Stuart and Arthur lead the pack
Stuart and Arthur lead the pack according to CADRES

There is the law and then there is the politics.

The Prime Minister is not breaking any law by not issuing the general election date. The question which the Prime Minister should have considered however is whether  by betraying convention he has contributed to the deterioration of political stability. Barbados is a country which is highly regarded across the world about how it manages the electoral process.

Based on a recent CADRES poll the Prime Minister’s leadership approval rating has increased. If a political party is in the business of winning elections, the Prime Minister may feel vindicated that his strategy of using the full ‘legal period’ to call the general election is working. According to the poll Prime Minister Stuart’s leadership approval rating has jumped from 9.9% to 23%. Despite the jump however he [Stuart] continues to trail Owen Arthur whose approval rating has moved from 29.8% to  39%.

BU’s view is that at a time of unprecedented economic challenge the country should not have to be side tracked by the politics of whether an election should be called or not. Prime Minister Stuart obviously does not subscribe to the tradition of a government calling an election on a date which gives political advantage. Surely after the death of Prime Minister David Thompson and the conflict which played out with the Gang of 5 within the Barbados Labour Party (BLP), it was politically advantageous for Stuart to seek his mandate at that time. And he had the advantage of recalling that Arthur made a similar slip and paid the political price.

The law is on Stuart’s side but…

The other issue is the BLP’s attempt to schedule a political meeting in Heroes Square on a date when all should have been aware that the Senate meets. In the same way the BLP has boycotted parliament to win an advantage on whether government should call the general election, surely it is the government’s right to do similarly by frustrating the effort. Whether the government has done so in this case is unclear. Although it is unusual for the Senate to meet late into the evening, it has been known to happen, the BLP was injudicious in fixing the date of the mass political meeting. BU has not even considered that the government could have influenced the decision of the Commission of Police to intervene.

What is distasteful are the LIES being generated to ‘spin’ the matter. Here is a comment which was posted by the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) on Facebook.  Here is the letter of approval from the police giving permission to the BLP to schedule the meeting which was withdrawn yesterday evening. The Commissioner of Police is not entirely blameless in this episode of foul ups bleeps and blunders.

This is the silly season, these are the people who we have to entrust the management of the country, these are the days of our lives.

1. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Frank Collymore Hall, just let me add that.

2. @ Yardbroom 5.56am
    I agree fully with your posting.I would be in a good position to determine the day before(or the same day of )the election which party will win the poll.At this time I see the cards are stacked very highly against Stuart and the Dems being returned to office.A lot can happen between now and then and the outcome might change,although admittedly not for many.This DLP is the worse thing that happened to Barbados.They won on lies and false promises and have bungled the governance of this placid country since January 16th 2008.Investment in buhbaydus is at a standstill and will continue so long as the DLP forms a government here.I wish they will call elections.Stuart continues with his silly pithy comments hoping for an accepted soundbite but he is no Obama or Clinton.Please give it up Mr Stuart.Let those who know how to manage the affairs of our country be permitted back into Government Headquarters in Bay Street.For God sake leave us be Stuart and exit the stage.

3. CCC; Is that the same Sir Frank who appeared to be out of his depths on the VOB call-in programme yesterday?

4. Now let me see So far the burning issues on the BLP platform are as follows ! CALL THE ELECTION! FS lied to a child! and the one no one talks about PRIVATISTATION!

5. And Checkit-Out, a man who formed a political party, when the time was come for him to resign from his ivory tower at Cave Hill to contest the election, he opted not to and left Wendell McClean high and dry……….. low and behold he told Peter Wickham yesterday, he is not political. Well, well,well!

He is a doctor and a Sir, so we rest are illiterate! He is Chris Sinkliar’s chief adviser and therefore has to shoulder most of the responsibility for the dire straits that this economy is in and he must be ashamed that his policies HAVE NOT worked. I certainly could not defend them on Wednesday.

He has always come over as pompous and arrogant as if he is above all of us intellectually. Why would I go to listen to him? But wait, I thought he said he would never debate Clyde Mascoll or be in the same studio as Clyde?

6. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Attend and be educated.

7. @Clone

Last general election campaign it was the BLP chastising Wickham and his polls – check Youtube.

This time around the DLPites are reading from the BLP’s script of 2007/2008.

8. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

DAVID

9. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

DAVID

You are making no sense at all. Go and get your afternoon nap.

10. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | January 17, 2013 at 12:12 PM |

Isn’t the DLP planning to make the pseudo-integrity and false impeccable character of Fumble versus (in your view) the thieving corrupt lying backstabbing alcoholic found in the rogue OSA a serious campaign strategy to get re-elected?

Are you saying that lying, especially to children is a personal trait Bajans should vote for? Do you view telling lies as an asset and boost to one’s integrity and political standing?

Maybe you would find the below warning not applicable to the pristine pure morally upright god-fearing DLP:

“.. Children trust their parents and many other adults around them, and believe what they are told is the truth. The one thing that parents and teachers try to get through to their children is that it is wrong to lie. If children discover that their parents have lied to them their whole life, they may lose faith and trust in them. They may remember the look on their parent’s face for the rest of their life. Children may begin to question everything else their parents may have told them, doubt the integrity of their parents and possibly other close adult relationships around them…”

An extract from an article written in the Green-Rooms fanpop Club web pages:

11. Let me thank the BLP for they alertness. I am convinced that had it not been for they walking out of Parliament the Dems would continue in office as if an election was not due. The Dems have accepted the fact that they are not going to be re-elected and so they would impose martial law if necessary to keep power.
    Why would a government that has lost so much popularity want to prolong its term in office other than to railroad our democratic process? Is this the same party that said that they are building a SOCIETY? What kind of a society are they building? Communism.

12. @ David .
    I avoid getting into legal argument with non-lawyers unless there is a genuine display by the other that he is seeking legal enlightenment . Since it does appear that you are indeed in search of such enlightenment i would simply say to you that in the face of the fact that a particular practice is regulated by law, then it becomes otiose to consider what a CONVENTION might require . In other words, the law overrides any conflicting constitutional practice especially if that law is founded on a constitutional provision. I hope that you will derive some benefit from the statement of this very elementary principle .

13. @legalese

Thanks for the enlightenment but you must be aware that using the term convention stands alone for the purpose of the argument. In other words the discussion is not about law but about custom which is integral in shaping perception.

14. Miller since you want to talk about children let,s take it a step further. the Dlp under FS just gave additonal financial aid to children whose parents are negligent in their financial duties. Yes the same FS who the BLP takes for a Jackass after”using ” a child to get information they were seeking. Now you all up in here behaving like achicken without a head

15. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | January 17, 2013 at 1:56 PM |

Don’t be a blasted liar like your idol. The plan to “ease the burden” on mothers with children from negligent fathers was in the socially uplifting pipeline long ago. It just happened to exit during this DLP term of office (and vice versa pertains) just like many other government policies and programmes initiated by civil servants.

Do you really feel politicians are so smart as to be able to come up with imaginative policies and programmes? Just have a look in both Houses and tell me how many fit that creative and imaginative bill?

There are too many are lawyers hamstringing the Lower House for any creative juices to flow in any direction to help the ordinary man. Have a read of what “Legalese” writes on this blog and see for yourself. Just a lot of legalese piffle wrapped up in pure verbiage and gobbledygook crap.
    Are you enlightened in any way?
    Instead of reading the putrid arrant nonsense from Legalese just take the advice of a real enlightened teacher:

“Luke 11:46 Woe unto you also, ye lawyers! for ye lade men with burdens grievous to be borne, and ye yourselves touch not the burdens with one of your fingers. Luke 11:52 Woe unto you, lawyers! for ye have taken away the key of knowledge: ye entered not in yourselves, and them that were entering in ye hindered.”

What can you expect from the likes of Legalese unless you want to call Jesus a liar too!

