Adrian Loveridge - Owner of Peach & Quiet Hotel
Adrian Loveridge – Owner of Peach & Quiet Hotel

Government’s budget setting out the Estimates of Expenditure and Revenue for the financial year 2013/2014, lists that ‘a subvention of $101.7 million has been provided to the Barbados Tourism Authority to facilitate marketing and promotion’. At first, it seems, a simple enough stated intent, but what does it really mean?

‘Marketing and promotion’, what will ultimately be spent on these two critical functions after all other expenses are taken out? Salaries, per diem allowances, the much vaunted restructuring costs possibly including an allowance for severance, consultancy fees, lease payments on luxury SUV vehicles, recent office moving expenses, outstanding debts, overseas offices, depreciation, interest. The list goes on and on.

Perhaps even more pertinent, will the budgeted amount even actually be available to the organisation? Or will they become cash starved again, before the end of the next financial year contributing to another near devastating fall in arrival numbers. Bearing in mind the fragile state of the industry, wouldn’t it also be wise to ensure that the private sector is fully informed of any recovery plans to ensure limited available resources from them is not squandered by duplicating efforts.

I recently saw a prediction that 2013 would end the year ‘flat’ in terms of arrivals, but that would mean a growth rate of more than 6.2 percent this year alone, just to make up for the loss in 2012. And ‘a rise in tourism figures by the end of March 2014’ was also forecast. Given that somewhere between 12 and 20 hotels are already up for sale, I seriously wonder how many more can economically hang on, even if marginal viability returns. During the budget debate, the Minister Of Finance anticipated a 0.9 percent growth in tourism during the financial year ending  2014. Is that enough to avoid further closures and lay-offs on top of what we have had so far? It has been a very disappointing peak winter season, compounded by a virtual moratorium on sustained marketing for several months.

Frankly, I have never been a great fan of predictions. I would rather rely on strategies and courses of action which incorporate a high degree of possible success, that actually make things happen. Also the figures when compared above, start to confuse me. Yes of course there is a difference with data and fiscal year, but in this case they both possess three of the much higher yield critical winter months. January, February and March. So a minimum 6.2 percent increase in long stay visitors ‘to end the year flat’, but only ‘a 0.9 percent growth in tourism’ during the financial year ending 2014. That 6.2 per cent would equate to enticing another 33,250 long stay visitors. So the question that should be asked, based on current average stay and spend would this equate to a 0.9 per cent growth?

Once again, we are left asking so many questions and obtaining so few answers.

141 responses to “Reconciling the Tourism Numbers in Fiscal 2013”

1. Off topic.

The Vehicle and Metal dump in Cane Garden, St Thomas started burning around 12:30 p.m and continues to burn.

2. The following was received via email:

i see in the press Biusness Authority photo of Gordon Seale and Maria Nancy Seale at tht Bougainvillea Beach Resort staff awards. but i no see any mention of Chris McHale who is the owner of Bougainvillea Beach Resort? why is this. why nebver any mention of McHale; is he not wanted at the awards.

if not why not. when the place was built it was Mchale who put up the millions; we know that. gordon; my good frend Mchale did not stop bein the owner jus cause you mislaid the company records. you know that. you forget himnow so you can pompaset. yuo paid any taxxes yet like we do. are Dominic and Morgan proud of you. you have no self respeck even.

3. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Sandiford was not sent to China to do anything: I have it on good authority that he was sent there to get him out of the way.

You would recall that Sandiford vowed to get back at those who brought down his administration in 1994. It was felt that if he remained in Barbados, he would disrupt the new Thompson administration. Therefore he had to be out of the picture and as far as possible from Barbados. He was sent to China for that reason and no other. I got that information from a Combermerian.

4. @Caswell

Is the Combermerian alive?

5. Seems like Barbados should replace overseas Ambassadors and High Commissioners with salesmen.

just a thought.

6. Gingerbread Girl Avatar
    Gingerbread Girl

That email was clearly from McHale.

