Caribbean people know that there is no internal dialectic that can produce answers for us, the justice seekers. Most Caribbean people can feel in their very bones that the system does not work for us, has never worked for us and that radical transformation is in the air everywhere. Let the trade winds of transformation blown away the old order. Let those winds blown out the backward regimes in all Caribbean countries. Let those winds travel from Bahrain to Bridgetown. From Turkey to T&T. From Greece to Georgetown. From Tunisia to Trench Town.

1. @ Well Well
    Your lack of awareness is showing. Civil disobedience has long be advocated by Gandhi, King and other. There are several frameworks in social science theory. All of the MENA uprisings were about civil disobedience, initially. Why do you insist the we don’t know what we are talking about? Have you studied social movements? Were in involved in Occupy or other actions?

2. I am still waiting, anyone? what will you do when your civil disobedience incurs the wrath of the authorities? anyone can answer me except acSLEAZE, she is just an idiot…………..I would even allow Moneybrainless to answer me at this point…………

3. Pacha…………..I will not tell you what i witnessed, but suffice it to say i saw quite a few people beaten and arrested for their beliefs, whether they were right or wrong does not matter, some got conviction records to follow them and life went back to the same thing…………unless you are willing to sacrifice your life, please do not take this lightly, it is not an adventure nor a picnic.

4. the idiot tell u that those living on the island would do just like u and get the hell out of the country ….nincompoop!.

5. And you mentioned Dr. King, you are talking about a time in Alabama when the police had absolutely no qualms about putting power hoses on blacks and unleashing savage dogs to bite them, that was human rights and jim crow laws being fought, i need you to tell me exactly what human rights violations you are experiencing in Bim. All I see is corrupt politicians taking bribes and selling out their own people to the minorities on the island so they can have luxury rides, yes they steal from the populace, just expose them…………do you think that justifies civil disobedience or just making sure you stay on them like white on rice so they cannot get away with anymore corruption………….you tell me.

6. acSLEAZE………..the DLP needs to do themselves a favor and lock you away, you are more harm to them than Pacha…………

7. @ Well Well
    Yours is too simplistic. For there are many ways people can apply civil disobedience to make social change. It does not have to be limited to marches. People of a common mind may contribute to the overall goal by doing what ever they can but everybody does not have to make the same sacrifice.

8. @Well Well

Sometimes one has to thread the different positions together to engage in a constructive debate.

9. There was a reason I had MoneyBrainless talking out his guts for days on the slavery thread, I wanted the majority blacks on the island to see how they are thought of by the minorities, but most importantly i wanted the leaders to see how much disrespect is accorded to their own people by the minorities even though they are the ones who gain the most wealth and benefit significantly from the majority’s hard work, while the leaders themselves take bribes and think that all is right with the world as long as their pockets are full……..MoneyBrainless boasted and bragged cause in his mind black people in Barbados love being dominated by the likes of him, he did not even have the decency to temper it with respect………..only utter disdain, hatred and contempt………that is the problem in Bim, I hope the leaders now do what they are supposed to………..

10. Gene Sharp developed the conceptual model that the people in the MENA are using now. Some say that he was an instrument of the CIA. We are however doubtful

11. David………..yes, but violence and civil disobedience at this stage and in these times can be construed and interpreted negatively……….no one’s civil rights are being denied………..bottom line is people are being robbed blind………..this is something for the leaders to make sure stops.

12. Well Well , I cant explain ball pooched cat or bald pooched cat or whatever it is
    I think it is a cat that similar to a bob tail dog
    StinkLiar should be asked to explain um but he so liared , he learnt at the feet of the King of Lies , that yuh really cannot believe nothing de man say. I beleive he living in a fantasy world cause one man cant deliberately tells lies so.
    And look how big he getting. HE LOOK LIKE KUNGFU PANDA –or the Pillsbury doughnut………

13. you fool civil disobedience does not only deal with the one issue of civil rights it also deals with a host of social and economical problems as well which attributes to the intolerable and socially acceptable living conditions which one has to endure daily such as low wages! high unemployment all of these are social concerns when woven together becomes like a psychological nuclear bomb with a life of its own,

14. Just Asking………………now i know, however, he was disrespecting a female totally ignoring the fact that he has females in his family.