16. David,
    Why are you allowing CCC to disrespect you so much on YOUR blog?

Dont you think that it is time to read him the riot act? I am not saying that you should ban him but he needs to show some respect. Many of the bloggers have disagreed with your point of view at one time or the other but none has been as disrespectful as CCC.

He may get worse as the campaign begins and things look bleak for Dems when they get more DESPERATE.

And now, dont you go cursing me, CCC!

17. @ David ..
    The sentence was meant to read ….”the law overrides any conflicting CONVENTIONAL practice ….”
    I must disagree with you that the argument stands alone ; it must be clear to you that the intention of the BLP spokesmen was to convey the belief that the Government was breaking the law .This can easily be inferred from Sen Harold Chrichlow’s contribution in the Senate last night . Indeed he harshly chastised the opposition for trying to convey to the public that some law was being broken . But I must again enjoin you to try to appreciate that once there is a law in the form of a statute / constitution , all customs or conventions which are inconsistent with that law are of no effect.

18. As I understand it,Legalese is positing that the law allows a PM to go down to the wire so to speak.The fact that it has never occurred before does not take away one jot or iota that is is good and safe in law.
    As to whether it is good politics is another take on the decision.It might appear an act of desperation to an unblinkered observer and a truth emerges that this PM has been too indecisive for too long.He thinks he can still flatter to deceive but its too late in the term to do so.Legally possible?Yes.Politically and morally,I think the NOES have it.

19. Miller i think you have gone “way off the deep end” time to take a naop

20. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Lots of great information here for all Barbados Labour Party members and supporters.

http://www.ustream.tv/channel/dlpbarbados#/recorded/28556199

21. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

I am enjoying watching the barbados Labour Party clowns running around like headless chickens.

22. DAVID

I AGREE WITH THIS 100%

Prodigal Son | January 17, 2013 at 2:27 PM |
    Why are you allowing CCC to disrespect you so much on YOUR blog?

Dont you think that it is time to read him the riot act? I am not saying that you should ban him but he needs to show some respect. Many of the bloggers have disagreed with your point of view at one time or the other but none has been as disrespectful as CCC.

He may get worse as the campaign begins and things look bleak for Dems when they get more DESPERATE.

23. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

The Barbados Labour Party is like a pig going to slaughter who cant wait for saturday to come.

24. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | January 17, 2013 at 3:11 PM |
    “Miller i think you have gone “way off the deep end” time to take a naop”.

You mean you want the miller to do what Fumble was doing until recently when he awoke from a deep slumber?
    I will nap when you do the same but with defeat steering you and your bedeviled party in the face that would not be to long in the coming.
    You know very much personally how the miller detests liars.
    The BLP and its supporters might not have been able to force the PM’s hand but the betrayed innocence of a child has done the job.
    The child has pointed out the nakedness of the Emperor called The Might Fumble.
    Thank God for little children!

25. Why would anyone take anything which Senator Harold Crichlow say seriously?

He who presided over St Michael’s Cathedral for umpteen years and left it in a decrepit state and presided over a mass exodus of his congregation…….. he really have talk for the BLP???? Give me a break!

To this day, no other Dean has been able to bring back the Cathedral to its former glory after years of neglect and incompetence from Dean Harold Crichlow. Give me a break, who are you to lecture the BLP? You used the same pulpit to preach politics, albeit for the BLP and I strongly disagreed with you using the pulpit to preach politics. By doing this, you ran the people out of the church and the cathedral is still reeling to this very day!

When Senator Harold can give us Anglicans who feel embarrassed to go into the Cathedral answers to the questions we asked of him of his stewardship as Dean of St Michael’s Cathedral, we would take his meanderings seriously!

Senator Harold, it is past your bedtime!

26. David
    I am not knocking the poll but can you tell me what Freundel has done to move up 14 pints since the last poll.
    Peter Wickham pronunciations about the PM does not square off with his rise

What has Mia Mottley done to move down?

It is a credibility problem I am talking about.

I listen to brass tacks every day and can tell you that since Peter Wickham was fired from CBC he has been attacking the PM every day from then until now.

