Today’s announcement that Barbados sovereign credit rating has been downgraded to BB+/B from BBB-/A-3 is unfortunate. There is no consolation that we have been bundled with several European countries who have earned junk bond rating.

Dr. Frank Alleyne made a statement which resonated with the BU household on the weekend. He opined that a major problem driving our public debt is structural. He suggested successive governments have not addressed the problem. They preferred instead to be politically expedient. BU prefers to focus on a reality that in the boom years we did not solidify our economic fundamentals. One clear example was building out an economy with no concern to diversify our energy base. Another, we encouraged rampant consumption expenditure fed in the 1995-2007 period especially.

What is unfortunate is that with a general election on the horizon, the opportunity for serious public discussion and earth moving decisions will not be top of mind for government. What we have though is partisan political chatter now that Barbados has attained junk bond rating.  The opportunity for government to distil the arguments has now gotten even more difficult. BU must harp on the point that the government has to be coherent and cohesive in the way it articulates its strategy i.e. what it has achieved to date, in the near term and what it hopes to achieve.

BU commends the government – some missteps notwithstanding – for introducing reform in the energy sector at a time when the fiscal space for doing so is as narrow as it has ever been. BU has posited many times that in boom times one must prepare for the bust; we did not. Unfortunately there is a dearth of leadership and consequently a lack of vision. Where Barbados finds itself today is as a result of all the myopic policies on the last 20 years.

What BU regrets most after listening and reading the commentary which followed the S&P downgrade and Governor Worrell’s press conference is that we have a opposition party in waiting which has not had to do much to regain popularity. BU remembers during the boom time questioning the former government’s expansive strategy of debt accumulation through off balance sheet transactions.

Many have started to question if the boom period of the late 90s up to 2007 was manufactured. We have all been following the news with horror how reputable banks have rigged LIBOR rates.  We have also been following the story about oil price rigging, again by reputable entities. It maybe of interest that many of these malpractices occurred in the period of 2003 to 2005, at the height of the boom years which Barbados enjoyed.

307 responses to “Barbados Economic Misfortune Was Guaranteed”

1. old onion bags Avatar

What has transpired was forecast. What else would we expected from starving an economy from what little growth it tried to muster three years ago, and stiffing any semblance of commercial activity thru a ramshack medium term moojan plan.Jasper and Darcy should tender their resignations with immediate effect.

2. @Onions

You need to address the fact that Barbados economy has had structural issues for years now. We are reaping the whirl win now.

3. David,

You have to admit that this economy has not been managed well by the DLP. When David Thompson was ill, it was left to flounder, there seem to be no one in charge, prompting a loud call from the public, who’s in charge of the economy. Darcy Boyce eventually came forward. Then DT on his dying bed, appointed Chris Sinckler who with all due respects has been out of his depths, instead of putting David Estwick who for all his loudness seem to have an idea of what he was talking. Maybe on hindsight, David Estwick should have been in that ministry instead of Darcy Boyce and Jepter Ince.

To say that the economy should have been restructured a long time ago is not the reason, restructuring was done after the 1991 crisis. The measures put in place by this bone head government is the reason we are where we are tonight!

4. The ratings agency is saying that Barbados must accelerate the pace of fiscal consolidation.
    The government could have adopted a strictly mathematical approach to wipe out the fiscal deficit but let us not fool ourselves – that would mean sending home thousand of public servants, increasing fees for education and probably an unemployment rate of over 20%.
    The government has chosen a different strategy which aims for a level of stability while undergoing structural reforms -eg: Alternative energy solutions and financial sector reform – Financial Services Commission, diversification of tourism markets.
    The Ratings agencies are saying that they want to see more austere measures – they have not said that we need to to run down the foreign reserves to boost domestic spending or any of the other election bait which the opposition is dangling.
    Has anyone realised that whenever the BLP speaks about cutting expenditure, they NEVER get specific – the only place in the budget left to cut is the wage bill(SEND Home Public Sector Workers).
    That is basically what the ratings agencies want to see. Arthur ‘s press conference was shamelessly and predictably partisan.

