Submitted by Old Onions Bag
Chris Sinckler, the embattled Minister of Finance

“the quality of mercy wanes”

Exactly what is hoped to be achieved by these draconian tax measures? It is about time gurus in the Finance Ministry wake up and see the results of their  ploy. Can Barbados ever be able to recover given the prevailing circumstances and no projected new revenue inflows? Why what then is hoped to be achieved by these continued, less than auspicious ‘undertaken’ methods…. a quick death for some especially the poor, old and degenerate?

A stage now has been set for pensioners and the aged to falter, that is, if the pseudo drugs don’t take them first. There is seemingly no reprieve for them who lodged all their survival savings in CLICO or  BAICO, now that they have both gone belly up. Whatever happened to all the talk of assistance in the form of a structured payment program to assist these aged? Why how much more time do they have ? We are soon moving into the third year since the CLICO debacle.  Some Barbadian families have no recourse but to support themselves and the elderly from saving, that are hitting bottom fast. Yet some continues on this path of high intake thru taxes, with no consideration for the plight levied on the back of citizen Joe…Gran dad in the one hand…Jenny and Jane graduates with no employment in the other. How do they expect poor Joe to cope?

It is a well known fact that high taxes in a time of recession will retard further what little growth an economy may have mustered….Why then the 2.5 % increase in VAT tax in 2011? We were told THEN what we are occasioning NOW,… would come to being, yet  we went ahead. Now the situation is worse. Unemployment has increased from 9% to 11.8% in less than a year and the economy has slowed down even further? What now?Shall they then attempt to remove the VAT in an all out effort to revive the economy or increase it further to 20% ? Why tell us economic gurus at MOF, as your postulates of past, at most, have been most difficult to fathom.

154 responses to “Is Barbados An Overly Taxed Economy Or Not?”

1. Old Onion Bags,
    In a nutshell.
    I always thought our motto was Small Island, Big Ideas.
    It seems that’s no longer the case.
    Was the crash of the statue to “Pride and Industry” trying to tell us something of importance?
    I am not superstitious though, but it did give me pause for thought.

I grew up with my old man regularly saying “We were poor but we were proud” and under my breath saying “There is no pride in poverty”.
    One day he spelled it out thus “We were poor but we always believed we could do better” and my response to that was a resounding “Yes, I now get you”.

I have seen individuals in Barbados and Barbadians elsewhere who have made great strides way beyond anything early life suggested.

I have an in-law who has relatives in Boston where she and her husband often visit.
    They also visit a surgeon when they go there.
    This now surgeon left school in Christ Church at age 12 rather than submit to a flogging by the headmaster.
    He sold slips to people for their rabbits, goats and sheep then added a few more minor items he also sold.
    He headed to England as a conductor on London Transport, went into nursing, qualified as a doctor and ended up as a surgeon in Boston.
    That’s a real Barbadian displaying both pride and industry and backing it up with whatever effort and dedication was necessary.

Beat that and tell me he isn’t a real Barbadian.

I could also tell you of other Barbadians who returned with the idea of contributing their talents, sadly only to find rejection and disappointment.

2. Be cool Sid one thing bout a Bajan.. we don’t disown we own… we glad for ya and proud…. just dat to fuc# wid Sing A poe as we like it so…agreed?

3. Now you see this GREENING LEVY introduced by MOF at the last Budget….a magician trickery personified. More money being taken away in taxes ….when some just received a lil berry month before….How much will it be anyway?1% 2, 3 % but you can rest assured MORE will be collected ..that ever will be paid out by the magicians trick….nett result more taken from the poor “Work Horses.”….government right?

4. Roebuck St. Economist Avatar
    Roebuck St. Economist

Anybody with a modicum of common sense would see that poor Barbados heading for a disaster. Barbados in a bind with these Johnnyburgers and all these taxes. Money cannot or will not flow under this taxation regime implemented by these JOKERS. Like they believe people got money in a bag under their beds or something. Hear me nuh fellows things heading HEADLONG for a financial crash. Change nuh idle ways hear and soon!