Submitted by Rosemary Parkinson
Standford C. Haynes creator of the Rock Hall statue

Saturday 11th August I happened to swerve into a gap off a main road in St. Thomas, just by chance…’twas a dead end…but…what I saw shocked the life outta me. A most amazing piece of work stood tall into the skies literally in the middle of nowhere. As I drew near I realized it was a statue of a man, woman and child with arms outstretched as if touching the heavens. I was totally taken aback. What was this gorgeous piece of work all about? On approaching…the first thing I noticed was the dilapidated state of this monument, its surroundings and its plaques…there were several. I managed to read one of them. Rock Hall was the area, Cynthia Forde (previous government) unveiled same, one Standford C. Haynes was the creator, it was bronzed in the UK. The plaque did not say whether Mr. Haynes was a Barbadian but with this name, I assumed he would be. And even if not, who cares. The images are simply stunning.

But here comes the sadness. They are in desperate need of a cleaning…I ent seh scrubbing dong…just a little cleaning. There are no benches or seating arrangements of any kind to be had for those who might like to relax and admire this work of art. I looked around and although there was a lovely green pasture, there was no sign that said I could picnic there if I wanted. Actually it looked like private property with some cows grazing and a lovely backyard garden…but for sure such a simple thing as a few little picnic tables would have been nice.

As I looked around, I came across two more plaques under some overhanging bush. One gave names of free slaves and the other (both sadly needing some repair) said the following:

“From the Belly of the Slave Ship to a Free Holder, the Spirits of the African Ancestors beckon the enslaved souls guiding them to the first Free Village. Standing tall in a sacred pool of water, the Bronze ancestral Spirits rise majestically across the ravine symbolizing that any mountain can be climbed, any turbulent ocean crossed and any shackled soul can be Free. It is generally believed that the seeds of mankind were sown in Africa. The Spirits therefore represent ALL Races. They are guiding ALL people to a place free from Mental and Physical Slavery, a Place free from Guilt and Shame.”

What words. What beautiful words. In particular “The Spirits therefore represent ALL races”. Wow! Okay…so here I was mesmerized but still not fully understanding the connection between this monument and the few houses in the little gap. An elderly appeared. I asked a question or two. And guess what? (a) Rock Hall was the first free village on the island. How fantastic and historic is that!!!(b) The NCC is supposed to keep the area clean, paid to do it (so he tell me) but have not been seen for some three years or more. Three years????!!! The elder tries to trim trees and bush because the odd person or bus comes up to visit and (c) no there’s no sign to his knowledge on the main road so passersby could relate. Hmmm….

Now seriously….if you cannot have a magnificent piece of work done by a creative looked after, if you cannot have its surrounding area cleaned, if you cannot have a sign telling people what this is all about, how will we ever get our children to understand their past and therefore their present. Maybe it is left to ravages of nature because the BLP built it. I do not want to believe that we could really be that foolish and vindictive. This is a work of art. Yes! A work of art. In any other country this would be something to be so proud of.

Ministry of Culture, Youth and Sports…sorry to say…but are we ‘creatives’ such second-class citizens that this kind of disrespect is due to our work? Is our history that the above plaque talks about to be so ignored and left to waste away in bush and debris? Would this not be an amazing story to tell visitors….should this not be considered heritage? And please…because I happened to make the decision to bring this to the attention of the public at large…don’t do the foolish thing and make it into a paying area for tourists instead of what it should be…a well-kept manicured spot of beauty where Barbadians and visitors can come and be spiritually enlightened! Remember the words on the plaque ALL RACES and FREE.

Shame. Shame. Shame.

I AM A CONCERNED CREATIVE CITIZEN…MORE SO THAN EVAH!

118 responses to “The Neglected Space At Rock Hall”

1. Rosemary is speaking the truth. I was there August 2011 with a whole bus load of people, Bajans and tourists, the tour was organized by the Barbados Museum, and the statue and its surroundings at Rock Hall was in pretty shabby shape.

A tidying up is long overdue.

If Barbados values its heritage and its heritage tourism, this place sholud be on the agenda for every school, church and village excursion tour, and a must-see stop for every tourist tour bus.

