Submitted by Old Onions Bag
Pudding n Souse

sweet too sweet, young bajan Huck Finn…

As a boy coming from a plantation in St. Andrew, my first introduction to farm life was met with disdain and somewhat shame, as the agrarian life style was a total humdrum. Compared to escaping to the beaches of the East Coast road or even visits to Edgewater gully and Long pond, … why should I be feeding chickens, watering cows and washing down the dirty pig stys. For those who remembered, Onions was a champion boat  builder and racer, earning the nickname of Gibber. I was a good fisherman too, holding many baby travali and pompas with only a spool of 10 lb test, purchased with misered pocket money gotten from the farmland chores.

Why I preferred visiting the pristine white sands of Cleavers Hole, flicking for sea cockroaches (which were placed in a sand filled bucket as bait), than cutting sheep and rabbit meat, in the hot midday sun. Preferred, baiting a white cockroach on a jack hook, and tossing it in Bathsheba cooling waters and waiting for that nibble ..dit dit boom, as the fish exploded at the end of the line, making a mad dash to escape the pain of the barbed hook.

As I matured more in years, this farm hand was informed he would be going Cawmeer, and as such would need to hone his skills more in the direction of a doctor or lawyer…feeding the pigs and cutting sour grass was now a chore for the hired hands.

I  was to find more time for reading Wordsworth and Shakespeare and that lot. Equally during this time, I discovered a true love for pig and palate. Every Saturday, Mama Gibb indulged in the art of making swine n brine (as it was known then)…and became somewhat of a connoisseur. The concocting of steam potatoes in pre-washed cow intestines with a benevolent measure of the pork and cucumber n pepper (oh yes plenty) collaborated nicely with a ripe aged breadfruit. The smell was also most heavenly, and every Saturday around 11.30 a.m, cars could be seen in a long line up and down the cart road,… their occupants, utensil in hand, awaiting a supple measure of the intricacy that was sold to pay  for my Waterford education.

With time, I also got involved in the art of “swining and brining”and to good measure. With good jocose..” Snout, D souse ent dun yet ?” could often be heard when I should have been into Chaucer for the Monday’s exam. Oft I could be seen up to the elbows, stirring the ever now popular Saturday bajan delicacy and afterwards when all the cars were gone, self indulging in  glorious soliloquy.

1. Yuh is one Lickrish PIG!

2. Jesus peace man that picture is the most mouth watering pic of pudding and souse I ever see … Pity they don’ mek it like that anymore. Nowadays it is boring over sweet steam pudding and mash up pig head … stupse!

3. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ islandgal246 | July 28, 2012 at 6:39 PM |
    What does PIG stand for? Pump up, Insert , Gyrate? Old Onions is a cultured man who read Chaucer and Shakespeare at School. You don’t expect him to get involved in such “manly’ activities.

@ Old Onions: You are the same Gibbs boy that was so quiet and gentle manly at school? What’s up, rich boy Win? I right or pulling the wrong card from the pack? Remember pitching marbles on the famous “drop shot” rock?

4. yeah things tight but you sure know how to pig out. ! i too grew up not wid the farm life experience but wid family ties in de puddin/souse business ,me wasn;t too keen on de puddin but i love de souse.

5. old onion bags Avatar

@ Miller
    If I told you that either I will have to shoot myself or you…..and I sure we both want to live to see “the beast” eat “the bolt “…lol

@ IsalGal that lil pig you got …in trouble….Snout.

6. their occupants, utensil in hand, awaiting a supple measure of the intricacy that was sold to pay for my Waterford education.

Yuh mean you didn’t get any “free education”? Or is this a bit of poetic license where you stretch the truth? Who picked sheep and rabbit meat in the midday sun? don’t you know that only “Mad dogs and Englishmen go out in the noon day sun”. I used to pick my rabbit and sheep meat (not pond grass that gave the rabbits mange) in the evening after school.