Here are interesting tidbits:
    1. CIBC First Caribbean have appointed a Receiver and Manager over certain assets of McHale’s holding company, Woodbank Investments.
    2. The Receiver and Manager have commenced an action to evict McHale from his penthouse condo at Ocean Reef Suites which is owned by Woodbank and which is one of the assets the Receiver and Manager they have been appointed to recover.
    3. Bougainvillea Beach Resort has never issued any shares to McHale, he is not a shareholder. McHale is claiming that Woodbank owns shares in Bougainvillea but that company and its shareholders deny that Woodbank ever had shares issued to it.
    4. Despite Woodbank claiming to have shares in Bougainvillea, Woodbank has not progressed its alleged legal claim to shares in the same.
    5. McHale’s girlfriend Stacy is no longer with him.
    6. McHale pled guilty to Criminal assault.
    7. Woodbank owes millions to contractors in Barbados.
    8. Barry Gale QC quit working for Woodbank and McHale because he was and still is owed hundreds of thousands of dollars in fees.
    9. McHale’s other company Tropic Ice is all but out of business having been evicted by its landlord at Salters, St. George for unpaid rent.
    10. McHale is a clown.

7. Please can I have some assistance to hang onto my sanity.
    I read,about Sandi .
    I read about statitistics from the various Goverment departments I read and I read and I read.
    Not one word of what i read is of any relevance.
    None of it is Real in the sense that it is of truth and value ,yes its real in the sense that it exists, as its in this blog in print!.
    But the same can be said of Winnie the pooh or Rupert bear.
    They exist/existed and were real in the sense that they “were”
    but they were PHUCING FANTASY.
    Cant any of you SEE you are eruditely discussing ,REALMS of FANTASY.
    For the sake of GOD shut the PHUC up and start getting REAL.
    Miller,Onions, Baffy Yes Baffy you are a hard headed Commie, relate PLEASE to these people they are in the WRONG world.
    The “pen is Mightier than the Sword” .Whoever the PHUC wrote that NEVER ever ,read these BLOGS.
    LEMUEL, dont let me down man, kick their balls,pelt their heads with rocks of REALITY.
    This is a PHUCING MAD HATTERS TEA PARTY.
    Piss and Wind,
    Blathering of the Eunochs.Ball less ballons of Emississions of erudite education.
    What the PHUC have you acheived?(Well I stand in AWE of your linguistic capabilty.BIG PHUCING DEAL)
    Its about time you actually got out there and SHOVED the sharp end of your Writing Impliments up some political ARSES.
    If I go quiet now, please say a prayer as I have probably committed Hari Kari

8. @Gingerbread

If all that you say is true why is this someone trying to draw attention to Mchale if he can’t prove squat?

9. Gingerbread Girl Avatar
    Gingerbread Girl

It is obvious you don’t know McHale and his dillusional behavior.

10. “Mchale is a clown” all those in favour say YEAH! the Yeahs have IT! Chuckle ! Chuckle! chuckle!

11. Hants | March 25, 2013 at 9:00 PM |

Thank you for now there be someone who see way forward. Sandy clearly not man for job …? Velly expensive way to keep man away … no?

Intelligent agent inform that Mchale claim Sandy is “errant school teacher” …no? Intelligent agent also inform that Mchale also claim Art’ur “have balls over track of fast moving train” … no?

12. Hants; Thanks for your 8:12 pm post. Beautiful web pages; great products and prices.

13. Sandi is the Ambassador which is as it should be.

Invest Barbados should have an office in China to deal with trade.

14. Gingerbread Girl Avatar
    Gingerbread Girl

McHale has no balls.

15. @Checkit-Out,

They have a self serve check out. I go in shop and pay for my groceries and bag them without having to deal with a human.lol.

16. can,t help but agree with senator Mclean on her assesment of the Hotel industry and their lucklustre efforts in helping themselves but only rellying on govt to pull the heavy load while they gripe and complain that “enough is not enough” i assumed that most of the owners have become complacent albeit to a previous BLP govt who made them believe that ” tourism” was a bottomles pit and would be entiled to any financial support when and “if” necessary by govt.