The statue is indeed a beautiful work of art, and the names on the plaque stand as a memorial to all who endured slavery and lived to enjoy freedom.

Thanks Rosemary.

2. It is not a Heritage Site that may be the problem.

3. But it IS a heritage site David, if we understand heritage in its best broad meaning.

4. @Simple Simon

Heritage Site in the definition of Bridgetown 🙂

5. If you doubt me ask any of the heritage gurus, from the Barbados Museum, the National Trust, the Ministry of Culture etc.

6. Are we the same people who used to keep the plantation great house lawns, gardens , hedges and its general surroundings in immaculate condition?

7. It may not be a heritage site, but it is a historical site, and to have had that statue created to recognise the first free village, it should, in turn, be respected and cared for. The NCC are responsible for it. As Rosemary says it is the villagers who clear it when they can.

I go up there often as there are quite a few old buildings there that I have tried to record photographically over the years. Many have fallen down or have been knocked down. The first slave hut that was in the village was knocked down by government entities which is shameful. http://www.antillean.org/2008/10/31/rock-hall-freedom-village-shame/

All that remains of it are 2 side walls.

Cynthia Forde informed them that it was a building of importance but her concern was ignored.

“This monument commemorates Rock Hall Village, Barbados, first free village by ex-slaves who were from the Mount Wilton Plantation a nearby plantation. The village was founded in 1841 just 5 years after Emancipation.
    The 20ft stainless steel Statue which is cast in bronze was designed by Mr Stanton Haynes a senior architect in the Ministry of Public Works; it depicts a family of three ex-slaves standing proudly overlooking the Rock Hall Village.

August 5th 2005 was the date of the official unveiling of this magnificent 3 ton monument of which many of the descendants of the ex-slaves turned up to witness.”

8. Well done Rosemary. hopefully someone with the authority to get the job done does something. i suspect only a small percentage of Barbados know of the site and its symbolism.

9. A little bit about the statue.

Rock Hall Freedom Monument
    The village of Rock Hall was the first free village established in 1841, some five (5) years after the time of Emancipation. The Rock Hall Freedom Village is located in the parish of St. Thomas, Barbados and comprises of a monument that represents freedom. Casted in bronze, this 20ft stainless steel statue was designed by Mr. Stanton Haynes and officially unveiled in August of 2005. The monument pays homage to a family of three (3) freed ex-slaves and the village of Rock Hall.
    http://www.barbadospocketguide.com/our-island-barbados/monuments/rock-hall-freedom-monument.html

10. To be fair there is the view by Caswell Franklyn that the label that Rock Hall is the first freedom village is erroneous”

http://bajan.wordpress.com/2012/05/28/how-the-truth-was-blurred-a-different-view-to-that-expressed-of-the-1937-riots-in-barbados/comment-page-1/#comment-472630

11. Whether first, second or the last free village…the area is of utmost importance in the context of historic Barbados. The words on the plaque something we should ALL read and assimilate. And the statue asserts that the creatives of Barbados can produce work that is as good as any in other parts of the world. As for the latter…to me…in this state it represents a total disregard for the work of an artist.

And if the NCC is in charge and being paid to keep it in a good state…well then whoever paying them…make them do their job…and for crying out loud put up a sign, and place some benches so people can sit and admire. By the way…a fallen coconut tree trunk, cut in 4 or 5 ft. pieces, then cut in half, can be made into benches held up by shorter stumps from same tree. And they last a long time. So it is not about having to spend a lot of money…

12. “Whether first, second or the last free village…the area is of utmost importance in the context of historic Barbados.”

Rosemary I was just about to say the same. I really don’t care if it were the first or the last free village as well. It is a total disregard of our history. It seems that Bajans don’t want to know their history.

13. Anderson Pilgrim Avatar
    Anderson Pilgrim

It’s a travesty that this monument and area of historic significance is not being properly cared for and highlighted on the island. I am however happy to know that the village folk have tried their best to keep it clean. Kudos to Rosemary for bringing it to everyone’s attention.

14. David, if emancipation officially ended in 1838, snd rock hall was established in 1841 then it would be three years after emancipation.

15. @To the point

Maybe the apprenticeship period is included?