5. @Prodigal Son

With the unprecedented challenge of the global meltdown we are convinced in exposed the structural weaknesses in our economy Dr. FranK Alleyne mentioned on the weekend and what some of us on BU have been harping for years. You maybe right that the DLP made mistakes but at this point we need to be concerned about the earth changing decisions we need to make. The days of unbridled spend on consumer durables is done. The people will have to decide very soon.

6. @David and Prodigal Son,

David is right, the archives of these blogs will clearly show the warnings from well before the last election and before the 400Million plus was spent on the Oval, as to reining in public debt and financing revenue producing projects.

That was well before substantial debt accumulation in the last years of the previous administration.

Sadly, we now have another asministration with no vision.

Whereto from here?

Simple answer is that we follow the world into the crapper.

7. The harsh reality will set in and Bajans will realise that nothing from nothing leaves nothing.

So start with what you have and get back to basics. Grow more food and cut the import bill.
    Give young people incentives to get into agriculture with a lease to own program.
    People will dig ground if they know they will eventually own de ground duh working.

Ban the importation of luxury cars. Camrys and Accords big enough for the fat cat Lawyers and politicians.

Close the BTA offices in high rent locations like in “Toronto” and cut the staff in half.Let the Hotels in Barbados do some of their own marketing.

Change Invest.Barbados to include a division “promote and source markets” for Barbados made products.

All the macro micro theoretical economic bs will not work and the economist can go back to school and learn more bs.

Start ploughing up some golf courses. Irrigation in place for vegetable gardens.

But we can still hope that the super powers will manipulate the world economy out of the downward spiral that has caught Barbados nappin in a Utopian dreamland.

Doan tek me too serious cause I ent went to newneversity and does write as much shiiiiiiite as I does talk.

8. The BLP used the global boom years of 1995 – 2006 to win elections, waste money on all types of mismanaged projects and not restructure the economy. That cannot be denied and the man who is up under Arthur’s armpits as Economic spokesman was the chief accuser in this regard.

The BLP supporters seem to be adopting the attitude that there is an economic messiah out there who will swoop down and bring about an economic boom in an economy dependent on tourism and international business for growth in a global recession. They must be bringing the tourists from Mars and Venus- stupse!

9. In terms of what occurred in the ‘boom years’, of course there was substantial overheating, with little ‘real’ value to support the heavy increase in expenditures and huge inflation e.g. house prices.

Now that reality hits home, the huge house prices are nothing more than falsities on the balance sheets of banks etc.

So, not only is it unrealistic, but it creates a situation where the balance sheets of those you would want ot be strong, ar themselves actually unsound.

= House of Cards.

10. Difficult as it is for me to be non partisan I have to admit that nobody (B or D) saw the recession coming and the BLP was spending on infrastructure and making a lot of Bajans happy.

All the lotta long talk about shudda wudda cudda didn’t happen until after 2008.

Bottom line is we have to try to be patriotic and work to help Barbados.

The next elections will come and go and Barbados will still need good leadership to steer it to a more sustainable economy.

Car in every driveway and University student in every household ain’t gine happen.

11. And, this is exactly why I proposed a long time ago on the blogs, that legislation was required to protect homeowners for their primary residence, on the process of foreclosure and rescheduling.

That would have gone some way to retarding and alleviating a failing economy. by ensuring that the ball was kept rolling, people were no disenfranchised etc.

But…not done.

Hants, you recommendation are avlid, because they point right to the source of the issue….’real’ revenue from production and attempting to ensure that imports are less than exports, net position.

That is always the crux of the matter, basic economics.

12. @Hants ”Difficult as it is for me to be non partisan I have to admit that nobody (B or D) saw the recession coming and the BLP was spending on infrastructure and making a lot of Bajans happy”.

Untrue. The archives of these blogs were full of comments, between a number of us, including Green Monkey, Straight Talk and others, as to the coming issues, well before 2008, indeed, well before CWC, from about 2005 actually, I know, I was commenting.

