The following is a communication which was sent to the VAT Office by Hotelier and social commentator Adrian Loveridge.

Adrian Loveridge - Owner of Peach & Quiet Hotel
Adrian Loveridge – Owner of Peach & Quiet Hotel

On or before the 15 March 2013, we will be expected to pay over to Government the amount of $37,526.60 in Corporation taxes due for the last financial year [2012]. If we do not pay on time, then there will be an immediate fine of 5% of the amount due, which equates to $1,876.33 plus interest accrued of 1% per month or 18% annually, which is 3 times the latest rate of Government borrowings to sustain a bloated public service and pay for dismally failed projects like GEMS (Hotels and Resorts Limited) and the chartering of Carnival Destiny for CWC2007.

As a small business that has operated on Barbados for twenty five years and has honoured all statutory obligations, it is a significant amount of money. Yet the same Government has owed us outstanding VAT refunds of nearly $30,000 for up to two years. Of course they have not paid us any late penalty charges or interest.

Before going public, I have written personally to the Ministers of the various Government bodies involved, but up until today not received any form of response.  It appears they feel they have no obligation to businesses that are successful, sustainable (through there own efforts) and those who have demonstrated viability over decades of operation. Yet week after week, it is almost impossible not to read or listen to endless rhetoric about the importance that small businesses will play in the recovery of our economy.

As a frequent writer on tourism matters, I have become used to attracting a high level of attention in Government circles with all the negative consequences this has brought over the years but this is another matter. We are left with three simple choices. Go into overdraft and pay commercial bank interest to pay the corporate taxes due, pay the fine and interest or receive the monies we are owed by Government. At the same time, the new administration must define its priorities and decide whether it is going to be its policy to support and encourage small businesses to grow and survive or whether through its actions, it is going to bury them, with all the employment implications that brings.

1. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Adrian, chill out, you will be paid.

2. JULIA CHAMBERLAIN Avatar
    JULIA CHAMBERLAIN

Carson, you seem very sure! The issue here is WHEN and WHERE IS THE INTEREST DUE to offset the overdraft facility charges? When you’re helping Adrian with his VAT refund, please help me…almost at $100,000.00 right now…small business cannot continue to be the government’s personal bank!

3. Hey CCC, whilst you are at it, I would also like to get my tax refund which is long overdue. It is soon time to file again and I have not even been given the courtesy of a reply saying like…..I am sorry, the government has no money to pay you! What a way to run a government! Sinkliar at his best!

4. Pay the tax as required amd keep quiet-LOL

5. I do belive sinckler stated that the bhta owes millions of dollars to the govt.which can be definite cause for the delay in the other person receiving their refunds owed to them by govt. maybe adrien can write an article dealing with such matters and the effects it has on the govt inabilty to pay others, after all these funds due by those entities does have a negative impact to others that the govt owes.
    hence we have such notables as adrien rightfully so asking for his just desserts.

6. Why should Adrian and other small businesses being owed money by government be linked to BHTA? How low can we sink? It is the government’s responsibility to honour its debt.

7. @Adrian

while i empathise with u about not receiving your vat refund, what should the govt do concerning those hotels which owe them millions on corporation, vat and other taxes. Further what whould BWA do. I wonder if they owe LIME or the Electricity Company any huge amount.

8. it is also the business moral duty and responsibility to pay the govt what they owed so the govt in turn can pay who they owed. any one who is low down and dirty are those who the govt had helped financially risking the taxpayers money to give financial help and does not give a rats as,,s in repaying govt meanwhile those who the govt owes are leaving no stoned unturned to the point of embarrassing reminding govt by any means necessary that they want there money. and you David BU talk about “low”

9. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Carson C. Cadogan | March 7, 2013 at 7:32 PM |
    “Adrian, chill out, you will be paid.”
    Does that also apply to Al Barrack, CLICO policyholders like BARP and the numerous creditors to whom this government owes millions? Now you can’t go on blaming the BLP and ‘Seethru’ for the current state of affairs.

