Submitted by the Concerned Citizens Group
Stephen Lashley, Minister of Culture

We are a group of creative Barbadians called the Concerned Creative Citizens Group. This group, made up of key members from various disciplines of our cultural community, was formed out of immense concern over the contents of the Cultural Industries Bill, which was being circulated by the Ministry of Culture a few months ago, with the intention of having it passed as a legal document. Our members are well versed in all aspects of culture and we went over the proposed Bill with a fine toothed comb, our efforts culminating with our recommendations being formally presented to the Ministry and addressed to Minister Stephen Lashley on April 30th 2012, via a hand delivered letter which outlined both the good points contained in the Bill as well as the serious flaws it possessed which we felt needed to be addressed.

Personal correspondence was then communicated between Minister Lashley and the group on several occasions, with one such letter assuring us that all submissions were being considered regarding proposed amendments to the Bill. A meeting was set up to discuss these proposed amendments between consultant representative of the Ministry of Culture Ms Andrea King and members of our group, which was also attended by UNESCO consultant Andrew Senior, who was purportedly hired by the Ministry of Culture to help with the Culture Industries Bill. At this meeting we were informed categorically by Mr. Senior that he was not involved in amendments to the Bill but was hired to advise government on โ€˜entrepreneurshipโ€™ in the culture industry of the island. We were, however, made more aware of the real purpose of the Bill, which we found appeared to have a high level of the principles of entrepreneurship at its core, and in our view was more focused on turning the cultural industries into a revenue earner for Government, and very much less on the inherent gains which should be derived from the Bill to the benefit of all creative practitioners in our country.

At this same meeting, we were assured by the Ministry representative that many of our submissions had been included, but on receipt of what we were told was the file of amendments, we realized that none actually were, and that the proposed amendments still contained numerous flaws. The most perturbing information received was that it was intended to make certain aspects of the Bill legal without actually even having a national cultural and creative policy in place.

We have always communicated with the Minister and the Ministry with utmost respect, and as we were very concerned about the handling of this meeting, a letter was duly sent to Minister Lashley detailing our disbelief, to which we have to date received no response.

Further, changes were subsequently made to the original proposed amendments, which we were slightly taken aback not to have received through official channels, but of which we were fortunate to get a copy.

Minister Lashley has stated on radio that the proposed amendments would be placed for all to see on the GIS website. This has not transpired, and there has been so much cloak and dagger behaviour behind this entire Cultural Industries Bill, that we are as stunned and clueless as anyone as to the reasoning for such activity.

We are of the view that every creative person in Barbados should be made aware of the intentions and benefits of the bill in all aspects, and they should be the ones made to understand every potential repercussion, as they are the ones who have given their lives to the pursuit of their various gifts of creativity.

Taking into consideration all that has transpired, the apparent lack of respect, communication and consideration being shown to us, and in the midst of many whisperings of the imminent passing of the Cultural Industries Bill in its present form, we feel compelled to make public our concerns and recommendations regarding this most potentially nation altering piece of proposed legislation.

We are in the process of forming an association, and will be ensuring, through all the channels available in todayโ€™s exciting electronic world, that every creative in Barbados is in possession of the documents we list here.

We do so with a sense of reluctance, born of our honest desire to have meaningful dialogue with Minister Lashley and the Ministry of Culture with a view to having a win-win situation, whereby all the creative people of our country bought in to the idea of a well structured Cultural Industries Bill, which could be clearly seen to be of tremendous benefit to all involved, and that would stand the test of time for generations of creative Barbadians to come, irrespective of which political party was in power.

See Relevant Links:

1. Dear dear me….what the hell is going on in this place doa? Is time people,…Is time..clock on the wall says time up !

2. Surprised to learn the updated changes to the draft CIB have not been updated to the GIS website. On a Fireworks program hosted by Dennis Johnson and Carol Roberts a few weeks ago did he not say he would make the changes available via the website?