17. Wait Hants after all the years of free education at harrison college yuh think you would have learnt a basic financial lesson”nobody work fuh free” talk about wasted education and you becoming “a bag boy not to mention “no tips”.another eye opener, as how our society has been programmed and dumbdown, by Private money hungry corporations who know how to explore and expedite “monkey see ” monkey do” on people like hants

18. As long as the hotel owners were allowed over decades to suck the taxpayers dry for millions, there is no way they would want to pull their own pockets to do their own marketing. They see it as the money they paid to employees, NIS and taxes, being returned to them by the same taxpayers in the millions, so they can do it all over again…………..an indefinite money tree, why discontinue a good thing, just keep crying and complaining until it is restored. Problem is, there are no more millions to get, wasted tears. Nice scam while it lasted. One day the bucket went to the well and the bottom dropped out. Today is the day.

19. To AC and others who continue to beat the drum of the BLP not restructuring the economy in the fat years and the DLP now having to make some attempt at doing it when absolutely forced to; Necessity is the mother of invention.

20. Hants; The system you describe is obviously an avant gard one with numerous benefits that perfectly suits the Canadian Economy and the Canadian people. I don’t think it suits our Bajan wannabee economy or scrunting people at this time. Perhaps sometime down the road when other ducks fall in line, But not now.

21. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | March 26, 2013 at 8:39 AM |
    ” i assumed that most of the owners have become complacent albeit to a previous BLP govt who made them believe that ” tourism” was a bottomles pit and would be entiled to any financial support when and “if” necessary by govt.”

Poor you, caught in a time warp of folly. Totally lost in mental space where the opposite dimension to commonsense and truth is your bubble.

Who has been feeding the owners with taxpayers’ money for the last 5 years? Who came up with the Tourism Relief & Investment Fund?
    Ac, yes go ahead and cuss the lazy parasitic bastards in the sector but please come to the realization that the BLP is not the government. And this has been the reality of the situation for over 5 years now.

You really sound bad, bad, bad with this blame OSA & BLP for everything stupidity.
    What’s wrong with you? Instead of blaming the BLP for everything going wrong in Bim today why not offer critically constructive suggestions to the current administration on how to make things better in the tourism industry and in particular the hotel sector.

22. Maybe sounding bad is also sounding true. BTW it is up to the BHTA to come uop with sound and construtive solutions not ac i don,t work for the hotel industry.it is/apparant that this industry is hell bent on living like kings/and queens off the taxpayers but should be more forth coming with viable solutions instead of constantly looking to govt for morehand outs. Sandy lane have been doing very welll . so the question is why others seem to be doing poorly. isn.t it all the same market.

23. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

Well Well,

Please name ONE cent of taxpayers monies that small hotel has received over the last 25 years. You are tarring all of us with the same feathers. A very limited number of hotels actually got ANY TIRF monies and since the funds were dispersed, two of them that collectively received nearly $3 million have gone out of business and laid off almost 700 employees.
    You really have to try and be objective and factual.

24. Adrian…………….I am being objective, the hoteliers who got millions know who they are, like with everything else in Bim, some get and some don’t, the old adage still applies, who the horse likes he licks, who he hates he kicks. Never for an instant think I don’t know that there were those who got preferences in the millions of dollars, there is never any fair and balanced distribution in Bim in any sector.

25. ac | March 26, 2013 at 8:54 AM

Your response boggles the mind. There were two options open to me. Go to a Cashier or go to a machine.

I chose the machine because it is the quicker option.

Do you ever read and understand what you reply to?

You completely missed the point I was making.

Barbados needs to generate better more productive jobs than baggers and people weeding gutters.

26. Hants i do understand your point .however my mind truly is boggle when one does not see the many reason behind a corpratiion using machines to service people instead of employing workers to do and on the otherhand using their customers instead and you hants stepping in line to accomadte not realising that you are being “hoodwinked” and saving nothing but being part of a process to Put more people out if work .

