In 2003 gay cleric Jeffrey John became Bishop of Reading but had to withdraw after the row which ensued - Image credit BBC
In 2003 gay cleric Jeffrey John became Bishop of Reading but had to withdraw after the row which ensued – Image credit BBC

Barbados is a country built on so-called Christian values and where Barbadians boast that a church can be found on every street, in every village and highway. The dominant religion remains Anglican-Christian.

The recent announcement by the Church of England (C&E) to allow gay clergy in civil partnerships to become bishops has the potential to split the C&E. The implication for Barbados given our Commonwealth affiliation and willingness to use the United Kingdom as a proxy for decision making is wide.

BU’s last blog on a related issue  – Church of England Under Pressure to Change – addressed the failure of the C&E to allow the female clergy to be elevated in the role of bishop. After 12 years of deliberation the House of Laity in the C&E shot it down. Some commenters resorted to technical positions to explain the two issues which continue to challenge the C&E; that is, they are driven by different considerations. BU disagrees.

The scenario as we understand it: you can be gay and in a civil partnership and the C&E will allow you to be a priest and bishop, so long as you declare celibacy and make a confession of your sins of homosexuality. We all know that this change can easily be described as bollocks! How can one expect a priest in a homosexual relationship to declare celibacy? How honest, realistic and sustainable is this expectation by the C&E? Bullocks!

In the meantime, women, whether celibate or not, cannot be bishops because they are women and because of a biological deficiency which sees them owning a vagina instead of a penis, they are being discriminated against. Is it any wonder there is a drift away from the traditional Church.

It appears the C&E traditionalists have a huge battle to conquer in the coming weeks, months years to maintain stability. The issue here is about hypocrisy in the decision making of the C&E and does not mean that BU is pushing the gay agenda.

1. miller you are such an idiot. the fact is that you cannot challenge what i said so you straddle your high horse and put on a show which is indicative of your madness .

2. @ Miller

You apparently are not theologian and or what it entails. God is a spirit (New Testament/St. John 4:4); this explains why God is omnipotent, omnipresent and omniscent. In the beginning “GOD”, God was there, had to be there (Old Testament/Genesis 1:1). God as stated is Alpha and Omega, the beginning and the end (New Testament/Revelation 1:8). You, you Miller are the idiot – tu sont le niasieux, vraiment. mot (word) “tu” (you) INFORMAL in the European French environment ONLY is associated seulement (only) avec (with) persons you know. mot (word) vous (you) FORMAL is demanded or associated with persons you do not know personal. Word “tu” (you) in the French-Canadian environment is both formal/informal. Word “vous” (you) in the French-Canadian environment is neither demanded or spoken. You are the idiot. tu sont le niasieux. Now that is being rude to you monsieur miller. But it’s the only style that is intellectually effective on you.

3. Unashamed gay man, Millertheanunnaki shame to come forward, but boldy points to peers to come forward. There is nothing new under the sun. Read this in the Bible book of Psalms (Old Testament). There is also and nothing hidden. Read this in the New Testament book.

4. Imagine miller trying to throw out a curve ball only for ac to smack it out the ball park .can,t wait for Zoe to take a big bite out his rusty ole a……..s even a kindergarten could have answered that silly question of his which he asked GP

5. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | January 7, 2013 at 10:26 AM |

Sorry ac, what did you say again?

6. Ever’body pun dis thread like dey washed in one t’ing or anoder, even if it is shite … You see me, I ain’ wash yet, so I feel unclean’ …!

7. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ FUNNY | January 7, 2013 at 10:51 AM |

Ashamed! How funny! There is nothing to be ashamed about if you are gay! If that’s the way your god did it so be it. Variety, funny enough, is the spice of life and that’s the way how Nature reveals her variegated power.
    Next minute you would want to persecute left-handed or disabled people. Or those with different religious or moral views to yours.
    Man live and let live as your god intended.
    What you wan the miller to do? Commit a bigger sin and lie about his sexuality to ‘pleasure’ you?
    Man I am no gay man. As a result there is not a hope in hell you and I will ever be buddies, right. Go and deal with Look he seems to be so inclined or should we say ‘bent’.
    Please leave the “funny” talk out of the topic and deal with the Church and its own challenging issues regarding equal rights for the children of your god.