3. My reaction to what is being said here is analogous to what happens when a highly allergic person is exposed to a very small allergen, it results in a massive reaction that is way out of context to the small sample introduced.
    The bill that the government wants to implement is focused on a very small area of the entirety of the Barbados creative environment, and the Concerned Citizens Creative Group (CCCG), already sensitive to the Government’s historic lack of empathy to this area of Barbados activity, have, in my opinion, over reacted.
    From the sounds of their letter, the style of which is way too diplomatic for my style of communication, the CCCG seemed to have overreached the stated objectives of the bill and, while their concerns are real, they just may have pushed the government into a position which has larger implications than what they were willing to get involved with.
    CCCG’s enthusiasm for Barbados’ creative industry and it’s economic and cultural impact may have,at this time, created an unintentional barrier preventing them from actually achieving their goals.
    My advice:- make recommendations that deal within the scope of the proposed bill, while at the same time laying the ground work for a more effective and comprehensive bill that will achieve their objectives.

4. this bill is the most expensive bill ever developed by a third world administration. Of course it has provided an excuse for a number of public servants to report to work over the years and a means of tidy additional income for a series of select local and international “consultants”. Look these inept political parties have fallen flat on Agriculture …. how the hell are they going to promise any differently in any other area of productive enterprise …? Wunna Creatives luvs to dream … Look at the short ass Minister. Seriously, look at him. Does he look like the kind of individual that you could trust to do the right thing …? The guy is a lime light specialist

5. @Antonio

If the expectations of the CCCG is hovering outside the scope of the Bill why can’t this be effectively communicated in the first instance by the Minister et al? Having gotten this out of the way talking points can be developed to build a win win situation.

6. Who presumed to write a bill which such a scope when it is about the culture of this country and to my mind the first one of its kind? This is the point at issue that the scope indeed is far too narrow and certainly is not in keeping with the UNESCO conventions nor the EU cultural policy documents. Furthermore if anyone has overreached it is certainly the Minister in not allowing the intelligent and able citizens of this land to participate fully in the discussions over this bill. NO. I am not speaking about the few creatives who were on the inside track and heard about the bill. I am speaking about John and Jane Citizen who have just as much right as anyone else to know what the “scope” of this bill is and to determine in some way, however small if it is too narrow or not. For the information of the general public, please check and see what Cultural industries bills in the real world look like. This bill – a Cultural Industries bill – is about a [particular tranche of money that has been allocated to the Barbados Government for “culture”. Now please tell us how on God’s earth can a Cultural Industries bill may be created in the name of an opportunity to receive funding alone? Should it not be crafted in the name of the culture of this country and not be contingent on the receipt of a finite pot of money. Which comes first?

7. Has anyone had a look at the Telegraph and the Mail? This Cultural Industries Bill is designed solely to get money from the EU through UNESCO. Seems that there is a very large press campaign against the grants in Europe. BU has posted the main newspaper reports. So, I suspect that (a) the Bill will not go forward and (b) even if it does, the money will not be forthcoming. I read the original draft CIB. Will try to get around to reading these amendments when I have the time, but frankly see it all as an academic exercise, as nothing will come from it and it will have been just as BAFBFP has said, with whom, for once, I completely agree.

8. Time for creatives to step up.

We need a Cultural Industries Bill that will help ALL sectors of the creative industries. We need to work with the powers that be to make sure that the CIB will take ALL creatives forward and help Barbados at the same time. And for future generations of creatives.

But it cannot be at the cost of individuals nor their talents. Creativity, ingenuity and entrepreneurship can shrivel if treated in a manner that is disrespectful. And then everyone loses.

“Almost always, the creative dedicated minority has made the world better.”
    Martin Luther King, Jr.

9. Having spent a lot of time in fora frequented by local artistes and others in the creative sector the lack of togetherness along with a fragmented argument has made them a less than effective unit. Like everything in Barbados nowadays all decisions are political and top down. We need to involve everybody and it must be done in a way that encourages it. No patronizing!