27. @ac,

So you are suggesting that I should shop in supermarkets that only have cashiers?

In Toronto supermarkets don’t have “baggers” like my favourite Barbados supermarket Jordans.

28. Yes hants that is what i am suggesting ,however out of evil might come good because in the long run the systematic process of pay by machine might help to breathe new life into the traditional way of shopping as customers seek and prefer the old method of customer service

29. @ac,
    “customers seek and prefer the old method of customer service.”

Perhaps a few dinosaurs like you but the majority want convenience like paying by Ipad and debit cards.

You do realise that the people designing and building the machines are very well paid compared to the “cashiers and baggers the machines replace.

30. Gingerbread Girl

Now how in God’s name would you know that …?

31. Hants

You have not got the fogiest idea of what it is that Invest Barbados does do you …? BTW you further have not got the fogiest thing that Sandy does in China now do you …?

32. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | March 26, 2013 at 12:56 PM |
    Like Hants the mind boggles at the position you are taking; but for slightly different reasons.

Here is a country quite prepared to spend millions in investing in tertiary education but still wants its graduates to be supermarket hewers of wood and drawers of water reflecting a bygone age of servitude embedded in a past of racial and class snobbery.

Why the hell people who shop can’t do their own bagging and carrying to their SUV’s and BMWs unless it is extraordinary heavy in which case they can pay for the service? If they want that sort of “me up there and dem down there” then why not open a ‘special’ shopping experience but very discriminately high price like Fortnum and Mason or Harrods or some other North American or European upscale food, personal and household supplies establishment?

But the pertinent question to you though which of course you would wish to shun is this: Why didn’t the DLP administration demand from Cost-U-Less all the good things you are so sharp to demand from other supermarkets?

What’s up ac, the cat got your tongue now that the rat is out of the shopping bag?

33. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ BAFBFP | March 26, 2013 at 4:04 PM |
    “you have not got the fogiest idea of what it is that Invest Barbados does do you …? ”

Neither does any one else; unless you can inform us otherwise. One thing known for sure is that around $140 million of taxpayers’ money has been spent so far and nothing to show for it.
    At least we have steel and concrete and acres of beachfront real estate for the $120 million spent on the Four Seasons and even a virgin dump ready for B’s recycling removal to Greenland.

Sir Lloyd was sent or euphemistically shanghaied to Beijing like a true roasted Peking duck as compensation for the democratic coup undertaken against him in 1994.
    All he does is drowsily rambles on about his halcyon days of being PM of the Barbadoes and how his protégé and an apprentice of former king maker Cameron is now the incumbent king of La La land proudly and boastfully following in his grandfather-like footsteps.

34. @ BAFBFP

I have used the services of Invest Barbados’ office in Toronto.

They were prompt in providing the Information my associates required.

Somewhere in the fog I was able to determine what they are supposed to do and in my case they did what I required.

35. O.K. miller if you think that an economy is only made up of the “well to do” and the affluent and those of the upper backet of the economic scale ;then here is where i must remind you that those who once were the cashiers and the bag boys some of them are not of such high standings academically or financially and still have to pay bills to maintain a normal livelihood ,. or in other words work for a living. However in the due prcosees of time which is about now is being replaced machines and there only retreat for some would be govt assistance or govt providing jobs ‘ an issue for which you MIller have an high degree of intolerance for cause it means “the millers of this world having to pay more taxes and such people would not be absorbed by the private sectors.

36. Gingerbread Girl Avatar
    Gingerbread Girl

BAFBFP

Ask Stacy Loy, McHale’s former companion, if what I said is true or not. She left McHale for Pemberton from Four Seasons. By all accounts McHale should be oddity exhibit in a traveling freakshow.

