Submitted by Peter Rabbi
An intriguing case
An intriguing case – photo credit: BBC

I think that this sordid mess concerning the Derrick Crawford issue has more than gone far enough. It has now reach to a stage where it is before the British Parliament with a recommendation that a travel advisory be issued against Barbados. We can only wait and see but we can logically anticipate a fall in tourist arrivals from that market. In addition to that, if a civil suit results from that we the tax payers of this country will most likely have to compensate Derrick Crawford, a known criminal who has been a parasite preying on visitors for years.

I do think that this is a serious indictment on the AG who has either refused to or believes he is powerless to act on this issue.  I can only now call on the PM to do something. I was in total agreement with the way that you handle the Alexander issue, but certainly Mr PM if that industrial dispute that did not even meet national proportion attracted your attention; should it not be more compelling that this issue that has reach global proportion merit some attention?

Would anyone really believe that these two women could possibly be mistaken, they are fighting this every step of the way, they seem to have some peculiar knowledge of what ever has taken place. They are using they hard earn cash and concentrating the time and energy and should not be dismissed as they were. I would have understood the position taken by the COP Mr Dottin if it was one victim but certainly not two educated and mature women. Can anyone say with any certainty if there was in truth a third victim?

What will it take for the powers that be to act? I believe that it has passed the stage where it can be done but if those in position had given this issue some attention, pay a listening ear to the victims and do the necessary damage control, we would not now be in this position. We can no longer let the perceived power that we have master us but we must master the power. We are now in a global environment within minutes what happen here could be all over the world as this issue now is.

My friend Mr Stuart, you have a good policy, he who humbles himself shall be exulted and he who exult himself shall be like Mr Dottin the laughing stock. Have a meeting with those women, at the highest possible level as it has now gone pass the police force and let us do what we can to SERVE, PROTECT and REASSURE.

May God Bless you.

1. Welll ! Well. your post drew my attention not because of your torrid opibnion in respect to my mentality.but because it cause me to ponder and reflect on the “giants and geniuse who traverse this planet And was cursed ! humilated! and even crucified because they opinions were differnt and not staying in step with the majority some how i feel elevated.

2. @ David
    the fact that you had to ask me that question speaks alot

3. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ TO THE POINT | March 31, 2013 at 10:32 AM |
    “Stop the foolishness of vote buying.”

We notice how you are backpedaling since you are beginning to realize what a silly arrogant fellow you are supporting.

Now who are the ones that alerted to the nation about the fraud that recently passed for free and fair elections? Not our two senior law makers and enforcers of the land constitutionally bound to do such? It is those two either to live up to their constitutional responsibilities or STFU?
    Moreover, we have a man who has witnessed people using illicit drugs but has the temerity to publicly announced it but lacks the political and legal balls to do something about it.
    But who takes the biscuit, no other than the blasted comedian of them all. A man advising young people to go to the drug pushers if they want easy money in their pockets but has the ugly boldfaced guts to get up in the highest court of the land and deny ever making such references.
    It is people like you, TPP, lacking in basic morals of decency and honesty that pose the greatest threat to this country. Not the young marijuana users or unemployed vote sellers in Haynesville, Ferneihurst, the Farm, Rotten Town, and the other economically depressed areas of inner and outer Bridgetown.

4. Tp the point
    It was the people who received the DLP largesse that are telling on them, not me or Miller or Bushie or Baf or AC, maybe she had some election money too. I did not go to the Farm Housing area and receive no Ipad. I was not given 40,000 to buy James Paul and Carrington places in the House. Cost U more did not give me any thing for the election purse. Why you DLPites do not stop stirring the hornet’s nest when you are sitting RIGHT OVER IT.

5. From today’s Gleaner newspaper:

“THE EDITOR, Sir:

I arrived in Barbados on Tuesday, March 28, to spend the Easter weekend with my daughter, who is studying law at the Cave Hill campus.