10. Amused

U got me uncomfortable …

11. Is this Bill really likely to become law in this Parliament? ‘Thinking about it’…’inviting contributions from the public’…..’next year’ …’when we have the report’……that is this government’s style. I really don’t think the CC’s need worry. Meanwhile perhaps they should get up a coherent package to present to the Minister in the next Parliament and tout themselves to likely office holders until then.

12. David…in life it always seems there is a chosen few who will fight for the rights of many…even when confronted with the possibility of being ostracized because of the type of society they live in…for all of us creatives here in Barbados, the words “do not do as we say…and you will be punished” is a heavy load when we are already on the bread line. Sad enough.

I am at a loss however on reading all of the above to understand why the Minister of Culture of all people does not see what foolishness is going on around him and how this is affecting him politically? But more than anything, how can he not fathom that this Bill in its present form can only be good for a certain group and not ALL creatives? I am shocked to hear that all of this is because of money? Cannot be. Our government would nevah, nevah put the lives of so many at risk for the sake of so-called monies coming in for funding, would they?

But that then brings another thought…as Amused intimated above…when de funding done and it looks like it soon gine be so…what happens then? A Bill has been passed that says nothing for the people it was supposed to be protecting? Instead it might actually seek to dig out of creatives at home every little piece of dem eye ’till dem blind from life. Wow! Dat word entrepreneurship that is being bandied about big time comes to mind. ‘Cause from what dat letter above says, it appears that all this entrepreneurship gine help the coffers of the government more than the creatives themselves…you ent gine allow dat, right Mr. Minister?

No no no…I do believe the Minister has just been busy and has not had the time to really have a look at the chupedness those who are supposedly in charge of putting these amendments together are doing, right Sir? I know the Minister gine be horrified when he really has time to sit down and study what will happen to the creatives of this island if this Bill is passed. The NCF gine get to disburse all the funding…??? Run dat one by me again? The Minister gine be able to deem what is creative and what is not?? Minister Lashley, guh’dear… look at de power you gine give the Opposition Sah…no no no…this cyant work. You must realize this ’cause hello? should one your children ever decide to take on a career as a creative when de Opposition in…lawd have is mercy….hmmmm….

In the rush to pass a Cultural Industries Bill…the most important factor is policy first..how can you pass a Bill without policy…dat doan make sense…but I know the Minister, as soon as he has the time away from the limelight of all his portfolio, will definitely sort all of this out. Right Sir? Oh! Yes! All of us creatives know you will.

We already appearing to be the laughing stock of the Caribbean and people all ’bout de world saying turr’ble tings ’bout us…you ent gine let this go on, right? I know you ent…’cause I heard you say pun TV during Crop Over dat your real love creativity…you jess waiting to the lass’ minute to show us creatives how much. Bless.

13. Like the Antiquities Bill BU urges this government not to rush this Bill through parliament to achieve a tick on a checklist. Perhaps Minister Lashley should park this very important draft for the moment. Continue to gather feedback and look at enactment after the election.

14. David…as much fun as one might want to make of it all…this Bill is serious business and not one that should be played around with.

..this Bill will indeed have such horrific impact on the creativity of this island if not amended correctly and with much thought that it is frightening.

I must say that I heard that those putting the amendments together leave a lot to be desired in the area of “qualified to do” and we should all, not just the creatives of this island, but each and every one of us, be very very perturbed at this.

I even heard that powers that be outside of this island looking to see very very carefully if Barbados is even ‘intelligent’ enough to put together such an important piece of legislation, and if all of the above is indeed fact, that Bill and those proposed amendments without the input of this group, will become something that can be bandied about as the biggest farce this Caribbean has ever seen.

