Submitted by Rosemary Parkinson
Standford C. Haynes creator of the Rock Hall statue

Saturday 11th August I happened to swerve into a gap off a main road in St. Thomas, just by chance…’twas a dead end…but…what I saw shocked the life outta me. A most amazing piece of work stood tall into the skies literally in the middle of nowhere. As I drew near I realized it was a statue of a man, woman and child with arms outstretched as if touching the heavens. I was totally taken aback. What was this gorgeous piece of work all about? On approaching…the first thing I noticed was the dilapidated state of this monument, its surroundings and its plaques…there were several. I managed to read one of them. Rock Hall was the area, Cynthia Forde (previous government) unveiled same, one Standford C. Haynes was the creator, it was bronzed in the UK. The plaque did not say whether Mr. Haynes was a Barbadian but with this name, I assumed he would be. And even if not, who cares. The images are simply stunning.

But here comes the sadness. They are in desperate need of a cleaning…I ent seh scrubbing dong…just a little cleaning. There are no benches or seating arrangements of any kind to be had for those who might like to relax and admire this work of art. I looked around and although there was a lovely green pasture, there was no sign that said I could picnic there if I wanted. Actually it looked like private property with some cows grazing and a lovely backyard garden…but for sure such a simple thing as a few little picnic tables would have been nice.

As I looked around, I came across two more plaques under some overhanging bush. One gave names of free slaves and the other (both sadly needing some repair) said the following:

“From the Belly of the Slave Ship to a Free Holder, the Spirits of the African Ancestors beckon the enslaved souls guiding them to the first Free Village. Standing tall in a sacred pool of water, the Bronze ancestral Spirits rise majestically across the ravine symbolizing that any mountain can be climbed, any turbulent ocean crossed and any shackled soul can be Free. It is generally believed that the seeds of mankind were sown in Africa. The Spirits therefore represent ALL Races. They are guiding ALL people to a place free from Mental and Physical Slavery, a Place free from Guilt and Shame.”

What words. What beautiful words. In particular “The Spirits therefore represent ALL races”. Wow! Okay…so here I was mesmerized but still not fully understanding the connection between this monument and the few houses in the little gap. An elderly appeared. I asked a question or two. And guess what? (a) Rock Hall was the first free village on the island. How fantastic and historic is that!!!(b) The NCC is supposed to keep the area clean, paid to do it (so he tell me) but have not been seen for some three years or more. Three years????!!! The elder tries to trim trees and bush because the odd person or bus comes up to visit and (c) no there’s no sign to his knowledge on the main road so passersby could relate. Hmmm….

Now seriously….if you cannot have a magnificent piece of work done by a creative looked after, if you cannot have its surrounding area cleaned, if you cannot have a sign telling people what this is all about, how will we ever get our children to understand their past and therefore their present. Maybe it is left to ravages of nature because the BLP built it. I do not want to believe that we could really be that foolish and vindictive. This is a work of art. Yes! A work of art. In any other country this would be something to be so proud of.

Ministry of Culture, Youth and Sports…sorry to say…but are we ‘creatives’ such second-class citizens that this kind of disrespect is due to our work? Is our history that the above plaque talks about to be so ignored and left to waste away in bush and debris? Would this not be an amazing story to tell visitors….should this not be considered heritage? And please…because I happened to make the decision to bring this to the attention of the public at large…don’t do the foolish thing and make it into a paying area for tourists instead of what it should be…a well-kept manicured spot of beauty where Barbadians and visitors can come and be spiritually enlightened! Remember the words on the plaque ALL RACES and FREE.

Shame. Shame. Shame.

I AM A CONCERNED CREATIVE CITIZEN…MORE SO THAN EVAH!

118 responses to “The Neglected Space At Rock Hall”

1. “The Spirits therefore represent ALL Races. They are guiding ALL people to a place free from Mental and Physical Slavery, a Place free from Guilt and Shame.” So says the words on the plaque.

Guess what? Whatever the story of Rock Hall, it is still historic. We real have a problem with the past in this little here island….even the Jews have kept a memorial on the spot of the murder of millions up north…a place to go to and meditate.

