Submitted by Yardbroom
Barbadians urged to vote INTEGRITY

Deliverance from Whom?

Leadership to Where?

Pragmatic in what we can reasonably afford.

All underpinned by “INTEGRITY” for without that, we are nothing.

In a matter of days Barbados’ electorate will go to the Polls and elect a Government for the next five years.  The time for crunching figures is over.  The pollsters have trotted out their numbers, the columnists showing bias have pontificated on the rightness of their selections and those in the shadows with much to gain, have invested their dollars and largesse to be distributed, no doubt expecting a large return on their investment.  The manifestos are near ready but they too rely on that word INTEGRITY for without it, they will be as useful as a loser betting tickets discarded at the Garrison Savannah.

I asked deliverance, from whom?  Deliverance from those in the shadows, whose faces are never seen but their dollars are.  They do not mount platforms and tell ribald jokes, and their parentage, domestic arrangements and physiognomy are never questioned, but like a fox at a Leghorn fowl shin-dig, they cannot be ignored.

Leadership to Where?  Often it is not a question of what colour the boat is, but who is pulling on the oars.  It is here also that INTEGRITY stands in the way.  Everything must be underpinned by it, for without that we will continue to spin tops in the mud, and be as nothing.

In a contract for 5 million dollars and there is a million dollars cut, that million must be made up, either in the quality of materials or the level of service, because inbuilt in the arrangement will be less inspection, quality and accountability.  Then there is the question of firm employed, all will not play ball, so the one  that does come on board, even if  of questionable bona fide will be used.  Even as important in this arrangement, how will you – the elected – and by extension the people be perceived.  Away from the white shirts and smart suits in the boardrooms.  They – the elected – will be seen as just “another” to bend the knee for a dollar, no INTEGRITY.

Does it matter?  Yes it does, for the extra millions many times multiplied could have been more productively spent on the poor and those without white shirts and smart suits.

For those who believe you can properly govern without INTEGRITY being at the heart of what you do.  I say it is like asking a compulsive drinker to take care of the uncorked rum bottle and believe him when he asserts, he will not take a drop.

When all the hype is discarded, promises made forgotten and you are alone with your thoughts in that voting booth to place your X, think  INTEGRITY.  If you can think INTEGRITY before, during and after you have placed your X.  You will not be far off, in voting for a Barbados with a future and one that your children and grandchildren will most likely be proud to be a part of.

Yes! just vote INTEGRITY.

1. Well done.

2. I SUPPOSE THAT THE NEXT FOUR TO FIVE YEARS IF WHATEVER GOVT LASTS THAT LONG THAT YOU WILL BE WRITING THE SAME FLUFF ABOUT OUR ANTIQUATED SYSTEM OF GOVERNANCE RATHER THAN USING YOUR SHARP PEN TO VIGOROUSLY ADVOCAT FOR A CHANGE TO RESTORE PARLIAMENT AS AN INSTITUTION OF THE PEOPLE, FOR THE PEOPLE AND BY THE PEOPLE AND NOT THERE TO SUCCUMB TO THE WISHES OF INCOMPETENT POLITICAL DIRECTORATE.

3. @Yardbroom

Some will say that it takes more than the perception of integrity within either of the political parties to shape how the voter will place the x. Of course your position is an ideal one. What balance fails to grasp is that it will take a nucleus of a people who possess the characteristic of integrity (and others) within the system to transform it.