16. @David

the emancipation period, was, i think from 1834-`1838. Slavery was officially abolished in 1838, and officially it would be three years after independence. Just want to make sure that our historical facts are correct.

17. The point made by Rosemary and Corrie is still relevant. It is a place of historical interest and the authorities should ensure its upkeep. We can unravel the details as time goes by.

18. It became of historical interest because a former Prime Minister said that it important. Caswell is zoning on this one. The whole event was designed and used by a political party to draw attention to itself and its political representative in the constituency. It failed to serve its true purpose so now it must be left alone. So what. The architect involved (the same guy that designed the Eagle Hall Market) got paid, the construction people got paid, the senior public servants in Culture got a few overseas trips and salaries and now it will die a natural death, along with every other piece of public art and the numerous public buildings about the place. Maintenance programs do not particularly draw attention to those with a partisan political agenda.

19. @BAFBFP

If what you say is true then the Historian who would have set direction for this decision must come under scrutiny and his colleagues as well!

20. Personally? I could not give a rat’s backside what political party put up, paid for, designed, decided anything. I also could not care less as I have mentioned above if it is a first, second, third and will add even tenth free village on the island.

There is a monument of significant beauty that took a Barbadian artist time and love to create, there is a most wonderful plaque with words that would indeed be a good lesson for many of us on this island who feel that divided is good for evah and evah even after neither exist any more – slave nor British plantation owners (in a historic sense that is) – a plaque that teaches us that the spirits are now united as one and all should be forgiven as they have so that we can move on!

Perhaps that is the reason that this amazing piece of work remains gungy and without the care it deserves…but I would be ashamed if it so for my personal opinion is that the horrors of history are worldwide, and whilst we should never forget, and whilst we should also commemorate, we cannot dwell on same until it makes our hearts sour and our souls unable to fly free.

So between this magnificent statue and those beautiful words…this area is a place of peace that should be used as exactly that. A place that ALL of us can go, feel the spirits that are indeed there, be at one with them, meditate and feel cleansed. Far bettah than a church if you ask me ’cause it all blends in with the green of nature, the cleanliness of country air and guess what? you don’t have to fill a dish sent around to ensure you are shamed into placing much dollars within in case your neighbour attached by the shoulder should see and tell.

If the NCC is indeed paid to keep this area clean and are not doing their job…that is in itself a nightmare for taxpayers…so I still say Ministry of Culture look into this and ensure that visits are made and the place is kept in the manner it deserves.

And if the NCC nor the government is in charge because of political reasons, then say so and perhaps a group of concerned creative citizens like myself will ensure the area is beautified in a way that is conducive for nature and man to feel and experience harmony, even if for a few delicious moments.

Hey! I did not know that the spirits of those gone still carry on the political agenda of earth once their physical bodies have left this mortal coil… ’cause if dat is so Lawd I ent want to join dem at all, at all so do spare me. Beam me up Scotty to another planet or some’ing.

Where ignorance is bliss ’tis definitely folly to be wise.

21. are we dealing with HISTORY or are we dealing with emotion. lets put facts first .The momument and its history must represent that which is TRUE.on the other hand since the monument is there it should be kept clean as it is also reflective of the kind of people we are.

22. When the statue was first erected, I was amazed by its beauty. It is indeed a magnificent work of art, and from where I live, I used to make a point of passing it frequently just to admire. Recently, however, I have passed through Rock Hall and actually missed the statue and wondered if it had been taken down. Such is the state of the site now. A real shame!

23. @ac
    Since when has Caswell been the font of all knowledge? Let’s take the word of people who really know as distinct from those who pontificate.

24. Dear God ac…if the historic fact bother so much, then someone get it right, and put up another plaque there stating so. Even if it is a piece of wood that doan cost no money.

If the historic fact is indeed incorrect, then at least think of the piece of art, the words written and the wonderful opportunity to give children and adults alike a place of meditation and peace to enjoy.

Mostly think of the respect required for the work…something we are sadly lacking in this country. Creatives create even the chair you sit on…perhaps you could look into that chair and if the date on it does not seem correct, investigate and if wrong, tekk it and burn de dyamned thing. Geez.

