Submitted by Old Onions bag
Minibus on the go!

“Life’s but a walking shadow, a poor player,

That struts and frets his hour upon the stage”

Macbeth

How often we see things that causes us to shrill with disgust and disbelief,  and review the situation for reasons to explain the unfortunate occurrence, in an effort to ascertain why. The majority of times, the verdict, is usually the same. Why would someone seek to cause such confusion knowingly (due to lack of intelligence, education or both) to the discomfort, harm and or inconsideration to the other party, and the general population at large?

We often consider the culprits character and upbringing as a forerunner to his behaviour, and a quick  diagnose too. This analysis though relative and a bit superficial, will go no further, but offer an immediate sense of calm. Beats slowly counting from 1 to 10, the other alternative to regaining one’s composure.

The minibus men and their jig sawed organization for instance,  yes, providing an essential service to the community without doubt.  They been in existence now for more than twenty five years and  still cannot get it right. Indiscipline within means chaos without, hence the resulting ensong… being unable to function as one coordinated body with rules and regulations for  all. What would propel a conductor on one of these vehicles for instance, instruct the driver to stop, and  temporarily disembark  to urinate, six feet away to the side of the bus, in full view of the passengers within? To make matters worse, wipes his hands in his already dirty shorts and resumes to take fares without even as much as a hands wash? For those who know, inadequate personal hygiene and body odour is a norm for some. Forget keeping up appearances and wearing of shoes and things of business-like. You would be bused for that. With a philosophy of “you  are in my world now,” fare paying passengers either learn to accept or  fear getting off the vehicle, with no future pickups.

Then there are the road offenses, too numerous to mention. When they are not stopping anywhere and everywhere, without signalling, to allow passenger to embarkdisembark, there is the japonica of weaving between traffic and dangerous overtaking. Nowadays its nothing new to see a conductor jump from a slowing vehicle, to signal to oncoming traffic to stop, thereby allowing his partner (in crime) driver to carry out some road offense to their betterment and fare enrichment. One of those really large yellow minibuses was photographed on Collymore Rock driving on the side walk, in an effort to overtake a crawling 8.00 AM school morning traffic. The brazen conductor  walked in front  the vehicle, instructing pedestrians to get off the sidewalk, as their phallus passed. Unbelievable to most, a novelty to some, while tourists seemed to exhibit a sense of ‘pity the injudicious and melodious Soul Train’ enjoying the experience.

Seems as though time is not longer than twine on this issue, as we have been this way many times before. Discussion after discussion. Talk and more talk. Even the formation of a statutory quasi relief organization to regulate and control set up in Kay’s House. Regardless, the outcome remains the same, no change. This supercilious spectacle, is but as a result of ownership tutelage by a certain spectral of privileged, with tentacles reaching further than the seeing eye. Money sometimes moulds more than mountains, in case we impecunious should forget.

With all the talk of privatizing the debt ridden Transport Board, certainly something will have to be done. A hallmark of the sustainability of all profitable businesses is organization and accountability. Should the Second Estate take over the transporting function, change WILL have to come and the ZR culture will have to cease.  Drivers will receive  fixed salaries and the ‘tally ho’ commission culture, will be no more. Drivers and conductors will wear uniforms of necessity and  the accompaniments. It is easily foreseen that there will be no longer licenses issued to newcomers as this was the genesis of the problem to start. Finally, sensible and safe road worthy behaviour shall revert to the streets of Barbados once more. With such  we shall see the last days of the rapacious lamprey shrew.

God speed be that day.

47 responses to “The Taming of the Shrew”

1. Should the Transport Board be privatized..(which is a good thing)…..shall we be seeing the last of the now ‘Mini bus Culture’.?

2. If The Transport Board is privatized, it should be sold with Barbadians owning shares in this new set up. Credit Unions are perfectly poised to buy shares for Barbadians.

3. Was UCal privatized? What is the problem with it.

4. @ Davado
    Big difference……between a workshop of 25 men (revenue $3 mil max) and a giant of 500 (guessing)employees..for one economies of scale, monopolistic strategic planning another… cannot be envisage by a two bit grease haven inherently hampered for starters.