37. NationBLPnewspaper Avatar
    NationBLPnewspaper

There is an uncanny coincidence that every thing that Clyde Mascoll says about economic policy in this country is repeated by Sanka Price. AMAZING .
    Sanka Price is obviously still hurting from the fact that after lambasting a government every week for 5 years that the government was still reelected. So his campaign against the DLP and minister Sinckler continues.His writings as usual seem only to reflect his partisan BLP position.
    Now like Mascoll,he is attacking Sir Frank Alleyne and Dr. Worrell.
    He however both as editor and columnist is using every opportunity to highlight Michael Howard’s critique.
    Sanka Price should keep writing about who horn who and the sexual matters which titilate him because he is basically sounding like an angry BLP supporter which he is and not a balanced journalist.
    This is now his sixth year of cursing the DLP – He is a disgrace to balanced journalism.
    Like clockwork ,Mascoll will write another BLP political column on Thursday and Hoyos on Sunday and people want to say that the Nation newspaper is not politically biased?

38. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ NationBLPnewspaper | March 27, 2013 at 7:13 AM |

You with that anti Nation newspaper post-election propaganda again?

You did know how anti DLP that rag sheet was during the elections but still gave them a life line of nearly $5 million in advertising revenues.
    Well if it is not $5 million tell us how much was paid by the DLP to the Nation and its sister broadcasting company VOB for political advertising.

BTW, have you paid CBC for those ads or is it a case of “Own Use” advertising space at the DLPCBC station so just write it off in the books?

Man leave the Nation newspaper alone and if you feel so strongly about its anti-DLP stance then advise your boss man to withdraw its licence to operate as a media house as it your wont to muzzle us here on BU who speak out against this administration.
    We have not forgotten how Mr. Integrity allowed the DLP to operate a radio station during the last elections without the necessary procedures being followed.
    Now STFU about the Nation which is operating within the laws of the land!

39. NationBLPnewspaper Avatar
    NationBLPnewspaper

@Millertheanunnaki
    Noone ever said the Nation newspaper, Advocate ,CBC ,etc are not operating within the laws of this land.
    The most popular newspaper in this country is in bed with the opposition. I am simply stating the facts. The DLP advertised in the Nation to get its message out in the same way that while Owen Arthur was cursing CBC and refusing to appear on CBC , he still allowed the BLP to run election ads on CBC.
    Do not misrepresent the facts. The Nation newspaper is employing BLP supporters like Hoyos, Harry Russell, Peter Symmonds, Caswell Franklyn,Clyde Mascoll and others to do a hatchet job on the DLP every week.
    The truth must be told to Barbadians of this national scandal which is the marriage of Roebuck Street and Fontabelle. The Nation columnists are not independent analysts,they are specifically chosen because of their partisan leanings. A disgrace to journalism in Barbados.

40. What plans have been put in place Minister Sealy to benefit from this situation?

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/topics/weather/9956198/Big-freeze-may-last-until-the-end-of-April.html

Note we have assumed you have plans.

41. NationBLPnewspaper Avatar
    NationBLPnewspaper

Caswell Franklyn cannot say anything negative about Mia Mottley or The BLP in his columns. I dare Caswell to say that the BLP rightfully removed Mottley as opposition leader previously or as he has done on this blog write anything critical about Mottley and see how long his financial lifeline at the Nation newspaper will last.
    Caswell, I dare you. Are you a man or a mouse?
    He will have to follow the script of Brandford,Hoyos,Mascoll, Sanka Price,Harry Russell,etc.
    That is how you get a job as a Nation columnists- You must be critical of the DLP. Case in point – Guest column – Peter Boos.
    Look out soon for columns from Ryan Straughn, Frances Chandler and any other emerging critic of the DLP. That is the surest way to make a name for yourself in the Nation newspaper.
    The Nation newspaper continues to sell Barbadians short and put party before country.The truth must be told.

42. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

NationBLPnewspaper

Can you point out where any of my Frankly Speaking columns in the Nation were party political. As a matter of fact, when I was first contacted to do that column, I was specifically instructed not to write a political column.

43. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ NationBLPnewspaper | March 27, 2013 at 7:57 AM |
    “No one ever said the Nation newspaper, Advocate ,CBC ,etc are not operating within the laws of this land.”