Let me say one thing again….could not care less who wrong or right historically…the place is awesome and could be easily turned into a spot of peace and meditation. And If wunnah (I know not all of you do) hate the history behind it, and doan like the statue so much because it stands for slaves who did not rebel even ‘though you were not there to understand why they did not, and because of this it doan come under what you consider to be history, then please, please give it to me for Christ sakes before the next government come into power and declare it a place of raas worship to the Gods of foolishness. I will put it in my yard and let people come to see it. I will admire it daily as a piece of awesome work by a Bajan sculptor who put a lot of love into same. I will love it because it is Bajan and stands for much more than some of you ‘historians’ and ‘haters’ can see.

This goes for Nelson too. And any other statue out there that you will as undignified or ent got the right history or is Caucasian or is too black or is crooked or is too straight or is gay or is homophobic or is Dear God anything at all to find fault with…and therefore should not be up for the public to see or enjoy, gee it to me! Anyone out there also with art they doan like because the artist was a DLP or a BLP or XYZ, gather it all up and I will take it off your hands…will even collect meself so no need to deliver!

This is why this rock ent gine nowhere. Crabs in a barrel fighting for nothing. Creativity downgraded into misery because of history. What the f*#k am I hearing here? Lawd help this country to elevate itself outta de quagmire of hate…help them to see the beauty in things present and look back at the past to learn for the future. The whole lot of you need to read some spiritual books…not just the Bible where the parts of Sodom and G. and war and hatred of this one or that one are the parts you hang on to like bat hang on cave-roof daytime!

Islandgal you still want to help make this place a little sanctuary? Leanne when you come from foreign for a likkle hols, you think some gardening would do you and your daughter some good? The history that has unfolded changed your mind? If no to the latter, when I done with this book…by the middle of September….you, me, and a group of concerned creative citizens, we will go to Rock Hall and help the villagers (as horrible as their historic past must be, as miserable as wunnah think their ancestors were) to make the area a place of beauty. I am now more shamed than evah.

I AM A CONCERNED CREATIVE CITIZEN AND VERY VERY PROUD TO BE ONE!!!

2. @Rosemary

Many here are not understanding where you are coming from.

The lack of upkeep of Rock Hall by Barbadians has nothing to do with a contentious history, it speaks to our insensitive attitude to culture, history, environment etc.

3. Exactly David….exactly. I cry for the rock because that is so very true and at the heart of all our problems…socially and economically.

4. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Peltdownman | August 14, 2012 at 6:51 AM |
    “. … The fact is that visitors are fascinated by the history, warts and all. The site needs preserving and the proper story needs to be told…”

Well said peltdownman! As you moniker suggests, visitors do indeed like to visit places of historical or even archaeological significance. This is how Britain and other European destinations are able to attract millions to their heritage sites.
    Barbados must understand that not all visitors, especially the older more affluent generation, do not want to spend all day on the beach but would be quite keen to take tours to visit places of historical, architectural and heritage interests. Old churches, well maintained grave yards with legible headstones can give at a glance a moment of local history. Great houses and quaint villages with interesting histories (ghosts, strange events even if embellished to impress visitors) and areas of environmental beauty and serenity can add to our declining menu on offer to visitors.
    But the majority of Bajans who happen to be black are generally ashamed of their past and would do anything to keep it there and hidden or overrun with bush, strewn with unsightly garbage and plastic throwaways or even destroyed like some Islamic fundamentalists who see anything created by other faiths (or ethnic groups) as un-Islamic and must be deleted from the sight of Allah.

5. Rosemary I am in just let me know when. We have acknowledged the good and the bad in life, why can’t we do the same with history?

6. peltdown: whatever the history, it doesn’t matter, because here we have a wonderful piece of art in a beautiful setting. Even Caswell’s version of the freed slaves accepting “blood money” is a good enough story to tell. The fact is that visitors are fascinated by the history, warts and all. The site needs preserving and the proper story needs to be told.

history does matter that is the only thing society has to rely on it is our ancestral road map and should be preserved through Honesty and integrity in order to give true and distinct picture of our past. no one ! no on! should be allowed to foister a falsehood for monetary gain or political on people in the name of history that monument represents a lie and should be removed.blasphemy!

