Today’s announcement that Barbados sovereign credit rating has been downgraded to BB+/B from BBB-/A-3 is unfortunate. There is no consolation that we have been bundled with several European countries who have earned junk bond rating.

Dr. Frank Alleyne made a statement which resonated with the BU household on the weekend. He opined that a major problem driving our public debt is structural. He suggested successive governments have not addressed the problem. They preferred instead to be politically expedient. BU prefers to focus on a reality that in the boom years we did not solidify our economic fundamentals. One clear example was building out an economy with no concern to diversify our energy base. Another, we encouraged rampant consumption expenditure fed in the 1995-2007 period especially.

What is unfortunate is that with a general election on the horizon, the opportunity for serious public discussion and earth moving decisions will not be top of mind for government. What we have though is partisan political chatter now that Barbados has attained junk bond rating.  The opportunity for government to distil the arguments has now gotten even more difficult. BU must harp on the point that the government has to be coherent and cohesive in the way it articulates its strategy i.e. what it has achieved to date, in the near term and what it hopes to achieve.

BU commends the government – some missteps notwithstanding – for introducing reform in the energy sector at a time when the fiscal space for doing so is as narrow as it has ever been. BU has posited many times that in boom times one must prepare for the bust; we did not. Unfortunately there is a dearth of leadership and consequently a lack of vision. Where Barbados finds itself today is as a result of all the myopic policies on the last 20 years.

What BU regrets most after listening and reading the commentary which followed the S&P downgrade and Governor Worrell’s press conference is that we have a opposition party in waiting which has not had to do much to regain popularity. BU remembers during the boom time questioning the former government’s expansive strategy of debt accumulation through off balance sheet transactions.

Many have started to question if the boom period of the late 90s up to 2007 was manufactured. We have all been following the news with horror how reputable banks have rigged LIBOR rates.  We have also been following the story about oil price rigging, again by reputable entities. It maybe of interest that many of these malpractices occurred in the period of 2003 to 2005, at the height of the boom years which Barbados enjoyed.

307 responses to “Barbados Economic Misfortune Was Guaranteed”

1. “I can tell you for a fact that most of the international money for RE ignores credit ratings.”

What international money–grants? Who coming to Barbados to invest in RE for 10 houses and 6 businesses? Stupse

2. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Ellis Chase. | July 19, 2012 at 3:56 AM |
    ” I have no special training in Economics and Finance I have simply have a good ole bajan education and I have been reading the press …”
    “So please, please Miller and crew don’t tell me any shite bout I trivializing and being political, I just going below the surface, the headlines and the broad sweeping comments that we love in Bim.”

We the superficial crew would rather talk “shite” than be a stranger to the Truth. Who the hell you think you are fooling that you don’t have special training in Economics and Finance?
    If you can’t even be true to your own self how can you be objective and fair to BU readers?
    You might therefore subscribe to the view that “in the land of the blind the one-eyed man is king”.
    Unfortunately for you, Ellis Chase, there are some people in this land who are in control of their full faculties and can spot an intellectual fraud from a mile away whether from the Hill, Coleridge St. or from “over n’ away”.

But you might just be right to the extent that you are allowing your purblind political bias to cloud you rational judgement and common sense. How can you describe a request for a meeting from such an influential lobby group and a key representative of the much praised tripartite (private sector/unions/government) consultation arrangement as “laughable” and advising the MoF to “ignore these people”? The Minister being an astute politician (and I would willingly grant him that advantage) will simply ignore you instead. This is the ‘silly’ season and if the DLP is to survive the electoral battle, votes and campaign financial contributions count not academic diatribe spewing forth from any ‘armchair technocrat’ called Ellis. Why you think the MoF in his recent budget – contrary to your recommendations and the new whipping boy the rating agencies expectations- loosen his fiscal grip and offered concessions that would either put the fiscal deficit under further strain or encourage the drain of forex? The revamping of the personal income tax regime to return some tax concessions to the middle and upper income earners along with adjusting the tariff barrier on imported vehicles to encourage importation and sales are just two obvious tactics to appease these very powerful private sector interest groups.

