The Cost of Corruption… Jamaica’s Barrier to Prosperity
-
Watching the video there is the uncanny feeling that we (Barbados) are following in the path of Jamaica. The NIA spokesman calls for campaign financing legislation in the video. To quote him: he who pays the Piper calls the tune.
-
Barbados will pay the COST and the PRICE ,
If the Elections in your face today dont open your eyes.
When the C.O .W truck hit you , then you will feel the full impact of the Massive Fraud of Barbados upon its People.
Remember Egypt 1st slave agreement to sell out its people “WAR” came next and the rest of the countries . The wave worked it way to Greece .”BANKS” United:States Madoff and Standford . ,, watch the line of movement .The Wave is on its way to Barbados as the other CC islands in the the wake of GG, PM, Sir, DPP, QC, Banks Crimes .Sir Cheltenham and CO Williams got the ball rolling , Moving other people earth to please”HimSelf”
The sperm will reach the egg , matter of time, it will get in side of Barbados. QCs will fall KC are here. -
It all goes back to principalities and workers of evil deeds in high place. Yes/ bajans would pay a price for allowing their leaders to SELL the country out to he highest bidder. One cannot argue that the video highlights a similiar thread in relevance to the Barbados economy as to the many reasons and causesfor the spiral downfall of the JA economy.
-
Corruption stops a countries productivity and growth, it bleeds countries and promotes stagnation.
-
comment before watching/ Barbados is next for sure , for we running out of Islands with the same heading and soon the same ending .
-
The Jamaican economy and prospects for the future
The following is a presentation by Professor Alvin Wint on the growth challenge in Jamaica, made at the ASI Economic Forum – Jamaica at a Crossroads on March 23, 2013
The Economist had the following report on Jamaica in its March 1st edition:
On the eve of lent, Jamaica’s prime minister, Portia Simpson Miller, placed holders of the government’s local currency bonds on an austerity diet, asking them to accept a lower interest rate. Her finance minister followed with unpopular emergency tax increases. In return, on February 15th the IMF announced a preliminary agreement to a US$750m loan. The Lenten diet is set to continue… Mrs. Simpson Miller has little choice. Jamaica suffers from low growth, declining productivity and a heavy debt burden. Its firms have lost competitiveness. …..Jamaica should do better than this. The island has plenty of well-educated English-speaking people. It has great beaches, a near-perfect climate for farming, useful deposits of bauxite and a port which is just a short hop from both Florida and the Panama Canal…But Jamaica lacks energy supplies. It spends more on oil imports than it earns from tourism. Violent crime wrecks lives and may deter tourism. Businesses struggle with security costs. In an opinion poll in 2010, respondents ranked corruption ahead of crime and violence as the most negative thing about Jamaica. For the mobile there is a quick solution. “Tax increases? I won’t be paying any of that. I’m moving to Canada,” says a young Jamaican who is about to finish his law degree. Many others have done the same.”
-
DAVID
“Watching the video there is the uncanny feeling that we (Barbados) are following in the path of Jamaica.”
Why am I not surprised at such a stupid statement from you.
You are on a mission to destroy Barbados’ good name as long as your Barbados Labour Party is in opposition.
You and ADRIAN LOVERIDGE. But you will not succeed.
-
@Well Well
The thing to observe here is not to look at the current state of Jamaica BUT the road travelled to have gotten where they have. Many of the signs are manifesting in Barbados, rising crime, a deteriorating economy, a sinking of the poverty line, open disrespect for law and order, etc. Let us learn from those who have travelled the path. What we have going for us is a high level of education but and educated man who sees no hope is likely to behave like a cornered rat anyway.
-
What is important is to UNDERSTAND that seeking elective office is a business. Do you think that it is happenstance, a mere oversight, that no political party in the Caribbean has bothered to be registered by a recognized, Government ratified superordinate authority? They are not charities you know.
It seems that there are those among us who have assumed that there are set standards that these entities should be expected to maintain, without understanding the TRUE nature of the business that the entities are involved in. No supervisory authority, therefore no real standard.
Sure fire them every ten or so years and they will sit it out and return to do the same thing all over again. It is important that the parties know that when they are in, they take out enough to cover for the lean years.
The business thrives because of the human tendency to forget
-
It is not corruption, it is a business model … what is so difficult about that to understand … Stupse!
-
@Baffy
Don’t split hairs. It is a business model which breeds corruption. The incestuous nature of our politics and an unwillingness to hold people to account. But where are the NGOs which should bring balance?
