Click on image to follow the discussion – photo credit: Nation newspaper

The Nation Publishing Co is the host of another Talkback Session, the topic ‘The Next General Election’. BU has quickly developed a reputation as the leading forum in Barbados to discuss political issues. Let us join the discussion.

Follow the discussion HERE.

1. So far it is the Mia show!

2. What is the DLP scared of? Why did they not send somebody ? Nobody in there with shark teeth….Bobby PEP needs to get a grip..

3. Boring boring omg boring, smh!
    Mia is rather tiresome it makes one realise why Arthur said what he did about her at his infamous UWI press conference. She huffs and puffs still does not blow the house down. She’s a glorified snake oil salesman.

The blp in dire straits if they cant get dynamic speakers the wife beater trying but falls way short of the mark.

4. @ Damascus
    You want dire straits and failing grades……try this for feast

http://blp.org.bb/sites/default/files/the_cost_of_inertia_and_incompetence_web_version.pdf

5. Mia has given a good answer about whether she and Arthur have made up and what we are seeing is not window dressing. What we need to hear is Arthur retracting/distancing himself from that now infamous UWI press conference where he slurred Mottley, badly.

6. simply so far a love fest between the nation and the BLp. nothing.new said just a tri- peat of the old abot time the BLP bring something new but forget the “S” word not goinna cut it. .

7. @ ac
    Now you hearing Mia …a well informed proper BLP speaker speak…..does that not sound like the country in safe hands already?

8. Nation Talkback Talkshop Avatar
    Nation Talkback Talkshop

What benefit(s) will be derived from this exercise?

9. look mia just told a big whopper that gatwick and heathrow was being well managed. boy i tell you when yuh eyes closed people could tell you the sky is green and yuh have no choice but to belive it, the truth is that the problems across the board is a disater starting with security . enviromental and all kinds of safety issues not to mention that ferrovial the owners seem to have had enough and are selling off more of their airports even at losses,gatwick has already been sold

10. EQUAL RIGHTS & JUSTICE. Avatar
    EQUAL RIGHTS & JUSTICE.

wha part de dems?? stupes

11. EQUAL RIGHTS & JUSTICE. Avatar
    EQUAL RIGHTS & JUSTICE.

why they aint send somebody to de ppl ting cheese on

12. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

old onion bags(FRIGG YOU DAVID)

I remember Seethru saying that the people of Babados will never accept MIA as a Prime Minister because of her life style.

13. The DLP wil have to come good to counter the view that it made an error in judgement not to have participated in the Talkback. One has to deal with public perception and in this case there is the view the DLP is ran away. Whether it did or not the perception is what it is.

14. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

This talk back is pure comedy.

15. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

A waste of my time.

16. Mia Mottley did her political stocks no harm tonight. In the design of the talkback structure she shone brightly.

17. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Carson C. Cadogan | October 10, 2012 at 10:19 PM |

You should have been at Stuart’s boring lecture at Cave Hill.
    You heard what Mia said: Constituency Councils to go. As I said to you before, CCC, no need to resign; you will be fired and there is no redundancy pay due either.

18. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

No one was edified at this talkshop.

All those we didnt make , didnt miss anything worthwhile.

19. Interesting bit of political trivia that Mia has been the best performing MP at the polls since 1994.

20. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

This talkback foolishness certaingly was not educational, just a bunch of jokers rehashing old stories that we all are tired hearing.

Nothing meaningful at all.

I wasted my time and gas driving up there. Not worth the effort at all. I think I will skip the next talkshop if this one was anything to go by.

21. nobody at the nation going to verify what MIA said about the management of heathrow and gatwick it is all going to be accepted as gospel. sad but true. where is the integrity in the media . the people deserve the truth not a horse and pony show galloping around looking for applause,

22. i’m loving the comments by CCC. keep it up, keep it up.

23. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

David (not BU)

I am just calling it as I saw it.

Nothing Earth shattering took place.

24. Who will verify what Mia said about the energy cost? That is most important and should not be kept silent.

We have to hear in depth about the BNOC activities and the increased fuel, world cost to BL&P and triple cost to the bajan.

Carson pull this up even if again and tell us the DLP views on this one.

25. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Carson C. Cadogan | October 10, 2012 at 10:40 PM |
    “I wasted my time and gas driving up there. Not worth the effort at all”

So lying Carcinogenic Carson the Comedian you mean you actually went to the TalkBack event rather than to the Stuart lecture where people fell asleep? What kind of DLP hack are you?
    You could have at least sat next to Wickham to represent your damned laughable party.

