Submitted by Old Onion Bags
Is casino gambling coming?

The passing of  legislation this week to allow visiting cruise ships to gamble during the hours of 6 pm to 6 am, while docked in our port, is regressive. It may also be the first step in a chapter of our regret, should this also someday lead to casino gambling in hotels here. Here are some eye opening reasons to be considered from a regretful experience in the USA:

Why Legalizing Casinos is Not a Solution for Our State By Rep. Dan Bosley – (Edited)

No matter where you stand on the political spectrum, casinos are a bad idea. Bringing casinos to Massachusetts will hurt jobs, hurt families, and cause our taxes to rise without receiving better services in return. Specifically, some of the detrimental impacts of casino gambling include:

1. Change the Quality of Life in Our Communities Nearly all of the state’s 351 cities and towns will be within a short drive of a casino if the proposal passes. If you’re concerned about a casino coming to your community, then you should be concerned about a casino going to someone else’s. What does it say when the national leader of Listen to radio host Chris Lydon discuss casinos in Massachusetts. the casino industry lobby, Frank Fahrenkopf, said he’d oppose a casino where he lived? If he doesn’t want one in his region there’s no reason why we should. Check out Fahrenkopf’s statement against a casino coming to his home town.
  2. Dramatically Increase the Tax Burden on Non-Gamblers: “You Pay Even If You Don’t Play” Connecticut, New Jersey and Rhode Island all have casino gambling and all have higher taxes than Massachusetts. Under the ruse of property tax relief, Pennsylvania passed a bill to legalize slots two years ago and today their Governor is calling for a major increase in the sales tax rate. These states pay higher taxes in part because they need to make up for the unmet revenue needs that were promised by the casinos – every $1 in gambling taxes costs $3.4 Non-gamblers pay for the massive social costs like child neglect and bankruptcies that the casino gambling industry brings along with it. The industry certainly doesn’t pay the bill. The Governor’s revenue estimates (numbers provided by the casino industry ) also do not account for the reality that New Hampshire would put two casinos right on the state border if we legalize them here – Rockingham Park in Salem, NH (already owned by a casino developer) and Seabrook Dog Track on Rt. 95.6 Rhode Island would also expand its slot machine locations into full scale casinos in response to Massachusetts.
  3. Detract From Our State’s Economy Casinos don’t bring an economic multiplier effect to a region. Proponents say casinos are good economic development but The Boston Business Journal, one of the most pro-business newspapers in the state, strongly editorialized against bringing casinos to Massachusetts. A major reason was because casinos lower a region’s standard of living by attracting lots of low wage casino jobs and merely act as a jobs transfer and not a job creator.
  4. Push the State Well Beyond the Lottery Gambling Business A casino is uniquely different from a lottery because a casino gives free alcohol to gamblers to even further diminish the player’s odds, extends lines of credit to its patrons and allows gamblers to take cash advances from credit cards, all of which occurs 24 hours a day, seven days a week. Slot machines are really legalized fraud. For an examination of the slot machine scam.
  5. Turn One Out of Every Twenty People into a Gambling Addict, Hurting Our State’s Families Governor Patrick’s casino plan is not in line with a “Wish for your neighbor what you wish for yourself” philosophy. His casino proposal plainly admits that 1 out of every 20 people (5%) would become a problem gambler as a result of this initiative. That’s 250,000 people, not including the family members and friends of these addicts who will also experience the consequences. Anyone comforted by the idea that casino gambling is voluntary should spend a day with the casino staffs that target people based on how fast they play a slot machine and track prospects’ and players’ observed worth, define their predicted value, and systematically maximize individual “share of wallet” through targeted and customized promotional messages, limited-time cash offers, and carefully tracked time-to-response and spending analysis. Unfortunately, while problem gamblers are very lucrative for the industry, their addiction leads to child neglect, crime, distressed families, suicide and bankruptcy. And, it is the non-gamblers who are left paying the tab for these costs through higher taxes.

1. Rubes
    ….not much of a fall out that way eh rubes…..according the the intro and Rep. Sen. Bosley……I think a lot of people have gone too far off thread…the essay is more A FORE WARNING…with reasons to support..and GOOD ONES too ( self pat).. WHY WHY WHY we should not encourage gambling…..NOT that gambling is coming to Barbados.

2. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David | September 29, 2012 at 8:27 AM |

You are just splitting hairs on this matter, David.
    You know very well that both Jamaica and Trinidad are just using the CCJ to suit their own selfish agenda and have no intention or political will to join the CCJ as full members like Barbados and Guyana.
    If the Americans had demanded that they join some regional body to fight drugs or terrorism or to open their markets to unfair international (capitalist) trading arrangements you would see how quick they would join even if it means moving quick sharp to make the appropriate constitutional amendments and niceties.

Call a spade a spade! Just remember (you might be too young though) that “One from Ten Leaves Naught”. Don’t be surprised if both Jca and T&T have the own full final court of appeal when the Privy Council really kick them to the kerb as nuisances and pests to be terminated even after 50 yeas of Independence.

3. @Miller

Good, we are making progress and to use the pincer maneuver…lol, why did Arthur sell our soul to the CSME (and plans to continue) of which we are currently reaping the whirl wind from the hegemonists of the Caribbean?

4. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ rubes | September 29, 2012 at 8:57 AM |
    “you can gamble anywhere if you have a computer $50 and the internet”

Excellent point!
    This casino gambling in Barbados is just a hypocritical storm in a tea cup.
    Every major hotel in Bim should have the right to operate a gaming room including casino games like blackjack and poker.
    If they want to keep out the locals to save them from themselves insist that all gaming is done in foreign currency with credit cards as the medium for betting. We will then see who are the tax dodgers and hoarders of forex both local and in overseas bank accounts.

The main objectors to casino business will be the one–armed bandit licence holders like Toppin and the lotto franchisers. The same way that the local fast food people like Chefette and KFC would object to any new entrants to the NCD’s dispensing outlets.

5. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David | September 29, 2012 at 9:21 AM |

Roy C has a song with the tag line:
    “A man can’t make love to your woman unless she lets him”. No one forced Barbados to sell its assets either in the past or even now as is planned with the BWA, Air & Sea ports (either under this or the next administration whether D or B). The BNOC will not attract an overseas buyer even from T&T.

Bajans will continue to sell their assets and prostitute the national psyche for the sake of forex to maintain their conspicuous consumption. Even in the face of dwindling foreign income Bajans are still living high off the hog and beginning to behave like a paro by selling every thing to get a material “high”.

Arthur did not sell BL&P shares to Emera . If Bajans sell their assets to T&T at least they can keep noise and beg like the PHD with the milk fiasco. Can we do the same with Canada? What can we do to or tell Canadians who just removed the special privileges in the DTA? Impose visas on Canadian tourists? Nationalise the remaining offshore business and local banks?
    Or more practical, repatriate Sargeant, Hants and Co to be consultants and political advisors to the next DLP administration?(LOL!!)

6. @Miller

So we agree, six one half dozen the next.

7. @Miller

who sold the national bank shares and icb. Capitalism is capitalism regional or international

8. @Caswell
    If the passengers have activities on board, what incentive would they have to come ashore?
    On the contrary the majority of people who cruise take the opportunity to come ashore and see the country. Cruise ships book all kinds of tours but some people do their own thing, the entertainment and activities will still be available when they embark. If the departure time is extended it means that there will be more time on sure to do their own thing after the tours etc. are over.

9. Look Sarge
    You ain’t got a hotdog or nuttin so that you cud go and eat….. cause you sounding just like Kellman…….and doan ask me for none of my souse neither…LOL

10. ..shopping at nite nah

11. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ To The Point | September 29, 2012 at 10:07 AM |
    “who sold the national bank shares and icb. Capitalism is capitalism regional or international”

What’s your point? Why can’t you get the gist of my argument like David BU? If you are that sharp you should remember the amount of family silver the Erskine Sandiford administration sold just to keep the forex flowing to pacify Bajans to satisfy their materialistic appetite in the early 1990’s
    All subsequent administrations have done is to continue feeding the habit of conspicuous consumption instead of pride and industry.
    Just take a look at the stupid promises being made by this current administration to Bajans about ensuring that tertiary education at the university level will always be free. What utter rubbish!!
    The present government can’t even pay its current bills far less the arrears to UWI yet still making unrealistic stupid promises to the people and to that financial suck hole called Cave Hill.

Why continue to train a surplus of engineers, doctors, lawyers and accountants when there are no jobs for them? To do what; drive taxi and wait on tables or become croupiers?
    The country needs to take to take stock of itself and heed RPB’s very early advice during the said Sandiford administration era: “Separate our wants from our needs”.