5. @Onions

Isn’t a good management model/ethos what is required? Why should size matter.

6. David
    Size matter……big difference… when we have a large revenue stream from which we can operate ….a lil boy case..EX Big Icecream parlour .v Small Icecream parlour >>>Expense 1, : Advertising..a large organization would be able to advertise hence benefit from synergy…whereas Small Icecream parlour may not losing out by comparative advantage…..>>>Labor expense 2.BIP hiring 50 sales persons can benefit via economies of scale of labor, ….see whey i coming from?….. BTW you know you right , all this can only be conceptualized in an overall “GOOD MANAGEMENT ” model.
    LOL….

7. What I am trying to say then…..the bottom lines can both be in the BLACK but size of the BLACKS ….definite correlation to SIZE of establishment.
    Profits $50,000…….v. $ 50,000,000…..and the re-occurring reinvesting.

8. Further… a case study of UCAL….Transport Board was UCAL major client …providing 95% of UCAL’s revenue. When the TB was tardy with payments to Ucal….troubles began…..troubles snowballed…until profitability turned to losses. The UCal experiment was predestined. The old adage..”Never place all your eggs in one basket.”..also in management theory for good reason.

9. we watch Shakespeare ..then….shrewed shrew

10. QUESTION IS :
    Will a private investor be willing to purchase say 80% of the Transport Board and run it as a successful private co-venture. The answer YES. Heathrow Airport a perfect example …a Nigerian billionaire ..and today still the best ran airport in the world. LAX…private lease management ..again coppers rolling in like dog…..Why can’t a potential GOLD MINE ( as shown by ZR men ) like the Transport Board find similar fate…someone better be there early for the locals ..before a hummingbird gets wind ..and flies south quiks..know they dont play when it comes to good investing strategies.

11. What will it take to PURCHASE and RECAPITALISE the Transport Board..peanuts….what will be the TAKE…Gold Bunions.A cool $500 Mil and its a steal…..now that’s a dreamer’s paradise if any….proper TOPDOWN management structure … a lucid business plan…and watch the dough roll in…..a GOLD MINE indeed….

12. Onions why don.t you stop spreading lies about HeathRow when speaking of management it should include concerns of the flying public like security , afforable prices “, Enviromental aswell health concerns all that affects the flying public heathrow management has been heavily criticised for these inefficiencies and their failure to do right by the public in the meanwhile generating a substantial amount of revenuea first and putting the interest of the public last

13. Look ac let us put things in their perspective….the days of The Transport Board operating as a quasi Govt institution are numbered. We have tried our best for years now to make it break even, or a profit but to no avail. The reason by nature Govt institutions operate intended to give social benefits and not head on to make profit paramount . Right there we see the problem with TB.The organizations was in operation with a management whose training and thought was not to maximize the bottom line. We cannot eat the cake and have it too….Either we want to operate profitably or we want to provide social benefits? Profitably = leasing to a private concern, whose management will want to make profits TO EXIST.
    TB as it stands sucks up good bucks that can increase a deficit, the lending institutions see as hazardous to the country’s health.

14. No onions the transport board did not start out without poor mangement it evolved over the years because of poor govt politics now the problem is in correcting the inefficiences and bad policies implemented by govts most of which should be squarely blamed at the feet of the BLP who had most of the control

15. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | October 12, 2012 at 12:55 PM |

Ac, good case for privatization of the Transport Board you have made there! You are doing well since your conversion.
    Keep it up!

16. Ac
    You can talk all you like …Govt has to privatize some of these companies they by their very nature cannot manage PROFITABLY….Govt aim by nature is to provide social benefits…not profit oriented GOALS….here lies the problem. Question is can the existing Mini Bus owners successfully manage the Transport Board?….not at all saying this is the only option.