And further, what should make ALL politicos and many creatives that come under the banner of “the usual suspects or the chosen few”, very very nervous is that if this Bill is passed in its present form, and funds come in for creatives here, every dollar gine be monitored to the last itzy-bitzy cent and one little tiny thought that something is not proper like pork, the pudding will not be in the eating but in the starving. True. True. True.

It would be in the country’s interest to Wheel Up and Come Again.

15. 1. This bill will have a ripple effect beyond our own national borders because the CIB in Barbados is at the most advanced stage within the CARICOM region and may be used as a template for the rest of the Caribbean when it comes time for them to draft their own bills. Before the bill becomes law, we need to be sure that we get it right so that we, and the rest of the region do not have to go back to the drawing board and redraft.

2. The bill assumes that all creatives are inherently entrepreneurial and that all creative gestures have the capacity to become commodified. This is not the case.

3. A CIB needs to be supported by a robust policy framework to create a nurturing environment for creatives across all creative sectors.

4. Furthermore, the process for drafting legislation of this sort needs to be participatory and include all stakeholders. Development 101 tells us that a consultative process engenders a successful outcome and contributes to a more integrated community where all parties benefit and work together to build a healthy, functional creative community. If stakeholders do not feel as though their voices are being heard, then the fall out is bitterness, anger, resentment and a break down in the social fabric.

So Antonio, I do not think that we should accept this bill as is or make recommendations with in the limited framework determined by the government. I think we should all participate in the democratic process and express our concerns. Further more, the formation of an association or union for artists is critical because without representation, governments can do what they want. Individuals voicing concerns at town hall meetings is not good enough. Creatives need representation that is arm’s length from the government to lobby on their behalf. Being sustainable as an artist is extremely difficult in the Anglophone Caribbean. This bill MUST begin to address issues about sustainable livelihoods etc. so that all the graduates coming out of BCC and EBCCI have a hope for their future.

16. Actually Rosemary the term is “Wheel and come again” …. Jus’ sayin’

17. The irony is that this government has done more with the CIB than the BLP when in government. According to the Minister this government dusted off the CIB. What does ios say? The struggle will be long and hard.

18. WHAT ?
    WHERE ?
    WHO ?
    Where am I again ?

JUST ASKING

19. BAFBFP – In Jamaica Wheel Up & Come Again is a drink! What it does for ya…well…you need to go to Jamaica, raise a glass and down one!

20. What is the plan of the government in waiting?

We have been hearing about improving business facilitation and cost management strategies ie selling government owned assets, but what about culture and the creative industry?

The government needs to step up but with a general election soon the opposition needs to be part of the conversation.

21. @David….The problem is always this. We have governments that because one states that something is wrong, whether it be a Bill or a road or a building, the first thing they do is jump up and play the “I did bettah than the previous government”…well what if that is not good enough anymore? Worse is that when one does jump up and say something…and I mean the people who vote the government in… the first thing is “hello there, it is decreed you are not longer in our good books and shall be ignored from hence on.” Get this Mr. Minister, this Culture Bill is not about you Sir…it is indeed about us. It is not about whether we like you or not, we might love you for all you know…it is the Bill we do not like or love. The Bill Sir.

All ya want to know what is moving around the country like the wind…a member of the previous government uttering these words that a birdie picked up and flying it all about de place, words that shows exactly what those who run our countries think of creatives “Man, dem got their feet up in the air.” Oh! Yeah?????

Personally I ent care which government did what…if it was a good move I will applaud, if it is something that is not good enough, I have a right, without backlash, to say so.

So this is not about this government or that government… and it is time that someone with some sense realized this.

Right now this is about US. The people. Those same people that governments seem to think will do as they say or else. We the people are talking here. And we feel we should at least be listened to and for once, just for once, given what we would like to see not for me, or you, or tanty, or wifey, or sister in law, or granny or cousin or brother or best friend…BUT FOR ALL WHO LIVE AND WORK AND LOVE THIS COUNTRY BORN HERE OR NOT. And right now the subject is the Culture Industries Bill.