7. Bless ya islandgal246.
    Miller (and all the rest of your name…love it)…you are so right. When I visit other countries I love to go to places with a story…sometimes the stories are quite the most awful…but nevertheless it makes for excitement and lessons well learned. With this monument all sides could be given…you could even add on about duppies living in de bush etc..

You know what best I doan say more…perhaps those in the present government who hate all that the last one did….will gladly gee’ me de site with statue an’ all…ya gine see how one can work nutting into something in that little community… bess’ I shut up now and wait for the call … ooops! problem is I have nothing to exchange the spot with…I am just a poor creative…leh me go look in my cupboards and see if I find something…shoots….I jess remember is land the big-ups want….that is the only exchange I gine get…so that idea goes out the window. Maybe the ancestral spirits will make it happen ’cause I know dem not too good with all this silly back and forth….I will leave it up to them!!!

8. the only thing to be cleansed are the facts and historical facts surrounding the monument any thing else is window dressing and it is going to take more than soap and water to wash those facts away . we as a society are too superficial and pretentious and lives by the theory “Seeing is believing”

9. Miller, Peltdownman, Rosemary et al

There is a fundamental problem with black Bajans and white Bajans. Some black Bajans want to delete their history while some white ones are opposed to the Black Bajans celebrating their history. I remembered when Bussa statue was to be erected, a Mr Goddard wrote to the newspapers saying that was sending the wrong message to Barbadians and will cause people to embrace violence and cause more problems. We have been fed for 300+ years that we are no good and that we have to deny our African roots and many would boast only of their European roots. Even the blackest would boast that they had a “White” grandparent. Whenever I hear this story I would ask so why are you still black, where did you get your colour and hair from? It is very hurtful to see Black people deny their heritage. Very few of the whites would boast of their black lineage.Many would brag about they were here from the time the Olive Blossom docked. One race was made to be ashamed of their lineage and the other was made to be proud of theirs. How can we fundamentally change this? People like Caswell will find a million reasons why the history behind that village is incorrect. Who cares if the people who settled there refused to rebel? It is history and should not be buried. Let us face it islands like Trinidad, Grenada, St. Vncent, St. Lucia Martinique and Guadeloupe, Haiti Jamaica etc have a rich cultural background. They know their history and are still discovering it. They have erected monuments proud to let the world and their people know their history.
    http://www.facebook.com/virtualmuseum.oftrinidadandtobago
    That FB page is fascinating for the history buffs here.

Ah gone

10. Barbadians are a LOST people

11. nobody talking about delete history if the facts are untruthful then it should be delted .i have heard many here on BU reject the bible as historically infactual and untrue . so why continue to prepritrate another falsehood in the name of history . where does it stop.

12. http://www.facebook.com/Underwatersculpturepark

Grenada’s Underwater Sculpture Park and the statues created by Jason deCaires Taylor are featured in a special edition National Geographic magazine titled ‘Wonders of the World – Earth’s most awesome places’

13. AC sometimes you should really keep your mouth closed.

14. Caswell

You will find bogus history in the whole GOB sponsored National Heroes exercise.

Much of it is surreal.

It presents a different story for those who have been led to believe that our ancestors and history were shameful and need a different perspective.

Like the experience with Mr. Broomes, it was also an exercise in the politics of inclusion.

Politics is about perceptions …… forget the facts!!

Me, …. I like the facts, ……..wrinkles or no wrinkles, …….. I can’t choose my family.

Col Buggy

I apologise I have not delivered the images ….. computer issues and repairs!!

15. keeping it real we teach our our younsters to tell the truth. but for us we seem to find it hard to so so. why condemn others ? why we are no better!

16. i will never visit that piece of controversy heading skyward which represents a boldfaced lie neither invite others to do so. reminiscent of the way our History was written and constructed for us to believe until some truth were told

17. We have lost the basis of this story.

Quite simply….

It is a beautiful statue.

