Click image to get up to date info.

Barbados Forecast for 2200Z THURSDAY 2ND AUGUST TO 2200Z FRIDAY 3RD AUGUST 2012

Synopsis: Tropical Storm Ernesto at 5:00pm was located along 12.8 north, 56.6 west approaching the region

TONIGHT: Increasingly cloudy to overcast with some pockets of moderate to heavy showers,periods of rain, scattered thunderstorms, winds to storm force strength.

TOMORROW: Cloudy to overcast with moderate to heavy showers,scattered thunderstorms and gusty winds.

Winds: VARYING at 45 to 75 KM/H

Seas: Rough in open water swells 3.0 – 4.0 metres. Small craft warning is in effect.

Source: Barbados Weather

1. @Hants

Your suggestion is taken.

2. good night fuh sexxxinnng!

3. Storms don’t run on rails so the position can change in an hour.

Barbados is now covered in roofs concrete driveways and tar and water does not permeate those entities.

The Island will continue to be flood prone so be careful.

I hope the storm misses Barbados.

4. old onion bags Avatar

Had to go and bring in D sheep (not Carson) and put up D boat.

Tonight we having a storm party…adults only..ac you welcome..alonely.

5. AT 800 PM AST…0000 UTC…THE CENTER OF TROPICAL STORM ERNESTO WAS
    LOCATED BY SATELLITES AND THE BARBADOS RADAR NEAR LATITUDE 13.3
    NORTH…LONGITUDE 57.4 WEST. ERNESTO IS MOVING TOWARD THE WEST NEAR
    22 MPH…35 KM/H. THIS GENERAL MOTION IS EXPECTED TO CONTINUE FOR
    THE NEXT 48 HOURS. ON THE FORECAST TRACK…THE CENTER OF ERNESTO
    SHOULD PASS NEAR BARBADOS LATE TONIGHT…

MAXIMUM SUSTAINED WINDS ARE NEAR 50 MPH…85 KM/H…WITH HIGHER
    GUSTS. SOME SLIGHT STRENGTHENING IS FORECAST DURING THE NEXT 48
    HOURS.

TROPICAL-STORM-FORCE WINDS EXTEND OUTWARD UP TO 115 MILES…185 KM
    FROM THE CENTER…MAINLY TO THE NORTH AND NORTHEAST.

6. nuh corn beef and biscuits tonite/ i already stacked up on hot dogs !

7. Wunna suh quiet on BU I thought Bajans were being complacent but I just read Barbados Today and it seems there was a rush to supermarkets at the last minute……..as usual.

8. Too busy paying the house insurance, shopping for corned beef and biscuits, catching water in case BWA shuts down because BL&P shuts down, trimming and oiling our lamps, bringing in the outdoor furniture, feeding the cat and dog, taking a shower and eating a hot meal to blog.

Don’t mind ac and ole onions sexing what, right now they are doing the same as me.

9. @Hants

Thanks for your concern. Many Barbadians will not take a storm seriously until…

Barbados is currently beginning to suffer a steady rain.

10. good night fuh sexxxinnng!

u thinkin about skinin onions

11. had nuff hot dog while de whimp ernesto passed by.

12. Spared again!

13. Glad Barbados has been spared again.

Keep an eye on another system forming off cape verde.

14. old onion bags Avatar

We have had more rain on a night in March (Dry Season) than this puppy show for an Ernesto….made me bring in the patio chairs for nutting.
    Giving thanks Oh Lord….

15. Keep giving thanks. Another one on its way.

16. Tropical storm Florence has formed.

Hope it misses Barbados but be prepared.

17. TROPICAL STORM FLORENCE ADVISORY NUMBER 4
    NATIONAL HURRICANE CENTER MIAMI FL AL062012
    500 PM SAT AUG 04 2012

…FLORENCE GAINING STRENGTH…FAR FROM LAND…

18. @Hants

Thanks for the heads up but at 15.3N this system will not be a threat.

19. Last week we saw many in the hardware stores and supermarkets buying up kerosene oil lamps and lanterns for the expected bad weather, which might have seen a shut down by BL&P as it intensified.
    A word of warning.
    Many of these lamps and lanterns,mostly manufactured in China, are now sold very cheaply,some for as low as $15.00 each. There is an old Bajan philosophy which says that things that are cheap are no good,and this is certainly true of these lamps and lanterns.
    Case No 1; Bought a lantern last year from a popular hardware store. On reaching home and filling it with kerosene it began to leak.
    Case No 2 : Bought a fancy looking oil lamp, filled it with oil just before the passage of Ernesto. On filling it up it began to leak.
    These lamps are potentially dangerous if placed on a combustible surface, and lets face it ,timber houses are combustible surfaces.
    I thoroughly examined both lamps and traced the source of the leaks. These lamps are made up of sections of tin,thin gauge tin, and then seamed together, but unlike the tins which hold foodstuff ,these seams are not soldered together or any other adhesive used to ensure air tightness, and as a consequence the oil seeps out.
    Keep away from these cheap lanterns, and if purchasing an oil lamp, ensure that it is an all – glass one .
    Then there is the matches required to light these lamps, which appear to have a very rapid flame travel from the sulphur end to the tip of the finger, which could cause the person lighting the lamp or lantern to discard the lighted match sharpish.
    A few years ago I bought an electric iron in the USA, which was made in China. The beauty of this iron is that it has a convenient retractable electric cord, but in order for the manufacturer to provide an adequate length of cord, to fit into the rewind spool, they had to fit a cable of a reduced diameter. This causes the cable to overheat (similar to attempting to jump start a car with thin jumper wires) and could be potentially dangerous.These irons are readily available in Barbados.
    One wonders if the BNSI, or the Fire Service has ever conducted practical tests ,especially of these cheap 2-dollar store items coming into Barbados these days ,which do not seem to have met any safety standards in the countries of origin,but could be potentially dangerous and very costly to householders if an incident occurs..

20. Oil lamps and candles are dangerous period but more so during a storm.

It is better to buy battery operated flash lights and led lamps.

New business venture.
    Import and sell crank lamps ( I have one I take when I fishing at night) and led lamps and flashlights.

http://www.21st-century-goods.com/wind-n-go-7810-portable-hand-crank-led-lantern-and-radio/

21. Tropical Depression Seven heading towards Barbados.

Be prepared and if it misses the corn beef an biscuits shouldn’t be wasted.

David you should update the link

22. invest 93L just left Africa. This could be a one two punch.

23. thanks hants BU resident meteorologist! i am looking forward to this one since ERNESTO add more spice to my life couldn;t get any better that is my latest update !

24. old onion bags Avatar

@ ac
    Ernesto….like he put a sweet bread in the oven…nxt time try D bake fowl..oh..I ent got D recipe fa dat….

25. Brace for some high winds…..Storm developing..

http://www.barbadosweather.org/barbados-weather-satellite.php

26. Expect some rain and flooding even if the centre misses Barbados.

27. @ Hant
    We ain’t go get ONE SHOITE…..watch…the bees out here in the hive calm calm.

28. Hants
    Boy she right over we now …and not one shite….but SHE HOT HOT ….like we got another mis-fire…lol

29. @old onion bags

It fizzled but you might still get rain.

30. Barbados can be described as a swamp at the moment.

31. By the looks of this a hurricane will be on the way to Miami by Monday.