27. Prodigal Son |
    As a teen growing up in the early sixties and attending CH CH parish church, we had to endure listening to Critchlow. Some listeners would throw thier collection on the floor out of boredom. Critchlow could never preach even back then- so not surprised he had to revert to politics as his topic at St Michaels.

28. Miller why don.t youn take a nap or do as Bush tea suggested of recent and which you glowingly agreed “to sit on the sidelines ” for indeed it as if inertia has taken hold of your mind. i never knew that a political bell could make people so starked crazy.

29. I used to be a staunch BLP supporter. However, after that ass Glyne Murray and the way some of the BLP supporters on this blog behaving, I am switching allegiance. If I am in the island (February 21-March 31) during elections, I will be voting DLP.

Depending on how the wind blows, I may change my registration from one parish to another. In other words, I will change to vote out any sitting BLP member, who looks to be winning.

30. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | January 17, 2013 at 4:50 PM |

As was said before ac you must teach by example and the miller will follow suit.
    There is no way your mind can ever suffer from inertia or exhaustion since it never works. You are just an intellectual robot programmed to spew forth DLP propaganda.
    Now that the DLP is on the verge of defeat you want to shut up one of your major political enemies.

It will not happen at this late stage in the game. You had your chance to govern this country and blew it with your lies and corruption.

We smell DLP blood and ready for the kill!

31. Someone was attempting to give credit to Freundel for putting in place a system where mothers can collect a pittance when the fathers of their children are delinquent in child-support payments. Well, I have news for you: that was a crass political attempt to benefit from the votes of women who are suffering. Government is merely exploiting these unfortunate mothers for electoral gain.

If Government was really interested in assisting these mothers, it would ensure that there are adequate numbers of Court Marshals to serve the documents on these worthless fathers. There are 26 vacancies out of a total compliment of 55 Marshals who actually serve documents. This is known to the PM. When he was AG, there were 22 vacancies and he has only talked and done nothing to get these men before the court. Now this stupid election stunt to grab votes and people want to praise him.

Are you aware that there are a number of districts in this country that are without an assigned Marshal. If the Government really wanted to help these poor women and their children, it would not move to further victimise them with vote catching initiatives. Be decent or is that too much to ask this current crop of politicians.

32. @Clone

Peter Wickham’s explanation is that with an election on the horizon there is a coalescsing of support behind the two leaders.

33. Caswell on the reference of parental aid by this govt. AC “the Sumbody ” says to you that half a loaf is better than none. and equally the cost of paying the Marshall tofind these parents ande collect collect from these negligent fathers would not worth it

34. A Younger Observer Avatar
    A Younger Observer

Freundel Stuart was asleep , he got up to pee,
    He pissed himself and went back to slumber
    not realising that he pissed on his pants
    now he is sleep walking and shitting himself with shit talk

35. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

AC

Don’t be a clown! Some of these delinquent fathers have not even been served with papers to come to court. If they had gone to court, there would probably be no need for the state to support their children. The Magistrate can make orders to garnish the fathers’ wages but he can’t do that because the fathers have not appeared in court. And you want to know why, Freundel did not provide the Marshals to summon the men. I am sure if he had provided the required Marshals, it would not cost the wasted $600,000 for the Alexandra inquiry.

By the way, I heard that the lawyers were paid $2,000 per day. Marshals don’t cost that much.

36. Pat | January 17, 2013 at 5:13 PM |
    I used to be a staunch BLP supporter. However, after that ass Glyne Murray and the way some of the BLP supporters on this blog behaving, I am switching allegiance.

Pat which one on the blog is Glyne Murray? They say miller is wife beater Kerry Simmons or Lady J. Walcott. They say Onion is Peter Simmons. Joey Harper in the mix they say. Which one is Blind Murray tell us.

37. Georgie Porgie | January 17, 2013 at 4:33 PM |

You are so correct in your comment. He was a wolf in sheep clothing. he hid his true identity under that robe. As a student at Christ Church High I had to endure his fake antics. I remember hearing other students saying that they overheard he and the rector Johnson at the parish church having an argument, which was frequent and at one point he and Johnson did not speak to each other. So much for that. Let’s get back on topic.