Having gone through immigration, I was waiting at the luggage belt for my checked bag when a man approached and identified himself as Barbadian police. He proceeded to ask a number of questions about the length of my stay, where I was staying and with whom, my address in Jamaica, what I did for a living, how many more pieces of luggage I had, what I was taking for my daughter, etc.”

read the rest at: http://jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/20130331/letters/letters1.html

Are J’cans getting a bit paranoid?

6. Interesting front page story in the SUN today. Parents accepting $10,000 to drop cases against the perpetrators. To be expected there was not report about the number of convictions arising from the 1,000 reports of abuse annually.

7. ”David | March 31, 2013 at 8:34 AM |
    If the file which the COP has will vindicate the Force and himself then he and or the authorities concerned need to release the damn file.”
    ————
    problem with that David. You will then compromise any future case, albeit it is already so.

Also, because of statements etc etc etc, one must receive written permission from the parties concerned.

Are they so sure of themselves that hey will allow this.

My last question is, in a state of horror and I assume darkness (was it), is a woman going to be able to positively identify (or deny) her attacker?

Just asking a logical question.

8. @Crusoe

It is the CoP who raised the expectation about making the file available to the media/public. He must be aware of the tentacles which make such a promise difficult. Why make it?

9. Crusoe be on guard Hal Austin and miller coming fast to cuss you because what you post does not fit into their paradigm. The blog owner owner is on their side he dont like what you post either..

10. AC………….as we all know the geniuses and mental giants who graced this earth were and are logical, unbiased, neutral and intellectual giants blessed with the greatest of analytical skills………………tell me, just where do you fit in there?? please do not demean these gifted people.

11. @Reality Check

Your credibility is so ‘holy’ we don’t even bother to change your moniker any more. What should it be changed to anyway – 1000 Pounds of Blubber, devin, Watching etc. You political partisans will never understand.

12. Of course while the party hacks seek comfort in trying to lampoon BU the topic of crime against tourists continue in other social media and even traditional.

13. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Crusoe | March 31, 2013 at 11:39 AM |

We are a bit lost here.
    Maybe we need to employ the services of a TV detective Columbo or Inspector Clouseau to solve this case of mistaken identify or even our local equivalent Sherlock Holmes.

But the miller is rather concerned about this DNA thing.
    You mean two so-called matured intelligent women from the UK confronted with incontrovertible DNA scientific evidence that shows an undisputed match between DNA evidence found and the Derrick’s body droppings can still say that the man is not the rapist?
    We know that white people can mix up black people and claim they all look alike the same way Bajans think all Indians or Chinese look alike or Guyanese talk alike. But in the face of clear-cut DNA evidence it is stretching it a bit too far unless that man is some kind of Casanova or Houdini sex god and carrying similar or longer dimensions in the centre of his garden of eden to that of the miller .

14. Miller……………you have to find out if any DNA swabs were taken from these two females, if I remember correctly, one of the victims said no DNA kit was used cause the police were busy driving her around since the female officer needed to purchase a T shirt which was more important and the victim felt like she was being treated by the police like it was all her fault that she was raped and her rape was cutting into their down time.

15. I have never heard of any rape kits being used in Bim nor any evidence that would guarantee DNA identification, except in one case where the accused DNA was sent to the US and a forensic expert traveled to Bim to give evidence and aid in his conviction. DNA evidence can either convict or exonerate, where is the DNA evidence in the Crawford case???

16. @ping pong

“Light your spliff, light your chalice, Mek we smoke it in Buk-In-Hamm Palace. Lend me a paper, lend me a fire, Mek we chase away all the vampire.” Is the powerful soulful refrain of Peter Tosh master musician 1979

Me a used to get down wid a fine Jamaican Nubian when I was three years short of 50. The music evokes thoughts and longings that are long dead in this flesh.

I want to make the point that before i went to Jamtown, even though I had lived in **, ** and ** for many years every Jamaican was a Ganga smoking sensi loving pot user.

