Submitted by Stephen Williams
Dr. Jerome Walcott, General Secretary says “let us answer the call of history, to once again provide leadership”

This is an extract carried in last Sunday’s newspaper from an address given by Jerome Walcott at the BLP’s annual conference the previous day: “Let us answer the call of history, to once again provide leadership, good governance and programmes to put Barbadians back to work, to put money back in their pockets, to put back our country in its rightful place far removed from junk status.”

Some nerve, Dr. Walcott!!! I will deal with the part that addressed ‘junk status’.

My Dear Dr. Walcott, our situation is analogous to a country’s’ constant downgrade over the years caused by persistent borrowing year after year to sustain a quasi-artificial standard of living for a select few, as well as for a rainy day. Sounds familiar? Well, the day of reckoning SURELY HAD TO COME.

For the record, this country, during the Owen Arthur administration’s 14 years in office, experienced five (5) downgrades by Standard and Poors as well as by Moody’s – the US credit rating agencies – when there was lots of money around, and the economy was said to be growing yearly. Yes, the Great Economist was at the helm when we had five downgrades, despite the fact that the country was awash with cash. In fact, the BLP government had access to so much money (thanks to the newly introduced VAT that milked Barbadians) they earned the nickname of the “Cost-Overrun Kings,” giving new meaning to wastage, corruption and spendthrift.

Remember that the DLP administration took over during a biting and relentless recession – the worse the world has seen in nearly a 100 years. Conversely, the Owen Arthur administration NEVER had to deal with a recession, and so it had millions to squander – and oh how it squandered!

The problem was, the ‘nuff money’ did not trickle down to the masses; only certain people benefitted – the rich and famous, and their friends and families.

Dr. Walcott also talked about restoring “good governance.” Who can forget wastage on the Ackee Tree; St. Leonard’s School; Eagle Hall Market – a laughingstock showpiece; Kensington Oval; the Golden Showers; expansion of the ABC Highway; Dodds Prison; Barrack Building (Al Barrack did not win the tender process, but he was awarded the contract); the QEH; Hardwood Houses; GEMS; Southern Meats; the $M9 Newton IDC Building next to the roundabout; UDC and RDC; Edutech – where did all the laptops and computers go? What good governance is he talking about?

The BLP can now lecture the region and the world on the “virtues” of frittering away public money and impropriety – I suggest Public Wastage and Squandermania 101.

The credit rating agencies rank countries from the very top AAA to AA to AA+ to AA- to A, to A-1 to A-2 to A-3, down to BBB+ to BBB to BB+ to B, to CCC to CC to C, and at the lowest rate of CI, R, SD and NR (not rated). Junk bond status is really a NIG – a Non Investment Grade; and has more to do with a country’s ability to secure reasonable and advantageous interest rates on loans sought, than anything else. Many other countries have been downgraded over the course of this recession, including the US, UK and several countries in Europe.

Of course, it is not a position any country would want to find itself, but one from which we are working assiduously to extricate ourselves. So, Truth be told, in real layman’s language and for argument sake, we would have gone down from say a 6 to a 5, then from a 5 to a 4, from a 4 to a 3, from a 3 to a 2, and then from a 2 to a1 – ALL THIS OCCURED UNDER THE GREAT ECONOMIST, Owen Seymour Arthur. So, by the time the DLP took over Barbados’ credit rating was near the nadir. THE BLP GOVERNMENT UNDER OWEN ARTHUR NEVER HAD AN UPGRADE. I challenge them to prove me wrong. A further downgrade has, therefore, landed us at junk bond status from where we are climbing, but we are on the right track once we stick to the current medium term fiscal strategy.

One may argue around the edges, but the substantial point stands – the Owen Arthur administration had five downgrades, but NEVER had an upgrade. When we took office, we were near the bottom in terms of ratings.

1. And…….What’s your point? The downgrades continued under the DLP and your DLP has the distinction of achieving the junk status designation.

You all like looking back and blaming, the problem with the DLP is that it did not or does not understand how to manage an economy and it would not listen….. they were waiting and waiting.

Since you all like looking back…….look when the BLP took over this country in 1994, Sandi and the dead king had an IMF official resident in the Ministry of Finance dictating how this country was to be run.

And to think that one Freundel, the sleeping giant who now get up, has the nerve to criticise Jimmy Serrao, all the while forgetting that in 1999, the dead king brought in Jennifer Lazlo, a white American to run their campaign.