15. THE TRANSFORMATION FROM DICTATORSHIP TO DEMOCRACY IN THE CARIBBEAN
    By Pachamama
    The recent electoral triumph of Jamaica’s Peoples National Party (PNP) of Portia Simpson-Miller represents the most recent manifestation of the inability of political elites in the Caribbean to satisfy the fundamental requirements of democracy, as an economic system. The defeat of the Jamaica Labour Party (JLP) is best understood within a context of the desperation of Caribbean peoples as we seek to resolve our resource problems and this unremitting malady will not no-time-soon disappear despite the axiomatic utterances to the contrary by the obscurantist popinjays. It comes within current regional and global circumstances where all incumbent governments have or are likely to continue to be easily defeated, electorally or otherwise. Notwithstanding the temporary euphoria within the PNP political tribe, the underlying problems of poverty, lack of housing, crime, budgetary problems, graft and dependency have continued to accumulate across administrations throughout the Caribbean for decades. We have cited elsewhere the relationships between democracy and dictatorship and have argued that there is no measureable difference between dictatorship and elected dictatorship as the accepted model of governance in the Caribbean.
    Gene Sharp has drawn on the works of Seti 1, Gandhi, King and others to present a conceptual model for the application of a non-violent arms struggle that has been applied, with a fair degree of success, in the Middle East and North Africa (MENA) countries, the colored revolutions in some of the former USSR republics and that has finally arrived in the USA via the Occupy Movement. Sharp’s model has not been without its detractors. The governments of Iran, Venezuela, Russia, Syria and others have contended that it represents a CIA sponsored plot for regime change in nations opposed to US foreign policy. With great respect and humility, we tend to disagree with this judgment on two bases. Firstly, we consider that any instrument could be used in the peoples’ interests or against those very interests. Secondly, it matters not from whence the means comes. To us what matters most is what will follow the peoples’ popular victories. For it was Deng Xiaoping you postulated that it is not important what the colour of the cat is, once it catches mice. Within this dialectic, we are however forced to concede that our arguments leave more than enough space for imperial forces to subvert the intended aims of any transformationary process in the same way political parties in the Caribbean have subverted the popular will of the people for more than fifty years. Or if the popular will is accepted locally and voters escape the electoral interference of the Republican Institute for Democracy, National Institute for Democracy and other types of so-called Non-governmental Organizations (NGO’s), the other elements as defines within another model from the confessions by the former American economic hit-man John Perkins, could be enforced – assassination or military intervention. These are risks for which the people’s constant vigilance and steadfastness provides a level of self-insurance within a transforming system.
    In the case of Jamaica the people are destined for another period in which Perfidious Albion will place a few thousand PNP supporters in jobs now held by JLP tribesmen/tribeswomen, redistribute some economic advantages to a few more elites that were excluded by the JLP, and will seek to tinker with the systems at its margins but no fundamental transformation will occur. None! In fact we consider that the global economic environment is as such that Simpson-Miller, like the first time at bat, will soon find herself in a position where another election could be necessary. So, why are we content, as a Caribbean people, to continue to engage this political merry-go-around? What evidence is there that political leaders or parties are any better the second, third or fourth time around than they were initially? Why should we continue to entrust our hopes and aspirations to a failing system? Why do we continue to add even an ounce of concrete to reinforce the pillars of this dying system, a system that never had the masses of people at its centre in the first place and was not constructed to serve that purpose?
    The Sharp conceptual model may represent the means by which the political and economic structures of the Caribbean can be transformed. It is built on the assumptions that dictatorial regimes have military, political, diplomatic, economic and other strategic means by which to constantly wage war on their peoples. On the other hand, ordinary people are finding new and creative means of confronting the establishment with an array of social weapons in a non-violent war to determine they own destinies. People’s weapons could be deployed based on a confrontational strategic framework that recognizes the importance of winning over the elements of state power; patience; refusal to cooperate with the establishment; avoidance of atomization; presentation of the movement as more capable that the establishment in providing communal services; an insistence and constant re-establishment of non-violence as the main strategic weapon; adroit tactical responses – for example, giving the police flowers or putting smiling women to the front of marches, other acts of de-escalation; continued mobilization of the community using a range of tactics that include the utilization of technology.
    We judge that the Caribbean is unlikely to avoid both the wave of revolutions occurring in South & Central America and the Awakening Movement elsewhere. We also judge that we have not been served well by either communism, socialism, capitalism or a mix of these models. Given these circumstances, an awakened Caribbean must rise to the task of helping the world find a better way forward. The election of Portia Simpson-Miller and the PNP does not represent such a departure from this tired system.

16. acSLEAZE…………it’s your party in power, communicate your concerns to them, it has nothing to do with me………..you should be helping them find a solution.