Would you say the same thing about the DLP sponsored radio station that operated throughout the recent campaign?
    What about the school teacher who appeared in the Transport Board Bus ad portraying the BLP as privatizing the Board if returned to office? Was this civil servant operating within the law and the regulations governing his terms and conditions of employment in the public service?

So what’s you beef with the Nation newspaper, then? Why doesn’t the DLP start its own newspaper like the Barbados Today and attract readers away from your nemesis if you don’t want to close it down? We are sure your much boast about educated Barbadians would migrate from the popular rag sheet of scandal and DLP hate to the pages of truth and DLP fair play of voting buying.

44. Gengerbread

I will never accept the word of an ex … sorry.

Hants

Good for you. Did your comrade buy something Barbadian as a result of your experience with Invest Barbados …? Didn’t think so.. probably was in need of a Barbadian Lawyer/Tax Consultant/EliteAcademicServiceProvider huh …!

45. BAFBFP

The intent was to establish a company to assemble (FEDex shippable) products in Barbados initially creating about 50 jobs.

Just so you know BAFBFP all I requested from Invest Barbados was information and I did not have to employ Barbadian Lawyer/Tax Consultant/EliteAcademicServiceProvider.

46. I seem to recall that Observing posted a short sentence a few days ago that the comments on the NIS made by Mr Straughn were unfortunate or words to that effect.

The article “NIS concerns” by Peter Boos in Today’s Nation must be even more unfortunate. Boos makes, what seems to me, to be a very good case for pensioners like myself to be very concerned about the disclosure made in the recent Auditor General’s report that 80% of the NIS scheme fund is invested in Government debt. (……….. to be continued)

47. I was listening to 640am radio in Toronto this morning between 9 and 10am.
    There was a panel discussing Taxation.

They were attacking the Caribbean as a tax haven and one of them suggested that Canadians be banned from traveling to the Caribbean countries that don’t shut down their Tax Havens.
    They did not mention Barbados but they did refer to the Former PM Paul Martin and his use of a Tax Haven to register his company CSL.

So after years of exploiting the Caribbean the Canadians want to punish us.

When I was at secondary school 50 years ago there were 4 banks in Barbados.
    3 Canadian and 1 British.
    Anyone remember when a lot of Hotels were owned by Canadians?Anybody ever check to see how much of their profits was sent back to Canada.

When the world economy was booming there was a love fest between Canada and Barbados and Canadians did not care about the 1% tax dodge in Barbados but now there is trouble on the horizon the shite talk starting.

Barbados should accept that the low tax regime is coming to an end.

48. @miller
    “BTW, have you paid CBC for those ads or is it a case of “Own Use” advertising space at the DLPCBC station so just write it off in the books?”

Miller, if they haven’t paid, they should pay up as up to yesterday, staff had not been paid and they are mad as hell. When they enquired about why their salaries were late, the pompous CEO asked them why they were making such a fuss and why were they living so hand to mouth? Well that has the staff so mad!

49. @ Miller,
    “We have not forgotten how Mr. Integrity allowed the DLP to operate a radio station during the last elections without the necessary procedures being followed”…………………………………

Miller,
    Is this station still operating? Dems never cease to amuse me!

50. miller,
    Stop wasting your time with the Nation critic. He conveniently forgets that the Nation under Harold Hoyte (the now pure retired journalist) was anti BLP. Hoyte even said that he does not sing in Arthur’s choir and inferred that a PM crossed him once and he lost and another will do so.That was OSA in 2008!

A caller this week told David Ellis that Maureen Holder said on CBC that Frank Da Silva contacted DE to get her the job at VOB. DE skirted all around the caller saying she was a caller first, the caller told DE that almost all of VOB’s moderators were Dems who went on to become ministers in 2008, DE responded that they have had moderators who were Bees. I challenge him to name one!

So I cannot understand this “sickofunk” who is always at the Nation’s throat! He would be surprised to know that there are more Dems in the Nation than Bees. But miller, why does this obsessed Nation critic think that NO ONE is supposed to be critical of this incompetent government? God, he is overbearing!