Submitted by Charles Knighton
There is always suffering to confront.

“Perspective is a funny thing, and I have learned over the years to welcome the adversity in life so I can have a better perspective and in turn strive to be a better human being.”

Nigel Wallace, August 18 Advocate

It is a cornerstone of Buddhism that life is suffering. That’s not to say that life is only suffering: of course it can also be joy, excitement, sharing, learning and other wonderful exhilarating things. But the fact remains that suffering is inevitable. If we are lucky enough, we’ll avoid war, poverty or rejection, but even the most blessed lives can not escape old age or illness.

How we deal with the inevitable suffering of life, then, has been a central concern of all the great philosophers, religions and wisdom traditions. All agree it cannot be avoided, so what matters is how we understand and respond to it.

For many ancient Greek philosophers, particularly the Stoics, the answer was that if you adopted the right attitude, suffering couldn’t harm you. You might face terrible misfortune, pain, even death, but if none of these things cracks your integrity, your virtue, you are, in a deeper sense, unscathed.

Christianity took the bold step of embracing suffering as the road to redemption. In the Sermon on the Mount, those who weep and are persecuted are called the blessed, while Christ’s own crucifixion becomes a model for the pious life. Nietzsche later rejected this as a debilitating embrace of misery and powerlessness. Still, suffering retained a central role in his own ethical outlook, something to be overcome by will.

At their best, what all these approaches get right is the idea that there are very few things, if any, which are unambiguously good or bad in the long run. That’s because a whole life is not a simple aggregate of its parts, but a blend. To take a culinary analogy: vinegar by itself is sour and unpleasant but, combined with the right other ingredients, it can lift a dish to new heights.

The analogy cautions against taking itself too far. Many bitter plants can never be made palatable and many others spoil dishes more often than they improve them. But much of the time, it is how they fit together that matters most, not how delicious they are in their pure form.

So it is that the components of life can be good, bad or indifferent in themselves, but they take on a different meaning depending on how they are made to fit the whole. So, for example, although illness is bad in itself, it is at least sometimes possible to respond to it in ways that extract some benefit. In that sense, suffering is never good, but still we can make good use of it and use its bitterness to draw out what is sweet and savory in life.

1. @Bush Tea

Here is a chance to wax philosophical…lol.

2. @ David
    …on what?

3. Carry on with your discussion from this morning.

4. David my attendance at George St in the morning was time well spent. Fruendel Stuart was in tippity top form, a cutting speech at once inspirational all the while ripping the BLP to shreds. If Stuart remains in the mood he’s in the boasting the counting of eggs in fowl botsy by rotten onion, the millers the prodigals the motley crew of blp yardfowls will come to naught. They’ll be crying in their bush tea in April. Kudos to Stuart his impeccable character was lined up next to the shady OSA, the latter came off very badly so did his co leader malik with teet. Stellar performance by FS<

5. This is one of the best blogs Ive read tonight. Thank you for the read.

6. I WOULD SUBSTITUTE ‘HEAVENLY’ FOR ‘UNSCATHED’ TO SUIT MY PHILOSOPHICAL DOGMA BUT THERE IS MUCH FOOD FOR THOUGHT IN THE SUBMISSION FOR THE BELIEVER AND UNBELIEVER.

7. Quote: “For many ancient Greek philosophers, particularly the Stoics, the answer was that if you adopted the right attitude, suffering could’t harm you”.

I pose the rhetorical question “why” suffering could not harm you? It is because we enjoy being cheerful but yet we understand the deep reason for suffering because:
    “To love mankind, from the greatest to the lowest (or meanest) a cheerful state of being is required; but in order to see into mankind, into life, and still more into ourselves, suffering is a requisite.”

8. Question of the day: how many of us would substitue suffering for joy.? Unless one can really understand and comprehend the rewards of suffering one would be content to go through live thinking i should not happen to “ME”

9. There are many ways to look at the concept of suffering.

Bushie recalls someone (lets call him Mr X) once commenting about a neighbor “poor fellow, he has never worked a day in his life”.
    Some time later, the very neighbor, in a very caring and concerned tone, reflected to the bushman “poor Mr X, he has had to work every day of his life”

Suffering is often in the eyes of the beholder.