“My Government will also facilitate arrangements to have Almond Beach Village rebuilt to provide permanent employment for some 1000 persons. “

CCC, can we conclude from the above extract of the throne speech that the Four Seasons Restart has now been shot out of the water, Persaud has walked away with millions in consultancy fees, and the rest of the NIS money ended up in Maxwell Pond?

We know of some who will be happy for such a turn of events. And it is not your favourite animals the canine bitches but your green tinged cousins the monkeys who have regained repossession of their sanctuary and are occupying villas of rusting steel and bush entertaining the spirits of the Indigenous people while looking across the Caribbean sea instead of their materially wealthy European cousins.

But then again why not get the police to blame these green monkeys for stealing the jewellery and items from the Sugar Hill barons instead of the on-sight black ones?

10. Let us finish this fuzzy logic. Let government continue to owe honest hard working businesses who are employing people and we will see what the result will be. What nonsense!

11. Country BROKE, presently cannot meet financial obligations, wait till tomorrow when no one will be paid, civil servants included. Corrupt officials will still be driving their BMW’s, Merc’s and Audi’s and dining at Chefette as the Champers, Lonestar and Cliff money has dried up.

The rest of Barbados will be back to donkey carts, bread and water.

12. @Aidrahn.
    Welcome to BAHBADUS.
    It ent Nuffin wid yuh bein a redman .Yuh does know dat!

13. @wily Coyote
    Corrupt officials?? IN BIM??? I’m shocked.
    Watch yuh mout Bo!
    No Vat repayment for you.

14. what fuzzy logic ,only fuzzy to you cause you believe that money grow on trees and the rich must keep on living off the blood and sweat of the poor meaning that the big fat cats can play with taxpayers money in the most reckless way borrowing with no intentions of repaying leaving the govt literally broke and unable to meet the commitments of those who is deserving.

15. @ac

Your response is beyond comprehension. Carry on.

16. All the money this government is wasting up Warrens on a never ending project which by the way,( were contracts ever been tendered) could be used to pay off some debt but no, they keep spending money stupidly.

And to think that they will not be paying me interest whenever they do decide to pay me.

17. We need more individuals like Adrian who is not afraid to speak out. If we did many of these politicians who could not find a decent job with decent pay would looking for alternatives.

18. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | March 7, 2013 at 8:36 PM |
    ” the rich must keep on living off the blood and sweat of the poor meaning that the big fat cats can play with taxpayers money in the most reckless way borrowing with no intentions of repaying leaving the govt literally broke and unable to meet the commitments of those who is deserving.”

Does that also apply to the $60 million injection of the workers’ NIS contributions in rusting steel and concrete?
    No wonder Mr. Integrity objected to the reappointment of ex-Senator Frances Chandler. She was a right thorn in the side of this incompetent administration by constantly exposing the con artist Persaud and the government’s hypocrisy where agriculture is concerned.
    Ac, don’t worry about that chicken feed $60 million just blame the current financial situation on the BLP which squandered ten times that amount in 14 years.

PS: We shall soon find out if the new “Independent” Senator Marshall will be demanding the NIS financials as his first priority in championing the people’s business.

19. what if government prints a list of all the inidvuals and companies that owe it?

20. Gabriel Tackle Avatar
    Gabriel Tackle

@Miller
    Don’t hold your breath for any input critical of the Dems from KHL Tony “Bowels”Marshall.Stinking dem!

21. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ TO THE POINT | March 7, 2013 at 9:10 PM |
    “what if government prints a list of all the inidvuals and companies that owe it?”

