A national lottery is not a novel idea.

A member of parliament who always gives the appearance of taking his role seriously is Jeffrey Bostic the former Defence Force Colonel and representative for the City. During one of his interventions in the Estimates Debate 2014-15 he reflected on the need for Barbados leadership to be motivated by the protracted economic crisis  to think ‘outside the box’.

Those who listened to the Estimates Debate this week there was the feeling of same old same old. There was no feeling of anticipation in response to government programs to be rolled out. Many of the contributions reminded BU of what was observed on the campaign trail. It must be evident to the independents that bipartisanship in the House of Assembly at this time will always be elusive in our style of government.

The challenge for the government is one of spending wisely and finding creative ways to add new revenue streams. We can’t continue to maintain our conspicuous consumption lifestyle and stop finding ways to pay for it. It should have been obvious to the government after a couple years into the economic downturn that Barbados would have to take firm decisions to support our lifestyle. Austerity policies will always attract a hue and cry but it is a no-brainer to hurt a few to protect the many, it is one of  the laws of nature.

The recent Article IV IMF report mentions the government of the day asked to delay the process until after the last general election. In other words winning a general election was placed above national interest. Barbadians were also reminded by a former DLP strategist that the campaign thrust was to attack BLP personalities and not the economy. It is a sad commentary Barbadians who are reputed to have an enviable education system were swayed by a platform message which targeted personalities and not more substantive issues. No wonder we have sane individuals who prefer to be governed under a benevolent dictatorship.

What can government do to raise revenue without squeezing the good  guys some more? Although there has been no concerted effort by government to impose an aggressive sin tax strategy, there has been NO attempt to tap in on Barbadians love affair with gambling. Why has the government continue to give the private sector free rein to profit from gambling? The taxes gambling companies pay can never offset the ready market which exist in Barbados to guarantee profits.

During Minister David Estwick’s   contribution to the Estimates Debate he made the point that as a country we need to determine the level of support we want to give to healthcare, BU adds education and transport. He suggested a 1% levy on incomes. BU says NO, no more taxes. What we recommend instead is for the government to establish a NATIONAL LOTTERY and the monies raised be allocated to support free healthcare as a good start. If in the guava season our consumption habits drive the government and others to  profligate at the expense of a hard working  middleclass, let us make decisions which will redirect gambling revenue to the government treasury and not a few millionaires.

Like prostitution gambling will not go away. The time has come to marshal our resources to the benefit of the many – plundering the NIS Scheme is not the answer.

100 responses to “Time for a National Lottery”

1. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Baffy

The role of government “is to protect the rights of its citizens as well as their sovereignty from enemy aggression, poverty, hard economic times, injustice, etc.”

Government is to facilitate an effective public service, public health, safety via police, fire service etc.

It is not to be competitors against the citizens, nor should it seek to set up serfdoms and run businesses that oppose those being run by small businesses.

Imagine this BAFFY if say Fund Access or EGFL were truly entities with the interest of the people at heart and not the interests of the respective CEOs and their merry band of friends?

Do you feel that they would not be protecting “the vulnerable” if they were doing their jobs?

If these fellows were really doing their jobs (as their long winded mandates go to some length to state) do you believe that “we” would have to come here and post under nom de plumes for fear of retribution from these wolves who live off the “fat of the land” and get a pay check every 26th like my pension, while pretending to be so called “servants of the state”?

If they were really doing their jobs they would be so popular that people like you and me who commented on their ineffective operations would be ascribed the same madman status as the McHales of this island and run off this website.

The economic engine of Barbados after 20 odd years of puttering has died in the middle of Broad Street (aided and abetted by the current HoA incompetents), no pun intended by the Broad Street remark, in clear sight of all Bajans and what is required to jumpstart it is a lot more than a lottery.

I lived in a time of the old crankshaft with the piece of angled iron that you would insert through the front of the car and take great care in spinning, lest it break your wrist and/or shin bones when jump-starting the engine. For those of you who have no idea what i mean see http://thelibrary.org/lochist/periodicals/bittersweet/wi79c.htm

Our economic status is much like a stalled automatic car which CANNOT BE jump started with a crank but requires that the vehicle be in motion, which can only be achieved if (i) enough people are pushing it (the Bajans who work) (ii) it is being dragged along by another vehicle while in “drive” at about 15 – 20 mph BEFORE you turn on the ignition (likened to making investment into serious workable niche enterprises in various sectors of our economy).