Your quotes below, Sir!
    “Implement your budget aggressively and make S&P irrelevant. I can tell you for a fact that most of the international money for RE ignores credit ratings.”

“these three measures alone will help you keep the moodys rating, which is what you need.”

How can you be so disingenuous as to make such ‘conflicting and confusing’ statements?
    On the one hand you are telling us that ratings don’t mean a thing or ain’t saying “boo” or a “pang” in local lingo and the MoF should ignore them and do his own thing. In the next thread of advice he tells the MoF to implement strategies that would curry favour with the same whipping boy rating agencies in order to recover that needed investment grade.

You must make up your mind which seems quite muddled at this point in time.
    Should the MoF dismiss the ratings agencies and do the things he thinks best and with your blessings ignore the local private sector (including the BCCI) or should he be more sagacious and listen to more informed advice but not coming from a fraud who claims to have no special training in Economics & Finance?

3. The negotiation between major private sector agencies and government facilitators is not a matter of choice, it is a necessity.

However, what matters will be negotiated?

– sorry to say, but the import and sell business is actually, aside from fulfilling consumer needs, the worst type of business for Barbados, at this time, due to foreign exchange drain.
    – ‘fully’ productive business, such as manufacturing and services need incentive and facilitation to ensure swift and efficient service, as ‘businessman’ above said, many government departments move like molasses, even if there are good people present, the systems and authority levels do no favour good practice
    – the VAT is going to stay, because the fiscal balance needs to be maintained
    – some direct tax meaures such as grants and incentives for small businesspeople and investment in such, can be given /increased
    – a higher ‘environmental’ levy on a list of luxury goods, may have to be implemented. There is a lot of crap imported using valuable foreign exchange and this also usually has a disposal cost to packaging etc.
    Gasoline vehicles greater than 2000 cc, (not diesel vehicles) should have an addiitonal environmental levy applied.
    – as repeatedly said here, a full impetus into local agriculture, including coop land leasing by Government is necessary. Further, a hard line that no further agriculture lands can be converted to construction use, unless specifically for hydroponics.
    – New measures to attract foreign international business, including improving business facilitation and ensuring that all relevant government departments have a swift turnaround of relevant approvals etc.
    – a serious push into health tourism and seeking of appropriate investors.

We need to look at revamping the transport system, private enterprise is making money while the taxpayers run the public, is this fair? The problem is, the private system is more efficient and services people better.

4. @Crusoe

Why have you not factored the Clyde Mascoll argument which considers that about 60% of our economy is domestic driven i.e. a household paying the barber, landscaper etc. Therefore the wholesale argument that all spend in the economy leaves the country is flawed.

5. old onion bags Avatar

@ Ellis Chase
    I have no special training in Economics and Finance I have simply have a good ole bajan education and I have been reading the press and learning about ratings since the crisis in 2007.
    Why then Ellis I must say, like Miller ….Man you got a real big mout….talking all like a real diarrhea…..Are you not afraid you may speak wrong and mislead the people like Jasper Ince or worse still Darcy ? Man you writing nuff like sick botsey and wid such authority that lil man in the can would like to take some of the speech viagara you on…

6. Onions wuh de hell u got up so early in the morning to talk nuff b/shh fuh the country got problems because of an over inflated debt which in part is cause by thev reckless policies of the BLP ellis as least is looking for answers wether one agree or not while you and the other yardbirds only got nuffcriticsm typical BLP yardflows.I still waiting to hear where the BLP gonna get that 1.15billion dollars from to finance the budgetgiveaway Why don,t you address that

7. What I can’t believe is that, despite everything that has happened, and what has caused it, we continue to engage in bilateral free trade arrangements with various countries in the region. With what? What do we currently grow/make that can take advantage of larger markets? All we are doing is allowing them to take our domestic market from what producers we do have.
    Note that the Trinidadian takeover of Barbados has been in import/distribution and finance. When they fire, they fire Bajans. Do they know something that we don’t because there is surely no future in import/distribution with the forex under strain and Bajans out of work? Yet in international trade, Barbados have to be seen to be the “good boys”. Not for us any retaliation when the Trinis and others exclude our goods and arrest our fishermen. Not for us to clamp down on the millions in counterfeit and re-labelled goods being fed through Trinidad. Government claims that it needs money but won’t clamp down on this illicit trade! I’m sick of it. Sick of turning the other cheek and getting that slapped as well! Steupse!