These sometimes parochial immigration officers and their police counterparts raised on New Jack City and American gangster movie stereotypes see all (beautiful) Jamaikis as dope users and mules so when Miss Ram comes in wid 15 bags all of them clear customs without a man jack checking one bag, but my Jamaikis and Guyanese got to be carrying contraband in them lovely big botsies.

It is reversed stereotyping and as a cop in ** when I saw brothers late at night you were more likely to frisk them than the yuppie honkies most of whom were carrying weapons and drug paraphernalia

An immigration officer and/or a policeman will challenge (and feel up) a Myrie but will cringe from a Naime, Mottley or nouveau arrivee who-is-who

“Until the philosophy that holds one nation superior and another inferior …………”

17. Miller…………to make things worse, the accused in that rape case had to demand a DNA test, that the state paid for, the accused in his ignorance was not aware of how accurate these tests are and was convicted, so in the Crawford case, we are all now very lost, including the victims.

18. Mr Dottin do not mind the bloggers don’t move show them that you just like Mia that put you there got nuff balls lol lol ,lol

19. That last comment I sent made it sound that now accused rapists have to literally beg/demand for evidence to be introduced to aid in their own convictions in Barbados.

20. Happy Easter to all

That Barbadians in 2013 are still saddled with, at most times, the inept leadership of Darwin Dottin is but a carry over of the legacy of the Mia Mottley days in government.

Mia Mottley placed Dottin in the CoP chair to mash up the police force, wiretap the phones of the ordinary citizens and convict the innocent citizens of this country.

Thank Mia Mottley for what we see as wrong in the Barbados Police Force.

21. @Fractured BLP

If what you say is true then you should be reminded that the CoP has been in the position for every year under a DLP government. So what is your point again?

22. Good one David…….Fractured DLP…..SMH….wuuna DLP yard fowls really make me laff. Mia is still in charge of the government so therefore she is still employing people like the COP. Keep burying yuh head in yuh pooches.

23. well ! well ! you are a two faced mule. don”t have an opinion that is one of sincerity.On BFP you criticised Mia for the level of concern on this issue one of ” economic Terrorism ” and here on BU you spout another opinion . You are the symbol of a modern day “house nigger” . .

24. David | March 31, 2013 at 8:03 AM |
    In T&T the soldier has been given the right to arrest hell there was even talk about flying squads. Are we there yet.
    ……………………………………………………………..
    Its not only banana republics that do this. Not forgetting that at one time in a certain part of the United Kingdom, soldiers were also given the powers of arrest. ” As a member of Her Majesty’s Forces I arrest you.”

25. David,

My point is that Mr. Dottin is appointed to the CoP position. Unless the DLP want to play powerful – foolish , Mr. Dottin will remain in the position until he RESIGNS or RETIRES. From the look of things Mr. Dottin is prepared to RETIRE …knowing that the DEMs ain’t going to fire him.

There was talk sometime ago to placing Mr. Dottin in some area of the Public Service , not sure what that will achieve given that in this small Barbados people still find their way around through their well established connections.

26. “Unless the DLP want to play powerful – foolish , Mr. Dottin will remain in the position until he RESIGNS or RETIRES.”

So it is better to keep a fool in a job in which he has failed miserably and let crime and carnage flourish? Logical thinking?

27. During 2010, long-stay visitors and cruise passengers combined spent an estimated US$1,222.7 million.

You cannot put this kind of revenue in jeopardy.

If Barbados does not deal effectively with crime, reports in international media will send a message that Barbados is unsafe and potential visitors should stay away.

Some things of National importance require decisive leadership.

28. David, is Kraigg Brathwaite related to PM Stuart?

I been watching the match.lol

29. DLP’s motto…Keep incompetent people in their jobs!

30. islandgal246 on March 31, 2013 at 4:48 PM
    DLP’s motto…Keep incompetent people in their jobs!
    ———————–
    That’s true islandgal, once Mia Mottley and the BEEs put them there.

31. Fractured you are so partisan that you cannot think sensibly. Keep the incompetents and see where they will take this piece of rock.