2. Sorry for the error, posted without editing. Meant say: is there anything wrong with foreign own companies operating in Barbados?

3. @SITH

Agree in principle but the Barbados economy is currently driven by domestic activity and to boot government led; we don’t have a vibrant private sector. We have to transition and until we do so redirecting revenue from a few millionaires to the consolidated fund is good to stablize. By doing so at least government save on forex savings read management fees to foreign companies. The opportunity cost of earning forex otherwise must not be understated.

4. NAFTA: The North American Free Trade Agreement is a good example of the global income in motion.

Example: a car is shipped from Japan to Mexico 10% assembled. Mexico in term assembled 40% of the car and then shipped it to America where the final 50% is assembled.

5. Piece

I find it hard to believe that someone that claims to be as old as you is able to represent himself so clearly ….

6. Hants

” The lotteries should be government owned”

You’re talking about a government that can’t even pay its own bills. So how will it amassed the capital necessary the embark on such a venture? And what would be the moral outcry from the citizenry given the economic vicissitudes confronting the island today? I remembered when Foxwoods Resort and Casino, (the largest casino in the Northeast of United States) was being talk about, the state as well as private cicitizens threw their hands into the proposed ventured at the time. And today it is one of the most successful casino in the united States to date, providing the state with millions in revenue annually.

7. @ David,

Slightly off-message!

I fear for the plight of my Afro-Bajan brothers and sisters who reside in Bim. What is the point of Barbados Underground if it does not reach out to the uneducated, uninformed, and apathetic masses? Those who contribute to this site are learned in part, deep thinkers, and enjoy sparring on your site. Why reach out and target those groups who have already been converted.

Target those Afro-Bajan sheep that need to be awakened from their slumber. Go to print! An A4 size flyer would be a start. Target a group who could be persuaded to at least read and assimilate the information that may be fed to them. Work on tweaking your flyer so that it becomes relevant. Than grow your publication. Present an alternative politic to the established two political parties. Turn-up the political heat!

The “genocide” of the Afro-Bajan within Barbados will be complete by the end of this century where they will certainly become the economic, social and political lepers of the next century. Is there anybody out there?

8. Exclaimer………I agree 1000%, it would be a public service especially for those who are appearing more educated but attack because they simply do not know, lack of knowledge….AND it would be a public service to those who do not have the know all to assimilate the information….brilliant idea

9. Exclaimer

That is the exact point I’ve tried to convey here without much avail. How could you accused the Barbadian- electorate of being gullible, ignorant and ill – informed, when you were in a position to change the equation?

10. Exclaimer
    I told David several weeks ago that he should try to reach out to the younger Barbadians. You think he told my advice? Hell no!

11. @dompey,

How else can you explain the Barbadian electorate? They are no different to the illiterate voters in some developing countries who can only vote using their fingerprints. I’m hurting real bad! Look at what our ancestors had to endure over 400 years? If they had known that we would be in the position that we are in now, I believe that they would have all committed suicide. We as a people have let down our ancestors.

@ Well Well,
    I have already mentioned this to David but he does not see a future in the printed media industry. I believe that this route is the most direct form of communicating with the masses.

On a less serious note I’m going off to a bar to watch Madrid v Barcelona. Keep debating.

12. ” afro-bajan sheep…..assimilate the information that may be fed to them”…is that brainwashing?

13. @ Robert Ross,
    You’re playing Devil’s Advocate. I am sure you fully understand where I’m coming from.

14. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Exclaimer

While the ide has its merits tell me who will Bell the Cat?

A ream of paper costs $x, ink for the flier cost $y, distribution costs $z dollars

Then most importantly, which article is to be printed?

Or is this just a flier saying that BU exists?

Will there be a connection between the BU blogmaster David who has so successfully hiden himself for the public eye and the ever present Brown Shirts or rather blue shirts of the DLP, embodied by the Commissioner of Police, The DPP Leacock who jes waiting to lock he up for sedition and the Slit eyed Attorney General Adriel Brathwaite that cant wait to get the names of all of us pseudonym users who get up heah and cuss and blind them in verbal vitriol.