8. Miller i say “you idiot” not even smarter than a fifth grader to ask GP such a question.

9. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | January 7, 2013 at 11:20 AM |

Since you are in sixth grade and brighter than GP then answer on behalf of both GP and Zoe; provided you get intellectual clearance from him who must be obeyed (HWMBO, to use Amused’s favourite acronym).

10. @ LOOK

tu sont? c’est ne pas francais. that is patois.

Pat ma chérie tu m’as souri . Mon Français c’est pas parfait mais un enfant ne parlera jamais comme ça et prononcer le Français c’est le deuxième langue. Monsieur Look, arrêtez tout de suite! S’il vous plait, votre écriture c’est dégoutant !

11. @ Miller

Apparently, I have not insulted you enough, you or your unintelligence. God is the creater of all things EXCLUDING homosexuals. Only a male and female together can produce offspring, a male/female [human], male/female [dog], any animal, mammal, reptiles, etc. male/female. [If] you are male, you have testicals and were intended to be male and cohabit only with a female. [If] you are female, you have the vagina and were intended to be female and co-habit only with a male. You, Mr. Miller are apparently a gay man and wish to remain “in the closet”. That’s your progrative.

This individual LOOK by the way is not male but female, not a lesbian and does not advocate lesbian rights because lesbians in my view have no rights. A lesbian or woman cohabitating with another woman is an abomination unto God as is a homosexual, a man cohabitating with another man.

12. Bush Tea, The unlearned, TWISTER and CORRUPTOR of God’s Word, in his ignorance, yet again, spurts OUT!

“Seems like you are coming around to what the bushman has been trying to drive into your head now for YEARS.
    You can go on to add that “Academic theological qualifications are UNNECESSARY if one is lead, guided, and taught by The Holy Spirit!” …..and you CAN quote Bushie on that
    ….there goes your exegesis!”

The Word of God, commands:

” Study (earnestly & diligently) to shew thyself APPROVED unto God, a workman that needeth NOT to be ASHAMED ( As Bush Yea IS!) rightly dividing the Word of TRUTH.” ( 2 Timothy 2: 15)

“Study, Give diligence” ( Spoudason) “Be earnest” First aorist active imperative of ‘spoudazo’ to apply oneself in earnest dedication to the ‘Study’ of His Word, linguistically, grammatically, historically, (I.e., Exegesis and Hermeneutics, Expostion, teaching, proclaiming), in order,

“To present” oneself, (parastesai) First aorist active infinitive of ‘paristemi’ as in Col. 1:22, 28.

To be “Approved unto God” (dokimon toi theos) Dative case ‘theoi’ with ‘dokimon’, predicate accusative, old adjective (from ‘dechomas), for which see I Cor. 11:19; II Cor. 10:18.

“A workman ( ergaten) See II Cor. 11:3; Phil. 3:2). “That needeth NOT to be ASHAMED” ( anepaischunton).

“Handling ARIGHT” (orthotomounta) ‘Rightly DIVIDING’ correctly handling the Word of God, in both ANALYSIS, (Exegexis) and presentation , in CONTRAST to the inane interpretations of FALSE teachers, like Bush Tea, et al.

The HOLY SPIRIT, HE* divinely Inspired this text, commanding true, disciples, teachers of God’s Word, to BE EARNEST, DILIGENT, in Studying, academically, theologically, His Word, which can only make sense, coherently, when HE* The Holy Spirit, guides, leads and teaches them, UNLIKE those theologians, WHO are NOT Saved, hence, they do NOT have His* The Holy Spirit’s presence and guidance in their lives.

Therefore, they the pseudo-theologians, ARE ASHAMED, before God!

13. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ LOOK | January 7, 2013 at 11:43 AM |
    “This individual LOOK by the way is not male but female, not a lesbian and does not advocate lesbian rights because lesbians in my view have no rights. A lesbian or woman cohabitating with another woman is an abomination unto God as is a homosexual, a man cohabitating with another man”.

