Submitted by Wisdom

In the Republic of Barbados, there were four great ministries: the Ministry of Prosperity, which managed poverty; the Ministry of Unity, which punished dissent; the Ministry of Transparency, which concealed corruption; and the Ministry of Land, which transformed fertile soil into estates for friends and family.

At the center of all stood the Leader, smiling eternally on the glowing billboards above Bridgetown. Her slogan was everywhere: High Cost Is Growth. Corruption Is Stability. Silence Is Unity. Citizens repeated it daily, though hunger gnawed at their bellies. The fish market shrank, bread was half-sized, and bus fares rose with every sunrise. Yet the Leader declared: “We are thriving.”

Wireless eavesdropping, known to all as the Listening Wind, hummed invisibly through the air. No conversation was safe. “Even the sea has ears now,” whispered an old fisherman. Children learned early to measure their words. Orwell’s line echoed like scripture: “Big Brother is watching you.”

Protests erupted nonetheless. Teachers, nurses, and farmers filled the streets demanding relief from the soaring cost of living. But the Ministry of Unity branded them “ungrateful elements.” Armored police scattered the crowds, confiscating placards that read Transparency is not Treason. 

To speak of corruption—of land gifted to cousins, contracts padded for cronies, or the Leader’s grand houses rising above shantytowns—was to risk vanishing into the Ministry’s silent offices.

The Leader’s boldest stroke came on October 1st. With triumphant fanfare, she signed the Free Movement Pact with Dominica, St. Vincent, and Belize. On the screens it was hailed as “regional love.” But in whispered corners, people knew it for what it was: voter padding. 

Schools already bursting, clinics already understaffed, water taps already dry—how would they bear the influx? Machiavelli’s shadow fell across the island: “A prince must learn how not to be good, and use that knowledge when necessary.”

The Ministry of Land, meanwhile, sold prime fields to developers, building estates that ordinary Barbadians could never afford. Farmers watched their plots vanish beneath concrete, while families squeezed into overpriced apartments. “The land is not ours anymore,” a woman said. “It belongs to the Leader’s friends.”

Overspending on vanity projects drained the treasury, yet the Leader called them “investments in the future.” Critics who questioned the expense were labeled enemies of progress. 

Despotism arrived not in boots, but in press conferences. Still, resistance flickered. Anonymous graffiti appeared: “The Listening Wind cannot silence the sea.” Pamphlets, passed hand to hand, quoted Orwell: “If liberty means anything at all, it means the right to tell people what they do not want to hear.”

The Leader smiled wider on the screens, declaring Barbados “a beacon of democracy.” But in the markets, mothers counted coins twice. On the buses, workers cursed under their breath. And in the silence of their minds, Barbadians began to awaken to a dangerous truth:

Even the most carefully engineered Listening Wind cannot still the storm once it begins to rise.

20 responses to “The Listening Wind”

1. Amen!

2. @wisdom this is a nice read

3. Is this a Gustavus Adolphus coat ???????

4. Top shelf thread!

Just observing

5. We’ve lost something ancient: meaningful rites of passage.

Communities created deliberate thresholds that marked a shift… boy to man, girl to woman, apprentice to elder. These weren’t just personal milestones. They were communal agreements: You belong, you have changed, and we recognize it.
    Now, those rituals are mostly gone. Sure, we celebrate graduations, weddings, birthdays, but often without depth, gravity, or transformation. What’s missing is the container… a shared cultural space that acknowledges the shift and helps integrate it.
    Here are three reasons we still need rites of passage:
    1. Movement Requires Meaning
    Passage implies movement. But not all movement is growth. Without intention, change can feel like chaos. A rite of passage provides meaning to the movement… turning wounds into wisdom, challenges into initiation.
    2. Boundaries Build Strength
    Many traditional rites of passage involved a sacred wounding… a scar, a trial, a moment of fear or pain. In modern terms, it’s less about blood and more about boundaries. Whether it’s finishing a Spartan Race, fasting in the wilderness, or completing a tough creative project, stepping beyond comfort and surviving it strengthens our edges.
    3. Community Makes It Real
    Perhaps the most overlooked element: being seen differently after the passage. Transformation only sticks when our community acknowledges it. That’s why indigenous cultures, like ours, celebrated return, why service members are pinned with insignias, why even awkward graduation ceremonies matter. Being witnessed solidifies the shift from who you were into who you are.

6. @Tony

Your comment is spot on. Over time we have shifted to a transactional culture, where efficiency and self-interest outweigh connection to those value based relationships you alluded. What was value based has become more exchange driven. We are the poorer for it in every facet of our small country.

7. Everything is superficial now. There is no depth to any of our ceremonies.

8. This blog is an outstanding summary of Barbados today.
    It does not leave much more to be said.
    What a state!

9. Truly an excellent article. Sad when you realise our reality but true none the less.

10. You! Yes you! You are getting there.
    Say it! I want you to say it!
    I am waiting patiently. Just say it
    “Everything is trickery, a scam, a con, 3-card-Monte done by flimflam men”

11. Yes indeed. This is an excellent post by Wisdom.

We Bajans must stop being cowards.