Exclaimer you are an inteligent man dont be led on by those who have not clearly thought out how easy it is to follow the paper trail to a website that has kept us hidden from these brass bowls for nuff years.

If David was not a seasoned warrior, all uh we heah would be up in glendairy tekking a good bulling from de Dead Bolt Specialist.

At my ole age, I still like to drink a little soup pun a Sunday and to watch de submissions by Sanka Price, the little pervert when i want to read the nation’s version of Hustler or de Nation Newspaper.

We safe heah in cyberspace, I got to ask Dompey whu he do to get he IP address change so dat IslandGirl un de rest uh we ent know who he is, but i ent too sure dat he may give me nuh advice

Dompey help out a fellow Bajan nuh? .

15. BAFFY…..err….err……err…….

As someone who is very old too and who has been known to express himself clearly……again…..

DYKAP’s?………

Beulah speckledface….aka Wotan the Jacob Ram

16. @Exclaimer

Thanks for tbe suggestion, please note BU blogs automatically update to other social media outlets like Facebook, Twitter, Linkedin etc. The different demographics therefore have the opportunity to cherrypick blogs of interest to them. Like Piece addressed BU is willing to collaborate with any of you who have the resources to distribute the BU message via the tradition channel.

17. Exclaimer

Yes, I think I do and yes in a way I am…..mind, I just wonder whether the sheep really want ‘our’ solicitude….any more than they want what we say are our ‘traditional’ values…..or, frankly, ‘our’ anything else. And, at the end of the day, who are we to give our ‘our’ anyway?

Now if you’d said…’let’s print broadsheets to promote Bajan poets’ I’d have been very excited and ‘Baffy’ might even have answered my question to him.

18. @ Robert Ross,
    I guess you are correct. What do think it will take to wake up the masses?
    Perhaps we should ban carnival! As I said the football is about to commence. Good night all

19. Exclaimer…..truth be said you really have got something better to do unlike me anyway. Enjoy.

PS on Crop Over…there should be at least three and one in Nelson Street for out-and-out nudists like H Austin.

20. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

BTW wunna would really be surprised the amount of the average bajan peeples dat does come heah and read.

Yesiree while dem does doan post heah causing people frighten, dat dem IP address gine get recorded like at de BLP site pun Roebuck street and dat dis gine lead Fumble and Ronald “de Chilren are is better educrated today dan dem is ever been” Jones, to dem houses late pun a night and brek some heads.

Plussing when you gets socratic entries written by de master of elocution like Anunnaki, Hants, BT, SITH, youself, Baffy, Ross, Sargeant, Island Girl, Well Well, and a mobaton uh uders dat de ole man cyan rightfully remember now, two hours before de nex insulin injection, posting deep thoughts it does mek a few uh dem wonder effing dem should put in dem 2 cents and den get baptise in fyah fuh writing pup and jobby.

Let me tell you sumting, all de politicians does cum heah to read whu pun BU and so much so dat dem got a fellow dat does blog about de bloggers heah, i cyan remember de name uh he site but i went dey a day and he does remark pun we remarks dennnnnn!!

Cyberspace echolalia, electronic echoes befitting of “do androids dream of electronic sheep?”

Yesiree we does come heah to write spontaneous BS like me and den dere is a nex category of well educated fellow dat does be absolutely brilliant and should be hired by the DLP and BLP cattle in the HoA to write them speeches.

As a matter of fact I gine bet you dat dis coming week a few uh dem fellows gine espouse some uh we ideas like if it is dem own, mark my words!!

21. @David

you and the Blog do a hell of a fine job.

22. A certain future coalitional government of Barbados and of which the PDC shall be part will help create a post-PUBLIC Debt society for Barbados.

23. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ David [BU]

I endorse Sith’s sentiment.

You have kept true to the “wrong that needs resistance” in the face of all the unmentionable odds

To you a toast to a true Bajan who loves this country Barbados

24. Thanks for the feedback, as you know you are never able to please everybody but we are satisfied a few goals we set back in 2007 have been achieved.