And this Bill is just not good enough. Yes! The DLP decided to dust-off same…and it does not matter that rumours give the reasons loud and clear – the presumption that big sums of money were going to be handed out by the EU if it was.

But be assured one cannot just dust off a badly written Bill. The BLP wrote that Bill. We know that. Everyone knows that. But it was a poorly written Bill and made no sense to anyone. That the DLP then picked it up and ‘dusted it off’ does not make it then a good Bill…cause what was placed on the GIS website and is up on this blog for all to see, was indeed not a well dusted Bill…had that been a worker in my office, I would have fired her/him immediately ’cause obviously him/her did not use anything called duster…and even now when more dusting has taken place, as can be seen in the so-called amendments also up on this blog, there is still so much dust on this Bill it could cover the island like the volcano in St. Vincent did.

As mentioned above first and foremost a Culture Policy should be in place before a Bill such as this is even thought of. Then the Bill itself should lend itself to ALL creatives on the island. I personally do not see the big problem here. Both exercises are simple and could be done within a week. There is no rocket scientist formula here.

This group seems to have the country at heart. Just listen to them, take their ideas that are being given FOR FREE and just add them into the amendments and pass a decent Bill. What is so difficult about this? Does the word FREE frighten? If this group said “we will get your Bill sorted but we want a million dollars to do it”…would that then be taken seriously? I am sure they would not mind if this is so. Perhaps the words FREE AND WITHOUT PERSONAL GAIN seem scary. Perhaps FREE AND FOR ALL THE PEOPLE is even scarier.

This group of Concerned Citisens have looked at Bills from other parts of the world, Bills that work. They have carefully jotted down all the problems with this existing paper that all the governments here want to call a Culture Bill. I was made to understand it has been read and looked at from all standpoints and has been touted as ‘amazing’ and ‘well-thought out’ etc. etc. by those in the know not only here but abroad. Not only that… I even heard that the points address clearly what is wrong with the Bill and have been done with no ulterior motive but to see an excellent Bill passed, one that this country can be proud of.

So again, why just take the points, add them into the Bill and let the country move on and the creatives be happy within. OR …give reasons as to why these particular amendments are not good for the Bill. Something. I am not getting it. As are many creatives not getting it. What is the beef exactly???

If this Bill is not addressed properly then the creatives of this country will not have been addressed properly and will never be addressed properly. And a Bill should do this. It should address ALL it is going to affect properly. Not just one or two groups that have favoured a Minister. But ALL…every little single person on this island who is creative whether he be a musician, an artist, a writer, an actor, film-maker, heritage person et al. Even entrepreneurs – a word that has been so bandied about recently it has become tiring. WE CREATIVES ARE ALL ENTREPRENEURS. YOU DO NOT HAVE TO MAKE US ENTREPRENEURS. WE HAVE BEEN ENTREPRENEURS SINCE WE LEFT OUR PARENTS HOME. GET IT??? WHAT YOU CAN DO IS HELP US TO BECOME BETTER ENTREPRENEURS, THAT IS THE ONLY THING YOU CAN DO. YOU CAN OPEN DOORS FOR US IF YOU ARE ABLE. YES! THERE IS MUCH YOU CAN DO. BUT ONE OF THE THINGS YOU CANNOT DO IS PRETEND YOU ARE DOING THESE THINGS AND THEN DO NOT, AND IF YOU DO DO IT AND ONLY DO IT FOR THOSE IN YOUR FAVOUR… DAT CYANT WORK EITHER. THOSE DAYS HAVE TO BE, JUST HAVE TO BE DONE. OVER AND OUT.

Why would any government not hear the people who this is going to affect FOR EVAH…not just now but FOR EVAH.

Perhaps the Minister does understand what this group does not. Perhaps the Minister should really begin by opening the doors to them to explain what they obviously seem oblivious to. This group appears to believe they have good points so if they do not can someone please take them out of their obvious deranged and miserable minds? So the country can rest in peace? Geez!!

