In 2003 gay cleric Jeffrey John became Bishop of Reading but had to withdraw after the row which ensued - Image credit BBC
In 2003 gay cleric Jeffrey John became Bishop of Reading but had to withdraw after the row which ensued – Image credit BBC

Barbados is a country built on so-called Christian values and where Barbadians boast that a church can be found on every street, in every village and highway. The dominant religion remains Anglican-Christian.

The recent announcement by the Church of England (C&E) to allow gay clergy in civil partnerships to become bishops has the potential to split the C&E. The implication for Barbados given our Commonwealth affiliation and willingness to use the United Kingdom as a proxy for decision making is wide.

BU’s last blog on a related issue  – Church of England Under Pressure to Change – addressed the failure of the C&E to allow the female clergy to be elevated in the role of bishop. After 12 years of deliberation the House of Laity in the C&E shot it down. Some commenters resorted to technical positions to explain the two issues which continue to challenge the C&E; that is, they are driven by different considerations. BU disagrees.

The scenario as we understand it: you can be gay and in a civil partnership and the C&E will allow you to be a priest and bishop, so long as you declare celibacy and make a confession of your sins of homosexuality. We all know that this change can easily be described as bollocks! How can one expect a priest in a homosexual relationship to declare celibacy? How honest, realistic and sustainable is this expectation by the C&E? Bullocks!

In the meantime, women, whether celibate or not, cannot be bishops because they are women and because of a biological deficiency which sees them owning a vagina instead of a penis, they are being discriminated against. Is it any wonder there is a drift away from the traditional Church.

It appears the C&E traditionalists have a huge battle to conquer in the coming weeks, months years to maintain stability. The issue here is about hypocrisy in the decision making of the C&E and does not mean that BU is pushing the gay agenda.

1. Since I know later today this blog will be filled with comments and opinions from religious fanatics and others (who are all entitled to their opinions) let me just say, it’s time for the Caribbean to get rid of all the antiquated laws rules, and particularly destructive influences left over from the colonial experience, it is now very plain to see that everyone (international churches, governments) have resorted to making it up and changing everything as they go along to satisfy present day wants, needs and behaviors, dragging everyone along with them. The Caribbean already known as a difficult and slow populace to accept change will be mired in increasingly difficult to control problems.

2. @ David of BU “:How can one expect a priest in a homosexual relationship to declare celibacy?”

But David most chaps don’t get to be bishop until they are past 50, and most men past 50 are impotent anyhow. Celibacy is not hard (oh shoot I mean difficult) for the impotent. All they have to do is leave the blasted Viagra on the pharmacy shelves.

LOLLLL!!!!!!!

3. @David of BU “biological deficiency which sees them owning a vagina instead of a penis”

David ask any man who even get hit in the balls if he didn’t wish that the had a nice fully protected tucked away vagina instead.

Deficiency what!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

4. Apropos my first comment.

Why do you think was Viagra the biggest selling drug ever put on the market?

It is because impotence is a big, big problem.

David I really should be at church, Anglican you guess right..

Ah gone.

5. A church on every street corner is not a sign that Barbadian people are religious but that Bajans are a divided people. They cannot unite on any thing, are very intolerant and the quickest thing they do is to done wid things.

People like to say that I done he , I done wid she , done wid this and done wid that. They usually feel that they hurting others when they done speak to she/he, when they done playing cricket. when they done going to dances, when done going in certain places and all sorts of foolishness.

Barbadian people are too divided that is why the merchants in town does fleece their ases with high prices. So, many churches is not a sign of religious love but divided hate

6. GAYISM (Bulling) should be outlawed–Plain and Simple
    Nothing to it
    All those who are opposed to it -(GAYISM) should line up on oneside and launch an attack–Simple ! –Let the war start now !!!
    Something got to happen
    GAYISM is bare shite–PUN DEFINTELY INTENDED

7. A reminder that the thesis of this submission is to question the decision making process within the C&E. It would be useful if commenters can raise a discussion.

8. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ JUST ASKING | January 6, 2013 at 10:26 AM |

What about “LESBIANISM”? Don’t you believe in equal rights?
    You might be surprised that if your plan is executed (no pun intended) that many of Barbados’ elite including some in Parliament , the legal fraternity and the Judiciary would be unmasked for burial identification.
    You might just be one of those on the list of gay obituaries with your skeleton hiding in the closet. Just Warning!