25. ‘Why would government need to forgive $20M Turf Club debt when a sport lottery exists?”
    Criticism of the debt forgiveness would have touched a raw nerve in some perhaps because wealthy individuals of mostly Caucasian mix are associated with the operations of the Turf club but the forgiveness was in my view much ado about nothing because like so many other debts on our books too numerous to mention the debt would always be doubtful for collection and should long have been written off to give the books of account a more accurate and realistic picture of Government Finances.

26. The more relevant concern is why would the deep pockets who wine and dine all and sundry in their boxes not feel compelled to come up with a plan to liquidate the debt of their making.

27. Piece

Oh lordie! Wulloss! Its nuff booty kissing finger licking good stuff. Unu betta dunt fall fuh im swet talk.

28. For Afra Raymond fans:

JCC President Afra Raymond is on TV6 ‘Morning Edition’ tomorrow, Monday 24th March 2014, at 6.15am with Fazeer Mohammed to discuss the Beetham Water Recycling Project

http://www.tv6tnt.com/watch-live

29. Isn’t there a long established casino in the Sandy Lane area, with a rotating floor , which baulks entry of snooping officials, if they do dare to seek entry , as the door lines up with a blank wall,while the casino is in operation?

30. Piece……..i gotta admit you got a point about Adriel, DPPand all the others who would like to keep the sheeple as sheeple….lol

31. Time for what lottery ! barbdos have plenty. Time for the tax cheats to pay their fair share.These pipe dreams always attract those most vulnerable but does nothing to address the theft from tax cheats who walks around scotch free and unaccountable.

32. Here is a link which shows how a national lottery can be used to help people:

http://thepmcf.ca/Pages/Lotteries/FactSheet.aspx

33. Read about the Florida Lottery:

http://www.flalottery.com/openGovernment.do

See what they do with the money:

Lottery Operations and Education
    What does the Florida Lottery do with the money from ticket sales?
    Proceeds from every dollar spent on Florida Lottery tickets help provide educational funding for Florida’s school children. Whether it’s Bright Futures scholarships, better books, technology for schools, or bonds for school construction, the proceeds from Florida Lottery ticket sales are transferred to the Educational Enhancement Trust Fund (EETF) and appropriated by the Florida Legislature.

We recognize that the Lottery has an important obligation to keep players informed about contributions to the state’s public education system. To this end, we openly produce and publicize reports and information each year to highlight our transfers to the Educational Enhancement Trust Fund (EETF), our operations and financial position. Located on our website, the Florida Lottery’s most recent Annual Report is currently available under the ABOUT US tab in the REPORTS section, as well as additional detailed information located under the EDUCATION tab. The information contained in these tabs includes transfer amounts to the EETF, county-by-county break downs of Lottery funds and where they are going, in addition to a variety of other financial and operational details.
    http://www.flalottery.com/faq.do

34. @David March 23, 2014 at 8:37 AM @Dompey “One more and your are out”

Thanks David.

And while you are at it please ban Dompey from using the following words:
    deliberation
    discourse
    voluminous
    verbiage
    superfluous
    pedontic
    oratorical
    perspicuity
    colossal

35. David I haven’t read what everybody else has written,

But lotteries are just another way of dragging money out of poor people’s pockets and putting that money into the pockets of rich people and the government.

I say no to a national lottery.

I say no to all lotteries.

I say no because rich people already have enough money. They DO NOT DESERVE deserve any more.

I say no because the government already collects enough taxes (and wastes our tax money too) the Barbados government does NOT DESERVE any more of poor Barbadian’s money.

Tell both the proposer of this foolish, greedy thought, the government, and those rich people who want to feast on poor (and barely middling class people) people that I say

BE OFF.

We know what you are up to. We know that you are just out to rob us.

36. Dear David:

Please ban Dompey from using the word:

cacophony

37. Dompey says….

We shall overcome.