17. you fool! Well ! WEL! civil disobedience does not only deal with the one issue of civil rights it also deals with a host of social and economical problems as well which attributes to the intolerable and socially unacceptable living conditions which one has to endure daily such as low wages! high unemployment all of these are social concerns when woven together becomes like a psychological nuclear bomb with a life of its own,

18. Pacha…………..I believe in Occams razor, google it, the most simple solution is always and i mean always, the best solution.

19. Stop trying to wiggle u sleezy way out of the topic……bonehead!

20. acSLEAZE…………you are wasting your energy, i do not read your posts cause i know it will not teach anything, tell that to the party in power, help them with ideas that will help you and others, i did not cause your mess, i am not a political person, you have to get out of it yourself, i did not put you there.

21. acSLEAZE…………as soon as i see your moniker, i know its useless, you have to deal with the minorities on the island, i don’t, they cannot even hold a conversation with me.

22. @Well Well

ac has a point, you have totally misinterpreted this piece. You should take a deep breath and wheel and come again.

23. Pacha…………i just read your piece, i cannot say there should not be change but as i see it every Caribbean island has it’s unique problems and as long as you can get at the root of the problem, the example being what the problem is in Barbados, it can be solved without someone having to go to jail or be beaten by the police just to point out the problems.

24. David……….no one is drawing me into saying there should be civil disobedience, ac is an idiot a political clown, she does not realize that the civil disobedience will be against her own government that she supports and cusses everyone for on the blog, she does not know what civil disobedience is………….in saying that, i will not join a crowd, i am not a follower.

25. It however does not stop me from feeling how i feel about the middle east, you get tired of hearing about violence and strife and other crap that never ends once it starts regardless to who starts it.

26. pachma try to point out many avenues and roads which were used to bring about change through peaceful protest which u simply ignore but prefer to go on some fishing expedition on google ..with the advent of occupy wall street even though it was not well organized it did make some inroads within the banking industry for change …..u are one dimwitted pretentious knucklehead…..WELL! WELL!

27. @ David

We hope that everybody has had a chance to listen to Gene Sharp as attached on the last page and read an earlier article for another publication written by yours truly. Civil disobedience/non–violence military struggle is far superior to military arms struggle. We hope all can sleep well tonight now, we hope.

28. Anyway, i wish you guys all the luck in the world with your civil disobedience.

29. @Well Well

You continue to allow yourself to become emotional by reacting to commenters. React to the issues. Our small societies in the Caribbean have not resorted to civil disobedience as a response to problems. Ours have been a passive resistance. Many of our organs setup to ensure democratic processes are promoted are beginning to labour/fail. The Public Accounts Committee in parliament, the Ombudsman, who listens to the Auditor General againand one and on. There is nothing wrong if ordinary citizens use civil disobedience to force change. People march in developed countries all the time, sit in the street, farmers drive their tractors in France and block the street etc.

30. WELL! WELL! u are one stupid broad …where am I advocating civil disobedience I have decipher the nature and ways whereby civil disobedience can occur in any society……. I am a hard line patriot and would not wish any kind of social, or political uprising on my country and its people,,,,,,i I told u that u are stupid now do u belive me …..

31. @ Well Well
    Listen to Gene Sharp and read the article above before you talk anymore. There are sometimes ideas that are too complex and might not be understood initially.

32. As i see it, this blog is read world wide and it effectively points out the problems existing on the island, the government from what i hear reads everything and know what is said………..so they know the idiot ac is advocating for civil disobedience against them………..anyway, i believe the blog is a powerful tool to affect change, no one likes being embarrassed around the world and be the butt of jokes particularly when world leaders get information from these blogs and know what the leaders in the Caribbean get up to anyway, i would forget trying to create strife and use the blog as it is supposed to be used, but that is just me, everyone is free to do as they wish.

33. Pacha…………i listened and read your article, i just feel that you guys are ignoring the power of these blogs……..people are taking notice, if you want to organize a sit down or a march fine, go ahead, just be aware of what kind of reception you might get………i am not being emotional just facing reality………..but try what you think is best and more effective.

34. people aren’t scared of blacks anymore
    they’re under manners

35. Alvin Cummins Avatar

@Pacha and ac.
    Your problem is that you have it too good. ac you are talking about low wages? what was the wages the seamstresses in Bangladesh were working for before over a thousand of them lost their lives in the building collapse

36. Alvin Cummins Avatar

Continuing. How many of them had any protection such as you enjoy in Barbados? NIS, unemployment insurance, Labour laws that protect you, How many people in Barbados work for less than forty dollars a month which is what those women were getting

37. well! WELL! u have now elevated yourself to ” Prick of the Year ” any concerns coming from me about the govt is well documented here on BU and as far as I know there are none..so your sorry attempt to pinned me on a wall calling for civil disobedience in any form is ludicrous and fanciful thinking on your part bordering on dementia and overreaction …..however not uncommon given the many silly and repetitious deluge of comments u make on BU …….. bonehead.

38. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS

Well Well. | June 1, 2013 at 9:25 PM | @ Barbados is in the cross hairs. If you think the Bajans easy ? wait till they get a few free beers and the truth, 1937 as Violet would say , First hand from her mouth
    Bajans being robbed Blind now.

39. Alvin Cummins Avatar

@Pacha. I still have difficulty understanding your objective, there has to be one. What is it you want, in clear terms. What are you unhappy about…really..I am sure there are people who will go onto car dealerships tomorrow to purchase cars valued at over twenty thousand dollars. Does this seem lke a people in financial trouble? What happens is that too many people want to live above their means, too quickly, and find themselves in financial trouble.

40. Alvin Cummins Avatar

You don’t have to go to turkey and the Middle east. Cuba is right next door. Do you and your ilk think you could survive over suxty years of an embargo as they have had to undergo? Could you live with the strictures required? could you live without your car? I would guess no. You know what you have, you don’t know what you will get. And why would you be taking advice from a man like Gene Sharp? Why would you think he would have your interests at heart.Don’t think that the masses of Bajans will follow you in your adventures. They have too much sense for that.

41. Alvin Cummins Avatar

@Deeds. I think I have met you and spoken with you and I can judge for myself. You are delusional..

42. Plantations…………..you and your family are living proof that what is going on in Barbados is straight up theft, bribery and corruption by politicians and lawyers, they sell their own people to the minorities while helping enrich the minorities and filling their pockets off the backs of their own people, that is what is going on in Bim, all it needs is exposure, we both know that. The government needs to start protecting their own people and keep the money in the black community, and give back all the stolen properties to their rightful owners…………

43. acSLEAZE………..i am glad to see you made an ass out of yourself as usual, now your masters know that you would advocate civil disobedience against them in the blink of an eye…………you are so dumb.

44. Alvin Cummins Avatar

@Pacha you said:an insistence and constant re-establishment of non-violence as the main strategic weapon; adroit tactical responses – for example, giving the police flowers or putting smiling women to the front
    of marches, other acts of de-escalation; I think I surmised correctly when I was of the opinion that you were young. These tactics were used during the protests to the Vietnam War. that did not prevent the killing of the students at Kent state Univaersity. Read your history more carefully and see what is involved.

45. @ Alvin Cummins

Look ! stop! drop ! and Roll …..u too are confused ! my point being that social and economic problems lead to civil disobedience,,,,,,,,,,,As I see it Barbados has not reach such a level and as of now the govt in power is doing the best it can to prevent and avoid such a catastrophe by keeping the social safety net in place…..I have no need to worry about any form of social unrest in this country…….the people are not stupid most are aware of the global economic impact is having on all countries worldwide and having social unrest at this point can do more harm than good…. however i would indicated that there are many who would indeed like to see such occurrence given the outcome of the last election and for no other reason to see this govt fail and i am a true die hard dem and not so inclined….so far this govt have had to deal with the hard realities of having to steer a leaking ship out of treacherous economical waters and calls for civil disobedience is another weapon used by the detractors to put fear and to disorganize and discredit the way the govt is handling the affairs of the country

46. Alvin……………….i don’t know how much you know about the Violet Beckles affair, but before that lady died, i saw the deeds regarding land that was stolen from her………….and that is about as much as i know about that affair.

47. Be assured if the government continues to send home workers, expired contracts or not, and the Unions get involved it will be messy. This is what happens when you run an election to the baller and couldn’t risk sending home government workers to reduce public sector wage bill because you needed the vote. It is all becoming knotted up now.

48. as for the exploitation of workers in Bangladesh i did address that issue on one of the blogs certainly i was outraged and gave my opinion fortunately Barbados has not reach that level and hopefully not….however i was concern about the workers who were recently laid off at hagan daz and not a word here on BU regarding there concern…….

49. acSLEAZE…………..i guess without reading your nonsense you are trying to fix your involvement in the call for civil disobedience, i warned you to just read first and see where it was going, but did you listen no, if you had, you would not now have to write an essay.

50. David…………an unrest is possible depending on what happens in the next few months, it more than likely will take it’s own course if the government does not do what it is being paid to do and do it wisely.