It has a story.

It needs to be recognised.

The area needs to be kept clean if the NCC has been assigned the area.

And if we can know the exact historical context all the better. Then it can be recorded and told. Then it can be a place to take people and tell stories. The human race is a collection of stories passed down.

18. Lawd AC tek some immodium quick!

19. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Colonel Buggy | August 12, 2012 at 9:44 PM |
    “Are we the same people who used to keep the plantation great house lawns, gardens , hedges and its general surroundings in immaculate condition?”

Quite true, Colonel!
    Barbados was once a miniature of a green and pleasant land but is now a dumping ground and graveyard for Japanese cheap 10 year disposable vehicles. All over “lower income” communities one can see the numbers of derelict vehicles lining the streets or dumped on some open lot.
    These are real eyesores that project an ugly environmental disgrace and have potential as threats to public health through offering opportunities for the mosquito and rat populations to multiply and threaten the health of residents and visitors.
    The agencies responsible for the environment and public health need to do something about this deteriorating situation as more and more vehicles (iron donkeys) are left abandoned and cannot be restored because of built-in obsolescence to ensure a steady demand and secure market for these consumer status symbols and polluting hazards.
    The country needs to identify a central junkyard for these derelicts where they could be stripped of all environmentally hazardous materials with any useful and recyclable parts taken away. The remaining bodies (iron carcasses) could be taken to specially designated parts of our seabed and laid there to form artificial reefs in order to encourage fish and diving expeditions.

20. Well said islandgal246….sad enough.
    But there is time…like now! for change. Or die in a quagmire of hate…

21. LOL Truth has now becone hate but then truth is the furst casualty of war. however a lie woud stand defiant sipiraling upward into the skies.while we applause.

22. politicians in Barbados remain partisan in all spheres even in things concerning our history. this area would only be in the news again when the blp returns to power…stupes

23. Rosemary

You are the first person that I have ever heard referring to that statue as beautiful. I can see that you need the services of Dr. Nigel Barker: he’s at Manor Lodge.

AC

I agree with you the whole thing is based on a lie and should be removed. The Arthur administration deceived the country when they erected that monument. There are acres of virgin land behind the monument which is ripe for development so they cleared away the poor residents from the foreground to make way for a spanking new gated community. The cat got out of the bag when the developers advertised the project before Government completed its deception.

The disputed History of Rock Hall was used as a pretext to move residents, who had a right to purchase the land under the Tenantries Freehold Purchase Act, off the land to make way for the gated community. The only way to legally move the residents who acquired the right to purchase would have been if Government needed the land, since your right to purchase is expired if Government published its intention to acquire the land under the Compulsory Acquisition Act.

YOU ARE BEING DECEIVED!!!

24. @Caswell

Why are the historians silent on this matter? Are you the spokesman for them?

25. @Rosemary

Can you canvas Dr Karl Watson for a view?

26. “You are the first person that I have ever heard referring to that statue as beautiful. I can see that you need the services of Dr. Nigel Barker: he’s at Manor Lodge.”

Caswell a drunk will never admit they are a drunk, I recommend that you go to the eye doctor. In the land of the blind the one eye woman is Queen. You are badly need some art appreciation classes, but then again it may just be a waste of time!

27. David

This historians are silent on this matter because they do not want to embarrass one of their own. When I completed my research on Rock Hall, I showed it to one of our local historians who asked me what I was going to do with it. I told him that I was going to write an article for the Nation and he said to me that I shouldn’t do that to Woodville because he is a good man.

Rosemary

You are also trying to deceive BU readers. You have to be looking for the gap leading to the monument to find it: you don’t stumble upon it as you suggested. I was born and raised in that area. Most likely the cow that you saw was my uncle’s. You went there with a mission. Are you involved with the gated community project?