Seems that even in little Barbados the terminology changes depending on where one lived, we used to call sea cockroaches “cockles”

Puddin’ N Souse my comfort food.

7. old onion bags wrote “I was a good fisherman too, holding many baby travali and pompas with only a spool of 10 lb test.”

If that statement is true, you are one of the best fishermen Barbados has ever produced.

I used to hook cavally’s with 25lb line and they used to burn my hand. We used to fish with 50lb line for pompas.

I did catch a fairly big king mackerel on 20lb hand line.

I have switched to rod and reel now I getting old and I do use 10lb to catch salmon in the 30lb range.

8. I got a big ass pot of carambola chutney simmering pon the stove since 5.00 pm and should be ready for bottling round midnight tonight. The best in town. Place yuh orders.

9. Very nicely written Mr.Onions. Cawmere is after all, well known for the Arts.

I went to the ‘Other Place’.

10. Colonel Buggy Avatar

A good piece of the old days. Remembered when a lady in the Sugar Hill area used to do the Black Pudding and souse over there on Saturdays ,and early on Saturday foreday morning after she took put the first lot of black pudding out of the big pot, she would hand it to the boys . Some used to fight like dogs to get some of that ‘Goo Goo” water. There must have been something good in it, as these boys all grew up to be big strong men,.

11. And I always thought that De Onions ent had boy days.Shame on me,but thanks for taking us all back in time.Dat was when we all saw eye to eye.Now De Onions is de very one causing all this strife.Wicked man dat.

12. old onion bags Avatar

@ Hamiliton
    Strife? What strife…you chose the wrong party, not me….lol
    @ Hants
    Read what you see, not what you wanna see…..as a boy “holding many baby travali and pompas with only a spool of 10 lb test,”…’baby’ is the operative word….Bromley boy…lol
    @ Crusoe……..with thanks
    @ Sarge…….seems like you got yours free……but should have remained cutting rabbit meat instead…….You Joe Crocker cockerel you…lol
    @The Colonel………….tippin a stingy brim,…the bust water is normal when the intestine burst…the old people used to tell the children around the pot to whisper..or the cow belly holding the puddin would burts…
    @ IslanGal………Dun know you did aT&T nutgrass root from Lavanteel…and I soon killin that lil pig..lol

13. Flying fish folly Avatar
    Flying fish folly

What is our mirror image?

SCARBOROUGH, Tobago, Friday July 27, 2012 – Barbadians have been howling long and hard over the cost of living in “the land of the flying fish”, but at least they’ve never had to fork-out TT$5,000 (US$833) for a dolphin and 14 flying fish.

Bajan boat captain Ricardo Elliott wasn’t quite so lucky.
    The Barbadian skipper was given until today to pay a court fine of TT$5,000 or serve four months hard labour after he pleaded guilty to a charge of fishing illegally in Tobago waters.

The Scarborough Magistrate’s First Court was told that Elliott, 37, and another fisherman had been observed fishing in Tobago waters last Thursday by the Trinidad and Tobago Coast Guard.

When their vessel, Pride and Joy, was stopped and searched, a dolphin and 14 flying fish were found.

The catch was confiscated and distributed to a charitable organisation in Tobago.

Read more: http://www.caribbean360.com/index

14. Bajan boat captain Ricardo Elliott wasn’t quite so lucky.
    The Barbadian skipper was given until today to pay a court fine of TT$5,000 or serve four months hard labour after he pleaded guilty to a charge of fishing illegally in Tobago waters’
    what was all the hullaballo in the media comig out of a trinidad conference three weeks ago that our fishermen would be treated humanely and a fishing agrement was imminent.
    lord have mercy onions that puding and souse picture lok inviting.

15. old onion bags Avatar

Another Bajan Sunday morning tasteful:
    fried souse

Take any left over souse (that was refrigerated) and lightly saute in small frying pan for 3 mins, enough time to slightly re-warm. Put that aside. Take any puddin (that was left over and refrigerated) and do the same. Take out and put by souse. Take two eggs and fry until brown n crispy in the remnant juices left in the pan……Eat immediately with some bran bread or rye…..and a cup of Ovaltine….murderous !!!!