8. millertheanunnaki Avatar

old onion bags | July 19, 2012 at 7:24 AM |

Have you been listening to the big finance guru trying to cover up like a cat after messing up?
    Heard the MoF arguing in one breath that the Barbados economy has been unfairly judged by S&P. If that is the case why not let us know where S&P have erred in their report or have misled interested parties. If S&P are seen as incompetent in their assessment why not ignore or dismiss them the same way the DLP ignores any home grown criticism -constructive or otherwise. But in a more sober moment he accepts the assessment and sees it as a wake-up call to restructure the economy and especially the public sector. But lo and behold in another long exhale of hot air he makes the faux pas of invoking the ‘blame game’ only to create more division in any bipartisan attempt to come to grips with this national economic challenge. Here he is at a “non-partisan event -not taking place at the Unity Bar or on any political platform in Black Rock- at the Land Tax Department (one of the better run public sector agencies) trying to palm off most of the responsibilities for the current sorry state of the economy on the BLP for its alleged and oft reported (CCC, ac and ! would like this) 14 years of mismanagement and misrule.

Sinckler man, get real! The DLP has been put in power to manage differently and effectively not to continue living in the past and blaming others for its shortcomings. What we have here is not 4 1/2 years of restructuring but just an exacerbation of the so-called BLP messy job. This last ditch effort is only made because the country has no choice but to change if it is to avoid bankruptcy.

Would you call all those giveaways and100 days pie-in-the-sky promises in the DLP 2008 manifesto policies and strategies geared towards any meaningful restructuring of the economy?
    I think not! Just gimmicks to fool the electorate who in any event would have kicked out the BLP even if you have only offered them mauby to drink instead of pink champagne at the $19 million VAT write-off race track and donkey cart rides instead of duty free cars and integrity legislation. Now the DLP goose is cooked and for that you ought to be returned to office to finish the demolition job on the Barbados economy you started with the first nincompoop budget imposing a totally uncollectable specific monthly tax on pre-paid cell phones, licences on bicycles, exorbitant fees on small business people and double taxation on lottery winnings. With hindsight Mr. Fields with his $8 million super lotto windfall (unlike Leroy’s gratuity) would have made a very nice contribution to the Treasury if that “imaginative imposition had been followed through with; unlike many of the other nonsensical budgetary measures proposed by Darcy, Physical Deficit & Co- some of which have hurt this economy irreparably.

9. A request from the Chamber of Commerce at this time could only be a PR stunt from their new President. Bearing in mind their interests, what could they possibly propose that could benefit the COUNTRY at this time rather than their own very narrow interests? If they come with requests, they should sho in great detail how these proposals will benefit Barbados. Don’t forget how many members of the Chamber are now Trinidadian companies.

10. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

millertheanunnaki(neitherBnorD)

Are you not tired talking the same foolishness over and over?

Only BLP operatives are listening.

11. All for jesus Avatar

JUST ASKING the word is you are Muscle Mary Noel Lynch if that’s so you have a lot of questions to answer on the fcuking up of Barbados economy beginning with where you obtain all that money all of a sudden to buy a plantation. Why the Americans would not give you a visa to work in the States afterall you is a former big able Tourism Minister. You ever sold tour buses? Stop just asking and start answering Noel MM LYnch.

12. MillertheAnnunaki;
    Excellent post at 8.27 am and also the one responding to Ellis Chase.

13. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

FROM OVER AT BARBADOS FREE PRESS

“Remember the $200 million Barbados borrowed for Cricket World Cup? Remember all those international loans in the last fifteen years? $20 million here for sugar, $30 million there for a housing study, $40 million for alternative energy, $100 million for a sewerage treatment plant that was never built, and on and on and on and on. Remember all that?