4. jus mekkin sport Avatar

Sorry.
    I think the Electorate have been relegated to the position of well intentioned onlookers.
    Like Cropover ,the Election of a new Body to Govern our country is now really just a well managed staged spectacle.
    Like Cropover .Yes we all join in and play a part but are not really A PART of it at all.
    Just participators, who without us, the whole show could not hit the road,someone who eventually foots the bill for all the “Parade”.
    Having had the “entertainment” we pay for the “Priviledge”.
    When “Wukkin up” along SpringGarden behind the truck,we ever get a chance to say which direction “The truck goes”.?
    The truck always goes the route “WHOEVER” previouly decided it would go.
    We ever EXPECT to get a chance to choose a destination of the truck??! We ever feel after ;”Disappointed” we didnt?
    We just “play the game” .
    Its whats expected and its what happens.
    We have the choice of Joining in or NOT joining in.
    Like Sandy said “Like it or Lump it”
    A Population of “Paper Tigers”.
    We all TOTALLY UNDERSTAND at the outset it a TOTALLY USELESS exercise.
    We also understand that we are disenfranchised eunuchs,balless bystanders,perceiving a Parody.
    Like the eunuch,whatever we do, never to bear fruit.
    Election OVER we will Survey a barren and fruitless exercise.

What was Einsteins definition of absolute madness?
    I beleive it was to: ” perform the same action and expect a different result”
    Well fellow bloggers “The pen is mightier than the sword”
    but like the Eunuch
    NOT much use if “done run out of ink”

“Dont stop De Carnival”
    See you all in the “Brave New World” on the 22nd.!!

Leadarsed or Loaded?

5. The DLP promised and did not deliver Integrity legislation and it is now up to the BLP to implement this. If they don’t they will be a one term government. The electorate is tired and fed up of lack of accountability for their tax dollars. We the people MUST demand this from any administration, by way of protest, civil disobedience and at the ballot. It is about time we organize ourselves as keepers of our State rather than hand over absolute power to politicians. Can we? Would we?

6. jus mekkin sport Avatar

Go fer it “Gal”
    I rattle yo cage??

7. just mekking sport……. Good morning, Nah man I just mekking serious sport!

8. jus mekkin sport Avatar

Yeah! Ride on!!
    I goin wid Owen!!

9. HA! HA! wunna really mekin sport . goinn wid ARTHUR !

10. jus mekkin sport Avatar

100 octane!! Like a drag racer in de home run.
    Watch de fun.
    Leadarse, ent even in de race ,never get begun.
    Owen showin where he goin!
    He at de same track as we.
    Leadarse ,he aroun, someplace MAYBE!

11. @yardbroom
    Do we vote integrity by leader?
    Or do we vote integrity by individual candidate in the 30 ridings?

If the latter….then we can subtract all current and past Ministers and then see what seats we have left.

A leader can have as much integrity as there are statrs in the sky, but, if the team around him does not…and…he does not. “Discipline” them when they show they do not, then the integrity argument goes through the door and we start from scratch.

As david said, it’s about collective integrity.

Just observing

12. Crazy Horse Jockey Avatar
    Crazy Horse Jockey

But Fruendel says the elders in the BLP have recently had a meeting to discuss how oust OSA from the party.

13. Adrian stated it best in an earlier blog, maybe the time has come to give each party one term until the politicos understand who is the master and who is the servant.

14. jus mekkin sport Avatar

HMMmm??Now I does know I is dumb,but how dat Leadarse does get info on B’s dat de B’a ent got??

15. jus mekkin sport Avatar

Hey! Here is a riddle to lighten up your day.

Why is a Chinese Eunuch like a Bajun Voter?
    xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
    Because he cannot get a proper ELECTION .

Happy days.
    Roll on 22nd.
    Back to “same shit different day”!!

16. fuh real ! OSA score a big fat whopping zero on the INTEGRITY SCALE! that 75thousand check hangs around his neck like an albatross .

17. Frustrated businessman Avatar
    Frustrated businessman

The road to Hell is paved with good intentions. If integrity is partnered with ineptitude the net result to the customer/voter is worse. As always, ‘Caveat Emptor’ Let the buyer (voter) beware.

18. fuh real ! OSA score a big fat whopping zero on the INTEGRITY SCALE! that 75thousand check hangs around his neck like an albatross choking the living daylights out of him. i had to laugh when islan gal sputters that the BLP should pass integrity legislation. that like asking the mangoose to guard the chicken coop. look in the pass days.

