Submitted by Denise Small
Hamilton Lashley, MP

In January 2012 my son organized a cricket team to participate in the Pine’s local cricket competition ‘Bring Six and Come’, organized by Hamilton Lashley and associates, a competition which I gather is held yearly. The prize money advertised via a flyer was 1st place $3000, 2nd place $2000, 3rd place $1000 and 4th place $400 and each team had to pay $150 to enter the competition.

My son’s team Central, a group of young men between the ages of sixteen and eighteen who used they allowance to enter the competition and what was not covered I paid. These young men played their hearts out and they also helped to prepare the wicket, arriving on time and staying to whenever the competition that day was finished on almost three consecutive weekends.

These young men [team] placed 3rd in the competition and were looking forward to the $1000 prize money on offer.  I was happy to hear what these young man wanted to do with the money, one wanted to buy new cricket gloves, another, things for school and another to give to a player’s mother who bought food and fed them throughout the days at the grounds as no food was provided by the organizers. On the night of the presentation Central Cricket team were informed by one of the organizer/player of the winning team that they [team] would receive a trophy but not the prize money as the ‘rules had been changed during the competition’. No team was ever informed of this rule change EVER, no explanation was given as to why the monies would not be paid.

I have contacted Mr. Lashley and through verbal and written acknowledgement [see attached copies of which start from the 27th February 2012 and the last sent on the 17th August 2012] he had agreed to pay the boy the prize money, the last contact was through the Nation Publishing 12th July 2012 a story written by Randy Bennett, where Mr. Lashley agreed to pay half in July and the remainder in August, to date these young men have received NO MONEY.  The boys fully understand that the pavilion burnt down but in their words what has that got to do with the competition held in January and the prize money?

I am rather disappointed and disheartened to hear the comments of these young men over the past few months especially as another Bring Six and Come competition was advertised with a 1st place prize money of $9000 with participating overseas team willing to play.  They have lost trust in locally organized competitions and have made it clear they will no longer participate in any as they are ‘thieves out there preying on the young.’  The boys believe that this is happening to them because they are youngsters who cannot do anything about the situation

I am at a loss as to where to turn, so by letting other cricketers out there know that by taking part in these locally organized competitions the prize money is NOT guaranteed.  If possible and you are underage ask an adult to represent you, don’t fall prey like Central Cricketers did.

1. We have asked Santia Bradshaw or Patrick Tannis via Facebook to step up. Let us see who will seize the opportunity.

2. My Ole Headmaster did always tell me..”Never mek a dollar bill mek ya a ass..”

3. Are you saying that Hammie La is a fraud ???

JUST ASKING

4. the prize money can be collected tomorrow…call me at 253 7777

5. @Patrick Tannis – Glad to see that someone stepped up. People don’t realise how these things when badly done can really hurt the feelings of the ones that it was supposed to help.

6. “Stepped up” applies only if Mr. Tannis was not involved in the tournament from the outset.

7. @enuff

Tannis has a chance here to ‘step up’ and bail Lashley out. What is Lashley doing anyway? He claims to be a social practitioner and here it is he has creates a situation which smashes the expectations of a group of young people.

Tannis stepping up is used in a party context and it will reflect positively on him if he retrieves the situation.

8. Lashley is still required to clear the air ….as well as Patrick Tannis now….by association. Though the good benefactor, he is now implicated beyond recall….Lashley have you ever heard of damage to one’s legacy? Man if that were I after spending 40 yrs in politics..think I would allow a lil 5 and 10 item to cause this irreparable damage…this and the ackee tree gine stick like GAMARBIT…. I could just see it NOW ..Mr. Ackee Tree or Mr. CHEEP CHEEP ( bird call)….ouch Mr. Lashley….Hill talk ta ya man…he dipping….all this for $8,000..wanna mekkin sport…

9. Where the lame stream media failed ( I’m looking at you Nation) the blogs prevailed and someone stepped up. Don’t underestimate the power of the blogs.

10. @Denise

After you have made contact with Mr. Tannis please apprise the BU family.

11. Pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar
    Pieceuhderockyeahright

@ Denise Small

Welcome to the Club.

I was laughing the other day when I saw the Hon. Mr ** picture emblazoned all over the paper for all those years of service.