9. Just Asking – In my opinion, intolerance is a learned trait and is magnified 100 fold when one is tolerant of all NEGATIVE and have a very short attention span in dealing with POSITIVE situations, particularly as it relates to POSITIVE CHANGE. Some people just don’t like to think hard on subjects they deem complex, confrontational arguments and picking fights are usually the order of the day and easier for them to handle when these issues arise. It’s so much easier to display these behaviors when they are a people ALREADY DIVIDED OVER A PERIOD OF CENTURIES. The churches certainly don’t help with their outdated teachings that only compounds the problems and pass them on to each generation, creating an unbreakable cycle.

10. Then suddenly, the international churches will rewrite those teachings to feed and appease the whims and fancy of the current times, further confusing an ALREADY DIVIDED PEOPLE. Hope some of you see where all this is going and what further problems will be created.

11. the church would agrue that jesus was the head of the church and keeping with tradition. woman played vital roles in the church but was not given superior roles such as leadership of the church. however i would disagree since woman roles in other areas of society have been far superior to men in management and leadership style.
    With the gay being able to become priest .the church might be trying to protect itself from lawsuits and not a real interest in the rights of gays.

12. Not telling anyone what opinions to have, but that is why I take none of it seriously. Whatever MANIFESTATIONS we are witnessing today are a direct result of all the actions of the ARCHITECTS OF MISCHIEF FROM CENTURIES AGO. CAUSE AND EFFECT. The current architects are just trying to TWEEK things in the hope that all the MESS will straighten out. MAKING IT UP AS THEY GO ALONG. TRY NOT TO TAKE THESE THINGS PERSONALLY.

13. I waiting fah Caswell. He bound to be itching tah say something …

Simon
    So yours tuck away and safe …. Well well well. Do wah I tell ya, stay far from Miller, cause got de equipment to rearrange t’ings, hear … Uhum …!

14. for me all ah dem is gays
    they dont want to be man
    they dont want to be woman
    why should i hurt my head calling them whatever.
    they are all gays
    they are all bullers
    this is the new position
    just like a female is now an actor istead of an actress-gays lesbians are either gays /bullers–everbody involved in Sodomy—
    its all stupid anyhow
    how a man could want to >—-> a man
    and a woman —->> a woman

FOOLISNESS ! that is what it is

15. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Simple Simon:

Don’t let BAF put you off. The miller’s foot is now a worm of its former self.

That ‘politically loose’ woman, ac, with her “well, well” has sucked all the intellectual strength from the miller’s medusa head.

Even a ‘bald spring chicken’ (not a bare-neck hen- a favourite of BAF)- can put the miller’s big toe, once a foot, to shame.

16. When you hear men talking like that they trying to see who they could soften to reel in. FISHING!!!!

17. Wait Miller, you mean that this forum ain’ got nah big guns lef’ … A wonder if Cas could step up and fill de void …!

18. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Well Well | January 6, 2013 at 12:48 PM |

What are you on about now, Well, Well?
    You and your deep filthy well for a mind!
    Now go back cussing Just asking & Co and leave the other intellectual appendages to RIP (LOL!!).

19. Miller………A deep mind is the IN thing to have. A shallow mind is REDUNDANT. ASK ANY INTELLECTUAL.

20. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Well Well | January 6, 2013 at 1:24 PM |

Agree. But it must be clean and fertile like other reproductive parts.
    Trust you can appreciate the play on words (unlike most Bajans who are rather ‘straight’ thinking people in the main).
    Drink safe, my friend, from the font of wisdom at the miller’s mill.

21. Yeah, I do. lover of virginal black wenches!!!!! Sorry I don’t have a teleporting device.

22. @David. A discussion on the topic would be good. Let me try to assist.

I find it amazing that the Church actually will rely on the undertaking of any couple as to celibacy. As you say, what a load of balls. And suppose the C of E finds that they are foresworn and still having sex? Are they going to dismiss them? That would result in a legal challenge and rightly. You see, in England homosexual sex acts are legal and homosexuality is legal. An there is a process known as civil partnership and, if Cameron gets his way, it will soon be same-sex marriage. For the Church, which is an organ of the State with bishops sitting in the House of Lords, to try to enforce what is an unenforceable edict…….well, the legal actions will be flying as it would be discriminatory. And any judgement on the side of the C of E will be highly unsafe.