Talk what you like, Barbadians prospered during 1994-2007. You cannot point to one other Barbadian outside of those privileged to feast on the fatted calf like areson and Patrick Gollop, who are happy today with their lot. I know families where no one in the home is working and still have children to educate and pay mortgage.

Tell the sleeping giant to call the election!

2. Stephen Williams wrote “One may argue around the edges, but the substantial point stands – the Owen Arthur administration had five downgrades, but NEVER had an upgrade.”

David is this true? Yes or no.

nuh lotta long talk. true or false?

3. Prodigal Son “And to think that one Freundel, the sleeping giant who now get up, has the nerve to criticise Jimmy Serrao”

It is unethical for a former head of the Electoral boundaries commission to become a campaign manager.

There are other people in the BLP who could manage a campaign although none would have the advantages of Serrao.

Why does both political parties in Barbados look for trouble?

4. http://www.standardandpoors.com/ratings/articles/en/us/?assetID=1245213114875

As can be clearly seen the T&C did get and upgrade on April 6, 2006.
    on april 8 2009 the S&P reaffir the rate it have general given barabdos since 2004. 1 year and 3 month since the dlp took office so please stop this we were given it near the bottom in 2008. Only in june 2009 1 year and 5 month into office did the rating really start the drop that has barbados in the junk bond arena.

As for a final point about the S&P rating agency only start rating barbados in 1999 for S&P d been in 1994 when blp took office. Defintiely not the AA- it was then . As for drops we drop a full grade from AA- to A- from 1999 to 2009. since then we fell 1 1/3 grades.

Moody on the other hand did do rating earlier, it assigned Barbados a
    http://www.moodys.com/credit-ratings/Barbados-Government-of-credit-rating-849700#

Ba2, NP, Ba3, NP rating in oct 2 1995
    Ba 1, Ba2 rating on april 17 1997
    Baa2 ,Baa2 rating on feb 8 2000
    Baa3,Baa3 rating on oct 12 2009

As we can all see it did upgrade during the early year of blp rule and arthur did take barbados out of junk bond status

5. so the point is after all of the BLP injected quasi- artifical smoke and mirror economics we the taxpayers now got to pay foot the bill and to think some people gulltons fuh punishment asking fuh more of the same like 1 billion dollars in cost overruns interest not included. over ioomillion dollars in defecit for the transport board . still planning to throw good money after an outdated hospital which is about onehundred years old and cannot be modernised. planning to sell of grantley adams airport . like the way they sold off barbados prime land to the highest bidder overlooking the laws which forbid such. bunch a SCAMPS . who need this only onions and miller .

6. I am more than a bit concern about the recent utterances of the Prime Minister. Sometime ago people were complaining that the PM was not talking. He changed but is now talking foolishness. Quite frankly, I prefer the time when he was not speaking and consequently removing doubt.

In today’s Nation, the PM is reported to have said that Jimmy Serrao runs the risk of having his name dragged through the mud by taking up the position of campaign manager of the BLP. After he said that I am sure that he must have realised how silly that comment made him look. Who will drag Serrao’s name through the mud? Certainly not the BLP. Is he saying that he and his party are mudslingers? Or is he planning to fight the next election campaign in the mud? Come on Freundel, you need to raise your game. Do not let politics eradicate the reputation for decency that you have. You are sailing into foul waters.

7. Prime Minister Stuart stated on the weekend that it was under his watch the St. Joseph hospital was made public. Was it?

8. @ Hants

“It is unethical for a former head of the Electoral boundaries commission to become a campaign manager.”

Since you are in the unethical mood; can you please tell me if it is ethical or unethical for Patrick Tannis, who was chairman of the St. Michael South East constituency council to be the DLP’s candidate for the same constituency in the forthcoming general elections?

9. To BU’s knowledge Tannis gave up the position of chair of the CC when ie was officially endorsed as the candidate.

10. David: To BU’s knowledge is Jimmy Serrao still the head of the Electoral Boundaries Commission?

11. Like Hants I await David’s answer as to whether they were five downgrades as mentioned in this article. I take the liberty in making the suggestion that Hants would have no problem if that answer were to come from one of the BLP apologists who post here.After all they do on every chance they get,remind us all of their achievements.This is one they may have missed…or did they?

12. Sadly so Serrao Avatar

There is more to it than meets the untrained eye, Serrao of his own wealth can contribute singlehandedly to a BLP campaign he is a very wealthy person and contributes significantly to BLP campaign funding from his personal wealth.

13. As far as I know, Serrao is no longer the head of the electoral boundaries commission and about this huge fuss because he FORMERLY held that position. He was not the head since 2009 if my memory serves me correctly and now Billie Miller is on the commission.