I have just listened to a mind-blowing sermon by IBRAHIM TRAORE. There are many highlights, but there are two in particular which we in Barbados can relate to: incompetence (22.08) and distractions.These are the hallmarks of this government led by Ms Mottley. It is theme that Bush Tea will often lament as to why incompetent ministers are often shovelled around from post to post without being fired.

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=peGRdBxc3bQ

12. Going against the grain..
    When I read this my gut feel was the author was Bush Tea.
    Barbados does not need a Bush Tea Christian Nationalist Trump type Government.

Anti-Immigrant politics is not real politics it is a diversion, the biggest myth is deluded people screaming ‘this is my country’ or ‘they’re stealing our jobs, homes, benefits etc’ when they don’t have ownership of any preferential rights.
    Resentment of foreigners is insidious.

13. What time is it on the barbados civil unrest Clock? Minutes to midnight

14. Perhaps we should ask @Enuff if it is still the dominant opinion in high places, that ‘nobody takes BU seriously’….!!

Of if it is becoming clearer in the upper circles of ‘powa’ – that …
    (as the prophet Robert Nesta sang…)

Why boasteth thyself
    Oh, mighty man
    Playing smart
    And not being clever
    Working outquity
    To achieve vanity
    But the goodness of Jah
    I-dureth for-i-ver

If you are the big tree
    We are the small axe
    Sharpened to cut you down
    Ready to cut you down
    Sharpened to cut you down
    Ready to cut you down

These are the words
    Of my master
    No weak heart shall prosper
    And whosoever diggeth a pit
    Shall fall in it
    And whosoever diggeth a pit
    Shall fall in it
    Where there is no wood
    I said the fire goes on
    So we have to cut you down
    Your dry wood
    Without a doubt

The Minister of Tourism suffered badly on brass tacks today. MURDER!!
    What a show!! The last caller make him look incoherent.

The CLEAR point that came out – was that the government of Barbados has been DIRECTED by their big business handlers, to terminate the growing role that ORDINARY citizens have been playing in diverting an INCREASING slice of the tourism pie AWAY from the foreign-owned hotels, and into the LOCAL hands of property owners.

Using the ridiculous excuse of ‘ensuring high standards’, DRACONIAN proposals that are OBVIOUSLY aimed at curtailing local ownership are lamely passed off as ‘needed regulations’.
    If airbnb standards were applied to our government, our national debt would be minimal. There would actually be HOPE and less STEAL, and ‘Clear Waters’ would be pure.

A natural LOCAL industry that is undergoing PHENOMENAL GROWTH, suddenly needs ‘help’ from a government that have not been able to successfully implement a SINGLE project within budget, and with high customer satisfaction.

Their many hands CAN’T make one shiite work….

But this minister is URGENTLY coming to ‘fix’ an already unquestionably successful LOCAL business…
    …like they fixed B’s Recycling and Jose y Jose
    …like they fixed the public Transport sector and CBC
    …like they fixed the sugar industry

What a place. …and what a set of hopeless CLOWNS!!!

15. “….my gut feel was the author was Bush Tea.”
    ~~~~~~~
    Boss…
    Bush Tea would have PROUDLY put his pseudonym to this article had it been his.
    Shiite, if the author wishes, Bushie would tek um all like now…
    LOL – there would be a few brass bowls and some shiite added -obviously.

Your Asian donkey on the other hand must be under SERIOUS pressure – given your piss poor performance in distracting BU contributors from the serious business of exploring and exposing the nakedness of our leaders…

You are just another one of the many hands dat can’t make one shiite work!!! ha ha ha

Your political cuntsultancy pick looking shaky yuh…!!

16. As mentioned I am no agent for any government which is just a figment of your lil mind, but the DLP do or die BU wing heartened by an article is hardly a swing or a schwing (insinuating the act of a male achieving an erection)

Barbados is not known for it’s rebel protests and is more associated with silent belligerence against slave masters

Meanwhile USA land of the free home of the brave has lost all it’s rebel hearts fighting spirit with the dictator and his domestic policies who has now committed a third extralegal execution strike against what he labels Narco terrorists in Caribbean based on intelligence which is not evidential or due process

17. Why voters elect clowns and sweet talkers, never thinkers or honest candidates https://youtu.be/eemziVNg66E?si=bh4WXQQmhcM4uQMv

18. @555dubstreet, what time is the civil unrest clock showing as asked earlier by a poster

19. The answer, my friend, is blowin’ in the wind
    The answer is blowin’ in the wind

Don’t talk about what time it is

Action speak louder than words

How many roads must a man walk down
    Before you call him a man?
    How many seas must a white dove sail
    Before she sleeps in the sand?
    Yes, and how many times must the cannonballs fly
    Before they’re forever banned?

The answer, my friend, is blowin’ in the wind
    The answer is blowin’ in the wind

having said all that
    nothing in the underground dancehall youth culture points to any BD civil unrest coming anytime soon is the weather forecast

but you can prove me wrong and throw a brick in a riot of your own