And there is the discrimination against women bishops.

I said before that, in disallowing women bishops, the C of E had effectively shot itself and all other religious orders in the UK, in the balls or ass or whatever. Because the gloves will now be off as far as discrimination is concerned and so I fully expect in short order for ALL churches to be legally forced to conduct same-sex marriages…..or lose the right to conduct marriages at all. I am not saying that this day was not coming in any case, but it seems to be the imperative of the C of E, laity as well as bishops, to comprehensively commit self-castration.

This latest load of balls merely heaps more coals on their heads.

So yes, the C of E could well be seen to be like our MP’s – ball-less wonders (except Mia).

23. Apparently, the church has to change with the times, again to feed and appease the whims and fancies of the present day. The Caribbean will have to either do the same or remain stuck with the 16th century mentalities, 18th century laws and continue to be exploited for centuries to come.

24. The only thing strange about the C&E is that there are still some people who actually take them, and what they do, seriously…..

25. That’s why you DON’T take them seriously. However, that is very small consolation to the millions who have been brainwashed for the last 500 years and actually DO take them seriously, and who continue to pass on that brainwash.

26. Discrimination of female bishops will also pass, different era and they have to get with the program. On an aside, just to show the damage now inflicted on present day by 18th century laws, there is currently a law from 1872 i believe in california, when women were still considered property, stating if a woman was raped while not married, it was not considered rape. Well, some idiot forgot to remove the law off the statute books and low and behold a woman was raped in her bed by a stranger, while asleep. she thought was her boyfriend, the guy admitted that she did not know, but the 1872 law came into play, she was not married, so he walked. Now if they do not remove that 1872 law, the next woman he rapes will more than likely castrate him. CAUSE AND EFFECT. Different ERA.

27. i presume that the church would have documented via recording or sworn testimony and signed by the priest who declares themselves as celibate .which also protects the church in case the priest had falsified such testimony to become priest thereby .giving the church the legal right for dismissal if the testimony was founf to be untriue..in any event the church would have been able to kill two birds with one stonei.e giving the homosexual a right to become priest and at the sametime protecting the church from discrimination or the homosexual rights.

28. The Church is a traditional institution. You join it if you are comfortable with its dictates. Otherwise you leave it alone. What should happen is that it should not be afforded official status in law anymore. For example If one wants to be legally married one must by necessity see a magistrate. Of course one may still chose as well to see a priest should one crave a mention of a term like “in the sight of God” as part of one’s ceremony.

Eventually the establishment will die a natural death (after the demise of GP of course)

29. DR. THE HONOURABLE Avatar
    DR. THE HONOURABLE

THE WORLD ENDED ON DECEMBER 21, 2012
    according to all those concerned
    Therefore we are either in Heaven or Hell

30. @LOOK

To whom much is given much is expected. Please exercise some courtesy for others.

31. @ David

Stereotype is a thought that maybe adopted about specif types of individuals or certain ways of doing things. That belief may and may not reflect reality. Black Africians in Africa for instance complain that they still have trouble dispelling the Tarzan/Jane stereotype. That stated about Barbarians or Barbados people was pure truth – real and reality.

Posting was that offensive, that embarrassing. Apparently. Can and will repost elsewhere, another or other blogs linked to international search engines.

32. The C of E would gladly follow the dictates of the House of Commons, as it is increasingly difficult these days to distinguish a Minister of Religion from a Minister of Government.

33. @ David

I participate and comment on blog topics of interest. I also write blogs.