Follow the link below and you will see why Government created this elaborate ruse to move the residents off the site.

http://www.barbadosliving.com/property.cfm?INVENTORY_ID=637&SearchType=S

28. Dear Mr. Franklyn,

Frankly I feel sorry for you. Such anger. Such inability to see the beauty in art must be very trying for you. I have deceived no one Sir. I drive around this island like an adventurer…I pull into small gaps…I go up hills I should not I am told…knock on doors…I stop and chat with people….even enter rum shops and fire one on occasion with the guys for therein I find the University of Life. Sometimes I travel alone and sometimes with a friend or friends…in the case of Rock Hall I was with a friend and we indeed turned up a little road to photograph old houses, doors and windows and we came upon the statue. The rest is above. You can ask the gentleman whose wife recently died who lives on the right hand side next to what looks like a workshop but contains bags of empty plastic bottles. He will tell you that two ladies (yes! ladies) were up there and chatted with him and also with the young boy with the cow. We even were told the story of how thieves have been butchering cows leaving behind carcasses in the night and the police have done nothing. As I said I was with a friend so I have a witness.

I am an artist, a photographer and an author. I love meeting people and documenting life. And of course I see art in everything…including your name since I do not know you personally and cannot put a face to you. Caswell Franklyn…what a different and exciting name. And I am sure you have a beautiful face worth painting….as all people do.

Breathe in and out a few times Mr. Franklyn…get some oxygen into your blood…you might even see The Soul Of The World one of these days…oxygen does that and also one’s eye especially the one in the middle. Yes the third eye Sir. The third eye is there for you to see the unseen and to recognize it for all that it is. And yes! I see so much in that stunning statue…I see all with all three eyes. Hope that helps you have a good night sleep. Bless.

And no I have no idea what you are talking about re any gated community. But will most probably find beauty within same if I happen to bounce into it the next time I find myself in the area of Rock Hall. Promise to look out for it.

@David. You really believe it makes sense to have Dr. Watson involved here…ya think he will make a difference? Let the historians be historians – they all beg to differ with each other constantly so let it be. My real interest is the extraordinary beauty of the statue and the peacefulness that surrounds same…and of course the words on the plaque…what delicious words. And as I said if those who hate it so much can work things out that I can come and take it away so that it no longer boggles their being, I would be more than happy. No sense having heavy hearts around a piece of art…I will take it home and love it the way it should be loved…unconditionally. That’s a promise.

29. If we have no peace, it is because we have forgotten that we belong to each other.
    Blessed Mother Teresa

30. @ Rosemary

If you like to be deceive no way am i gonna stop you! love the monument to death all you want. but want it represent is untrue!

31. As one who has visited the site (with photos to prove ) I was entranced by the history as recorded on the plaques at the location. I think I have a more than basic knowledge of Barbados history but I can’t recall reading about this bit of our past. There are a number of names recorded on a plaque so any historian worth his salt should be able to verify the veracity of the claim.

Whether it is historically accurate or not it represents something which in the view of some people deserves to be celebrated, however access to the site is not very welcoming and the Gov’t does very little to promote it.

Caswell has levelled a very serious accusation i.e. that the whole idea behind the establishment of this shrine was for Gov’t to relocate people in order for developers to erect a gated community. As much as I distrust politicians I find that very difficult to believe that they would toy with peoples’ emotions and create a bogus tale to benefit a select few. If this is true the people behind the idea deserve our contempt and hopefully they would never be entrusted to run the affairs of this country again.

32. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Rosemary Parkinson | August 14, 2012 at 9:38 PM |
    “Yes the third eye Sir. The third eye is there for you to see the unseen and to recognize it for all that it is.”

The pineal gland is rarely found among people who have been in physical bondage and who continue to be in mental bondage. It has been replaced by a rabidly infectious blinker or eye patch called religious brainwashing. There is absolutely no way a religious nutter can see beauty in art. Just look at the Islamic idiots that recently destroyed those old buildings in Timbuktu or the Buddha statue in Afghanistan.
    Poor Cassy is still grieving after his buddy David his favourite man. Ever so often he can be seen in the church yard like a narcissistic weeping willow over the tomb reminiscing about the halcyon days at Cawmere cock knocking with mahogany birds with David in the boys’ toilets. If you want to paint a portrait of a man who has lost his true love look as poor Cassy on a visit to the mausoleum.