Do y’all realise that all of the members of the said commission are political appointees? This is done so as to avert nasty political tactics because if either side tries to be unfair, the other would obviously cry foul.

Now think..is this truly an issue or is it being made to be an issue for political propaganda and mud-slinging?

Please think for yourselves and do not be caught up in the silly season.

14. @ Nia
    DLP is a party clutching at any straws….they have run out of ideas and tired of attacking Owen….imagine at this 12th hr… they making a fuss about dog and bicycle licenses while victims of Tomas beds still getting wet.

Wait …did I hear on the 6am they are planning to rename yet another school before saying goodbye?…Only last night I was informed that the only complete piece of legislation they have managed to pass before the House is the one on Constituency Councils so that the likes of Carson could sit on his computer up Warrens and fumigate these echelons with his gorilla xiss….

That piece of Labor Legislation is incomplete and awaiting more debate. Knowing that, given the time now available.. ( too mush sleeping and traveling) they have resorted to pleasantries and distractions like renaming SCHOOLS…… D’s where is the beef? ..and you want annuda term..gimme a break….to do what may i ask ?

15. Onions

I hate to get into any debate of who will win the next election but your comment about renaming schools and other pleasantries needs a bit more analysis.

The BLP is behaving as though they have already won the upcoming election, and the DEMS are behaving as though they have already been whipped. Renaming schools is just a symptom of that feeling of defeat. As a result, they are rushing around putting their names on plaques so that they would be remembered. Mind you, they did not build anything of worth.

16. Goodness gracious……Caswell, you should be playing for the West Indies, that was a doustra. Not only renaming schools, but putting people in high management positions too….Gran Mudda used to say ” Black bird does wait for Wood dove to build.. then move in nest… the only ting the DLP build in 4 yrs is a Blackman Gollop school and struggling to finish a Sin John clinic. D’s surely have a Daniel en camp….who could read the writing on the wall….the enthusiasm speaks. My only wish is that there be a worthy Opposition at the end of the day….”too far East is West”. 24- 6 still stands (not a vision lol)…an upcoming article, when we hear a gong will substantiate such reliance.

17. Win or lose the DLP would go down in history as a party who were commited to see laws implemented that give workers their rights and champions for free education and womens rights unlike the BLP whose only claim to fame is boondoggle lots of borrowing and millions in dollars in cost overuns the people would not forget such a legacy another perception by the BLP is that the DLP has given up to defeat sorry but the fight has just begun

18. @ ac
    Win or lose the DLP would go down in history as a party who were commited to see laws implemented that give workers their rights and
    champions for free education
    ******************Don’t B a New Nu**************
    The Labor Legislation still to be debated and not on books yet…..Free education? ..you mean when EWB was around…who could forget Chris and the $ 150 mill back peddle…in Donville Office…ac like you also got the sleeping disease too or need to see the Japanese Admiral Yotomoto

19. AC

I am getting tired of your foolishness. The DLP that you speak of died in 1987. What we have no is a group of self-serving people who pretend to care but in reality their actions and their words do not match up.

One of their first acts of nastiness against the workers was terminating 13 workers from UDC just to replace them with DLP supporters. Then the workers at the Airport who were asked to forego a salary increase in 2008, finally got one in 2010 after negotiation with NUPW, and the Government went back on the agreement and refused to pay the increase for the second year of the agreement.

This is the same DLP that cut severance pay and unemployment benefits in 1991 when workers were being sent home and needed all the money they could get to hold them over until the next job. On the other hand they increased their own salaries by 10% ahead of the 8% pay cut. Do you want me to go on about the 2010 promise to fix the Public Service Act or do you get my message?

Personally, I find it very hard to support the BLP headed by either Arthur or Mottley but the DEMS are making it extremely difficult to repose any confidence in them. AC your nonsense is not helping them. Do not big up their failings and try to convert them into successes, you are doing them more harm than good.

20. Well the real problem for the DLP was promising a reduction in COST of LIVING that has not occured and not fixing the issues they identified as needing to be fixed. They have spent too much time on their four and a half years PR campaign and not enough on doing the job they asked for and got. They refused to listen to the warning by OWEN of the coming recession (made on more than one occasion during the last major election campaign) and won a government not understanding what they would face. The Cost of Living promise was unneccessary at the time and has shown that parties need to better assess things before communicating. The BLP needs to assess the current situation properly and communicate things that are relevent and possible and not fall into what the DLP did. Which ever government wins they must change the current apprasail and other systems in government to work more productive and efficient.