It will only show how incompetently incestuous this administration really is.
    Just a bunch of law breakers themselves colluding with corporate Barbados to collect customers’ hard earned money and not paying it over to the Treasury for the good of the general public.
    The blatant violation of the Revenue Collection laws of Barbados with the downright support of this administration to fleece consumers and workers is clearly indicative of the quality of managers running this country from top to middle both political and administrative.
    But what can we expect from the people forming this current administration which made it their business to be the chief law breakers by issuing a radio broadcast licence in the middle of a general election campaign and encouraging civil servants to break the Public Service Act and CEO’s of Statutory Corporations to speak on partisan political platforms with impunity.

22. I keep saying a Dem is a Dem is a Dem. They treated him so badly, he kept his mouth shut over the shady dealings of the NIS and bullying of Sinkliar to do as he likes with our NIS funds and no he has been rewarded.

You are right GB, a stinking Dem. Party paramountcy!

23. Imagine “intelligent’ people cannot separate the moral obligation of government to honour its debt but would seek to obfuscate its obligation with that of defaulters.

24. I have been told that the Inland Revenue has prepared the cheques but they have to hold on to them as the government has no money to honour the cheques. I will call them to tomorrow to ask for my cheque and see what response I get!

25. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ac | March 7, 2013 at 8:05 PM |
    “I do belive sinckler stated that the bhta owes millions of dollars to the govt.”

Neither you nor Sinckliar know what the hell you are talking about. He too does not know his economic elbow from his financial arse.
    How can the BHTA an umbrella body offering services to its members similar to the BCCI or the Barbados Employers Association owe millions in taxes to the Treasury?
    If you had claimed that the members of the BHTA owe millions one would more willing to listen to you. Are these millions as a result of the PAYE statutory deductions from employees salaries not paid over?
    Does the BHTA own and manage hotels and related service facilities or does it financially exist based on membership contributions or from the sale of services to its members?

Come on ac, tell us what the BHTA does to generate so much revenues resulting in such high levels of taxes due and in arrears?

26. David (not BU) Avatar

David | March 7, 2013 at 9:29 PM |

Imagine “intelligent’ people cannot separate the moral obligation of government to honour its debt but would seek to obfuscate its obligation with that of defaulters.

David i’m trying to read comments on this blog and not see the likes of ac and company, who are ignorant to facts. may i suggest you do the same? i have come to see for some people its all about party first, fuck Barbados as long the party say so, it is all well and good.

27. David (not BU) Avatar

Adrian, it would be of interest to know how many people you employ?

28. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

What about the $620 million owed to the Treasury by the Barbados private sector?

How many Government debts could be paid if our private sector would pay up what they owe?

29. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Adrian you ought to be encourging others in the hotel sector to pay up as well. Even the Hotel training levy which they put on guests bills many hotels hold onto it instead of passing it on to be used as intended.

30. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Just imagine, businesses taking out NIS from workers wages and salaries and keeping it.

Failing to pay Land tax.
    Failing to water bills.
    Failing to pay vat.
    Failing to pay customs duties.
    Failing to pay income tax.
    Failing to property transfer tax.
    To name just a few.

BUT……………..They pay ELECTRIC BILLS
    BUT………………..They pay TELEPHONE BILLS
    BUT………………….They pay BMW and MERCEDES BILLS
    BUT……………………They pay YACHTS in the CAREENAGE BILLS

I wonder why some bills get paid and not others?

31. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

Just imagine the BTA not paying its bills but buying/leasing a Audi luxury SUV Q5. How many hoteliers on Barbados have an Audi Q5?

32. @David not BU

Yuh all know what i said is true if the big fat cats who had benefitted in the years of plenty in the hotel industry do diligence and paid their fair share the govt would have enough to pay who they owe with enough left over to decrease the vat tax which in turn would put money in the peoples pocket. adrian should be calling those hotel fat congolomerates out and letting them know it is their moral duty to pay the taxpayers their money instead of ripping off the govt if he really wants to be honest and ttruthful about some of the reasons caused to the delay in govt not having enough to pay the citizens what they owe.

33. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

Carson questioned ‘why some bills get paid and not others’?