If you we’re to know the number of creditors who can’t find. …… even though the address of de parliament building ain’t change you would be amazed by the trail of unpaid bills that follow that man.

Chalk it up to experience and while the young men have noble aspirations tell them that politriickians are never to be trusted

Fortunately the fellows doan have to deal wid he no more fuh dem “x” but they have to be wary of the other power hungry candidate that he is endorsing now that his seat is vacant.

If anyone wants to confirm his practices call de *** place wid the tent rentals and see if he Evan pay dem for the chairs and tables he rented for that open gala.

Until a few of them politicians get to spend some time up in Dodds this sort of faeces going continue getting perpetuate pun de small man. Not a cent wunna getting dis is the true calibre of the man, 20 years of ripping off people while dress up in a Nehru suit

12. Pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar
    Pieceuhderockyeahright

@ Patrick tannis

I hope you got deep pockets causing I gine advise de resta de creditors to call you fuh you to sort dem out…”restore that which Hami hath destroyed” I wish you luck. LOL

13. This is the wrong approach to a genuine problem of need. Mr Lashley has been taken off the hook and the decent thing for Mr Tannis to do is to give Mr Lashley the money for the whole competition if their is a shortfall. This forward piece of generosity smacks of some political posturing and I am sure the Mr Tannis woiuld not want this to appear- so but it does. I am not sure the right thing was correctly. But Thanks anyway Mr Tannis Think on these things

14. @ Blackette
    When Lashley was Min.of Social Transformation was not the salary round $15,000 p.m. also?……don’t mek me laugh…this is a bad joke right? Pinch me..

15. Give Mr. Tannis a chance to right the situation for godsakes. We do not know how he plans to do it but he has promised it will be done. The priority here is to satisfy the expectation of the young men not over analyse and do nothing. Lashley is on his way out.

16. I contacted Mr. Tannis today (26th September) and in his words ‘a cheque was prepared for me since last week but he had no means of contacting me’ go figure…..Mr. Lashley and his secretary have letters, Mr. Lashley has called me previously. I am to collect the cheque from Mr. Tannis’ secretary tomorrow, so will let you all know that outcome. Thank you BU it has taken 8 months to get this far.

17. @ Old Onion Bags ….The hymn says” All things bright and beautiful
    All creatures,great and small
    All things wise and wonderful
    The lord God made them all.
    With emphasis on the word wise,I beg of you to answer me this.Who de hell mek you?

18. @ Old Onion Bags… in your last blog you pasted a gem by sparrow.That same year kitch had one you would love at this time.It was called Not A Damn Seat For Dem. Go look for it.Thats how much HH loves you.Well not you…..just ya comedy.

19. Is the money going to be paid out of constituency funds?

20. Constituency council funds, I mean!

21. @ Hamilton Hill
    More appropriately, the question is how many more people Lashley owes?…….LOL…whalossss

22. @ Apollo

“Is the money going to be paid out of constituency council funds?”

A very interesting question. I may be the only one, but I have a fundamental problem with Mr. Tannis being the Chairman of the St. Michael South East constituency council and vying to be the DLP’s representative for that constituency in the next general elections. This only serves to prove the point that, from the outset, there were political implications in the formation of these councils. We were given the impression the councils would cater to the constituents, free of political bias.

However, when chairman Tannis could expressed his interest in contesting the seat, it gives one the impression that he may have used the council to compliment and further advance his chances to being elected, either through the disbursement and allocation of council funds or the distribution of largess.

I had the same concerns when Col. Jeffrey Bostic was appointed chairman of the beautification of the environs of Kensington Oval before the ICC Cricket World Cup. Many persons, including Patrick Todd, expressed concern that placing Bostic in such a position would have enhanced his chances to winning the City seat. One may opine that in Bostic’s case the funds were significantly higher, but in reality the situations are very much similar. Unethical.

And politicians talk about transparency….time for change, yes, the more things change the more they remain the same.

23. @ HH
    It was called Not A Damn Seat For Dem. Go look for it.Thats how much HH loves you.Well not you…..just ya comedy.
    Man Hill what you saying …you dun win DEM ?

24. @ Onions….. No Sir.I just want what is best for Barbados.Thats why I don’t want Owen.

25. Hammie La was always a fraud and will always be a fraud. A man hat can;t be trusted. Wasn’t Patrick Tannis part of the organizing committee? Is he only stepping forward now to pay the money of out constituency council money only because he trying to replace the snake Hammie La as the candidate in the next general election?

