Marston Gibson, Chief Justice of Barbados Designate
Marston Gibson, Chief Justice

In the interest of sharing all information received about any matters which BU has reported on, we have been advised and updated on the issue of the Parris v BLP and Nation and Barbados Advocate as follows:

Mr Hal Gollop QC filed an action for defamation against the Nation which pre-dates the Parris action. The law firm of Carrington and Sealy acts for the Nation and Mr Vernon Smith QC is acting for Mr Gollop.

The essence of the complaint is that on January 07, 2013, the Nation captured and published the photograph which is the subject of dispute. Reasonable conclusion, the Nation was the author and the holder of copyright of the photograph. The BLP subsequently used the photograph and caption in their campaign. Thus, Mr Gollop has also advanced a claim of conspiracy against the Nation and the BLP.

At an election meeting at the Ivy on January 10, Mr Chris Sinclair made comments on BIPA that were responded to by the Nation with the picture at dispute. Mr Gollop immediately commenced the protocols (CPR)  against the Nation and, the time limit of the protocols having expired, Mr Gollop filed suit some time BEFORE Mr Parris filed his suit.

To date BU understands that the Nation has not filed an acknowledgement of the claim. Mr Mottley QC is representing the BLP in its defence of the Paris action.

How is it that Mr Gollop’s action is not proceeding, while the action of Mr Parris is proceeding with such haste? AND being heard by the Chief Justice? There is the inference which some have made that the Simmons appointed people in the court system are doing favours for the party that appointed them. The independence of the courts and of the judiciary from the executive must now be carefully examined.

115 responses to “Update: Leroy Parris v BLP, Nation and Barbados Advocate”

1. Smooth Chocolate Avatar
    Smooth Chocolate

@LOOK | May 26, 2013 at 7:19 AM |
    “There is nothing sadder than witnessing a person’s lack of intelligence, just pure stupidity – IN ACTION”

from all your previous comments, I take it that you are speaking of yourself, while holding a glass of white wine. i will tell you one thing, not bragging, my home country is London, England. my husband, British. having both been exposed to education in Britain and Barbados, we decided that our children will be educated in Barbados but will travel to Europe every summer to give them the experience of various cultures. when our kids were attending secondary school here and they attended newer secondary schools, i was very careful to let them understand that they should be ‘bragging off’ to their friends where and how they spent their summer. i felt that only the immature would do such. what is the point of me coming here telling of my experiences in La Salle, Paris, Spain, Sweden, Italy, Africa etc the concerts my family attended with Vitas Opera, Andre Rieu etc. why would i choose this forum? i am not here to impress anyone, i come here to read and sometimes offer my views. you on the other hand quite frankly have nothing of substance. you really should follow Pinkie’s advise and take it to FB. no one gives a rat’s bottom where you live, what you do, WE DO NOT CARE. you not only lack intelligence but you have absolutely no class since you come here suggesting that Islangal246 likes to be tied up etc…i can only assume as do others, that either you indulge in that filthy perverted behaviour or you have the potential of doing it, since we usually accused others of doing what we know we ourselves do. why are you here sharing your private business? you are no great super star that your life would be of interest to anyone, for all we know, the streets of Nelson Street, the garrison, Sainte-Catherine and Saint-Laurent are your home

2. Smooth Chocolate Avatar
    Smooth Chocolate

CORRECTION:
    i was very careful to let them understand that they should NOT be ‘bragging off’ to their friends where and how they spent their summer.

3. Alvin Cummins Avatar

@Bush Tea.
    Perko would give you nought and tell you to stand on the bench The quotation means that Everybody in the world honours the prophet, but the people back home do NOT honour him They give him NO respect. It does NOT, as you surmise, mean that there are some “home” who honour him. It means that he gets NO HONOUR among his own
    And there are many examples coming out of Barbados apart from Dr. Warde. Consider Suki King; World Champion (for over twenty years now) draughts player,who has to scrunt every time he has to travel to defend his crown. Consider Ryan Brathwaite, World champion 110 metres champion who was constantly being criticized by Barbadians that he “only just barely win”, and many such degrading comments.Our leaders who are outstanding and respected outside of Bim who get no respect, even though they deserve it from Bajans. For a small country with no resources to be no.38 out of 187 countries on the Human Quality of Life Index is outstanding, and must be credited to the leadership; BLP and DLP,