22. @Rosemary

Our last comments crossed. In is good to see some of the creatives fighting the fight. Many have become tired and frustrated and decided to succumb to being coopted by the system. We know though this is a copout and is the reason why many toss and turn nightly on the bed.

23. Creatives fighting the fight … I like Rosemary’s spirit, can’ tell a lie, but the charge being led by a group of White women many of whom soun’ either North American our British Public Schoolish… Oh Gad…. Bad politics, bad politics …!

24. @BAFBFP

Are you just being provocative?

25. @David…outta respect for myself, these pages and what good they do for all people in Barbados, I will not respond to BAFBFP.

26. “Never be bullied into silence. Never allow yourself to be made a victim; accept no ones definition of your life; define yourself.”- Harvey Fierstein

27. Here in lies, the true Crux of the matter, this Minister is a fraud, he is wholly and completely left wanting, and has served little to no purposes in his role as Minister of the Youth, Sports or Culture.

He talks, throws out ideas, showers you with platitudes, and then does nothing, I am a concerned creative and I have had enough of this. I am not under an disillusions regarding the record, of this Govt, or Minister regarding Arts and Culture, not by any means, I am however sick of this Minister using such an important area that holds the key for the future of this country as a political ploy that benefits very few and continues to place power and the control of funds into the hands of Statutory Corporations and the Minister himself.

I know for a fact the disregard that this Gov’t has for those in the Creative sector, Sen. Jasper Ince in a Town Hall panel held at the Combermere School in March this year told myself and room full of creatives that we “Want gov’t to do everything for us, we never do anything, Gov’ts role is to facilitate, and ours is to do something” Needless to say this did not go over well with the audience, and I personally, made the ludicrousness of his implied statement known.

This Bill is a Joke and must be redrafted as one that truly develops the Cultural Industries, and I will fight to do so until it is.

28. @ Antonio ent happy with CCCG…says “the CCCG seemed to have overreached the stated objectives of the bill and, while their concerns are real, they just may have pushed the government into a position which has larger implications than what they were willing to get involved with. CCCGโ€™s enthusiasm for Barbadosโ€™ creative industry and itโ€™s economic and cultural impact may have,at this time, created an unintentional barrier preventing them from actually achieving their goals.”

Would Antonio’s way of thinking have something to do perhaps with the obvious sum of money supposedly coming if de Bill get pass fast? Perhaps even some overseas investment dat waiting so dem who give out those monies can get back their invested monies through tax concessions? I just ‘aksing’ a question. (is this Caribbean enough for ya BAFBFP)

Seems to me Antonio thinks the good part of the Bill was made specifically for Antonio…do you think that Antonio? But perhaps he will learn like ALL creatives on this island have learned…that nothing earned nothing gained…and playing as if you gine get ‘all’ ’cause you “in like Flynn” or even ‘some’ by the way…doan necessarily mean you will…as many who have followed that route have discovered for themselves.

Antonio…THIS BILL SHOULD BE ABOUT ALL CREATIVES BAR NONE. NOT JUST A CHOSEN FEW. AND THEIR CHOSEN REASONS. GET THAT MY DEAR? GET THAT.

THIS BILL NEEDS TO BE UNBIASED. YES! A STRANGE WORD BUT IT IS IN THE DICTIONARY.

unยทbiยทased also unยทbiยทassed (n-bst) adj.
    Without bias or prejudice; impartial. See Synonyms at fair1.

THAT IS OUR ONLY GOAL AND IF THAT HAS CREATED AN UNINTENTIONAL BARRIER THEN SO BE IT. BARRIERS CAN BE BROKEN.