32. islandgal246 on March 31, 2013 at 5:30 PM
    Fractured you are so partisan that you cannot think sensibly. Keep the incompetents and see where they will take this piece of rock.
    ———————-
    Hi islandgal,
    I am just following you and other BLPites belief that every decision and appointments the BEEs made while in office was COMPETENTLY made.

So why you fussing now ?
    Wunnah put Dottin there , wait till wunnah get back in to correct your mistakes or wait till he resigns or retires.

Case closed.

33. Fractured …you sound really fractured almost to the point of imbecilic .

34. Imagine we have problems with crime and some are saying we can’t hold those charge with the responsibility accountable.

BS!

35. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Fractured BLP

“Wunnah put Dottin there , wait till wunnah get back in to correct your mistakes or wait till he resigns or retires.”

Well said.

36. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Also the joker who is running the Prison.

37. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Both MIA picks!!!!

38. @Reality Check.
    No one gives a Damn about Barbados in the Big wide World.
    Bringing it DOWN or building it UP.
    Its about CHOICE of where to take a break, and RELAX (note that word RELAX).
    IF ANYONE has to stop and give SERIOUS thought as to the safety of them selves or their loved ones,about Murder , maybe shot, Raped ,Ignored by the Law,falsely accused of criminal acts,really you can just about name anything as the DPP Charles Leacock has shown himself to pay no respect,to Rhyme ,reason or lawful process.

They just flick the page to the next destination.

They WANT a NO BRAINER. They DO NOT want Barbados.
    They want to RELAX. GET IT?

You would have to be Insane to make a statement as you have done about bringing a country down.

Forget the old; GOD is a Bajun Crap.

We just a flyshit on the face of the world map,people just DO NOT CARE if we are UP or DOWN.
    Most people who used to come here are LITTLE people who used to BOAST.
    “OH I just holidayed in Barbados!!
    NOT ANYMORE.
    Ask the professor and his wife,both stabbed whilst staying INSIDE an exspensive rented villa. The couple shot while shopping in Bridgetown.
    THE BASTARDS dared to Complain.
    What the PHUC are they up too, laying there in a Pool of blood Maligning our dear little rock?

Barbados has LOST its VIRGINITY,its become just an old shagged out , shell of a destination ,inhabited by,Thieving politicians , Guyanese Pimps of law and order, Masterfully controlled Police,and not even the semblance of a legal system.

Governed by a political class who still believe the World can be “just Ignored ” as Tourists are only in Barbados for TWO WEEKS and then the next set of idiots arrives to be Fleeced.
    The previous lot having just “Vaporised into the Ether”

They never really existed anyway ,Barbados just Gracious ,ALLOWED them to come and be fleeced and abused, then PISS OFF and take thier Complaints elsewhere .

Barbados has CEASED to be a DESTINATION, perceived as being desireable.

People like you,helped make it so.
    People who beleive that if they repeat an idiocy often enough it becomes a fact.

The people who inhabit the REAL World, realise when they read such rubbish ,EXACTLY what the reaction of people like you will be to them, IF they ,as Barbadian tourists,have problems.
    THEY WILL BECOME the PROBLEM.
    In trying to get JUSTICE they are perceived as engaging in a PLOT,with others, to Bring Barbados DOWN.
    Its EASTER!!
    Jesus Christ SAVE US.

39. @ Dr Love
    “Barbados has LOST its VIRGINITY,its become just an old shagged out , shell of a destination ,inhabited by,Thieving politicians , Guyanese Pimps of law and order, Masterfully controlled Police,and not even the semblance of a legal system.”
    …..you seem to be coming to grips with the concept of “brass bowls”….. 🙂

40. @Caswell

Can you tell us how what options are available to an Attorney General?

41. [quote] Carson C. Cadogan | March 31, 2013 at 7:14 PM |

Fractured BLP

“Wunnah put Dottin there , wait till wunnah get back in to correct your mistakes or wait till he resigns or retires.”

Well said.[/quote]
    ————————————————————
    i really hope you all are only yardfowls and not elected officials and i would hope the elected officials don’t think with their asses like you two.