You have just exposed yourself to be a total cu**t.
    Neither should imbeciles like you have any rights, right? If you engage in that kind of homophobic attitude in Europe or North America you would end up in a prison for women with known consequences.
    Check your same Bible and next time you are menstruating go and put yourself in solitary isolation for 9 days s demanded. Now run along, you shouldn’t be on this blog.

14. @ islandgal 246

Of Course, your french is not perfect, you or Barbados

Christian values and where Barbadians boast that a church can be found on every street. Interestingly, statistics show that domestic violence involving women and children is quite common there [Barbados] and, well the young senator Kerri Symmonds did physically beat his wife.

The ex-prime minister and current opposition leader Owen Arthur in Barbados allowed himself a wife and a significant other, same time but now Barbados is built on so-called christian values and where Barbadians boast a church can be found on every street.

@ Miller

Please, please disclose truth about you and your anonymous gay friend or runaway, disappear with your friend Old Onion Bags. Curious minds want to know, who is he? Kerri Symmonds? Dale Marshall? “It has been long time you and I but I not forget. That’s what he said, right here on this blog.

15. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ LOOK | January 7, 2013 at 12:10 PM |

The Man-Woman LOOK please leave the old man miller alone with this homo thing. I am a simple grinder of grain not of meat.
    What you want from me? A half-dead foot in your mouth?

Answer this question in order to stimulate any residue of intellectual juices you might have:
    Do you think that there are homosexuals in China or India? And what plans does your god have to let them know he loves them if not the things they do?

If you are of West African descent it would serve you better culturally, psychologically, and spiritually if you would use your young intellectual energies into researching your long-lost religious heritage. You have been deliberately deprived of your original spiritual heritage with this Judeo-Christian crap foisted on your fore parents by a white plantocracy and its agents to keep you enslaved and subjugated as is currently manifested by the nonsense and crap being emitted from an ingested cauldron of spiritual nonsense and cultural castration.

I am assuming you are from the Ashanti people.
    Let me therefore give your first piece of basic homework:
    Who are the following in your people’s (instead of some pseudo Jewish-Greco-Roman affiliation) ancient and traditional culture?

• Nyame
    • Asase Ya
    • Odomankoma

I will not ask you about Anansi!

16. ZOE
    You have correctly pointed out that the verb study is in the imperative mood in the original greek just as is the verb desire in 1 Peter 2:2

Whereas the Holy Spirit is indeed the indwelling resident teacher of the believer, it is noteworthy that the believer must study or make a diligent effort to understand the word.

The scriptures clearly teaches that God is a rewarder of those that diligently seek him

17. Islandgirl246

vous aide de Google Traduction maintenant trop … ha ha ha. Peut-être que toute cette BU va commencer une conversation dans toutes les langues sous le dim. HA HA HA

18. Baffy can you please translate what you have just written? Yuh ent mekking much sense. LOLL

19. @ Miller

Hit the wrong button, AGAIN. I’m not West Africian descent and not like you either, a barbarien.

20. Look muh rass said … “God is the creater of all things EXCLUDING homosexuals.”

Look you are one fcuking backward SOB try and hush yuh gob do! You are exposing your lack of intelligence.

21. Also shut yuh back door it leaking nuff shoite!

22. @ islandgal 246

You were the one questioning (mot) word (vous) you, REMEMBER. Maintenow (now) this person BAFBFP feeds you the language Franch and or francais and you cannot translate.

Arreter pretendant

23. @ BAFBFP

She, islandgal 246 has little or no knowledge of the French or francais language – traditional european french (Paris). or French-Canadian (Quebec). Miller has the language, islandgal 246 does not.

24. Miller @12:46 pm “Nyame”

Anansi’s daddy? Although for a minuute there I thought Nyame was the good of those of us who like to nyam[e] food

25. Look vous êtes un grand cochon avec un derrière rempli avec caca. Allez jouer dans cette caca. Allez y!

26. If wunna din realize it by now, perhaps a little enlightenment will help. Look and Harry is kin …

27. @ BAFBFP

Who the hell is Harry?

28. You never hear ’bout Harry Callahan …? Hey

29. No! No knowledge of him, Harry Callahan.

30. Harry …il est bêtise comme lui (Look) Baffy. Tu as raison!

31. islandgal246

Ces gens qui viennent sur ​​blanc jouant ici qu’ils sont maudissant indigènes comme ils vont à la mode ….