Problem is, no one listened. And the politicans did read these blogs, that was proven.

Cant say the warning was not there.

13. I must admit with a painful heart listen to the opposition leader press this evening and said well this is purely political opportunism. He did not call a press conference after the announcement by Moody’s

I am standing firmly behind the Governor of the Central bank and his idea that we must not crumble at the feet of these agencies. They want us to lay off civil servants and to unpeg or dollar from the US. Sandiford stood firm and conquered and the Prime Minister must stand firm also.

Mr. Arthur asked who is The Governor of the Central bank to ridicule Standards and Poor’s. How it was very disrespectful. Disrespectful what. Mr.Mascoll on a Brass Tacks program said to forget about those agencies and he is your spokesman for economic matters.

Put on your thinking caps Bajans the Government in waiting says to call the election now because some very hard decisions have to be made. He never made them in times of plenty.

Getting rid of the constituency councils, summer camps and bus fares cannot save 15 million dollars. It would have to the civil service that he flooded before

14. old onion bags Avatar

@ Crusoe
    Simple answer is that we follow the world into the crapper.
    Now there lies the difference between a Mr. Arthur and a Jasper Ince or Stuart. We don’t wait for S&P, or any of the other short-sighted agencies to tell us what to do….. We set trends as we have with our past record. Why then, you will hear the harps of acknowledgment for vision beyond. The current administration being inept could only implement solutions from the IMF as they had none of their own. Being truly out of their depth and led by lesser ables…they rocked from pillar to post…..We are like a ship without a rudder and we have occasioned the ways of these men.. hopelessly debunked.

15. The last five years of the BLP administration, gave evidence that things were getting bad but the government and the people never accepted that. However, I did recall the then P.M warning of the upcoming recession and bajans should start back planting their own little “home grown” gardens, he was laughed to scorn. Up came this administration with all the promises and fancy ideas which we bought but to this day they are unable to deliver. What is happening to barbados demmonstrate a serious level of immaturity, too much stupid money has been spent by this administration trying to satisfy the supporters who were hybernating over the last fourteen years, now the entire country will fell the effects of that.Poor Mr Barrack, it don’t look good for you getting paid, I wonder if one of the companies he owes put him in Court what will be the judgement of the Judge?

16. ”Mr. Arthur asked who is The Governor of the Central bank to ridicule Standards and Poor’s”

———————

Remember, S&P is also a profit making enity and indeed was involved (deeply) in the initial ratings of the packaged mortgages that caused the huge US crisis.

17. @Crusoe

I fully acknowledge you bloggers who issued warnings but you were a very small minority and nobody listened.

Now we will suffer.

Before 2008 I was sure the economy would continue to grow and I had plans to move back to Barbados in 2009 and start a small business but….

18. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Typical Barbados Labour Party.

In times of plenty they put aside very little. They spent like drunken sailors.
    Barbados Labour Party operatives are on record as rubbishing rating agencies.

How would calling elections help him?

With his AUDI SUV!!!

19. I remember in the early ’90’s when the BLP gained the government, Barbados was on the verge of a devaluation, the IMF, S&P and MOODY’s were making certain demands on Barbados. When Mr Arthur took over, he completely ignored these suggestions/demands and tried his own method. These same organisations PRAISED Mr Arthur for the way he took this country forward, it is this that caused the International lenders to see Barbados in a different light, because of its leadership and permelled Arthur to Int satis. It is because of this that I will vote BLP next general elections because Mr Arthur has demmonsated his ability to deal with a crisis This does NOT mean I’m a supporter of the BLP but simply I am putting Barbados first.

20. @! The BLP supporters seem to be adopting the attitude that there is an economic messiah out there who will swoop down and bring about an economic boom in an economy dependent on tourism and international business for growth in a global recession. They must be bringing the tourists from Mars and Venus- stupse!……………..

You do not get it, do you? The fact is things are bad because of the DLP’s incompetence and we need to try something else. What you all all shovelling is not working. You cannot keep going down the same road with your “wait and see what happens” ideas as the governor likes to say, we need to go down a new road!