25. I don’t like getting riled up so early in the morning but there is something so strong within me that wants to scream at the top of my lungs when creatives are disrespected…and we are being disrespected right now in all manner of ways right here in our own country. Not just with this work of art but with a lot of other things. Perhaps this monument should remain in the state it is in so that we can be reminded of how much we creatives are in fact considered to be at the bottom of the barrel by so many including those at the head of our so-called cultural organizations and our government. So forgive ac if my last postings seems a little angry.

I am so incensed by this disregard we have for art and creatives… always pushing the political quagmire in front of same. The Nelson Statue is a good example. Actually I am surprised that we do not have statues of every political leader since time immemorial from every political party side by side, each time made bigger than the last so that the importance of whatever leader from whatever political party appears to loom larger in stature than the last. Lawd have is mercy!

When will we as a people realize that art is the base of life and without art we would really be nothing. So respect is not only due but a very necessary part of our inner cleanliness. The Soul of The World is art. Just my point of view although historic facts do tend to lean this way.

Seems to me the only destruction of art worldwide has been through political intervention. Crap I say. Disrespectful and disgusting. Why must we follow the rest of the world eh? Why can’t we for once be just be different and revere our artists/artistes/craftsmen et al and over all? Seems to me they are the few that do much/create much outta pure love.

26. Beauty seen makes the one who sees it more beautiful.
    David Steindl-Rast – A Listening Heart

27. for built inside the foundation of beauty must be the statue of truth and what it represents. i want when i look at that monument it is telling a true picture that also is part of cleanliness to be open and truthful we must not let false pride get in the way for what is right and proper historically the fact that this monument is riddle in controversy is an insult and should be removed .we can clean it all we want but when the truth is hidden what the statue represents becomes meaningless and we are in danger of presenting a falsehood . truth be told.

28. Rosemary

Don’t mek me laugh. Statues of Political leaders … for what reason. Hey, is it not because of these same people that these public works of art remain unattended? There are busts of outstanding Barbadians that have placed in a number of schools around the country, a Clement Payne fella that was positioned for more than fifteen years, Three W’s at the top of University Hill, all left to disintegrate with time. You see Rosemary unless the work of art is older than sixty years old (I believe), the originator can retain some sort of copy right that forbids an NHC worker or anyone else from touching it. These leaders that you would love to have immortalized will NOT pay a creative to maintain these wqrks, in fact the thought of paying a creative disgusts them, period. So either the creative volunteers of his time to maintain the piece or he waits for people like you to help expose this bias in the engaging of the skills of Barbadian citizens. A lawyer can get an easy pick in a Commission of Inquiry that will result in NOTHING but a Creative will not be paid for maintaining a beautiful piece of public effort. Feel me?

29. Are we capable of separating the issues?

Let us for sake of the discussion agree that it is a wonderful piece of art which was created by a Bajan. Who is responsible for keeping the damn place clean. Let us begin at this point.

Leave the historians to challenge the facts.

30. “I am so incensed by this disregard we have for art and creatives… always pushing the political quagmire in front of same. The Nelson Statue is a good example. Actually I am surprised that we do not have statues of every political leader since time immemorial from every political party side by side, each time made bigger than the last so that the importance of whatever leader from whatever political party appears to loom larger in stature than the last. Lawd have is mercy!”

BAFBFP – perhaps you really have to get to know my sense of humour…I was talking about the ridiculousness of mixing art with politricks.

But yes…for the rest I get your drift particularly this “These leaders that you would love to have immortalized will NOT pay a creative to maintain these wqrks, in fact the thought of paying a creative disgusts them, period.” Except leave our the bit about leaders that I would love to have immortalized…nope…not me! I would like to see more art pieces/sculptures/murals spread around the island…that yes! Bajan art in schools, art in government offices, art in businesses and particularly art at the airport. And yes! I would like to see all well-looked after.

The seriousness of how we regard our artists, the disrespect really, is something that needs to be addressed. When my father died I was contacted by the Horticultural Society at Balls Plantation because an enormous painting my father had done required repair and my family advised I was the best to do the restoration.