19. What is integrity? We have never been able to locate this concept within the body politic of Barbados. Yes the BLP have proven themselves to be a band of crooks and criminals. In this there is plenty of evidence, if not proof. OSA himself admitted on a platform during the last election that he accepted illegal campaign funding and conspired with others to violate the election Laws of Barbados. Why is he not in jail? Why are the people who freely break the election laws not hunted down in the way criminal conspirators, like the Mafia, are hunted? The mere fact that Freundel Stuart appears to be less criminal should not immediately give him a pass. He and his boys are central to the political culture and as such may be waiting for opportunity to commit crimes or are currently committing crimes against the sovereign people of Barbados – they are all criminals in waiting – at least.
    We have called and will be ceaseless with our appeal to the Barbados public to boycott these illegal and immoral general elections. The ruling classes of Barbados have left us with no other choice but to join with the other 50% of the population which has long abandoned this corrupt political system. Let it die on the vine! Let us tell all those who pretend to have an ability to construct a dominate social narrative that we have seen your handy work and we know the whole system is dead. A may not be a bad idea to connect the death of the political culture with that of the classes who would like to have us breathe live into it.

20. I am with the one term for every party, five years only for each party, we will get more honest work done, less theft, less corruption, do your job for your monthly salary for five years and get out, no squatters. This will also attract more parties. No one or two parties will have the time (10 years or more) to take root and squander taxpayers money. It is all now up to the electorate to implement this, voters have the power of the X to make sure Bim is no longer the laughing stock of the Caribbean because of uncaring and greedy politicians.

21. just want to know Avatar

Both parties agreed there will be no party campaigning today,in the paper today a big notice is in by the Democratic Labour Party of a Gospel entertainment at Oistins. Isn’t this campaigning?

22. Crazy Horse Jockey Avatar
    Crazy Horse Jockey

@ Frustrated business

What is that you were not entitled to but that you wanted but could purchase under the DLP and lead to you becoming frustrated?

Do you just hate now that you can’t just buy whatever it is you want or need?

23. Believe it or not the issue of our failing Judiciary system is the topic of conversation on the afternoon talk show. Of course the BU family has fully ventilated this issue over the years. We wait to hear this matter debated on the campaign platforms and ideas for improvement listed in the respective manifestos.

24. Onion rings…

Fuel prices high, water n light a pickpocket,
    Cell and phone,a rip rip rip.
    Nothing to smile about,
    More price gouging trips
    Leave us then with barely anything,
    Empty pockets, heads tottering.

But hear DEM in Parliament
    Bellowing geese with fife
    Black Rock people, need more fortitude
    Raising wooddoves, stocks, sheep….
    On scratch grain n rice
    Making a real mockery ..
    On the poor people’s plight,
    Tekk it light Khris
    Day soon change to night

25. David;
    Are you censoring posts now during the silly season? Are they new rules in place for posts? If so could you give me some guidance on those rules and how I can stay within them

26. Hi Amused, February 13, 2013 @ 4:31AM
    My complexion is not one on which blushing is evident but I can assure you I have blushed!!Thanks.
    – – – – – – – –
    Hi balance, February 13, 2013 @ 4:52AM
    Quote: . . . “OUR ANTIQUATED SYSTEM OF GOVERNANCE RATHER THAN USING YOUR SHARP PEN TO VIGOROUSLY ADVOCAT FOR A CHANGE TO RESTORE PARLIAMENT AS AN INSTITUTION OF THE PEOPLE, FOR THE PEOPLE AND BY THE PEOPLE AND NOT THERE TO SUCCUMB TO THE WISHES OF INCOMPETENT DIRECTORATE”

I note you used the word “RESTORE” . The election is in a matter of days and then the People “WILL” be governed with or without your or my participation, but to RESTORE to what you wish “INTEGRITY” is as good a place to start as any other.
    – – – – – – – –
    @ David February 13, 2013, @6:14AM
    Quote: . . .” Of course your position is an ideal one”. . .