17. look all miller and onions is seeking is a socalled quick fix to these problems financially but the side effects can be devastating to the public in general with high prices . not to mention layoff of workers not to mention govt subsidies when these companies run into financial trouble i meaning on theory it all seems good but in practical it could be a night mare for a smnall country like barbados when times are hard. and the govt have to pick up the slack because of job losses from these companies and people then have to rely on govt for help , the only kind of privatising i am for is when a company sets up its own business as a competitor or buys out a privately owned company and in the case of UK which has a substantial amount of industries it can turn to……. as for divestment when it applies to buying shares etc in a company i am all for . but in the instance of barbados with one TRANSPORT BOARD one GAIA and one BWA if the govt is seeking investors no problem but full blown privatization hell NO,it is a risky proposition to say the least.

18. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | October 12, 2012 at 6:50 PM |
    “. the only kind of privatising i am for is when a company sets up its own business as a competitor or buys out a privately owned company and in the case of UK which has a substantial amount of industries…”

What a load of gobbledygook!

So you are for DIVESTMENT now NOT full blown PRIVATIZATION.
    Previously you were against any form of privatization Divestment or otherwise.
    Now you have been found out to be Liar and Hypocrite by “Enuff” and the miller you, by quoting Chris the Unclear in his last Budget speech, are trying to switch rails.

Carry on smartly, you are getting to your destination even if that destination is like a moving target.
    But remember, please don’t misquote the miller. I do NOT support the privatization of primary or secondary education, basic public health, national security like a small defence force and beefed up coast guard, law enforcement (police), the justice system, government revenues collection. I believe these are public goods and ought to be provided by the State and financed through the same revenues collected by the State.
    Everything else is up for privatization in some form or the other (even through divestment to please you).

19. Seems like some others were also vocal on VOB Brass Tacks today..Layne the black belly sheep farmer (Civil servcive reduction)…The DLP are coming out slowly to speak the truth…..Funny ways how they do it though,…BLP must make the first move…. as they (dlp) fear the repercussions…..cloned procrastinators. They cannot be trusted to ever take first initiative….This is what governing is all about…..not just looking for scapegoats something or one to BLAME. TIME TO GO CYDOMIUS.

20. miller you are a LIAR i always said i was against SALE of BARBADOS ASSESTS To FULL ownership to private companies, yuh know what the the horse PRIVATIZATION with the BLP jockey had bolted out of the stable at brekneck speed and half way in to a furlong the horse PRIVITAZATION began to buckle as heading in the opposite direction there was another horse by the NAME of NO outpacing it, and to gain ground PRIVATIZATION had to make an about turn throwing the jockey off as an alternative methods but the horse PRIVATIZATION that had left the stable as a winner had met its match in NO!,now the jockey in his haste to save face is finding all kinds of ways to correct damage and reputation fom the inevitable.a true story only it is about the BLP party who has found itself at odds with what the public views are on PRIVATIZATION miller you have a tacky way of thinking that people agree or will agree with nyou i not that foolish yet on this issue, wheel and come again.i am open to options but full ownership to GAIA and others not one of them.

21. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ old onion bags | October 12, 2012 at 7:36 PM |

That’s the biggest problem with the DLP. The DLP with Stuart at the helm is just too afraid to govern and make decisions. Except for lying of course!

The DLP is always waiting on the BLP to show its hands to either ‘back-raise’ as Richie did in 1985/86 or jump on the bandwagon as they are doing now with the alternative energy programme or “privatization” as a solution to reduce fiscal drag.

The next set of buzz words after Alternative Energy solutions and Greening will be Divestment! Divestment! Divestment! Since Divestment sounds more mystifying and soft sell than Privatization the evil bogey.

BTW, Onions do you know if those units at Valerie Brittons Hill have any alternative energy solutions included in their construction for them to be so outrageously expensive?

22. Such was never intended as FUMBULUOSO Assoc stole the alternative energy solutions concept from a Brass Tacks discussion with one of us AFTER the units were built… also …..and even more importantly, they couldn’t care less….lacking the vision to start. Why, that would be in direct confrontation with the BARNOC price gouging scheme of $50 million a year and could get in the way of one of their FIRST CLASS travels abroad.

23. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | October 12, 2012 at 7:43 PM |

I am sorry to remind you that the political horse you are backing is from the same stables and whose sire was the first to win the Privatization (sorry Divestment, its pretty girl name) Derby.
    Do you remember that IMF sponsored race in 1991/92 when much of the family silver was sold to back the horse called “Lump it or Leave it” with a jockey called Sandi and the Grand Old Duke of York as the recalcitrant groom and with a budding trainer called Thompie Sweet Cakes?

Just for a few greenbacks to place at the IMF run bookie shop the family jewels of Bartel, ICBL and other finery were sold and pawned just to stave off the dreaded Devaluation gambling blight.
    Oh how things have come full circle right back to the starting gates. This time the jockey is too heavy, blind, overtly arrogant, with his crop tucked at the back of his yellow and blue shirt and riding in very tough and wet conditions and mounting a big guts lazy horse called ‘Barbados’.

24. You guys thinks ac was asking what the BLP was going to do now for months…. for no reason? She had her ear pricked for something to take back to Belleville ..like PRIVATIZATION…..to plan an attack ..so as to have issues to throw out now around elections. However she stole a bait ..and now that she comes back out her HOLE like a true Bulgarian shrew….Miller has her HOOK LINE and SINKER…lol

25. miller so some assets were sold nothing as drastic as what the RT hon has in mind in2012 those that would affect our security even with that in mind he is being adamant as he was addictive to wasteful spending and borrowing a reason for lost of our creditworthiness , anyhow the RT HON. has no where else to turn and now presumably thinking he is going to win and have sent out two lonesome dove to see how low the water had settled. onions anybody who fell for the bait was the BLP because of constant cries of “THE BLP GOT NO SOLUTIONS:the BLP had no other choice but to spill their guts out of fear the public would steupse and turn away,even after the message returned stated :THE WATER STILL HIGH now time to reverse course and the blp is once again using the well thought out plan of counter cycle or counter cynical. in an effort to avoid drowning, in a sea of debt. ,another well documented story of the RT HON and the BLP ….

26. From the archive Hon……we planning to engage Hess Oil off Bim come 2013,…many jobs to be had and part of the contract also is to increase Woodbourne’s production to 2,000 bbl per day…BEAT DAT !

27. Good nite onions YOU talk too much. the BLP need to put a muzzled on you cause it is all yuh fault the PRIVATIZATION controversy got started HUSH…………………yuh hear……………what NEXT…………………

28. Which is more gutless a mole or a shrew? With you I cant decide…

29. WHY DAVID?seriously?
    the answer is simple they are nasty low class people who drive those buses.
    therefore it can not be any different .
    they are trash,dogs,nasty mouth uneducated filth .
    who don’t care.
    i wish once ,just once you bajans i am one also .
    realize the loud talking cursing rasshole,this and cun-,that is not acceptable in the larger world.
    when these are gone off the streets and beaches and everywhere then barbados may prosper.
    but it is too late.it is now your culture and some of you are proud of this.!
    in some countries you would be locked up or killed or beaten within a inch of your life for this behavior.
    people like Adrian write and try so hard but what i have said above is the reason
    and nothing else. what is done is done.
    bajans are proud of their cursing ,nasty,filthy behavior.
    SA la vie.
    the infrastructure should have been set in place since the 1970 but it was not.
    there the mistake began and continues to this day.

30. this the real world now.
    we have gone back wards
    to brutality and hate.
    http://youtu.be/H_mxPgYe1wM

31. WHY PRIVATIZING BEAT GOVERNMENTAL PUBLIC MANAGEMENT

1.Proponents of privatization have been arguing for years that private firms will respond to
    competitive market pressures and provide high quality service at lower costs. Too often the
    public decision on privatization is treated as an “either/ or” decision regarding which sector will
    be the most efficient provider of a service. This is problematic for several reasons. First, studies
    have found that the public doesn’t always get what it pays for as Sclar (2001) notes. Second, the
    source of citizen preferences for public or private sector production is often very unclear. Third,
    the logic of “either/or” decisions is posed in terms of bad vs. good service and doesn’t reflect the
    development of hybrid forms of organizing that span public and private sectors. For example, in
    health care emerging hybrid forms of delivering services try to follow more a logic of
    ‘both/and” where underlying libertarian and egalitarian ideologies seems to be
    embedded in those hybrid forms of services (e.g. public-private partnerships). As a practical
    matter privatization proponents attempts to ‘fostering entrepreneurship’ often means highlighting
    the freedom of choice as a good itself and positions individuals as the best judges of their own
    welfare (Williamson 2005). However, privatization also creates a good deal of uncertainty
    regarding the source of production of public services challenging the public’s knowledge of what
    services are being produced, whether or not they are eligible, and whether they should approach
    a transaction as a citizen or a customer. This paradox is very hard to overcome and affects