Remember the mismanaged big and small projects where the costs ended up in the stratosphere? Remember Dodds Prison, the gazillion dollar washroom built by Liz Thompson’s husband, $100 million for a useless dump at Greenland?

Remember all that and so much much more? What do we have to show for it all now?

We’ve got nothing to show for it, except a huge debt chicken that just came home to roost.”

http://barbadosfreepress.wordpress.com/2012/07/18/debt-tsunami-drowning-barbados-standard-and-poors-downgrades-to-junk-status/

14. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Checkit-Out | July 19, 2012 at 9:21 AM |

MillertheAnnunaki;
    Excellent post at 8.27 am and also the one responding to ellis Chase

See what I mean, only BLP operatives care about what you say!!!!

15. CCC
    For the record only. I ain’t no BLP or any other kind of operative.

16. old onion bags Avatar

Man Check-it
    Hold up your hand … and please go to the front of FUNDY’s class do..

17. OOB; It must be senility setting in, but oftimes I have great difficulty in understanding what you are saying.

18. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Carson C. Cadogan | July 19, 2012 at 9:13 AM |
    “Are you not tired talking the same foolishness over and over?”

I have learned well from my teacher Mr. Cadogan Thanks Sir, for your patience! You are my mentor and idol. What ever yo do I will follow.

19. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

I see on page 30 of you all Nation newspaper that Seethru is saying that the opposition is willing to sit with Government to overcome its expenditure problem.

The next time you or onions see Seethru tell him to push his “help” where the Monkey push the nuts. We dont need it.

The person who created the problem can not solve the problem otherwise there would not have been a problem in the first place.

Take that message for me.

Thanking you in advance.

20. old onion bags Avatar

I hope you all DLP-mites know that all the sardine oil massaging and dog flea biting can’t do a PANG in the way of damage control, as to cause the electorate to forget this FINANCIAL TRAGEDY…..what you all expect doa? Affa all these Blunders? You all are a real silly lot….how the hell you all could expect another TERM doa?…..Do like me, go and take out all the old records and start playing them …..and remember was could have been…CUZ ITS ALL OVA….D PIG DEAD….we are just waiting on the bell to ring to skin D ole cadaver in a hole wid a belly full of PIGLETS…..Aarson oink oink….LOL…and dat is my contribution for the morning..

21. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

onions

This one is for you.

22. @ CCC
    Do you reference the Central Bank of Barbados reports?

23. old onion bags Avatar

@ Cardboard
    Yes I know….you would be Dogflea #1 to reply with usual dross……sending me a video of a Mr. Physical deficit….a gun toting louse and a piglet # 7 in D aling DLP sow. But as Comm.Noot used to say “I can wait “…you all sorry ass days are but numbered …..(come Sept or Oct)… the people of Bdo’s will be rid of you lot…….and a dawning of a new morn shall ensue…”.It just a matter of time.”..”what goes up must come down..”

24. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Carson C. Cadogan | July 19, 2012 at 9:48 AM |

“Take that message for me.”

No me teacher, Sir. You take it yourself and I would follow you to see him also deliver his message direct to you:
    “CCC, YOUR ARE FIRED! ”
    To use an old DLP slogan: Sweep him out of the Central Constituency Council, sweep CCC out!

25. old onion bags Avatar

@ Cardboard
    Then all will be left is for you all DLP yard birds to lament on what could have been…..LOL L O S E R S !

26. miller,
    Excellent postings today.

Ellis,CCC, ac and the Minister of Finance do not realise how stupid they sound. All right, you are telling me that they “know” that the BLP mis-managed the economy according to ONLY Dems, how in the name of commonsense would sane persons come into office after their “discovery” of all this mismanagement could they spend money like drunken sailors on shore? Remember the statement….only those who stayed the course with me will be able to share in the fatted calf.

Does this make sense? It proves to me that the economy was not in bad shape and had the reserves and money left in the treasury if wisely spent in recessionary times, we would not now be in junk status today!

