Submitted by Old Onions Bags
Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart continues to guard the date for the next general election

To say one could not have seen it coming is an obvious understatement. So why now all the parlance?

A dinner table well set for disaster. The Alexandra farce we mean. To say this was unexpected is far from the truth. Talk about a blind manhorse trotting backwards…How could one be so daft to expect that two diametrically opposed individuals (as hostile as they were in 2012) be all a sudden  in 2013, like New Year’s Babes, ..forgetful and forgiving, accepting any and all change? Would never happen. To have thought otherwise is an obvious exercise in folly. Now the present …..badly handled and  far from a Simple Song.

Now to come and say “we are deserving of another term” is laughable. Unfortunately for some, this was not a case for which the abominable Global Recession ever-plast could be applied. No sirs, this was home grown and solvable. A case of phased out fantasia for the hallowed minded, a bombshell for the not so fashionable. Seemed like a case for dropsy still permeates even today. Why if you cannot be counted on to handle the mundane, how could you handle the  on coming international palaver in 2013?

Now there is the talk of 90 days extension. To do what ? Why was his thought even conceived to start? Would it make any difference? Dead blossoms will forever float not to mention the other. Postponing the obvious will only serve as a  selfish catharsis. Remain riding backwards on a blinded horse is courting paranoia. That we cannot afford again….take it from Sir Alexandra.

43 responses to “Jousting With the Inevitable”

1. One could only blame the global recession for so many things and for only a certain period of time.

2. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

bagga onins

Can you tell me why you all had to import TWO of Obama’s political strategists to help with your campaign?

but I guess that there is such a dearth of talent in the Barbados Labour Party you could not do otherwise!!!!

3. Not touching that one cause then it would turn into, where did the money to pay them come from and…………………………..

4. Does it matter what the election date is at this late stage?

The PM has painted himself in a corner and has to hope that uncontrollable events in a volatile global world do not work against the DLP’s chance at reelection.

5. Look who come back … But I swear that Bags had gone to Arizona …

6. Is that the Director of News & Current Affairs at CBC pictured canvassing for Irene Sandiford-Garner on the Nation’s Facebook page?

7. I likened the DLP to a farmer with a 10-inch fork who promises a lady that he will take care of the land for her but every time he is suppose to do the work, he is either too tired or he falls asleep before he can start the work. When he does work he does very little giving two jucks with the fork and nastying-up the grass. In the meantime the land is unkempt and over run with sour vines. When you question him, he always finds an excuse usually saying give him another chance.

,The BLP farmer on the other hand, states from day 1, he only got a 7-inch fork but when he cums to work, he has all the grass trimmed properly and he working the land day-in and day-out to the point that the fruits that the land producing have the shape of a BIG-O. Some days he willing to work 14 hours all to her satisfaction and she is just smiling from ear to ear.

To the females, which one would you want to fork your land?

8. Well glad to know that De Ole Wind Bag is alright.Nuf ah we did miss ya madness.On a serious note Onions,I am really glad that you are alright.Happy new year.

9. Hi Old Onion Bags,
    Happy New Year.I was about to write a submission: “Just As I Am: Prime Minister Freundel Stuart, The DLP’s Pathway to Victory.

However, that can wait, the dew has not yet settled on the long grass, the morning is a long way off…..have your fun.

10. onions see yuh up to yuh oldtricks again and yuh favourite sport ‘btw i heard u had choked on a pig foot .

11. David | January 5, 2013 at 11:48 AM |
    Does it matter what the election date is at this late stage?
    The PM has painted himself in a corner

What corner? You and your Wickhamspeak. The PM said to the country sometime ago he was using up the full term the electorate gave the party. He knew what he was saying and doing.The electorate decides if the Dees get five more years or the Bees of the privatise privatise mantra are returned. What painting in what corner what.

12. The return of Old Onion Bags !!!!!!!

We all know it was inevitable! 🙂

13. E2

People nowadays don’ have grass to deal wid… Out outa touch. Anybody wid a fork dese days would know that the land does be bare …. ask Islandgirl246, do ..!

14. millertheanunnaki Avatar

Welcome back, OOB!
    Just in time for the upcoming fireworks.

15. onions it was miller who told me that lie about you choking on the pig foot! don’t mind the sentiments he send yuh.

16. @ Stupse
    The DLP’s mantra is privatised too, the only difference is that they have opted to do so in secret…but what is done in dark always comes to light…lol

17. @ All the honest n sincere…
    Greetings and Salutations from BAFBAP salt flats. Truly a barren land to dis-inherit gladly nowadays.But all is not lost…..there is hope on the way…Elections..May that day come quick before this Spring madness multiplies exponentially…..Wickman writtings in the Sunday Sun only touches the surface…..Give Jack his jacket…..Don Quixote has been reincarnated.