12. Barbados’s tourism product is waning. Other destinations are cheaper; have beautiful beaches and attractions as well. Let the Casinos come and a few nude beaches too.

13. Interesting if you watch Arthur’s speech to the BCCI this week he seemed open to a businesscase being put for casino gambling.

14. I dont see Bajans going in the Port , getting on a Ship and playing games in casinos
    Why all the hoopla ??

15. Sgt. Peters | September 29, 2012 at 2:01 PM |
    I dont see Bajans going in the Port , getting on a Ship and playing games in casinos
    Why all the hoopla ??

Its crass political yardfowlism by onion and his stooges to knock a fabulous idea whose time has come. The only Bajans who can enter the port are Customs and Immigration. Judging by the many times they catch Customs people in drug dealing they may soon stop them too lol

16. my question is would it be mandatory for the visitors to be back on the ship at 6 pm or can they stay outside the port till lets say 10 pm if they desire??????????

17. anyone got a answer for me?

18. david answer please

19. oh hell can they stay out all night and re board the next morning at 5 am??????????????????????????????

20. kevin let the ,Italian,Russian,Chinese,Vietnam,Indian. mafia and gangs come and the rapes increase.
    sounds like a good idea. think the barbados police could handle the 50 cal ?
    and m16.huh kevin

21. @Harry

One would imagine the time the tourist return to ship would be Ship/Port policy.

22. so what is it?

23. Its elementary Harold, passengers must be on ship an hour and a half before it departs Bridgetown Port if the ship stays until 2am cruise passengers dont have to leave Rehab or St. Lawrence Gap even Oistins before midnight. It sounds like a real win win scenario which should increase cruise passenger spend on the island.

24. with out knowing the port policy of the time the cruse ship passenger has to check back on the ship this article should have never been written.
    as i submitted on 25 Sept when i heard of this.
    see my submission below

Harry callihan | September 26, 2012 at 11:54 AM |

This proposal to be put in font of Parliament for allowing the gambling and free drinks on the cruse ships while in barbados port.
    WILL have these and other effects on the island.
    1/Barbadians will find a way to get on board.[would depend who you know]
    2/the tourist will stay on the ship or may be just take a small tour and back to the ship for free drinks and gambling instead of shopping and contributing to our local economy.
    3/If these ships leave late at night there will be a huge difference in the darkness for drunken women to be raped and tourist to be robbed.in the darkness.
    4/drunk women will be taken places and gang raped or constituent sex if you will,
    and miss their boat, if they can still walk that is.
    Any of you educated politicians thought of this problem?????
    mark my words.Crime against tourist will increase in the night especially if they are blind drunk.
    just so i can come back and say i told you so.

add on/[for you youngsters that don’t have a fucking clue] the reason the ships have their passengers back before dark is because of murder ,rape and stealing from drunk tourist.
    you see where i going with this .?????
    then if this happens cruse ships will not stop here at all.
    barbados done……..period full stop.
    i hope the educated officials at the port realize this why we have to get the tourist back before dark.

i have some hells angle friends that would love some casino’s to rob.
    let me know OK kiddies.

25. you know what i don’t care i leaving this disgusting tiny island real soon.forever
    but i wish you the best.lol

26. Its elementary Harold, passengers must be on ship an hour and a half before it departs Bridgetown Port if the ship stays until 2am cruise passengers dont have to leave Rehab or St. Lawrence Gap even Oistins before midnight. It
    sounds like a real win win scenario which should increase cruise passenger spend on the island.
    you foolish man taximan
    murder ,rape,robbery,kidnapping, on the blind drunk tourist would be good for the island .brilliant.hey may be you could set up with some of your friends to do the raping and robbing.you know call ahead and set it up.nice

27. david why you moderating my truth?

28. “you know what i don’t care i leaving this disgusting tiny island real soon.forever
    but i wish you the best.lol”

Harry…..YOU planning to dead? Hurry up then! You large full of pus carbuncle!

29. Taximan (2:36)

You said that the only locals that can enter the port are immigration officers and customs officers. The same applies to the Airport but one senior public official, who was not traveling, entered the Airport and bought his duty free liquor and then get back in his MP car without being challenged. As practiced in Barbados, only local big-ups would be able to go on board ships to gamble.

30. @ Caswell
    Only a fool dares think otherwise……politician walks over all borders in the Caribbean…. where a PM is like a king.