42. Dr Love
    Were you mugged in Barbados. What venom! What I want you to remember is that YOU or people of your ilk do not decide whether Barbados sinks or swim; there are forces that control beyond your puerile imagination.

43. @ Doctor Love

While I don’t agree with all of your submissions I think that some of your last remarks have merit i.e. Barbados no longer a destination of choice, fleecing tourists & 2 week shelf life cycle, promoting throughput instead of building relationships.

Incompetent men, in “important positions” without a clue on how to pro-actively deal with the steadfastly diminishing image of Barbados, once a peaceful tranquil island, now seek to impugn the characters of the victims of the increasing crimes .

Couple that with the “PLOT fanatics” (a few of these incompetent men/women also believe that the Jamaican Tourist Board is funding the crime in Barbados) and we have an economy perched on the brink of disaster

To “Effectively Manage Fallout” you would thing that there would by now be persons who recognized the problem as it was progressing and who had the competencies to deal with it, in utero, before it veered out of control.

It is a stupid man who when faced by the victim of a rape, insists that the victim (in this case 2 women) is/are wrong.

Ask Peter Wickham to do a poll of any woman on the street to see if a rape victim (i) does not know her rapist but even if she did not more importantly (ii) how she feels when a man who ent get de doggie push up in he, telling the news dat the doggie belong to annuder man?

Now I want you to extrapolate on this sentiment that Wickham’s poll will confirm and answer me this could the Comish possibly have any sense to stick to his pronouncements?

You mean to tell me that, after all these incidents of crime against tourists, there is no person who can be relied on to guide the strategy of how we manage incidents like this when they happen? This is not the first time this has happened, it happened when David Symmonds was AG under the BLP’s previous administration.

Crime is crime and any action which highlights the fact that the RBPF seems to be more responsive to crime against tourists as opposed to Crime against the Bajans (Kampus Trendz arsonists walking about free for months with any arrest) is to say the least is insensitive and, to tell the truth, shows the incompetence of those responsible the RBPF, the AG, the DPP and the PM. Yes, the buck stops at Fumble and when he was there, Seethru.

If you see that the incompetent buffoons can’t be fired, reassign them to some ostentatious position in another ministry where they can’t do any harm BUT make an example of them so that their successors know what your standards are. (BUT THEN I AM SPEAKING ABOUT MEN WITH BALLS)

44. @ David

“A Deterrent to Crime” or alternatively titled “Let CBC do something useful”

Every time i catch a criminal in BIM for any crime, I would march he cross de station yard and parade he face pun a special TV segment before the news pun CBC

I catch someone, I gine parade he. As big and bad as dem fellows is, when de wumens see dem in de hands uh de law, dem culprits pus**y ratio does drop significantly.

In Barbados, as in some part of the Caribbean, it is still the rational of the girls to lef out dese fellow being “da boy is a criminal, he going get lock up, and bull and i dont want HIV”.

That is simplistic reasoning but as disjointed and illogical as it is this is still how a segment of our population, thinks.

Embarrass them bad boys publicly and once “their currency” among their ilk diminishes, they will pause.

Add a big orange jumper suit and a community sentence for the borderline criminals – make them clean gutters, the highway, abutments and gullies, in full view of Bajans and dem friends pun de block, and i guarantee you that we will see a change in this bad boy attitude that graduates into shooting tourises on Hinks Street

Of course Pilgrim and he brudder Commis song gine rise up against dat,

Anarchists with pretensions for silk.

BALLS NAILED TO THE SEATS

I note

45. sorry about the “Balls nailed to the seat” remark, i was starting another submission about police officers who no longer walk the beat but drive around in their Suzukis as if their parts were/are nailed to the seat.

This is one of the reasons that community policing has failed so miserably in Barbados because the 4×4 is now part of the backsides of our policemen and all they do is zip through the neighbourhood.

And we wonder why the criminals are increasing in our society??