18. Extraction from Wikipedia – Don Quixote
    snip
    …While mostly a rational man of sound reason, his reading of books of chivalry in excess has had a profound effect on him, leading to the distortion of his perception and the wavering of his mental faculties.

In essence, he believes every word of these books of chivalry to be true though, for the most part, the content of these books is clearly fiction.

Otherwise, his wits are intact. He decides to go out as a knight-errant in search of adventure. He dons an old suit of armour, renames himself “Don Quixote de la Mancha,” and names his skinny horse “Rocinante”.

He designates a neighboring farm girl as his lady love, renaming her Dulcinea del Toboso, while she knows nothing about this.

19. We know we don’t want Stuart in the saddle but really we don’t want Owen Arthur either. The BLP shipwrecked Barbados. The DLP thought they could salvage it, they couldn’t but tried.The BLP will possibly come back but can’t and won’t salvage their shipwreck mess.

Amazed there is so much spilled milk here. Like it or not, activists for Violet Beckles are making noise to getting attention. They’re doing it too, getting people attention because they’re exposing Barbados people of prominence and their dirty laundry – Sir Richard L. Cheltenham, Charles O. Williams, Ralph Torn, Mia Mottley and more. That person PLANTATION DEEDS 1922 to 2012 is attacking them, people of prominence everywhere they are or think they are, BLP, DLP also the United States Embassy in Bridgetown. Sir Richard L. Cheltenham is apparently a CORE ELEMENT in that Violet Beckles mess and was among those listed at the United States Embassy in Bridgetown to assist United States citizens in purchasing property or legal disputes here. Not much can or will miss eyes of the United States. We could talk to Bin Laden about that, but he’s dead. President Obama ordered capture of Bin Laden dead or alive. Mission accomplished.

Everyone in Barbados know that Jamaican woman was police raped, but she has activated a lawsuit against Barbados. They are now paying her legal bills or will. The court ordered Barbados to pay that woman’s legal bills. Like it or not, Barbados will not survive that lawsuit. Barbados police did rape her; this is fact not fiction. Everyone in Barbados surely know Al Barack, his contributions in the community and fact that Barbados somhow must pay him milliions. This also is fact not fiction.

20. Well Well | January 6, 2013 at 9:11 AM |

Waiting to hear when another foreign entity will acquire Barbados Water Authority, National Insurance, Barbados Credit Union, CBC (definitely) National Housing, Ministry of Education, Internal Revenue (definitely, since everyone uses it as their personal piggy bank to steal millions) and other government ministries, as well as BLP, DLP …………………………………..all in an effort to save the people from themselves.

21. An excellent program on Vob92.9 this morning about renewable energy.

22. In which CENTURY will that new flavor of the month (in talk only) go into effect in Bim?????

23. What has been a revelation is the difficulty with drawing down on the energy smart fund managed by EGFL.

24. The government needs to make its position known on the design of our regulation framework currently stuck in the pipeline.

Consideration needs to be given to selling RE equipment duty free to reduce upfront cost.

Another bit of surprising info is that BWA, GAIA, QEH and a couple other government agencies represent about 61% of energy usage. This should be upsetting to the average Bajan.

25. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David | January 6, 2013 at 12:08 PM |

So you can now appreciate the relevance of the miller’s query regarding the granting of concessions to CUL on the basis of a stated RE strategy.

Why can’t the government fast track (“Boltise”) the RER and other required RE legislation as it did with the appointment of the CJ and other known politically expedient “emergencies”?

It is sure as day follows night or vice versa that this country will not be able to foot its fuel import bill along with its current food import bill if the foreign reserves do not grow significantly in 2013.

26. It probably says a lot about how we have prioritised RE that the key players in the industry on today’s talk show are unaware of the lecture at the Central Bank a few years ago when the Barbados government invited to invite a company in to assist with drive the RE industry.

It seems there has been a lot of huff and puff from the government about RE but there is a lot of work left to be done.

27. @Miller

Coming out of the show so far it seems a reason for the delay is the fact the BL&P pilot was just completed in November 2012.

28. millertheanunnaki Avatar

One wonders how those “ordinary” Bajans living in rented government-owned units- like Country Towers, Valerie and London Bourne- will be able to benefit from or even consider investing in all of this RE hype?

What’s in it for them? Why should they be concerned other than in conserving energy coming from the BL& P grid?

29. @Miller

According to the guys on the show residential use accounts for only 30%.

30. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David:
    According to what one of the “expert’ panelist just said on the VOB call-in programme on RE it seems we will soon see all our ML &MP vehicles running on RE. The hybrids can cost 17 cents per mile compared to the traditional gasoline motors costing70 cents. This would make a significant dent on the government’s running budget for vehicles thereby helping to reduce the fiscal deficit over the longer run.