We must NEVER be afraid to reach for the stars, if we fall short we may hang above many others and shine; though not like the stars, we can be a beacon of light.
    – – – – – – – – – –
    Hi Obseving(. . . ) February 13, 2013 @ 7:55AM

Quote: “Do we vote integrity by leader?
    Or do we vote integrity by individual candidate in the 30 ridings?”

There is enough information in the public domain for you – and only you – to make that choice, when you are comfortable with what you have done and is honest to yourself and used Integrity as the cornerstone. . . then you have chosen wisely.
    – – – – – – – – –
    Hi Frustrated businessman February 13, 2013 @ 9:05AM
    Quote:” The road to Hell is paved with good intentions”

Perhaps true, but IN Hell are many who have exercised bad intent.

27. @Checkit-out

What are you commenting about? Your last comment on BU was posted to the blog below this morning.

28. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Yardbroom:

Your call to vote for Integrity is most unfortunate and flies in the face of Prime Minister Stuart’s position on the matter.

Unless you are calling the PM a blatant bold-faced liar then you need to withdraw your accusation that there are people without integrity running for Parliament this time around.
    Unless you are going to direct your concerns at those newcomers ( who were not members of both Houses in the last Parliament) then your proposal for using Integrity as the number one criterion or yardstick for voting for a candidate is way off-base.

You must be sharply reminded that PM Stuart stood up in the last Parliament during the debate on the passing of the Integrity legislation and made it unequivocally abundantly clear that all sitting members of that House on both sides of the Speaker’s chair and also in the other place are honourable men and women and that all the rumours and accusations of corruption and malfeasance in office are to be dismissed and treated as lies and as pure yellow or jaundiced political machinations to impugn the character of decent hardworking people serving the people of this Christian land.

Now how do you square your position with that of the PM?
    Whom should we believe? The decent honest PM a man of unquestionable Integrity or a dirty old worn out political yard broom full of yardfowl droppings that needs to be the first piece of garbage to be dumped in Greenland?

29. jus mekkin sport Avatar

@miller

The word Annunaki means “princely seed” or “princely blood”. The idea is that the Annunaki were direct creations of Anu, who was regarded as the father and king of the gods.

All that and STILL cant get it right!!
    🙂

30. Crazy Horse Jockey Avatar
    Crazy Horse Jockey

Please investigate the ‘ Dark Shadows’ meeting arranged by the BLP last evening for Election Day support. The purpose was to bring together people of like mind to raise campaign financing for Election Day ‘ activities’.

The meeting was spearheaded by Mikey Armstrong of Illuminat and Peter Harris of Cusumers Guarantee Insurance.

The talk is that the party will need $3.0 million in cash for the ‘activities’ on Election Day.

31. “Hi millertheanunnaki, february 13, 2013, @ 3:32PM

Quote; . . . .. . ” Now how do you square your position with that of the PM? Whom should we believe? The decent honest PM a man of unquestionable integrity or a dirty old worn out political Yard broom full of yardfowl droppings that needs to be the first piece of garbage to be dumped in Greenland?
    – – – – – – – – – –
    I made no mention of individuals of either Party in my submission but I note the high esteem you hold the Prime Minister, judging by your above remarks, and dare I “repeat it” as one of – Unquestionable Integrity – and I believe you have some integrity.

As to your missile against me, it matters not, I see no reason to retort in kind.

32. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ jus mekkin sport | February 13, 2013 at 3:57 PM |

Listen Son of Man, just stick to “mekking” sport aka politics and you will be safe.
    Fools rush in where angels fear to tread.
    Leave that kind of “intrusive’ inquiry to the likes of Bushie and Zoe.
    Instead of being an inquisitive little boy looking to see those coming from the heavens just continue to read you Jewish book of myths aka bible and reflect on Ezekiel.
    The Light of knowledge and understanding might just appear to you like a ray of truth.

33. Crazy Horse Jockey Avatar
    Crazy Horse Jockey

Yardie

Owen and Mia came to high words in Roebuck Street last night before Mia walked on him saying he’s the cause the party is steering a second straight defeat in the face.