33. Ahhh but they say,,beauty is in the eye of the beholder,,,,,,,so behold those who would do so…….
    Millertheanunnaki behold the artistic works of incomprehensible impoverished,destitute,defeated,dejected subhuman creatures of Haiti and cast your shallow eyes upon the Overpowering,Soulstimulating,Deafening outreach of cries through supposedly simple expressionof paint on canvas/paper or whatever!

34. @Rosemary

It seems that the people are the ones cheated when our academics cannot engage in public discourse on the validity of findings of one of their colleagues.

Isn’t this part of academic rigour which is encouraged i.e. peer review?

35. David…thou joke-est…this is the new Barbados..”I am right-eth and thou art wrong-est.” And if ya doan like what I say I gine denigrate you ’till you eat mud. Sad enough. Still love that statue! And want it all for meself bad, bad, bad. Simple tings have simple answers. This time it’s called “gee it to me!”

36. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Duppy Lizard | August 14, 2012 at 11:36 PM |

The ghosts of Toussaint Louverture and Dessalines would be most upset with you.
    The people of Haiti might be materially impoverished primarily because of the selfish, wicked and disloyal coloured elite who were expected to advance the liberation goals set by these early freedom fighters. Despite this let down the Haitian people in the main are free of the mental shackles of slavery. They, in the main, are a poor but proud people and fierce guardian of their psychological independence being the first black nation that actually fought for their freedom and political independence long before slavery was ended in Barbados. Most blacks in Barbados are still mired in a colonial plantation past and weighed down by mental slavery for them to see beauty in culture unless it is ‘wukking up’ as was expected of them.

Duppy, don’t take my remarks outside the Bajan social context because there is where it was meant for. I doubt very much that Jamaicans suffer from such deep-seated mental handicap as to stifle their creative juices and blind them to the beauty of art in which ever form. Why do you think that black Bajans are considered the least ‘entrepreneurial’ (although the most ‘mis-educated’) people in the Caribbean? Ask yourself Lizard, in how many Bajan middle class homes (if they were really so high-culture oriented, to use the Minister’s recent foot in mouth outburst) would you see original paintings and rare books even by regional writers unless they are cheap prints imported by merchants or some religious book of myths and incredible stories.

Right, Zombie Reptile! Just pulling your obeah Haitian tail that can easily grow back. (LOL!!!)

37. @miller
    there is a difference and a real difference between
    ART! Beauty ! and a falsehood . the beauty in any sculpture or picture is the story which it tells or that which it represents truthfully all else is meaningless! as a writer rosemary should understand and appreciate believability than in itself is a work of art and one which she should readily endorsed over what the eyes sees.

38. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | August 15, 2012 at 8:22 AM |
    “there is a difference and a real difference between ART! Beauty ! and a falsehood ”

Couldn’t agree with you more , ac.Well said!

But hey, art critic explain if there are both beauty and truth in paintings depicting the birth of Jesus in a manger and the Crucifixion of Jesus. Or is it just one big falsehood that should exposed and the artistic expressions of these lies torn down as Un-islamic or whatever?

39. miller @ac

But hey, art critic explain if there are both beauty and truth in paintings depicting the birth of Jesus in a manger and the Crucifixion of Jesus. Or is it just one big falsehood that should exposed and the artistic expressions of these lies torn down as Un-islamic or whatever?

@miller

another big falsehood one that people have accepted and for all intended purposes avoided like the bubonic plague.but for the spiritually mindedit doesnt matter because underneath it all lies the “devil incarnated” “money” whom they say they hate but sippeth at the fountain from which these statutes arrived . however just like Rosemary they only see through the eyes but their minds are stupified into letting them believe what they see and being unable to recognize and deal with the fact that they are drinking from a cup of deception l

40. Miller I see you recognize that many here are professionals around here. Art critic is now added to AC’s and Caswell’s titles.

41. islandgal….ha ha haaaaa….!!! and ac got the abbreviation for it, and Caswell…well please don’t let me be rude and say what F critic could mean. ‘Cause I am a good God fearing person who believes that we all gine to the same place at some point *lawd have is mercy* and therein we shall find the truth. The Soul of The World…is all I have to say.