They did not know, did not want advice and would not take advice. Remember Donville Inniss on his feet in the House telling Mia after she rose on a point of order…….”we aint want to hear anything from wunnah, wunnah had wunnah time, now is we time and we gine do things we way”. After him, Chris Sinckler jumped up…..” wunnah had 14 years, we gine do things we way, keep wunnah advice to wunnah selves.”

Well, here we are today!

27. old onion bags Avatar

@ check it
    Checkit-Out | July 19, 2012 at 9:46 AM |

OOB; It must be senility setting in, but oftimes I have great difficulty in understanding what you are saying.
    Forgive the forwardness dear padre…..but it is most likely from the resulting contagious virus drawn from the friends you keep….”.stupidity is viral if not nipped early in the bud.”
    John .T. Lattimore

28. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ old onion bags | July 19, 2012 at 10:09 AM |

Ya ole cawmere dawg ya ! (LOL!!)
    You got very good taste in music. Notice you have a special spot in your heart for RI RI. If only you could “turn back the hands of time”, R. Kelly style and with her in your arms you would be “Born Again”.
    Stay “Forever Young”, ye old Waterford dog like me!

29. Fractured BLP Party Avatar
    Fractured BLP Party

Enuff | July 18, 2012 at 5:00 PM |
    @ Fractured BLP
    So you do admit that the FINAL ruling by the court was delivered under the DLP?

Why did not the Owen Arthur BLP gov’t settled the $ 36 million in 2006…..knowing they gave Al Barack a contract he did not deserve?

30. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Prodigal Son

You are really out of it. I feel sorry for you.

You really believe that all of this happen only a few days ago?

If I plant an Ackee seed today can I go and pick Ackees off the tree tomorrow?

31. @ Fractured
    Because he had the option to appeal?
    Government is a continuum, the same way you spent what you found, you should have paid what was owed.
    I hope the Dems pay Lagan (SMI deserved their contract?), 3S and all the other judgments against them before demitting office in a few months.

32. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Enuff | July 19, 2012 at 11:08 AM |
    ” Government is a continuum….”
    “I hope the Dems pay Lagan (SMI deserved their contract?), 3S and all the other judgments against them before demitting office in a few months.”

Very well put!
    Fractured’s brain has been totally dislocated by that one! Don’t expect any response. That statement of government as being a continuum is too “high” for a fractured brain to appreciate the “disambiguation” contained therein.
    On to another red herring the broken record would go!

33. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

“Government is a continuum….”

You all really dont have any shame.

Government is a continuum when it suits your purposes. Since that is the why didnt you all continue with the St. Joseph hospital, why didnt you all complete Sherbourne, why didnt you all complete the St. John Polyclinic, etc., etc, etc,

34. David (not BU) Avatar

i know why the BLP did not continue Sherbourne. the reason is that nobody in the BLP would of seen a way to finish the building and get the contractor to build apartments for you out of the same money you use to finish the Sherbourne.

let me hear you now Carson C. Cadogan. i tell you this going down persons will see the inside of Dodds.

35. Observing (and still waiting) Avatar
    Observing (and still waiting)

What’s amazing in the discussion is that neither the GoCB nor the MoF have intelligently, intellectually or analytically addressed the substance of why S&P chose to downgrade, while at the same time contradicting themselves.

S&P gave clearly stated reasons that can either be agreed with, outright refuted or debated and cross examined based on current government actions. What’s even more telling is the analyst in question has been traditionally conservative and lenient in her judgments about our economy, even when Moody was doing it’s thing..

Neither of our senior finance Ministers after three days has yet responded to anything SPECIFIC within the S&P report. Generalities about holding firm, on the right path, stable, MTFS, past debt, keeping forex and decreasing debt/GDP mean absolutely nothing in a focused debate on the “why” of the downgrade, the “how” the downgrade will impact us and the what’s going to happen next.

In typical fashion as well we have not heard of Prime Minister yet either.

People seem to be taking a 6 for 9, but time longer than twine.