What I saw on arrival made me sit on the floor and cry. Broke my heart. My father had painted on three panels of 4′ x 6′ plywood, each separated by a tiny division in the mounting of same, a scene of the St. George Valley (I presumed). It was beautiful but badly scared. On looking at it closely, rain had been allowed to seep through the roof so the whole top of the panels were peeling almost half-way down the work in places, as plywood would do. But the real shock was…the quantity of staples, nails, thumbtacks that had been imbedded in same over the years. The painting had obviously been used as a notice board!

I had to get scaffolding as the painting was enormous, almost to the top of the ceiling. And slowly and meticulously, having thoroughly cleaned same, glued back every little piece of peeling wood, then removed the added attractions (some near to 2,000 staples et al) and with each one I pulled, I was angered for the disrespect of the work. To me it does not matter if an artist paints on a wall or on the floor or on paper or leaves…what is to say that it is not important. Think hieroglyphics by ancient man and how important they are for they tell stories of a time passed.

Four weeks later, I created with the help of the spirit of my father who I begged to guide my hands, a restoration that I felt he would be proud of. There were no more divisions, no more holes, and the work was fresh and new and revived. I undertook the work for a fee (much less than the time was worth) under the understanding that this abomination would never happen again and a small plaque commemorating his work would be placed nearby. It was done. I go to inspect every now and then. Sad it took his death for the Society to see that perhaps this painting was worth something…enough to have it restored. They paid for that mistake but I commend them for I say… better late than nevah!!!

Let us hope the amazing mural in Speightstown does not suffer the same kind of criminal abuse. It is all a matter of education and it has to come from above. So again I appeal to whoever is in charge whether it be NCC or the Ministry to do something about this statue. And if you have the most ignorant view that it is politically incorrect to do so, then publicly say so (that should go down well with the creatives just before elections!) and I will form a group of concerned creative citizens and we will do the job. Done.

I will visit in another two weeks and see what has taken place.

Thanks David….you have it correct.

31. Rosemary count me in pon dat! I got muh hoe and cutlass ready.

32. There you islandgal…women to the rescue….must say all my creative group that are ready are all women. That’s us. Ready at all times for any eventuality. Even giving birth to a bunch of wutless lazy men… ha ha haaaa!!!

33. i KNOW THIS IS ABOUT SPORT. BUT…TO ME IT SHOWS THE DISRESPECT THAT POWERS THAT BE HAVE FOR THOSE WHO DO WHAT THEY DO MORE THAN WELL AND WHO MAKE MONEY FOR OTHERS TO LIVE WELL BY TOO. BARBADOS ENT NO DIFFERENT. THERE IS A HUGE DISRESPECT FOR CREATIVES…AND WHEN I READ THIS STORY I THOUGHT TO MYSELF….LAWD THAT COULD BE US IN A WAY WHO DAT EEDIOT TALKING ‘BOUT. SO WHY AM I A CONCERNED CREATIVE…EXACTLY BECAUSE OF THAT DISRESPECT.

Fresh Take: Usain Bolt is a legend — even if the IOC disagrees
    By Dan Wetzel | Yahoo! Sports – 2 hours 34 minutes ago

LONDON – Long after the Legend of London delivered another gold medal for Jamaica, long after he ran away from a pack of outclassed opponents, this time as the anchor of 4×100 relay that would bust the world record with a time of 36.85, long after he accomplished his historic goal of defending three championship here, long after he thrilled 80,000 in Olympic Stadium and millions across the globe, from English castles to poor third world streets, Usain Bolt was asked about Jacques Rogge.

Rogge is the president of the International Olympic Committee who conducts himself with all of the tact, understanding and compassion of a falling safe. If Bolt is what is best about the Olympics, Rogge is what’s worst.

Thursday Rogge was asked by reporters about Bolt, who would on Saturday win his third gold medal and thus become the first man to ever defend his titles in the 100-meter, 200-meter and 4×100-meter relay.

Rogge, as is his character, decided to sniff at the concept that Usain Bolt, while certainly a star, could yet be called a “legend”, the very word Bolt set as his goal coming in here. This was the principal holding back praise for the kid with the perfect grades because, well, because that’s what powerful people do when they feel threatened.