The Minister cannot see this as a fight against him personally…it is against the Bill. The Minister not only loves culture, has said so over and over again, oh! yes! I do listen to him…seems like a good man, a nice man even…but surely he must know as a lawyer that the Cultural Industries Bill in its present form, and even with those few amendments put up by his consultant, Miss Andrea King I am led to believe? is not unbiased. So what’s the beef, pork, fowl or fish? I ask again.

As I said before it can all be done in a week…ooops! did I say that? It is already done…the CCCG has done it and all that requires now is copy and paste.

29. โ€˜aksingโ€™ … HA HA HA … Pretty cool fah a White chick … HA HA HA

30. @BAFBFP

Waiting for you to step up to this particular blog. Know you have a tale to tell. Here is the scenario: Minister Lashley is reading, what do you say to him.

31. Minister Lashley the polls suggest that you are on your last lap. No need to take any more overseas trips, no need to make anymore useless public appearances, just hold your own company and bow out unnoticed … That would be a fitting end.

32. Guh’dear I tekk ‘dat as an ‘accompliment’… BAFBFP.

Buh wait…David says you got tings, tales no less, t’ say an’ yu jess playin’ fussy? Doan keep we in a frazma do…gawblummah…cummah, man, tell we some’ing…

” As I was passing through Joe’s River
    My tender heart began to quiver
    So if you are a cheerful giver,
    Please give me something to warm my liver.”

33. Lawd you got there before me…BAFBFP…you said somet’ing…not very complimentary but hey! to each his own.

34. Ah Lie …?

35. @BAFBFP

Even if you regard the Minister and government to be lameduck if the plan is to run the CIB to parliament before it is parogue, you better speak up!

36. David

My goal is to be as independent as is legally possible of Cabinet/Senate decisions. I expect nothing this group nor the next. I will NOT be patronized by self serving Jack Asses. Bill or no bill, makes no difference to me… Sorry

37. @BAFBFP

Are you suggesting you live on an island?

38. The island is Barbados and yes it is possible. The secret to being independent is going straight to the source market, the mass consumers, either in Barbados or anywhere else in the world. In the old days it meant having to deal with the likes of Vic Fernandes who stood at the gate and charged a toll to get your message out. Now even Fernandes and crew can be by-passed, even the big guns like NBC and CBS can be by-passed as Obamma has shown. So yes the goal of independence is very do-able. Stay tuned …

39. @BAFBFP

Understand your point but what does it have to do with government building out a policy framework to facilitate the cultural and creative sectors? You well know the cultural industries is comprised of many parts.

40. Government building out a policy framework to facilitate the cultural and creative sector is about having an excuse to continue paying salaries to executives in the Ministry of Culture which has been shopping around for things to do ever since the creation of the National Cultural Foundation. It is about an excuse to pay for outside consultations (normally of a legal flavour) and an excuse to look pretty in front of the cameras. The players in the Cultural fraternity have already intimated that they are feeling left out. In short the bill has nothing to do with them or for that matter, me.

41. @BAFBFP

Trying to understand what is your position? What is the role you see for government to enable the environment for creatives? Surely you don’t believe that individuals brekkin for themselves is the answer.

42. Lawd have is mercy….how these birds like to fly over my house and put down droplets of stories pun’ my window…de name of de Bill gine change. Now I real serious bout this. ‘Cause dat bird done tell he doan lie. But these days you cyan’t truss too many peoples, hear? Okay so leh me see if I get dis’ straight…birdie eff you still up dere…leh me know if not, hear?

Now it appears that Ms Andrea King announced at a meeting at Haggatt Hall today (no I was not invited, like my name does get leff’ off of everah meeting where food and drink to behold…but I ent ascertain’ yet eff there was any… so doan take dat illiterally) …anyhow she ‘annongst’ today that the former Cultural Industries Bill gine now be named:

Cultural and Creative Industries & Development Bill (CCIDB I assume).