Just Observing

36. @ Cadogan
    When it makes sense!! For example why build a polyclinic that is less accessible by public transportation for most of the residents of St. John and adjoining parishes than Sir Winston Scott? This administration failed to complete Sherborne too lol. They built a car park and office space much to the chagrin of the building’s namesake.

37. Fractured BLP Party Avatar
    Fractured BLP Party

Enuff,

All those Contracts you refer to were the brainchild of a corrupt BLP PARTY.

3 S & Al Barack.

So much for a CONTINNUM……Owen Arthur is calling for elections to CONTINUE the same !

38. @ Fractured
    Why you don’t give up? According to your party and its supporters, Glyne Bannister was corrupt too, but he still got the port expansion and marina projects under the DLP.

David (not BU)
    Stop yuh!! The Contractor on the LESC project could very well be Carson Cadogan’s fellow council member.

39. David (not BU) Avatar
    David (not BU)

Enuff, that mean Carson Cadogan should be in a prime position to tell us who getting apartment built but not to worry, the minister says the project is on time and on budget. i wonder whose time and budget?

40. @Observing,

This government has been hit by a high speed train and they still have not realised that they have been hit. The fact is they do know what to do, all you are hearing is that the MTFS is working, they do not seem to understand that they need to change course and make tough decisions.

Hard ears you wont hear, own way you will feel! Sad thing it is us who will pay for the incompetence of these buffoons!

41. @ Prodigal Son

You said,quote. . . .”Sad thing it is us who will pay for the incompetence of these buffoons!”
    My reply. . . . . Whom do you really think will have to pay? And, DEMs got us by the “short and curlies” already!

42. David of BU,

Help me to understand a few things here:

!. I am reading the Barbados Advocate of 20 July 2012, page 8 and notice that the Puerto Rican government officials are complaining about a DOWNGRADE this week from MOODY’S rating Agency.

(Barbadian government officials – including the Central Bank of Barbados Governor, complained about the S & P DOWNGRADE of Barbados)

So if the Puerto Ricans can defend their country treatment by MOODY’S……..Why my Leader Owen Arthur…..cussing the Central Bank Governor and Minister of Finance for defending their country against the rating by S & P ?

* The government officials in both countries used VIRTUALLY the same language of concern about the rating .

2. My BLP party have chosen to hold a mass meeting this weekend….all well and good…..but what do they intend to offer to get our country out of this situation ?

3. Ms. Mottley had called for ” one man one vote” within our party……has her serious call been heeded ? Since she told us she was NOT going to “REST” till that is done.

I love my BLP……BUT THE FOREGOING HAVE ME CONFUSED ????

43. Cooper John the ImPaling Cock Avatar
    Cooper John the ImPaling Cock

SORRY ABOUT THE CAPITALS FELLOW BLOGGER BUT LISTEN TO WHAT I GINE TELL ALL OF WUNNA. THE PM DRAG ONE CHRISTOPHER SINCKLER CROSS THE BLASTED COALS ABOUT THE DOWNGRADE. THIS IS WHAT THE PM SAID “THERE IS NO TASK MORE IMPORTANT FOR A MINISTER OF FINANCE TO ENSURE THAT THE CREDIT RATING OF HIS COUNTRY REMAINS INVESTMENT GRADE. tHE IS NO TASK MORE IMPORTANT FOR A POLITICIAN IN THE HALLS OF GOVERNMENT AND FACING AN ELECTION TO MAKE SURE ACCESS TO INTERNATIONAL FUNDING FOR CAPITAL WORKS IS UNAFFECTED”

I AM INFORMED THAT PRIME MINISTER HAS PUT THE WHEELS IN MOTION TO ADDRESS THE NATION ON SUNDAY NIGHT AND THAT SOME MAJOR CHANGES ARE TO BE EXPECTED.

44. old onion bags Avatar

Dear Imposter BLP Yardfowl
    How comes your feathers doan match ours?….. how comes ? Man like you had better take Chis and your vomitous Puerto Rican spew and stuff up in were D monkey stuff he nuts…Man I already tell unna this is a SLAM DUNK..there is ABSOLUTELY NOTHING and I mean nothing a limp like you or any of the lil piglets can say or do now to change the electorate’s minds…MAN WANNA BLEW IT BIG TIME…Here pull up a chair and relax ya self dross.