I feel your pain, we know that you are ashamed, spin it however you want but we are all Barbadians and want the best for our country. Admit it, the country is on a spiral downward and the DLP does not have the people to bring it back!

21. CCC
    That is the man’s personal vehicle; why should a GOVERNMENT DEPT own one in this recession?

22. @ Crusoe,
    I am standing firmly behind the Governor of the Central bank and his idea that we must not crumble at the feet of these agencies. They want us to lay off civil servants and to unpeg or dollar from the US. Sandiford stood firm and conquered and the Prime Minister must stand firm also………………………..

This is what the governor told Barbadians but a different message was sent overseas to the consulates. The message is be prepared for a currency adjustment.

By the way, I thought each constituency is given $1million each a year!

23. @ David
    Stop ducking. The economy should have restructured to what?

24. @ The Scout
    How soon we forget. The measures introduced by the Sandiford administration had maximal effect under Arthur’s but the latter got the credit for the turn around in the economy. Even some other Caribbean governments admitted this but I guess some in Barbados are still unconvinced or in denial.

25. Crusoe
    Remember also than the late David Thompson used the same agency’s report on Barbados at the time as a weapon to pull down the BLP, and rightly so. Therefore the shoe is on the other foot, now they don’t know anything; can’t have it both ways. Sometime ago I heard a DLP supporter say, the BLp should not criticise the DLP for what they are doing because it is in the interest of the couountry. This is the same thing I was hearing the BLP supporters saying in 2007-2008.

26. Willie
    Therefore it goes to accept that , if Mr Arthur was praised for something Sandiford did, then give him back the reins of office now to prove how good or bad he is. Certainly, we cannot remain with a party that has no foresight, therefore let the BLP/Arthur prove themselvesor be recognised as losers, What we really want, and I’ll keepb on harping about it, is a third seriour patriotic party.

27. Nobody want to accept the government has been a total failure–F!!

28. Willie
    We need a party like the old DLP, during their “glory days” under the leadership of Mr Barrow and with people like Philip Greaves, “sleepy” Smith and Co. These fellows put Barbados before self, they saw it as an honour to lead this country, it appears today’s politician is just interested in benefitting themselves, family and close friends, even to the detriment of the rest of the country.

29. well david it seems that you can’t take it no more and has now been forced to declare your hand in trying to feebly defend an administration which has clearly demonstrated that it has bitten off more than they can chew having promised much and delivered little.your subtle references to the boom years and your praise of the dlp’s hoped for renewable energy policy suggests a drowning man struggling unsuccessfully to save his life.

30. The BLP supporters should just refrain from commenting and let deputy chairmen of constituency councils such as CCC flood the blog with ‘operation safe face’. Sadly no one is buying it…there will be no 2008 Redux. Truly pathetic.

31. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Barbados would not be in this position if the Barbados Labour Party had not squandered more than $13billion in vat revenues during their administration.

32. “You maybe right that the DLP made mistakes”
    mistakes can only arise if action takes place and the dlp never acted; except for the imf recommended medium term fiscal strategy they allowed the economy to drift bereft of ideas perhaps guided by Mr Stuart’s view that recessions do not last forever.

33. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@Prodigal Son | July 17, 2012 at 9:01 PM |
    “This is what the governor told Barbadians but a different message was sent overseas to the consulates. The message is be prepared for a currency adjustment.’

We know you are not a ‘postmortem’ analyst but more involved in preventative remedies.
    It is known by the inside group that Bim is in serious financial and economic trouble and its credit card would soon be taken away.
    One wishes that the BU bloggers would focus on this thread of inside information and be prepared for what’s ahead of us.
    I had predicted next year but this thing seemed to have taken on a tsunami like speed in the last few weeks leading one to question, like the PDC, the integrity and accuracy of the level of foreign reserves touted by the Governor. One was under the impression created last week that the foreign reserves was $1.6 billion (leading one to think in US$) now we are told by the Guv today that it is BDS $ 1.4 Billion or US$ 700 million.