Okay now I know CCIDB soun’ like a mouthful but it not a bad idea after all, I gotta say dat. Dem add in Creative ’cause like dem tekk a likkle note from the CCCG’s first set o’ comments on de Bill and realize dat Cultural doan necessarily say it all.

Buh wuh tells me a lot is de nexx ting de birdie done tell muh…and dat is a precious piece of information…de bird tell muh dat Ms. King annongst too dat the CJ and she been working on dis’ Bill and hope to have it ready by the end of….now hear me well…DE END OF DIS’ CENTURY!!

No..no..no! Birdie, I know you lie! You mean de good lady meant at de end of the year? Right? No?…you real telling me dat she said clear as day “at the end of this century? Wuhlorse…wuh trouble is dis!!

Well I now have to say this…coming back to the Cultural Industries Bill or the new Cultural and Creative Industries & Development Bill – if I got intestinal cancer, ya tink ya can fix me with a new hairstyle? But…miracles do happen…this is after all God’s own country. Blessed and Spiritual no less.

43. @Rosemary

How was this meeting to which you refer convened?

44. I was not invited so I ent truly know but believe it was something to do with Mr. Andrew Senior and Entrepreneurship…I heard the meeting – more like a seminar with questions and answers – itself was excellent with Mr. Senior doing a wonderful job at everything to do with entrepreneurship…questions were asked about matters to do with that, and many got good answers etc. as I said I was not there but this is what indeed that bird jess fly by here and chirped…at the end of same said meeting, when Ms. King got up to thanks the world and his mother, that is when the above was suddenly announced, although the meeting had nothing to do with the Bill as such. How or why dat suddenly had to be announced in this forum is anyone’s guess. But it was.

45. Oh! sorry…yes…I was told it was convened by invitation only…there was even the list at the door…so if you wanted to hear about entrepreneurship perhaps you might have been turned away or some’ing. I ent know bo…these things does got confuffled.

46. Invitation by e-mail it appears…

47. Thanks Rosemary.

The follow up then is to ask who qualified to be invited to the forum this morning?

Was the media invited?

What is the goal of Minister Lashley here.

Who paid for the session and if taxpayers why the cloak and secrecy?

48. Everything right now seems to be a cloak of secrecy….
    Whatever….
    As long as the Bill (and I ent care what name it gine under) got some changes that will be good for ALL creatives on the island, so be it. Perhaps we need to ask the CJ… he been working hand in hand with Miss K.

49. HA HA Rosemary… A change of name should buy them even more time. The current price tag on that bill is just over 12 Million dollars.

The gorvernments role is … well, well … Tell me, what have they done for agriculture in thirty years … There are number of instances where Government needed software to be developed (created), the Productivity Council, the Vat Division and so on and they sought overseas talent. Every postage stamp ever designed in Barbados was done by overseas talent. The Flying fish sculpture at our new air port is as a result of overseas talent. The statue of Errol Barrow (free education and all) was done by overseas talent, but a government needed a lawyer to fill the post of CJ and they bent the rules to employ a Barbadian talent. Is this position panning out for you David …?

A lawyer wants a contract to teach prospective entrepreneurs about Intellectual Property she is cleared for $30,000.00 tax payers dols. An Economist wants to engage an audience with a frivolous lecture on Free Market Economy he collects $25,000 for 45 min effort. A creative wants to launch a project, or acquire materials etc and requires $10,000.00 and you are looking a five months before a decision is made by a committee that is chaired by a senior public servant or lawyer that requires a business plan and spend outlay before the clearance is given for a fraction of the amount. The Lawyer will generate no economic return on investment nor the economist but the designer of the project is expected to…. and so on.

What is Government’s role … hmmm… they should back to f#ck off …!

50. Lawd BAFBFP you coming real hard…glad I far away from you right now. Ha ha haaaaa…..Talk about a flying f*$%k!!!

Dis’ is sweet. And so very true. I know it well. Tell me some more…do. Make my day ’cause it been a little off so far. Make me laugh too. Try at least.