16. Pudding nad souse lover Avatar
    Pudding nad souse lover

Another Bajan Sunday morning tasteful:
    fried souse and left over puddin

Lord mek peace that sound delish onions. Lightly saute the souse with fresh sliced onions do the same with the pudding. Left overs at the bestest. Onions look leave out the politics and start a little 2 by 3 restaurant its the only time you will get my support.

17. hah ! nah! too much cholesterol ! just little souse and some liver and a bowl of cou-cou!

18. old onion bags Avatar

@ Puddin Luver
    LOL LOL….Onions cud do a ting or two..thnks.

@ac….Cow liver or pig liver….my taste bugs tantalized….Harslip cutter wid pepper sauce and a cold coke..Whaloss!

19. Add a little carambola chutney pon de puddin and mek it snort!

20. For those who say that traditional pudding & souse gone through the eddoes. Not true. I’ve had some serious plates of delight over the years during my culinary travels of the island that I am documenting. And strangely enough as I did not feel like gine too far (I live in Ch Ch) was sent to Golden Sands yesterday on Maxwell Coast Rd. Sweet, sweet it was. Pudding smooth and delicious, souse with all the features, tongue & head – a delight.

Now Old Onion Bags…I would like permission to quote you in my pudding & souse section please? Maybe even in Old Time Ways section of the book. Super job at describing the good life. The book is called Barbados Bu’n-Bu’n and will be out hopefully in time for Xmas this year.

Island Gal….call muh….I want a jar of Carambola Chutney please…!!!! I am as serious as a judge. Carambola section needs it and so does my taste buds!!!! Thanks for offering…..

21. old onion bags Avatar

We need to ENLARGE these servings…Granny..D roti white like snow..wow

22. Onions I got some chutney $12.00 a bottle I will deliver to a spot you name de place. Leff muh money behind a rock and will leff de chutney pon de rock.

23. Rosemary I will see you later at de place!

24. old onion bags Avatar

@ Rosemary…..by all means ….quote the whole thread if you care…

@ IslanGal……I frighten fa you….lol

25. old onion bags Avatar

While we at it…who could remember a SNOW BALL, on Sundays?…..dash aside a snow cone by miles….who could forget the hub cap bell?…..the taste was like nothing else…..or the box card wid side glasses and shaver..
    I would love a true bajan snow ball for 25c right now!

26. ….Harslip cutter wid pepper sauce and a cold coke..Whaloss!

27. Old Onions my apologies. Didn’t realise you were hooking swallow tails and little cavally’s.

We did that when we were boys, but around age 10 we graduated to hooking the bigger fish.

Glad you learned to fish Onions because you will still be able to feed yourself when Gabby’s riots start.lol

28. Hi old onion bags

You sizzled then sizzled again and you were still fresh. I was like a little boy who was kept out of the kitchen. . . expectation overwhelmed me, many thanks.

29. Okay guys…I would love to put a section in the book of all the good eating things you all remember from way back when…if David gives permission I will say that it was taken from BU etc. etc. And I will use all the lovely names you give yourselves. Please remember I will check foolishness, so doan mess ‘roun if you want to play this game. I serious as a judge but not as devious! Gotta run…have a meeting….then home to cook a roast chicken with sweet sweet spicy stuffin’, a macaroni pie, some boiled ochra and much friend platain if I can find some ‘pun de road. And ‘eff I get a breadruit, will make the stuffing with same ’cause dat is one lovely stuffin’ to mekk. Have a wonderful and blessed day….

Island Gal…call muh or message muh. Dat Carambola Chutney got my tastest buds ‘quirling’ up!!!

30. That is fine Rosemary, BU is open source.

31. old onion bags Avatar

Wait till she taste my Frizzled Salt fish n yam pie….or Breadfruit Creole wid cheese sauce and pig tails…..or Eggplant gin jong…Baked Rainbow Travali stuffed wid bayleaf….Ah boy!