Nothing should be put past any political appointee with a history of yardfowlism.

@ David:
    Any information yet on what makes up Barbados’ foreign reserves?

34. “I remember in the early ’90′s when the BLP gained the government, Barbados was on the verge of a devaluation,”
    THAT IS PURE BULL.

When the BLP came to office in late 1994, the turn aroung from the 1991 recession was already entrenched, the divestment had taken place and the wage bill significantly reduced, the economic fundamentals were all starting to look up and the economy was showing clear signs of improvement with growth picking up in our major trading partners.
    That is the BLP lie that the BLP yardfowls like to repeat – Owen Arthur never rescued Barbados. That is spin, not facts.
    Keep dreaming about an economic messiah – Get Real – you will find Santa Claus or a flying pig first.

35. If Mascoll thinks so low of Chris Sinckler, then he should have the “balls” to go down to St. Michael North West and take him on as a candidate but he hides behind Arthur’s trousers and writes a political column.
    He is a political lightweight and intellectual impostor.

36. Fat Arse Ian Bourne put the relevant question to the Gov of the Central Bank today about Government spending on lavish overseas trips with very large groups and was dismissed with the response that such spending was “TRIVIAL”. Jesus H Christ … TRIVIAL.. in comparison to what? Fat Arse framed the question within “tighten your belt” pronouncements of the administration which includes the GoCB and he get dismissed for pursuing a “TRIVIALITY”. Millions of dollars over the past couple of months in overseas exploits with absolutely NO chance of a return of any kind and this is TRIVIAL. Well the GoCB could kiss my Black Ass …!

37. @ The Scout
    I can’t disagree with you about the self-serving (you can add trying to catch up – a friend said to me that it is no longer catch up, they have surpassed). I also think that we need to turn to some of our bright young people who might have a meaningful contribution to make toward rescuing the country.

38. When the GoCB quotes a dept to GDP percentage, does that figure include the dept owed to the National Insurance Board …?

39. Gabriel Tackle Avatar

@Balance 9.54pm
    I saw the same feeble attempt and came to the same conclusion.Amen,so be it.
    Call the election and let Barbados determine the way forward and out of this morass.We are not going to get any better with the present administration.

40. SANDRA HUSBANDS Avatar
    SANDRA HUSBANDS

DLP has failed this country, they came to gov’t with no plan and no competence to govern. They came with giveaways and ridiculous promises; tax the hell out the middleclass, made mistake after mistake; borrowed over 3b in 4 years, which did not go towards accelerating the restructuring of the economy. Recklessness to the highest degree. Overstaffed the civil service with alot of temporary workers, thousands in statutory corporations with no materials or tools to work with. i am disappointed in Bu’s argument to try to reach back that this is a problem of restructuring. There are several other economies which depend on tourism and offshore they are not at junk bond status. Which economy runs on alternative energy, not one. The bulk of their energy is fossil fuel. How would that have helped the fiscal deficit, generate economic growth or combat expenditure by the Dems. Crappy dishonest arguments by those who wish to excuse the Dems.

You can only restructure to activities that make sense for your size, resources, costs, capital and market opportunities. It is not any and everything. Gov’ts role is to establish incentives, policies, research. The diversification programme of 2003 – 2007 incentives and trade treaties to promote professional services, cultural services, sports tourism, IT services, knowledge-based industries, sea island cotton, fossil fuel energy sector, fuel cane and sugar cane by-products; agreement with Guyana to promote Bajan large scale commercial farming; innovation programme, small business development programme; 150m in financing programme for small businesses, credit guarantee scheme. We deepened our groh in exisiting secotrs – tourism and offshore. 1994 – 1997 recovery programme for economy; 1997 – 2000 accelerate growth of revenues (setback in 2000 – 2003) had to regrow. Next step is private sector taking these up and running with them. Then there is the gestation period – long or short depending on market access, entrepreneurial interest and drive; degree of competition. We saw movement in culture, offshore, tourism, IT, professional services, small business development. Squashed in the DLP squat – sea island, energy, fuel canes, Guyana scheme, Scotland district scheme. Just tired of the crap about not resturcturing. Simply is not true. Money borrowed was spent on renewing the large capital public goods that need renewal after 40 years – schools, roads, prison, judicial centre, airport, seaport, coast guard, boardwalk, Bridgetown, Oistins, speightstown. When would you have renewed those? In times of plenty or times of need. These arguments are just a load of crap to excuse a lame party and the sorry state to which they have brought this country.
    Please enjoy yourselves finding more lame excuses, more blaming and more attacking the messenger. After watching this blog for some months, I know very few of you will engage these facts. When any of you are ready for a honest and serious argument, I will return if time permits. The country is truly in need of a change of gov’t.