United huh?

34. jus mekkin sport Avatar

@miller

AHA!!
    Your cage does rattle

35. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Yardbroom | February 13, 2013 at 4:23 PM |

The missile has hit its target to stop you dead in your false integrity tracks.
    We all know what you are up to; trying to promote the PM and the DLP as a man with a party way above the BLP and its leader in the Integrity stakes.

But we know different. One or two bad apple can spoil a whole basket if allowed to rot.
    Ask Michael Lashley or Denis Lowe. As long as Leroy Parris is picking the apples to be placed in the DLP basket things will always be rotten in Denmark aka George Street.

As a man trained in the art of penmanship you will be committing a most ironic faux pas of oxymoronic proportions if you were to come to the euphemistic conclusion that the miller has the slightest respect for liars especially one who tells them to innocent gullible children.

36. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ jus mekkin sport | February 13, 2013 at 4:43 PM |

Explain!
    It shows I am a roaring lion instead of a sleeping giant with a toothless barking dog lying next to him. LOL!!
    BTW, I am a bit impressed with your intellectual naughtiness! Keep it up you might go far in your quest for knowledge freely available on demand.

37. I LOVE THIS ONE ONIONS GIVE UP MORE CUZ WE DUN WID DEMMMM!

Onion rings…

Did you hear the the latest..
    Calling June a dunce…
    “A not so sharp tool in the shed.”
    But some should remember….
    Fourteen in Maths is but dread..
    D Kung Fu Panda master
    Of all people who spoke…
    For those who could remember
    Days on the Hill, we mean..
    Geese din no bright shiny machine.

On the contrary…
    Man ee did bare Xte ….
    Once asked about Pythagoras
    His retort was… a Kite?

Now that was a man
    We all looked to for more
    Sadly now, all’s left is the door
    So Mr. Wang Yu..
    We bade you farewell
    Next time we meet..
    Let’s hope.. you lose the bel-((y))

Head aint brains, that we learned
    Oh too well…
    But to lash out at the fine lady
    Most venomously too
    We must say…
    Is proof that you were the wrong man
    Definitely, to compare…

May the mutineers forgive you
    For their blotched up fight
    Had you the fortitude…
    Today.. Maybe,
    They won’t have a soon coming fright nite
    And you might have been ..
    Like sleeping giant be..
    Holding on to the pendulum
    Like Alice in Wonderland..
    Begging us to set him free.
    Rest assured too..we will….

38. @jus mekking sport
    “I going wid Owen”
    Where?? That question should have been asked when that was a campaing slogan. Those who followed.certainly did not know where. They followed blindly, and he led them down the same path he wants them to go again.Think for yourself!! Don’t be misled again..

39. @Alvin

Like you are just another Head Master talking Bare ssshhhh

40. jus mekkin sport Avatar

@Miller
    Ego Recipio Clementer.
    I also wish to be an architect of Magnificent Hyperbole .
    🙂

41. millertheanunnaki on February 13, 2013 at 3:32 PM
    @ Yardbroom:

Your call to vote for Integrity is most unfortunate and flies in the face of Prime Minister Stuart’s position on the matter.

Unless you are calling the PM a blatant bold-faced liar then you need to withdraw your accusation that there are people without integrity running for Parliament this time around.
    Unless you are going to direct your concerns at those newcomers ( who were not members of both Houses in the last Parliament) then your proposal for using Integrity as the number one criterion or yardstick for voting for a candidate is way off-base.

You must be sharply reminded that PM Stuart stood up in the last Parliament during the debate on the passing of the Integrity legislation and made it unequivocally abundantly clear that all sitting members of that House on both sides of the Speaker’s chair and also in the other place are honourable men and women and that all the rumours and accusations of corruption and malfeasance in office are to be dismissed and treated as lies and as pure yellow or jaundiced political machinations to impugn the character of decent hardworking people serving the people of this Christian land.