21. @Caswell

Can you shed any light on the suggestion by Mia that less employees are working at the Transport Board today compared to prior year? ie people have been going home

22. Oh onions and other legacy of tbe BLP leaving barbados hanging off an economic clifff after claiming of how well OSA had handle the economics policies of barbados now waiting for another chance only this time CUT, SLASH, and burn what little is left having got any method or policy of undoing the hot mess they left behind after 14 years.

23. Yeah but when mention of grantley adams and his legacy and work done under the BLP administration none of wunna high.ight that aspect lest we forget that history has the fibnal say so think iof thr great leaders of our past even dead still lives beyind the grave because of their great contributions to society like david thompson it is more than an economy it isa society and the DLP has every right to remind those who might have forgotten the acccomplishments of the party be now or yesterday.sorry caswel

24. The problem with the BLP wunna want to set the agenda hoping that the DLP would fall for it no not this time to win one must fight no free lunch here so caswell you can get as sick and tired all you want.so caswell tell me what have the great OSA contributed to barbadian society that still resonates in the hearts and minds of all show me one thing he has done or said that would be a lasting contribution to this great country. what leader what

25. @ ac
    The DLP rocket crashin and burning FAST FAST…..Is it a comet…Is it a star?

26. Which bank will be willing to lend the Transport Board $14 Million doa..?
    AC BANK OF BROAD ST.??

27. ….NO ? MAYBE CARSONS BANK OF BRIDGE ROAD….plops.

28. @ac
    “tell me what have the great OSA contributed to barbadian society that still resonates in the hearts and minds of all”

whether you like it or not, people connect him with the “boon” years and “good times.” That’s problem for the DLP.

“show me one thing he has done or said that would be a lasting contribution to this great country.”

Can you do the same for Freundel?

Just Observing.

29. That’s problem for the DLP.
    “show me one thing he has done or said that would be a lasting contribution to this great country.”

Can you do the same for Freundel?
    How about ….”The Sleeping Giant Awakens”…..long remembered…a calypso come July 2013

30. @Roverp……….They refused to listen to the warning by OWEN of the coming recession (made on more than one occasion during the last major election campaign) and won a government not understanding what they would face. The Cost of Living promise was unneccessary at the time and has shown that parties need to better assess things before communicating.
    …………………………………………………

I agree with you. I well remember the dead king saying…… recession, what recession, what! They did not listen and Chris Sinkliar and Donville Inniss shouting across the floor of the House and telling Mia……wunnah had wunnah time, now is we time and we gine to do things we way. Well, they most certainly did and we all have had to live with the disastrous results.

I must admit the Dems had an effective ad in the 2008 election showing people going into a supermarket and as soon as the doors opened, monsters appear and on the monsters were food prices. If people were concerned about prices then, can you imagine what they feel now? Remember the dad king said that the BLP was in bed with the merchants and if the ink on the BS&T deal was not dry he would atop the deal. Well, the deal was signed after he took office and he could not do a thing.

What he could have done that would have helped was a change in their energy policy and up to now, they are still screwing the people of this country with the high costs while BNOC builds up millions!

And yes, I agree the BLP should not over promised as they do not know what mess they will find when they get into office and something tells me that from what we have seen of these incompetent ministers, there will be real mess to clean up!

31. AC

Re: your comment at 1:03

Did you ever hear me say or have you ever seen anything written by me to suggest that Oven Arthur ever made any contribution that resonates in the hearts and minds of Barbadians? Whether you like him or not, you must admit that he kept the economy afloat. However, this administration has proven to be a disastrous failure even with things that are within its control.

I hold no brief for either party but I am suggesting to you that your efforts on behalf of the DLP are counterproductive. You need to tell your people the truth in private.

32. ok, caswell so am i to believe that your negative comments towards the DLP would help them ;let me submit to you that all this talk about OSA as the great economist coming from the BLP tink tank does not resonate with many given that he had the boon years to restructure and rebuild the the country a sure fireproof plan that would have given barbados long term sustainability and rescue it from the grinding wheels of economic shock the grim reality is that the “great economist” failed and now is rely on the only plan he sees available those of austerity measures similar to the European countries who like him squander in the boon years sound familiar and now have reached roc bottom.when people belly hurt they will complain but they also look for the reason why it hurting and it is obvious that much of the pain and suffering people are living is not a result generated by four years but by a past administration who lived . for the now and not worrying about the the future .

