Edmund Hinkson, BLP St. James North Candidate

It is now over five years that the Owen Arthur Administration signed the United Nations Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities which came into force on 3rd May, 2008. This DLP Government in the meanwhile has apparently made no attempt to bring to Parliament Legislation which will ratify this Convention.

Indeed, the members of the disabled community and those of us who believe in their cause have had, over the last five months, to go to the extreme of signing a petition to the Prime Minister and his Government, urging them to pass the Convention into law.

The Government’s enactment of Disabilities Legislation will lead to persons with disabilities gaining more favourable educational and training opportunities than is now the case. It will lead to a large number of the estimated over five per cent of our population who are differently-abled having a greater chance to realize their full potential and to contribute to national development, as is the right of any citizen of Barbados. Furthermore, Legislation providing for affirmative action programmes beneficial to them will act as a catalyst in facilitating their employment, self-employment and otherwise, in areas of work for which they qualify and are capable of performing. Such law should also outlaw all forms of discrimination at the workplace on the basis of disability.

The DLP cannot by any measure validly claim to be putting people first and to be building a society and not only an economy when it has continuously ignored the grave predicament in which the vast majority of persons with disabilities in Barbados and their caregivers find themselves in.

The recent Country Assessment of Living Conditions report indicates that a substantial percentage of persons with disabilities comprise the 19.8 per cent of people in our Country who are presently living in poverty. The sum total of this Government’s attempt to better the position of the differently-abled in its present term of office has been to raise the disabilities pension by a mere $2.00 every two weeks two years ago.

Meanwhile, the Public has not heard a word from the Minister of Social Care, Steve Blackett, or any other Government official as to when this Government intends to bring Disabilities Legislation to the House. This position is all the more appalling in light of the statement by Chris Sinckler, at the time the responsible Minister, on 18th January, 2009 that “we are just short of bringing this Bill to Parliament”. This promise surely cannot be one of the plethora of promises to which Mr. Blackett referred when he commented last month that the Government should have come clean with Barbadians a long time ago on the issue of its unfulfilled promises.

Attorney-at-Law Edmund Hinkson, BLP St. James North Candidate, is a member of the Association for the Blind and Deaf and of the Council for the Disabled

1. How could they implement such legislation given the global economic crisis? lol

2. One cannot blame the global environment. It would be interesting to hear what has blocked this piece of legislation.

Perhaps more so knowing that we have a disabled leader in the Senate.

Are we back to smoke and mirror politics?

3. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

BU is becoming more and more infested with BLP jokers.

4. who de hell gonna back a piece of poor rakey legislation with no bone or teeth just because the BLP hurriedly like in everything else throw a little uh this and a little of dat and when it all put together doesn’t add up to a hill of beans EXHIBIT A “the economy”

5. The Disabled is a marginalised group and if Hinkson is prepared to champion their cause we say all the power to him. In fact we need our MPs to come to the public with causes they are prepared to defend.

Richard Sealy is acting PM.

6. I hope the person that voted positively on my previous post noted the sarcasm.

Can’t you read? The writer is asking your party the DLP, as the government, to have the legislation drafted and enacted.

7. While a worthwhile topic, title is moot, election is over, just as the US elections.

Ask PM Mottley to put this on the front burner.

8. What a joke. Look at Speightstown library. It is upstairs. Two flights. Yes, there is a “disabled” lift from the ground floor but it has NEVER worked since the library first opened. So that means anyone who is elderly, infirm, with a wheelchair, or disabled, can’t get upstairs. Great, let’s exclude such people from using the library because they can’t make it up the stairs. There are ramps leading up to the Post Office building, so you can get to the downstairs door of the library, there is the for the disabled lift in front of you but it doesn’t work. It’s a disgrace. How defeated would a disabled person feel?!!
    Somebody got the planning permission to put the library upstairs on the condition it had access for disabled people and probably got overseas funding for that so the ramps were put in, the lift installed but hello! Lift has never been operable since its inception. I suggest that people who can’t get around easily are probably more likely than most to need to use a library and the other facilities like internet access. This thing is just so Third World, it beggars belief. Shameless.