26. What is the real purpose of constituency councils? What is their mandate? Who determines how the monies are spent?

I seem to remember that when the thug in chief also know as the Minister of Finance who was the then minister of constituency councils said that the councils were like a bridge between government departments to assist the populace to get things done, to cut the government bureaucracy.

We certainly were not told that constituency councils were to pick up the slack for dishonest MPs, to pay funeral expences or to fund wuk ups in St Andrew or to give schools monies to buy school items (I would have no problem if the monies were to repair a toilet or window).

OMG!

27. Thank you BU from the Central Cricketers, today they finally received they $1000 prize money and are trilled. Could not have done it without your help.

28. All’s well that ends well.

Denise, did you ask Mr Tannis if this money came out of his pocket, or out of the DLP George Street account or out of taxpayers money that is constituency council monies?

29. @Denise

You are welcome. Kudos to you for being an advocate for what is right. Many can learn from you.

@Prodigal Son

The fact Denise had to pick up the check from Tannis’ secretary says it all. Can’t a case be made for the CC to intervene here?

30. @ Prodigal Son… Minister Sinckler will win his seat very easily,so you should focus your attention elsewhere.

31. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Hamilton hill | September 27, 2012 at 5:58 PM |
    “Minister Sinckler will win his seat very easily, so you should focus your attention elsewhere.”

That is one constituency where money really talks and bullshitters walk.
    Dope is the modern hard currency in the ghetto.
    And sinckliar has protection to offer. Legal representation from Pope Gregory would not cut it.

So, HH, who will be the next leader of the Opposition? David the gunslinger or Chris the intellectual wisp?

32. How much further down hill is Barbados going? OMG, Steve Blackett is acting as Minister of Foreign Affairs. I really dont know what else to expect from this DLP!

33. Prodigal Son….. the money came out of the constituency council 🙁 but to be honest I don’t care so long as those six young men got what they played for. I spoke to Mr. Tannis on the phone, it was his Secretary that gave me the cheque.

34. Denise,
    I can only say I am happy for the young men too.

But this still stinks, this is not what we were told that constituency council money was for in 2008 by this mottley crowd. Hammie La has been doing foolishness in SMSE for years which brings the ackee tree and paying arrears for Pine folks to the fore.

Would would have authorised Mr Tannis to pay away taxpayers monies just so??? Is this the way CCC operates?

onions and miller, no wonder CCC is always saying that he dont want Owen Arthur to get back his hands on the Treasury! Now we know what they have been up to!

35. Would would have authorised Mr Tannis to pay away taxpayers monies just so??? Is this the way CCC operates? ………………

Sorry, this should have read…..Who would have authorised…………………..

36. Who could ever forget – The Israel Lovell Foundation van (paid for by taxpayers money as part of the proceeds to help Trevor Prescod, the then BLP candidate ) driving up and down Barbados on election day carrying Prescod supporters to the polls and to the post election rally at Roebuck street in 2003.
    The Arthur terms were replete with examples of abuse of taxpayers money for political patronage. A leopard will not change his spots at this point in his political career.
    i REPEAT – Arthur is part of the problem and not the solution. Keep Owen Arthur and his ego out of Bay Street.

37. Yet another letter making the rounds:

http://bajan.files.wordpress.com/2012/09/lowe-letter.jpg

It will be interesting to read the weekend cadres poll to see how the wind is blowing in this constituency.

All have to agree this is a poor letter sent by an MP to a constituent.

38. No wonder the politicians don’t want Integrity Legislation enacted.

39. @ !

You conveniently forgot the $2M given to Pinelands Creative Workshop, the wastage of which was mainly responsible for hammie Lah losing his pick as Minister of Social Transformation. You also forgot to tell us about the infelicities uncovered at Urban under this same man.
    You are always saying that the BLP are crooks, how do you rate Hammie when he was a B, especially in light of the infelicities uncovered by the special audit into the Urban Development Commission when he was the minister, and the $11,000 ackee tree?

40. @Miller…You are so true in the fact that money has always spoken in that constituency.My pick rests with Min.C.Perhaps I feel this way because I really like him and Irene Sandiford-Garner.I believe those two really have something to contribute to this country.