33. millertheanunnaki Avatar

ac | October 31, 2012 at 5:34 PM |
    ” it is obvious that much of the pain and suffering people are living is not a result generated by four years but by a past administration who lived . for the now and not worrying about the the future .”

Are you saying, ac, that the other countries that are suffering from the so-called international recession did like OSA and failed to restructure their economies prior to 2007?
    Are you blaming OSA for setting the economic agenda for the world or at least those countries who are feeling the economic effects of hurricane OSA?

You, without even knowing it, are turning OSA into a god even if one of economic evil. (Can you really appreciate the nuance or subtle belittling of your intellect here, ac?).

If you think OSA is responsible for the current economic doom and gloom why not advise your political sanctorum to stop blaming the international recession and put the blame solely and squarely on OSA’s shoulders for everything that took place in the last 5 years. We are certain we will get those other countries which are affected by the bogey OSA economic hurricane to follow suit and blame OSA for causing such massive destruction.

34. AC

Like you, I am not telling the politicians what they want to hear. I must admit that many of my comments are harsh but there are positions that I honestly hold. When I say that Freundel is not the ideal prime minister but I prefer him to all other pretenders to the prime ministership that is a position that I honestly hold. Also when I say that Sinckler is an idiot, you can bet your life that is also a position that I honestly hold.

I am not an enemy of the DLP but I am also not their friend. I don’t care if they form the Government or not. All I want is that they do a good job because if they don’t, we all will suffer. AC won’t you know it: we are all suffering. My harsh comments are intended to make them stop and look and realise that they are not cutting it.

35. “It is unethical for a former head of the Electoral boundaries commission to become a campaign manager.”
    sorry to enter the discussion but if my memory serves me correctly Mr thompson’s branch or constituency office was once located on the premises of the returning officer for st john.

36. “Win or lose the DLP would go down in history as a party who were commited to see laws implemented that give workers their rights and champions for free education and womens rights unlike the BLP”

do your research AC and you will find that under the BLp more significant pieces of legislation were passed in support of workers than the DLP. do your research ac do your research check for instance the pensions legislation of 1971 introduced by the DLP which reduced casual workers to mendicants by offering them i think the equivalent of 12 months salary in take home gratuity on retirement to await their national insurance pension at a later date. The BLP repealed this wicked piece of legislation and casual workers can now enjoy the same rights as established public officers. When you see Gertz Eastmond and Carmeta Fraser ask them if they have learned the facts of life as suggested by Mr Barrow.or ask the former chairman of the national housing corporation mrs rice-bowen. free education at secondary level was introduced by the BLP, the DLP expanded it.

37. so caswell tell me what have the great OSA contributed to barbadian society that still resonates in the hearts and minds of all show me one thing he has done or said that would be a lasting contribution to this great country. what leader what”

AC show me what the great Mr David Thompson did for Barbados to entitle him to hero worship status.

38. Balance i don,t know about herob worship status but i guess that is up to the individual of how one might wish to revere david but on point of your question i would say that david resonates in the hearts of many because of his ability to present to them a table of compassion when he so he eloquenty reminded all in his comment that a society and economy are intertwined that we are our brothers/and sisters keepers words to such effect which will be etched out in the minds of many for years to come

39. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | November 1, 2012 at 8:26 AM |

He also made an oath and commitment to the people copied from the Cadets’ honour code at the West Point Military Academy:
    “I David Thompson will not lie, cheat, steal, or tolerate those who do (including Leroy Parris).”

Never fly in the face of the gods with such brutal insincerity, ac!

BTW, DT was not the first person to recognize the symbiotic relationship between a society and its economy. One can’t function without the other. Let us start with Charles Duncan O’Neale; GHA, Wynter Crawford, EWB and come forward. These great men said and did. DT just talked glibly. Aren’t the CLICO policyholders members of our Society too?

40. Miller all those names that you have mentioned has catupulate David as a legend among the best of the best pity the same can,t be said of OSA who had more time and years to make a legacy unfortunately he was too enarmoured with selfishnes and greed as will history so attached to his name by those who write it what leadership!

41. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | November 1, 2012 at 10:08 AM |
    “.. David as a legend among the best of the best…”

Are you referring to a class of liars, like yourself, ac?

42. balance would it not have ben nice if attached to those alloclades of which you sing there was a living wage bill a well meaning and defined piece of legislation passed addressing wages and salary.of citizenry

43. With the millions ($54 m 2008)…..hemorrhaging at the Transport Board …now you must see why…she got to Go P … As to the $14 Mil loan asked from BNB Republic…..lets see how the hummingbird flies…