This sounds very attractive since as he also claims electric vehicles are expected to fall below US$20,000 in the coming months.
    Sounds good, very good indeed, but do you believe him David.
    Now if you accept his submission then we expect to see can immediate traction from government in replacing its fleet of vehicles for personnel use.
    I really like the proposal about hotels investing in a RE farm and paying BL&P a throughput fee for the transmission and distribution through the grid.

Very interesting discussion, today. Pity DJ was not the moderator!

31. millertheanunnaki Avatar

“@Miller: According to the guys on the show residential use accounts for only 30%.”

As the larger consumers go partially off grid the BL& P revenues would concomitantly fall.
    That means that the small man would be carrying a much heavier burden of BL&P fixed costs and Emera’s profit appetite.

32. As far as I remember the company that was invited into Bim in the renewable energy hype, last year bitterly complained that after spending borrowed millions and entering the island, they could get absolutely nothing done because of government indifference, inactivity, inability to reach those involved, unreturned phone calls…………………………………………..and on and on.

33. @Miller

Aren’t these guys expected to build capacity into their systems to feedback to the grid? Isn’t the model being built out taking into consideration the need for BL&P to maintain a predetermined capacity?

34. millertheanunnaki

My man … If DJ was the moderator the show would have been transformed into one about Dj’s life and times with Energy consumption, as opposed to an opportunity for information to be broadcasted …. HA HA HA. Look DJ full of heself yah … But I agree, he is still the best (of a bad lot) and Matthew lacks the attractiveness to raise himself from bottom of the pile.

35. What time is it? It’s time, 2013 General Election. Plea to DLP government, don’t stop the music – don’t prolong or halt the election. Give dogs their bone, NOW.

DLP supporters won’t forget BLP internet public statement ” can’t change what happened in the past [massive land theft and fraud, the 75,000 campaign cheque, the Nigerian Water Heater Project – 2.4 million dollar loss, Al Barack, VECO, Barbados Water Authority problems totaling thirteen years, etc] but the BLP has a proud and enviable record of keeping promises. . . .The DLP supporters won’t forget public statement of Owen Arthur “economy is a mess right now. We will fix it”. The DLP supporters won’t forget opposition spokeswoman, Mia Mottley on 06/27/2012 outlined a budget and measures a new BLP government would IMMEDIATELY put in place.

Mitt Romney and the Republican party were sure they could and would defeat President Barack Obama and the Democrates [United States]. Romney had prepared only a victory speech. He had prepared his inaguration and had begun choosing his party. Romney and the Republicans are now so very embarrassed. The BLP are sure they can and will defeat the DLP, said so, internet public statement [Facebook].

36. Farley should stick to being a head-teacher. He is so naive and discussions such as RE are out of his depth.

37. @E2

To the credit of the participants they did a reasonable job leading the discussion. Someone like Dr. Don Marshall should have been invited to host the program. It seems that Farley is the relief Moderator for weekend duty. The program was very informative and had the potential to be even more so with a different level of moderating.

38. NationBLPnewspaper Avatar
    NationBLPnewspaper

How come the biggest public critics of Prime Minister Hon. Freundel Stuart – ( Pat Hoyos, Albert Brandford, Sanka Price, Peter Wickham, Clyde Mascoll,)are all employed by the Nation Corporation and its subsidiary Starcom network?
    Coincidence. Yeah Right. The Nation newspaper attempt to sabotage The DLP is so obvious: Shameful.

39. @ NationBLPnewspaper

I repeat: Is that the Director of News & Current Affairs at CBC pictured canvassing for Irene Sandiford-Garner on the Nation’s Facebook page?

40. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ NationBLPnewspaper | January 6, 2013 at 6:51 PM |

Yeah you, DLP messenger boy, have you delivered the message about not placing any DLP campaign ads in the Nation newspaper?

Why would the DLP want to give money to the Nation which you claim to be the DLP sworn mortal enemy (until the DLP is in opposition, that is)?

We don’t want to hear anything from you until you have done what you have been told to do, yard boy.

41. NationBLPnewspaper Avatar
    NationBLPnewspaper

@enuff – call names – who are you referring to canvassing in St. Andrew. I know it was not the Starcom moderators who were part of the BLP “Privatisation public relations talkback stunt” . The Nation newspaper says it is all the paper for all the people but is currently paying a BLP spokesman every week (Clyde Mascoll) to write a political column attacking the government . Imagine that, the Nation newspaper says it is fair and balanced but every week, the official BLP spokesman is given a page to attack the government. Fair and balanced?

42. old onion bags Avatar

Yardbroom January 5, 2013 at 6:13 PM #

Hi Old Onion Bags,
    Happy New Year.I was about to write a submission: “Just As I Am: Prime Minister Freundel Stuart, The DLP’s Pathway to Victory.

||||||||||||

Just as I am ???Ha ha a fool’s parody indeed…..What ever has become of my good friend Yardbroom. Good time indeed yes!