34. Permit me to posit a few thoughts on these issues
    Bible believing Christians believe that the Bible is the SOLE AUTHORITY for faith and practice.
    If we so believe, we must ask our selves what is a church according to the Bible
    We must ask our selves is the church supposed to be separated from the state according to the Bible
    The answer is obviously yes as is clearly indicated in Acts 4
    Then it becomes clear that the Church of England has always been associated with the state in England
    We might note that the Church of England was dissociated from the state in Barbados since 1969.
    If we believe that the Bible is the SOLE AUTHORITY for faith and practice. We will find that there are sufficient scriptures that would prevent bullers from being church leaders- whether these church leaders are Anglican Methodists Baptists what ever.
    If we DONT believe that the Bible is the SOLE AUTHORITY for faith and practice THEN ANYTHING GOES- AS IT DOES.
    The problem is NOT WITH THE CHURCH PER SE OR THE BIBLE, IT IS MAN’S PROPENSITY TO BE DUNCY , DISOBEDIENT, DECIEVED, DEVIANT DEVILISH DEVISIVE ETC AS ISCLEARLY TAUGHT IN Titus 3;3
    3 For we ourselves also were sometimes foolish, disobedient, deceived, serving divers lusts and pleasures, living in malice and envy, hateful, and hating one another.

The Bible teaches in 1 Peter 3 that all believers are priests, and that there is no hierarchy in a local church, nor are churches arranged in conferences or dioceses. Proper perusal of the NT INDICATES THAT THERE ARE TWO OFFICERS IN THE LOCAL CHURCH. PASTOR/TEACHER [ALSO CALLED BISHOP OR ELDER.
    THERE ARE TWO SCRIPTURES THAT GIVE THE QUALIFICATION OF THESE CHURCH LEADERS.
    PROPER PERUSAL OF THESE PASSAGES NOWHERE POINT OUT THAT THERE BE PRELATES , BUT THAT ALSO THAT THE CHURCH LEADERS WERE CLEARLY MEN.
    Titus 1:5-9
    For this cause left I thee in Crete, that thou shouldest set in order the things that are wanting, and ordain elders in every city, as I had appointed thee:
    6 If any be blameless, the husband of one wife, having faithful children not accused of riot or unruly.
    7 For a bishop must be blameless, as the steward of God; not selfwilled, not soon angry, not given to wine, no striker, not given to filthy lucre;
    8 But a lover of hospitality, a lover of good men, sober, just, holy, temperate;
    9 Holding fast the faithful word as he hath been taught, that he may be able by sound doctrine both to exhort and to convince the gainsayers.

1 Timothy Chapter 3

1 This is a true saying, If a man desire the office of a bishop, he desireth a good work.
    2 A bishop then must be blameless, the husband of one wife, vigilant, sober, of good behaviour, given to hospitality, apt to teach;
    3 Not given to wine, no striker, not greedy of filthy lucre; but patient, not a brawler, not covetous;
    4 One that ruleth well his own house, having his children in subjection with all gravity;
    5 (For if a man know not how to rule his own house, how shall he take care of the church of God?)
    6 Not a novice, lest being lifted up with pride he fall into the condemnation of the devil.
    7 Moreover he must have a good report of them which are without; lest he fall into reproach and the snare of the devil.
    8 Likewise must the deacons be grave, not doubletongued, not given to much wine, not greedy of filthy lucre;
    9 Holding the mystery of the faith in a pure conscience.
    10 And let these also first be proved; then let them use the office of a deacon, being found blameless.
    11 Even so must their wives be grave, not slanderers, sober, faithful in all things.
    12 Let the deacons be the husbands of one wife, ruling their children and their own houses well.
    13 For they that have used the office of a deacon well purchase to themselves a good degree, and great boldness in the faith which is in Christ Jesus.
    I think that I have clearly expressed what the Scriptures teach, and that I have rightly divided the Word of truth in so doing

35. Georgie

I am “foolish, disobedient, deceived, serving divers lusts and pleasures, living in malice and envy” I never hate nobody … not even George Bush nor David Ellis …. Serious …

36. Look

I wanna know what it is that you post … Here is what you have to do. Go to Google Translate and translate it to Chinese, then come back and post it here in Chinese …

37. BAFBFP

Thanks. My second language is French. I will post it also in French.

38. St George's Dragon Avatar

“As it was, so shall it always be.”
    That doesn’t make it right.

39. the long list that covers the credentials of a bishop .surely eliminates all men because in that list one or more of those credentials most or all men can not live up to.