31. Onions

I never said that the person was a politician. I said that he drives an MP car.

32. island girl go funk your stupid ass self ,drink some poison or something quick.sorry to burst your stupid hunkers little dreams.
    this for island girl ya sweet little nasty mouth waste of space..you ever live abroad?
    http://youtu.be/i_gQOfF0Ymo

33. According to the Cadres poll , there is a 6 % swing and if elections were called the BLP would win.

I dont need no poll to tell me that. I was saying the same thing eversince now. I believe that people are reading me on BU and copying ,

As I have said already .

The results of the next election for a government to run the affairs of Barbados are as follows:

BLP = 29 SEATS
    DLP = 0 SEAT
    INDEPENDENT = 1 seat

34. Is this bill tied in any way to ROYAL CARIBBEAN providing the financing for the new cruise ship port?

35. @ Justsayin

Only Royal Caribbean?

36. Sean Defreitas is on air singing the praises of the new legislation to gamble in port. Does he have an agenda?

37. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David | October 1, 2012 at 12:26 PM

Sean is being fair and fearless. He should even go far as to ask for the wider on-land application of the legislation. Let casino gambling take place from 6.00 pm to 6.00 am everyday of the week with restrictions to locals in so far that they must gamble in foreign money with overseas accounts and credit cards.
    BTW, do you know the latest with the Pierhead marina project?

38. @Miller

One of his best points so far is the need to involve all tourism stakeholders in the conversation. Kudos to Ellis and VoB.

Have not heard any info about the marina, will try to find out.

39. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David | October 1, 2012 at 1:41 PM |

Sean represents the kind of business person/ stakeholder that should be sitting on the BTA Board.
    Do you know if he is on it? Won’t be surprised if he is not since he is too bright honest and knowledgeable of the industry for politicians to have around them, especially arrogant know-it-alls like the current MoT.

BTW were we not promised a January2012 start to Phase 1 of the construction of the Pierhead marina? The present Minister of Finance mad this public pledge early last year. But we have grown accustomed to the lies from this source. Like the Barrack settlement, like the CLICO solution, like the UWI arrears, ad nauseam.

40. millertheanunnaki Avatar

It would most interesting to hear the views of Senators Rev. Crichlow and especially Rev. Durant (aka “David Thompson can’t die on my watch”) when the Casino Gambling Bill is discussed in the Senate .

We will see if there is any hypocritical hiatus between the Church and these DLP supporting men of the cloth sitting in a chamber of the devil.

41. @ Miller

…now you know the true meaning of “Mums the word”..LOL

42. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ old onion bags | October 2, 2012 at 2:14 PM |

We all know your position on the casino gambling and we respect you for that but isn’t this government a tad hypocritical when it can sanction casino gambling in the Port initially (with plans to extend it out across major hotels and other high-class spots) but still prohibits the use of marijuana in any form. Why unfair the small man in this way while allowing the class with money to engage in devil inspired boardroom games? There is absolutely no way that Barbados can attract future upscale development like Merricks, Four Seasons, or the one recently announced for the West Coast unless the developers are able to provide nighttime sport for their upper-class guests after a game of golf and there are no fine theatres or whorehouses to frequent.

Why not decriminalize the use of marijuana and allow the poor man to go to licensed joints like rum shops and have his smoke or drink of marijuana tea? The government can get some revenue from the licence fees. It already gets a cut of the trade by the taxes imposed on the importation of the paper to roll the herb like Bambi and Bamboo. Everybody knows that these papers are not imported or used to roll tobacco but used to make ‘spliffs’ or ‘joints’.

It would also encourage the growth of the marijuana plant locally thereby saving forex and reduce risking the lives of young men as they make dangerous journeys to fill a demand in Barbados.

What you say Onions. Or are you scared of the miller’s radicalism? BTW I don’t smoke (any more, ask Amused) LOL!!

43. @ Miller ( sorry for late reply)
    Man you too smart for me …so I pleading the 5th….LOL

But given the choice, I would prefer them to import some whiskey trees from #5 Lochside Kilmarnock Scotland…..the black ones preferably…..Onions too ole for dat Indian Hemp monkey shite…….might send me down too early.( I glad you stop too)….but if you could export carrots legally..I guess another green crop (if legalized)…is FOREX too..wha you say ?…and that not packed wid rocks ….lol