4. @ Smooth Chocolcate

Again, you have embarrased yourself. Sweetie, I will tell you no more than that already stated except that my preferred wine choice is red NOT white. Also, Canada you know is not the only country attached to the north american continent. My place of residence is somewhere on the North American Continent, maybe Canada, maybe the United States. It could be Westmount Quebec, Canada. It could also be the Hampton area (New York). It is not Nelson Street, the Garrison, St. Catherine or Saint Laurent. No one realy cares, just you. By the way, Smooth Chocolate island gal246 herself posted on getting tied up and whipped. So she herself must entertain that fifty pervented behavior – you too.

5. LOOK tek yuh poor great pussy cat and crawl back under yuh Frenchie!

6. buh wha happen to dese women pun BU. Just so you know nobody gives a flyin puck who like wine or gettin tie up or licked or who rich poor or does travel to Paris.
    man guh to france do.

Islandgal246 I did get a kick from your very Bajan terms “poor great ” and “SHOW PIG”.

7. Smooth Chocolate Avatar
    Smooth Chocolate

@LOOK | May 27, 2013 at 7:40 PM |
    “It is not Nelson Street, the Garrison, St. Catherine or Saint Laurent” u do not even have the common sense nor knowledge to know that ALL these are red light districts…hence my point…what a fantasy world u live in… i do not know what is ‘poor great’ and ‘show pig’ but since you are bajan and i am now a citizen then you would know how to use the terms…but please get some class, you have none

8. @ Smooth Chocolate

Again, you’ve hit the wrong number. You did it again. I am NOT BAJAN, never stepped down on Barbados soil. Whatever my citizenship is, that is for me to know and you to find out – keep guessing.

Don’t give a rats ass about Saint Laurant, Quebec Canada, Saint Catherine, Quebec, Canada or Nelson Street (Bridgetown, Barbados). Smooth Chocolate, you perhaps have a reading and comprehension problem; this is rather serious for adults. As stated previously, my place of residence is somewhere on the North American Continent, maybe Westmount, Quebec Canada, maybe Greenwich, Connecticut (USA), maybe the Hampton area in NewYork (USA). It is not Barbados, never ever was. Barbados is not attached to the North American Continent, never ever was. Guess you were not taught geography, did not consume it or enough of it, buttttttttttt you apparently have a reading and comprehenstion problem. It’s okay. I understand. Interesting though you understand that filty perverted behavior S&M sex. Know what, you lack intelligence and have no class – REALLY. By the way, I have seen London, England and Paris France (Western Europe) “in person”, traveled there with a college group. I was then in college, somewhere on the North American Continent.

Last round with you Smooth Chocolate. You may now crawl back in your hole – go to sleep. Please don’t come back out of that hole. You have badly embarrassed yourself.

9. [youtube http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OUF8bbuivwU&w=420&h=315%5D

@ Islandgal246

Last round with you!

My boyfriend, the French-Canadian often calls me a bad girl but stresses FACT that I’m outstanding, so outstanding, also exciting, so exicing WITHOUT participating in that filty perverted S&M sex (being tied up and whipped. Don’t allow that getting tied up and whipped.

10. Two female posters on this blog it seems took their licks and ran off. Some things, persons too are worth fighting, some should just be left alone.

11. LOOK the CROOK…… you still stuck on this page??? You show pig go and show your face elsewhere you fart frighten snob!

12. She’s sooooooooo hilarious and embarrassing, islandgal246. Must have been raised on a monkey farm.

13. Hey there! Do you use Twitter? I’d like to follow you if that would be okay. I’m
    absolutely enjoying your blog and look forward to new posts.

14. Wonderful beat ! I would like tto apprentice while you
    amend your website, how could i subscribe for
    a blog website? The account ajded me a acceptable deal.
    I had been tiny bit acquainted of this your brroadcast provided bright clear idea