9. Isn’t there a government unit that caters to the elderly and the disabled which requires traversing a flight of stairs as well?

10. Legislation is nice. But passing legislation won’t fix the lift at Speightstown. Surely there is a government department which fix lifts in other buildings. Make them fix the lift in the Speightstown library.

I can’t believe that a lift would be out of order for over 10 years and we would wring our hands and say we don’t know how to fix it.

Fixing a lift is not rocket science,

Fixing a lift doesn’t require legislation.

Fixing a lift should not take 10 years.

11. Fixing a lift has NOTHING to do with partisan politics.

Where is the Director of the National Library Service in all this?

Where are the government’s elevator technicians?

Lost legislators don’t know how to fix lifts. Most legislators are not particularly useful for anything, and certainly most of them can’t even fix the simplest thing at their own homes.

This is not a problem for which legislators can effect a solution.

Since most of them are damn useless people with 2 left hands.

12. Most NOT lost.

13. @simple

Is it not amazing you would grab at the trivial and miss the bigger point why it is necessary to cater to the needs of the Disabled within a legislative framework and by extension ratify the UN Convention? Guess this group ‘aint’ nobody??

14. NO Hope under the DLP
    DLP cant cope
    In the 1991-94 period, the DLP took Barbados to the brink and Owen ARTHUR and the BLP rescued my country. I never thought that the DLP would have gain political office under 30 years.
    In 2008, the people un-advisely changed the Government. There was no smoking gun, no damning reasons to change a Government. If you want to know why a Government should be changed, you only need to look at this DLP Government and the one in 1994.
    The present DLP Government is the worst ever. Freundel Stuart does not inspire confidence. Chris SinckLIAR also know as Chris StinkLIAR has disgraced himself with the strategy of the BIG lie made famous by his former leader. His pronouncement about the 10,000 jobs to be lost is really really really the pits and will hang around his neck like a concrete slab around his neck in the atlantic ocean. I have lost total respect for him.
    All in all , the DLP is not good for Barbados at this time and the electorate should vote them out. Therefore the results, as I see them, is as follows.
    In the election to elect a Government to run Barbados for firstly the next five years and then beyond, the results are
    BLP = 29 SEATS
    DLP = 0 SEATS
    INDEPENDENT = 1 SEAT.

Freundel Stuart wants to spend Xmas as Prime Minister so do not expect elections before Xmas.
    Wunnah think Freundel aint going to milk every last drop out of the Prime Ministership ???

JUST ASKING

15. millertheanunnaki Avatar

Barbados is always one of the first countries overly eager to sign up to these international conventions geared to protect the rights of vulnerable individuals and other minority groups and the physical environment.
    But do we really follow through with the relevant local legislative framework and follow through to ensure the provision of facilities to enforce the requirements of the laws?

Not only are disabled residents woefully shortchanged in this regard but the few disabled visitors find Barbados to be a most unfriendly place as far as the pavements and facilities go. Just look at the way we disregard parking bays assigned to the disabled and the lack of disabled seating in public transport vehicles. As a so called (let’s fool ourselves here once more) top notch tourist destination Barbados is missing out on a real rich niche market here especially in the cruise line sector where there is much attractive added value in the provision of special local services on the ground.

The country is also missing out in a big way by marginalizing the differently able in the workplace and involvement in wider economic activities. These people make excellent, dedicated and very productive employees who show their worth and justify the investment in additional and slightly reconfigured facilities to accommodate their special work requirements because of their disabilities e.g. ramps, toilet facilities.
    Disabled workers are now more empowered than ever because of modern ICT and have taken like ducks to water to this liberating technology. No longer do they have to depend so much on the so-called normal people in performing many tasks both personal and domestic and in the work and wider environment.
    Barbadians need to get into the 21st Century in their attitudes and treatment of the disabled and other minority groups if this country is live up to the many conventions it has signed onto and to show that education is not only about reading books and getting a toilet roll length of paper qualifications behind their adopted Celtic and English names. A visit to the mother country would be an eye opener and most informative experience to not only see how the disabled are valued but a lesson to learn and copy in erstwhile Little England.