“The career of Usain Bolt has to be judged when the career stops,” Rogge told reporters. “If you look at the career of Carl Lewis, he had [four] consecutive games with a medal. Let Usain Bolt be free of injury, let him keep his motivation which I think will be the case, let him participate in three, four games, and he can be a legend.”

Right, do it for me again. Make me more money again.
    Rogge went on to cite British rower Steve Redgrave and sailor Ben Ainslie, according to the Independent newspaper, as legends. They won gold in five and four Olympics respectively.
    A sailor? Oh, Jacques, how perfect.
    “You have to be there, you have to be at the top for almost 20 years,” Rogge said.
    Look, call those guys legends all you want. Amazing accomplishment. Tremendous sportsman. Spread the praise all around. It doesn’t even remotely compare to Usain Bolt or competing in the sprints against his field of competitors.

You want a legend? Here’s a legend. With three legs of Saturday’s 4×100 complete, Jamaica and the United States were essentially tied, Bolt getting the baton perhaps an instant ahead of American Ryan Bailey.

From that point on Bolt blew past Bailey, hitting a speed that is almost unspeakable, causing Olympic Stadium to nearly come unglued and eventually charging through the finish line with a world record despite cool and windy conditions. No one who witnessed it will ever forget.

The Americans ran 37.04, which tied the old world record. So no team ever, in the history of earth, ran faster than the United States did Saturday. And they still lost by about five meters.
    “He was basically the difference in the team,” said American Justin Gatlin. “We were even through three. When he got the stick there was nothing we could do about it.

You want a legend? Here’s a legend.
    It’s Justin Gay weeping after finishing fourth in the 100-meter to Bolt, realizing that no matter what he does, he can’t really compete. “I tried man,” Gay said. “I tried my best.”
    It’s Bailey, shrugging at the helpless feeling of watching Bolt just run away from him in the relay? “He’s a monster,” Bailey said.
    It’s the look on Yohan Blake’s face when in both the 100 and 200 he watched his countryman just toy with him despite running a personal best in one and a season’s best in the other. Blake is the second fastest man on the planet and he isn’t in Bolt’s category.
    [Photos: Track and field fashion statements]
    “When he starts to open that stride,” Blake said. “He is not normal.”
    That’s not a legend? He has to do it a couple more times?

Look, in the scale of insults this ranks low – not being called a “legend” isn’t exactly Facebook bullying – unless you know Rogge’s background with Bolt.

Rogge has never been much of a fan. This isn’t new ground. It was worse in Beijing, when the bureaucrat scolded Bolt’s “sportsmanship” for celebrating his victories an instant before crossing the finish line.

Never mind he was setting world records anyway or that the showmanship was turning athletics into must-see TV across the globe or that he was inspiring a new generation of athletes. Forget that the overabundance of excitement is simply how Bolt – and many of the free-spirited Caribbean sprinters – operate.
    Forget that. Rogge’s and his organization have made billions off of athletes but once they step out of some elitist definition of “sport” – one that still think the pastimes of the wealthy such as dressage and sailing are equal to primal pursuits such as a sprint – then they snap.

The only thing bigger than Bolt’s stride is his personality. He was everywhere Saturday night, everywhere these entire games. He knew they came to see him and he put on a show in every imaginable way.

He entertained with introductory dances, hand signs and beaming face. He joked during press conferences. He kidded with competitors. He repeatedly mocked all the dumb IOC “rules.”
    After the 4×100 he tried to make off with the baton, a pretty sweet bit of memorabilia to take home to the people of Jamaica. Instead it was seized under threat of disqualification.

“[The official] said I can’t keep it because it was the rule,” Bolt said, rolling his eyes at the ridiculousness.
    He eventually got the baton back.
    At the end of the relay he honored Britain’s 5,000-meter gold medalist Mo Farar by doing his “Mobot” move – using his hands to form the letter M above his heads. The British crowd went wild, loving Bolt even more than they thought imaginable. Of course, Farar created the maneuver after a TV host asked him to match Bolt’s signature fake bow and arrow pull.
    Eventually the two of them wound up on top of the podium doing each other’s deal and laughing hysterically about it.
    It was like a vortex of all things Jacques Rogge hates.
    These are the Olympics. This is serious. I’ll decide who is and isn’t a legend.