26. The analogy which David Elliss used today is not correct. It is not one person fighting in the ring which the people are left to judge at the moment. It is the record of the government which the electorate will levy it judgement. It will use whatever benchmark it sees fit. If the DLP enters the fight late it may or may not make adjustments but the body blows may have already done the damage.

27. The following note is useful. It shows that the DLP’s leadership at the time had no problem with Cadres polls. In fact many on BU will recall the bassa bassa which occurred between then DLP political strategist Hartley Henry and Carol Martindale at the Nation had to do with the Sunday Sun editor not leading with the Cadres poll numbers which were in favour of the DLP.

TUESDAY, JANUARY 15, 2008

Opposition Leader sticking with CADRES Poll: “Opposition Leader David Thompson says he is sticking with the CADRES Poll done by Peter Wickham and published in Friday’s Nation Newspaper.That poll predicted the Democratic Labour Party would get 35.4 percent of the popular votes and the ruling Barbados Labour Party 30.1 percent.Speaking to the media from his Bay Street Law Offices, Mr. Thompson said the results of the CHAPO-BOXILL poll was nothing new since the Prime Minister earlier said that the BLP had done its own poll.”
    at 9:58 AM

28. EQUAL RIGHTS & JUSTICE. Avatar
    EQUAL RIGHTS & JUSTICE.

i believe the DLP made ah mistake not sending someone to the talkback,

29. Here is a comprehensive bit of research on the issue being debated the benefits of privatization over national monopolies which is what air and seaports are. The extract is part of the concluding paragraph. Follow the link to read the full report.

Perhaps the most important outcome from moves to corporatization and privatization is that of removing investment and pricing decisions from the hands of politicians and bureaucrats, who have some grand notion that building airports, ports, roads, and railroads will somehow provide a panacea for the economic ills of a region or nation. What has generally happened is that government has not only provided the capacity but has underpriced it as well. It should be remembered that transportation is a derived demand and neither investments in capacity nor policy initiatives will alter economic activity in a substantive way. This simple notion seems to be lost to the proponents of public ownership. In their view, privatizers fail to see the “market failures,” including the need for government to provide public services. The “publicizers” see government as wise, disinterested, and technically competent. The evidence is far from compelling for this view, particularly when government intervenes to try to direct markets. Government failure has done more harm than has market failure. Privatization, or at the very least corporatization, provides a superior solution.

http://oldfraser.lexi.net/publications/books/essays/chapter1.html

30. @ DAVID
    good job! this is what i mean presenting both sides to an issue this what i call healthy debate no real interference by those in the media who cow tongued to the political party of the day, the public should derived benefit from articles such as these and can freely decided on which article is more persuasive . like i always sat the media has failed the public miserably only giving articles of sensationalism and perception.

31. Let’s hope they are engaging and ask questions that matter. Better yet, let’s hope that they stress that there needs to be a focus on prioritizing or nation’s most impending of issues…

32. If you start a debate on Privatisation David I will tear it to threads … Personally … 私人我的屁股……

33. Obviously the DLP must have a general election strategy. The question then must be can it create enough momentum to offset the rising public perception that its communication strategy is poor. It seems from reading the tea leaves Stuart is going for the head shot.

34. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

OFF TOPIC
    “Toyota is recalling millions of vehicles to fix a faulty power window switch that is linked to several hundred reports of smoke and fires and at least nine injuries.

The recall will affect more than seven million vehicles worldwide — the largest single recall since 1996.

Toyota dealer Bermuda Motors says it doesn’t know if any of the cars sold here in Bermuda are recalled, but the company is closely monitoring the recall.

“Should any vehicles sold here be affected, they will be recalled into the service department to replace the switch,” said Michael Butler, general manager of Bermuda Motors.

“Whenever there is a recall on any of our vehicles sold at Bermuda Motors we always notify the customer as soon as we have the details and bring the vehicle in for inspection and — if needed — replacement of the particular part.”

The vehicles recalled outside Japan include certain models of the Yaris, Vios, Corolla, Matrix, Auris, Camry, RAV4, Highlander, Tundra, Sequoia, xB and xD, produced between 2005 and 2010.

Bermuda Motors says that all recalls are covered under the car’s general warranty when purchased through a recognised distributor.

Customers of Bermuda Motors with questions regarding the recall should call the service department at Bermuda Motors on 292-0893.”