32. No islandgal246, he’s not right. No knowledge of him, Harry Callahan. You and he BAFBFP hit wrong button. Miller also, hit wrong button. I am not West African descent. French and or Francais I know is the official language in several West African countries, but I am not resident there, never was; that area is not my place of birth, West Africa. I’m not Bajan. I do not inhabit the Barbados island. About me, I’m an historian. I research and write about things of interest, but search engines: google, yahoo, lacos do not know my name and cannot find me. My interest, at moment is Barbados.

33. BAFBFP

I’m not white, black like you.

34. .” About me, I’m an historian. I research and write about things of interest,”

LOOK…..We didn’t ask you for your credentials nor are we interested in them. So go try to impress others elsewhere. YUH SHOW PIG!

35. LOOK, you might not know it but that is your welcome unto the blog if you have the nerve. A tough crowd, a really tough crowd!!

36. LOOK

我不是黑色的,我是中国人。忽略的图片。我被称为一个智能代理变相

37. I’m not here to be liked. Not here to be disliked either. It matters not if I’m liked or disliked. I will simply say what I feel or what I think. I can be rude. I will verbally hurt you, only [if] you ask for it. Miller and islandgirl 246 have consistently asked for it.
    Now, now, It’s okay if David does not accept my comments. My comments thus far tells the Barbados Underground audience that I’m well educated, know quite a lot about BIM and theology. I have the ability to speak, read and write French or francais and know distinct differences of the language in different countries. I participate and comment on blog topics of interest. I also write blogs.

38. @ BAFBFP

你巴彦吗?你居住在巴巴多斯岛吗?

39. Waait someone axed yuh? LOOKA please stop trying to make us believe that you are educated. It speaks for itself. Especially when you don’t know the difference between tu et vous and using the tu with the third person plural of the verb to be. Stop trying so hard!

40. @ islandgal246

I know differences that you apparently don’t. I have once explained, but happy to do so again. The mot (word) tu (you) (informal) is to be spoken to someone you know. vous (you) (formal) is to be spoken to strangers or those you do not know. vous in the french-canadian environment is not needed and not mandated. It is needed only in other french speaking environments. [If] only you had a brain, you could and would use said statement to figure out where I might be. You know I can be found no where in Bim, don’t you???

Will you, this time go back to your hole and stay there.

41. Not many parts of the world speak Quebecois only Canada so please do not say that you are speaking French to us. We are taught Parisien French at school here. Grand différence! Je suis fini avec vous!

42. That is in Québécois I am speaking

43. Now I’ve seen it all . French on a English / Bajan speaking forum. And what car do you drive sir/madam ,Mercedes or BMW? What school have you attended , Combermere, Harrison College of Foundation? Where do you live, Fort George Heights, Rockley of Sunset Crest?
    Reminds me of the fellows at the beach early on mornings, all dressed in a bath trunks, no collars, no ties ,no uniforms .no company logos,no visible identifying marks ,but if you stick around long enough and listen to their mouthings/ braggings you can soon tell the permanent secretary from the top civil servant from the managing director from the board member. I tell ya!!

44. @ islandgal246

Thank You (English) – Merci (French/Francais) – Danke (German)

45. @ GP / Zoe
    Wunna fellows does read back what wunna write on the Blog doh? Apart from the attempts at invective aimed at a peaceful Bushman wunna don’t be really saying a pang.

Let us try to keep it SIMPLE….
    1 – Unprovoked by anyone, ZOE writes that unless guided by the HOLY SPIRIT, no one can understand the bible.

2 – Bushie AGREES WITH ZOE, and goes on to suggest that if “Guided by the Holy Spirit” even an illiterate person can understand the Gospel of Jesus.

3 – Zoe curses the Bushman! …(using some language that must just have squeezed pass David’s language filters…. 🙂 )

WHY? …..apparently GP/Zoe is convinced that one needs to be a HC-schooled academic – with extensive post grad study under one’s belt in order to understand…..(no exergeis means no hope…)

Of course the bible says to study diligently!…. It also says to ASK, SEEK and KNOCK…… These go to commitment, patience and persistence.
    …were we not talking about UNDERSTANDING….?