40. @ BAFBFP

野蛮人只是barbarien。他们是其环境的产品[野蛮] [石器时代]依旧。

不管你相信与否,一个坐在黑色的法官在巴巴多斯圣诞假期希望他们返回到巴巴多斯去监狱罪犯返回英国。不管你相信与否,欧文·阿瑟,米亚·莫特利和戴尔·马歇尔授予政府合同承包商铝美国总统,没有招标。美国总统建立了复杂的养兔场,但从来没有建立一个项目,该项目规模。欧文·阿瑟,米亚·莫特利和戴尔·马歇尔相信它或没有获得VECO(阿拉斯加)的政府合同,没有招标。 ,VECO建立了监狱茨在圣菲利浦但没有记录的建筑监狱。低不料,监狱项目延长百万以上的预算。这三个阿瑟·莫特利和马歇尔现在必须一声对方的脸像傻瓜三个臭皮匠。

阿瑟我们所知道的是一个喝醉了,他结结巴巴,他的心是少了很多伟岸。一些YouTube视频证明了这一点。亚瑟,在财政预算案辩论可能不记得他主持的内阁会议上讨论VECO问题。他说,他希望他在那里。但是当告诉部长Sinckler和总理 – “没有欧文,你在那里,”他接着说,他说的话。当再次按下时,他再次表示完全不同的东西,也说,他从来不说什么他说,在整个国家曾两次听到他说。因为他是一个患有老年痴呆症的疾病,忘了他的药物,可能是喝醉了,或两者。亚瑟现在赛车总理标题了。他以前的十四年产生了负面影响大于正面的 – 很多的尴尬。

巴巴多斯出来的石器时代的时间。时间,开始迫害和定罪政治家和政府官员保证。迫害和定罪律师也开始时间。排在第一位,理查德爵士的切尔滕纳姆。他切尔滕纳姆占有的那个老女人的种植行为,紫比克尔斯。 6个月后,言行不能被发现。进一步,的事迹不知何故/某处浮出水面。女人的“种植园的事迹被数以百万计的销售。

41. btw where did the term “bullers” come from. i searched the dictionary and the result said ‘no results” mr GP you being a learned man maybe you can point me to the meaning.

42. @ GP
    Best wishes to you & your family for 2013. Now, can you tell me if the word “deacon” in your quote of Timothy can be used interchangeably with “bishop” or if deacon and bishop are two separate offices in the priesthood? Thanks for your reply.

43. @ac | January 6, 2013 at 7:24 PM |

the long list that covers the credentials of a bishop .surely eliminates all men because in that list one or more of those credentials most or all men can not live up to.
    Are you quite sure about your statement, ac?

44. BAFBFP | January 6, 2013 at 6:52 PM |
    Georgie

I am “foolish, disobedient, deceived, serving divers lusts and pleasures, living in malice and envy”

THATS OK BAFFY — SO ARE/WERE ALL OF US , BUT THE GOOD NEWS IS GIVEN AFTER THE BUT IN VERE 4

4 But after that the kindness and love of God our Saviour toward man appeared,

5 Not by works of righteousness which we have done, but according to his mercy he saved us, by the washing of regeneration, and renewing of the Holy Ghost;

6 Which he shed on us abundantly through Jesus Christ our Saviour;

7 That being justified by his grace, we should be made heirs according to the hope of eternal life.

45. nothing is “for sure” but given the modern day church and the amount of sexscandals that many of the church leaders been accused of makes one wonder not to mention divorce and illict affairs. also the bible states for we all have sinned.and going by the long list it would appear that bishops must have lived a sineless life.

46. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ LOOK | January 6, 2013 at 7:28 PM |

Now where is the French version?

47. Look

哈哈……这是太好笑了…看看。我现在可以看到为什么大卫不想让你发布的东西…他妈的好…哈哈哈

48. Georgie;

这听起来很合理…也许有一天我会陪你… 🙂

49. @GP

It is interesting in one of the BBC links above a Bishop no less asserts that there is not enough scripture to properly expose the issue of homosexuality. This of course conflicts with the wide belief Christian doctrine gives a thumb down to this behaviour. A good conclusion therefore is that Christians should NOT allow homosexuals to practice in the church. Those who don’t like it should then leave.

50. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | January 6, 2013 at 7:31 PM |
    “btw where did the term “bullers” come from.”

Ask BAF or Caswell. These fellas know about that rear art form.