The IOC makes the NCAA seem like the girl scouts. It sits on a $1.6 billion in assets. It pays all of Rogge’s expenses at an estate in Switzerland. It has all these champagne clowns walking round patting each other on the backs while the fans tune in night after night for mega-stars who aren’t given a cut of the money.
    And yet given the chance to express an ounce of gratitude, to act like an excited fan the way the rest of the world is, to give a nod of respect for a guy who just did what no man ever has in a manner no man could ever imagine, Jacques Rogge just couldn’t help but act small.

So, yes, Usain Bolt, in his greatest moment, after calling his shot, setting the bar and then accomplishing it, just after being the loveable personality that makes this entire enterprise work, had to be asked about the ignorance of the patronizing, pretentious head of the Olympics.
    “For me, I would respond by asking him a question,” Bolt said. “What else do I need to do?
    “I’m the world record holder in both events [the 100 and 200-meters]. I’ve broken the world record a couple of times. I’m the Olympic champion. Twice. In both events. I’m world champion. I’ve done everything that is possible to do in my events.
    “So what is there I need to do?”
    Maybe take up sailing?

34. @Rosemary

Sometimes one just have to scratch ones head and bite the lip. The article is reminiscent to when the ICC penalised the great West Indies team for a slow over rate despite the fact the WI was beating the other teams in 3-days.

35. So what more is it he needs to do? He has done and out done what he wanted to accomplish. What more has he got to do? Tell dem to kiss his ASS!

36. Did not want to say it. But will. Idiots need to go to sleep for a long, long time. Note I held my tongue and did not say for evah. Sleeping for a long, long time might keep me away from Dodds and give them chance to look at life in a different way.

37. David…idiots are not just up north…

38. By the way…you ent hear that Minister Lashley said the culture/creative arts or whatever they want to call it, I hear entrepreneurship being bandied about still, is worth some 800 million dollars per year…? Remember I asked if you had heard ’cause I did not hear it myself, nor from his mouth…but birds fly and whisper all the time. I wonder who it gine be worth to given the chat in the CIB??

Look just go get that statue and its surroundings cleaned up do…the respect for ‘us’ 800 million dollar ‘hopes’ can start there!!!

39. It is such a shame that a statue of such historical significance has been left to wilter and die a slow death as most of the historical sites seem to do in Barbados. The island is full of history that should be preserved so that we can pass it on to our children and ensure that such things as slavery are never forgotten and more importantly never repeated!! Thank you Rosemary for finding such a lovely piece of historical art. I hope the powers at be wake up and start doing their job. The fact that this statue might have been disregarded because of politics is shameful and the current government shoudl be throuroughly embarassed!! I look forward to some action being taken to preserve this beautiful site so that the next time I am on island I can take my daughter there and teach her about her heritage!!

40. What i like about Bolt is that he has brought the kind of stardom to athletics that has not been seen in sport since Mohamed Ali and Pele. You do not have to follow the sport to know who Bolt is. This sailor that the man from the IOC mention, wah I neva hey ’bout he …! Bob Marley is a legend in my mind because his work reaches across generations.and cultures (even more so than Michael Jackson and others) and is still very current. But Bolt, of you were to come across a previously undiscovered tribe in South America, chances are they would have heard the name Usain Bolt. No he is NOT yet a legend but he is most certainly the brightest star the sport has EVER seen …!

41. David

Thanks for sharing my views.

Rosemary

You stumbled onto a piece of bogus History. That piece of art commemorates a shameful part of our history. The names on the monument were ex-slaves that received a legacy for not taking part in what is now referred to as the Bussa Rebellion. With the legacy, they purchased land which formed part of the former Rock Hall plantation. They did not establish the Rock Hall village as the inept historians want to suggest. They bought land in 1840 and extended an existing village. Presently there is an existing building in what is now called Rock Hall which has been traced back to 1832. That is even before those ex-slaves were released.

The monument at Rock Hall was erected to the memory of slaves who accepted BLOOD MONEY for not taking part in the Bussa Rebellion.