16. @miller

Just look at the way we disregard parking bays assigned to the disabled and the lack of disabled seating in public transport vehicles. As a so called (let’s fool ourselves here once more) top notch tourist destination Barbados is missing out on a real rich niche market here especially in the cruise line sector where there is much attractive added value in the provision of special local services on the ground.

Perhaps the answer can be found in the answer to this question:

When that same Barbadian who parks in a carkpark reserved for a disabled person travels to the USA or UK what happens?

17. @miller

here is another:

Have you ever travelled to the US, UK, France and wider Europe and observe the speed which those sitting rise to give their seats to the elderly and the disabled?

The need to enforce the law of seating on public vehicles is always never considered.

It is a culture which we have to develop through education and enforcement.

There was a time when we could rely on home training.

18. Think on these things Avatar
    Think on these things

BU David where is your blog on the rating agencies threat to downgrade the USA economy a second time. Unsure if the second downgrade took place. We know if Owen the investor in Nigerian products, and Clyde Mascott were Obama and Bernake no way the Federal Reserve would be embarassed as is happening. Barbadians are once again warned on the cause and effect of the present Barbados crisis the cause was Owen’s policies for 14 years, we are living the effect in 2012

19. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David | September 15, 2012 at 9:55 AM |

More than just ‘travelled’, mate!

In a very small and personal country like Barbados- always pretending to be religiously blessed with Christian principles- basic decency and commonsense would dictate that these courtesies be extended as part of day to-day living.
    But one can conclude that the billions invested in education was not geared towards human development and opportunities for self-actualization but merely as investment in factories and plant to produce mass paper qualifications for a misguided citizenry which view materialism as a god to which all ‘humane’ qualities must be sacrificed.

20. Discrimination to the disable has its genesis in the slavery experience of discrimination ,categorization and class distinction,
    There was a time in Barbados when the disabled were hidden away and not valued just like Black people , women and others were

21. @Think on these things

We have several political blogs to discuss that topic.

Also the time will come in other postings.

However this is a topic which rarely gets exposed on public fora.

BU takes this opportunity to compliment VOB for bringing this discussion on tomorrow’s brasstacks.

22. @ Think on these things

“Barbadians are once again warned on the cause and effect of the present Barbados crisis the cause was Owen’s policies for 14 years, we are living the effect in 2012”

It seems to me that the DLP and their supporters have two excuses for their failure to manage Barbados and its economy: the BLP policies and the global economic recession.

Based on your pronouncement that “we are living the effect of Owen’s policies for fourteen years” , surely you must agree that your much touted “Medium Term Fiscal Strategy 2010-2014”, has been unsuccessful thus far, hence the analysis from IMF and Standard and Poors.

23. MY GOD man. All that I asked was for the political hopefuls to show their faces at the FTC hearing against the BL&P, and stick in a word on my behalf, as a consuming hapless Barbadian, in an environment where even the likes of me felt differently abled; to show intent on challenging the clout of the serious exploitative operatives in Barbados. These people who are now vying for office were a NO show, save for Mascoll and the guy that Hinkson won over for the nomination. This grasping of a cause, albeit one that needs attention is arbitrary. I am sorry. Not Impressed.

Why do all these lawyers scramble for seats in Parliament when their track record of solving anything or achieving anything is an embarrassment to all but themselves …! It must be clear to ALL but the simple that it is NOT in the interest of these lawyer people to offend the BIG business community whose only source of income is derived from feeding on the patronage Bajans.

24. NOT IMPRESSED

25. @BAFBFP

Your position is consistent on this matter but you shouldn’t paint with a broad brush. Also if others don’t step forward like yourself, who to blame?

26. WHAT A BIG STINKING LIE ?
    THE FOLLOWING CAME FROM
    CHRIS STINKLIAR
    “Barbadians are once again warned on the cause and effect of the present Barbados crisis the cause was Owen’s policies for 14 years, we are living the effect in 2012”

HOW PEOPLE CUD TELL LIE SO ?

JUST ASKING

27. Me step forward and be a mindless pawn in the midst of a Prime Ministerial dictatorship …? David the game was NOT designed for the likes of me… Sorry. These shights are in it for personal gain, irrespective of the insults that will be hurled in their direction, and that is contemptuous. Me …. Never ..!

