Update: Leroy Parris v BLP, Nation and Barbados Advocate

Marston Gibson, Chief Justice of Barbados Designate

Marston Gibson, Chief Justice

In the interest of sharing all information received about any matters which BU has reported on, we have been advised and updated on the issue of the Parris v BLP and Nation and Barbados Advocate as follows:

Mr Hal Gollop QC filed an action for defamation against the Nation which pre-dates the Parris action. The law firm of Carrington and Sealy acts for the Nation and Mr Vernon Smith QC is acting for Mr Gollop.

The essence of the complaint is that on January 07, 2013, the Nation captured and published the photograph which is the subject of dispute. Reasonable conclusion, the Nation was the author and the holder of copyright of the photograph. The BLP subsequently used the photograph and caption in their campaign. Thus, Mr Gollop has also advanced a claim of conspiracy against the Nation and the BLP.

At an election meeting at the Ivy on January 10, Mr Chris Sinclair made comments on BIPA that were responded to by the Nation with the picture at dispute. Mr Gollop immediately commenced the protocols (CPR)  against the Nation and, the time limit of the protocols having expired, Mr Gollop filed suit some time BEFORE Mr Parris filed his suit.

To date BU understands that the Nation has not filed an acknowledgement of the claim. Mr Mottley QC is representing the BLP in its defence of the Paris action.

How is it that Mr Gollop’s action is not proceeding, while the action of Mr Parris is proceeding with such haste? AND being heard by the Chief Justice? There is the inference which some have made that the Simmons appointed people in the court system are doing favours for the party that appointed them. The independence of the courts and of the judiciary from the executive must now be carefully examined.

115 thoughts on “Update: Leroy Parris v BLP, Nation and Barbados Advocate

1. buh wha happen to dese women pun BU. Just so you know nobody gives a flyin puck who like wine or gettin tie up or licked or who rich poor or does travel to Paris.
    man guh to france do.

Islandgal246 I did get a kick from your very Bajan terms “poor great ” and “SHOW PIG”.

2. @LOOK | May 27, 2013 at 7:40 PM |
    “It is not Nelson Street, the Garrison, St. Catherine or Saint Laurent” u do not even have the common sense nor knowledge to know that ALL these are red light districts…hence my point…what a fantasy world u live in… i do not know what is ‘poor great’ and ‘show pig’ but since you are bajan and i am now a citizen then you would know how to use the terms…but please get some class, you have none

3. @ Smooth Chocolate

Again, you’ve hit the wrong number. You did it again. I am NOT BAJAN, never stepped down on Barbados soil. Whatever my citizenship is, that is for me to know and you to find out – keep guessing.

Don’t give a rats ass about Saint Laurant, Quebec Canada, Saint Catherine, Quebec, Canada or Nelson Street (Bridgetown, Barbados). Smooth Chocolate, you perhaps have a reading and comprehension problem; this is rather serious for adults. As stated previously, my place of residence is somewhere on the North American Continent, maybe Westmount, Quebec Canada, maybe Greenwich, Connecticut (USA), maybe the Hampton area in NewYork (USA). It is not Barbados, never ever was. Barbados is not attached to the North American Continent, never ever was. Guess you were not taught geography, did not consume it or enough of it, buttttttttttt you apparently have a reading and comprehenstion problem. It’s okay. I understand. Interesting though you understand that filty perverted behavior S&M sex. Know what, you lack intelligence and have no class – REALLY. By the way, I have seen London, England and Paris France (Western Europe) “in person”, traveled there with a college group. I was then in college, somewhere on the North American Continent.

Last round with you Smooth Chocolate. You may now crawl back in your hole – go to sleep. Please don’t come back out of that hole. You have badly embarrassed yourself.

4. Two female posters on this blog it seems took their licks and ran off. Some things, persons too are worth fighting, some should just be left alone.

5. LOOK the CROOK…… you still stuck on this page??? You show pig go and show your face elsewhere you fart frighten snob!

6. She’s sooooooooo hilarious and embarrassing, islandgal246. Must have been raised on a monkey farm.

7. Wonderful beat ! I would like tto apprentice while you
    amend your website, how could i subscribe for
    a blog website? The account ajded me a acceptable deal.
    I had been tiny bit acquainted of this your brroadcast provided bright clear idea

Leave a comment, join the discussion.