-
@ Well Well
Totally agree “corruption stops a countries productivity and growth, it bleeds countries and promotes stagnation”. Barbados has a lot of that, corruption.
-
I think you are missing my point. Those who take part in elective politics are no more corrupt than the average person. They know what they are doing … they know what they will be allowed to do, what they can get away with. If you or anyone has a problem with it, do what is required to change the business model, and strive for a tax payer funded superordinate authority with which these pp’s must register and sign on to a set of rules. Clearly the Supervisor of Insurance is a failure, for example, but that does not mean that it was a step in the wrong direction. There is only so much that the regulations in institutions can do; from that point on it will be down to the staffing make things work. If one replaces the word corruption with “business model” I believe that a clearer path to a resolution would be seen. Of course one can always re-introduce the Contractor General as was the case in the Jamaican example and that would see things clear as well, but given the “business model” as it stands, there is every reason to believe that that will not take place -
So Baffy what will it take to disrupt the system short of blood? Also bearing in mind what Chomsky says that many decisions are taken my governments which most citizens are unaware so how can they be expected to react appropriately?
-
This demonstrates the virtual impossible nature at attempting true change. Those that are the most guilty carry all of the clout. The public is made to believe that they have a say, and in reality they do not. They may change the faces that they see on TV but the real business is among the faces that are not seen. If it were possible through force of arms, to implement the Bust Tea plan, or the Alba Alternative for example, one would face the real prospect of having to face the might of the two most deadly and formidable armies in the history of the world. To be honest, I’ve got better ways to spend my time.
-
Don’t be discourage Baffy. Those on the side of those who want justice always find a way.
-
@ BAFBFP
Bushie’s plan need not be implemented vi et armis.
…all it needs is for you, Caswell and David to do EXACTLY as the bushman advised….
….but wunna prefer to talk a lotta shiite instead… 🙂 -
We are surely seeing signs of a Jamaica Part 11 happening in Barbados. Examples are: The rise of dons in St Michael North West, St James South etc ( all the areas where vote buying and selling occurred in the last election) , the capital fight, no justice for the poor causing a lawyer ti skin he backside at a judge, choas in the education system, rise in crime and rampant corruption.. A wor to the wise
-
Lawyers should never ask a Georgia grandma a question if they aren’t
prepared for the answer.
In a trial, a Southern small-town prosecuting attorney called his first
witness, a grandmotherly, elderly woman to the stand. He approached her
and asked, ‘Mrs. Jones, do you know me?’ She responded, ‘Why, yes, I do
know you, Mr. Williams. I’ve known you since you were a boy, and frankly,
you’ve been a big disappointment to me. You lie, you cheat on your wife,
and you manipulate people and talk about them behind their backs. You
think you’re a big shot when you haven’t the brains to realize you’ll never
amount to anything more than a two-bit paper pusher. Yes, I know you.’
The lawyer was stunned. Not knowing what else to do, he pointed across
the room and asked, ‘Mrs. Jones, do you know the defense attorney?’
She again replied, ‘Why yes, I do. I’ve known Mr. Bradley since he was a
youngster, too. He’s lazy, bigoted, and he has a drinking problem. He can’t
build a normal relationship with anyone, and his law practice is one of the
worst in the entire state. Not to mention he cheated on his wife with three
different women. One of them was your wife. Yes, I know him.’
The defense attorney nearly died.
The judge asked both counselors to approach the bench and, in a very
quiet voice, said,
‘If either of you idiots asks her if she knows me, I’ll send you both to the
electric chair.We need to put the older Bajans on the stand to know what the crooks up to. lolol
-
Everybody talking about “the top” really does anybody really believe theycan get to the top.? BTW finding the Pupetter not that easy cause fuh sure they the ones wid the mega bucks financing and controlling the way things should be.first assignment is to cut off the head of the serpent and that is not going to be easy. There is a revolving door that when one goes out another puppet comes in like a bunch of cockroaches very hard eradicate .
-
Bush Tea
Do like you say and “face the real prospect of having to face the might of the two most deadly and formidable armies in the history of the world. To be honest, I’ve got better ways to spend my time.” You see how I jus’ repeat myself? My man I am convinced that Hugo was assassinated. If I could avoid that I will. In Syria the US has publicly admitted to arming the opposition … Lemme tell you, my life too short as it is …! -
We allow our partisan blindness and sometimes ignorance to blind us from seeing the weeds sprouting on the lawn. Do you remember how the minibus culture has been allowed to take root? What about riding bicycles without lights and bells etc, now we have motorbikes on the highways doing wheelies and all kinds stunts – WITHOUT fear of any body. The Nation newspaper went as far as to give these motorbike people a full page spread.