AN ASTUTE GOOD MANAGER (PROFIT ORIENTED)

Imagine being the Managing Director of a private specialist hospital in KL. What kind of leadership approach and emotional intelligence should you possess, taking into account the personality types of employees under your care as well as your general perceptions toward them? What would be the best way to communicate with this diverse workforce? How do we motivate them in the best way?

A leader is someone who influences a group of people towards the achievement of a goal. As the Managing Director of a private specialist hospital, we must wisely manage all the things that are upon us and has a strong commitment to influence employees to achieve the goals. There are several stages that must be implemented to influence the employees to carry out their duties properly. As a leader too, our job is to offset some of requirements or needs, such as personal needs, groups and organizations.
    Leading is establishing direction and influencing others to follow that direction. But this definition isn’t as simple as it sounds because leadership has many variations and different areas of emphasis. Common to all definitions of leadership is the notion that leaders are individuals who, by their actions, facilitate the movement of a group of people toward a common or shared goal. This definition implies that leadership is an influence process. Leadership has been described as “a process of social influence” in which one person can enlist the aid and support of others in the accomplishment of a common task. Ideally, all managers should be leaders.
    The distinction between leader and leadership is important, but potentially confusing. The leader is an individual, while leadership is the function or activity this individual performs. The word leader is often used interchangeably with the word manager to describe those individuals in an organization who have positions of formal authority, regardless of how they actually act in those jobs. But just because a manager is supposed to…

THE SECURE PUBLIC MANAGER (SOCIETY GOALED)

32. @ ac
    Huffing and puffing will not i say not..blow away the dire fiscal position Govt is in and with the fall off in tourism, decisions MUST BE MADE. PrivatizationDivesting is on the table IF WE ARE TO SURVIVE.We must look at these alternatives without party biases if Barbados is to stay afloat. Mush discussion will be implemented to educated and hear ALL views. This will not be a SLAM DUNK. Not all institutions are suited for private lease management or divestment..but the Transport Board is one that is. We must face reality and be not partisan just for party sake.Barbados is on a different rail road now and we have to adapt. Rest assured we will .

33. talking about leadership and management remember the “GOVT GREAT BAIL OUT” when the banks were too big to FAIL ……………were they all not mananaged privately. NOt to mention GM and chrysler all Privately owned needed govt handout to stop them from going under and you know why govt help because the jobs loss would haved crippled the economy. something that under similar circumstances would devastate barbados economy and it can happen.

34. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | October 13, 2012 at 6:33 AM |

That can happen when corrupt politicians and senior bureaucrats get in bed too cosy with crooked businessmen. The government’s role is to establish a fair legislative framework and regulate to ensure businesses operate in a legally compliant and ethically competitive acceptable environment.

A classic local example is that of CLICO. The BLP might have allowed the legal ball to drop but the DLP and Thompson were both figuratively and literally in bed with the crooked management. And you know the rest, with a large financial millstone (bail out) hanging around the neck of government (taxpayers, that is).

35. OK Miss bright and brainey……since we so brilliant to talk GM and bail outs…a financial culture completely non par to the region….WE SHALL KEEP ON THE PATH OF DOING NOTHING…..til elections that is….YOU SO CAN REMAIN BEHIND…..wilderness is yours…..where doing nothing is the norm.

36. Look ac let us put things in their perspective….the days of The Transport Board operating as a quasi Govt institution are numbered.
    SO TOO IS GI IAB…..PORT INC. and BADMC…..watch !