45. Old Onions….Doan pull down we BLP like that.

The Barbadian electorate are very intelligent .

The questions are on the table Old Onions….. answer them.

Our esteem leader Owen Arthur declared in the press conference the other day that the Governor of the Central Bank of Barbados has done UNTOLD damage to Barbados REPUTATION by questioning the ratings of S & P.

The Puerto Rican government officials have questioned MOODY’s ratings……Would my leader Owen Arthur declare that the Puerto Ricans have done UNTOLD damage to Puerto Rico ?

Take the politics out of it Onions……if our BLP is to be SERIOUSLY…..let’s show some BALANCE !

Get my DRIFT ???

46. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ BLP Yardfowl | July 20, 2012 at 4:35 PM |

OK “BLP Cockroach Eater”, there is validity in the principle you espouse.

But did Owen criticize the Governor for questioning the ratings? I am of the view that he objected to the arrogant disdainful and dismissive way he (the guv) managed the whole process. The governor’s assessment of the economy does not synchronize with what is happening on the ground and what intelligent people are observing. Even the debt burden ratios quoted by the governor do not gel with those published by the IMF and presumably relied on by the rating agencies do.
    With that kind of conflicting assessment would you rely on a source known for massaging unemployment figures and quoting misleading cost figures for the construction of the prison – $700 million when we know that is the total construction and financing cost just like any other mortgage 25-30 year arrangement with a service/maintenance agreement included.
    Up to now one is still at a loss to find out what the governor meant when he said that the foreign reserves stood at the same level as that at December 2008.

We all know that these rating agencies can be in cahoots with the capitalist creditors’ bailiffs (IMF) in handling bankruptcy strategies and proceedings when it comes to developing nations like Bim. But this country can do without that kind of controversy and negative publicity and unprofessional reaction to technical criticisms at this stage of its economic health.

What makes it worse and strengthens Arthur’s early intervention to denounce the governor is what has subsequently arose as diverging views on the report between the governor and his boss the MoF. They are not singing from the same hymn sheet. One is singing the “Battle Hymn of the Republic and the other is singing “Amazing Grace”. But what is most worrying and depressingly so is that the Choir Master has not raised his baton to guide the discussion and assure the audience (John Public) that all is under control and he is in charge of a steady ship of state. Can we then salute Old Onions for reminding us of: “Captain, the Ship is Sinking”!

47. The Prime Minister has said that Standard & Poors were not critical of governments Strategy Plan.

Mr Prime Minister just in case you have not read the report BARBADOS HAS BEEN DOWNGRADED TO JUNK BOND STATUS.

48. old onion bags Avatar

@ Miller
    Man you pay she nuff mind ! …..a cockroach eater or a pea chink…LOL
    Tell she Visionary EZ boy…..gine D way a Manning….if she got any doubt check the video for resemblance….

49. The question I want to ask is cant we protest and appeal against the S+P downgrade and get it overturned? Dr. Worrell said its a panel that makes these decisions. Who’s in charge of the panel? Follow the money you must come to some bossman or authority who can review what the S+P wildcat panel decides. I am with the Central Bank governor the situation in Barbados does not suggest we are in a dark tunnel on the way to Hades. Yes one expects the BLP yardfowls to gloat and be happy at any misfortune which befalls Barbados because they are gunning to get back in power by any means necessary. Bringing Barbados to its knees is a small price for the BLP to pay to return to Bay Street. Bajans think on these things.

50. old onion bags Avatar

Thinker …you blind..I could start from the first day these jokers regained power ( with VESO)…..they blundered…if you knew anything about financial confidence you would better understand….we not gloating as we now got to fix it….but leaving things to continue down this unfortunate route is folly..face it ..they expect the world to get better and it wont…This calls for positive proactive decision making…and that as you saw with AX and Eager will never be fore coming….we need direction.