When the bible talks of the “good’ of suffering, it is against a background of the larger view. For example when a Harrison College student walks into the school and see the list of names of Barbados Scholars in the hall, and determine that their mission in school is to add their name to that tablet….their subsequent school life may seem like suffering to another student who enjoy liming, parties, sports, Facebook etc. The vision of achieving success however makes this “suffering” the loss of the fun things of school life to be meaningless.
    Indeed to such a student, “suffering” means falling behind in studies, not getting A+++ in tests etc. (MME and Observing would know about this… 🙂 not dumpsy Onions)

…so when Jesus told the fellow who asked about eternal life to “sell all that you have and give it to the poor, and come and follow me” it would be like Onions asking MME back in his school days- “Skippa, how yuh does get a Barbados Scholarship doh?”
    …the answer…..stop all of those fun things that you do, like chasing all the school girls, mekking laughing sport in class, going fishing instead of doing homework, running bout behind the BLP and tekking way lunch money from first formers – and follow my example of hard work and dedication to studies.

…well we dun know that Onions can’t take that kind of suffering, so as a result we are saddled with him now in his adulthood on BU with his nonstop stream of gibberish….

10. @Charles

You say suffering others may suggest life’s challenges but you are correct. Those of us who have the capacity to embrace ‘life’ and all that comes with it will find themselves in a better place to extract what reward there is to savour.

11. @Bush Tea

Some of us can read what Onions is about, you should not underestimate the importance of an onion to making a good sauce even if one has to ‘suffer’ through the skinning experience…lol.

12. Bushie you are pounding on your onions. Did they make you cry? LOL

Yes David we sometimes shed a tear or two when we cut up Onions BUT we get tired with them when they keep reappearing at every dance and cock fight. This is probably one place we won’t see Onions making an appearance.

13. @ David

Onions went to a good school….He is Bushie Iil’ brother….

Another interesting aspect of suffering is that, since it is a relative concept, it demonstrates why we do such a poor job of crime and punishment.
    Obviously the way to punish a dedicated scholar is to take away a few marks in a test….not to give them more homework. Conversely, to punish Onion you may want to give him extra lessons and force him to think logically….

Most of us presume that since being locked in prison is about the worst kind of suffering that WE can imagine, that this must surely also apply to criminals.
    For many in society however, being in prison may be the most stable, happy, relaxed time of their lives. Our method of dealing with crime may therefore be largely like throwing the rabbit into the breir patch…..no wonder it is not working…

14. @ Islandgal
    What make what cry what…. Onions ain’t got no juice

One thing bout Onions though, he takes his licks like a true Cawmere man….
    Wanna talking bout Bush Tea, but it is ac that does slice into the onion daily… She mussee like onion soup…

15. @Bush Tea

You touched on a relevant point. How many of our status seeking snooty middleclass Cawmwerians, HCtonians et al would like to be seen doing community service as part of punishment meted out by the Courts?

Relevant penal reform as you described might just add value to our punitive system.

16. Only in Christ Jesus, the Eternal Word of God, can those redeemed through His Sinless Suffering on Calvary, get a glimmer of the GLORY that awaites them with Him in relation their present suffering on earth.

Romans 8:18-19 Commentary

Romans 8:18 For I consider that the sufferings of this present time are not worthy to be compared with the glory that is to be revealed to us (NASB: Lockman)

Amplified: [But what of that?] For I consider that the sufferings of this present time (this present life) are not worth being compared with the glory that is about to be revealed to us and in us and for us and conferred on us! (Amplified Bible – Lockman)

NLT: Yet what we suffer now is nothing compared to the glory He will give us later. (NLT – Tyndale House)

Phillips: In my opinion whatever we may have to go through now is less than nothing compared with the magnificent future God has planned for us. (Phillips: Touchstone)

Wuest: for I have come to a reasoned conclusion that the sufferings of the present season are of no weight in comparison to the glory which is about to be revealed upon us. (Eerdmans)
    Young’s Literal: For I reckon that the sufferings of the present time are not worthy to be compared with the glory about to be revealed in us;

17. Why the story of a suffering christ whether one believes /it our not the messages sent by pictures are very powerful as they relay a message which can be adapted to ones life a message of redemption

18. Further, but as it is written: “Things which EYE has NOT seen, and EAR has NOT heard, and which have NOT* entered the heart of man, ALL that God has prepared for those who LOVE Him.” ( I Cor. 2;9, NASB)

All of our Sufferings, Pain, and misery, are but a fleeting MOMENT, transient, temporal, compared to the ETERNAL weight of Glory, that He has prepared In, Through, and By The Lord Jesus Christ, for those who have Repented, accepted, and received HIM* as personal Saviour and Lord!