41. Observing (and waiting) Avatar
    Observing (and waiting)

I’ve been relegated to a sigh. Nothing much else to do here but suck up, call the poll and let the people make their choice. Coming back from “junk” takes much longer than the time to election. No more goodies, no October surprises. USA elections and Europe’s issues will ensure that nothing economically productive happens in the next 18 months and absolutely nothing is happening domestically except more debt clouds on the horizon. It is what it is. Let the people decide and respect their wishes B,D or P. After that we move forward as a nation.

Observing.

42. In plain English “The shit has hit the fan”

43. LOL @ Observing
    “…we move FORWARD as a nation….”

You got to be joking. There is only one direction from here, and “forward” does not accurately describe it…

Look at the comments from the alleged intelligent on this blog…. Mostly a clear focus on selfish personal ambitions, even in the face of national calamity. There is no shame or even PRETENCE of nationalism.

What move forward what?!? – forward to our fate? A people always get exactly what they deserve.

44. A DLP administration without a true plan and a BLP administration hell bent on selling what ever is left to private campaigners under the guise of entrepreneurship … Sandra harps of Service Service Service when China and Brazil have proven beyond a shadow of a doubt that the mantra should instead be Product Product Product. You see ALL of the present batch of politicians are Service oriented to the Servitude factor will never fall from relevance to them. You would have to be blind NOT to notice that these people are Self Serving culprits … Oh Sandra, seriously, leave us to hell alone … do!

45. @ SANDRA HUSBANDS (sic)

“Crappy dishonest arguments by those who wish to excuse the Dems”.

“When any of you are ready for a honest and serious argument, I will return if time permits”.

Says more about you than the rest of us. One can certainly disagree without trying to belittle or abuse others for their views/opinions. As an aspirant to elected office one would expect better.

46. The GoCB consistently speaks about investors in the economy. Christ, so who are these people and what is it that they are after in order to get an ROI…? Here is what they are looking for… Land that will NEVER be returned for Barbadian usage and cheap hands to do their bidding.That is what this guy (the GoCB) spent close to ten years of tertiary study to achieve, an chance to offer Barbados to the rest of the world as a place where you could buy property and exploit the labour force to the max.

Why not invest Barbadians, in those with know how… People that can build and make and design stuff … stuff that you could see, touch, hear, smell and taste …? Nope it is far better to kiss the asses of the Brits with money to burn … This recession should be a wake up call but for those who are bent on maintaining the status quo like Sandra, will just continue to cough up the same sort of soup, virtually waiting it out, until things improve and then it will be business as usual …!

47. All we are hearing is that the BLP did not restructure the economy, A lot of political hog wash. The opposition has been criticized for leaving an unemployment rate of less than 7%, 2.6 billion dollars in foreign reserves, and an economy that was constantly growing with billions coming through International Business. This poor raky Government has spent the entire term criticizing the BLP and has not gotten ahead with running the country as their were voted to do, They should be shame. How could you in all honesty criticize the BLP for building a state-o–DE–art prison , Kensington Oval, Highway improvements, and the list goes on. This Government waits until 3 to 6 months to talk about building a new Hospital, after criticizing the BLP for planning to build it . Set of PROCRASTINATORS and incompetent people: Nuff talk and little action.