Now how do you square your position with that of the PM?
    Whom should we believe? The decent honest PM a man of unquestionable Integrity or a dirty old worn out political yard broom full of yardfowl droppings that needs to be the first piece of garbage to be dumped in Greenland?
    ————————————
    Miller,
    We know it is panic mode for you right now !

PM Stuart did say there are all honourable men and women in the House……….unfortunately for you and others……..Owen was not in his chair nor in the House that day !

He was having his usual DRINK OFF day !

So we are clear who PM Stuart was referring too…….the one who wrote him a note trying to DIVEST Mia Mottley on the DEMS.

Tick tock tick…….as we head to FANTASTIC FRIDAY………Miller will be SUPER BLUE !

42. jus mekkin sport Avatar

@we dun wid Dem
    Thanks.
    But dont mind Alvin he dun know ifn he CUMMIN or GOIN!
    DEM sorta people dont!!

43. Hi Crazy Horse Jockey February 13, 2013 @ 3:32PM
    Quote: @ “Yardie
    Ownen and Mia came to high words in Roebuck Street last night before Mia walked away on him saying he’s the casuse the party is steering a second straight defeat in the face”
    _ _ _ _ _ _ _
    I know not of the specific incident above of which you speak but Mr. Arthur and Ms Mottley must in the general course of events speak to each other. Thanks.
    _ _ _ _ _ _ _
    Hi millertheanunnaki February 13, 2013 @ 4:43PM
    Quote. . . . “If you were to come to the euphemistic conclusion that the miller has the slightest respect for liars especially one who tells them to innocent guillible children.”

I take it you refer to the incident when Prime Minister Freundel Stuart was asked the election date by a schoolboy.

Our opinions vary here – but they often do. I would not have much “respect” for any Prime Minister who told the election date to a young school boy at an impromptu meeting, before he told the Governor General of Barbados.

44. Fractured

I feel your pain. Come the 21st YA HURT ! Then you will see who will be SUPER – BLUE and not needind glue.

45. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ jus mekkin sport | February 13, 2013 at 5:39 PM |

“He who follows his head, follows the head of an ass!”
    It’s up to you to lead or follow. The decision is yours.

46. jus mekkin sport Avatar

@Fractured
    WHO??Is PM Stuart??
    I KNEW we HAD PM David.
    You mean tuh say since he dead(God rest him)
    we HAD another PM.????
    Well aint Troot stranger den fiction?!!

47. jus mekkin sport Avatar

@Miller
    Ego sequar,et ducitis!

48. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Yardbroom | February 13, 2013 at 5:49 PM |
    “I would not have much “respect” for any Prime Minister who told the election date to a young school boy at an impromptu meeting, before he told the Governor General of Barbados.”

Come on Yardie, your broom is not sweeping in the corners with its broad brush strokes.
    The PM is a self-acclaimed man of words, trained in the Classics and well versed in the use of the ‘simple’ English language. He could have employed a witty repartee of circumlocution along this line:
    “What an excellent question, young fellow! I do indeed have some idea of when I will call elections. But it would be politically stupid of me to reveal it at this stage to put the Opposition on guard but most of all to violate the requirements of good protocol by not informing the Governor General before making such a nationally important announcement.”

We are sure our little precocious bright spark along with the others would have been most impressed if not bamboozled with such a response from a giant of a man well awake bright-eyed and bushy-tailed.

Or are we expecting too much of a man who has not gone past his graduated first degree level of putting his foot in his overactive sweet mouth requiring a regular sweet mint to stabilize his erudite bitter sharp responses in such unguarded off-the-cuff unprepared moments of naïve folly?

49. Crazy Horse Jockey Avatar
    Crazy Horse Jockey

Tick tok tick tok……………..KaBOOM, BLP belly lick out and the political career of a former PM done, just so yah!

50. Crazy Horse Jockey Avatar
    Crazy Horse Jockey

Miller

Does he sound as bad as the stuttering mumbling utterances of OSA when he first was PM between 94 and 97?