Its a good question and perhaps Carson is in the best position to answer
    as Commercial Controller of one of our major hotels.
    Can Carson confirm that his hotel received $535,508 on 04.06.2009 and $307,714.96 on 18.11.2009 of TIRF (taxpayers) monies?

We did not apply or receive a single cent of taxpayers monies.

34. @Adrian

Please stick to the script, you are a citizen of Barbados who pays your taxes and in return the government should honour its obligation to you and others, period.

35. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

Of course you are right, but WE have done everything right. Paid every bill, every tax, traded responsibily and then we get criticised by others who have not.

36. @Adrian

You are not being criticized by ‘others’ as you say. You are being criticized by those with political agendas.

37. adrien you want your money . i implore you to write an article calling on the big fat cats who have refused to pay the govt their fair share to comply and abide by the laws of barbados which demands that everyone rich or poor pay their taxes wether it be vat or income tax in order for govt to function effectively, that is called social responsibility and it is a patriotic thing to do . instead of sounding the alarm and making it seems as if the govt has intentionally refused to pay you,

38. Perhaps it makes sense if the government intends to provide support to the beleaguered hotel sector that he looks at escalation government returns from the VAT and Inland Revenue instead of giving away tax dollars only to see many of the same hotels closed doors.

39. Gingerbread Girl Avatar
    Gingerbread Girl

I know a developer who was awaiting a TDA duty and tax waiver for nearly two million dollars since 2008. In 2009 the developer shut down the construction site and laid off the 90 staff.

A bunch of jokers.

40. Gingerbread Girl Avatar
    Gingerbread Girl

Dem ain’t got a clue hear.

41. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Adrian Loveridge | March 8, 2013 at 4:58 AM

You back with thay foolishness again?

I would bet my last dollar that if the driver of the Audi was WHITE, you would have nothing to say about it.

42. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Adrian, what about the Hotel training Levy which some hoteliers are putting in their pockets?

I guess you agree with that too!!!

43. perhapas it make sense that the long arm of the govt goes after them mcgauffee corporations that have refused to pay their fair share putting liens on home and property till they pay what is rightfully owed to the barbados govt.

44. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

“adrien you want your money . i implore you to write an article calling on the big fat cats who have refused to pay the govt their fair share to comply and abide by the laws of barbados ”

Adrian will never do that, even though it is the correct thing to do.

He fears being ostracized by his Hotel buddies. They would accuse him of letting the side down.

45. Then we have the situation of Courts Barbados who owe VAT 25 million and had the gumption to lay off employees recently.

46. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

DAVID

The man, with a huge amount of egg on his face, why is it ok for corporate Barbados to owe our treasury in various ways nearly three quarters of a billion dollars in unpaid duties and taxes and not pay?

Like the dutiful Barbados Labour Party supporter that you are why have you not condemmned this criminal act?

Ask Adrian if most of his guests at the end of their stay refused to pay their Hotel bills where would he be today?

47. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

I am with those that suggest ALL organisations/companes that owe any form of taxes and who have NOT made arrangements to pay outstanding amounts should have their names published with the amounts due.
    This at least would give the taxpaying public, the choice who they spend their money with.
    Of course it not just hotels.
    IF Government is genuinly intent to collect monies due, then why should there be any objection?

48. HATE to have to agree with Carson but there are some unscrupulous business people out there who do not like to pay taxes.

Unfortunately some of them, or a lot of them are of a certain phenotype and they corrupt others in the process

If Freundel and his goons can go after them in this term and make them pay the taxes owed or at least accumulate no more arrears , I would welcome that. There should be Zero Tolerance. If the DLP can turn back these wicked people, it would be good but the DLP as a party are as corrupt as these people–so hope is lost. Imagine the DLP buying votes with dirty hundred dollar bills and telling lies to win an election-THE BIG LIE –about Transportation will come back to haunt the DLP

49. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

just asking

Come on, you know that the DLP is a very honest party.

The people of Barbados agree as well. That is why Owen is back on the opposition benches.