48. Sandra

Good post above. It is time that someone with the facts confronted the lame “talking points” argument that Barbados should have restructured to alternative energy, import substitution agriculture, etc. during the OSA “boom years” and that everything would have been OK now. Suggest you get all your candidates to commit your response to memory and add to it and refine it. They will need it.

How many people thought, prior to 2006, that there was any need for a grand restructuring of the Barbados Economy? We were the model for balanced development with few natural resources for most of the Caribbean, a model which appeared to be likely to be successful for a long time.

Dire circumstances or the almost certain expectation of imminent dire circumstances are the engines that propel the restructuring of economies. Prior to 2006 there were no such dire circumstances apparent on the horizon. After 2006 such circumstances started appearing and erupted in 2007, 2008

Now is the time for serious restructuring, it was never so in the mid 2000’s.

I must admit now that the current PM has done the country a great though unintended service (even though still not enough to nullify the great disservice he has done otherwise) by having the AX commission of enquiry. It has already started to ensure that the general public will be totally aware that the Public Service needs a total restructuring as a major part of the restructuring of the economy. The Public Sector reform activity would have started the process but much more is needed to make the public sector perform with credit in our soon to come straitened circumstances.

There are very good ideas out there about restructuring key aspects of our economy. OSA, with his politics of inclusion, vilified by many on this blog, was very good at placing the best people in key positions and chivvying them on to do the best for their country. I think, though older and apparently tired now, he is still capable of doing that.

Alternative energy has some excellent people. Agriculture has Dr Chelston Brathwaite who can make a difference in restructuring agriculture to reduce our food import bill. I don’t know the people in tourism but I’m sure there are some good ones. There are lots of good youngsters in the IT area, etc, etc,

The country needs an election soon and then the development of a mechanism to get the best and brightest and most hard working on board from every political persuasion to plan, lead and get us through these circumstances. I see Donville Inniss and David Estwick having important roles in this process.

Sorry about the rambling. I’m tired, sorely disappointed in one individual and frightened for my country. I’ve seen similar situations in Trinidad and Jamaica and Guyana which in the short term caused very grave problems in the respective countries, but they survived and progressed. We can too. but I think the current leadership has to go for us to move forward.

49. @Miller

It seems obvious the Central Bank has not included money owed to the NIS in its computation.

@Sandra

We will all have our opinions, We stand by our position that what is happening to our economy today was forecast on BU even before the DLP won the government. Do a search of the many blogs on BU, it is a consistent position. After reading your submission you still have to agree that Barbados is an economy which imports from a tooth pick to the BMW. We have to rely on tourism and the Offshore sector to do it. High energy bill (let us not discuss the state of BNOC in 2008) and high food bill. We rode the boom years and where are we now? No other Caribbean island has to maintain the level of entitlements that we do, check the HDO to understand why. No government has had the balls to deal with subsidies to education, health, transportation, the inefficiency in 25 statutory corporations (see Auditor General Report) for example. What is funny is to read the BLP supporters accusing BU of being partisan and the DLP doing the same. BU will posit our opinion fearlessly you can bet on it. We have reached a point in this country where an analysis cannot be taken on merit but must be labeled. For the whole week it was Carson Cadogon, a DLPite, accusing BU of favouring a BLP position now it is the BLPites retorting with the same bullshit. This is where we are in Barbados, COLOURS.

However you spin it Barbados has been living above its means for the last two decades or so and we have to pay for it. What is even more amazing is to read NUPW plan to demand a 10% wage hike when next time they visit the bargaining table. We have gone mad in this country.

A reminder that BU Election Picks so far has the BLP leading. This is to the party hacks from the BLP coming after BU.

http://bajan.wordpress.com/general-election-watch/bu-general-election-picks/

50. David on another point in conjunction to the rating down. Some of loan are tied to the current sovereign credit rating any downgrade to junk status automatically increases the interest on the loan. This also increase interest paid on forex bonds issues by government to get fx cash infusion as was the case in 2008-2009. Interest payment may gone up 10-17% as the government is already in a dire finical straight this may be start a chain reaction causing a default by government.