38. Piece

Yes, we understand the role of government in the lives of its citizenry today. But my question to you is this: why was government instituted in first place? Because if you think about it fundamentally, role of government is not a state of being but a process of growth. The role of government continues to evolve as the citizenry demands more rights from the government. A little over three years agree woman, children and those without property enjoyed limited rights under the system of democracy, women couldn’t vote because Aristotle under his concept of Democracy deemed them unfitted for the vote; he also felt that the property class should exclusively be given the right to vote etc. Some years in the back 1980’s, I visited the reference section of library in down town Barbados. And to my horror I discovered by researching the vote process in Barbados, that many years ago the black majority in Barbados hadn’t any voting privileges because one had to be a property owner in those days to exercised the vote and only the white minority did at the time.

39. The role of government in the lives of the citizenry continues to evolve, as the citizenry demands more rights and privileges from government. And a definition of rights on paper doesn’t necessarily transfers those rights in the empirical sense. Because true democracy can only be realized when there is an equal distribution of laws, conditions and opportunities available to every citizen. And we know this to be true on paper but not in reality. The rights and privileges that Piece points to above are enjoyed by a limited numbers of people in our democracy today. And this is especially true in places like North America, Europe and certain parts of the Caribbean, where women, children and the downtrodden masses are treated as second class citizens.

40. A national Lotteryalso help those who gamble in Barbados who are poor to contribute to their upkeep and still win

41. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Dompey

you said and i quote ” I visited the reference section of library in down town Barbados. And to my horror I discovered by researching the vote process in Barbados, that many years ago the black majority in Barbados hadn’t any voting privileges ……”

I think you need to research the Jim Crow laws of the vaunted USofA and there you will see enshrined in this shining example of a system of governance that one proposes that Barbados aspire to how the right to vote was denied both males and females, not so long ago in the 20th century.

Once you have established how the paladin of all things great and sterling in governance operated and operates maybe then this can provide an azimuth for these submissions

42. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

In an earlier submission i spent some time on suggesting how, instead of a lottery which i feel that this and the other lethargic government will make sure and tief from and badly apply it proceeds, we as a country need to work on “Ideas Lotteries” to jumpstart our economy.

Behold

http://youthandeldersja.wordpress.com/2014/03/22/cuba-may-have-found-cure-for-cancer/

This is what the face of innovation needs to be for our cuntry instead of the same old same “o” that is being regurgitated by our inept politicians, the visionless Permanent Secretaries who tread carefully to ensure their gratuity when they reach retirement, aided and abetted by the parasites, and intellectually bereft CEOs like Timothy Simmonds at EGFL and the other dimwits across the micro-enterprise development spectrum

This is what i believe that we should be producing through the active interventions at our National Council for Science and Technology and our University of the West Indies as an output of our “research” that our vaunted professors are up there posturing every year.

Waste foops, men and women befitting of the sin of Onan, he who went into his brother’s widow as was the established custom of the time, and, in his effort to preserve his birthright, spilled his seed on the ground rather than impregnate his sister in law and preserve that bloodline.

43. Why has our vaunted educational system not pushed out more innovative solutions at the national level PODRYR?

44. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ David [BU]

Balls.

The gene of “dare to be different” is something that our educational system, our socialization, our church, our community has systematically killed every step along the way.

We are dutifully trained, across all the stratas of our society, like Pavlov’s dog NOT TO BUCK the establishment.

The “He who dares wins” motto of the SAS is not something that is encouraged in our society

In fact what is more avidly pursued is the policy of “who de hell he tink he/she is” wid dem highfaluting ideas?

“I gine show he/she who is de boss”

And then the emasculation and eradication of those who think out of the box is covertly and overtly practiced, until like the Bald Eagle, innovation becomes hunted to extinction

What is now the norm is the very practice, across our 11×16 island, to kill innovation and those who are “creative” find that to advertise that creativity and ability makes them a target by others less inclined or “differently talented” some even downright cretins, as a nationally sanctioned team of killers hunt them down and destroy them.

THis is how serious it has become

45. Piece…………many of us have been saying that for years, creative individuals in Barbados are an endangered species just because from the top to the bottom of the society would much prefer things remain as they are and take great offense if anything different is introduced. Case in point, the young man who used to be on BU regarding his many inventions and governments collusion in destroying this young man.

46. Employees be warned, you are not exempt from going to prison because you were a job that the boss told you to do….lol

47. Oh dear, I see Bjorn Bjerkhamn is now a Central Bank Board Director.

48. Oh shite!!! indeed