May be you are correct Bushie, we should put down the laptop.
-
Jack Warner is richer than all the corrupt politicians/lawyers in Barbados combined, he will now have to spend a huge portion fighting left and right…………if he has a dime after the tsunami that will take him, he can consider himself lucky. As MP for Chaguanas West, he only worked for $1 per year, that is how rich and confident he is/was.
-
I was once asked by a former acting PM why I thought that PM Gonsalves had gone so quiet about significant reforms since he became PM. I really wasn’t surprised to hear him respond to his own question with “the life too sweet”. The man is now a Knight of St. Andrew … He knew what the “business” was about.
-
March 2013 has passed and there is no legislation on the declaration of major contributors to political parties. How can you have a law that governs the operation of an entity, that has NO legal status, no personality. Ppl luvs getting fooled.
The “Dudas” Coke affair also shows how spineless the local authorities are when faced with a challenge from the US government. Coke as a national should have been afforded an Extradition process, instead what he got was a handing over and the only political fall out was that of a PM stepping down … HA HA HA. The woman from the FSC did not have the balls to name the judge that refuse to sign on to the Cease and Desist campaign and this is not considered to be part of the problem ..?
-
@BAFBFP April 22, 2013 at 2:37 PM “It is not corruption, it is a business model”
EEEEEEEEWWWWWWWWWWWHHHH!!!!!
-
The obvious reason why there is so little movement towards a true Caricom is that the political parties are intent on ensuring that the developments in each territory will appear to be unique to each domicile. No one in Barbados is to know that there was an already existing Fin Serv Comm elsewhere in the Caribbean. No one in Barbados was to know the a Cease and Desist had already been administered (and ignored) by an existing financial house.
We are a market … A MARKET. The sentiment that was expressed by the DLP heads should really translate to “Barbados (read Caribbean) is more than an economy, it is a MARKET” to be exploited by all manner of local and foreign businesses, including political parties …
Owen Arthur was on a mission to include the Barbados MARKET with that of the whole of North America. He succeeded only in orchestrating the buyout of major Barbadian businesses (including a bank) to Trinidadians. Obviously there would have been worse to follow. Hugo Chavez and other South American leaders put paid to Arthur’s plans.
-
Baffy
You so lucid here; you smoking something or are on something new. -
Baf
Tell us how Hugo put paid to Owen
-
Baf
Answered -
@Baffy
Here is a pet peeve of the BU household. We have so called regionalists who continue to push for free movement of people yet an efficient regional transportation remains a low priority item; or so it seems. Travelling from Barbados to Antigua is almost like travelling to Miami. Did you hear Prime Minister Keith Mitchell recently on the subject of LIAT. This is one KPI we should measure our progress as a people.
-
Okay Pacha, you got it
-
Lemuel
It is 7:40 here; wah time it is over by you …?
-
What Baffy lucid what?!?! ….YOU like you smoking Lemmie… 🙂
Baffy says “Lemme tell you, my life too short as it is …!”
Man Baffy, you mean you got all that mouth and frighten as a mouse…? Steupssss!!!
Bushie thought you had balls….
Do you know that while a brave man dies only once, a coward dies every damn day….sometimes more than once a day….? 🙂Wunna could talk all wunna like…..Bushie got a lotta time for Caswell. HE GOT BALLS! …..a RARE COMMODITY in B’dos.
Why you feel that women running things bout here? ….it is not that women suddenly develop any ability to lead anything, it is that the damn men are now so ball-less that the leadership standard has fallen to the level where women actually look competent…..
@ BAFFY
….get somma Hoad’s goatmilk urgently….ask GP to prescribe um for yuh… Otherwise you can kiss Bushie’s National Supervisory Committee goodbye… 🙂 -
Bush
You ain’ know wah I doing. You ain’ got the kind/level of opposition that I gotta face. Cas ain’ in this league here. Let Cas do what Cas does, and know that you can’ compare the two ah we. My thrust is export focused manufacturing, that is enough for my plate. But thanks for the offer, the insults too… mek a man outta me … HA HA HA
Keith Mitchell … where do you start .. hmmm. Nope, drawing a blank already -
Touché BAFFY….
Bushie was just doing a little fishing to see if he could geta bite…. 🙂 -
The “Dudas” Coke affair also shows how spineless the local authorities are when faced with a challenge from the US government. Coke as a national should have been afforded an Extradition process.
…………………………………………………………..
Definitely a case for the CCJ, NO?