Pat | January 17, 2013 at 5:13 PM | “…I will change to vote out any sitting BLP member, who looks to be winning.”

You are too funny LOL

38. caswelll . i am talking dollars and cents the fact is that giving the additional aid would cost the govt less than having marshalls chasing windmills.

39. BTW caswell who you calling Clown didn’t your momma teach your respect fuh woman. men like you are verbal abuser not much difference between physical abusers .

40. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Caswell:

Just examine what ac said at: ac | January 17, 2013 at 6:49 PM and see why she takes the title of the No. 1 Moron on the Blog.

Now the State must be directly responsible for supporting the children of negligent fathers even those employed.

If people know that in addition to free health care and education the State will provide money for food and clothing why worry to get fathers to help support their offspring?

Only a person with the mindless intellect of ac would support the position she is putting forward. That is how taxpayers’ money is to be spent propping up a mendicant section of society who can do much better at the expense of buying trucks to collect garbage or fixing the potholes in the road.

41. @Caswell

Have we not been hearing that there issues with the implementation of this initative? Women (child mothers) have been calling the talk shows to complain about the fact they have not been getting the cheques. The devil is always in thye detail.

42. AC

You seem to be suffering from some comprehension deficit disorder, I never called you a clown. I ask you not to be one: there is a difference.

43. David (7:04)

When Government introduced the initiative, they did so without working out the details, like with so many other things that this administration has done. It is no wonder that they are having problems. These political gimmicks only go to serve the politicians and are only intended for the short term.

44. miller you hypocrite this morning decrying the fact that children must be lead by example now bemoaning the fact that PM stuart and the DLP had given financial aid to children. miller you the the face of HYPOCRISPY . just like to use the children for political gain then afterwards couldn’t care for their well being. Go take a NAP> the word MORAN fits you like a glove, and tagged with HYPOCRITE

45. Caswell Franklyn
    AC

Don’t be a clown!

What de helll does that comment supposed to interfer.. You guys really thing that ac stupid that kind of double speech can cut both ways and ac took it the way caswell intented it to be, DON”T BE A CLOWN CASWELL ! now see what i mean. NO! not REALLY meant to call Caswell a CLOWN ! But maybe ac did mean to doi so..CLOWN!

46. @ Watching

Old Onions is not a Simmons to my knowledge. His last name more than likely starts with an “O”. he, he, he.

You have to remember this is an anonymous blog. I out someone, they will in turn out me. Although many on here know who I am.

47. @David
    “Have we not been hearing that there issues with the implementation of this initative? Women (child mothers) have been calling the talk shows to complain about the fact they have not been getting the cheques. The devil is always in thye detail”.

What I understood from the callers is that because the government is so cash strapped, what the government has been doing is using the monies paid in to fulfill this promise to women.

One woman said that her children’s father always paid in his money but when she checked, no money was there even though the money was sent. Then she made the startling revelation that she was told that the government was using the funds paid in to distribute people’s children monies to pay this $50 a month for delinquent fathers!

Can you imagine this? What will this government do next?

48. @
    Pat | January 17, 2013 at 5:13 PM |

I used to be a staunch BLP supporter. However, after that ass Glyne Murray and the way some of the BLP supporters on this blog behaving, I am switching allegiance. If I am in the island (February 21-March 31) during elections, I will be voting DLP.

Depending on how the wind blows, I may change my registration from one parish to another. In other words, I will change to vote out any sitting BLP member, who looks to be winning………………….

Shows how much you know. It is too late to change constituency now. You were no Bee, real Bees dont change like that even if they feel as though the party did them a wrong. Glyne Murray really do you a wrong, eh. You sound real bitter!

Come on down and vote, it wont save the Dems sorry asses! We know that this is the reason why the Dems court their overseas branches so heavily as they want them to vote!

49. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

AC

You are chasing your tail.

Leave a Reply to LOOKCancel reply