37. Onions, you were spot on with this comment and the above.

old onion bags | October 12, 2012 at 10:46 AM |

Look ac let us put things in their perspective….the days of The Transport Board operating as a quasi Govt institution are numbered. We have tried our best for years now to make it break even, or a profit but to no avail. The reason by nature Govt institutions operate intended to give social benefits and not head on to make profit paramount . Right there we see the problem with TB.The organizations was in operation with a management whose training and thought was not to maximize the bottom line. We cannot eat the cake and have it too….Either we want to operate profitably or we want to provide social benefits? Profitably = leasing to a private concern, whose management will want to make profits TO EXIST.
    TB as it stands sucks up good bucks that can increase a deficit, the lending institutions see as hazardous to the country’s health.

38. Poorrakey gone viral Avatar
    Poorrakey gone viral

Truly worthy of hits……well written indeed Bags

39. old onion bags Avatar

Dr. Esther Byer Suckoo

Time to get that piece of Legislation thru Parliament quix….Mini buses polluting with BLACK smoke like crazy….I almost choked this morning….

40. Let us put things in their perspective….the days of The Transport Board operating as a quasi Govt institution are numbered. We have tried our best for years now to make it break even, or a profit but to no avail. The reason by nature Govt institutions operate intended to give social benefits and not head on to make profit paramount . Right there we see the problem with TB.The organizations was in operation with a management whose training and thought was not to maximize the bottom line. We cannot eat the cake and have it too….Either we want to operate profitably or we want to provide social benefits? Profitably = leasing to a private concern, whose management will want to make profits TO EXIST.

41. Little Miss Muffet Avatar
    Little Miss Muffet

There we go Bushie, I recall this piece as case to point. I dare say go get ole sour Onions to give you some lessons—- AND Quix. The pen is supposedly mightyier than the sword—– RIGHT ?

42. Let us put things in their perspective….the days of The Transport Board operating as a quasi Govt institution are numbered. We have tried our best for years now to make it break even, or a profit but to no avail. The reason by nature Govt institutions operate intended to give social benefits and not head on to make profit paramount . Right there we see the problem with TB.The organizations was in operation with a management whose training and thought was not to maximize the bottom line. We cannot eat the cake and have it too….Either we want to operate profitably or we want to provide social benefits? Profitably = leasing to a private concern, whose management will want to make profits TO EXIST.

Soe lil ole lady days riding in fright on the buses like it comin back to haunt ….all this old talk bout no privatization was just- “Bull”………ac needs to apologize…last thing we hearing bout the place Courtesy and Macneary… dun got pun order 16 big able buses to help out Transport Board

43. With all the talk of privatizing the debt ridden Transport Board, certainly something will have to be done. A hallmark of the sustainability of all profitable businesses is organization and accountability. Should the Second Estate take over the transporting function, change WILL have to come and the ZR culture will have to cease. Drivers will receive fixed salaries and the ‘tally ho’ commission culture, will be no more. Drivers and conductors will wear uniforms of necessity and the accompaniments. It is easily foreseen that there will be no longer licenses issued to newcomers as this was the genesis of the problem to start. Finally, sensible and safe road worthy behaviour shall revert to the streets of Barbados once more. With such we shall see the last days of the rapacious lamprey shrew.

God speed be that day.

Anybody watching CBC TV just now will realise the day has ARRIVED !

So much for the lil ole lady crap…and NO PRIVITIZATION….

44. … more hullabalu……legislation enacted that conductors and drivers must “wear short sleeved shirts and long pants”….what about SAME COLOR? Boy we gine get a field day wid dis one…

45. Harold Drakes Snr. Avatar
    Harold Drakes Snr.

There is no reason why Transport in Barbados should be under Government.
    There are enough vehicles in Barbados to move Barbadians. Free up the market and allow people to bring in cars over 4 years which would see the new car prices drop much to the chagrin of the Simpsons and Courtesys who overprice their vehicles. Prices in Barbados are deliberately high and things deliberately hard for the sole reason of maintaining the status quo. A Rich man is a poor man with money that they take from the poor. Private Cars could pay an additional 100 dollar to be allowed to pick up passengers and transport them for a fee.