CLICK ON THE PICTURE TO JOURNEY DOWN MEMORY LANE/Allen Morrison
Stuff below submitted by Austin

Things we all love most about daily life in Barbados:

1. Pudding and Souse on Saturday morning, yuh better get there quick fuh yuh order.
  2. Going to de beach after church on Sunday wid some fried chicken, rice n peas, salad and a malt.
  3. Liming in de gap after 10pm when de vibe is right.
  4. Funny-shite talk on de mini van to Bridgetown.
  5. Watching children cross the street in school uniforms talking and smiling.
  6. Getting lost in St.Philip and running into that spectacular beach view.
  7. De Oistins fish fry on a Friday night.
  8. Grand Kadooment day when the sun is hot wid a cold banks beer in hand.
  9. Barbeque pig tail on spring garden
  10. The early morning sound of waves crashing on de beach
  11. Fish cakes wid hot sauce and a plus on bay street
  12. The busta roundabout as a reminder of slavery
  13. Coconut water and ackees on de highway
  14. Slamming dominos wid de boys under the tree.
  15. Strong bajan old ladies wid de a load on she head in perfect stride.
  16. Cool bajan old man in there Sunday best.
  17. Hamburgers and hotdogs in the gap after a night at Ship Inn.
  18. Rastas running on the beach.
  19. Watching beautiful black women walking for exercise on de main road, wrecked my car one time doing this, had a good laugh at myself.
  20. Tourist crossing the street at independence square in Bridgetown enjoying life.
  21. Watching surfers at soup bowl ride de waves.
  22. The bajan breeze that rushes in the airplane when you land in Barbados and they open the doors.
  23. The view of Barbados when returning home as you break through de clouds.
  24. Walking through the gap greeting neighbours as you go …” Ga morning, ga morning…”
  25. Giving directions to lost tourist.
  26. The people moving in synch at the upper bus stand in town.
  27. Giving two honks from de car as ya friend drives by.
  28. Early Sunday diner with family after church
  29. Snow cones on a hot day.

And finally something we all hate about Barbados – Leaving!

59 responses to “You Just Got To Love Barbados”

1. Tech
    If is one ting dat I got is a good heart. We could work ta accomplish de ‘good physical body’. And I is learn real quick. Flexible too. got game?

2. Oh boy oh boy….look how wunna gine get de rastaman in trouble.

I dont even know how to respond….LOL!!

I will ponder this when I am out training in the morning, the thoughts should make the cycling easier.

3. @BonnyPeppa
    Yuh look like yuh heading fuh divoce court, I hear de Rok filing de papers. Yuh fexible yuh must be made up wid plenty rubberband.but wait a minute . cool it wid de tech.

4. @technician
    Ponder what! Man make hay while the sun shine. tommorow ain’t promise to nobody.By the way any more single men in de family like you! just asking i already make my pick.

5. ac
    tek my foolish advice and mek anudda ‘pick’. One ting i doan share is my menz. bout de divorce papers, I seriously tinking bout askintg fa de practise of ‘polyandry’ to be instituted inta de constitution a Babadus. Dat way I could eat my great cake n got it too. Stephen Lashley is responsible fa dah ministry, I tink. He real, real cute too. A bit short but i got exceptions fa my evry rule. He got a real cute,kissable, lil bird mout.

6. Full moon!

7. Victor
    tonite or las nite?
    murdahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh

8. What I love about Barbados is that it is far from home… its the opposite to the UK in so many ways which is why it makes such a great escape. You are all very lucky.

9. W. H. Armstead, Jr. Avatar
    W. H. Armstead, Jr.

Thanks a LUMP for posting that this said account cites that BU cites that you “GOTTA” love life in Barbados for me…. And thanks also a LUMP for accepting also that this is because Barbadians are happy to show you all of the positives and to teach you to train to tolerate and to deal with it w/all of the negatives about life on their nation’s home Island for me….