The house that was demolished was anything but a slave hut. Similar structures could be found in Ireland and the English countryside. It was most likely the home of indentured servants who worked on the former Rock Hall plantation.

The monument was as a result BOGUS HISTORY.

42. “It is such a shame that a statue of such historical significance has been left to wilter and die a slow death as most of the historical sites seem to do in Barbados”

Not Mi Admiral Nelson though, still standing tall in a blaze of glory after 300 years while the other fly by night statues are left to wither and die. Hope that EWB”s in Independence square does not befall the same left as Clement Payne’s in Golden Square.

43. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ balance | August 13, 2012 at 7:54 PM |
    “Not Mi Admiral Nelson though, still standing tall in a blaze of glory after 300 years while the other fly by night statues are left to wither and die”

Like Caswell (this evening CBC TV star) I would like to correct you historical “facts” about Lord Nelson’s statue. The greatest British seafarer and naval officer died at the Battle of Trafalgar in 1805 and a monument was erected in his honour in Barbados in 1813 some 30 years before the monument in Trafalgar Square in London. So chronologically speaking it is only 199 years old. Next year it would be 200 years and if the BTA is worth its salt it would promote an effective publicity campaign among the British Naval community to encourage special tours and on going visits to Barbados for the 200th celebration. After all, despite whatever Trevor Marshall might say, Nelson was greatly admired and loved by his naval compatriots including many black men from the Caribbean who served under him for his fairness and compassion. He was even voted by the British in a recent poll of 4 years or less as the greatest naval officer and one of the greatest Britons that ever lived.

44. Miller

Wah you trying to prove …?

45. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ BAFBFP | August 13, 2012 at 8:58 PM |
    “Miller: Wah you trying to prove …?”

That we can get some good foreign exchange from the con! The British are very good at embellishing history for their own economic benefit. Why can’t we? After all, we are not called little England for nothing. All part of the game called economic prostitution which we are good at since we no longer produce things so we could as well live a lie.

46. @ miller

first of all we not “caucasician ” .

47. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | August 13, 2012 at 9:31 PM |
    ” miller: first of all we not “caucasician ”.”

Tell that to the mimic men who sit like apes in Parliament pretending to be more Westminster than Queen Victoria MPs except when it comes to resignations.
    The average Bajan feels exceedingly comfortable bragging about their Scottish or Irish or Welsh or English family names without being cognizant of their origins and adaptation after they were ejected from squatting on prime plantation lands.

48. Rate This
    Caswell Franklyn | August 13, 2012 at 7:09 PM |
    You stumbled onto a piece of bogus History. That piece of art commemorates a shameful part of our history. The names on the monument were ex-slaves that received a legacy for not taking part in what is now referred to as the Bussa Rebellion. With the legacy, they purchased land which formed part of the former Rock Hall plantation. They did not establish the Rock Hall village as the inept historians want to suggest. They bought land in 1840 and extended an existing village. Presently there is an existing building in what is now called Rock Hall which has been traced back to 1832. That is even before those ex-slaves were released.
    I’ve always wondered why freed slaves of /from Mount Wilton Plantation , bordering on the parish of St Joseph, were ‘given’ land at Rock Hall in the middle of St Thomas to establish a free village. Descendants of the freed slaves of Mount Wilton plantation were still living up to the mid 1960’s a stones throw away , west of the plantation yard, in a village commonly referred to ,and sign- posted by the then MTW (H&T) as the Nigger Yard. North of this location was another village which would have been established ,most likely soon after emancipation,known as Mount Wilton Scotland, and as Millertheanunaki pointed out in an earlier post,the people of this village was “ejected from squatting on prime plantation land” some time in the mid 1970’s,with the assistance of the government of the day, and we all know who now occupy the adjacent community, a few dozen yards away.

49. “Like Caswell (this evening CBC TV star) I would like to correct you historical “facts” about Lord Nelson’s statue”
    thanks for the correction Mr Miller and i do share your suggestions as well.’

50. Whatever the history, it doesn’t matter, because here we have a wonderful piece of art in a beautiful setting. Even Caswell’s version of the freed slaves accepting “blood money” is a good enough story to tell. The fact is that visitors are fascinated by the history, warts and all. The site needs preserving and the proper story needs to be told.