32. From reading this thread I see that we can share and care for each other. ac, this proves that we can leave out the name calling of OSA.

33. Onion slop biscuits with english potato and saltfish-all mixed together- used to cause fights in my house.
    Too sweet man.

34. all yoh got to do is wrap a sardine in an omelette .. Proper

35. Interesting times.

All a wunna may have to replace the steak and duck a l’orange with some Bajan poor people food.Old onions,

Radio and now BAFBFP coming with some serious survuval cheap food.

36. Poor people food Hants? Salt fish dear than fresh fish, pork ent cheap. Right now we might have tah ketch Rame. pigeons and doves.

37. Hants

You want pauper food … check this

Sautee onions and a bit of garlic with some ketchip and a touch of mustard. Add Smoked herring and cover for about 15 min on a low flame. Pun de side you could have a slow pot going with some seasoned chopped eggplant …

My God, sweet man, only pun a Sundy though …

38. Islandgirl

I just read to say that you got a “Big Ass” ….!

39. Baffy I hear yuh got a small toetee!

40. HA HA HA … Wah is a toetee … HA HA

41. Baffy ask any Trini LOLL

42. @BAFBFP

What she trying to tell yuh B, is that yuh ain’t got nuh lot ah size below the waist. In Trini parlance “toetee”= dickey.

43. old onion bags Avatar

Anyone has the recipe for Guyanese Oil Dun..? Willing to trade for the recipe for Eggplant Jing jong……

44. Onions it is oil down and it is from Grenada, Guyanese do a cook up, Trinis also do an oil down. I will ask my mother and some Grenadians.

45. Looks like we have to rename Onions ‘The Bellyist’.

46. old onion bags Avatar

Here is Onions’ Frizzled Yam Pie

1lb salt fish (cooked de-boned)
    1 lb yams
    12 oz cabbage
    2½ oz butter or margarine
    2½ oz onions, grated
    1 egg (set aside some white for brushing)
    4 oz cheese, grated
    parsley or tomatoes to garnish

Instructions:
    Cut up cabbage and half of the salt fish very finely, sauté in butter with onions, season to taste, and set aside.Keeping the other half of the salt fish to frizzzle fry separately as a final top garnish.
    Peel and boil yams until very soft, crush while hot in a large bowl with fork.
    Add egg and beat with a wooden spoon until it becomes white and creamy then set aside.
    Line a well-buttered pie dish with some of the yam mixture then put alternate layers of cabbage and cheese.
    Cover with remaining yam and brush top with egg white.
    Cook at 375 degrees Fahrenheit for 10-15 minutes until golden brown.
    Garnish with parsley or halved tomatoes and the frizzled salt fish kept back.

47. LOL David the french have a name for this a Gourmand
    Onions and those of you who like to cook this a collection of my recipes
    http://benthamshouse.blogspot.com/search/label/recipes

48. Gourmand….A person given to excess in the consumption of food and drink; a greedy or ravenous eater. A gourmand is a person who takes great pleasure in food. The word has different connotations from the similar word gourmet, which emphasizes an individual with a highly refined discerning palate, but in practice the two terms are closely linked, as both imply the enjoyment of good food.

49. @Old Onion…I have a traditional recipe for Grenada Oil Dong…that is where it originates…had some Grenadian workers make it for me in the Spice Garden grounds…so you can imagine…my book Culinaria:The Caribbean, now only available as a used/or used new copy on the net has the recipe…but I would gladly share for yours…yours first…I doan trust men and particular one called Old Onion Bags unless you got a real bad heart, a pacemaker, plenty money and looking for a honey to share your little bit of life with!!!

50. old onion bags Avatar

Nah IslanGal…cooking is but one of my hobbies the others are boating and fishing for the Blue Marlin and wahoo and cudda…..Land cuddas too lol