28. “When that same Barbadian who parks in a carkpark reserved for a disabled person travels to the USA or UK what happens?”

if we look at the issue dispassionately, can we really say that reserved parking for the disabled is utilised to the extent that such a facility used in the more developed countries? There are some offices where it is difficult to conduct business because of inadequate parking yet there are disabled parkingspaces lying idle.in adiition disabled people in barbados hardly do business on their own unlike their counterparts in more developed countries who also have the benefit of the various modes of transport for the disabled available.

29. WELCOME BACK ARTAXERXES

30. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ balance | September 15, 2012 at 10:03 PM |
    What you said might be the reality on the ground at some business places with inadequate parking for its customers, period.
    Tell us, balance, what should happen if all the disabled bays are taken by the able bodied inconsiderate lazy young customers and a genuine disabled customer turns up to do business? Block the car parked in the disabled bay?
    What is your take on the spaces reserved for the CEO, President, Chairman, CFO, etc? Is it OK for customers to park in those spaces while empty? I bet you wont agree since you believe in a social caste type system and not one based on merit or need.

How bout the females using the male toilets or vice versa? Which comes first: protocol, etiquette or need?

31. Miller

Females use the male toilets all the time. At shows, Kadooment day especially, I luvs it …! I get to see them with their guard down, and it gives me the chance to show wah I got too …. For a pervert like me, its the closest thing to heaven … ! HA HA HA

32. @balance

The fact that you have brought that perspective is evidence of the problem we face.

33. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ BAFBFP | September 15, 2012 at 11:17 PM |
    You must return the favour sometimes and see the reaction and hear how you will be described.

Rapist! (not unfamiliar to you LOL!!). Paedo! Voyeur! Sicko! Female Buller!! Gay boy!!! Blah, Blah, blah!

34. @BAF SEPT 15 11.27
    what you said in your comment lacks class and a sense of poor taste.

35. @ac

@BAF SEPT 15 11.27
    what you said in your comment lacks class and a sense of poor taste.

Agreed!

36. HA HA HA. Now wunna don’ expect me to apologize for being me now do you … I can’ stop women from using the men’s bathrooms and I wouldn’t even if I had the power to do it. I welcome it, I embrace it, and the funny thing is that I don’ consider me a pervert…!

37. “What is your take on the spaces reserved for the CEO, President, Chairman, CFO, etc? Is it OK for customers to park in those spaces while empty? I bet you wont agree since you believe in a social caste type system and not one based on merit or need.

How bout the females using the male toilets or vice versa? Which comes first: protocol, etiquette or need?”

Except that i am not a believer in any social caste system , there is no disagreement with your point Mr Miller but i hope you also understand the basis for reasoning which was really thrown out for comment and on which i expected some fallout. i have no objection in providing facilities parking or otherwise for the disabled whether underused or not because we must not be caught lagging in our efforts to genuinely look after the most vulnerable in our society and not because it is fashionable to so do. I wish Govt could revisit the immigration regulations and rescind the part which speaks to handicapped persons entering Barbados and get the disabled lift at the Speightstown library fixed without further delay.

38. “How bout the females using the male toilets or vice versa? Which comes first: protocol, etiquette or need?”
    you might be treading on dangerous ground here and accused of breaking some UN convention Mr Miller because with all this same sex thing in the air with legality behind it all of we will be one and free to use any public toilet to avoid charges of discrimination against the provider.

39. We live in a world when commonsense can be qquestioned.

40. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

victor(atBFP)
    September 17, 2012 at 5:34 am

Mr Hinkson, can you explain why the lift for disabled at Speightstown library (situated on the first floor, ideal location for a library?) has NEVER worked since installation? What is the point of installing ramps for wheelchair access when there are flights of stairs and an inoperable lift facing a wheelchair user? Under which government was the lift installed? How long ago?

41. @Balance concerning the immigration regulations toward those with handicapped issues,why?

I am not sure if Barbados has the proper infrastructure to even support those with current handicapped issues and having those from abroad might become a liability if they are allowed in the country.