What a load of codswallop I am reading here….
    Sweet fuh days….!!! Loving it. Must say.
    I keep saying eff wunnah hate the statue organize to let me come and pick it up please….I keep saying simple tings got simple answers….

42. @ rosemary

i hope when i read your book it reflects honesty and not a concept of what you think people want to hear or see. yes indeed simplicity is the best architect

43. Islandgal246

I don’t have to be an art critic to see that something is ugly. I don’t know you from Adam but from your writings on this blog, I can see that you are a really ugly person inside. You are not being funny: you are just coarse.

Rosemary

On the other, you are one of those persons who want to go around giving the appearance that you are superior, pretending to find beauty in crap in order to maintain your air of superiority. If that makes you feel good about yourself: go right ahead.

44. Bless both of you. ac and cf. You are both indeed right. Of course you are. I bow to your greater knowledge on all things.

45. saw the much heralded bussa statue and the jtc ramsay roundabout where it was located looking quite unkempt and unsightly when i passed there yesterday.only caught my eye because of the much recent idle publicity surrounding the thing in rock hall about which the erection and purposes is under dispute. always felt that such memorabilia are only erected to appease a minority group and for political expediency and not for any real significance. the people who gather there to march on emancipation ought to form a brigade and make it their business to clean good old bussa on a monthly basis.

46. ‘The disputed History of Rock Hall was used as a pretext to move residents, who had a right to purchase the land under the Tenantries Freehold Purchase Act, off the land to make way for the gated community”
    if this is indeed so, Mr Arthur like Mr Thompson for his role in the CLICO Po nzi scheme should be confined to the dustbin of political history.

47. @rosemary

can you imagine if this story reached international news how it can tarnished the image of our new and highly ststus as a world heritage sight . can you not see the devastating effects of such a falsehood the movers and shakers those involved with history should be concern

48. Ahhhh David…indeed. Have seen this man’s work before and for me it completely surreal. The patience, the love, the understanding…the ability to remove yourself from a painful day, hour, minute, second just for the sake of creating something beautiful is such a gift and those who have not been given this gift (although my father said “every single person is an artist” – think he definitely lived in la la land from what I have read above!) probably will never understand. Think if more people would just pick up a paintbrush and put colour on a canvas, take a piece of clay and mould it into any shape, colour it and place it in a kiln, or do just one little very artistic something at least once a week…the appreciation of this thing called ‘art’ would be understood. That is all it would take.

“Every child is an artist. The problem is how to remain an artist once he grows up” Pablo Picasso

“The best artist has that thought alone Which is contained within the marble shell; The sculptor’s hand can only break the spell To free the figures slumbering in the stone” Michelangelo

“When a finished work of 20th century sculpture is placed in an 18th century garden, it is absorbed by the ideal representation of the past, thus reinforcing political and social values that are no longer with us.”
    Robert Smithson

A new exhibit The Inauguration of Hope, which celebrates the election of Barack Obama, recently was on display at the Colorado History Museum. The exhibit—which features sculptures of Obama accepting the presidential nomination at Invesco Field during the 2008 Democratic National Convention and the Obama family during the president’s swearing-in ceremony in Washington, D.C.—is Dwight’s testament to the onward march of black history. “It isn’t over, and that’s why I did the Obama thing,” he says. “Regardless of what you feel about Obama and his politics—screw all that. The fact of the matter is, he was the first black guy to be the president of the United States. The history is still being made.” Ed Dwight

“Art is the stored honey of the human soul, gathered on wings of misery and travail.”
    Theodore Dreiser

…and last but not least, this is very apt here.

” And certainly the history of public sculpture has been disastrous but that doesn’t mean it ought not to continue and the only way it even has a chance to continue is if the work gets out into the public.”
    Richard Serra

49. @Rosemary

Your initial point is taken that what is erected is art and it should be taken care of by the state.

On the other point which others like Caswell are stuck on, until the government issues some official position to turnaround the decision we have to go with it.

Caswell does not represent government.