I will bet the last five dollars in my pocket that the local agents will tell us that none of these vehicles were sokd in Barbados.

35. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ BAFBFP | October 11, 2012 at 3:52 AM |

The question to you BAF is how do we keep the corrupt politicians’ (aka lawyers) dirty hands along with their lackey bureaucrats from the wealth allocation cookie jar. Can you think of a way other than through dictatorship (which in itself breeds cronyism and political family ties) in which the wealth of the country can be distributed based on production/productivity, merit and need?

36. @ David

“It seems from reading the tea leave Stuart is going for the head shot.”

Partially right.However a more apt description would be going for “a kill shot”. The BLP has fallen into the trap of shooting at the enemy which is not yet on the battle field. The amunition is or will or has run out for the BLP and thats when the DLP will launch into its campaign of war on the BLP but more importantly on OSA.

I am curious as to why OSA is hiding and trembling behind Mia, why?

What will the public think when they as shown the evidence that Elizebeth Thompson was not the motivator behind the Greenland Landfill waste, what will they think they are shown that a friend of OSA collected a tidy foreign currency sum as the grease?

37. Observing (...) Avatar

the head shot would only work if the neck and shoulders are cut off too. banking the election on a “killowen” strategy may seem like the best thing to do but it may be too little too late too wrong directed.
    The DLP’s non participation reminds one of the BLP’srefusal to debateback in 2007-8. Oh how the times have changed.

just Observing

38. @observing

A headshot is fatal.

39. Miller man bring the article and lemme t’row some big rocks at you nah … I too busy over the next few days …

40. Wickham is doing the ‘dog’ at the non attendance of the DLP last night, as expected.

41. The DLP lost an ascendancy opportunity to gather derisory but muchly needed ground last night as they again faded into the silence of the night……Head shot what….what good is a head shot with 12 gauge …in a bi-partisan Boston Tea party forum? What will… “Oh hand me down, Sin John” be then, a Exocet missile of the cadogan kind ?…Gimme a break… there will really be a nasty battlefield then ……limbs and body parts sent flying…..Now DLP solider crabs on VOB on about the National Athem…they are so lame…DLP at its Joice…there are so not in sync…

42. Potential repatriate-ors…who can’t wait with pencil in hand…..to hand back the WHAMMY handed to them….”Oh come elections day…”

Dr. Barrack et al subcontractors
    Teachers of Alexandra
    Pensioners of CLICO
    EFPA Holders
    BARP investors
    BIBPA Group
    Unemployed IBC workers
    Old people on the Drug Formulator
    Immigrant NIS payers..no drug receivers
    Govt Travel Allowance earners
    Private Travel and Entertainment Allowance losers
    Vehicle Registrants.$750- $3500 payers
    Professional License $1000- $2500 roped inners
    Who eating one meal -a- day
    Elderly with no free drugs
    Land Tax Debtors
    Mini Bus Owners
    Shop Keepers $50 – $1,000 payers
    Pensioners with water turn off
    Pensioners with light turn off
    All Diesel n Gasoline users
    Store Owners..2.5% Vat
    Small Contractors owed
    Bagatelle residents
    13% Unemployed
    UWI general workers

43. @David
    some bodies still twitch and move for a brief moment after decapitation 🙂

The time between decapitation and elections may just be a brief enough moment. lol.

44. The Democratic Labor Party in the final analysis has done themselves the now great amputations. With Elections this near, they failed once more, to step up to the plate thereby allowing the Opposition a full measure of grand standing. After last nights no show, the undecided electorate will have no recourse but to ask the recurring question …why the deafening SILENCE ???? They will give their answer too, when that silence is broken by a true awakening …BONG BONG….DLP Galong !

45. Hi Onions and Miller,

One thing is sure….after general elections night both of you would be so shame that you are going to change your sign – in names to contribute on BU site .

WHY ???

Because your great leader OWEN knows the game is ON and UP .

He cannot hide behind Mia Mottley any more !

Mia never declared that she would wish the PAC to meet on the Bridgetown Pierhead project.

Owen did and backed down.

WHY ?????

It is called Evidence !!!!!!

46. Then we SHALL SEE ….WHAT WE SHALL SEE….your evidence….remember HARDWOOD….stupeeesss

47. Why would the government have ‘evidence’ to show Arthur in a bad light and sit on it all this time motivated by political expediency only? What about doing what is right?

48. Warning to late starters……may run wrong way