BTW Zoe
    …could you give us an example of Jesus CUSSING those who questioned him or challenged any of his assertions….as you ALWAYS do?

46. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ islandgal246 | January 7, 2013 at 5:53 PM |

That village idiot “Look” doesn’t even appreciate the French that Quebecois speak is a form of patois equivalent to refined Bajan English.

Et comme tu, ma belle fille d’île, Je suis fini avec Mademoiselle Regarde!

Et quant à Madame ou Mademoiselle Voyeur “Ça ne te regarde pas”!

47. Refined Bajan English!!!!

48. Bush Tea,

“Of course the bible says to study diligently!…. It also says to ASK, SEEK and KNOCK…… These go to commitment, patience and persistence.
    …were we not talking about UNDERSTANDING….?

BTW Zoe
    …could you give us an example of Jesus CUSSING those who questioned him or challenged any of his assertions….as you ALWAYS do?”

First, the ASK, SEEK and KNOCK petitions of Matthew 7:: 7,8; here the human father-son relationship, portrays the human-divine relationship between a GENUINE son of God and his heavenly Father; NOT someone who openly and ARROGANTLY declares that, “I WILL BE GOD” as Bush Tea, does, ECHOING the LIE of his father, Satan (Gen. 3:5b)

Jesus’ answer to the PRIDE filled Pharisees, “….who questioned HIM or challenged any of His assertions…” IS most applicable to BUSH TEA as well, Hear JESUS!

“You do the deeds of your father” Then they said to Him, “We were not born of fornication: we have one Father – God.” Jesus then said to them,

“Why do you NOT understand My speech? Because you are NOT able to listen to My Word. YOU ARE OF YOUR FATHER THE DEVIL, and the DESIRES of your father you want to do. He was a murderer FROM the beginning, and does NOT stand in the TRUTH, because there is NO TRUTH in him: when he speaks a LIE, he speaks from his own resources, for he IS A LIAR and the father OF IT….He who is of God HEARS God’s words; therefore you DO NOT hear, because YOU are NOT of God.” ( John 8: 41, 43, 44, 47)

Bush Tea, “You ARE of your father, the Devil”, (v. 44a) unquestionably so, echoing his LIE, as spoken to Eve, “You will be like God…” ( Gen. 3: 5b), “I WILL be like the Most High.” ( Isaiah 14: b) spoken by Lucifer.

Bush Tea, you might be ASKING, SEEKING and KNOCKING, but, it IS your father, Satan you are speaking to, NOT the One True and Living God, as you are NOT one of HIS redeemed sons, and Satan is DECEIVING you BIG-TIME by giving YOU his LYING answers!

This I speak, according to the Word of God, ‘Rightly Divided’ as I have studied earnestly and diligently, to shew myself approved unto God, a workman NOT to be ashamed; as you ARE Bush Tea!

“You are of your father the Devil, and the desires of your father you want to do…” And Bush Tea, YOU have declared your father’s DESIRES,

Hear BUSH TEA, “I WILL BE GOD.”

49. Zoe
    You are an arrogant fool and when you seek to insult others you only make YOURSELF look like the brass bowl that you are….

Even if you are right and Bush Tea is a misguided fool, have you not a calling to pray for Bushie and for his ability to see the light…?

Even if you speak with the tongues of angels and you have no love you are like a Brass Bowl (or a tinkling cymbal) 🙂

50. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Zoe | January 8, 2013 at 8:48 AM |

How can you call Bushie the “Son of Satan”? What does that make you? The Bushman’s identical twin brother.
    But I am looking on with a smile. Hubris is visiting the Bushman for calling the miller Beelzebub his father (LOL!!).

BTW, Zoe, the BU Bushman claims to be a spiritual descendant from the royal line of Melchizedek. What does that make him? An alien like the anunnaki?

If Bushie’s claim is true then you should be worshiping the man who is the spiritual brother of Yeshua with the same BBE Father who lives on one of those 17 billion Earth-size planets astronomers have found in our galaxy called the Milky Way aka the Virgin Mary’s womb.