19. Some of us can read what Onions is about, you should not underestimate the importance of an onion to making a good sauce even if one has to ‘suffer’ through the skinning experience…lol.
    It oft boggles observing the many who believe that they could outwit ole Gibber….

To-morrow, and to-morrow, and to-morrow,
    Creeps in this petty pace from day to day,
    To the last syllable of recorded time;
    And all our yesterdays have lighted fools
    The way to dusty death. Out, out, brief candle!
    Life’s but a walking shadow, a poor player,
    That struts and frets his hour upon the stage,
    And then is heard no more. It is a tale
    Told by an idiot, full of sound and fury,
    Signifying nothing.

20. Good post Charles. Enough has been said by the others already. You are correct, the most important thing whether happiness or sadness, suffering or joy is our peace and place of mind. Life is indeed suffering but it is also simultaneously blissful.

21. Many are deceived with and in, ‘Blissful’ ignorance of false ‘peace’ that is NOT from the Lord!
    BEWARE!
    There is a Way Which “Seemeth Right” Unto a Man

By David J. Stewart

Proverb 14:12, “There is a way which seemeth right unto a man, but the end thereof are the ways of death.”

The Word of God teaches that there is a way which SEEMETH RIGHT unto a man, but the end thereof are the way of death. The Bible teaches in Jeremiah 17:9, “The heart is deceitful above all things, and desperately wicked: who can know it?” Man’s heart is deceitful above all else. This is what the Bible teaches.

Franz Reichelt (1879-1912) thought he had invented a way to fly. He modified an overcoat into a set of wings. Franz Reichelt was so confident that his contraption would work that he climbed up 187 feet on the Eiffel Tower and jumped off…

According to Le Figaro, he was calm and smiling just before he jumped. His parachute, which had seemed to be only half-open, folded around him almost immediately and he plummeted for a few seconds before crashing into the frozen soil at the foot of the tower. His canopy appeared to billow out at the last moment, but by that time it was too late for it to deploy fully or to break his fall.

Le Petit Parisien reported that his right leg and arm were crushed, his skull and spine broken, and that he was bleeding from his mouth, nose and ears. Le Figaro noted that his eyes were wide open, dilated with terror. He was already dead by the time the onlookers rushed to his body, but he was taken to the Necker hospital where he was officially pronounced dead, and then on to a police station in the rue Amelie before being returned to his home in rue Gaillon.

SOURCE: Franz Reichelt – Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

As you’ve just read, Franz Reichelt crashed down to his death. What a foolish thing to do. He was very sincere, but sincerely wrong… DEADLY WRONG! Reichelt’s fall left a 15mm deep imprint in the ground.

22. There are TWO kinds of ‘Sufferings’ (1) Those who suffer FOR ‘righteousness’ In Christ; and (2) those who suffer because of being ‘unrighteous’ OUTSIDE of Jesus!

Whose side are you ON!

23. the ultimate joy of suffering is/one that gives rewrds to others . a pain similar to a mother who laboures in child birth but to benefit fro the joy of givingbirth to a baby or the parent who has a chilld whio is in need of a transplant and the only reciptor is the parent the joy and rewards are twofold by pain shared almost equally

24. the mulims set aside one month per year in which they abstain from eating as an outward sign of cleansing of the body as well as the mind. one can see the relevance of having to go through a month of suffering which would involve sacrfice . hopefully it should open ones physical as well as spirtual eye in the ability of learning how to give of themselves and an awareness of how the disadvantage among us have to deal with life pitfalls a noble gesture one that should be practiced by all.

25. Suffering can be important lessons with more significance than good times

e.g. who appreciates and values the money they earn the most
    the rich man or the poor man?

nobody appreciates their blessings until they are gone
    e.g. health

26. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | August 20, 2012 at 10:58 AM |
    “the mulims set aside one month per year in which they abstain from eating as an outward sign of cleansing of the body as well as the mind.”

You can be really gullible and easily fooled by propaganda.
    That fasting lark is for poor Muslim people just like poor Christians adhere to the requirements of the Lenten season or go to confession or get saved by the blood of Jesus.

Rich and well off Muslims don’t give two hoots about that crap. The live in luxury 24/7/365 or how often the moon orbits the Sun. Some of the biggest clients to high class prostitutes, private casinos and reserved alcohol establishments in Europe Africa and Asia are patronized by very rich middle Easterners of the pretense religious brigade.
    The same way rich Christians regard Jesus so too do rich Muslims regard their special prophet.
    There is more genuine morality to be learned from a family of elephants than from these moral hypocrites.