46. ac…………………I was busy reading posts on this blog from people who actually know how to make sense in their comments………….now i will give you a wee bit of attention……………..most of us have noted that you do not bother to read 9/10 of any post, maybe only the first line, we also know of your inability to comprehend basic information and process same into any intelligent replies…………….therefore, you are forgiven for your house nigger comment, you continue to show us you are unable to do any better. I do not believe in any house DLP or BLP, can you say the same???

47. Fractured BLP Avatar

Congratulations Miller,

Just heard it announced on the BBC news that your boy Owen Arthur would be taking up a position at the International Monetary Fund (IMF).

It was reported that the IMF was very keen to have among its staff an Economist who had experience in wrecking a once thriving economy.

No doubt OSA handling of the Barbados economy between 1994 – 2007 made him an unmatched candidate for the IMF job.

Cheers !

48. @lemuel
    Love it man.
    Whereas I dont agree with what you say but I will stand up for your right to say it!!

I see you agree with that sentiment also?

Purile??
    Means “childishly silly and trivial”??
    Where do you see that in my submissions?
    Venom??
    means “Extreme malice and bitterness”
    The truth struck a wrong chord in you my brother
    I would have expected better from you.
    My “Ilk” ??
    Means what?
    Different from your “ilk”
    Presumably then, you see “YOUR ILK” as superior?
    Please ellucidate on the difference between “the ILKS”

Barbados sinking or swimming is not “UP” for a decision,unless you inhabit Mars, is is an actuality.

“There are forces that control” REALLY!!!
    Name SOME and WHAT they control.?
    I mean like constructive positive things,not graft, corruption and misuse of authority.

I liked you joke about “was I mugged in Barbados”
    Name someone who WASN’T.
    WE live here !!We are MUGGED continuously,legally Mugged.
    But of COURSE you are right,one must not Speak about the reality of our Homeland , we must speak for “World consumption” and REALLY beleive ALL the rest of the WORLD can be HOODWINKED ,continuously,by our “Sweetmout”

@Bush Tea.
    Yeah it sorta creeps up on you bit by bit over the years.
    Either that
    or the brass Bowls have become more prolific over the last few years.
    What ya think?
    @ Piece uh de Rock.
    Yes I try to be meritorious.
    Maybe you can enlighten Lemuel as to where.
    Wasnt there somewhere in law the phrase” “the truth, the whole truth and nothing but the truth,so help me God”
    How can we excuse the fact that Barbados now is without law.
    A living parody,justice for those who can afford it or arrange it by connections.
    Does your heart not sink and the breath not still in your chest,when you realize the Corruption of the Law by those specifically put in positions to administer it properly.
    This DPP Charles Leacock,maybe he is just the “Knife ” wielded by others,but he is also , an Alien Acid that eats at the root of all we hold dear.
    Maybe that “Knife” should be removed,at least rendering the “wielders” less of a threat.
    His judgements seems fatally flawed,to the total detriment of all of Barbados.
    Has the PM any idea of the reaction ,that people who live in Lawfull societies,have when they read the type of statements that Leacock makes as routine .The disbelief ,the awe, the foreboding,.It does not act as an encouragement to have anything to do with anything connected with Barbados.

49. Dr Love…………..you struck a chord…………..I have lived in some bad areas in New York, and NY can be dangerous, through the years back then, done quite a bit of traveling, always go to Trinidad country I love, can also be a dangerous country, I have never had any crimes committed against me in any of these dangerous countries. The only country I have been mugged on the streets or had my house burglarized was Barbados, in the 80s and 90s. Never heard Mottley calling that any type of terrorism, is it because it continues to be black on black crime??maybe she would welcome a public debate on this subject before she ends up with more foolish utterances.

50. Why i am bothering to respond .it is/iobvius that WELL! WELL! haven.t got an original thought of your own of your own .giving your various comments including ac it is always in agreements with others or wherever the wind is blowing Anyhow i will say that your comment on MIA was “spoton” and truly an original indeed somtime you ought to practice more often as it gives creedance to your comments and makes you look less phony. Now get to hell out my face.You phony ass used yuh brain even if others disagre